Proton Design Competition 2014: We have a chat with Azlan Othman, Proton’s head of design

SONY DSC

Designers have to wear a lot of hats these days. In addition to cooperating with each other on the design of a car, they also have to work with engineers, bean counters, the higher-ups and the marketers to help develop a car that’s stylish without compromising on function or breaking the bank.

UPDATE: The Proton Design Competition 2014 closing date has been extended by a week, from August 11 to August 18.

To get you further fired up in designing a Proton city car for 2020 as part of the ongoing Proton Design Competition 2014 (better hurry, submissions close August 11), we sit down with Azlan Othman, head of styling at Proton, to give us an insight into the process of designing a Proton and hopefully give you some helpful tips in the process.

espire-tuah sketch 630px

We know that a lot of development and refinement happens in a car’s design between the first sketch and the time the first car rolls off the production line. How much of the designer’s initial idea survives onto the final product?

A lot, actually. Very rarely does the product turn out to be something totally different. That said, movements in proportions and surfaces, as well as some of the details, always happen. Over the years – it takes 18-24 months to develop a car – there is so much input from manufacturing, sales and especially engineering, so there are bound to be changes.

But usually the integrity of the main character line is what we will ensure makes it to the end, like the generic silhouette and very unique characteristics, such as the lights and grille.

How do you see Proton’s design language evolving? Will we see a more cohesive corporate look beyond the design traits currently shared among Proton’s existing products?

Absolutely. We knew we had to have a new corporate look when we designed the EMAS concept back in 2010, and the Prevé cemented the look as a manufacturable piece of design. At the time, our design philosophy was about timelessness, but as we moved on, we wanted something more competitive in the market.

Hence, moving forward we are developing what we refer to as “progressive design,” something that is more in tune with the contemporary needs of the market, because it progresses – it doesn’t stagnate.

We are going into a more exciting phase of our design DNA. You will see elements such as the “Proton Wings,” the single-graphic front face, the dynamic arrow on the side and the horizontal connecting bar at the rear becoming more refined, more exciting and more dynamic.

Emas

Proton has said that it designs its cars specifically for the local market, and we have seen instances of that such as the “teh tarik hook” on the Exora. What other design features have been tailored to the Malaysian buying public’s needs and wants?

One of the things that not just Malaysians, but Asians in general, really appreciate is space. So our cars are actually designed in such a way that they offer a lot of space for the money you pay for. For example, the Exora in its segment is the biggest in its class. As for the interior colours, we have progressively gone for more practical colour schemes, as this market understandably prefers darker interiors.

But as for specific pieces of design, there are none that are designed specifically for Malaysia. For example, the hook [in the Exora], besides the fact that you call it a “teh tarik hook,” can be used for anything, really.

In recent years we have seen the launch of the Prevé and the Suprima S. Tell us about the rationale behind the designs of the two cars and how they resonate with the target market.

As a company, we always listen to the voice of the customers. And with the Prevé specifically, we wanted a globally-acceptable car. Styling-wise, that meant we wanted it to be timeless. So, from the demographics we knew we wanted to penetrate, the designers made sure that we met most of the criteria as well as come up with a product that was exciting in the customer’s eyes.

Obviously we can’t follow exactly what the customer wants, because the customer doesn’t really know what they want say two to three years down the line. Case in point was the Suprima. We had a very interesting brief whereby half the car was obviously the Prevé, which is a more formal sedan.

So instead of purely relying on customer feedback on what a hatchback should be like in Malaysia, we thought about expanding the design language beyond what the Prevé already had. And you can clearly see, the Suprima S is a far more exciting product than what the Prevé is.

suprima s

How has the feedback been so far for these models?

Let me answer purely from a design standpoint, as the chief designer. The response has been extremely positive – in fact, for the past few products, we know for a fact that design-wise we are already giving what the customers are looking for.

They were excited when they saw the Suprima S, and even until today they appreciate the elegant nature of the Prevé. So we know we don’t really have a problem with the design and it’s actually been getting stronger and stronger.

Even with issues such as “plasticky” interiors – there was a time where that became the buzzword [to describe Proton’s interiors] – you hardly hear that anymore. So we’ve improved not just in terms of the exterior part of the design, but also with the interior, primarily with the implementation of textures and colours. We’ve been listening, we’ve been breaking ground, we’ve been working with the right people.

The design brief for the Proton Design Competition 2014 is to design a city car for the year 2020. Obviously, in 2020 we will see things like alternative propulsion and autonomous driving. How do you expect the proportions, the surfacing and the lines to evolve as we adapt to new technologies?

I think we are already seeing it today. A lot of the current styling cues are actually born from legislative or regulatory requirements, as well as the customer’s expectations, for example in terms of fuel efficiency. So yes, the designs will be strongly tied to these restraints, and designers will have to be smart enough to work around them and still achieve their vision of what the car should be.

As an example, pedestrian impact requirements mean that we can no longer have sleek and edgy front-end designs because everything has to be so rounded and tall so that the pedestrian does not impact the bonnet too strongly. But we will have to find other ways to exude that personality.

EmasCountry_real_3

What advice would you give to budding designers for this competition?

The competition is about innovation. Now, 2020 is not that far off, so we don’t expect flying cars or submersibles or anything like that. But we’re looking at innovation in terms of the originality of your design and we want you to focus on good ol’ aesthetics, because that’s the first thing that people look at and will pull them into the showrooms.

We’re not looking at a technically perfect vehicle; that’s not what we’re expecting from the two categories. So let’s look for something innovative instead.

As for their careers? What would you say to those who want to make it in the automotive design world?

Career-wise, obviously, the basic rule is to get the right qualifications, then you have to have a lot of perseverance, because it’s not an easy job to be in. Design is not about you as one single person, and automotive design is even more so as you work with thousands of people and it takes so long just to get a product out.

So even though the industry and the public love to idolise one single person as a designer of a car, the reality isn’t like that. It’s more team-driven, and you need to have a team player mentality as well as being able to communicate. No matter how good your design is, if you are unable to share and sell your design, then you would have effectively failed as a designer.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Like always lip syncing corporate scripts…However there are little truth in it but the rest…sigh…30 years man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • Uncle Schreyer on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Ignore(Customer opinions + Global design trend) = Recipe for failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Outlook is never Proton’s problem. Please spend more time and effort to work on build quality, engine, gearbox and power windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:38 am

Halo Same Lorr the Caveman..Power window long time already settle. Now provide life time warranty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 46
          • Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Don’t be naive and hide in your caveman. New Saga Persona still have a lot of problems with power windows. That’s why a lifetime warranty needed.

If it doesn’t break, why you need warranty?

Do you hear of a lifetime warranty for steering wheel or handbrake? because they hardly break down. lol

Everyday you also need to Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok at least once. I understand your need. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • stranger on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Provide lifetime warranty does not mean settle problem

The problem is still there, just that it’s being covered

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:50 pm

You are right!

Never recall doesn’t mean no problem.

Ah Beng never do body checkup doesn’t mean he will never get cancer.

• Ah Beng please go to bed, stop humiliating yourself!

• Winning Loser on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:34 am

Dear Tun, pls stop all this rubbish competition. Proton already have such a beautiful EMAS & Tuah concept cars. All u need is to produce them with the best quality parts & features.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:42 am

The judgement should result-oriented based. After 31yrs since founded 1983 & 1st car launched at 1985:- (1) I don’t see a business minded operation director driving p1 on right track (2) I don’t see the Head of Design know what is his role playing in p1.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Copy from Jeffery Ng’s comment

Most comments are just mindless bashings.
        Some people think that the fact that they have worked for car assemblers in Malaysia make them understand how to design, engineer and develop a car.
        With all due respect, car assemblers just localise stuffs. Granted, this by itself is not easy but is still considered some kind of replication because you’ll always have someone from the mother plant to assist you when things get sticky and not to mention car assemblers in the region work with proven design.
        When Proton design, engineer and develop new cars based on proprietary design, there is nothing such as a mother plant available for supports and assistances.
        This is much more difficult than assembling cars (with a bit of localisation of course). Proton have proven that they have passed this phase (Inspira?). Now is the phase that they are still trying to master.
        Yes, car prices are expensive. Even if Proton really close down, do you really think that govt will allow foreign car makers or even Perodua to sell cheap cars? Don’t daydream.
        Perodua? They may be expert assemblers assembling Daihatsu/Toyota cars probably with high degree of localisation. But if you weigh the value of the car, it is probably contentious.
        How? Consider this…
        Value = Function ÷ Price
        For me, I don’t see much of the value built in.
        The global leader of Value is currently Kia and Hyundai followed by Honda. Just look at their recent offerings. For one, Proton is taking a right step forward by giving more value to customer but is probably wrong to constantly rehash old models but with more stuffa built in.
        Proton is currently trapped in a chicken and egg story. They need a new engine to replace the aging Campro but on the other hand, they need to sell more to justify the ROI.
        The yet to be launched new hatchback aims to change that based on what I know.

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:17 pm

When Ah Beng(Not even a chinese) has something meaningful to say, it is just copy + paste work.

Not bad, got improvement. At least we don’t see you swearing with rude words or ask people leave Malaysia.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:46 am

That why the disaster came when captain do not know how to drive a team in a corporate. ~leadership skill.

• Azman on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Still wet behind his ears. Obviously leaving in a parallel universe unlike all of us. I owned a Persona. Good for first year. After that the plastics began to crack like the cheap 20cent store toys. The final straw is when the electronic went bonkers and locked us inside the car . As much as being patriotic my 15 years recond Toyota has not give such silly problems. Enough said !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • Shy Fool on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:41 am

One of Proton’s biggest cancer problems is design, apart from Kroni vendors, bad interior plastics and fuel guzzlers Campro engine.

Proton can design a good front parts, but somehow always fail in rear buntut design. Look at Savvy, Gen2, Persona, Preve, Suprima all of it suffer from very fugly rear ass design.

The first step to fix Proton cancers is to get the rear ass design right. That is the single biggest factor why Suprima suffer poor sales – fugly ass. I count on the road for every 100 cars, only one Suprima spotted. As rare as spotting a Porsche!

Wake up Proton, stop being delusional syok sendiri!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • dun waste tax payer money anymore. pls sell off this rubbish company. yea, u may design a better outlook car, but wat about d engine? still d high fuel consumption n noisy compro? and d cvt cant even pull out d power n lower down d fc for ur compro. its show how failure is ur car completely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • Faggots Inspector on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Just close the company down. You can come up with the best of designs but all the vendors for the respective parts that make up Proton are all cronies and kutu kutu Mahathir. They are the ones spoiling the name of Proton.

The overcharge Proton and give very low inferior parts.

But now, nothing can be done because Mahathir is at the top and he will protect all the parts vendors as they are all his cronies and buddies.

Who suffers? The 30 million Malaysians suffer. We pay for a car with low quality parts.

The day Proton change all its vendors and suppliers, you will see Proton will prosper and become globally competitive.

So Azlan Othman, do you have the telur to tell your management that no matter how great the designs are, if the parts supplied by crony vendors are poor quality, everything goes down the drain.

Do you have the telur Azlan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 24
      • fast5 on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I advice him please read more Paultan.org comments and listen to our(RAKYAT) comments on how really proton design is.

Proton Head of design?
        More like Proton Head of telur kecut.

He talk so much lie just to keep his job under Tun DrM management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
      • Olala on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Most businessman dont pay tax or chected on audited company account or declare false incometax, stupid as our politians.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm

“…all the vendors for the respective parts that make up Proton are all cronies and kutu kutu Mahathir…”

All of them? I would have agreed if you have said “quite a number”. All? I don’t think so.

Bosch, TRW and ZF?
        How do you explain about these three global suppliers?

These companies would not have set up shop locally had the requirements were to give away 30% of their equity for free so to speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:46 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 171
        • john error on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:09 am

ah beng.. 30 million suffer becos of the tax for the imported car.. high tax to protect national car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
          • superman on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

I believe our friend Ah Beng is a Proton employee tasked by drb to reply to all negative comments. I can see from the way he writes proton in Capital letters. busted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:44 pm

“If you want quality car, buy Suprima S.” – Ah Beng (not even chinese)

Means those who spend RM30k-RM50k for Saga Persona deserve junk, since Suprima S only a quality car?

Your tune already tell everyone how “good” Proton is. lol I can’t stop laughing.

Check out the problem Suprima S FAQ at lowyat forum lar: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2963214

Suprima S a quality car? Still far man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • zzzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Suprima S is a quality car? Stop dreaming and faking around. Which part of it is good in quality? Tell me Ah Beng! TELL ME! Mediocre looking design, cheap and ugly interior, the equipments are not practical too. You should go to bed!

• kapaia on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:51 am

zzzzzzzz..you pegi tidur lagi baik…u baru keluar dari gua niah ke?

• bak keng liang on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:29 am

Aiyoooo what telor are you talking about. All the keyboard warrior like you and the rest got no telur ma…for the sake of your telor. Why don’t you be a man and tell azlan to arrrange a meeting for U urself to meet P1 mgmnt and tell them about this. Again. All ‘no telurs’ here can talk talk talk here but end up no where!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:24 am

Agree Bak Keng Liang and Jeffrey Ng..These bashers are mindless and not knowledgeable enuff to comment bout our national automotive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
          • Beams on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:46 am

u need to take consider that we are all consumer. we dont give a damn how the make the car. all we care is value for our money. its our money not urs. why would we buy bad stuff when we can buy good stuff for the same price range. just imagine if there is no taxes on this import cars. remember this, its our money. not urs

• bak keng liang on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:48 am

Dear Mr. Faggots Inspector,

To ask people whether they have a ball or not is so inappropriate and disrespectful. Oh. i forgot, U are faggot aren’t you? haha. And by simply attacking people without knowing the real situation is so 3 rd world class of mind setting. It is a snap judgement. Get your fact right. Where the 30 million comes from? Pluck from the air?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • want_DIY on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:13 pm

i think the only Malay language that Faggots Inspector know is ‘telur’…poor you..

• izack04 on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Dear Mr Azlan,

I do not agree that suprima s design is really from customer feedback. From what i see, suprima s front is direct copy from preve, maybe for saving purpose but there is other saving inciatives that can be done such as using same wiring module etc but let the shell give the other perspective to future customer. For me suprima rear design should be sufficient, but please the bumper and lamp need a change to differentiate from preve. Please be super lead against time when designing because time were taken to make it into production were too long. Your design would be late or obsolete during launching since many manufacturer came with better design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 7
    • prabowi on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:06 am

For your sake n proton, please pull in donato coco from lotus to help u with the global design.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:52 am

izack04:
      Please learn more. What is the different between Mazda 2 Hatchback and Sedan? Mazda 3 Hatchback and Sedan? Ford Fiesta Hatchback and Sedan? Honda Brio and Honda Amaze? Toyota Yaris and Vios? Why when PROTON design Preve and Suprima S, you condemn it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • driver on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:36 pm

what would you say about Audi? VW? Ford?

don’t get carried away by Perodua that doesn’t have a standard design philosophy. Of course myyvi, viva, alza look different, because Daihatsu has said so.

• “And you can clearly see, the Suprima S is a far more exciting product than what the Prevé is”

Delusional? Please come back to reality Mr Azlan Othman.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • Name2 on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:27 am

Suprima S
      Exciting design > Maybe. Syiok Sendiri
      Sellable design > No. Rarely seen on the road. Another syiok sendiri

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Few queries..
    The EMAS is design by Giugiaro’s ItalDesign, right?
    The public really feel excited when they saw the Suppa S?
    If you already consider the suppa S already giving what the customers are looking for, then i can say there is no hope on potong future design.

Honestly, the design been improved, but still far far away to compete in the market, especially the global market.
    If you put the suppa s (c-segment global car) among these hatchback cars like Focus, new 308, Mazda3, Euro Civic, Astra, Golf, and others, the design score will be the last one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Matchy on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Yea… look at the Qoros 3 Hatch, way better than Suppa S!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Your preliminary designs are up to par with other top car designers…the outcome should be that dork management who knows nothing about auto trend but money….it’s that rotten executives and cronies that should be put to blame..indeed sorry for third tier workers..

• Design? Apa design?

Their biggest achievement in designing is the “Teh Tarik” hook. Probably had a big party to celebrate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • ..when time to produce the design is totally different from the original.

not good..

• Carlover on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Dear Mr Azlan,

Do you what is car design? Why Proton design is so outdated. Interior design is poor and car shape also not nice. Why Proton Saga look like cheap car? Why Persona still selling in market and intro so many variances. It look bored already and outdated. Rakyat being force to buy Proton. Do you Rakyat work very hard to earn money and being force to buy this kind of lousy design and lousy quality car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Dear Mr Azlan Othman. Please listen and analyze all the feedback that you can gather here from Paultan readers.

“Even with issues such as “plasticky” interiors – there was a time where that became the buzzword [to describe Proton’s interiors] – you hardly hear that anymore.”

The Preve and Suprima’s dashboard are still plasticky despite improvements over the Waja/Persona. The manual aircon knobs are horrendous (Persona is better), the central aircon vents are flimsy, switches are not tactile, the grey hard plastics on the lower dash should be replaced with soft polyurethane, and the only soft plastics that you used were textured in grey ‘bath mat’ contours, which is not really attractive. Fit and finish remains disapointing. You guys need to get back to the drawing board to redesign & come out with better materials for the Preve’s interior.

It’s time for you to listen more and stop thinking that you’ve done enough. By the time you’ve moved one step, the Koreans have already leaped another three steps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Not many comments here are helpful at all. Many are just talking out of hate, anger and/or exasperation which don’t really help anyone understand anything.

This is one of the more helpful ones. Specific criticisms that are not over the top. My hat’s off to you.

I don’t support nor do I hate Proton but telling them to “close shop” won’t help.

For the record, I don’t think the SuprimaS’ backside is as horrendous as some people say. Certainly won’t burn anyone’s eyes out. Actually looks pretty good. Much better than the Preve’s backside, if you ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Jeffrey Ng on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:24 pm

That’s the problem in Malaysia.
        Most comments are just mindless bashings.

Some people think that the fact that they have worked for car assemblers in Malaysia make them understand how to design, engineer and develop a car.

With all due respect, car assemblers just localise stuffs. Granted, this by itself is not easy but is still considered some kind of replication because you’ll always have someone from the mother plant to assist you when things get sticky and not to mention car assemblers in the region work with proven design.

When Proton design, engineer and develop new cars based on proprietary design, there is nothing such as a mother plant available for supports and assistances.

This is much more difficult than assembling cars (with a bit of localisation of course). Proton have proven that they have passed this phase (Inspira?). Now is the phase that they are still trying to master.

Yes, car prices are expensive. Even if Proton really close down, do you really think that govt will allow foreign car makers or even Perodua to sell cheap cars? Don’t daydream.

Perodua? They may be expert assemblers assembling Daihatsu/Toyota cars probably with high degree of localisation. But if you weigh the value of the car, it is probably contentious.
        How? Consider this…
        Value = Function ÷ Price
        For me, I don’t see much of the value built in.

The global leader of Value is currently Kia and Hyundai followed by Honda. Just look at their recent offerings. For one, Proton is taking a right step forward by giving more value to customer but is probably wrong to constantly rehash old models but with more stuffa built in.

Proton is currently trapped in a chicken and egg story. They need a new engine to replace the aging Campro but on the other hand, they need to sell more to justify the ROI.

The yet to be launched new hatchback aims to change that based on what I know.

And by the way Proton if you are listening, you seriously need to do something about your service centres. Up their technical and custoner service competencies, now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • bak keng liang on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:53 am

Mr. jeffrey,

Your comment is so positive and make sense compared to all the hired and paid bashers and haters (i dont know who paid them to do so). Proud to know there are still a very high class malaysian like you.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:27 am

Jeffrey Ng is the real Malaysian and automotive passionate. Like your comment 1000X times..

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Yea, comment should be like this, fact based. Not asking people leave Malaysia, suck mum titties these meaningless comment from Ah Beng (not even Chinese).

You can love Proton, I won’t stop and I won’t blame you. At the same time you have to admit Proton car and after sales service are close to junk level where A LOT OF IMPROVEMENT needed!

Everything on fact, no need emo one.

• Name2 on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:31 am

How about saiful backside? You jizz?

• Aero (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:32 pm

I second Obviously, this is a very constructive and honest comment.

I have sat in both the Preve and Suprima S, and to say that the car is not plasticky is a blatant lie. The Preve’s top portion of the dashboard is fine, soft-touch even. The middle part, which is glossy in the Preve turbo, is below average, and the matte gold one in the Preve IAFM is just terrible. The lower parts of the dashboard, about as good as a Ford Fiesta’s, which isn’t saying much. The Suprima S’ patterned silver dash is probably the worst of the 3 designs… It just looks cheap and bland.

Then on to the buttons…. the fog light and hazard light buttons on the dash are just too flimsy. I thought they were broken at first ! The touchscreen units are fine…. and surprisingly, the non-touchscreen unit in the Preve IAFM looks and feels okay… but the lettering should be in a more readable font type.

Lastly, the quality… the worst part. The gear lever knob in the Preve turbo will INEVITABLY break off. Not once, twice or maybe even three times if luck really isn’t in your favour. The material on the middle part of the dashboard may also crack. Other than that, the quality of the interior components are fine. I’m speaking of these 2 common issues based on photographic evidence in the PREVOC group.

All in all, Azlan Othman is only partly right… yes, compared to the Persona/ Gen-2 interiors, the Preve/ Suprima S are QUANTUM LEAPS ahead. However, the designs are still not up to industry standards… in terms of both design and quality.

Proton has improved quite some ways in the last 5 years, but not nearly enough to catch up with the industry leaders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • just get one of those Italian designers..worked magic for Hyundai..

• Hey kid, how about learning from the legend, Peter Schreyer?

• superman on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:41 am

Peter Schreyer will runaway if he worked at proton with all those wannabes who would stick their noses into his work and designs. same happened with all the German top directors who left after drb took over the company. during those days proton was started to show it self again.

• totti on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Suprema S backside is worst if you compared to 5 years old Fiestas/ Nissan Latio hatchback/Volvo/previous Mazda 3 hatchback.

The head of designer is talking co….k.

Even with the proton MAS design in production, They still inherit the fail CAOMPRO engine which the engine is rough, noisy, high fuel consumption and fail below 100K mileage.

Nobody want this useless child to survive and need to to do a recalled of Mama…K to rescue.

Can the Mamak get more fund from the G(Rakyat money)to milk the cronies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Head Hunter on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:24 pm

If you work for the service of the rakyat and envision better cars in Malaysia, please work with passion. I know, money talks but with a great design that comes out from the best of your designers and engineers, money will come to you and it great numbers. Otherwise, this design competition is simply to me just an excuse for the lack of imagination and creativity on Proton’s side. Stop with the “Syukurlah ada Kerja” attitude show some national pride and make great cars!

• mim (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Dear Proton,

Please buy Bertone. Just leave those crappy vendors. Make Bufori as your interior supplier. Get ZF 8-speed box. Put the goddamn Petronas engine.

Problem solved.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Problem solved? Seriously?
      I beg to differ. That amplifies the cost problem.

If your wish comes true, how would you price the car?

• mim (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Just by leaving those crappy vendors will eliminate the cost problem. They’re charging Proton soooo much, yet delivers crappy quality.

During prototyping, all proposals from vendors are so top notch in quality. During production, quality inconsistencies is everywhere. Before I left for Germany, I was an intern in one of them and I’m quite sick of it.

Back then, Proton didn’t have the nerve to leave them because politicians will go “PROTON PENGKHIANAT! TAK BANTU INDUSTRI MELAYU ASDFGHJKL”. I dunno how Dr.M deals with this right now, because he too expressed dissatisfaction towards local vendors.

• superman on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:43 am

Bufori? are you kidding? now they also became crony??????

• Spirior on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Petronas engine is designed for longitudinal layout. Until now still couldn’t be packaged in east west layout. Belum cerita gearbox lagi.. None in proton line up can be mated to it.

• hukaka on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:41 pm

i hope proton can be strong to produces world standard car,as a Malaysian i own a wira,satria,waja until now also looking for a exora or suprima S.
    but the quality are getting lower day by day.
    price are getting expensive and the refinement quality of vehicle it’s almost same as last time.
    services center are also a key factor to losing confidence to owning a proton,last time a change my wira clutch oil they drain it but forgot to refill
    it back then i stuck in a traffic light,cause the gearbox are not getting to shift gear.luckily some one told me can used a break fluid to fill up the clutch tank,for temporary used.then only manage to drive.

• Not right on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:47 pm

“Let me answer purely from a design standpoint, as the chief designer. The response has been extremely positive – in fact, for the past few products, we know for a fact that design-wise we are already giving what the customers are looking for.

They were excited when they saw the Suprima S, and even until today they appreciate the elegant nature of the Prevé. So we know we don’t really have a problem with the design and it’s actually been getting stronger and stronger.”

Are you sure? Very, very sure? Don’t put words into our mouths.

How many Suprimas are on the road today? While I appreciate the technology (Turbocharged,etc) that goes into the Preve, design wise, have you looked straight into Preve ‘front angle view’ and thought that the lights and grill could have been improved further, it looks a little odd, maybe the headlights are not wide enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Anonymous Coward on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:47 pm

To be frank, Suprima S rear design is… OK, but kinda meh. It’s just too busy. If the plate number piece was moved to where the “diffuser” is, it’d look a lot better and would give the complex rear-end some breathing room.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:54 pm

You’ll end up with a bland rear end like the Passat.

• Anonymous Coward on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Maybe, but I disagree. I think you might end up like a poor man’s 1-series, which isn’t a bad thing, really. As is, the Suprima and Preve have a minimalist front-end that’s not served well at all by their overly busy rear design.

Azlan, listen: that “horizontal connecting bar at the rear”, drop that. It’s making your design too busy for very little return.

• Head of Kangkung Styling Protong on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

So this is the moron behind Protong design, epic failure shown by the last few models and this is the general consensus from the raykat !! Hint why don’t you think you have gotten datuk ship yet coz simple epic failure in your protong designs till date !!

You said “the basic rule is to get the right qualifications,” can you tell us what qualifications you have coz I strongly believe you failed art class in your SPM !!

And don’t bullshit the raykat with your stories saying “when we designed the EMAS concept back in 2010” like a small kid, everybody knows the EMAS was designed by Italdesign Giugiaro and this is direct from Wiki “Proton Emas was planned to be Malaysia’s and Proton’s first global car and was expected to be in production by 2012. As of September 2013, Proton’s website neither lists it as a current model or a concept car. ”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Emas

EPIC MARKTEING FAILURE by protong again, highlighting their head of styling when its been a total failure all along !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Head of Kangkung Styling Protong:
      You should ask more and seek for more answer not just blindly telling false fact. You should understand when designing a car, the OWNER or CUSTOMER should have an idea of what car they request to DESIGNER. That what been explaining by Azlan Othman. Yes, Italdesign do the complete and final touch up but the concept design and the vehicle architecture still comes from PROTON Engineer!!

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:59 pm

So tomorrow Proton comes out with its SambalBelacan Petai design Ah Beng (not even a Chinese) will love it so much. lol

Good one!

• Not right on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

the car looks bulky, too tall, big back side.

headlights integration with grill look as if they were designed with a pencil and ruler, it could have been made wider, sculpted a little and the inner side/edge of the lamp should have a seamless transition blending with the grill in a sophisticated way.. currently, it looks too ‘neat’ and the edges of lamp and grill bordering each other very simply, which is not good. And the DRL lights look like after market Ah Beng add-on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • ruffstuff on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:47 pm

yeah.. it looks ah beng and after market when it comes to proton.

The headlamp supplier is AL. Known for audi, bmw headlights.

• Anonymous Coward on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:10 pm

The DRL lights look like an add-on? Maybe the viewing angle, yes but if the Suprima’s DRL looks like an Ah Beng add-on, what does that make the Accord’s DRLs? Or Lexus? Equally as bland, I’d say.

• Sack him now on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:07 pm

All the empty promises.. All the story telling tactics to keep their job… Time to Just get a German designer or even a Korean one

• Hello PROTON….for me u’re desperate and dont know where to go and what to think…let me give you simple idea….ask maybe Subaru, Saab, BMW or etc..make a special project car…this time PROTON become second layer….let these company settle from the design, material, engine and maybe PROTON just handle the management scope…introduce it as PROTON model…then I sure rakyat will change their mind and you can proceed from there..that’s one of the only solution…nobody cares and happy PROTON decide and made car from A-Z right now…they’re not happy

• SackHim on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Sack this useless guy. Proton design is so shitty. He is the man responsible.

• “How much of the designer’s initial idea survives onto the final product?

A lot, actually. Very rarely does the product turn out to be something totally different.”

Really? then what happened to the Tuah concept that became the Preve? I don’t see anything much similar between these 2

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Dear Mr Azlan.

I am too in the design sector thou not automotive but rather entertainment. My time as a student, I’ve found that most Malaysian honestly have a very vague idea on what design is supposed to be. We grew up on a society that only the ‘results’ matter, an therefore, as with proton and with almost every other car brand. Basically if It pleased the eyes, it’s ‘nice’, an when it’s not, ‘it’s shit’. Even if you could sit down, analyze and be proud of your sketch, digital render or even CAD, the result might come out very different. And I’ve learned the hard way that different people sees design very differently, a flower to some is a nuisance to others [case in point: Lexus, Hyundai’s fluidic design].

Of course I believe your much longer experience in the industry, you should be able to unserstand this all to well. I do understand the chellenge when it comes to global design, it’s difficult to please every individual or as many individual. The problem with the Preve-sibling is that thou an improvement, there’s nothing to show its a stark contrast to previous proton models and this can be espacially true in the interior. To be frank, the single block tower design looks like from the 90s and using wood veneer or gloss to surround it encourages this thinking. And just to add, after spending time looking at the Suprima, I do prefer the Preve over it.

As a suggestion, to move forward proton in design term, proton must gone up with something much more dramatic and different to seperated itself from its past and it’s rival. The Preve looks like any mid naughties Japanese or Korean C-segment with fancier aftermarket LED DRL, while if the spy shot is true, the new GSC looks like any other mid-naughties Volkswagen. Do come out something starkly different, like Honda in the mid naughties (FD Civic, euro Civic, last-city), like the Korean duo and more clearly seen, like today Lexus and (dare I say it) Toyota. They came out with design that truly seperated themselves from the past, taking it beyond. Thou I do understand body design is limited by your production capability, but truly this is the only way I believe to move proton forward. It is very risky, but I believe it wi pay off.

Sincerely
    AVH.

• QChan on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:21 am

Agreed and a case in point – Hyundai broke away from its past with the current Sonata, and the Elantra took away the US COTY award!! It was truly a sterling effort. Truly global cars!

Hyundai dared to look beyond its shores for talents. Even mighty Nissan has Carlos Ghosn. Let’s not even go into “Colour of the Cat” analogy……… : ). It’s never about patriotism alone when the whole nation gains.

Take that leap, Proton!

• Absolute Rider on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Dear Mr. Azlan.

First thing first. These three days (Monday-Wednesday), I didn’t even see one Suprima S on the road. New vios, city more than Suprima S. Normally hard to see one also.

I have to copy my previous post for you and engineer to read.

Suprima S without proper diffuser and rear light guide too thin. Yes, you will tell me it meets the EU standard but I would say the light guide really serve no purpose during heavy rain and heavy rain and sun shines (hujan matahari) at the same time.

Global Standard: Proton says global. Push Start / Stop button and keyless entry. The one can be found in Preve and Suprima S are not standard. The front parking sensors for Suprima S also have to be manually operated as other manufacturers offer cars which are automatically operated at certain speed. Everything has to be more convenient to driver not give more operations to the driver. If the driver want to park or out from the tide parallel parking lot, then the driver have to press on and off the front parking sensor for few times? Come on! Sorry to say. Why make it so different?
    Engine Development: Well, it needs a huge amount of money, man power and time. However, Proton is too slow on this. Still remember about 10 years ago when Proton launched Campro and fit it in Gen2, they talked about the flexibilities of Campro which can be easily manufacture to bigger engines’ capacity, valve deactivation and few others technologies but until today; none of this can be seen. When can we see introduction of aluminium built engines?
    R&D: Please don’t spend too much time and man power on unnecessary variants of each model. Do your R&D more on potential models for the market. Minimize platform, maximize models and segments. Including cutting down the weight of the car by using more Hot Press Foaming (HPF) & ultra high tenstile steel on car structure makes it lighter but stronger. Some car manufacturers already use more than 50% HPF on their car structure, using more reinforce aluminium panels on some body parts even the suspensions systems and many others.
    CAD, CAM etc.: Stylists, designers and all related personnel have to be good and creative using such software so that each item, part and panel can be styled, designed as accurate as possible. This is very important during designing to produce tooling, stamping parts and mould. Accuracy plays very important role as it will affects the end products quality and finishes. Do Proton and the vendors ever care about this? If the first mould output not accurate or with defects, do they redesign or recreate the mould with more accurate one? Look at Preve and Suprima interior fit and finish. Gaps not consistent which can be found all over the place including center console and gaps between the front door panel and the dashboard, those silver trim on door and dashboard not inline and many others. There are no consistencies in between. Lack of connection – rear door panel didn’t have silver trim. It’s just like two different cars!
    Choosing & Using Good Quality & Right Materials: It will affect the final look and feel for the car itself. Using nice and quality chrome finishes in some interior parts, better soft touch plastics, good buttons feel when being pressed, fabrics, leathers, etc.
    Stamping Parts / Mould: Accuracy is very important. Create smooth and accurate parts for better quality, trim, fit & finish such as interior panels. Small and consistent gaps between each join and inline from panel to panel can be produced.
    Others: Smart Info Display (SID) still using red backlit light really can be confusing and unpleasant as it can be confused as warning lights and the warning lights can sometimes to be ignored by drivers as they thought it is just a normal light. All this have to be changed soon! No more carry it to facelift Preve and Suprima S (manual?). Does Proton know about blue or black backlit colour? The center console light colour for ESP, front passenger airbag etc. too. Proton can use green if it is on, yellow or red if it is off mode!
    Upgrading Facilities: Upgrading factory equipment for every sector / department from beginning until the finishes in car manufacturing has to be done when necessary. Most car manufacturers even have small and simple item to measure gaps between panels after the body panels being put together just to make sure it is consistent. Full test track on car in real life also have to be upgraded to meet higher standard for better driving dynamics.
    Lastly, think a little bit bigger and execute well. In Suprima S, you (Proton) think big. However the Blaupunkt 7” touch screen Android ICE navigation system really a poor performer. Poor display quality, slow and old OS with bugs, poor audio output from 4 speakers and 2 twitters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • De-proton supporter on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Pls shutdown proton as soon as possible for the advantage of all malaysian. U will never success if still stick to this rubbish design + rubbish management. This is shame of all malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Tong Kosong on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Asked many people from their heart..Sincerely

Most Of Them>>>

“Stupi* designer design (or sketch only) Stupi* Car.

People Force to buy (Not happy initially)

No choice..then buy the Preve”

That is not the result of Market Driven..

Even “Malay” in Indon @ lower price tag will not buy!!!

1. Ugly
    2. Engine reliability

Believe it!!! Sincerely, please change your team.

• Tong Kosong on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Asked many people from their heart..Sincerely

Most Of Them>>>

“Stupi* designer design (or sketch only) Stupi* Car.

People Force to buy (Not happy initially)

No choice..then buy the Preve”

That is not the result of Market Driven..

Even “Malay” in Indon @ lower price tag will not buy!!!

1. Ugly
    2. Engine reliability

Believe it!!! Sincerely, please change your team.

• one problem i see is that when they start drawing, they make the car looks unrealistically wide with big tyres. when go into production, totally different. cantik masa sketching sahaja.

• Absolute Rider on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Saw the picture of Preve headlights on web site even before the car officially launched. Already feel not excited. Looks flat! Please look how people shape up their cars headlamps as part of the body line with nice craftsmanship and detailing.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Just looking at the sketch above, and rewatching the Preve launch video (available here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSLC54kaacI), I must say, this guy actually knows what he is doing.

To be fair to him, what I see in the newer Protons is not so much of the car being ugly, the Preve is not too bad, it looks pretty decent in front, the back could use LED lights instead of part LED part bulb brake lights, and the car does look quite nice on the side also. The Suprima is the same too, especially the LED light guide on the rear, but maybe the concaved in boot lid design could be revised to have it flat like a Golf or maybe slightly curved out like a Focus. Even the Exora (for the price as a people’s MPV and budget MPV) looks miles better than that horrid looking Avanza and Alza which is priced about the same as the Exora, tax free.

What I see is more like the marketing, and the people who actually decide what goes in and what doesn’t are the ones messing up the design. Like take for example the Tuah concept, which looked real nice at the back but for obvious cost reasons, we could not get the fancy rear light design, though they should have done a full LED rear brake light instead, making it cleaner. The same goes for the interior of the Preve. To be fair, after embarking on my journey of looking for a decent family car for myself for the last 1 year, I must say the Preve is not bad on the inside. Space is good, and buttons are logically laid out. Even the materials used on the top dash (soft) and the bottom parts (textured but hard) are actually good, compared to the absolutely horrendous interior in the Hyundai Elantra. In fact the Hyundai Elantra’s interior is downright a slap in the face for Hyundai Motors, imo considering how well the Santa Fe, i40 and to a certain extent the Sonata and Tuscon. The one thing with Hyundai is that you can feel they are trying too hard and they cut corners in the materials used with seas of hard crappy plastic. The same also applies for the Honda Civic FD, which has hard crappy plastic with a stale design too, compared to the FB Civic. This is not a bias or something only in Malaysia, but rather it is a known fact for even the other markets too.

I’d say Proton’s design is decent and rather pleasant, not exciting maybe, but simple, modern and clean. Vanilla. And people do like vanilla sometimes. Proton’s biggest weakness is more like the power train department, where the CFE really needs to go, with the CVT, give a decent Petronas engine with a regular 6 speed auto. Also, the fit and finish needs some more improvement too, yes they have improved over time, with closer panel gaps (this I can see when I compare my now sold off Proton Saga MY2007 with the Proton Preve MY2012), where things don’t have noticeable gaps, and there is no vibration and tin-like shaking now, but I do see in some Preve’s and Suprimas, like the A pillar airbag cover was not fitted right and the indicator collar that you twist for the headlights on was popping off in a Suprima, and in the Preve, the paint trim was coming off on the gear lever. I do acknowledge that I see this in some Inokom made products too, and sometimes in German cars that costs about 5 times the price of a Preve, but these are things that affect perception when we view the car, considering the car is probably the second biggest purchase we make after a house.

Sometimes I feel that the business and management boys should give the designers a break and let them do what they want. Let the designers design, get the engineering team to build it somehow, not do something because the engineers find that easier. 2 case in points, Apple and Jaguar Land Rover. When Apple used to make products, the design comes first. The engineering team then finds a way to make the design a reality. Even if it involves new production methods like lasers and CNC milling. Just look at how well the iPhone and Macs are made, making them so appealing to people. Same with JLR too. When the LRX came out, they got the engineers to find a way to productionise the concept which lead to the Evoque. Today, the Evoque has become one of JLR’s cash cows and money printing machine, cause it is so well designed and not meddled about with the engineers.

Proton, trust your designers. Don’t let the top management meddle about with what the designers do. Just looking at the sketch above and thinking about if they actually made that for real, that would be a very good looking, fresh and modern family car. Especially those headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Fairozee Hashim on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:00 am

Bravo. I salute you sir! If the management is the blocking wall… I fear for future of Proton. I saw that pencil sketch of Preve concept dated in 2008 and oh boy.. it looked much more awesome than new Mazda 3! If they (designers) are capable producing something like that… pls let them do it. Pls!

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Get the Germans or Italians for design,Learn a thing or two for engine refinement from the Japanese and learn marketing and customer needs from the Americans..Dont always cite cost as the reasons…no pain no gain..See how Kia and Hyundai waste a few millions to gain hundreds of millions?If youre unknown let your presence be felt by selling reasonable price and gadgets to your cars.Stop using Lotus handling for God sake..modern times low and mid torque is more important than anything else..The Japanese excel here cause theyre using lightweight components even though their safety is much to say..The Europeans is building a compact engines with turbo producing absurb power for fuel saving as well as little bit of excitement..Seriously with your hardened heavyweight chassis how long your Campro CFE producing 138hp/205nm will last?Current average1.6 turbo already produce 145-165hp no matter its low,mid or high pressure..For a start pls upgrade the power especially the torque for your cfe..140hp/240nm is more than enough to begin with..

• To be honest if i listed down all Proton designed for past 30+ years, I started envy this guy and what he is working…

Proton Saga
    Proton Iswara
    Proton Tiara
    Proton Juara
    Proton Savvy
    Proton Wira
    Proton Arena
    Proton Satria
    Proton Perdana
    Proton Waja
    Proton Gen-2
    Proton Persona
    Proton Satria Neo
    Proton BLM
    Proton Inspira
    Proton Exora
    Proton Preve
    Proton Suprima
    Proton Perdana 2013

• neemfa on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:54 am

What is there to envy? All designs are so-so.

• Don’t you see the design team only have few design for pass 30 years..(not to mentioned rebadged version..)

• Albert Lee on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Syiok sendiri designs will get you nowhere.
    Look at the Honda City and Jazz and competitive pricing.
    You should vacate your position and get DRB to bring in a junior designer from Honda Japan.This makes more sense.

• when dr M said proton is not going to produce cheap car anymore as cheap car always associated with poor quality, I think it is suicidal.proton should stay as cheap as it can. by being cheap many people can afford it and appreciate it quality , if they improved.that is how korean cars earned its reputation. they started cheap and continue to be cheap till now but look what they can offer on their cars.now it ate the jaoanese carmaker..everywhere now hyundai and kia..hyundai so clever to become official sponsor for brazil world cup..you know how its going to impact the customer worldwide. .its world cup..the biggest even in the world..can proton do that?

• Tiger on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:23 pm

If im the New owner or new CEO my first decision is to sack tis fella.Preve is considered super ugly than they outdone themselves wit the Supima…only those biases local car mag AUtOshiit called the Supima ” exciting and world recognized” …the editor of that mag even asked the readers to ” check out the nice commments on the internet” i got so angry paying Rm9.90 for tat mah i threw it away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Guest on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Azlan Othman is the best designer that Proton has ever had! Local talent is still the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • neemfa on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Syok sendiri statement. Your designs have always been behind the times.

• Lotus engineer on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Azlan othman is loser who lives in dreamland in a ghost town… Hang sorang ja suka design preve tu azlan…. Kalau org suka dah patut penuh preve atas jalan….

• sepul on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:05 pm

I think many here thinks Proton cars look horrendous because of the Proton badge and logo. If it was a Honda or Alfa Romeo badge they would have said otherwise. Why the hate so much? Past experience is past. They are improving. And I think we should stop linking them with the cronies and gov too much. I hate them cronies too.

Anyway, their design team could do better in regards to practical design. They have done benchmarks, but from what I’ve heard from a friend, Proton’s benchmark is mostly on the marketing aspects, not the product. Seriously?

As for the Suprima and Preve, they looked great to me. Interior design could be better, especially that corporate image consistency, where Proton should also embed into interior design as well, not just exterior. Common part design should be more persistent, the use of text on buttons should be uniformed (especially Preve and Suprima, I see many different fonts all over), clearer and solid illumination for the interior (steering button remains unlit, come on Proton) and improve perceived quality and tactility.

And please stop the quirky part, that is the boot release placement and fuel cap release (mine broke twice).

• Fairozee Hashim on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I do see some improvements on Suprima but saying proton car design is ‘going the right direction’… I do not agree at all. Look around. Look your competitors. They are 7 years ahead of you (Proton) in design department alone. I mean… I am designer myself. I knpw when i see good design. And I don’t go around telling people that my creation is great. Let your creation speaks for itself. Proton needs a wake up call or at least that guy needs it most. Real sad… really really really sad.

• in your own world on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:56 am

pity you, if you want to keep on living in your own world, that is your choice

• Finally we got to see his face

Degree dari cap ayam university ke?

Hahaha

Badut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Dear mr azlan,

For the love of god don’t listen to these folks (although there are one or two rational comments that we can take from here). These people will never buy a proton no matter what u do.

Now, dont play safe with your design. You have to come out with a design that wows in a good way. Design that boys would like to hang as posters on their bedroom wall.

Why not go crazy on the upcoming R3 car?

• neemfa on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

His design speaks for himself. Still wanna ask him to design with a wow factor? He can’t. Get it?

There are great designers and there are designers.

• and what is a good design to you?

Peter Schleyer’s Cerato with the mouse like front and the bra like/ Zorro rear light?

Or is it the ‘all new’ vios with fake stiched plastic interior and ah beng foglight?

Maybe the superbly fugly Honda City?

• Leonardo on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:25 am

haro – and you are from Cambridge Uni?

• mamat on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:10 am

such a looser.. your design become rare on the road now. think!

• look at the way he dresses…u knw he’s not a good designer

• Proton Gen2 MME on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:05 am

design – FAIL
    engine campro – FAIL
    interior – FAIL
    infotaiment – FAIL
    seat comfort – FAIL
    handling – oklah sikit

head of design? more to head of my ass..

proton shud send ONE of their best designer to pininfarina and LEARN on how to design a decent bad ass looking car.

because of proton, government put high tax for foreign car manufacturer (to help proton market lah konon) resulting rakyat have to buy proton with low safety and quality car, eventhou a Jazz price outhere are FAR more cheap than the local price of the stupid suprima ASS.

please people..if you need to buy a car, save more and DONT buy this shit metal.

kudos.

• ah beng siakk on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:09 am

indeed..R3 division slogan – Race. Rally. Research are more towards – Rosak. Repair. Regret

• neemfa on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

You can’t LEARN to design better. Just need to find someone better.

• Gen2 MME on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:12 am

design – FAIL
    engine campro – FAIL
    interior – FAIL
    infotaiment – FAIL
    seat comfort – FAIL
    handling – oklah sikit

head of design? more to head of my ..

proton shud send ONE of their best designer to pininfarina and LEARN on how to design a decent nice looking car.

because of proton, government put high tax for foreign car manufacturer (to help proton market lah konon) resulting rakyat have to buy proton with low safety and quality car, eventhou a Jazz price outhere are FAR more cheap than the local price of the stupid suprima.

please people..if you need to buy a car, save more and DONT buy this rust metal.

kudos.

• Fairozee Hashim on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:51 am

That pencil drawing is everything! Why Preve never end up looking like that???

• mayb it looks eerily resemblance to opel astra…copyright infringment

• This is what happens when a country suffers from brain-drain.

• want_DIY on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:21 pm

this is Malaysian…poor Malaysian…

• Mr TruthFact on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Yes, Sometime I agree with all comments which I believe Proton took seriously on the quality issues. All manufacturer do not compromise with the quality issues. It shows when Proton launching their Suprima-S. I’ve tried ones..I’m amazed. Quality wise i’ve no complains..maybe after i buy Suprima-S then i know. No body is perfect isn’t it?

I’m still believed Proton really want to improve their quality. Just give them chance. Hopefully with the Tun M as their chairman, Proton will improve a lot !!!

• Absolute Rider on Jul 17, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Look at the sales figure for new 3rd generation Honda Jazz in Japan alone!

Look at 4th generation Mazda 2, continue the design language. How the President and CEO is unveiling the car and watch one of the advertisement. SHORT BUT POWERFUL! 30 seconds only.

Watch your Suprima S advertisement, Proton. Please again, talk less do more. Japanese they are very discipline! Very motivated. Even Korean also getting better. Very hard working either.

• Absolute Rider on Jul 17, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Steering wheel for Preve & Suprima S not user friendly. Do you know the 3 and 9 o’clock principal?That’s the right way to hold steering, however the button is located too near to the edge, our palm always touching the button when holding the steering wheel.

Please redesign and fix this problem.

• junedb on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:33 am

Maaf Proton dan Azlan Othman sudah tiba masanya untuk anda turun pangkat untuk kerja transformasi proton. proton perlu bergerak ke hadapan untuk melantik seorang Chief Design Officer yang prolific seperti Peter Schreyer dibawa masuk untuk mengamudi Proton BARU.

• PLZDIE on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:35 am

Ah Beng when 1 ppl againts you i might think you are right, when 2 people againts you i say maybe just so ngam,but when majority of the ppl here againts you…..can u just shut the fukdup and wake up from your no1 potong car dream.

• gary lee on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:55 pm

All chinese in malaysia want proton demoralize and close the company ASAP bcoz no chinese DNA on the proton car. Ask vincent tan or robert kouk to build a car.so the kiasu people can live in happy

• comeonelah on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:53 am

We want it close down so that all our malay and indian friends can also join us to buy good quality cars at reasonable prices. Also, pls don’t put any Chinese dna in proton. Don’t shame us ya.

• amirul on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Can I industry practical to proton I like design a car I know use 3d modeling and inventor.

• RBNSN on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:29 pm

I don’t think Proton engineers ever wanted to design a hook to hold teh tarik. I mean seriously, how many of us drink teh tarik in the car?