2014 Lexus CT 200h facelift now in Malaysia – price with full tax from RM257k, F Sport RM325k

CT-200h-Blue

The facelifted Lexus CT 200h is now available in Malaysia, as seen on Lexus Malaysia’s website. The hybrid hatchback has been Lexus’ best seller here in the past few years thanks to hybrid incentives, but now that tax breaks for CBU hybrids have expired, the 2014 Lexus CT 200h starts from RM256,885 OTR without insurance, rising to RM309,436 for the Luxury spec. The CT 200h F Sport will set you back RM325,324.

Now this comes as no surprise after Toyota released new prices of the Prius and Prius c earlier this week, now priced from RM153k to RM231k with full tax applied. The Lexus CT 200h used to go for RM168,000 for the standard spec and RM202,899 for the Luxury spec. The sportier F Sport variant went for RM206,877.

It’s a substantial jump, because 2013 prices came with 100% exemption for both import duty and excise duty. Tax breaks for CBU hybrids below 2.0 litres ended on December 31, 2013. The new 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP) gives incentives to hybrids and EV that are CKD locally assembled, with no cap on engine displacement. The RM588k Mercedes-Benz S 400 L Hybrid is a beneficiary.

Now on to the refreshed CT 200h. First seen late last year, the most obvious change is up front, where the five-door hatch now wears Lexus’ now trademark spindle grille proudly. The new rear bumper design, new alloys and shark fin-style roof antenna are less noticeable.

Inside, there’s a new IS-style steering wheel, and the instrument cluster can now be had with a 4.2-inch multi-info display. The central screen is now of a thinner, fixed design, and controls are via an updated Lexus Remote Touch Interface. The available ten-speaker sound system (Luxury) features unique bamboo charcoal resin speaker diaphragms.

The CT’s Ni-Mh hybrid system is largely unchanged, but the e-CVT system has been remapped for a more linear build-up of revs to match acceleration. Basically, to be more like a conventional automatic.

Lexus claims that 94 measures have been made to reduce NVH. Body rigidity has been improved through additional spot welding and structural adhesives. Increased rigidity has allowed for suspension re-tuning. Coil spring rates have been optimised, a new shock absorber valve adopted, and the rear stabiliser bar diameter altered for better ride comfort. A new inlet duct silencer plate improves intake efficiency and quietness.

Your new CT 200h won’t be as common as the pre-facelift car, but should you want to stand out even further, Exceed Blue Metallic and Madder Red (or Red Mica Crystal Shine for the F Sport) are fresh and striking options. Now that Toyota and Lexus have revealed their cards, when will Honda do the same?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Walaoeh.

325k for an F Sport CT200h, or 257k for the standard one?

You could get the rather insanely efficient 320d for MYR248800, with enough change for a lot of diesel. Or if not, you could get a new 320i Sport/Luxury and have the change for petrol. Or a nice holiday.

Or, if BMW is not your cup of tea, you could also get an efficient Audi A4 1.8TFSI or even the C class too. These cars are significantly larger than the CT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 10
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:14 am

The NAP is suck, what is the EEV incentive program that replace/surpass the excise duty exemption and make the car market more competitive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • klata-klata on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:44 am

These short-term ad hoc flip-floping policies hurts Malaysians in that small uneconomic numbers of hybrid models are bought and condemned to a future of poor supporting services and parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:56 am

Lexus is never cheap. Those who bought it with RM180k can laugh loud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Government Failed its Rakyat on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:57 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air as hybrids promote a cleaner environment.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air. A basic necessity.

UMW is government and government is UMW. Both are one entity. So whatever UMW does, it is the government is doing because UMW is purely a crony company.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat. One of the most important element is clean air and water.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment and use cars that promote smoke.

Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment.

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:19 am

I agree with some of your points about hybrids and air pollution. Beijing is a good example of how bad it can get and KL is generally heading in that direction.

I also would like to point out that that is not the way you use the word “blackmail” which means to coerce someone to do something by threatening to reveal their secrets if they don’t comply.

Moreover, to say that our state of life is as bad as some African war torn country is an unfair comparison. I am sure the Africans who live there would disagree with you on this point.

Don’t belittle their suffering.

We are way better off. It doesn’t mean that we live in a magical, fancy happy land where all is ok. The government should be promoting cleaner motoring but they started taking serious measures really late and changes never happen overnight for these sorts of things. Most companies are also unprepared to launch CKD hybrid variants that the government suddenly said would get incentives.

That is the failing of the NAP. They do not involve automakers into the discussion as much as they should since automakers need time to lay out a plan and put it into action.

• Agreed, price for this things is hideous and wondering who will buy this shit pricey CT. Any of German B or C segment is way worthy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • rifle on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:00 pm

better get merc a-class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Gunawan on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Better get a better looking volvo V40 which is much safer and a c class than this Japanese advertised “luxury shit”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • pondan on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:58 pm

For those who think they got a cheap hybrid earlier… think twice cuz replacement battery will be subjected to higher taxes.

• airbags on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:36 am

Unless you got the money that you will never finish in your whole life and you don’t care. Otherwise, this thing is not worth for its value at all.

• therealmaserati on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Brutally expensive for a hybrid car.

Better off getting a Merc or a BMW .

With that kinda pricing, my as well dont launch.

Nobody is gonna buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • RV and Insurance down the drain on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:02 am

Pity current owners of this car and the Prius. Don’t get too excited about the price rise. Your parts prices will down skyrocket. Everything will go up in price.

the same with your insurance premium. It will skyrocket high because that is the new price to REPLACE your Prius and Lexus Hyrbid

The worst part is the car will have no RV. Nobody will dare touch a car whose price goes up and down like a yoyo. Who dares to buy a 2nd hand hybrid now when the incentive might be brough back again and taken away agin?

The Government has just thrown shit on every single Hybrid owners face! Few years ago tell people to buy because government said EEV was good. Now, flip flop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • airbags on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:43 am

Agree with you. Don’t launch at all. Malaysians are not the highest paid in the world, but cars are most expensive in galaxy. Lexus, you should put more sales effort in other countries where their citizens are capable to buy your cars.

• Honda no need to reveal their cards, none will buy hybrids at this madness price..in baru janji dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:02 pm

[Walk into Lexus ]

Yes sir, would you like to see our new CT200 F-sp…

LIKE HELL!!! One IS250 please !

Seriously, what were they thinking when theres the CLA, A, A3, 1er in the market. But I have to say better value than a Prius Luxury. Thou saying like that is like saying that trash can smells better than that other trash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:26 am

Sad thing is that this car will never get a CKD version. Lexus stated before that they do not want to compromise on the quality of their cars for cheaper production costs so this will likely remain made in Japan for the foreseeable future.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Whatever happened to this?
        http://paultan.org/2013/02/27/car-duties-from-japan-australia-to-be-reduced-miti/

• heybadigol on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:02 am

Seriously, the IS250 F Sport is just RM5k more than the topdog CT 200H. Hell yes, the IS is a WAY better car. Sure, it wont save you fuel, but other things (and its a very long list), the IS is just better. Can’t believe that the IS is better value than the CT.

What I dont understand is, both are CBU, but the IS is only RM5k more. I was expecting a far bigger gap in the price. Whats going on? Don’t tell me the IS under priced, cos its a whole lot more expensive than a 328i M Sport, which is a better value buy (though I kinda prefer the Lexus). So does it mean the CT 200H is over priced?

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:29 pm

I think you might have underestimated the premium for a hybrid powertrain, in the case of the CT200h’s asking price. I wish hybrids were cheaper but looking at the Jazz Hybrid and Jazz Petrol, the difference is about 15k previously (comparing within the same generation) and don’t forget the Jazz Petrol has a better features list compared to the Hybrid. In this case, both are CKD examples.

Now imagine what difference there will be between a hybrid and non-hybrid car in the premium market segment and that price difference is further amplified by their CBU status (The more expensive a car is, the higher they seem to be taxed. Go figure.). So a less feature-ful hybrid car might almost match the price of a bigger, more featureful non-hybrid car.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Pengsan Price!!!! Before tax is below RM200K now 256K. I wonder when AUDI launch A6 hybrid facelift and bring it here. Yes is true NOTHING to shock about because Prius topic already out few days ago.

• klata-klata on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:55 am

The brutality of the “normal taxes” on car buyers is revealed in this “now you see, now you don’t” episode.

• 325k for f-sport. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:13 pm

woo gila ke?

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Good luck on selling it at that price when one can get the Bimmer 2 coupe!

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

This is crazy. What is the purpose of “Najis” intiative to reduce carbon emission in this country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Bruce on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:36 pm

This bunch of morons are not doing it for the people. Also, UMW also bongok…who is going to buy??? Use ur dumbass brain la

• zeek (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Or for the same amount of money of the base model CT you could get a BMW 125M sport or save 20k and get the A250. Personally I’d have a Golf GTi or a Renault Megane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • 1st toyota prius, now lexus CT…
    what’s next? honda insight??

• AVH (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:31 am

Honda Insight is discontinued……replaced by presumably the City hybrid in Japan and possibly other nations as well.

• heybadigol on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:06 am

Honda Insight is gone. Honda admitted it wasnt selling well, so discontinued it worldwide. Not just here. But having said that, did see a lot of Insights roaming Malaysian streets, so don’t quite understand Honda’s logic (maybe Malaysians like hybrids more than the rest of the world?). Anyways, it doesnt matter anymore.

• Mampuslah Hybrid on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:33 pm

How much fuel saving in order to make the justification of owning hybrid car at such silly price for Prius C? Wonder if there is any resale value for second hand hybrid car…

The so called EEV project in Malaysia do little help on the air polution thus is so meaningless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:51 am

For the EEV project not really helps a lot in terms of reducing carbon emission, unless G shows initiative and sincerity by upgrading fuel standards from lousy dirty Euro 2M to Euro 5.

However, once the fuel standard is upgraded, those foreign clean and green vehicles will march in and national cars may take hard hit, which G does not willing to see, including father of national car.

• AJ HARTE on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Big prob… Guess 1 month also cannot sell 1 unit… That kind of price better get BMW 3 Series or Mercedes C Class!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:55 pm

wow, pricey still

• lookman on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Mahal nak mampus..Mati nak bayar hutang kete camni…

• apekgoh on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:01 pm

How much is new high spec prius is selling in US? Last i check it is USD32k … with tax free thow much are they selling in bolehland?…strategy back fire eh?!

• motomoto on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:23 pm

haih no eye see

• abuya101 on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Better buy Mercedes…

• fast5 on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:41 pm

At economic country love to heard of hybrid cars with better fuel economic, green and less expensive compare to normal fuel-petrol cars.

In Bolehland is different case, hybrid means super expensive with lousy full tax (that’s makes you never consider owning 1).

Others country living for future… Bolehland keep u in kampung until RAKYAT lose track of future…

Najib say m’sia to a economic world.
    The only thing I can see is Tax here Tax there until RAKYAT paying tax more then paying normal living NEEDS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Better get lexus es more spacious and luxury

• really curious.. year end sales report on these hybrids…

• Ray (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Why would someone buy a CT when you can get an IS or an ES with some extra cash? And provided that the NX is coming here soon (will it also be priced in the 250-300k range?), I don’t see the point of placing an order this small and tight hatch.

• roxas on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:22 pm

256k… idiots that will choose the 230k prius

• bootupjoe on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Good…Lexus…can “tah Bau” and throw away already.

• This goes to show how much is the Government of 47% is ripping us Rakyat from car sales.

For F-Sport: RM120,000.00 worth of tax to be paid to this Government of 47%…

On top of that, you will need to pay interest to the bank for FINANCING this tax. geez…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • holofanboi on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:26 am

I usually dont comment on the tax part but yeah. I agree that this time its really showing the ridiculousness of it all…

• TheDean on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Ok, so for RM50k to a whopping RM170k LESS, you’d get a hybrid that is BIGGER, STRONGER, and MORE comfortable in the Camry? We all know the dynamics of the new tax system, but why Toyota still sell these at such prices is beyond me. Why not just ckd the entire hybrid family and give logic to its offerings?

• fercab on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:12 am

You think Toyota/Lexus did not think of that?
      They ain’t stupid you know. They had to make tough decisions in this type of political climate.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:49 am

If ur in a bad mood, walk into a lexus showroom, stare n look hard at da price of dis ct200h,u wil b giggling ur way on da floor in no time, dis price is a depression buster!

• jflee on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:05 am

Following the announcement of the Prius and Prius C, now with the facelift CT200. I believe UMW is not so dumb by doing these. They must have some plans or marketing strategy. First, they must be very pissed off with current MY NAP and showing the public that it is beyond their control to sell a cheaper hybrid car in MY. Secondly, they are going to launch their Camry Hybrid which definitely relative much cheaper than the CBU hybrid.
    UMW are not worried about these CBU hybrid, they are more concerned about their CKD model.

The above is just personal opinion.

• Steve Kok on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:20 am

All thanks to our Gomen.
    Only hybrid cars made by cronies can enjoy the tax rebate.

• _xXx_ on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:11 am

haha LM, plz return your stock to whoever u got it from lol…

• Bataman on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:53 am

Sam Loo will be happy. He will tell you “See the high RV for Toyota/LEXUS? Now you can sell your old LEXUS the same price as when you bought it!”

• 257k….. that’s like getting the pre-facelift with lifetime free petrol and service..

• Next Air Tragedy for MAS and Malaysia. May the lovely souls RIP.

Gov badly needs money and tax seems to be the most easiest.

• Joker on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:33 am

That price!!!
    Would rather get myself a WRX STi when it arrives..
    Heck even the current market Megane 265 , 86, Golf R, A class….

• apparently proton hybrid will launch soon. now gov open a clear and smooth road for proton to sell their hybrid car.

• CT200h on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:18 am

I should post ad, then sale my car.
    Buy other car ???

• Everybody have to drive old high fuel consumption & diesel car to choke up the government first. then they will realize that “protection” need to be abolish instead feeding the cronies!!!

• Maserati(Official) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

at these published price, i could get a new 3 series diesel and use the remaining money cheong from north to south of malaysia once a week for 10 years….

• flipper2uman (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Says who that a car is a depreciating asset? Can only happen in Malaysia.

• WOW !!! on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:18 am

Dont want to pay for petrol, izit ?? Tax U 1st. This tax is like u paying your petrol in advance before u drive the car. Only idiot would do it.

• Samad Jain on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:29 pm

dont sell the toyota at showroom. Send it to museum better.

• ini macam punya harga..memang mampos la rakyat malaysia .. makan pasir …