2015 Mazda 2 breaks cover, very Hazumi-like!

2014 Mazda2 1

The 2015 Mazda 2 has been unveiled ahead of a possible debut at the Paris show in October. Known as the Demio in Japan, the all-new, Kodo’d, SkyActiv’d supermini will begin its global roll-out from Japan’s Hofu plant in the autumn.

It certainly hasn’t strayed far from Geneva‘s striking Hazumi concept, has it? OK, so the big wheels, bodykit, tiny wing mirrors and futuristic tail lamp graphics are gone, but the overall shape, silhouette and face are retained almost to a tee.

The two-tone interior looks refreshingly lux – we’re familiar with the steering wheel, Human-Machine Interface touch-screen, rotary Commander Control, ‘winged’ instrument panel, head-up display and single-zone auto air-con layout, but the circular air vents connected by a long, slim bridge that incorporates one ‘hidden’ air vent is pretty cool, and so are those two-tone seats with red stripes!

Announced engines for the new Mazda 2 are 1.3 and 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrols, and the new 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel. Japan will get the 1.3 litre petrol and the new 1.5 litre diesel. With the new diesel and a six-speed SkyActiv auto, CO2 emissions of under 90 grams per km are expected, no doubt helped by a sub-tonne kerb weight.

Expect SkyActiv manual and auto gearboxes, both with six speeds, plus MZD Connect and the i-Activsense suite of safety systems. Expect also a torsion beam at the back instead of the Mazda 3‘s multi links.

According to motoring.com.au, the new five-door hatch grows in all dimensions except width, which remains at 1,695 mm. Wheelbase has jumped 80 mm to 2,570 mm, length is up 160 mm to 4,060 mm, and height enjoys a 25 mm leap to 1,500 mm.

The Aussie publication also reports that the new Mazda 2 will be built in Mexico, Japan and Thailand, and that it claims 30% more rigidity as well as up to 20% better fuel economy.

A research report on Berjaya Auto in March indicated that the new Mazda 2 will arrive in Malaysia before year-end. Rumours also exist that the car could spawn an SUV that may be called the CX-3.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:19 pm

All that I like about Audi’s simplistic interior, thrown into an more reacheble affordable price(for me)…..Out-F***ing-standing MAzda. And ever since the CX5, to the 6, to the 3, Mazda has been stadily improving their interior form so-so in the 6, to one of the class finest in this new 2, matching the exterior.

On the exterior thou, I have mixed opinions. The front dose look stunning, like a Owl or a Hawk. But the rear is and side….I dont know, it dosent feel like it match that outstanding front like how the 6 or 3 does. Overall…..cant wait for it to hit Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Wow. Such an amazing car. Whoa.

The Jazz looked so good.

But this is even more wow.

Shut up and take my money Mazda. Two please, in Soul Red Metallic.

Though I hope they kill of the sedan. It looked a bit odd…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Ketuanan Road Bully on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Proton can only dream of producing such a high quality car.

It is so expected. Because Proton consist of ketuanan who are road bullies, lazy and just want everything free whilst the people who produce Mazda are hard working. Complete opposites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 62
      • Crampy car although the wheelbase is longer. Why they don’t stretch the width too?

Next!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

It is suppose to be a small hatchback, you want a sedan go buy a sedan, not everyone wants a bigger sedan.

• rifle on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:08 pm

aumm aummm..mengancam!!hoho

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Don’t look like an owl or hawk to me. Looks more like an angry bird on wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Ok la. Angry bird better than ugly bird.

• kudajawi on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Only Proton keep on saying cannot produce small, cheap car with high good quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Still the cheapest in Asean. What quality? Drove recon Mazda5 before, while moron said changing 6th proton is same like your 1st japs, I dun agree. It”s now more less the same.

• _xXx_ on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:12 pm

6MT plz…dun assume everyone like AT wilya?

• Hyundai KIA La Junk on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Kiss Goodbye to Birdbrain Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Somehow i see rio is better. Mazda2 is just a smaller car with higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Longer Wheelbase than New Jazz 2014.
      Bigger Interior Room.

Mazda 3 EEV RM8x,xxx
      then, We may have Mazda 2 EEV less than RM60k.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:38 pm

i like the side profile..

• Win liao lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:59 pm

The b-segment hatchback cars is quite competitive in the market too..
      Look at those 208, Jazz, Mazda2, Fiesta..
      The potong EMAS design is quite nice too but the potong chief designer prefer the different design concept on the GSC that meet all requirements that people looking for..
      Just let us WAIT & SEE and please don’t keep on delay for the launch ya.. potong is slow and ego enough ya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • fast5 on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:15 pm

If the mazda 2 price is right even in Bolehland(lousy tax) the car will be a hit.
      With this car u can still gets alot of chic’s even without driving a Audi or BMW.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:27 pm

excited. but don expect it to have all the toys u see on top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • kzm fanboy on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Hopefully Mazda Malaysia get EEV status for Mazda2 to get RM40K price and obody wanna buy Proton GSC anymore. Wakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Right. When it arrives it will be a watered down version.

• n45413 on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:32 pm

lawa nak mati

• Keta jepun dalam gambar je lawa. Kalau tengok dengan mata buruk nak mampus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Aaron on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Wow this is really gorgeous! If 1.5 CBU unit is priced under 90k and 1.3 priced undee 80k, it will definitely garner lots of sale. Mazda is really doing well in designing small car which looks really good! Kudos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • nobrand on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Keep on dreaming. The price will be over 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Well existing M2 hatch start from RM87k n sedan start from RM78k..possible wat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • nobrand on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:33 pm

First batch will be cbu and mazda show their trend to sell their new cars more expensive than previous generation. Mazda 6 and mazda 3 for example. Dont believe me just wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • W204 C63 AMG on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:20 pm

The old CBU mazda3 was not much cheaper than the current CBU 3. The old CBU 2.0 was 130k for sedan and 135k for hatchback. I know, because my sister bought one. Though the old CBU 3 was better equipped than the new one.

• Sorry i dun believe my brother sister neighbour in law nenek datuk jiran abang kakak macha macho ah lian aj soo amoi lenglui stories.

I also can say i drive a TSI..

• sutrak on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:12 pm

those who are afraid to dream are lifeless..

• nobrand on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:13 pm

those who always dream are lifeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
          • miggr on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Agree. And those who are complaining and bashing all the time are LOSERS.

• Garfield on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:03 pm

I hope that I’m wrong, but somehow I have a feeling that the reported CKD Mazda3 1.5 that is coming in October to cost below 90K will actually be a Mazda2. Judging from people’s comment here, some of you “invite” Berjaya to price the car too optimistically! If the Mazda3 1.5 can indeed be sold at 90K, then the Mazda2 should not be priced more than an equivalently specced Honda Jazz!

• Jaybond on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm

The only worthy Japanese supermini rival to the European supermini powerhouses (Ford,VW,Mini,Peugeot-Citroen,Renault & Fiat/Alfa) – design, quality, & performance handling wise.

• kereta_lembu on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I’m impressed with the interior design. Very nice, however I’m not sure having only 3 aircon vents in front would suffice for our extremely hot weather :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Mazda 2 on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:07 pm

I guess is 4 not 3 as mentioned.

• kayosz on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:55 pm

its ‘hidden’ near hazard light switch…

• Not that difficult. You only need a sitting fan in your ugly mazda2. Then it’d be uglier like a stable. LOL

• Reasda on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Can’t tahan those people who comment without reading the article.

• take my money already!

• Jimmy on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Cantiq inside out, judging from pictures.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm

The interior is gorgeous! Puts a lot of bigger cars to shame.

• doufa on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:23 pm

What use of look when its size is much smaller than its rivals?

• bigman on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

i wish the manual version will come to malaysia. who want it in manual? thumb up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
  • samlok on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:49 pm

awesome, i want one

• I think Mazda currently paling rajin compare to other makes. VW update is very minimal and still conservative look. BMW still follow similar design.
    Only merc come out with something fresh.

Good Mazda. Hope you service centre can be as good as your effort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • question on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:53 pm

nice.. but one question, why the handbrake is away from driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • slk3879 on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:25 pm

so that the rotary control can be placed nearer to the driver.

• seancorr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:52 am

Gosh they placed the handbrake away from the driver and put the rotary dial nearer insead? That’s absurd as the driver has to reach further to pull the handbrake.

Mazda should learn from BMW and put the handbrake in the correct place and place the rotary dial just next to it.

Apart from that the car looks…..decent to me. Interior is a big upgrade but exterior wise this car needs a bodykit to look good.

Plus I doubt our local Mazda 2 will come with all the above.

• quetion on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:50 pm

ok…one more question…are u going to use the rotary control when u are driving? or will u use it when u are driving? the answer is NO… what come in handy when something bad is going to happen is handbrake…

• shawal on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:02 pm

D current batch of obnoxious college kids has parted ways with their parents savings for cities and jazzez…

Mazda can start ckd the ‘two’ next year…

• Mazda 2 on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:03 pm

hmm…. How much will it costs when reach Malaysia?

• Roger Tan on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Good to see the concept has been brought to production model largely intact

• gaviny on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:08 pm

250nm of twist on the diesel, you can smoke the tyres until the rims at the traffic lights

• totti on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Well, this car look good but the interior is very cramp.(like suzuki Swift)

pricing above RM 75K will kill the product. This apply to Mazda 3 if they sell above RM 100K.

Honda City and Jazz still the king for B segment in malaysia now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • any news abt the mazda 2 sedan?

• Garfield on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Why la the need to obsess with sedans and corrupt the beautiful lines. Need sedan, buy better designed sedans lah. If cannot be beautiful, might as well don’t do it just for it to become an eyesore on the roads…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • usually mazda’s hatchback will come together with the sedan version tooo….
        ask lil bit also getting angry…whatla msia..

• Garfield on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_Demio

Ya lar u speak like the facts are all in ur hands. Read above; only the last gen have sedan model. Where is the “usually”?

I state the facts above and I am not the typical “angry” Malaysian. I am questioning back why “typical” Malaysian have to obsess with having sedan models for every car? Sometime back, these people were the ones hindering the car companies from selling hatchbacks for fearing that the car won’t sell. I for one, bought a 2001 Mazda Protege5(that’s Mazda 323 hatchback to you liz), that had been sitting in C&C’s warehouse; in 2003. Then, the car caused a lot of people to turn their heads and admire the beauty. I have to say that I was one of the only 40 lucky owners. Oh wait! My dad also used to own a 1979 Mazda 323 (also hatchback only!)

• as for me, i like the mazda 2 hatchback…if the sedan version comes i would really consider to buy the car…now as family person..
            that’s y asking about the sedan version……………….
            simple question like this also causes a stir …..

• MazdaTheAwakening on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Too emotional…smoke gets in my eye….finally the Kodo Family is complete with B,C,D segment. Next update will be MPS. Yee haaa Zoom-Zoom!

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:41 pm

All I can say is Kodo, SkyActiv and iActiveSense has been the ultimate lifesaver for Mazda.

5 years ago, many would not be looking at Mazda at all, but today, just seeing the Mazda6 that looks so close to the Shinari concept, and now the new Mazda2 looking close to the Hazumi concept, I can’t wait to see what’s next for Mazda. Plus, considering Mazda’s fun to drive nature and now, class leading safety and technology, I have a lot of confidence that Mazda is going to give the Jazz a good run for the money. And the 208 too.

Yaris/Vios? Forget it. Those are gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • guest on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:33 am

do u also know that Toyota Yaris will be using Mazda2 Skyactiv engines next year.

• So small, very bad handling car, lotsss of understeer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
    • hohohaha on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Amazing…you must be from the future to have driven one. How else would you know there’s lots of understeer with this new car?

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Comes with free steering lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Motorhead (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Impressive. .

Now.. the price is…

• Chow 1 on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Toyota Camry is more classy than Mazda 6. Some Mazda 6 on the road just having bad build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 52
    • you sound like toyota SA & the post not even about mazda 6… Bad sales during raya or what?

• junkaT on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Buy toyota if you dun want to be shown hilux when you sell you car.

Oh that’s what sam loo put emphasise with. Not yhe safery features.

• VWfanboi on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:31 pm

When it comes to Malaysia the Screen become chopping board lol… anything is possible for bermaz

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Shut up and take my money.

That is the best looking interior of a B segment car I can think of, and I’m including models not on sale in Malaysia, and the DS3, and the Mini, etc. That thing just oozes style.

1 zone aircon is hopefully not the best they can offer though. That would be a disappointment. And we’ll see about the safety tech, VW has raised the bar massively with adaptive cruise control and lane assist in the Polo.

• Enthu on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Will definitely sell like hot cakes.

• mmaker on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:09 pm

If this car selling here, the meter panel will be not like the photo above. It will be like our mazda3 panel

• kusochon on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:21 pm

woah this one is very nice unlike the new jazz which looks weird.

• wow the interior is conti level aka A class lookalike

but this car is much cheaper than A class

• hokee on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:33 pm

You compare this crap with A Klasse? That’s joke of century.

loloolololololololololol

• LeYuv on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Woah…. Nice.. Very nice.. I wouldn’t mind this car at all.. Now.. A few questions I have would be:-

1) How much is it gonna be when it reaches Bolehland?
    2) How much of the equipment I see above is gonna be lost?

• Low Budget on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Look at the accesories/components around the dashboard, definitely more beautiful than the Proton Saga Executice!
    Proton designers and their boss should put their tails between their 2 legs and fly to Japan and humbly learn from Mazda.

• xcvtc on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Saga was launched years ago. You should xompare it with upxoming PCC. Dun be so naive.

• This is what we called car..kudos to Mazda who truly understand what buyer need..

• Chyan on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Even the interior looks better than the Audi A3’s by a mile.

• Mazda already got good design and handling, i really hope they follow the trend of turbocharged.. then both look and performance will be perfect

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:20 pm

While it still looks far better than others in its category but it looks cheap unlike the concept design. Have to pass on this one and wait for the 3 hatchback CKD.

• I only can spot that it’s 2.6k RPM for 48KM/H with 6 speeds gearbox. What do you mean by sub-tonne kerb weight? Is it Milo-tin?

• Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:19 pm

:x

sub-tonne means under 1 tonne lor. Like that also cannot understand!!! Please go back to your kindergarten!

• romeo on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:08 pm

angry bird goes live :D
    1.3 1.5 skyactive will be good woohoo~

• Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I think 1.3L cannot lar…too low…must be 1.5L…otherwise won’t do the car justice.

• maxcavalera on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Hope their price it correctly below 80k to kill off Rio and fiesta.Please3x////