All foreign vehicles entering Johor to pay entry fee

singapore-coe

The government has agreed to impose a vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee on Singaporean vehicles entering Johor, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has announced, according to a Bernama report. He said the decision was made following a request by the state.

“I ask that the [Johor] state government notify the Road Transport Department (JPJ) on when the move can be implemented,” he said yesterday. “We will decide on the rates to be imposed. Part of the fee collection will be shared with the Johor government.”

According to deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, the VEP fee would not apply at border checkpoints in the northern part of the peninsula.

“We are taking a bilateral approach only between Malaysia and Singapore because only Singapore is imposing a VEP charge on Malaysian vehicles and not the other countries,” said Abdul Aziz.

According to Bernama, Johor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin recently said the Johor government suggested a VEP fee of RM20 (RM5 of which would go to the state government for road maintenance) for Singaporean vehicles entering Malaysia via the Johor Causeway and the Second Link.

Earlier this month, Singapore announced an increased VEP fee of S$35 (RM90) from the current S$20 (RM51.50) on foreign vehicles entering the island republic, effective this August 1 – more details here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• RM20..Seriously?
    Should at least on par with the rate Singapore is charging.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 17
    • MoFaz on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

agreed… they buy stuffs and petrol wayyyy cheaper here, and gov want to charge them just RM20? if they can buy a car (Exora is RM300,000 in Sg now),.. they surely could afford higher VEP, should be at least RM90 or round it up to RM100 a day! some malaysians also buy car from SG to avoid paying VEP when entering SG, so VEP should be charge for Sg cars regardless of their citizenship because they didn’t pay income tax to Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 18
      • Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Apple to apple!
        SG charge RM90 to RM earning Malaysian car.

Why not Malaysia charge same RM90 to SGD earning Singaporean car.

Problem with our government is: when it come to taxing own people, they are damn smart. But when they come to bill foreigner, they are brain dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 6
      • Johor - China's Ghost Cities on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Johor will need all the money it can get. Just a matter of time before it becomes another China with ghost cities built everywhere.

Large land banks in Johor were sold to China. To the Johoreans, I advice you, learn to speak Mandarin and Cantonese. Because soon, that will be your main language spoken there.

As for houses and apartments, don’t worry, supply will exceed demand with all the ghost cities soon to be set up like in China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 34
      • Facebook on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:48 pm

What is it to do with income tax? Do you know what is income tax? Income tax is charge because you are earning from this country, those who does not work in Malaysia why would they pay to Malaysia government? They do not rely on Malaysia to earn a living. Don’t bullshitting when you are not knowing what is income tax, don’t try to be a smart alec when you are only a fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
        • Ketuanan Road Bully on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Singaporeans scared lah to come to Malaysia after seeing the Ketuanan road bully.

We just showed the world what ketuanan is all about and Singaporeans now scared stiff.

If female tudung lady can act like that puasa time, Singaporean lagi scared of our thugs and gangster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 41
        • _xXx_ on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:01 pm

income not earned locally is still taxable if the person is a resident. But LHDM abolished it from 2006

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • NoKiasu please on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Please, impose more to these bunch of arrogant people who always put themselves as so call smart and Singapore boleh behaviour . If so rich, don’t stay at apartment in Singapore and tell Malaysian u can easily afford bungalow here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Charlie Teo on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Agreed many Singaporeans buy stuffs and petrol at belly, belly cheep prices. Have you considered the amount of business we generate for your economy and what about your people enjoying pay equivalent to a
        Manager’s (in M’sia) from our factories?

• kzm (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

I tot S$20=RM20 by paultanian logic…ok wat singapore previously charge S$20 before increase the charges

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Next year up RM15 to become RM35..so it will same as singapore charges at S$35..don mad at me, I’m just using u guys logic apple to apple comparison..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • We’ll let says we charge them the same rate as they charge as they charge us but double as sometime they buy our subsidies petrol to be fair for us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Johorean on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Agree, most of the singaporean keep saying JB is dangerous, low class, small town, blah blah blah… But keep coming in Jb to shop, Makan, and to pump our cheap petrol (+ shaking the car to fill more petrol) then go back SG…

Loves to complaint then why come in?
      *grabs popcorn

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
    • AndMay on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:27 pm

FYI, Sg cars can only purchase RON97, and that is NOT subsidised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • Welcome to JB…U will see these kaisu pump RON95 like they own the oil company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:52 pm

true enough.. still pumping .. ron 95… i see with my owns eyes.. pay by credit card sure not one watching..

• jb lover on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Imagine all the business that could collapse should Singaporeans boycott this vep. Then again of gladly pay this to avoid the 2 his jams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Kiasu on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm

RM20..? So cheap.. Should make it RM100 also can..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
  • holofanboi on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Eggggcellent >:3…..

All going according to plan….

The suggested fee is a little too low. But with time it should gradually increase. Like how everything else does ^^

• So what is this? Some revenge ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Should charge at least a minimum of the same price with Singapore or higher. Come one! If Singaporeans an afford to buy a car, obviously they can afford to pay a premium fee of RM90 to RM100. You should not burden the rakyat with crazy taxes and only charge Singapore drivers RM20. Please revise!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Joe Radzif on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Good but can be better

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Make it 100 and the Johor economy will suffer. You guys so naive, the Johoreans are literally living in the pittience of the Singaporeans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 56
    • R U sure that Johorean live under Singaporean mercy? Come on lah…singaporean just take advantage of Malaysian..why must we give way to them when they have other place to do cheap shopping..wake up lah unless u r singaporia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
      • Kangkung on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Bro, no offenses.
        If singapore never existing, JB is still a Jungle.

Lots malaysia travel daily or stay there to work.
        Work for their family. Bring back money to Johor/Malaysia.

Singaporean take advantage buy cheap stuff becoz of exchange rate. Their government doing good job to create fair, safety, well organizing country. Thus, higher exchange rate. Have to admit, much better security, hygience , government, less cronism, less corruption.

Malaysian take advantage on singapore.
        Job opportunities in SG/MY.
        Without this advantage, Johor can not grow fast.
        Most of the area still farm, village.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 45
        • Err..because of singaporia causing all this issue meh?

• mastermind on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:12 pm

no need singaporean we ..ur water source for your country still depend on johor….oops sorrry malaysia…
          better u talk to my c*c*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • kampungku on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:26 am

“Most of the area still farm, village.”

hmmm duduk kampung kan best.
          sayur free
          beras free
          daun kesum free
          daun limau purut free
          xder jem…

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:03 pm

no offenses taken but pity will be given anyway.. Singaporean luv talk big some times but they tend to forget neighbors need each others.. i believe.. u still relying on our’s farm good’s and etc… since we are the a constant supplier.. when there is a demand there will be a supply

• LatukBandar on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:14 pm

U need some common sense.

Say if suddenly JB swap place with Kuantan. Which city will be more advance and richer? JB or Kuantan?

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:05 pm

no need JB or kuantan.. to make a difference.. have u guys try to make a deal with Batam.. they are much closer..

• Nobody blame you for living in hutan.

Ppl blame you when you speak like you are from hutan with access to internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:57 pm

sure not.. if i could recall it is the Singaporean who is doing the other way around.. buying goods.. petrol.. etc.. at a cheaper price.. ?? why not go to batam for shopping.. or buy at you own home..

• yes agreed , let them increase and we will see how the economy of johor suffer . they now implemented rm 20 just testing water only . dun think sg ppl are stupid . if u increased to rm 100 who want to come johor since sg ppl can purchase / pump oil on their own country plus more safety and dont need jam 2 hr to travel back home . during the jam already wasted how many oil. so pls look at the bigger picture and stop being naive

• RM 20 only??they tapau our subsidized petrol a lot more than that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

patient is a virtue.. anyway .. they still act like they own a lot of money…. but still scrapping… like a bottom feeder..

• langit hitam on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Should be make its RM90 per day,not per entry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • stranger on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:32 pm

they cant do this, due to low tech system in Msia.

No traceability, except passport.

Autopass for foreign car in Spore is traceable.

• noname on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Then later they will spend 2 billion in studying it but end up cannot implement anything cos not enough funds to continue the study. lol.

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:09 pm

no need high tech just open a tol booth to charged the VEP… already makes the Singaporean feel annoyed hahahaha

• My name is messy on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Math failed big time. Now we know RM 20 can satisfy “them”

• Andas on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm

believe the G also need to consider for sgporean who bought a property in johor.. if too high, they may sell their property and go back sgpore.. this will give a bad impact on real estate in johor.. most of them bought 500K to 2million landed property.. r u willing to buy it from them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • hahaha on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:50 am

Thats the problem, you singaporean increase the property market. Local cant buy it. So now, the local are angry. Then tell me why should we please you singaporean? you are the root of the problem. suck our water and fuel and dare tell us how stupid we are(we know already). Since we are stupid, we charge you rm 20. hehe. pay please.

• kiasubtol on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:47 am

whos problem is it that made the property price go sky high? Why should we buy from sgporean? u buy sky high is your problem,the locals cant afford housing is our problem. Investment always got up and down, you think just because they want to go back singapore we are forced to buy from them? Even properties in singapore are being sold at loss now, i fully support the VEP. You can hold on to your property till kingdom come.

• sgpuiit on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:49 am

Complain so much then why buy property here? Singapore got no property to buy is it?

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:09 pm

but yet they already .. complaining this and that.. hahahaha..

• RM20? Up more la like times 3 at least!!!
    If Malaysian they know charge this tax charge that tax.
    Singapore charge VEP RM 20 only? What u scare?
    RM70 at least lah!!

• martual on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:50 pm

TBH, Singapore implement higher fees is to try to reduce cars going into their small little country. Is Malaysia as small as Singapore?
    Talking about petrol, simple, foreign cars pay DOUBLE the current subsidized petrol fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • If this is the case..then get Long kor ban car selling in Singapore for few years la..dont simply use budak budak alasan to justified the increased..

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

urks.. we got public transportation batter than singaporean anyway.. you could park your car at the island and take public transportation in johor..

• erwin on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:51 pm

tit-for-tat.

should make it RM100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Abang Long Kawasan on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:51 pm

$20 is okay ma…but not per vehicle, we CHARGE it per HEAD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • make it RM 200 per car also can…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:23 pm

In fact I think this is not that unreasonable, considering how much they’re getting from our cheap petrol & how seemingly impossible it is for the gomen to put a curb on that.

• Not revenge..it is called Fair Game. U need to pay to play..understood??? RM20 for Singaporean is nothing..they should be charge at same rate or higher..

• cendol (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:30 pm

A lot of Malaysians are working in Singapore not by force or out of own will but because of living cost is too high in Malaysia.
    A lot of Malaysians are driving Sg plate cars to avoid Sg VEP. They are forced to drive Sg cars as Sg car licenses are only allowed to drive Sg cars.
    Now Najib is collecting fees for every Sg cars coming in to Jb, What will happen to our locals??
    As it is, the living cost is so high until we can’t breathe already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • Andas on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

take bus maybe?

• Battu on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

can u give exactly how many malaysian bought SG car just to avoid VEP? just wondering since SG car cost almost triple from malaysia. i dunno buying car there to avoid VEP is cost saving. better use bus or other public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • cendol (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:40 pm

For 1 Malaysian car, they have 10 days free VEP to go to Singapore, after that they have to pay VEP on SG side which costs SGD20 per day. If you drive Malaysia car to work in SG everyday, the cost is very high.
        I don’t have the exact number though.
        And bus or public transport is miserable on Malaysia side, our public transport is world famous,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • @cendol.
      Does Malaysian driving SG plate living in JB do the below?
      1) Pay MY income tax? Checked
      2) Pump subsidised RON 95? Checked
      Then STFU and pay up. Kiasu is used to described Singaporean, not half baked SPR wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • JB_kia on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:15 pm

u stfu too, kopi.
        1. Go ask LHDN, are these ppl liable to pay?
        2. Do u know where exactly JB is? If not go google map it, come n see if sg plate drivers pump 95 or 97.
        Oh, btw, mr kopi, do u pay income tax?

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

why blame malaysian side only blame singapore oso lah..

• To be fair, SG govt has stated very clearly the rational of increasing the rates. Which i think is reasonable. But if MY govt blindly implement the same without any legit reason or purpose that is meaningful to the country as a whole will be unwise. Furthermore, there are many sg car owners are actually Malaysians. What an irony! SG govt must be laughing rolling on ground right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • Foreigner they dont charge when they have a chance. Your own malaysian, you whack them kau-kau with gst, maintain AP, stupid import duties to protect unprofitable industries,etc.

• Ah Jib Kor, tis time u r doing a good decision n hopefully ur decision is not half baked..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Balas dendam

• Ben the Man on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I bet some Singaporeans are laughing right now.
    “RM20?? mehh~ it’s just S$7”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Aiyoyo on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:01 pm

They come and pump a tank of petrol already untung back the money…not to mention shopping and enjoy other things…

• MY who on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:18 pm

ya lor not rugi at all… who want to make businees rugi meh… i bet u guy wont be able to cross over with full tank of gas.. heheheheh..

• Black Dog on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Rm20 is too little. Rm50 still ok so that it doesn’t look like revenge mah. After 1 year can increase to Rm100.

• Ricardo on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:58 pm

RM20 which is equivalent to SGD8 is pocket change to the Singaporeans. It is not their money strong but Ringgit is weak. Everything is cheap here to them. My brother who stays in Singapore even buys dog food hete which is very cheap after conversion.

• egg no on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:12 pm

MY GOV no egg. They scared losing Singaporean money. Desperate MY GOV.

• Kelvin on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Malaysia government scared of Singapore government. It won’t be implemented at all. they just know how to take advantage & bully on their people only. Let see whether my foresight is genuine or not.

• Najib on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:31 pm

I think RM200 is reasonable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Apa susah…………water supply to Spore is very hard to revise the price, so use this VEP to overcome it..make VEP cover the ‘lost’ of water price sold to Spore

• Jujitsuka on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I am OK with the increase as long as the Q at causeway is shortened… We only pump non subsidized petrol aka Ron 97 and above… Frankly speaking as long it doesn’t goes above RM 50 i will still go in to JB cos if you count in massage, food, certain groceries plus petrol it is still a fair exchange but if its gonna match the VEP imposed in SG, then the JB businesses will suffer and Msian SG PRs will suffer as they drive SG plate cars, whereas only SG govt will benefit as more malaysians will be forced to rent houses in SG and commute less… JB property prices will come down whereas rental will increase in SG…. end up its our SG govt that will earn big time not the people… Btw i love JayBee and Malaysia.

Peace Out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • hahaha on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:39 pm

“SG govt will benefit as more malaysians will be forced to rent houses in SG and commute less”
      Singapore workforce all living in singapore? Singapore so big? So funny.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Suddenly when MY charging VEP. We got so many concerned Singaporean about JB business. Last I heard they said it is a cowboy town.
        JUST ADMIT IT YOU ARE SORE CAUSE NEED TO PAY VEP>

• Mirsy on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:21 pm

You need to commute then you will understand what is happening. Malaysians who commute to work are two category those with Singapore PR (no choice but to drive Singapore car) and those who only has work permit. The PRs they may even own Singapore properties but still decide to live in JB. For those who hold work permit, renting a room in Singapore used to be cheap S$300 or S$400 but now forget it will S$700 to S$800 for room in Singapore. So it make sense to live in JB and drive pay $20 VEP in in a month cost about $440 only less than a cost of renting a room in Singapore. So you can see why Singapore increase VEP because the number of Malaysian driving car to Singapore has exploded and probably taxing the causeway and the congesting the Singapore roads. This happen probably happen in the last years. So it is correct to say that even if JB do VEP other than Singaporean which is peanuts, it is hitting Malaysian….. So in JB just because it is Singapore plate it may not necessarily be Singaporean but Malaysian with Singapore PR or even Malaysian themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Kiki The Steering on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:36 pm

@Mirsy
      Since you are so smart. Let me ask you this
      The VEP increase were allegedly because of COE ownership that were not in tandem with SG plate car. This were the reason LTA gave.
      1)Then who control the COE price ?
      2)Singapore Citizen and Singapore PR cannot buy MY plate car. This goes back to car ownership. No correlation here as described by LTA
      3)If VEP cost vs SG plate instalment is equal, wont everyone driving MY plate rush to buy SG plate? Will COE increase again?

• astar on Jul 17, 2014 at 5:33 pm

aku rasa rm20 is good enough. For now. Sebab apa, if u charge rm100 right from the start it could give negative impact on the numbers of cars entering Msia. Less cars entering mean less Sing Dollar flow into Msia.u guys said urself singporean come to Boleh to shop n eat. So charge them low, then increase la sikit2 like the government been doing to us.. The question is, will it be implemented or just hangat2 tahi ayam..

• mastermind on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm

it should around 400+++ per entry for fee
    portion rm100 as entrance fee n the balance 4
    subsidy payment….of using the public road…food drink
    law enforcement for speed trap…n etc

• “…. because only Singapore is imposing a VEP charge on Malaysian vehicles and not the other countries”
    ~ AND NOT OTHER COUNTRIES ~

• JBrian on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:24 pm

M’sian with SG PR are just plain cheapskate bcs they can’t afford to stay in SG and just buy stupid el-cheapo cars to drive in and out…hoping to suck MY subsidized petrol on daily basis.
    SG govt should charge S$50 for VEP for M’sian cars and MY govt, likewise should charge RM200 per head per day for SG cars.
    Why worry SG won’t come ? they’ll sure come one la..MY is just too irresistable to SG to ignore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • linvail2001 on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Part 1: Should request all Spore vehicles to deposit RM200 upon entering Malaysia. RM150 will be refunded when they exit Malaysia with RM50 being forfeited as entry tax. Then build a taxi station right at the entry point so that Sporean who doesn’t want to pay entry tax can take taxi.That should create more jobs for taxi drivers. I will quit my bank job and wortk as taxi driver there.

Part Two: Malaysia should copy Indonesia on the issue of land ownership by foreigners. Indonesia does not allow foreigners to own land in their country. Instead the allow long term lease as long as 25-30 years. Banyak gedung gedung yang gedang gedang di Senayan, Jakarta are actually on long term lease by the Japanese and Korean companies where they lease te land then build nice commercial buildings or condis. Of course the lease is renewable but it is at sole discretion of the local authority whethet to allow the renewal or not.

• hahaha on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:36 am

we could replicate their entry rules. they are smart! troll how they charge us. limit how much they can suck us dry. let them circle around the island.

• Anti-Singapore on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Singapore is benefitting from cheap labour from Malaysia. Well at least those from southern states. So yeah RM20 is a joke. I just paid a carpark cost RM at Amoda bukit bintang for RM21 just for 3 hrs duration. So if lesser Singaporean plate vehicles entering Malaysia then it is lesser cost to maintain the road and to pay those traffic police to manage the traffic. Also a lot of prices will go down when the buying stop by Singaporeans as supply will be in excess.

• Our goverment need to charge these “israeli loving country” a lot more..

• Zidane on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:28 am

Agreed. I feel disgusted to read their comments in Yahoo Sg about the Gaza crisis. Maybe they love Mossad so much who trained their armed forces

• Chicane on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:32 am

This is also a country who love to spy on us, and meddle with Malaysia’s internal affair. Thank god our leaders are so coward to take stern action….

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Suddenly when MY charging VEP. We got so many concerned Singaporean in Paultan about JB business. Last I heard they said it is a cowboy town.
    JUST ADMIT IT YOU ARE SORE CAUSE NEED TO PAY VEP

• hahaha on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:32 am

they bang us from backside and they expect us to obey them. So singaporean are god that help us? We should be grateful enough when they come and flourish us with money? waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa veryyyy good singapore! you win liao!

• Teksi Drebar on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Singaporean is on a shopping spree when they are in Johor. The government tried very hard to pull foreign investor and the Johorean just watch how life has been difficult on them. It doesn’t make sense when people are earning RM 1500 monthly and the houses are selling more than RM 400K. The government should treat its own citizen 1st class before worshiping the foreigners. Seems like it is better to be born in Singapore and spend in Malaysia. Is it a misfortune to be born in Malaysia and be treated 2nd class? Can Malaysia be created for us Malaysian and bring back our future? Please stop all the sickening bad politics. We are here to live for our future and please be more smarter to make Malaysia a lovely country for us to live and die happily.

• Singaporean on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Singaporean are pumping Ron97 which is not subsidy by the Malaysia government.
    1 question to all Malaysian. Do you pump Ron97 in Malaysia? Can I say no coz it is more expensive than ron95? And why it is so much more expensive?
    Are Malaysian working in Singapore earning SGD an eyesore to you all? Are you all jealous of them coz they are earning so much than you working in Malaysia?
    We Singaporean welcome Malaysian working in Singapore as they are helping us in a way or another and here I am seeing Malaysian destroying Malaysian.
    Sad Sad very Sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Kiki The Steerting on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:42 am

You sure boh SG pump RON97? Give me your email and I will send you pictures. SG plate driver go hide inside kiosk and let bangla pump RON95. Oh bangla mistake.
      Admit it. You sore cause need to pay VEP now. Don’t give lecture concerning JB economic well being.

• Singaporean on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:57 pm

When Singaporean stop coming to Johor, petrol kiosk business drop, supermarket business drop, property price drop, restaurant business drop and etc causing some retrenchment in Johor. Will you all Malaysian be very happy? If today, Malaysian clap happily to punish singapore for the vep increase, what will the whole world think of malaysia? Will investors still dare to invest in malaysia as they may be punish one day also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Kiki The Steerting on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:45 am

If those cannot afford to pay VEP of suggested RM20 (SGD8) per day. Then they better off go Batam / Bintan. Oh, ferry fee need to pay too BRO.
      Just admit you are sore cause need to pay VEP instead of beating around the bushes.

• JB_kia on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm

I hope all Singaporean are like you but too bad, most of them are not. These ppl keep saying foreigners taking away their job oppotunity. See for yourself, what jobs most foreigners are doing? Construction labour, cleaner, cisco, lta fatimah, production operator, kopitiam helpers, cook, storeman, forklift driver, bus driver and the list continues….

• Just a 2 cents on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:14 am

First of all, why people tends to convert the currency? If Singapore is charging $35 and Malaysia should charge RM 35. Secondly, those foreign vehicles are pump non subsidy petrol which is RM 2.70per liter and why so many people saying is cheap, again it’s because of currency convertion? Next, if so the currency convertion take place like many say should charge RM 100 then who will be suffering in this situation, don’t be foolish and make such a rash action. Although, it will have a minor impact as less Singapore vehicle travel to Malaysia yet it may cause JB economy stagnant for a while….

• pondan on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:27 am

for those half brain or no brain morons, imposing VEP on johor will just killing the Iskandar further.

if you have not been or work in SG before, stop talking cock cuz you are just another moron talking rubbish.

Unless, u live, work or even study in Johor or SG then you will have a say.

• byfun on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:44 am

Just another “collaboration” by both side of government to suck money off each other citizens. Only the government is the winner at the end.

• Middle-class on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:49 am

Not entirely accurate. Please add “middle class” between “other” and “citizens.” Do they dare to touch their working class voting fanboys who ride two-wheelers?

• Sinkie on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:00 am

U guys not in JB or work in SG before obviously have no idea what u are talking about. Singaporean cars, whether Singaporean own or Malaysian own cannot pump your subsidised RON95 petrol. So your own people already suffer. The last time your garment say want to impose RM20 toll fee, already JB businesses suffer like hell. End up your tourism minister got to come out and woo Singaporeans to go to Malaysia to spend $$$. Now u think RM50 or higher reasonable, yah, dream on…. Singaporeans got another place to go called Batam. This increase in toll fee won’t hurt Sinkies, only hurt your own economy and your own people working in Singapore driving Singapore cars. So if u have brains, please think and find out actual facts before opening ur mouth to sprout rubbish.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Bro
      Unless you can drive to Batam underwater.
      Ferry is per person.
      MY VEP is per vehicle.

• Sinkie on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:41 pm

LOL….. If want to pay so much just for MY VEP, might as well take a 2D1N trip to batam, money spent we feel more worth it. Same theory as why so many sinkies go up Genting to gamble then pay S$100 for entry levy in SG casino to gamble. Like u guys, we hate giving money to garment.

• X-a-fool on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Arrogant comment. Only one “sprouting” rubbish here is you!! It is a two-way street, you saying Singaporeans dont need Malaysians to survive as an economy is ridiculous. I know quite a few of you who come to Malaysia to start distribution for Singaporean products (of which if you focus on Singapore alone, confirm fail ! Take to Indonesia? Good luck going through rigid customs !) Anyway, dont be an arrogant fool, in the long run, you might affect 1 state of Malaysia but as a country Malaysia can affect you more. So, please use YOUR brain before you start talking about “facts” ! (p/s – RIP ENGLISH !!)

• Sinkie on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Arrogant? Hmmm…. In which statement did i say SG no need you Malaysians? i think u MISSED reading or even understanding what i wrote. Let me spell out clearly for u to comprehend. MALAYSIANS who work in SG also buy SG cars because it just works out to cost more to drive a MY car and pay SG VEP to enter SG on a daily basis from Mon to Fri. So increasing MY VEP hurt who more? Also, MALAYSIANS come to SG to EARN SG DOLLARS and bring back to MALAYSIA to spend. Sinkies have no issues on that. Sinkies go to JB to makan, wash car, buy things, go for massage, holiday, etc. All spending money in your country and you have an issue on that? Another food for thought for you. Why does all the good durians end up in Singapore rather than for your own local consumption in Malaysia?
        So, sorry to hear your MH17 got shot down. Now are you going to do the same and get ur garment to shoot theirs down as well?

• dumbsinkie on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:57 am

So just because you so called sinkies come here and spend means we must bow down to you? If you are so unhappy about the whole issue, why don’t you complain to your gomen who started this whole farce? Don’t like then please don’t come, no need to use a plane tragedy as example, really typical sinkie, brain as numb as a sink….
          As for the Durian, we can earn dumb sinkie paying a fortune for a durian, why not.. our durian here good or not also not like you tasted before,sell you trash also you just happily pay for it… if you think your sinking so great then please refrain yourself from being a kiasu cheapskate and come spend money here.

• X-a-fool on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Arrogant comment. Only one “sprouting” rubbish here is you!! It is a two-way street, you saying Singaporeans dont need Malaysians to survive as an economy is ridiculous. I know quite a few of you who come to Malaysia to start distribution for Singaporean products (of which if you focus on Singapore alone, confirm fail ! Take to Indonesia? Good luck going through rigid customs !) Anyway, dont be an arrogant fool, in the long run, you might affect 1 state of Malaysia but as a country Malaysia can affect you more. So, please use YOUR brain before you start talking about “facts” ! (p/s – RIP ENGLISH !!)

• uncle sam -steering lock nvr return on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:35 am

Kiki The Steering just hate singapore so much… dammm funny weii… keyboard warriors…thumbs up

• steering lock lover on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:34 am

Question… how about those cars coming up from the north into Johor? eg: Thailand cars, or other countries.

• hahaha on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:15 pm

you solve that one. everyone now focus on how to charge singapore since they benefit from malaysia and get away with it.

• Ah Sam on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:55 am

Dont worry guys, they will increase the amount by time its already par to what it needs for them to pay.1Malaysia

• Sure..Iskandar project fail.
    and lets see how is the JB property and project going on..both side dun act like a childish fighting here and there between malaysia vehicle and singapore vehicle..who suffer at last? lets see clearly , if Malaysia gov collect the VEP and use it like SG Gov to repair the road/expanded the highway then why no? but for in fact where is the money gone?

• Entry fee Is RM20. If over 1 day then charge additional RM20 per day.

• Singaporean on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Hi Kiki The Steerting. Thanks for reminding some Singaporean try pump Ron95 in malaysia. There are also drug trafficker from malaysia kanna caught in singapore. So it is fair to say all Malaysian are drug offenders? We can afford to pay the VEP as long as it is reasonable and both we singapore and johorean help each other to survive. Malaysian come help work earn our currency and we come to Johor for relaxation from our stressful city. Please don be so jealous of those hardworking Malaysian who come to singapore. They may be earning a lot more than u but it is their hard earn money. So please sit down and reflect on urself and stop killing ur own people.

• hahaha on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:28 am

then charge them as well. enough of the ding dong, we respect singaporean as a country and whatever procedure they impose on their country. just respect us on how we see fit.

• Singaporean on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Kiki The Steerting. If u go Johor, go ask those store owner if they like singapore customers? Which boss don like customer? We come here help ur economy and we also benefit. It a win-win situation. Y Najib wan to open iskandar in Johor and not in malacca, kl or Penang? Also becoz want us to invest. Y our singapore allow RWS to have gambling license and open resort? Please don’t be so narrow minded and condemn singapore. Without us, maybe ur life still go on. But a lot of lives will be affected.

• X-a-fool on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:20 pm

We should maximize whatever we can from our kiasu neighbours.. no need to charge so little, RM 20 ?!! Shows that we are desperate and we need them, i say we charge more due to the advantages they take from here. Trust me, they want to come here more than they let on so lets charge this fools $50 every trip or a discounted monthly pass of $ 1000.

• JB_kia on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:21 pm

talk all u like, ppl. RM500/day enuff? U guys dun call the short anyway…save ur saliva, hehe. BTW, im starting to see some developers starting to lower down their selling price….gd luck and RM500/day k???lol

• Kikit The Steering on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:26 pm

The concern of Singaporean on JB business is scary. Really they are. I am sure it is due to the fact they need to pay VEP, just admit it.
    If those unable to pay RM20 (SGD8) just to cross over to enjoy the stuff.
    Did I hear someone say can go Batam, right. SGD22 per person two way.
    Please voice your concern on JB well being to Najib’s facebook. Kiki is just a steering lock.
    https://www.facebook.com/najibrazak

• Singaporean on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Jb_kia is correct. U all can say whatever amount u wan. Especially Kikit The Steering. In ur mind u all have hatred for Singaporean and johorean who work in Singapore. Luckily, u all are not the law maker or else I believe the door to malaysia will be close by u all and living in ur own fantasy world.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:36 pm

After hearing the grievances of our neighbour, I would agreed that they are God Of Prosperity to JB. Every CNY, we must offer foods and prayers to the Chai Sin Yea. So right thing for Najib to so is to instead offer them RM20 for paying JB a visit, my source > if we go ask all shop owner in JB, they will agreed Singaporean are the big shot. Gong Xi Fa Cai.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Jokes aside. If Malaysia charging VEP even RM1 and the card is tied to SG car registration number, I am sure plenty of SG plate will be in trouble for past police summons. Win/Win.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Jokes aside. If Malaysia charging VEP even RM1 and the card is tied to SG car registration number, I am sure plenty of SG plate will be in trouble for past police summons. Win/Win.

• u guys damn smart la… want to charge singaporean cars more for what?

more money go to govt pocket n less to people… if charge more then then singaporeans will think wice of coming in. they are coming to jb so they can save but if they are charged so much then it is not worth it for them to come in. think bout it. dont be so sour grape la guys…

also for malaysians driving singapore cars. rm20x20days=400/month. so cost increase for them, they will spend less also on other things. so the money is channeled to govt directly instead of small businesses in jb.

be rational, dont write stupid things based on feelings.

• jujitsuka on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:41 pm

And I forgot to mention nowadays alot of clubs in JB is catering to Singaporeans… Clubs like Aruku and Show Bar and even further in like Mango and Boss… These businesses will be the first one to close shop if the VEP goes above RM 50.

• pang wai man on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:19 am

We as drivers ,it doesnt matters whether My or Sg drivers we should be united to demand both our garment to lower down the fees rather than fighting each other. Yhis is what the garments want.they want our money, our hard earn money and they are laughing to the bank while we are killing each other. guys , wake up.

• And this policy is against Singapore cars only, not all foreign cars? As Malaysia also bordered by road with Thailand, Indonesia and Brunei.

• Singaporean still unaware who has been knocking on their head all this while !
    These Singaporean even can claims that Johor Economy shall flaten,after Malaysia introduced this VEP.You’re Wrong, You’re barking on the wrong tree.Malaysia are exactly opposite of Singapore either you like or not.IF you’re thinking those already buying Houses in Johor are Stupid,Maybe you’re even worst off in singapore.At least they paying cheaper freehold Landed property with car porch and garden with much greater lifestyle of elites with 24hrs guarded.You can only see LANDED property in SG with 24hr Guards are elites privilege home.
    Property tax as low RM 100 annually,No Convservancy charges,cheaper ultilities under RM150 monthly,cheap groceries,cheap petrol,cheap maid etec .IN-FACT with Subsidy not just petrol but many other things ,Groceries,Fertilizers & many more being enjoys by Malaysian Citizens,MY gov are doing all these purposely as they are Rich they DONT NEEDS citizens money not Poor policy SG claims,for sakes GOODNESS OF HIS CITIZENS ,which they did cares very much on their hearts.
    You Know Why? Malaysian Gov has NO GREED AND THE NEEDS OF CASH COWS his Citizens on daily basis until dry.Their Revenue already Larger with their OIL & GAS produces every minutes.Not to mention on other huge agriculture products that grows on their vast land.Last 4 years on the rolls ,they are Issuing BRIM for All 8 million Malaysians that earns RM3,000 or less with RM 650 person ,even bachelor get RM250 annually.This already cost them 10 billion yearly .They intends to do it much bigger payout,at least RM 1200 by next year.This already on their anually budget spending yearly.
    So Those SG that still Thinking ,that Johor Economy survives and depends on SG spending in Johor can Fark@@@@ off from JB,these are just nothing but cheapo SG spending,Iskandar Investors as early days launching ,are make off from 7 wealthiest, Middle-East countries,China and Europe,Singapore come in the picture as last investor after Najib is PM ,that included ,When the M-S Ltd Joint -Venture projects as POA.Cheap SG daily tourist crossing and jamming the causeway for hours ,just for cheap petrol ,A Word for You,You’re NOT welcome in JB.
    Go & spend your dollar in SG,then everybody should be happy.I knew a few Malaysians that only ferry his Sons and Daughters on daily basis to SG Schools don’t even make a noise pertaining their daily $20 VEP charges, under 15 minutes ride on SG roads,even now with $35 is a peanut to them as they’re the owners of 2/3 Private condo in SG, NOT EARNING as PRs-worker ,but INVESTORS that rents or doing business in SG.Unlike Cheapo SG, KPKBB when Malaysia just first going to implemented VEP on them.
    Thats why they’re have being called all sorts of names like Xenophopia,Daft singaporean etc by those they trusts,they’re still unaware they are being their only economic resource of cash cow means for them to survive.You name it ,let it be COE,ERP,HDB,CPF etc .Many more before thinks you’re being well taken off being singaporean, NOBODY IN THE WORLD OFFERS FREE LUNCH .Now even CPF saving are being off limit to them till 65.Your CPF is not for you but for Singapore to remains economic afloats ,Still don’t get it?
    Still not realized what’s happening to them,Elites foreigners in Singapore can substains a better life than them by kicking them to JB? NO ,some only did realized too late lately,when someone esle,already robbed off,of their only iron rice bow lunch.Next stage turns the 60% bracket,which store ready for them to shares the same fates like the 40% SG.Competes with these on comming talents FT,CPF usage are for Singapore to remains economic viable and keeps them afloats not you.
    It’s matter of time before they’ll take more drastic actions ,Many Malaysian have proposed it to their authority about It .Won’t be surprise ,if their next moves will be Malaysia Immigration Department is going to burst out,the Foreigners that has been staying and living in Malaysia without proper documents or (Without Permanent Resident Status) to resides in Malaysia , only with Social Visit pass or they maybe a new implementation from Malaysia immigration formula of 3 months of 1 month rotations entry for any foreigner with Social Visit pass,with that can see it ,as on par with Singapore system.
    Grow-UP and Wake UP!

• Malaysian car pay $35 per day x 5 days =$175 a week x 4 weeks =$700 x 12 months = $8,400 per year x 10 years =$84,000 beside paying their daily ERP. So Generally Malaysian Cars did Paid more than SG car Citizens for current COE of $65,000?

CHEAP SG bragging .Still want to increase from $20 to $ 35 ? Now Blame yourself if Malaysian Gov introduce VEP !

• we have to admit it that singaporean are the main source of inccome for malaysia . How about malaysian to Singapore ? So stop complaining charging rm 20 is very little blah blah blah .

• Hafiz Rahim on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:14 am

Seriously? They charge us RM90, we charge them only RM20? should be RM100, not RM20.

• Hi

Did they charge to Brunei car enter to Sarawak and Sabah as well?

• Good! on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Good move, this move surely benefit the “company” that will provide the “suitable” equipment and devices for this VEP detection.. after 3 motnhs implementation, if the result not satisfy, can just removed… nothing to “lose” waht.. Most important is, the “company” must make profit from this implementation (still remember the thumb print devices installed at custom?)… So, anyone going to bid for this project?? Should propose more such idea to government to “improve” the custom infrastructure by “installing” more and more “suitable” devices.. In fact, the best is to implement the same accross whole West Malaysia. Car coming from different state should be impose additional Toll Fee i.e outside car enter KL. This will help to ease the traffic condition in KL (or Penang, Melaka, JB..those BIG city). Same pricinple applied to the JB ppl who like to go/work in Spore now whom need to pay more entery fee.. why not stay at own place to boost local economy?? think positive, selling VEP devices is good business to venture..you will be rich “if” government want to buy it from you.. let propose more such idea to government – to implement toll fee collection accross whole malaysia for vehicle coming from different state!! hahahah…

• Orangechem on Jul 26, 2014 at 12:16 am

Why bother about arguing about what the politicians are doing, whether it’s RM20, 50 or 100. Non of you are going to get a single cent. I only see it lining the pockets of those sitting up there. The implementation of VEP is going to seriously hurt both singaporean and Malaysians. We all need each other. Period.

• jbman on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

One stroke of pen….many PR ( Malaysians) renting out their singapore hdb for S$2k up per month now cannot rent out and make extra $$$$ liow !

Lppl, better stay in sg hdb again

• pang wai man on Jul 28, 2014 at 1:11 am

I think its game over for Iskandar.Better start selling before it become a stampede. The market will crash in 6 months time.A lot of people s will get burn badly. Johore bahru will become a ghost town and a kampong again. lee kuan yew is right as always. A stroke of the pen and game over folks. Bring all your sing dollars back home where its safe.

• Malaysia VEP needs to on par with Singapore VEP

Why the Malaysian be so stupid needs to pay $35 ++ per day ? x 5 days x 4 weeks x 12 months =$ 8400? This Excluding ERP and Toll charges by using Malaysian Cars on Singapore road !

Let Say,The Malaysian can easily BUY UNDER 10 K SINGAPORE second hand cars only with ! year left,The $2/$3/$4/$5 K per year of Depreciation Value ,You get back you PARF paper when scrap ? at least half of it….$5k back

Therefore SG car is CHEAPER alternative

Old VEP $20 not justified?

If Malaysian Gov come with Weak VEP…JB shall flooded with SG PLATE on his road as what we already see with SG motorcyle.

• West Johor Pengerang is going to have massive Economy upturn by 2020,Under going of Fews Petrochemical Plant Up stream and Down Stream build, 2 Refineries by Shell Malaysia and Petronas, European Oil Rig builders ,Dry dock, Ship building yard,Oil Storage Terminal,Massive Power Plants.China consortium Land Reclamation Project of Resident costing more $600 Billion.

East of Johor Tanjung Pia almost Massive identical Projects as pengerang.

500,000 Manpower needed

Malaysia is going to have shortage of Talented man power to fill all these on going massive projects.

• Singapore Bullsh$%# is ALWAYS the Same, They always give same excuses Free 10 day VEP blah after 5 pm blah-blah,

Just like this ,When they banned Wall Street Journal with 500 copies to be ALLOWED to circulates only in SG libray.So nobody can claimed they not Democracy country. When WST Offers FREE copies for their daily readers with 50,000 copies island wide.SG Gov rejected.

Who can say Singapore practice Communism? They do allow Hong Lim park for demos of course pre arranged Police PERMIT>

Want to demostrates also need ahead permit….muahhhhhhh

• Malaysian though too needs demostrate……they can go anywhere to do it……NOT in Deserted corner like Hong lim Park

• Hey people, why are we arguing over who’s smarter or richer? Truth is, the ones that benefit from all these are the govt. Malaysians come to Singapore to work and Singaporeans go to Malaysia for leisure and cheaper stuffs (both are not wrong). At the end of the day, everyone just hope to be able to achieve a better lifestyle for themselves and their families. There are bound to be black sheeps everywhere (SG and MY likewise). Just hope that we can live peacefully and not quarrel over these stuffs that are beyond our control, we are only humans.

Just my 2 cents, peace