2015 Ford Mustang – finalised power figures released

The All-New Ford Mustang GT

More details of the 2015 Ford Mustang have been announced, including finalised engine output figures that are a bit higher than the company’s own estimates revealed during the unveiling of the sixth-generation muscle car last year.

The engine lineup starts with a base 3.7 litre V6 developing 300 hp and 379 Nm of torque, the latter being 15 Nm higher than previously quoted. These figures are slightly lower than the outgoing V6 model, presumably to make room for the next rung up.

That rung is occupied by a 2.3 litre EcoBoost turbocharged four-cylinder engine, marking the first time a turbocharged engine has found its way into a Mustang’s engine bay since the 1984 SVO. The mill produces 310 hp and 433 Nm of torque, 5 hp and 27 Nm more than previously estimated. The range-topping (for now) GT’s 5.0 litre V8, meanwhile, kicks out 435 hp and 541 Nm, a jump of 15 hp and 13 Nm.

Ford also detailed the optional performance pack available for the EcoBoost model as well as the GT. The upgrades include uprated springs, bushings and dampers, larger brakes, increased cooling for track driving, thicker rear sway bar, retuned ABS, stability control and power steering settings and 19-inch wheels. The GT version also gets a Torsen limited-slip differential and a unique front splitter.

The 2015 Ford Mustang will go on sale in the US in the autumn, with prices starting from $24,425 (RM77,900). It will be available in right-hand drive for the first time, which means there is a chance that the new-age pony car could be introduced in Malaysia, probably with the EcoBoost motor. Excited?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Hahaha the price of this Mustang is the same as our Vios J. Thank you government!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 2
    • WTF Mustang cheaper than Proton Inspira!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • 200-300k ok what. Those that complain pls work harder and smarter. Fact is car is expensive here no matter how much u complain. All these butthurt driver…. Buat bising je. Pegi buat money la rajin sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 71
  • Mustang's lover on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

FREAKING EXCITED!
    but 2.3 ecoboost…hmm definitely doesnt come with the usual mustang’s roar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

At the time of typing

I’am sitting across the street to a rare 71′ Mustang[yes I’am still in Malaysia], a car with all-round Drum brakes!,first time seeing a car with this brae setup. Its time like this, looking at the stats how much it has grown. More modern, more technologically advance than the old school…..thou I still prefer the Old school looks.

• Kangkung on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm

$24,425 (RM77,900) can get a mustang!
    What we can get in Malaysia with RM77,900
    American earn more, pay less get mustang
    Malaysian earn less, pay more get Inspira.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
    • venven81 on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:54 pm

when i first looked at the price tag, i was like “what? how much will it cost in MY if and when it’s available later?”
      glad that it will be available in RHD form and the possibility of owning one here seems very high.

• Chris (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Assume that’s the base v6 model (since Ecoboost gonna cost more), let’s add in the taxes?

Base price: RM77,900
      Import 30%: RM23,370
      Excise 105%: RM81,795
      Sales 10%: RM7,790
      Total est: RM190,855

And.. roadtax per annum: RM5280. Gonna be less for 2.3L ecoboost but then again the car’s base price going to cost more…

I’ll happily pay unsubsidised petrol if it means no excise duty…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
      • Along on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Be careful when mentioning subsidies, petrol is not just only cars but there are various usage of petrol such as pasar malam generator and many more… If unsubsidised fuel on effect, pasar malam foods and goods will be more expensive…

I don’t want to pay RM 10 for a jug of sugar cane juice, RM 8 of nasi tomato because of unsubsidised petrol to power up their generators…

I commenting based on hawkers perspectives…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • Chris (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:45 am

Fully agreed with what you said, but I’m aware of that and already and taken that into consideration.

All I can say is that there will be no win-win situation and no way to make everyone happy. For one, I don’t go to pasar malam, but I’m very sure everything else I buy will go up in price, and it’s a trade off I’m willing to take.

• Along on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:59 pm

I’m really disappointed with you’re answer… You’re a selfish one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Along on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Sorry typo error “Your answer”…

• Chris (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:36 pm

No worries Along, like I said, there’s no win-win solution. Everyone has different views and different ideals, and I’m very sure most people disappoints someone in some way.

I’m an idealist, a dreamer maybe. I strongly believe subsidization encourages wastage. In fact, I’m a strong supporter of taxing petrol instead of subsidy. Let’s just call it pollution tax, there more you use, the more you pay. This encourages people to find green alternative, and for the Mustang, maybe a weekend car.

Will cost of life go up? Maybe, but probably greener as well. If you think it’s important to have cheap fuel so pasar malam hawker can continue generating electricity cheaply, in the eye of the environmentalist, won’t you be the selfish one?

Again, there’s no win-win solution.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:34 pm

The hawker can affird to pay a bit more for his generator fuel, when he pay less for his traders van monthly installment. (Cheap car expensive fuel scenario)

• MrDDR on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:13 am

Mostly they use old van. No more monthly installment.

• There’s a calculation error for duties. Malaysian CBU car duties are clculated on a tax-on-tax basis.
        Base price: RM77,900
        Import 30%: RM23,370 (30% of 77,900)
        Excise 105%: RM106,333.50 (105% of 77,900+23,370)
        Sales 10%: RM20,760.35 (10% of 77,900+23,370+106,333.50)
        Total est: RM228,363.85

Depending on the 2.3L ecoboost price, it might end up being cheaper than base 3.7 V6 with 90% excise duty.
        From the same simple tax calculation as above and same exchange rate:
        Cheapest 2.3L @ US$26k would be RM225k.
        Cheapest V8 @ US$33k would be RM308k.

But we Malaysians don’t buy bare spec cars. Minimum Malaysian spec would be priced at:
        2.3L with reasonable spec @US$30k would be RM260k.
        V8 at reasonable spec @ US$39k would be RM336k.

The 2.3L ecoboost makes sense.

• Focus ST on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Base on US selling price this USD24K it is same price as Focus ST at Malaysia. So one thing for sure nothing will be less than RM208K

• The Ford Focus ST is around RM 200k. I kinda doubt the Mustang is cheaper than that.

• CINTA MALAYSIA on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

SAYA CINTA MALAYSIA!!!!!! tak kira la walaupun kereta mahal!

• kereta_lembu on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:43 pm

It will sound like a broken record BUT seriously, those who are defending our gov for overcharging/over taxing our cars, what’s wrong with you guys? There will be a handful of ultra rich people but bear in mind the majority are of the middle to lower income group. So, the next time you think how cheap your Vios is or Jazz…well, think again. You could be driving a Mustang for what you’re paying for your Japanese toys.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • The price in Malaysia after tax? Would be laughing if it is below 200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Beautifulcar on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Beautiful car!

• tishaban on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Car prices tend to be double of the listed prices in the US so if the ecoboost starts at $30k I guess we can expect it to sell here for roughly RM200k. Not bad for a 300hp car that will probably do the century sprint in 6 seconds or less.

Think of the tuning possibilities…

• by the time ford malaysia launch it here, it will around RM 200k – RM280K. Sigh…

• holofanboi on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:09 pm

310hp.

‘Ecoboost’

Whoever named the engine was brilliant.

• Lorat on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:21 am

Ford slapped that Ecoboost across their engine range from 1.2L 3 cylinder to the V8.
      Just like Proton have Campro from Gen2 all the way to Suprima (but unfortunately all is 1.6)

• zeek (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:04 pm

In the states the base mustang costs about the same as a base fusion (aka. mondeo) so with taxes and what not we’re looking at about 200-250k for a base Mustang in Malaysia. Assuming that auto connexion brings it here.

• shawal on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:41 pm

If you want to have a long term sportscar…
    tweak it bits by bits over the years….
    or go fully mental with it once the kids has secured scholarships….

The Mustang would be the perfect fit….
    reasonable road tax and RHD for the ecoboost model..

ageless looks , legendary name…

and with an engine bay that can fit a 5.0 V8 , …
    leaves plenty of room for serious tweaking for the 4 pot turbo….

…..mmm……tempting proposition…

• hadi75 on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:33 am

RM78 grand for a mustang…..come to malaysia it will be RM200 grand +++….

• The new Dodge Challenger Hellcat produces 707 BHP and costs $60,000 U.S. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYol7m3WjGQ

• 10.8 second quarter mile video above.

• Another good video of the hellcat drifting https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fhnO95drbA&list=TLzuh0VcvXXRWvmmnmQJMUGEwsZMme3292

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:00 am

200k below still seems acceptable more than a camry

• cendol (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:16 am

Mustang is just base average Joe car for Americans. They can fully paid it off in 2 years time or even buy it cash.
    In Malaysia though, WE have to get 9 years loan for a Proton or any car for that matter.
    THANK YOU AJIB!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Malaysian are really being screwed by the govt all the time.

Poor poor rakyat Malaysia. Rich rich malaysian cronies.

• superbird #43 on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:21 am

why wouldnt ford equipped this car with an inline 6 instead of a v6?

• Bring this car in Ford Malaysia! Time for American muscle in Bolehland!

But before that please upgrade and have more service centres!

• shawal on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:04 pm

google ‘Caterham RST-V8’

Essentially a caterham bodied car fitted with
    RST’s own bespoke 2.4 litre V8

With more than 16 years of development behind it by Russell Savory, the 40-valve, 2.4 litre engine reliably delivers an incredible 400bhp in normally aspirated mode, or over 500bhp as a supercharged varient, whilst weighing only 90kg in full running gear.

400/300 lbsft@ 8500rpm (supercharged)

If a tuner plonks that engine into the mustang, it’ll be an absolute screamer, and its fairly light, tho the torque is 30nm shy of the ecoboost

• If this Mustang coming in 3.5L V6 with approx RM190k~RM220K. I will be the first to buy. Gosh, I love u Mustang.

• CINTA MALAYSIA on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:06 am

org malaysia memang bodoh…kereta mahal pun tak kisah. bukannya nak persoal government…hahahaha! 200-300k still tak logic only 310hp sahaja..even shelby gt original price in usd only 4+k(baru 1++MYR) and you will get 662whp…tapi nak buat macam mana kan?MALAYSIA DI SINI LAHIRNYA SEBUAH CINTA…2012-2013 mustang v6 kalau ikut harga asal baru 60k Ringgit Malaysia dan ada 315whp..ini tidak baru boleh beli exora hahahahaha!! pastu racing naik mpv…kahkahkah!!!

• Billy Alnash on Jan 13, 2015 at 11:43 am

This is Mustang, with EcoBoost engine. Later got Ford Raptor with 3.0 EcoBoost. Lol
    Atleast we can have a bit of what so called American Muscle.
    Wanna have a big ass American V8 you have to go to U.S.
    Muscle car lover here (Y)