Drivers’ Education Curriculum postponed – Liow

driving-test

The Transport ministry has announced that the implementation of the Drivers’ Education Curriculum (KPP), previously set to begin August 1, will be postponed until further notice, reports Bernama.

According to transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) has conducted considerable research and work in order to create a new KPP that will instil safer and more responsible driving amongst motorists. However, JPJ has been asked to conduct further studies to review the curriculum and its costs, he said.

“The needs of the people are being put first but this has to be balanced with the safety of road users and as such, a decision on the implementation of the KPP would need to await the report by the JPJ,” Liow said in a statement.

2014 Mazda2 30

“However, any cost related to the implementation of the new syllabus has to take into account the financial impact it will have on Malaysians,” he added.

The new curriculum is said to focus on producing courteous and disciplined drivers, rather than the current curriculum’s said dexterity and traffic rule comprehension.

Its implementation could also see the introduction of the much-delayed auto transmission-only driving licence category (denoted at the back of the new hard-card driving licences as Class DA).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Blackjack on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:10 pm

How about postpone all those duit kopi lesen terbang also??

• ferdestark on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Better delay and study properly than launch another problematic policy.

And hopefully the Auto-only license gets canned. Any capable Malaysian should be able to drive stick!

• Where are you from? 70’s?

The majority of Malaysian drive automatic cars and the chances of them driving manual is very remote.

If you want to be the macho man go ahead and play with your stick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Zombies on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm

You’ll regret it when the zombie apocalypse come and you’ll need to drive a stick shift.

• Rokuth on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Is that because zombies don’t know how to drive a manual shift transmission?

• The govt should increase the amount of learning time for new drivers and the cost of getting the license with a stricter examination to pass. There are too many cars on the road. Not going to insult drivers as im a driver too. I still remember getting my P license which was fun and easy thing to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Kelvin on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:03 pm

There should be compulsory first aid course for all learner drivers.

There must be a much more comprehensive eye test conducted by opthalmologists prior.

The theory part should be made more comprehensive to include aspects of safety driving, civic consciousness and economical driving. Half a day of “undang” is not enough. Break it into smaller chunks across more days.

Just my 2 cents after taking the German driver’s license tests.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:37 pm

What is the point of a first aid course when the elderly then tell you to quickly run away and go to the police if there is an accident, for fear of being beaten up?

• nabill (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:59 pm

This should start at grassroots level….bcos the state we r in, this program is not gonna work,bad attitude drivers actually reflect the screwedup society we live in, but when we educate our kids at school that being courteous is the way forward,thn next generation will benefit greatly,this curent gen is totally pointless n hopeless,too late,we must take a holistic approach n nt some lame ass way…

• driver on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Can’t argue with this. I second your point.

We can’t change habits within certain XX hours of courses. It begins earlier. Children see how their parents drive. That’s their first education.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Also no matter how corteous students are in driving school, they will adapt to the other road users later. And they will be told by their parents, relatives etc. to just go, to just stick to the fast lane (“Those lane changes make me seasick!”), to skip the queue cause it is taking so long…

The behaviour of ALL road users needs to be changed. The only thing I can imagine is constant punishment. Cops recording people sticking to the right lane, jumping queue etc., and then sending the people the penalty right to their home. Make it so they can’t renew road tax unless they pay. And cops get a bonus for every incident they caught, maybe RM 50 (penalty could be between 100 and 150). People who don’t pay get searched for by the police. When they pay they get a receipt for proof, and the police have to hand over the money. The same system can be implemented for speeding tickets etc., to avoid bribes as much as possible.

• isuzuki on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:27 am

aiai..

Why screw the old system, then reinvent new system?

Old system no good?

Stop corruption, enforce traffic law…. lar

• Stop the kopi money first, also teach the drivers that they have to use indicators whenever they make a turn or switch lanes…..drivers that have 20 years above experience driving still cant get basic driving right.

• mattnam on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:15 am

Poor planning, a lot of things mislook

• hadi75 on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:50 am

Instead of making it more expensive which would promote ‘duit kopi’ to pass and get licence why dont they think of something that would benefits all…..better drivers curriculum….for current licence holder, can upgrade their licence for example….B2 to B full without having to spend a whole day at jpj taking test and all….of course certain condition must be met….

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:07 pm

It would get more expensive because proper driver education takes much more time! In Malaysia being able to move the car is more or less enough. However in Germany they try to create better drivers, with enough experience in different situations and trained to be courteous and observe the traffic, especially what is going on behind and next to you. The students have more or less learned to drive the car after a few hours. But the rest takes many more. Malaysia stops after the first part, getting them to the second level takes many more hours, and that costs money.

• Automan on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:06 am

To promote better driving is a simple as A, B, C.
    Our traffic rules are adequate. Just enforce them to make sure all drivers follow them. No excuse, no kopi money and I swear everything will ne fine.

As someone said earlier, there is no point to have any education. It is mere waste of time and money.
    Get the parents to drive courteously, their children will just follow. No need to teach them what to do.

• haha, another flip-flop in the making.

• ruesselsheimer on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:13 pm

teach msians that emergency lanes are for emergency, know them courtesy, and pedestrians have their rights and learn to give in on the road.. even if u have no speed limit and this is in msians heart, msians road will be a better place.. pikir byk pasal kopi tak guna ..