Great Wall M4 SUV – specs revealed, RM45k-RM59k

Great_Wall_M4_Malaysia_ 004

Go Automobile Manufacturing (Go Auto) today launched the Great Wall M4, with initial deliveries of the compact SUV now set to begin in August. The vehicle was previewed in left-hand drive form in January, and back in May was teased for a June launch.

The first examples will be 40 manual transmission CBU units from China, and another 160 manual CBU vehicles are set to make up the second batch. Following this, local assembly will take over, with the first CKD M4s set to roll out from the company’s Gurun plant in October. When this happens, the EEV is set to go on sale only in automatic transmission form.

Finalised pricing hasn’t been revealed, but Go Auto has announced that the M4 is due to go on sale priced from RM45k to RM59k, depending on variant. A total of three variants (Standard, Comfort, Premium) will be available, in both manual and transmission form, according to the company.

Great_Wall_M4_Malaysia_ 008

Whichever variant it is, the M4 – which measures in at 3,961 mm long, 1,728 mm wide and 1,617 mm tall, with a 2,383 mm-long wheelbase and 185 mm ground clearance – will be powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT MPI four-pot offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm.

Initial speculation had the five-speed manual in two-wheel drive guise and the six-speed automatic as a four-wheel drive offering, but it’s now confirmed that the M4 will only be available throughout the range in two-wheel drive form.

General specification lists four disc brakes (with red calipers, no less), ABS and EBD with brake assist, powered windows all-around, steering wheel audio controls, manual four-way adjustment front seats, dual airbags and front/rear foglights. There are rear child seat fixing points, but these are top tether mounts and not Isofix.

The Standard variant is equipped with fabric seats, a four-speaker CD audio system, manual air-conditioning, a polyurethane steering wheel, and sits on 15-inch wheels and 195/60 series tyres. This – in manual transmission form – is likely to be the RM45k offering in the range.

Moving on to Comfort trim level adds on a host of items, including leather steering wheel, two-tone fabric seats, reverse sensors, a six-speaker audio system with seven-inch LCD display and navigation, automatic air-conditioning and 16-inch alloys, wrapped with 205/60 profile rubbers.

Both Comfort and Standard variants feature electrically-adjustable side view mirrors, but are of the manually-foldable variety.

Finally, the Premium variant adds on leather seats, a rear spoiler and reverse camera to the equipment found on the Comfort. The version also lists an around-view camera system, and keyless entry is also listed as being available on the higher-spec variants.

Incidentally, ESP is mentioned in passing in the brochure, but it’s not listed in the specifications list – we’re told that the CKD auto variant will feature it. Also, the examples on show today at the launch are not definitive of a particular variant – we spotted a mix of specs on display in the vehicles, which were all manual transmission examples.

Six exterior colours will be available for the M4, and these are Pearl Black, Sky Silver, Ocean Blue, Titanium White, Jazz Red and Fashionable Orange. The Great Wall M4, which is covered by a three-year or 100,000 km warranty, is available in showrooms as of now.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pxp154 on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:59 pm

cheap & cheerful ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Now say bye bye to Proton, government not willing to pay Proton’s R&D costs and now who would buy the Proton Saga and Persona at RM45+. This price is for the CBU variant, does it mean that the CKD variant is going to be even cheaper than this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 16
      • kcng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 188
        • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Its brother Great Wall H6 is currently the best selling SUV in China.

Top 10 best selling SUV in China(Jan – June)
          1. Great Wall H6 – 143,119 units
          2. VW Tiguan – 127,549 units
          3. Honda CRV – 95,022 units
          4. Hyundai ix35 – 71,167 units
          5. Ford Kuga – 66,225 units
          6. Toyota RAV4 – 63,273 units
          7. Audi Q5 – 54,771 units
          8. Chang’an CS35 – 53,712 units
          9. BYD S6 – 52,079 units
          10. Nissan Qashqai 52,080 units

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 7
        • Vader (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Kid, if the product is suck, you think that it can be the china largest SUV producer?
          If you saying their R&D not mature then is fine, but there a lot of programme to carry out to enhance their R&D as well. Look promising on their development instead of keep on asking money from their rakyat!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 7
        • Afraid on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:56 am

Wow their one single SUV outsells the entire Proton domestic sales in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
          • Antar on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:54 pm

You are not stupid, are you? 1.5 billion population vs 30 million?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 19
          • That is why car manufacturers are flocking to China. That is just a friction of their vast market. Economy of scale comes easily to them. Even if only their govt are buying, it would already be significant.

• @Antar Yeah Proton is supposed to be a global company, and has a loooong head start since the Saga.

If your stats means anything, then it is that for our small population, we should NOT have a domestic car maker who can only sell to domestic market. Close it down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
        • galvatroll on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:19 am

how much proton pay you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
        • Das Auto on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:15 am

Seems to me that you are referring to perutdua

• Petrotail on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:39 pm

The CKDs will have same price. Those CBU’s units are the same price like CKDs.

• ThePolygon on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:31 pm

I hope this unit sells a lot cause if it does this might just pushed the pricing down for the rest of the car dealers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 0
      • bleukaizen on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:49 pm

u buy 1st then provide report for us ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
        • Msian In Kunming, China on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:08 am

So my family lives here in Kunming, China. Seen stacks of Chinese cars (well of course lol) im just a school student and i ve ride this car back and forth to my school almost everday. I like it. To me if i were to buy this car itd be good. Its a compact SUV would probably be just good to roam around city. My mom really like it she even mentioned she would love to buy this car for go-to-surau car in Msia. Seems like its a good news for my mom. Bt tho, i never drove this car yet since no license haha, so idk about the quality in the long run. So ya, Im jusf voicing out my opinion and experience with this car. I loved it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • year of goat on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:23 pm

I will definitely buy the top range at RM59+ rather than take the risk of proton.

• Batter don’t buy. Car is good. But Great wall Malaysia is lauzy. Oder car wait more than half year don’t have a car. Over 500 oder finaly just import 50 unit from china… next time don’t know how unit will in the road

• Hyundai KIA La Junk on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Korean used to ripped off other design, now they can the taste of their own medicine, China ripping off them…wakakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
      • roxas on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:25 pm

huh? tis is ripping the japanese toyota ist it seems to me. nothing close to a korean design here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Blackjack on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Bye bye Proton. We won’t believe any of your craps anymore. China cars so what, it’s reliable Toyota engine used also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 15
        • Buy this if you want to have asbestosis, mesothelioma and lung cancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
          • I think more than 50% of the things you are currently now using, including the keyboard you are typing on, is made in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • Not about china, stupid. About asbestos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
          • who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:52 am

yes this is a very important point!

But why don’t you go shout at all those ‘cigarette’ manufacturers first to stop production …. don’t these thing you put on your lips and inhale into your body kills too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Remember the something CEO, the Chinese SUV that looked like a BMW X5 from the rear and some Honda from the front? Well, it was tested for 100000 km by a car magazine. The results:
          The brakes disintegrated into small pieces, several times. The nuts that attach the rim to the car were destroyed after trying to remove the tyres once. The whole car was rusted away after 2 years, the undercarriage was basically brown. Even the chrome stripe on the door handle was brown. The chrome in the headlight has left the parts where it was supposed to be, and now covered the inside of the clear plastic. And many other problems. The test ended after 4 years. The antiquated Mitsubishi engine was fine, and the car was “reliable”. Apart from falling apart due to awful material quality. Btw. a 30000 Euro car, and that’s with the 20% tax they have in Europe. In Malaysia it would have been much more expensive.

Now, that was a car launched in 2007, by some smaller Chinese car maker. Car makers, at least the big ones like Great Wall, have moved on and produce better cars these days. But I wouldn’t say “oh it’s got a Japanese engine, it will be reliable”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Are you sure no complaint on the brakes breaking up are you sure.

• OMG…simple and nice, i would pick this than the P1 GSC… P1, pls learn from GW. P1, just keep ur GSC , no need launch it if selling price is more than RM40k.

• What is the purpose of Proton again?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 18
    • MoFaz on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:27 pm

try ask yourself why you were born when somebody else could also do whatever you do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 96
      • Chris (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I sure can’t bring myself to say what you just said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Proton is cheap and junk.

This M4 is cheap and still OK. See the difference?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 33
          • samelorstpd on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Why junk?
            This is more junky because it is moving coffin with asbestos inside!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
          • Petrotail on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:42 pm

NO,

Proton is expensive and junk…end of verdict.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:13 am

so many great wall and chinese car maker salesman here..good try..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:50 am

Compare human to product, brilliant man!

• Vader (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Keep suck rakyat money and act like a parasite!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 14
    • fast5 on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Lie to RAKYAT how good quality Proton and cheap price is.
      Lie until proton can own LOTUS brand and say still losing money every year.
      Lie after 30 years of development still need gov pay all the loses.
      Blame own RAKYAT not supporting local product. With a high price but with cheap build quality car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 18
    • Blackjack on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Joker cards needed in any daun terup.

• Lookman on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Great Digital odometer. Cheap looking dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
  • Not bad at all, can try it, hope dont like kembara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:16 pm

I will b surprised if this is not based on/copied from the suzuki sx4….the A pillar is very similar as well as the rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
  • martual on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Cant care much really. I rather trust China brand and Proton nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 30
  • not ESP, but EPS.
    electronic power steering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • abahko on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:07 pm

there is a potential to get this a unit in no time soon, if only their after sales service is at the best. regardless of its brand name or where its made from. damn value for money man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • prof-x on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:04 pm

not Electric Stability Programme meh..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Nope. The spec sheet says Electronic Stability Control. The steering assist is hydraulic.

• LatukBandar on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

with this kind of price, there is nothing to complain about. I wonder, is it on par with MyVi or lower in quality?

Would be great if PaulTan does a comparison based on price instead of segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • blackbox on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:48 pm

RIP Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:59 pm

This brand is dead in Oz. They were caught using asbestos based materials in engine gaskets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • Agree,

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/exclusive-chinese-car-asbestos-scare-20120814-246a8.html

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/asbestos-parts-in-recalled-cars-wont-be-replaced-20120815-247jv.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:20 am

let them buy and get cancer for this cheap product

• WILL GET THIS RATHER THEN MYVI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:22 am

please buy dozen units and report to us after a week…

• Where can I see the car? no address or recommended place

• Joker on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Red brake calipers!!!!
    Now tat’s cool!!!
    This will appeal to those diehard toyota supporter as it uses the same drive train and power unit as the toyota’s.. hmm Avanza???
    great car, great price though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Avanza and Rush are Rear wheel drive. Great Wall M4 is front wheel drive.

rear wheel drive car got bolder axle for durability.

• Leslie on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Proton, considered to rebadge this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • daniel on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:39 pm

#ripmh17

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • mmaker on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Cheap but still has spare tyre. Mazda6 should be shame though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • the meter looks better than 2014 Honda City S+

• death (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Hmm, can give it a try. Seem not bad what. =)

• alahai on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I saw 1 just now driving along Elite highway….nice looking car…quite big also….bolela for budget suv like car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • “in both manual and transmission form”

Some typo error spotted. Considerably good design, engine just so-so but sufficient…but the price surprisingly competitive. This will brings a good smack to Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • This is a solid proof to show that car dealers here in Malaysia is a blood sucker, ripping peoples money without hesitation and put the blame on goverment by keep telling its all about tax and tax and tax.. wonder how much toyota enjoy maximum profit by selling expensive but with low safety car! and so the other brands too.. damn u car dealers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Thats why i keep rea
      Ing myself about Msians…all sohai spend all their hard earned money into cars. I have always supported 2nds……but Msians all stupid worry aboutthis and that , worry about face value, blah blah blah… all shitty excuses.if u r patience enough in looking for 2nds you will find a great one….but many sohai kept saying “wah 2nds ar need lots of repairs wor”. Sohai! I owned so many 2nds in my life and all are superb 2nds! And save lots $$$…. only sohai will owe their lives to the banks for max 9 years loan for brand new cars. Sohai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Thats why i keep rea
      Ing myself about Msians…all sohai spend all their hard earned money into cars. I have always supported 2nds……but Msians all stupid worry aboutthis and that , worry about face value, blah blah blah… all shitty excuses.if u r patience enough in looking for 2nds you will find a great one….but many sohai kept saying “wah 2nds ar need lots of repairs wor”. Sohai! I owned so many 2nds in my life and all are superb 2nds! And save lots $$$…. only sohai will owe their lives to the banks for max 9 years loan for brand new cars. Sohai!

• EvanC on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Really? If you’ve got money why would you bother to buy a second hand car? Just like if I’ve got money why would I bother to own a secondhand underwear? LOL kid, you’ve no idea what people are doing with their first hand car before selling it off. You’re probably a knobhead to an extinct =)

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:09 am

But as long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Even with import tax still so cheap. Must be shitty quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
    • slk3879 on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Expensive complaint, cheap also complaint, what wrong with these people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • Hmm. If the comfort or premium got rear aircond I’d get this right now, however since no (don’t know yet?) it remains a toss up between Alza and the automatic version. Can’t wait for the review.

• the interior size is similar to sedan car so why need rear aircon? or you tho this is the big size SUV?

• Interior is better than the cheap looking and boring proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • rider on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Cheap china shit. Buying this chinese so called suv is equal to suicide. GOV should banned cars from china and should stop selling proton as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 74
    • abahko on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:35 pm

sad that you’re still living in the cave, probably in a manhole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:27 am

dont be sad..u also probably living in a manjole made in china.

• Anti-Rider on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:52 pm

You should banned your fucking self from seeing new thing as your brain has been corrupted.

• kelvin on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Design wise thumbs up! The pricing is even better. But how about the safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • bisakeris (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:25 pm

–>> i still prefer Myvi over this.. although i wish Myvi is cheaper than the current price.. but for now, i’m waiting for the GSC.. i still hv a tiny of hope to the GSC.. GSC, do or die.. <<–

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Cheap and nice…how can Proton survive….

• otline on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Rear side of Toyota Ist????

• smokey on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:01 pm

should implement sales model like xiaomi…each batch 10 units…this will create hype when ppl unable to land one…haha

• roxas on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:27 pm

i have to say, even they are copying other carmakes, they are doing good in it. look at the meter and dash !

• All hail the new Kembara!! It’ll be interesting if this is subjected to our ASEAN NCAP.

• Car-Fans on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Nice price … Hope Auto also with good price and specification.

• Actually this M4 sold in China is around RMB65,000.00(RM33,000.00)(http://db.auto.sohu.com/trim-126059.shtml) compare with Honda Jazz(Manual) RMB74,000.00(RM40,000.00)(http://db.auto.sohu.com/trim-125952.shtml), not this car cheap, is our p1 & p2 set the price very high, make us feel impossible to get this M4 with this cheap price. P2 also no need any r&d cost, all of the p2 model also come from daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Heskey on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Kanji ditepati?

• Heskey on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Kanji ditepati?

• Spare part king on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:11 pm

U buy PRC car… U can get cancer ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • sohailumama on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:17 pm

How come u still alive? don’t tell all stuff u using are made in Malaysia? or u live in the hutan? moron idiot…LOL!

• proudwithproton on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:31 pm

But still I prefers proton cars… proud of it. and safety see included….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
  • Frayz on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:51 pm

front look nice.. rear is somehow ugly.

• notoproton on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Proton is the reason Malaysian pay such a high price for cars.

No to Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • Denaihati on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:17 pm

So affordable price, become very cheap SUV in our country with not bad safety aspect.

• RoadRage on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:20 pm

To all Chinese, your car is here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
    • Vincent Ang on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:37 am

To all shameless ‘ketuanan’ kampung champions. Indeed they are here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • RoadRage (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:07 am

To all you “non Malaysians” I say piss off and go read your Chinese newspaper chinaman. This is your product you’re so proud of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:35 am

not many non malaysian here but surely got many made in china car salesman here…

• should have bring in the other model… “Greatwall Coolbear” that look alike nissan/mitsuoka cube!

• Aero (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:39 am

LOL at all these negative comments on Proton. So this car is quite cheap… so it’s Proton’s fault ?

There is much more to a car than just pricing. It’s good that this M4 is cheap, but I would like to wait for the professionals to pass their verdict on it first. Is it reliable ? Is it safe ? Is it polished and refined ? Time will tell.

FYI there is little if any import tax on this M4 because it qualifies as a EEV under our (retarded) 2014 NAP. That’s why it can cut under RM50k. Also, don’t think you’ll get all the goodies in the RM45k spec car, you’ll only get what you pay for.

Be reasonable guys, don’t always find fault and play the blame game. Accept responsibility, don’t be a ‘lalang’. It’s always easier to talk cock and bash others, it shows your level of maturity. However, constructive criticism is always welcomed, but unfortunately, very few Malaysians know what the difference between criticism and constructive criticism is. There are some times when I understand why Malaysians become frustrated with Proton, but this is not one of those times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • hegolas on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:55 am

Will this car be subject to ASEAN NCAP or any similar crush test?
    Pricing seems promising given the rich specs offered..but I really wonder how safe the car is.

• fuhyoo on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:43 am

look at that interior for 45k – 59k

and then we compare with proton interior, then price.

keep sleeping proton, keep sleeping.

most of the rakyat sudah banggun.

• jjojojojo on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:22 pm

I would buy this car next for sure even the quality is not good, i don’t care about quality, safety and other shit. We never care for it when using the national milo tin car for the past 30 year so why should I care about the chinese ovatine tin car now. at least it is cheap.

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:38 am

did u make a booking on the car already mr great wall salesman.?

• yeahhowaboutyougofuckyourself? on Aug 02, 2014 at 1:39 pm

He made one, it’s call you should fuck yourself now bitch

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:19 am

Paultan, please campaign for ESP as standard, mt drivers deserve safety too!

Rm45k, not bad. Sales may not be that good cuz it’s Chinese n mt, surely SA can give further discount, even more value for money.

• mastermind on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:09 am

totally rubbish stop import cars without quality…reputation
    junk car…low class and just to uneducated n brainless peple…
    value 4 money-fu** off

n to people tasteless……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • sohailumama on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Why not import? or you want all car maker in Malaysia use our rakyat money to do the so called good car with no quality at all? I rather there is only imported cars here so I already driving a BMW/Audi or Mercedes now.

• This car got heavily taxed by government still manage to sell RM45k-RM59k.. What did proton do ?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:47 pm

You must have missed the part about EEV, right? The government is giving big tax cuts for this car. Not sure about the first batch of CBU cars, maybe they have struck a deal.

Also, you can always lower price by using poorer quality materials. At least the metal used by Proton is pretty good, even if they could spend more on the interior materials.

Some Chinese cars make even the Viva look tough and high quality. Heck, seen the VW Touran in China? In Malaysia the quality is pretty good, with soft touch materials etc. In China though the plastic seems worse than a Saga BLM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • samlooNo.1 on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Haha, first time I heard someone said the proton car’s interior is good. Bloody hell, like you said, you can fell the soft touch with “New” proton car but after a year you will hear come excellent music come from the plastic and some cock keep singing by your ear every mornig you start the car, kik, kok, kik, kok….you like talking cock to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:43 am

u drive proton car before ka? forgot to service hence got the music or its comes from yr farting cock sound…dont be so afraid to new proton car la..go and sell your china made car harder.

• yellowbeandied on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

Of coz, I think 95% of malaysian used or drive the junk national car before, and we all suffered from it. Not like you, poton corny, use our poeple rakyat’ money you sucked from selling cheap quality poton junk car for you and your family to buy audi, mercedes, etc. Go suck your old mamak’s cock before talking cock here.

• the truth on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:41 am

Great Wall Motor = Exposing the lies and fairy tales by Proton.

HA HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:36 pm

That suppose fall to other car makers not just p1…

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Which lies and fairy tales? The government is giving massive tax reductions to this car. It is produced under the EEV scheme.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:58 am

beribu ribu tahniah great wall.

• 6Speed Auto starting price: RM48,990
    5speed Manual Starting price: RM46,990

both OTR price with insurance.

• Anyone got idea in regards to the 1.5 cc engine.

• Richard Chu on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Go to the Great Wall website and explore. Of interest are the C20-R, diesel engine and all models are running Euro 4/5 fuel!
    www.gwm-global.com

• who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I will buy this instead of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Antar on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Asbestos everyone? Chinese people here should buy this. Oh nope.. Chinese people here are Jap brand wanabe. Just look at monthly car sale stats no one buying Chery, Great Wall. They sold less than 50 cars per month, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • pukiantar on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:27 pm

You will see that after next year the sales for the poton car is less than 50 per month…lol

• Hi all,
    I looking for a car..is this recomended? Any expert here can help me?

• ilovegwm on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Go test drive urself, if ur budget is under 50k and I think this is the only option unless you want to support our beloved national car blood sucker, oops, sorry, car maker.

• I am going to their showroon tmrw to test drive. Will update you all tmrw

• sohailumama on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Going to see it in the showroom tomorrow. Don’t mind buy this as second car, so cheap. I would buy this car rather than buy the so called national blood sucker car maker. I rather ride a bicycle if there is only the P brand in bolehland. Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • sohailumama on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Just went test drive the car and straight place the booking. The interior is not as cheap as you see in the pictures here and it is comparable to Myvi at least. Power wise I can say it is almost like myvi 1.5l as well. There are 3 type for both manual and auto; standard, comfort and premium. COmfort and premium one come with keyless entry and 16in tyres. Premium got Navi+rear camera+leather seat. Price are; Manual=46990, 51990 and 56990, auto= premium 59900, not sure the price for the standard and comfort spec for auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • zeczet on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

How many Euro NCAP / Australasia NCAP stars?
        If only 2 star better dun buy.

• who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:48 am

oh dear! if this is the case then M’sians are an really sohai…. for so many years M’sians have been driving cars that is as goods as a Milo tin. 2 Stars?! or no stars?!
          Myvi? Viva?
          Saga? Iswara? Satria?
          do you know how many vehicle of all the above combo is on M’sia road?
          and now you come and bash this china made car? you must be kidding.

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:51 am

better bash proton than china made car..better marry to chinadoll than malaysiandoll..there are cheaper and good quality plus less demanding too..

• olanlahlikethis on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:20 pm

No star. But i mean your brain, which filled by shit and grass…

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:53 am

yr brain…ops u got no brain bcoz yr head got only shit and grass..

• Eason on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Now with tax also cost RM45k to RM59k but what if GWM work with local company like Proton to assemble locally with some local parts + re-badge to Thundercats logo, how much would it cost? RM36k to RM48k?

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:15 am

I was at Penang Island recently, specifically Bayan Baru and those who know this area well will realize English and BM are so foreign and I don’t see any PRC vehicles on the road. If PRC cars can’t make it there, I doubt they can make it at other parts of Malaysia. No where more “PRC” then Penang Island.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:07 am

Has the company come forward to confirm that there are no asbestos based materials used in the car?

Knowing cost is a primary determinant for China products, and Malaysia will import anything without proper checks, the presence of asbestos will not only potentially harm the car owner but the people around them as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • sohailusamloo on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Yeah, couldn’t agree more. Malaysia is importing almost every car without proper checks especially the toyota car which they recall millions of cars every year.

• this model is gonna kill Proton even faster….

Yeah!!!

• samlooNo.1 on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

You might see more china cars than proton cars in next few years. this is for sure since proton going to increase their prices. Ask Sam Loo, who going to buy proton car if the price is same like toyota cars? who? maybe mamak from TDM’s family? LOL.

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:59 am

mamak is much better than china…at least the malaysian people can always enjoy their teh tarik at mamak restaurant…u go massage la gets china, vietnam gro..

• hahahah on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:36 am

Mamak (not all) not producing any car, they just sucks malaysia’s hard earn money. Are you a mamak? go back sell your teh tarik…so you can have money to get massage from china or viernam girls. If not not enough.

• gmorque on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

please let it killed faster so that no more stupid protection will be imposed and every brand can compete fair n square. malaysia will decide theor choice and that the way it should be. then by that time toyota n honda will be sweating.. hehe..

• Chiro on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:40 am

Sudah testd rive tadi. Enjin nampak bagus. Dh bwak lama lama xtau la. Kemasan dalaman juga bagus. Seatbelakang sedikit sempit. Lain lain sgt ok utk harga ini. Dah book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • azraff on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:20 am

Ok what this suv, can use for ‘kebun’…hehe

• I using preve and suprima to carry cow shit from farm to kebun. And exora to carry bull shit from shit hole to ur mouth..

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:03 am

u shud cary your shit straight to your mouth la..no need a car ;a or u have big shit in your brain ka?

• hahahah on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:28 am

I agreed with olan. Poton car can only be used to carry shit, not human. So yellow bean you are a shit…

• Wow murah, dah lama teringin nak pakai SUV. tak sabar nak test drive. :)

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:05 am

bagus strategi encik penjual kereta great wall nie..cuba lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • yellowbeandied on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:24 am

bagus strategi encik penjual poton junk car nie…cuba lagi. Aku tau lu punya komisen sudah kurang bab takde orang beli poton sebelum raya. So balik raya dan tukar kerja. Mamak mengamuk…LOL

• gmorque on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Aku kurang faham makhluk2 kat malaysia ni.. harga roti canai tapi nak roti sardin.. bila org dah bagi roti sardin lu kata sardin xde kualiti la..bila orang jual roti canai mahal lu bising.. orang jual roti canai murah lu cakap tepung tiruan la apa la.. komen jek memanjang.. belinya xde pun..

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:07 am

suka hati makhluk2 nie la..komen makhluk lu pun panjang..

• Azym Azizi on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:39 am

In terms of design wise, this GW M4 are more nice than Proton Suprima S. Huhu.

• Anunyer on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Saya penah beli kereta buatan China. Selepas setahun enjin je ok sbb buatan jepun. Yang lain rosak secara bergilir-gilir. Kalau tak karat, patah, luntur, loose, tercabut, jem, bocor dan macam2 lagi. Nak ganti pun kena guna part China jugak sebab banyak part kat market tak compatible. Sedih je bila anak kecik saya cakap “Keta ni suka rosak macam keta mainan adik”. Bottom line : Saya takkan beli dah kereta China walaupun murah. Orang lain suka hati la. Just sharing.. coz sharing is caring kan kan? Cheer!

• yellow bean on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:12 am

good sharing..lets other buy this china made car snd suffer till they broke..their salesman are very much worried now & aggressively bashing other brand particularly p1 & p2….Cheers!

• hahahah on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:32 am

How much poton paid you, yellow bean? I don’t care whether the china car quality good or not but I will never buy poton. I can buy mercedes but I just want to buy china car, so what..but never a poton. It is shame to drive a poton now except some cronies, poton’s employee or moron like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • nice car on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

this car is truly worthy a buy, please dont compare it with proton, they are not on the same level.

• yellowbeandied on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

First class: Lambo, Ferrari, etc
      2nd class: Mercedes,BMW, Audi, etc
      3rd class: Honda, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, Toyota, etc
      4th class: Perodua, GWM, etc
      No class/junk: Poton…and bicycle…

Verdict: Poton can only be compared with bicycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • cheryuser on Jul 27, 2014 at 12:10 pm

I am a chery eastar user. I still consider buying this great wall M4. With price consideration…

• cherrysucks on Aug 02, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Forget about Cherry, they don’t even care about this market.

• regardless made in china, RM60,000 can have such cars is already a steal.

by the way, top specced M4 in china sells for around RM38,000 only…. damn tax…

• Aldo Aldy on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:09 am

Chinese product,SUCK….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Middle Age Driver on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:48 am

Test drove this manual drive car over the weekend. First impression, engine is smooth. Much smoother than my Persona manual. The engine block isolation dampers seems to be doing a good job in preventing engine vibrations from resonating the body resulting in a smooth feel while driving. Driving over potholes & speed bumps demonstrates the capabilities of this mini suv. The combination of high tyre wall compared to std car tyres plus good damping made the ride impressive over such terrains. There were no rattling sounds heard while driving over potholes. You get the plush feel while driving this car. I dont get this feel while test driving the new vios or honda city because the minute you hit a pothole, it will give you that hollow vibration feeling & that sudden end to a smooth drive. Didn’t have chance to drive the Haval at high speeds but such SUVs are not made for F-1 type of cornering & speed. The good thing about the steering feel is that being hydraulic, there is certain amount of feedback compared to electric. So when cornering & maneuvering, you have better feel of its limits. Breaking is good. Touch the paddles & car comes to a stop confidently unlike in some cars that demands you to press on paddle more. The engine uses timing chain which to me is a blessing because you don’t need to change resulting in lower maintenance cost compared to belt. Those who have experienced changing belt drives will know that more often gaps will appear in the warped casing that tells you that it has been opened up before. The olden day problem of timing chain being noisy is no longer an issue in modern day engines. So to me this is a plus point. The interior finishing looks good to me compared to other cars up to 80k category. I don’t see gaps in fittings or roughly trimmed edges in the plastics which was very obvious in the Cherry Eastar & the locally assembled Hyundai Elantra.

Beyond anything of a test drive like durability issues, I wouldn’t know because even my brother’s 200k VW Passat has absorber, battery, disc brake & engine failure issues all happening within 1.5 year ownership. My verdict of the Haval M4 is a reasonable, well made mini SUV. Did I buy….hell YES!!! cause the local assembled version won’t have manual drive anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • middle age driver….komen yang bagus.Itu juga yang saya alamai semasa pandu uji pada 23 ogos 2014.

• Middle Age Driver on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:56 am

I just want to highlight that the pics of center console stereo shown here for the premium & comfort models is not the 7in TFT LCD screen as mentioned in the report. The current showroom models do not have GPS & Camera function and the 7in screen. I managed to reconfirmed this with the sales person after retesting the stereo in detail on the showroom car.

• freemind on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:52 pm

ramai-ramai beli.. then after 1 year.. ramai-ramai datang balik cursing many problems la bad buy la cant trade off la engine and parts falling off la etc etc… go ahead make your buy… who cares

• freemindidiot on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:54 am

proton lagi teruk, 6 bulan power window tak boleh buka, semua plastic dalam mula produce muzik masa u start engine….lagi satu, ini great wall SUV no 1 in china, VW pun tak dapat lawan. Engkau punya otak masih hidup dalam zaman batu, tapi, who cares…

• freemindidiot on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:56 am

lagi satu, in Haval M4 sudah launch hampir 3 tahun di china dan reputasinya masih bagus, pergilah survey kat internet, orang asli zaman batu..

• Night Speeder on Sep 14, 2014 at 2:08 pm

HI! every one here…. I think i am a first batch great wall M4 user. But the car still wating…. Oder in end of july. But the car may be get on OCT 2014….

• sohailumama on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:52 pm

What variant you booked? I booked the manual one and the agent said I might get the car at the end of Sept, and this is for manual one. For auto for sure in Oct. I even bought lots of accessories from China…even thinking to change the front grill to land rover style.lol.

• Night Speeder on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:13 pm

I buy Auto model. One sales man told me this car had assembly in malaysia for Australia… But don’t know what happen dont have car for malaysia and he also said first 1000 unit is assembled by china.

• sohailumama on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:20 pm

The sales man told me only manual one will be imported form China. All auto variant are assembled in Gurun.

• Middle Age Driver on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:28 am

I’m keen to know more about the auto version but all website & youtube video reviews on the car are manual version. Is the AMT gearbox modified for hot Msian weather? Many reports have been made on the AMT actuator pump & oil heating up under stop & go traffic. Even the VW super high tech DSG gearbox is declared by VW as not suitable for Asian driving condition. I hope GWM R&D would have solved the issue with a modified AMT for the Haval. Local dealers should at least have the AMT version available for test drive instead of just manual.

• sohailumama on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Yes, almost all the reviews are based on manual transmission. I don’t even find any auto M4 in the website and I would say Malaysian is the first one to get it. Any news from your agent when your manual M4 coming?

• Middle Age Driver on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:45 pm

I was given a Nov delivery timeline when i purchased the car. If it comes early, that will be great. I too suspect Malaysia will be first country to market AMT version.

• Night Speeder on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:20 am

Where can get this kangaroo bar? This type look nice.
    http://www.chinamobil.ru/photo/GwHoverM4/full/great-wall-m4-07.jpg

• sohailumama on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:11 pm

I found this……can order from china if you want, but the shipping fee will be higher than its cost.

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.5.1WU85P&id=40498926547&ad_id=&am_id=&cm_id=140105335569ed55e27b&pm_id=

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Maybe can consider this bumper guard:
    http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/HAVAL-HOVER-M4-bumper-guards_1738691541.html

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Just test drove Iriz. Engine refinement, NVH & manual gear shifting is far better in Haval. The CVT in Iriz 1.6L makes car feel underpower cause the engine revs hard & loud but car not moving. Might buy Iriz in a few more years if there are no other options for manual drive car within the price range.

• Ab.Kadir Ibrahim on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:26 am

Hv seen one at nilai M4….but the sound of engine is really giving noise by 50 ft.away during running …suggestion to improve the sound to ensure it more awesome…like Toyota or honda….

• IN the brochure photo, there’s ESP stated at the left but in the table don’t..

• greatwalk on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:11 am

apaa cita dh dekat setahun.. sape2 dh beli cite sket..

• jim labu on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:45 am

Baru dapat/pakai x sampai sebulan (booking dari Sept. tahun lepas). Model Comfort AMT. Mostly drive dalam town area, highway blum test lagi. Penilaian awal – Interior quality o.k, bunyi tutup pintu mcm keta mahal. Driver’s seat position tinggi & selesa. Soundproofing o.k tapi bwk laju2 engine sound agak audible. Seat belakang utk 2 org sesuai, lebih dari tu agak sempit. Speaker sound biasa2 je. Yg ni the best part – Gearbox AMT dlm auto position pick up agak slow, kena pandai main minyak. Tapi kalu dlm manual position, pehhh…smooth & zero lag shifting bro! X ada jerking langsung!! Nasihat aku – korang pegi la beli Myvi, Iriz, Axia ka biar aku sorang je pakai M4 kat area aku ni, muahaha!

• adimi on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:09 am

macamana maintenance? ok dan senang x.. banyak tempat ke pusat service? minyak jimat? kalau isi rm50 boleh sampai 250km x? pls reply.. tq

• jim labu on Jan 12, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Maintenance/spare parts blum tau lagi sbb baru 1K++ mileage, tapi rasanya x ada masalah sbb semua pemasangan di M’sia. Service center kt tmpt gua sekali dgn sales office. Fuel consumption stakat ni 6.9-7.5 l/100km, x la mntekedarah mnyak sgt. Bro pegi test drive & biasakn diri dgn AMT gearbox dlu sblum buat apa2 decision sbb dia punya main gear lain mcm skit.

• Axuan on Jun 28, 2017 at 12:25 am

Ap beza elite dgan comfort AMT? Gear elite fully auto atau sama jew dgn AMT..

• zulkifli on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:43 pm

kita nak kereta yg perfect, excellent segala bagai pada harga RM350K pun tiap bulan masuk bengkel (cari kat BMW M’sia problems)