Proton wants govt to pay R&D costs – Mahathir

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Proton Holdings Bhd is seeking reimbursement from the government for the amount it has spent on research and development (R&D) to produce new cars, The Star reports.

“We have asked the government to reimburse some of the money we invested on R&D projects,” chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad told reporters after launching Proton’s “Drive for Gaza” fund-raiser, a campaign aimed at helping victims in the Palestine-Israeli conflict.

“This is a normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to carmakers for development of new technology,” he said, citing South Korea as an example.

The national carmaker is set to launch a new car, which it said has cost as much as RM300 million to develop, before the end of the year. This new car is expected to be the much-awaited Global Small Car (code-named P2-30A).

Proton Suprima S and Preve

Dr Mahathir told the English-language daily that Proton had never received any direct cash hand-outs from the government and over the years had used its own money for R&D projects.

Despite the introduction of the Preve and Suprima S (above) in the last two years, Proton shifted a meagre 52,920 cars from January to May 2014. That’s 2% less than in the same five-month period last year, when it managed 53,909, reports The Star.

Its domestic market share had also shrunk to 19% as of end-May 2014, compared with 21% a year ago.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• OHHH MYYY GOD!!!! THIS PROTON!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 14
    • fast5 on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:51 pm

1st pray for MH17.

Back to topic, this guy never feel shame on asking others for payment.

Say will not ask for any funding, what about now?
      Why can’t he use his own money to funding, “Proton a independent brand/company” Why still asking gov to pay for your loses!!!!
      R&D should pay by the company itself…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 12
      • Low Budget on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:22 pm

The chairman said the demand is not R&D money for future new models but kind of a Back Dated Payment for developing Preve, Supa and the GSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 68
        • Low Budget, pls use your brain, if you have any. So what you are saying is that they are entitled to claim R&D money if they incur the costs first then claim as reimbursement, because they are not claiming for R&D money upfront. What kind of logic is that? Today is a sad day for Malaysia, please do not make it any worse.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 12
          • Puppet CEO - Where is the CEO? on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Where is the CEO of Proton? Any announcement is always done by Mahathir. It is as if the CEO, CFO and COO don’t exist at all.

Mr CEO, don’t you feel ashamed that you are just a puppet boneka? In any company, it is always the CEO or MD that makes important announcements. But in Proton’s case, the CEO is nothing but a boneka.

This clearly shows one thing, Proton got Mahathir in to pressure the Government. now, all the announcements made is done by Mahathir. Mahathir is using his clout and pressure to make the Government and Najib favour them.

The CEO and MD of Proton should feel ashamed of themselves. Tak malu ke? You the CEO and MD are paid 6 figure salary per month and all you do is sit like a mouse in the office.

Might as well abolish the whole Board of Directors and just keep Mahathir as the Chairman and not have a Board at all. This alone can save close to Rm10 million per month in salary.

Why not do this? Since Mahathir is calling the shots for Proton now. I pity the Government. They cannot say NO to Mahathir because Mahathir has done so many favours for all the cabinet members. You scratch my back I scratch yours. Mahathir has given so many contracts to all the Ministers and Cabinet and their family and proxy.

The Cabinet and Najib cannot say NO to Mahathir anymore.

This begets the question, it looks like Proton is pressuring the Government to use our tax payers money to fund the dying company. We the rakyat of Malaysia, through Najib, is being pressured to fund Proton even more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 3
          • coolhead on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:51 pm

qov i think you should calm down. Low Budget did not say that he agrees to this ‘reimbursement’ payment. I think he’s asking a question to clarify his own doubt about what Mahathir said.

You shouldn’t be quick to imply that others have no brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Close Down Proton on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Mahathir and Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10. This also has not been sorted out. No point Proton itro new models when there are so many skeletons in its closet. Sort the skeletons out first, otherwise, Proton cannot make money and inferior parts will wear and tear fast compromising quality of Proton cars.

Now Mahathir is in Proton, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.
            Why ask the Government for money? Change the vendors first. Show the Proton is sincere in wanting to improve itself.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, it will ask our money to support the company. This is not a one off. Mahathir will be asking the government money on and on.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or Government owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 316 Thumb down 14
          • Anak anak Sendiri Tak Pakai Proton on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Mahathir pandai talk big. If he is so supportive of Proton, why he himself don’t drive a Proton?

Siti hasmah also don’t use a Proton.

Marina Mahathir also don’t use a Proton. She always in Bangsar, I never once seen her drive a Proton.

His sons also don’t drive Protons. Both drive Porsche.

So Mahathir, if you are so supportive of Proton, you sendiri tak pakai Proton! Macam mana?

Ask people to buy your own product (Proton) but you yourself don’t use your own product. You yourself don’t believe in the product you are selling which is Proton cars.

Before you ask people to help your own company, show to the world that you yourself got confidence in your own products lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 3
          • Own Remuneration for Proton on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Mahathir’s Remuneration alone is more than RM15 million per annum. Why don’t you do work free for Proton and give your own remuneration as R & D for Proton? After all Proton is your baby.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
          • @Close Down Proton

Comparing car prices between US and bolehland is plain stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
          • cmonl on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:19 am

@Anak anak Sendiri Tak Pakai Proton

Please go and ask nasi lemak seller to eat his nasi lemak everyday and mamak to eat his roti canai everyday. That’s hilarious and dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
          • @Own Remuneration for Proton

Do you work for free? If no then you are hypocrite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • airbags on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:19 am

then proton has hired the wrong guy…he really cannot see where the problems are. he used g money 30 years ago to built this company, now he still is using the same out-of-date strategy to extend the life of this company. but so sorry to say that u r not the g now. coz u r out of date. the g now apply so many new taxes on people, proving that the new g needs more money than the time you were the g. the g announced not to support MAS before, and may announce not to support your proton, soon or later. i would like to give u one advise, M. Manage ur suppliers properly first. They are the big jaws who ruin ur company.

• Redline on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:35 pm

@Close down proton:

People seem to think that closing down proton will solve all the problem, that closing down proton will make all other car prices go down. All this is based on the “fact” (or assumption?) that the Government imposes high tax and duty on other cars solely to protect Proton.

Let me ask you this, what if this is no longer true? What if, initially, yes, the Gov imposes high tax and duty to protect Proton. But over the years, the Gov realised that this tax is a major source of income to the government, and it is only taxing the middle class and the “rich” (i.e. the bigger car you want to own, the more tax you have pay). The poor and rural folks will not be affected by this tax, because they mainly buy second hand cars or ride motorcycles.

So what if, we got our wish…Proton closed down. But the Gov still does not want to reduce the car tax and duty, because it is a major source of income to the Gov. Where does that leave us? The middle class can still afford their City, Vios, Camry etc. But the lower income group will loose their “affordable” cars.

To me, the solution is not to close down proton. This is just a mean. Getting this mean does not guarantee we get the end (which is lower car prices). To me, the solution is just to reduce car tax and duty, and make Proton compete on equal grounds with other car makers. If Proton survives, good for them. That proves that competition will help Proton more competitive. If Proton fails, that shows Proton should close down anyway. The important thing, is that we, the rakyat, gets lower car prices, regardless of proton continue or closed down.

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:29 am

@RoadRage

No. Some chinese companies do provide crappy service and junk products. Chinese won’t be so brainless to support a company simply because it is chinese owned.

One simple example: You see chinese majority using China brand handphone more or Apple/Samsung more?

Chinese support good and cheap product, regardless of race. Perodua is the best example.

Company who can’t survive, should close down. Company who make profit, should expand. Simple economy class rules.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:30 pm

If one company where the amount earned is lower than the amount spent in buying, operating, or producing something, it mean loss.
          If keep on loss then finally the company declare bankrupt or close it.
          And this potong keep ask for money shamefully from government (rakyat) and it still can last ~ 30years!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:52 pm

That’s why i said, all the tax money collected from new Prius/Prius C, eventually goes back to the cronies and Proton’s pocket.

This is the almighty Perlindungan.

Why the tax payer have to pay for your R&D? See what kind of junks you made out of your R&D (Relax & Dinner)!!

You can’t survive you close shop. Don’t link it with national pride or what so ever. We are not proud of Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Vader:
            Please wake up. It’s now 2014, PROTON owned by DRB-HICOM now almost 3 years. Why you twisting said take money from rakyat? Yes, PROTON had suffer losses for past few years but it does not mean that the company do not have money to invest in future. If they want to do R&D, they can seek fund from parent company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 49
          • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Ah Beng:
            Please wake up. Rakyat already support Proton for 30 years and bazillions of ringgit car taxes. Print money duit pokok pisang Jepun kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:29 pm

If Proton is private company now, please go ask parent company DRB HICOM instead of government.

Don’t act like a 14 years old teenager, can’t make money but everything keep asking parents to buy this and that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Dear Same Lorr,

Again. Stupid comment detected. Same Lorr don’t show to reader u r stupid. Please read the article before you comment. PROTON is seeking reimbursement from the government for the amount it has spent on R&D to produce new cars. PROTON is not blindly asking money from govt. PROTON are seeking ‘REIMBURSEMENT’. Do you know what is ‘REIMBURSEMENT’? Please google it..

Regards,
            Ah Beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 85
          • Ah Beng Bodoh on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:19 pm

If Proton is owned by DRB, how come the Ministers are anwering questions about it in Parliament?

Ah Beng is so stupid. Why Ministers also make announcements in the media for the company?

Ah Beng pandai tipu. But now you cannot tipu anymore. Proton is still sucking our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
          • Ah Beng Bodoh on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Ah Beng now got to hide his face in his panties. Pondan Ah Beng always talking rots. Hired by Proton to show Chinaman support Proton.

No such thing. Penipu and fraud. Go get a job. Don’t get paid to be a cybertrooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Reimbursement for what? What had Proton come out from its R&D? Noisy and fuel hunger engine? fix-broke-fix-broke x100 times gearbox, problematic power windows which require lifetime warranty (lifetime repair)?

You can call it reimbursement for Proton invent the tyre to be round shape for RM5 mil. Or Proton invent piston is required in an engine with R&D cost 10mil. But after all, it is same shit Proton wants: MONEY!

My stupid comment or not, it is up to you like I will care. But when Proton think Malaysian are stupid to believe its “reimbursement” and ask for tax payer money, we all care!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
          • Own Remuneration for Proton on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Mahathir’s Remuneration alone is more than RM15 million per annum. Why don’t you do work free for Proton and give your own remuneration as R & D for Proton? After all Proton is your baby.

• RoadRage (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:42 pm

If it was a Chinese company, I bet these monkeys would support it wholeheartedly like Malays to cronies and Chinese to Chinese companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
          • Power window story is basi already, got lifetine warranty summore. And the R&D, read below post.

Toyota also have problem, it’s massive recalls all over the world, so shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • megde on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:35 am

@Ah Beng Bodoh
            Now I know, LOL

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:04 pm

fast5:
        Every company that do R&D which give benefit to the nation can claim with MIDA. If you are people from industry, you should know that kind of alternative to make future investment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 59
        • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Ugly crap product don’t deserve free money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
          • The RnD was done already, it’s not for free.

• Ah Beng Bodoh on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Ah Beng now got to hide his face in his panties. Pondan Ah Beng always talking rots. Hired by Proton to show Chinaman support Proton.

No such thing. Penipu and fraud. Go get a job. Don’t get paid to be a cybertrooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Ah Beng idiot on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:27 am

Please go to bed Ah Beng! Stop being an asshole.

• airbags on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:31 am

but proton never returns any benefit back to the nation at all. remember when the savvy first sold in uk many years ago? it even brought shames to malaysia.

• megde on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:02 pm

never returns benefits? Proton pays tax in every cars sold.

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Please make your words clear!

Every Proton buy pay tax.

The money eventually flow back in Proton and its cronies pocket, in whatever name it is.

• megde on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Show me proof and evidence for your accusation or you just talk kok here.

• Fred_Lam on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:14 am

True that. If the nation is gaining profit over effort of a specific company, the company can ask the government for assistance. Simple concept. Prove me wrong and i’ll stay quiet.

• Ahlee Ahmad Muthu (AAM) on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:11 am

proton carry national name, so does citroen used by french ambasaddor. Malaysia boleh.LOL

• slk3879 on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Not just Proton, this time is Proton + Mahathir, it cannot get any worse than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:51 pm

PROTON had invested a lot R&D in gsc, preve n suprima. MIDA should approve the re-imbursement for them to invest new project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 75
      • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Why you use my money to develop junk? Do you have my consent?

Beggar + leech!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
      • Nissan on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Only fruitful investment shall be rewarded. What had Proton achieved? Nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Gargantia on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:02 pm

MIDA or MITI.
        He say before “Proton a independent company” Independent means??
        asking money from your parents everytime you do a research or loses??

Does it still call independent?? Or begged money from parents that you loses bussiness and investment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Good idea, but pakai duit sendiri ok. Drug addict sucks.

• Ah Beng ah…Proton is now owned by private company, if this company is not capable to run this business then why they want to bid last time…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • hantu on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm

GOVT = ATM Machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • If the new model cannot sell, what is the point of reimburst. Hope the global small car has good quality interior and good ancap rating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Isn’t it ENOUGH!!! We’re paying you for more than 20 years and you still begging??? Fxxk sake, please begging from your Hicom and Govt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • Fred_Lam on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:25 am

Hicomm is already working on supplementing them. Please read previous reports before barking here. i have been following these news and I am getting sick of you people thrasing without a specific mindset. Grow up people.

• Tak malu punya orang. Still asking for money from the people.
    Still want to compare with Korea. Are you as good as the Koreans for god sake? You think the Koreans having karipap during their meeting like you?
    Just close la. Ptui.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 15
    • Bruce on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:33 pm

This new Chairman wants a cut la! This is his SOP! He will suck wherever he go

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • iomasark on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Tak reti bahasa punya orang, the article is not about karipap!
      Ford chevvy also got money from US gov and they had loss, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 98
      • Yup, but its bailout, during economic downturn. To make the company and employee still working.

It is different case here, when you want to introduce new car, it goes the R&D. Now if government pay the R&D cost, Proton is just manufacturing company. Same as Perodua.

Now, the government money is not theirs. The money should spent for the people interest. Not for “some” people interest.

You should understand when the money spend for people and spend on corporation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 6
        • salambangi on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:25 pm

I know lots of car companies get support from their govt like Chrysler, Fiat ,Citroen, Ford, GM, even the korean car makers.

The so called DAPgs and RBA sympathisers as expected are against it because they know who will loose tbe most. Cant you see their agenda?

We should support Proton and their R an D activities.We should support Malaysian products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 84
          • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:19 pm

30 years and RM9 Billion car tax every year, still not enough from rakyat money? Burn in hell you all Proton goons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
          • Other companies get support, u also want to get. Other companies after getting support built better cars & pay back to the people. You ada ka?
            Untung sendiri simpan, rugi rakyat punya. Ptui.

• silky on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Those tax collected is not all for proton. FOr 3 years didn’t get such incentives summore. Dun get people confused with your black heart

• ThePolygon on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:26 pm

What about karipap! I want karipap! Now… pay karipap money now!

“This is a normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to carmakers for development of new technology,” he said, citing South Korea as an example.

I hope the new car that cost RM300 million in R&D better have some new tech. Karipap dispenser perhaps?

• Stop comparing yourself with the big names.
        The only German brand you can compare with is Traban. People want you to disappear. Just disappear la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Not all people want PROTON to disappear. Only ungrateful people like ioma and #CDM25 wishing PROTON disappear. Remember, people at kampung now capable to own a car today because of PROTON..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 83
          • Gargantia on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Truth is Kampung people can own Toyota/Honda/Mazda even a Peugeot if Proton not around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
          • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Without 75% car tax, even more kampung people able to own cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:33 pm

No one against Proton personally. But if Proton can’t survive the competition, BETTER CLOSE SHOP. Government and we tax payers are not Proton’s ATM machine!!!

If not Proton and its ridiculous protection (Perlindungan), everyone in kampung should be driving at least Toyota/Honda now.

Don’t underestimate people from kampung you city boy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
          • stranger on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:49 am

Y this Ah Beng can be a member?
            I thk he really came out from cave

• Ah Beng bodoh on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:30 am

If Proton does not exist, everyone can drive good and affordable cars. Shut up Ah Beng!

• Fred_Lam on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:28 am

I have to agree with Ah Beng? Without Proton what you wanna drive? Perodua ? Sorry la. When P2 starts to monopoly the market, you won’t be able to buy half the car. The reason you can still afford a proper Proton is because the govt is supporting them. Thrash la somemore. Now Myvi itself is 60k. Wait until proton gone, I wanna see you driving a bugatti perhaps?

• Nissan on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:07 pm

What R&D had Proton achieved? 9.9L/100km FC crap engine? High dB engine try to mimic F1 engine notice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Proton spent a few mil to research the round tyre? They are so brilliant that they don’t even know tyre should be round in shape.

Or we will see the cutting edge triangle steering wheel from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Proton basher is naive, engine development alone is about 1bil. You think it’s cheap?

9.9l/100km FC is usual for 2.0l equivalent cars in city driving. If you don’t own such cars you wouldn’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Campro inefficient on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:05 am

@sssd you are the naive one.
            Don’t you know that the 9.9L/100km stated is for HIGHWAY driving???
            In City driving campro engines use more petrol than 2.5L sushi engines!
            15 year old Vios engine also more efficient!

• @Campro inefficient
            You are the naive one
            It is combined cycle (urban+extra urban). Urban is what? Highway kah?

Aiya.

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Everything on FACT!

Proton burnt a lot of money in developing new engine – FACT

Proton engine is fuel hunger – FACT

Proton engine is powerless – FACT

With so many facts, i wanna ask: Why the hell Proton burnt so much money develop junk engine? 1984 Toyota LE engine is much better than it is.

• megde on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:44 pm

FACT? WHat fact? Vios 1.5l in city driving only achieves 11km/l. Preve that is more or less 2.0l (1.6T) get 9-10km/l. It is more or less expected. Where got fuel hunger? YOu said it’s powerless? Sprinting is 9.7 secs while vios 10+ secs. Put racechip and it’s faster than Camry Hybrid, about 7+ secs. Vios can go to junkyard already.

LOLOLOLOLOLOL

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:36 am

People drive Vios you drive Vios, why you get 11km/l only?

BECAUSE YOU DON’T EVEN HAVE A VIOS!!

Vios average is 13km/l, which is 4 km more than Preve. For a full tank (40l), it is 160km extra. If you pump fuel every week, you have 8320km extra a year.

8320km EXTRA, duh!!! You can go Perlis – JB 10 times!

Who need that extra 2 sec for pick up in city drive with your awesome Preve racing chip? You can keep on syok sendiri, but DON’T PUT PUBLIC SAFETY IN DANGER!!!

Even if your car can fly, it is still PROTON.

• Fred_Lam on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:29 am

Hahahahaha. You are a genius. Sarcasm doesnt lead nowhere dear.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Ioma:
      Ford n gm can re-imburse from US federal eventhough making loss. Why not PROTON do the same? If PROTON hav money to invest in new model, vendors also hav chance to get new business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 56
      • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Ford and GM sell cars to worldwide, but Proton? Even Malaysian ditch Proton. People become beggar you also become beggar, where is your ego/pride?

Proton always invest in “new models”, and the “new models” never get launched. Proton Hybrid is the best example. Eventually the money just get into cronies pocket in another name.

Oklar, I will call Proton and they will send manager to collect my another RM10 donation. I will free condoms also, coz protection is the best for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • New PCC will be launched, you don’t read kah?

And Proton sold in Australia

• Campro inefficient on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:11 am

Sure Proton is sold in Australia but have you ever seen the statistics of units sold there??
            50-100 units a month in Australia only!
            In UK Proton sold 208 units in whole of 2012.

• YOu got back to square one again, see comment by Ah Beng above, duh.

• Campro inefficient on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:45 am

P1 has always had dealerships overseas for many years especially in UK and Australia but look at how is has failed.
            UK 1989-2013: 151441 units sold
            Australia 1995-2013: 33547 units sold.
            Despite the decent sales in the 90’s look how low is the sales now. 200 units a year in UK and 500 units a year in Australia. Public perception on Proton is not only bad here locally but also oversea. Its universal!
            So yes Proton has gone back to square one like you said as a Failure! Duh

• Dont talk about vendor la. Be your vendor also suey. Sales ciput tapi act like macam bagus.

• Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Reimburse money for kroni vendors that produce rosak parts? No thanks.

• Where got rosak? Proton is much better than overprice moving coffin cars.

• It was a bail out loan. Which mean they have to pay back with interest. And ford already fully paid back with interest. What M on behalf of proton IS NOT A BAIL OUT LOAN, NOR THE MONEY ONCE PASS ON TO THEM WILL EVER SEE THE LIGHT OF DAY EVER AGAIN. They are just simply asking for money for their book keeping. Which is totally wrong on all level.

• Ah Beng bodoh on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:32 am

Just disappear will you Ah Beng? Noisy and an idiot as well!

• kckuni on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

omg…..
    Please do not squeeze your ppl anymore!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Roque on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Correction, we are never his people not even now. he is just another typical c**t on the road.

• Blaze on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:23 pm

I know its very un-acceptable to wish for someone to ‘kick the basket’ cepat-cepat… But then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Chris (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:07 pm

It dropped 2% market share every year, with 19% left. Let see who will last longer :|

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Hahaha. . Now you know why I hate P1 so much..

Mana macai2 & beruh2 P1.. tlg komen sikit. .

X sabar nak hentam blk..

Kah kah. . Joke for the day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • P2 moved more money out from bolehland. Why no hate?

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:32 pm

When Proton buy Lotus, when you buy iPhone/Samsung, money is moved out from bolehland.

So why hate?

• I dun hate them. It’s YOU that is full of hatred and envy.

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:39 am

I am not full of hatred. Proton can’t survive, close shop lar. Why use my tax money? Why people buying foreign car have to subsidy Proton?

Envy Proton? Envy Proton create junk still can survive so long? lol

• R&D projects? Mind to share with the public these so-called ‘R&D Projects’ that you have mentioned Tun M???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • tmtime on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:11 pm

One of these might be “R&D in best way to find sucker manufacturer to REBADGE and devalue their model”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • This new chairman will make Malaysian hate proton instead for giving so many pressure to Govt and rakyat, I may rather spend my money with P2 if cannot effort better car.

• Nissan on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I think some P1 fans will shout the 3R-ubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Nissan: Nismo Performance Package are more rubbish-ier..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
        • Gargantia on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:12 pm

What’s your problem??
          I don’t see anything related to Nissan in this tread.
          Bashing Nissan??? Come on la….

• Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:20 pm

R3 – rosak, repair, rosak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Rubbish or not, it is subjective to personal preference.

At least Nissan doesn’t beg for government money.

Are you proud of your almighty Proton begging for money? You want me to donate another RM10?

• @Same L0rr
            Companies can always apply for gov incentives, applying for it is not begging.

• pondan on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Please la… please go to hell and don’t come back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Give him a break-lah. at least his beloved Proton still can sell a few units here and there in a few countries though for now is largely out favored by Malaysians with P2 as alternative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Ok how much you need just go to bank negara open up the safe and help yourself that why you are in the chairman positions so that you have friends and Rat holes to dig as much as you want. Well thank you 1 Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sugar glider on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Wow, speechless story. So, every private company can ask for reimburstment from G when they research and develope on something? what a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:35 pm

It is not un-usual for the Gomen to dish out money to private companies as R&D fund, its just whether the amount and the cause would justify or not.

• The master Plan of DRB…. lol

• Pauleta on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:27 pm

What??? Need to use our hard earned money to subsidise Proton again?!?!

Come on lah, after 30 years, we have had enough of this incompetent company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Such arrogance you have. Your hard earned money? How much taxes you pay annually? RM3K, 4K? That wouldn’t be enough to patch a few potholes in the streets. You think your pathetic sum is actually helping Proton? Think again.

All you do is take. What have you done for your country? You’re benefiting more from the government than the government benefits from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 48
      • Corporal on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:12 pm

I can ask the same to you. What have YOU done for the country? Did you even pay a single cent of tax? Why so butthurt when ppl talk about Proton. You got shares is it? Even if you do it’s not going to amount to anything.
        It’s easy to call other ppl arrogant when you yourself are the most arrogant one judging from all your previous posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • Moron, he didn’t claim anything why should he answer? Proton pays tax to government, the cars sold also highly taxed. You bash this and that but what do you do for the country?

• Corporal on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:24 am

He claimed Pauleta only pays 3-4k tax a year and its hardly any effect and can’t even patch a few pothole. Take things for free from government in what sense?
            So if Proton takes funds for free its ok?? Don’t be an ignorant hypocrite man. Go back and live in your cave.

• Read it again. He asked Pauleta about it. Since you and Pauleta bashed Proton, what do you do country? How much you pay for tax?. Dun ask me i’m not butthurt monkeys nor asking about what gomen will do with my paid tax.

• Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:18 pm

You are so proud to reject RM3K, 4K, then don’t bother asking then.

If you beg, at least act like a beggar.

I rather this RM3K patch the street holes, rather than patch your cronies Lambo, coz everyone could enjoy the patch, no everyone can enjoy the Lambo.

Government stay functioning because we pay tax. We are the boss, so don’t be arrogant foolishly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • Beggar? It was promised by gomen, asking it it is not begging.

• Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:24 pm

RM9 Billion car taxes by rakyat in total per year.

You are the scum for against us all 30 million rakyat.

• Not scum coz the car has new engine, not old ancient one like those in Vios. After more than decade still using same engine. And it’s fuel saver just on par with other 1.5l engines

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Policeman:
      Pauleta do nothing to this country. He just know how to suck govt subsidy. He don’t deserve to live in this country. Pauleta, please go away. You can live in HK, Taiwan, Singapore if u want..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
      • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Malaysia doesn’t belong to your grandfather. Please go away to hell ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:41 pm

See! Typical Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok mindset.

When he has nothing to argue (Sendiri Tak Boleh Cakap), he just keep asking people to leave Malaysia.

Pauleta, it is not his first time, you are not the first person he asked to leave Malaysia.

In his logic: Whoever don’t support Proton should leave Malaysia.

Please don’t overestimate his intelligence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • qctrl on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:26 am

It’s you who sendiri cakap sendiri syok. You think Vios is fuel saver? Its FC is more or less like Saga in city driving. 10-11 km/l. Before yo usay about 9.9l/100km FC of suprima, 2.0l output engine can always leave 1.5l Vios in dust. You syok sendiri lor.

• Campro inefficient on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:33 am

At least Vios got 11km/l in city driving.
            Your campro claim of 9.9l/100km is for highway driving only. City driving can’t even achieve 10km/l
            Go watch Driven first season episode 1. Even on highway Suprima only got 13.9km/l while Vios is 17.3km/l
            So which engine more efficient?? 15 year old dinosaur engine also more efficient la.
            City driving you talk about smoking ppl. Try and smoke others in the jam.

• qctrl on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Hello, Vios has tiny 1.5l output, you want to compare with 1.6l Turbo @ 2.0l engine?

Hahahahahahahah

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:42 pm

See the typical Pondan Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

If you can’t own a Vios and not able to taste its FC. Please work harder. Go figure out the Vios FC in fuelly.

It is confirmed Proton FC sucks, then you will say Proton smoke any other car, leave other car in dust.

You leave other car in dust but we don’t even give a shit when we see you are left in coffin after accident.

You know when Proton car leave the most dust? When it is in garage, in long queue to repair break down here and there.

• qctrl on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Vios driver of course afraid to get faster because :

1.Vios sucks, cannot tapau preve
            2.It’s moving coffin, no VSC only 2 airbags.

Fuel hunger? No such things. It’s ok for such powerful turbo engine. Vios got turbo kah? lol

• Campro inefficient on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Looks like you really syok sendiri until you are blind.
            Go compare with any other 1.6 turbo engines and see. Campro engines uses almost 50% more fuel and has less HP and torque.
            A 1.6 turbo can easily be more efficient than a 1.5 NA but its the OPPOSITE for Campro. Epic fail!
            Continue to syok sendiri and drive your Proton for life. Don’t be a hypocrite and change car ok.

• Ah Beng suck banana on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:34 am

I think you are the one who should go to hell.

• Low Budget on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Asking people to leave if they don’t like it heres sound so……typical, So……Boring.

• Why not go fo US if it has very good life there? Nobody will stop you.

• common sensor on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Typical from Tun M; mind boggling remarks .. Don’t take it too hard ..

• niterunner99 on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:28 pm

How many other car makers does that? BMW/AUDI/MERC/TOYOTA/NISSAN/TATA – Are they taking reimburstment from their GOV too?
    Using 1 KR company as example doesn’t justify.

• Never ending asking money. After 30 years still must be spoon fed. Tak tau malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Jules on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Ask Drb to reimburse lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • quote:
    “Despite the introduction of the Preve and Suprima S (above) in the last two years, Proton shifted a meagre 52,920 cars from January to May 2014. That’s 2% less than in the same five-month period last year, when it managed 53,909, reports The Star.

Its domestic market share had also shrunk to 19% as of end-May 2014, compared with 21% a year ago.”

if the market share had shrunk, proton should prove their new model to gain market before request gov to sponsor the R&D which were also tax payer money.

Government should not invest into the lost market investment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • RND? what RND? do they do any RND? all given to them by cronies on plate and none work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • ruffstuff on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm

P3-21A (300million), P3-22A (220million), P2-30A(300million). These are the models. Self-developed. What Tun is asking the promised back-dated R&D grant for all these models. Supposedly they will be getting ~200 million per year. But they havent received any yet for the passed 3 years.

For those who didn’t know, Perodua also received R&D grant. And many malaysian company that have R&D program which is materialized, will entitled to get the grant. It is normal practise.

Ramai betul rakyat malaysia yang taktahu. Share bende bukan2 dekat facebook laju je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Correct ruffstuff. These people only talk rubbish. They don’t want to learn what govt agencies like MIDA can provide..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
        • Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Rubbish cars poor fuel efficiency don’t deserve such big amount of free money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:52 pm

It is not about how much you spent on R&D! It is about WHAT YOU GET from your R&D.

After millions of spending, you have these kind of engines, gearboxs, suspensions, build quality etc?

Please… stop wasting your own and government money.

Unless you wanna channel it to someone pockets…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • benjy on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:29 am

Rubbish car? 5 star ANCAP lor
            Poor FC? It’s not your weak 1.5l engine, it’s bit more than 2.0l!!

• Suspension? It’s wayyyyy better than your cars sold. Normal Toyota cars can take corner and bumps like Proton? It may turn turtle into longkang!!!

LOLOLOLOL

• Campro inefficient on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:39 am

Hahaha but then your suspensions rosak and need go change.
            Engine leaking need go repair
            Drink petrol so need pump constantly.
            Leaking turbo and lose to even other makes of same capacity turbo engines.
            5 star ANCAP but lose to other brands also. Mazda, Toyota, Honda all higher score.
            You spend whole annual leave in service center.
            So go ahead and continue claim to smoke other car since everyone else couldn’t be bothered. Oh not to mention there are hardly any Preve or Suprima on the road. Malaysian also no confidence to buy it la

• Where got those problem now? Even it does, the number is small and decreasing, go to proton drivers forum. If you live in cave you wouldn’t know anything.

Preve and Suprima numbers on road are way more than new vios and altis

Massive recalls all over the world by Toyota, is that good? LOL

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:48 pm

What Proton car are sold the most? Saga & Persona!

Are they 5 stars? No way close.

Where are the 5 stars Preve/Suprima S? Showroom, warehouse, under the sun but never on the road (coconut tree sales carnival yet to come)!

Problem decreasing because less people buy Proton, duh! Not because its build quality get better. Wake up! lol

It is like “See! I am breast cancer free! Not because I am healthy but simply I don’t have one!”

• You cannot buy Vios for 33k lor why compare it with Saga? Compare it with Preve.

Do you know how to calculate price?

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:53 am

So you means those who pay RM33k deserve junk?

Those who can’t afford Preve and buy Persona deserve to die in car accident because VSC?

You wanna show off of Proton best car? I have long list of Toyota/Lexus best cars can beat Preve/SS to dustbin.

But I never bother to show off Toyota/Lexus best cars, why? Coz we focus on the cars people buy the most, not the cars earn the most reward but end up in warehouse showroom sun UV testing.

• Campro inefficient on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I beg to differ. I see many new Vios and 1-2 Altis daily compared to 1-2 Preve. Preve launched 3 years compared to Altis half year but got more Altis on the road.
            Best of all since Suprima launched i can see 1 car a month!!
            Don’t syok sendiri too much and get blinded.

• Ah Pek on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Aiyah, nobody ask Proton to spend spend money make such models mah. People like Japan and Korea all ready got nice cars that we orang Malaysia can buy cheap cheap what. Why Govt want to be so stupid one and spend money to research and make lousy cars as high cost one? You see ah, how much rakyat benefit lor if Govt close down Proton and let orang Malaysia sama you and me buy good car, even pay current price. Govt make money on tax, we get good car and Govt no need to support leech like Proton lor. You know or not, our Govt got borrow money already more than GDP by 55%! See my logic? How more to ‘reimburse’ Proton for R&D on car that nobody need? You answer me.

• ruffstuff on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:12 am

Why closing down Proton will make you think cars will be cheaper? Isn’t that reducing the tax that makes car cheaper?

• Do you think gomen will stop high tax on cars if proton close shop? In your dream.

• Ah Pek on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Aiyah, ruffstuff and mcvp, you correct, close down Proton Govt pun tak jamin reduce tax. But kurang kurang Govt no need to bother old man Dr M bug for money now and then mah. You see ah, RM300m can build how many low cost house for orang asli or may be even bumiputra. Who so neglected by Govt also cannot afford buy car anyway lah, Proton or not Proton. But at least main stream Rakyat people don’t suffer so much loh. Faham tak?

• Absolute Rider on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Sales figure tells everything. Other car manufacturers can produce cheaper with better designs, quality etc. cars.

Now even Proton cars with 40k to 80k over price tag less and less people to buy. Without good designs, quality and features, people wouldn’t buy.

If Suprima S is so great, why almost everyday I can’t even see one one the road? Please read my previous post in other topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • tmtime on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Fair point.

But do you really think anyone will read your previous post in other topic..? No one knows who you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • policeman on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:51 pm

When many people buy something it doesn’t meant its good, and when only a few people buy something it doesn’t mean that it is bad.

MyVi – bought by many people, so many. Is it a good product? No, it is just a lump of turd.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Protons ever shrinking prospects isn’t that it has no money to do R&D.

Proton’s problems is a result of short changing the rakyat it was to produce quality cars for. The cars made from 1999-2010 were absolute garbage and stinks of exploitation (mandatory ugly side stickers for $120?). Those that bought in were stung badly. One bitten twice shy, as they say.

The road to Proton’s recovery won’t be a rosy one, and getting any grants won’t reverse Proton’s fortunes. This will serve as nothing more than a blood transfusion without even stopping the bleed.

The simple fact is that they haven’t fixed their fundamental flaws which is to build cars that the rakyat needs and wants.

This simple fact seems to escape Proton and its product planners (ahem…Suprima S). If no one buys the cars you make, then you are either making the wrong cars or not correcting your past mistakes. In the case of Proton, its both.

Someone at Proton needs to get off their high horse and see what malaysians really want.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Absolute Rider on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Other car manufacturers have a great and solid design language. Different models and segments follow the design language with minor enhancement. So people will know, it’s Lexus, Mazda, Volkwagen and so on.

Proton design language? None. Please don’t unveil Suprima S manual unless:

1. you change what i complain about in previous post, in other topic.
    2. take out all interior, redesign again.

• Aduhai….baik pencen duduk rumah main ngan cucu lagi elok laa

Masuk semula proton terus mintak duit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysia tax payer on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Tolong tolong, please feel shy asking for money. So thick skin? Geli!

No Malaysians are born to owe you any money. No one buy your goreng pisang, you ask us to pay you back your oil money? Go eat your own goreng pisang, then improve your recipe, not beg or think we owe you!!

You created these leeches (ap, naza, proton) now you’re saying we owe more? You’ll go down in the history as bapa kemunduran Malaysia! God bless malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Absolute Rider on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Change different design language after one generation

• kemosabe on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Pretty embarrassing coming from an ex-prime minister.
    Perhaps Proton should table out the R&D costings to the public as part of the request for the reimbursement.

RM300 million to design a a new body shell? Engine is the same, gearbox is the same, chassis is the same, power windows is the same. What R&D is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • mim (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm

How do you know it’s all the same for GSC? RM300mil for a redesigned HPF platform, new CVVT head for Campro, newer CVT unit and the switch to European vendors for vital safety-related components and electronics, is very very surprising. Most manufacturers couldn’t even finish a new chassis with that kind of money.

Toyota took well over USD200mil just to give Yaris a new cloth.

Despite this, Proton can’t force govt for reimbursement. Where the heck is DRB?

• mim (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Just found out that ppl may misunderstood my words.

“Proton should not force govt” should be a better sentence.

• I think you talk about Toyota or Honda. Vios still uses 4 speed gearbox and dino aged engine, City / Civic are using SOHC engine.

• Campro inefficient on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:42 am

Still the dinosaur engines you claim is more reliable and efficient than campro engines. Slap a turbo into Honda SOHC engine and it will outperform campro turbo in all aspects.

• Slap a turbo that has no warranty. You want to move with broken engine, how?

You call efficient? It’s so-so FC in heavy traffic jam journey. 1.5l vs 1.6T, where got same one? 141nm torque vs 205nm torque. Even Civic 2.0l only 190nm torque albeit more hp. Altis can go into longkang!!

• Campro inefficient on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Let’s compare against a few other Turbo engines

Preve 1.6CamproTurbo engine: 141HP/205NM, 9.9L/100km
            Golf 1.4TSI engine: 140HP/250NM, 5.0L/100km
            Passat 1.8TSI engine: 160HP/250NM, 7.0L/100km
            Peugeot 308 1.6Turbo engine: 156HP/240NM, 7.6L/100km
            Fiesta 1.0Turbo engine: 125HP/170NM, 5.3L/100km
            Kuga 1.6Turbo engine: 180HP/240NM, 7.7L/100km
            Mondeo 2.0Turbo engine: 240HP/340NM, 7.7L/100km

Direct comparison with other Turbo engines and you can see they are much more efficient and with better HP and Torque.

You do know that Turbo engines not only have advantage in HP and Torque but is also as fuel efficiency if not better. So lets compare with a few examples of NA engines just for the fuel efficiency.

Preve 1.6CamproTurbo engine: 141HP/205NM, 9.9L/100km
            Accord 2.0: 155HP/190NM, 7.7L/100km
            Accord 2.4: 198HP/230NM, 8.4L/100km

As you can see Campro lost to even Accord 2.4 in fuel efficiency and to all other Turbo engines. Now do you see why Proton needs a better engine?

• Putting it this way in direct comparison i can see the stark difference.
            gore unless you have a better comeback i think you got burned and owned pretty bad. Do give fuel consumption figures and not So-So FC

• Ben yap on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Stupid old fag. If gov pays proton, that’s our money from the taxes. Already the car is selling expensive and still want to use tax payers money.

I think it’s for your corrupted pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • hadi75 on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Asking money again……even if the korean do it but look at the improvement they make to their cars…..compare that to proton……
    better sell proton other carmakers la……

• What the... on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Sell at higher price to countrymen compare to other country and still want us to pay for your R&D….

• heybadigol on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Please dear Chairman of Proton, if Proton needs money, can always do what we normal people do, which is to get financing from a bank. Thats why banks exist for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • calcutta on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:49 pm

rakyat get taxed in 1000 different ways,to feed incompetent companies,and corrupt politician

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • …andd here comes the proton basher in 5..4…3…2…1… go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
  • Government of Korea gave these hand-outs for them to go global…how about Potong? Import 15000 units in 1 year! BRAVO! BRAVA!

• BS King on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:57 pm

When government is going to pay for my company’s R&D?

• dzulx on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm

If you have one.. probably you will be eligible.. R&D grant not exclusive to Proton FYI..

• dzulx on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm

If you have one.. probably you would be eligible.. R&D grant not exclusive to Proton FYI..

• someguyonthenet on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Let me guess this straight. They wanted to ask for help from the gov to the R&Ds financially with OUR TAX MONEY. How badly they want to screw us? Just because we avoid their rubbish cars, they want us to pay for the development of their rubbish?

• NO.. get foreign partners and FDI to fund your business.. our money is for public wellfare and not enriching someone’s pocket..

Why we are not surprised Dr M joining proton recently..

• lansi on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:06 pm

No wonder proton appointed this old man…more gov protection, higher price, reimburse R&D, apa lagi dia mau?

• Cant compete then just ta bao lah, now peugeot more famous, especially white colour with free sterling lock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Ah meng on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:25 pm

R&D project–> New rims and chrome grill. 300 mil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Perodua rebadge myvi for 220 million. And those cost goes into toyota/daihatsu just for licensing.

• Facebook on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Stupid old senile M… This is normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to carmakers for development of new technology,” he said, citing South Korea as an example. How much does Hyundai sold Elantra or Kia sold K3 in Korea??? For a mere RM50-60k only… How much does Proton’s Preve/Suprima sold in Malaysia??? Still dare to ask money from Government… Wake up please…

• Vincent on Jul 18, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Bloodly Dr Tun… u never failed in sucking people blood. P1 spending hundreds million a year in R&D. We don’t we anything return or creative products come out from Proton. Where the R&D money goes? Now u wanted us to pay the bill? Rakyat prefer to just close ur bloodly Proton ! End story!

And… pls be reminded that Proton is in DRB hand.. a private company! Why u want government to pay the bill? Who R u to say so?

• What R&D? what can Proton offer? copy also need gov to fund? pls close shop since you cannot offer anything to the country. Proton suppose to create more job, more business and more income for the country and conquer the world automotive industry. Proton causes us to pay more for other car then gov tax us for proton and etc. This is really a boleh land.

• Proton pays tax to gomen. No proton = lesser tax? In your dream!

• This car company is a parasite! Shameless. Always having its hand out asking for assistance. Whats so special having this old man as chairman who says that he will steer proton into the right direct? Oh…indeed steering straight to ask government handouts. If that is the case, I too can be a chairman. And I wonder if he was put there because proton planned all along that they need government assistance again. F**KED UP company of the millennium.

• R&D new badge for next generation Lancer and Accord = RM10Mil

• leebod on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:20 am

Badge? It’s not only badge but suspension, enhanced airflow etc. And new Perdana has new cloth.

• They never run out of ideas to suck $$$ from rakyat

• everything government, how can you grow if you cant even stand on your on foot?!!??!!

• Chris (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Hmm.. I’m more turned off by the “drive for gaza” thing, I’m pretty sure only one side will get the help…

I should shut up now.

• Senile on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Why is the old man making comparisons to other country now? Didn’t he told us many moons ago not to compare our policy with those of other country? If he wants to compare sure, there are 1001 things we can compare. Lets begin with NAP

• Proton basher is also same what, when it’s “imported” cars all are good nothing is bad, when it’s proton all are bad, nothing is good.

• kudajawi on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Boikot Proton cars! Together we all rakyat must fight against this cancer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Now everyone can see why they need 5 years to recover, by start asking money from government.
    Shame on you Mahathir !!! For indirectly robbing the rakyat’s tax money broad daylight.!!!

• Kangkung on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Close it.
    Free trade, fair policy.
    All automotive maker will come malaysia.

It will benefit rakyat, government, investor.
    More job opportunities, more complete supply chain,
    more tax, more talents…… WIN WIN!

Stop stupid Kangkung reason, kangkung slogan..
    hidupkan rakyat, hidupkan makaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • PROTON is this a joke? If it is please tell me so i’ll know when to laugh. Proton is like 20 years behind from other car manufacturers. Whats there to research?? just rebadge la like you always do.

• cibai on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:32 pm

another MAS project…

• Nice_try on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:33 pm

As a tax payer I say no.

As a car enthusiast, I say HELL NO!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Asked gov money then brag about their R & D.. puiihh..

Sampah tahap cipan..

• Afraid on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:44 pm

The Proton troopers are silent for the first time!!

• madcat on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Please,
    Do not waste my income tax on this effort.
    You have wasted a lot of mine, and stop wasting more.

• nandakumarfc on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:47 pm

close shop and sell nasi lemak…hold on..this cant be right either…automotive to nasi lemak?
    Mahathir…why are you still supporting your crappie useless proton…u invented it so that poor rakyat can buy car but not knowing this piece of shit sold at high price and ripped off the nation for 30 years.close it…let the rakyat enjoy the luxury of life

• What luxury? If you think you live in US, then go nobody stops you

• Abang Long Kawasan on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Kamon TDM…..apa lagi PROTON mau……? Later on P2 asking for their R&D cost too although it just a few masking tapes…

• kenix tim mun chong on Jul 18, 2014 at 2:56 pm

eeee.. muka x malu mintak duit lagi ngan k’jaan… kan potong dah diswastakan.. ngapa xmintak main hq kasi duit.. dah berapa byk tahun r&d, tapi kreta sama juga,, power window mudah rosak.. so rakyat xsokong lagi dah sbb masalah byk.. duit untung xdpt.. jadi mintak ngan government.. isk..sakit hati betoi tgk org camni.. xtau malu..

• akupunya on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Hello readers,
    In easy word, Tun M wants gov to give fund incentive on Proton RnD.
    It’s not about bailout or any fund injection.

Let’s making Proton a better car producer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Sometimes i wondering what these so called very brainy ppl work as…talked so much..talk here and there but nothing to show..just talk..if u very intelligent..applied work at proton..do something than nothing…everyone can condemn..but how many of u can really show what u are capable of???

• Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:30 pm

We all rakyat are capable of boycotting Proton cars to make Proton suffer even bigger losses. Do not underestimate the common interest against common enemy, Proton.

• Ali Bakar Abu on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:12 am

U think prod line is d problem, if u ask yr child to build something out of LEGO, it will last long bcoz of the quality of parts made by the Co. so think….

• Carlover on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:20 pm

1st- R.I.P for MH17…
    This stupid Proton want to request money again. Rakyat being force to buy lousy car and now request more from Rakyat.
    Proton just a big liability to Malaysia. Not support economic, made Rakyat suffer and now suck Rakyat money further.
    Proton, you dont feel shame? But we shame on you.

• Ke Shin on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Hell yea, It is a normal practice that high taxes will not be imposed on imported car also DR M !!

• jimmy on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:42 pm

wow, already business for 30 years and still need Rakyat money to help develop new car, it this new car tax free/duty free?? shame on auto world

• youngmnn on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:11 am

Then shame on Japan and European automakers, they spent longer time

• Other countries use gov money to develop good car. Proton build shit by using gov money. Ugly shit. I bet the new small car will be a shit too.

• Wah Catfish Vios and Dugung Almera must be beautiful to your eyes.

Hahahahahahhahah

• areos on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Proton needs rakyat money, Produa also needs rakyat money, majority of rakyat who do not contribute anything also need money (BRIM) and worst case is (as reported) independant power producer (like YTL) sells electricity to TNB (a GLC) for RM0.21 per watt but TNB only gets from consumer RM0.19 per watt.Malaysia Boleh!

• dewaSemut on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:12 pm

My dear Tun M,

If Proton wants to claim R&D costs, since you say its an normal practice in automotive in car industry, please do it (very, very) quietly.. These sort of statements will not gain any mileage in re-building Proton’s already low brand image and reputation.

Bad PR. Bad PR.

It will only invoke anger and hate from the Rakyat towards Proton and will further shrink Proton’s slice of cake in car market.

• Ali Baba on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Beware the power of silent boycott by all rakyat against Proton. Kuasa rakyat jangan dipandang remeh.

• big joker proton on Jul 18, 2014 at 4:32 pm

300mill divide by 70k = 4285 must be sold

open the markets up allow all to compete
    on level playing field and you will see
    proton buck up…

• youstpdjoker on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:54 am

Level plying field? Prices already similar with Thai in popular B segment cars, Proton is still there despite highly taxed.

• Tuna Singh on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:01 pm

I think “Ah Beng” is real ah beng, brainless as Proton and M.

• Like a beggar on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Are you going to return the money when you get profit? If not those so called incentives will only go into your pocket.

• kckuni on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Dun think they can “profit”…

If really profit from sales, they can make it loss by putting some in…..

• kckuni on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Dun think they can “profit”…

If really profit from sales, they can make it “loss” by putting some into…..

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Tongkat.
    Lubang yang without depth. Can main on account and ask for much more than the real amount.

• I oso want leh..
    RND use gov..Sell to rakyat high high..
    summore the RND units tak laku..

• potong rompak duit rakyat………what reimbustment….. copy cat instead of R & D

• I agree Tun we must allow Proton to rebuild itself, but not this way. If Lotus can survive by strengthening its engineering arm, why cant proton find another way to gain its reputation?
    Yes Proton have series of not so successful investments- MV agusta for instance.
    The rakyat is against ‘free’ fund to proton. So allow other car manufacturer do a JV la. Dont la so lansi. There are million way to show your patriotism. Soon dapat duit kita boleh pergi kakaoke!
    P.s.: I do believe the manpower of Proton are dedicated. Just some problem between BOD and production line sahaja. Malaysia (masih) boleh!

• Ali Bakar Abu on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:06 am

R u sure just BOD n prod line, how bout vendor..vendor for parts and components…

• Kuih Ketayap on Jul 18, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Kereta Proton elok jer mcm kereta lain. Cuma ada masalah branding jer sikit. Di tambah pulak dgn masalah org tempatan yg xsuka Proton atas alasan masing2. Dh xsuka, jgn la beli, xpayah la buruk2 kn nama proton. Kalau rs mampu belilah kereta import yg di tax. Tp kalau rasa honda, volkswagen yg bwh RM200K pn dh mahal, maknanya xcukup mampulah tu. Pakai jer la proton dn lbh bijak dr segi kewangan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • donat on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:49 am

Pakai keta import 2nd hand pun bole, yg bising tu tak mampu tapi bajet kaya, ptuih

• Epicenter on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:00 pm

So, next is gonna be “Proton wants RAKYAT to pay for R&D cost” and “Proton wants RAKYAT to buy Proton only”

• Sure boycott and kill Proton!

• phuachukengkang on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Use goverment money to pay proton R&D?, abis la tax payer $$

• phuachukengkang on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Use goverment money to pay proton R&D?, abis la tax payer $$

• They say Proton cars are taxed with excise duty. then Proton asks govt to pay for their R&D. So, technically, the excise duties are paid back to Proton and R&D paid for by the country.

• lagi2 mentaliti tongkat sakti!!!

• neutral_to_cars on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:56 pm

I just hope Mahathir does not survive in the last few heart attacks. Sorry for being cruel, unless he is really helping the country, otherwise, proton and himself should close shop together once an for all. He is back now sucking our tax payers money making us heart attack. Some people working day and night just to earn more cash to pay for their loans. Fucking Mahathir and their cronies have billions of cash in their bank accounts, and yet still sucking every day. I just hope Allah will punish them if not today, but one day for sure. They all just rot in HELL !!!!!!!!!!!!

• If you can’t afford it don’t buy.

• neutral_to_cars on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:47 pm

I have never said I can’t afford. I am owning a D-segment car. I’m just dislike that proton is draining our tax payers money for nothing. If you are so supportive, then go ahead and fund all your savings to them and hope for a miracle. We have never said we did not give any chances to Proton, but every year begging for money from government and does not success in the automotive industry, better close the shop than wasting the money. I am just saying wasting, who knows, those money went to cronies. This is not the first time our Mr Mahathir is doing such sneaky job.

• along on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:42 am

Nobody can take money from your pocket, without a fight. They can if you are buying new cars. Just translate all the grouses into action, buy boycotting any new cars.

If we did not buy any new cars (not just proton), the demand will drop, and trust me, eventually price will drop.

Come on, convince everyone to stop buying any new cars for a year or two. If u need a car, buy a second hand one.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together, we can win this…

• aseng on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:22 am

Along, i want to vote for u next election

• PLZDIE on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:12 am

M will u plz just leave us for the good of malaysian’s

• rahman hashim on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:08 am

ada yg support proton, ada yg xsupport proton. terima jer la hakikat. komen panjang2 mcm nk kempen pilihanraya apa citer? ini news jer kot. poyo.

• lantak koranglah.. on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:37 am

Proton must close downlah, org tue tak sedar dirilah, dasar tak tahu malu mintak duit rakyat,quality mcm2lah,fc like stupid, engine db power sgatlah,30 year still duk complain pow window even still have life warranty,suffer duit rakyatlh n etc bla2.. typical malaysian when talking about proton..hav positive n hav ngative side..for me in my opinion let see himlah to change proton for the first year..kami nak tgok pemikiran dia dulu tahulah apa yang dia nak buat untuk jangka masa panjang..tanpa dia putrajaya yg duk makan duit rakyat tak wujud..tanpa dia langkawi tak wujud..tanpa dia klia yag kita duk naik turun flight tak akan wujud..tanpa dia modenas takde atas jalan raya, tanpa produa takde competitor untuk proton tak wujud, tanpa dia lrt dh makan duit seblum ni tak wujud..tanpa dia malaysia tak kenal di mata dunia..we know baru nak pikiaq design dh telan berjuta2 worker proton nak kene pecah kepala design belum production nak beli machine barulah bla2 berjuta2..takpelah let him give a chance to give him idea for the future of proton dia pun dh tua tak larat dh..even kita dh tahu dia kaya sebab dh makan duit rakyat selama pemerintahan dia..he know what he deserve..hurm

• unforgiven on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:23 am

Again to Tun M, just do good before he dies, do charity and stop asking for free stuff. Give and not take, else you’ll definitely ended in hell which should be anytime soon!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:56 am

beribu ribu tahniah mahathir…extort money again

• airbags on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:01 am

has proton done any r&d before? I thought they are always copycat..galant, lancer, accord…maybe more in future.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 19, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Off course they have done R&D. Dr. M’s son was the head of R&D.

Going on a field trip with their family members all expenses paid is definitely R&D (Recreation & Dining)

• escvcs on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Of course you dun know coz you live in cave

• In simple, close the freaking company down…..!!!

• bibikbiru on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Shame, so much shame on Proton. From the top management to the technicians……Don’t they even know and feeling shame? Now asking for R & D money????

Proton is a blardy big baby, always whine when encounter challenge, ask for mama protection, failed miserably to grow up and mature…..and after working for 30 years……and still ask pocket money from mama??

Let me give proton a solution:

CLOSE SHOP

• inderaloka on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Another big amount of tax payer money will be WASTED.

• John F Kennedy on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Agak agak lah proton.This proton shit is really getting in my nerve now.Probably the worst carmaker in the history of the world.Made many malaysian suffer with their greedy-ness ,lack of vision and passion.go mati lah proton.As a car lover in malaysia.im really frustrated with proton

• Let it die a natural death. Stop buying proton cars.

• ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME? on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Please PROTON, PLEASE MAHATHIR, PLEASE GOVT OF MALAYSIA.

STOP FUCKING PRODUCING PROTON. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

MALAY, CHINESE, INDIAN EVERY SINGLE MALAYSIAN HAS HAD ENOUGH OF LIVING WITH CARS THAT WE PAY SO MUCH OF OUR OWN HARD EARN MONEY FOR THAT IS NOT UP TO STANDARD, NOT UP TO QUALITY, NOT UP TO SAFETY AND COMFORT.

Please 20 over years is enough. Its time. Its time.

It’s Time to move on.

Signing off. Ladies & Gentleman.

• Angry on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:13 pm

So this is what the new management + chairman / adviser of proton is really about… panhandaling the govt…!

Aside from duplicating Lotus’ handling capabilities… WHAT(TF) product from Proton’s R&D that buyers got that is SOOOOO hi-tech and groundbreaking that is globally acclaimed or that other manufacturers are clamouring to be part of…? or other nations want SOOOO much they must import…? Does it surpass BMW / Merc / Audi (or others) technical capabilities, fuel efficiency, safety, comfort or styling…?

PaulTan intrepid investigative journalists really need to uncover this… WE the people need to know this much so as to be able to contain our barf… urrrhhhhpppp…

• Angry on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:18 pm

So… Dr.M… are u really saying if Govt doesn’t give u any single sen Proton is to close shop…. and with it make thousands of M’sian workers out of a job and more vendors out of business…? Is that the real threat that u’re trying to tell us..?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:14 am

R&D = Recreation & Dining?

Then yes, Plotong sure has spent lots of money on those

• if gov pay for the R&D, soon all HIS cucu-cicit each got one Bugatti…

• protong Sagu on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:17 am

Bila la org tua nih nak mampus.

• yihleh on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:18 pm

imagine if we had invested the same amount of money on KTM for 30 years? build more train stations all over the country (kampung and city), each station is a full featured shopping mall connecting to rapid bus and taxi. with all the shop rental and job opportunities, can calculate how much return?

• botol on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Why harass tun n family not driving proton? What about proton bosses n employees also don’t buy proton, if u see they drive proton its because company car… Give for free then they drive proton, they spend their money on other cars… Really double standard. ITU drb boss semua have Audi , Bentley, Honda… Only you poor middle class China, india and melayu susah get loan only buy proton.