Volkswagen Polo facelift now in India, Malaysia next?

VW Polo Facelift India-09

Volkswagen has introduced the Polo facelift in India. First shown to the world in January this year, the mid-life facelifted VW Polo hatchback features updated engines and a revised equipment list, besides visual updates to both the exterior and interior.

Now why are we interested in the Indian market launch of the Polo? That’s because our CKD Polo is assembled in Pekan using knocked down packs from VW’s Chakan plant in Pune, India. So it’s very likely that this is what Malaysia will get when it’s time for an update. The CKD Polo hatch was launched here in January 2014, months after the CKD Polo Sedan debuted in October 2013.

Nothing too drastic for the simple but smart looking supermini. The lower bumper is the most obvious change, now thicker at the edges and with fog lamps sitting on the upper ends. A chrome strip underlines the said lamps and number plate.

VW Polo Facelift India-10

The grille now has one chrome slat on the underside, compared to two in the middle previously. The headlamps are still of the reflector type, but there are now “two eyes” on each side, with black housing. New “TOSA” alloys and a reprofiled rear bumper (now with reflectors on the bottom edges) round up the changes. Looks more premium to us.

Inside, your eyes will be pulled to the new steering wheel, which has a mildly flattened bottom and similar looks to the wheel in the Golf Mk7. Looks wise, this is a big upgrade.

Another obvious new element is silver trim for the centre stack. The Indian Polo FL doesn’t get the hooded instrument cluster seen in the first press pics, and the multi-info display between the dials appear smaller and slight different from our Polo’s. The two-tone cabin won’t make it here. That’s about it as visual changes go.

VW Polo Facelift India-03

In India, the Polo is available in three trim lines – Trendline, Comfortline, Highline – and with diesel or petrol engines. The diesel is the one to have – with 90 PS/230 Nm and five-speed manual gearbox, the TDI should be a pretty sprightly drive. We’ll continue to miss out on cars like this until we upgrade our Euro 2 diesel.

The petrol option offers 75 PS and 110 Nm from a 1.2 litre naturally-aspirated three-cylinder engine. It’s deemed insufficient for demanding Malaysian buyers, so we get a 1.6 MPI engine with 105 PS/153 Nm instead, mated to a six-speed auto.

See the gallery below and tell us what you think of the changes. Also read our review of the CKD Polo 1.6 on paultan.org and check out expert and user reviews on CarBase.my to find out how the entry-level VW stacks up against the competition.

Volkswagen Polo facelift, European version

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• looks like a Great Wall M4 Sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • DSG DSG DSG on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:20 am

Can have all the facelifts in the world but DSG is DSG. VW Germany already said in 2013 that their DSG cannot be used in hot countries and in countries with bad traffic jams such as Thailand and Malaysia.

They confirmed this in writing and in black and white and issued a press statement to the world. They said they won’t rectify the DSG because it is fine in cold countries.

So, buyers of VW, be prepared to go to SC every other month and be prepared to take all your annual leave to go to SC if this car has DSG.

Lets hope and pray that this has a normal autobox and not the DSG.

• Lol Lol on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:09 am

Hey dude, stop with your DSG Bull S

This car is 6 speed Aisin auto for Malaysian market with naturally aspirated engine

• Michael on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:57 am

Don’t be fool, problem of VW in msia is far beyond DSG7!

If you too and owner, then you know the pain when dealing with SC.

So are you a owner or ex owner?

• Vw still doesn’t understand the word facelift, somebody please send them a letter.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • they’re too busy repairing the DSG problems and what not lol.. have you seen their service centres? dont even have place to park….all spaces are taken by cars waiting to get repaired lol

epic fail, vw. your days are numbered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • Heng Lee on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:52 pm

‘Days are numnered’? LOL!

‘Volkswagen said the number of vehicles it delivered rose 9.1% to 5.2 million in the first seven months of the year. Deliveries climbed 10% to 735,600 units in July.’
        http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10000872396390444812704577609121281323292

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Regina Lau on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Hah, you have the ugliest looking face on the planet and you dare say that VW is an epic fail? Which planet do you live in? Do you know what an epic fail is? Its low sales figures a.k.a Proton.

VW sales has gone up this year, despite the sluggish car market – that is not epic fail, you moron!

• Aaron on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:10 am

Other than the steering wheel (which looks pretty good in a sub 100k car), the car barely changed. And I meant BARELY. Where’s the difference? Maybe we can have a game “Spot the difference” for VW Polo cars. Cheers!

• I know I know… their had changed to “New” tire !! that’s call new facelift !!

• vwowner on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Where is the significant changes? …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • fantasy1989 on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:57 pm

face “lift” mana?

• nobrand on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Loo like Vw has learned from toyota and proton how to facelift car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • ruffstuff on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:16 am

Proton did a FL with FLX. The change is significant with is headlights. Most cosmetic change was not launch as FL launch for other models.

• shawal on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:06 pm

When VW first rolled out the facelifted polo, it looked rather promising and upmarket…

However when we look into the heavily taxed budget-yet fashion-conscious market like malaysia, in rise of stiffer and newer competition, and not to mention the dwindling image of VW, should vw seriously consider to bring the model in? Or continue to sell the stripped out ckd polo until an all new replacement model comes along…

The city and jazz will win over the value conscious minded buyer

While the left-field buyers can consider peugeot 208 and ford fiesta ecoboost to consider for the

• Denaihati on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:31 pm

different: front grille, rear bumper light or reflector, can’t see much changes.

• face lip on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Dear VW,

The right way to do a face lift is to at least redesign the shape and form of the headlamp (not just adding bulb) and also knocking the price down a bit (5% will do).

Regards,

Previous owner of P1, P2 and Ford, and future owner of VW if they can get the price right.

• Bro…seriously, stay away from vw, no run awayyy from vw…u will regret it.

Regards
      Current owner of vw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Anti-Toyota on Jul 19, 2014 at 1:29 am

Ehhhhhh doesn’t attract second glance at all. Looks like a design from the 80’s.

• willywonka on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:03 am

yawwwwwwwwwwwwwwnnnnn…boring car ever..not even has one curve..all straight line

• Alifz on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:54 am

Alamak..the interior scheme colour remembers me to Gen 2 interior lols..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:54 am

i don mind if car made in india, ckd or what. but at least make an effort to have it on the same quality as european ones.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:23 am

SuiKwan euro

• Agreed…..there is always double standard when comes to Europe & Asia

• elson on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:20 am

haha i dont see any changes

• Samlok on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:37 am

Wait for Mazda 2 better

• Bludgeoned with steering lock by 208, run over by Fiesta ecoboast then eaten raw by Jazz and upcoming Mazda 2.

• seancorr on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:53 am

The current Polo has lesser spec compared to its Japanese rivals so hopefully VGM will bump up the spec and match the price with its rivals. ESP and 6 airbags as standard pls!

• Contender on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:20 am

This one of the most underrated cars among VW in Malaysia, you have the 6 speed auto (not the trouble 7speed DSG), solid car and great ride plus value for money. Looks boring but can stand the test of time and still look decent … probably service centers need to improve.

• The only good VW is the one without the stupid DSG (esp the dry clutch version) and a manual VW.

• Michael on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:04 am

For god sake, problem of VW in Malaysia is far beyond just dsg7! Please get the fact right!

• bisakeris (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm

i’ll wait 4 the GSC..

• The hard truth, VW built quality is worst than Proton.

– Current owner of Golf GTi Mk7.