Upcoming Proton model to be pricier than expected, new models to be launched every year

Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has revealed that the next Proton model, expected to be the P2-30A Global Small Car, will be priced higher than expected to account for better quality.

According to Bernama, the former prime minister claims that customers are expecting Proton to make advancements in quality, and that the company has spent a lot of money to make sure that the best materials are being used.

“The new model was expected to be cheaper compared to other models in the same segment, because that is what a Proton is supposed to be,” Mahathir said. “However, the prices have to be raised a little because customers are paying for something better.”

As reported earlier, Mahathir also said that the new model, which was claimed to have cost the national manufacturer some RM300 million to develop, will be unveiled before the end of the year.

Meanwhile, the company’s CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said that Proton is striving to create more new models, and that it is planning to launch a new car every year to ensure the company’s continued survival.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Quality is one thing, but make sure it look good too to attract people in & feel that “quality”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 6
    • In fact EMAS & Tuah have a very good look. Proton should produce it with a very good quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
      • other cars can be priced similar to proton if not for protection. if really good then remove all unfair advantages for proton then can see if quality or jaguh kampung only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 16
        • Same L0rr on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:16 am

Proton always sound good, promise good, look good, vision good, but never truly good.

See how many Proton owner give up Proton and change to other cars (eg. Perodua, Toyota)?

Then compare how many non Proton owner change to Proton?

Then ask yourself “Proton good or not?”

Proton please don’t fool the buyers with your awesome look. You have been cheating like this for 30 years already. You not bosan we also bosan!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 33
          • my answer is BIG NO.. just because i had a bad experience with my Saga FLX, i gave BIG NO for proton. sorry but i really dissapointed with the car and quality. 1 and half year, 31000 KM drove, intown driving (home-work-home with pleasure out town drive sometimes), i have face few issue. Rear brake drum spoilt within 6 month purchase, 2 radiator issue so far, i’m done with proton.. Sorryyy proton.. i just want something good quality..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • Triplew on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Sad to tell I’m one of them, changed frm Inspira to vios after warranty claimed for same chassis part yet cannot resolve problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:43 am

There is one cable from engine to dashboard for speedometer, or I just call it “speedometer cable”.

I changed it 5 times in 1 years for my wira. Everytime changed in Proton SC. I even changed the whole dashboard and it keep breaking down. ARHHHH~~~

Proton can’t even make the bloody speedometer cable right. My god!!

No one interested to bash/hate Proton, everyone is Proton victim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • Waja Owner on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:07 pm

My Waja door handles all broke within 1 year.

I had Mat Salleh friend come from England at that time, when he reach my Waja door handle, it broke into two. Then, withink a year, all door handles broke into 2 pieces.

I was so ashamed. So so Ashamed.

• Proton INFART (Proton Kentut) on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:04 am

This Proton is nothing but mere Fart (Kentut). That is why even in the picture, you can see that the word “infart” is written. It is a sign to show all the kentut cars in development.

Proton just never learn its lesson. Already their Savvy was a big failure and butt joke of everybody who sees the car on the road. Now, you build a car that looks exactly like the Savvy. Of course it will fail. IF you come out with silly designs like your famous Juara, Proton Arena Jumback, do you think people will buy?

And then Proton will blame Malaysians. They say Malaysians are not patriotic and all that. But can you blame Malaysians?

Don’t forget, only your design and quality can help the car. Because Proton RV is the No 1 Depreciating RV amongst all cars in Malaysia.

I remember buying my Waja for RM53k. When I sold it 1 year 10 months later, I got RM29k for it. No I was no cheated neither was it an accident car.

Ask anyone and they will tell you, you buy a Proton, you buy it for life cause if you sell it half way, you have to top up your loan with your hard earned extra money.

Many people will say RV is not important, just enjoy the car but who is going to pay out the additional between the sale price of your car and the loan amount? Most of the times, it is more than RM10k when Proton is concerned.

That is why you see lots of old Proton on the road. Owners cannot sell the car. And if they do, they have to pay a big amount to top up the loan despite using the car for 5 years.

I am not a Perodua owner but it makes more sense to buy a Perodua.

1) you are getting a Toyota in disguise. The whole car is practically a Toyota

2) the RV is so good. Buy Rm40k, use it for 4 years, still can sell RM30k. Very high is demand in the 2nd hand market

3) Perodua service centre don’t lie and cheat. Ask many people, Proton service centre has been caught lying and cheating. Many customers have checked their oil and found that the service centre charged for new oil but never poured the oil in. So many people have experienced this. Lagi, they dare to put the empty container of 4L oil in your car as prove they poured the oil.
          Do you have the time to check whether they put oil or not?

This Kentut car will be a failure. Malaysians for the past 28 years have been so supportive of Proton. nearly every Malaysian has bought about 2 Protons to show their support. But now, consumers have become clever, They have seen the light. They know about the low quality, the low RV and the service centres that lie.

Go to Proton forums and see what they say about the Service centres. All other cars got complaints but never a cheating incident. Proton service Centres are famous for lies and cheating the consumer and have been caught red handed so many times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 25
          • Ha Ha Ha Kentot on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

Aiseh man! I cannot stop laughing lah!!! Proton Kentot!!! ha ha ha
            Should rename the car Proton Kentot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:38 am

Proton INFART (Proton Kentut):
            What PROTON car do you use? Which service centre do you’ve been cheated? When do you go? Please provide info date and time when they cheat you? Next time don’t go Ah Pek workshop, they like to cheat people a lot. I think you are the one who farting here! Pong Pang Pong Pang here and there telling lies to all people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
          • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Ah Beng the panty sniffer. Talk rubbish in all PT postings. Fed up lah hear your propoganda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Stop the Lies Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:36 am

Shouldn’t have Proton given “high quality” materials in the past?

So is this a confession that is the past we were given low quality materials and not the best?

Why is this so? Cause the Proton Export models are so much higher in quality than our local models. This was in the 1995 when I first drove a Satria in the UK. The same Satria I owned in Malaysia broke into pieces.

So why ampu the white man and give Malaysians the past 30 years low quality materials? Now, after sales are so bad and company going into bankruptcy you just decide to give local Malaysians better quality?

Why never give Malaysians in the first place? Gomen stop cheap Japan models and told us to use local made Proton in 1984 because they said local Proton same quality as Japan cars.

Now this news above clearly shows gomen lied to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:53 am

S60R:
            你是谁种族主义者!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Shameless Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:33 pm

You write chinese words but we all know you are not chinese and don’t know a word of it.

Malu lah.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:17 am

tor & Same Lorr:
          Why govt need to remove the protection? The tax charges to foreign car in Malaysia are an income to govt. On the other hand, Malaysia have its own car brand, PROTON. It makes sense when govt will protect our automotive industry which same goes to what happen in Germany, Korea and Japan. Maybe, people like you don’t feel any pride or patriotism because you have your nationality only because you was born here not originally here..If you feel that you’re originally from MALAYSIA, please support our national product..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 39
          • Ah Beng.. tax of course is needed for a country also “should” protect own brand by imposing higher tax to others. But not to imposing a sky high tax to make the our cars top the most expansive car all over the world.. hence.. the average income if Malaysian is not that high compare to other country.. if the tax is acceptable and logic i believe no one will make noise..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
          • u thot your nenekmoyaong also BORN here ????? stupid racist !!! your nenekmoyang also born at seberang selat !!!! only orang asli are most origin born in this land !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
          • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:13 am

Ah Beng still talking rubbish. I think you better do what you are good at, which is sniffing used panties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Pek on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:34 am

Ah Beng ah, you orang asli meh? But you see ah, I got many orang asli friends also but they don’t buy Proton. They very original one you know. Not originally from Indonesia or China or India one. But they so poor lah so no matter. Government slao don’t care for them only come during election. So how to but patriot product?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:59 am

MIND YOUR WORDS when you talk about origin!!

Ah Beng’s great grand father also from China. Mahathir great great grandfather also from India (he is mamak). Parameswara also from Sumatra. You wanna talk pure aborigine here, it is orang asli, not you!

Proton good, we support lar, Proton sucks, we just don’t buy lar. This is free world. But if Proton spent our money to save their ass, we want it to close down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • al azhar on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:13 pm

s60r:
            ko x belajar sejarah ker…ada ker cakap org asli jer org sini. Cakap mcm xder otak. Lenkali belajar dlu baru nk hentam org bagai. BELAJAR SEJARAH BETUL2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:24 pm

mana dia tau orang asli? Dia tahu hidu seluar dalam wanita sahaja!

• Shameless Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Shameless Cybertrooper. Come and cause conflicts in this blog. Go away lah Ah Beng. Since you came, everybody angry with you

• Stop the Lies Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:41 am

The car is the most vital instrument in a person’s life. It is not like TV or Radio or handphone.

Because the car involves your life. So, why in the first place, Proton never gave us good quality cars and only now want to give good quality cars?

So, the past 30 years, so many people died in car accidents by Proton, could have been prevented if we had used good quality materials in the past?

Why now?

Imagine if Boeing or Airbus come out with a new plane in 2014 and say that all their planes in the past is not as good as the new 2014 plane because the new 2014 plane uses good quality materials.

How would you feel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:30 am

Stop the Lies Ah Beng:
          People will get what they pay. TATA in India could produce the cheapest car in the world, do they provide B-segment or C-segment quality to their customer? Automaker design car based on pricing, market segmentation, national income, authorities requirement. If you afford to buy C-segment car or higher, you could go for it. But don’t blindly accuse our Msia product. I’m the one who telling lies in Paultan. But you are! Your talk don’t have any proof and fact just based on emotional and not constructive. I wish you weren’t born here, you don’t deserve to live here in this peaceful country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
          • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:14 am

I think you have been sniffing too much until it has clouded your judgement.

• Ah Pek on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:39 am

Aiyah ah beng, people where born also not your concern leh. Keep to topic lah. Don’t every time ask people born here or not. We all Malaysians mah, including all decendents of Indonesia, China and India. Faham tak?

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:24 pm

See, every news he make meaningless comments like : Malaysian should support and buy Malaysian made junk.

When he runs out of points/reasons/rational, he ask people to leave Malaysia, like his grandfather own Malaysia.

Even you think Toyota is shit, you no need leave Malaysia/Japan.

• capt america on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:23 am

Oh.. you compare with airbus? As a matter of fact a380 have a well known defect on the wing spar. Which is serious, i fly helicopter, i know few heli that has sucks air cond. Water leak inside cabin. Tail rotor crack which is life threatening matter.
          So dont show your stupidity here and go die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Untung Besar P one on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:21 am

Pricier? Ha ha ha ha ha
        U pay Malaysians…u pay!!

• fast5 on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:35 pm

I do really expect, Tun DrM this time really “man with his word” OR as usually “man with lies”

I respect him as a man, not the self praise with ego he always being.

He been lies and dissapointed RAKYAT for 30 years with Proton will this time he will really change??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 49
    • say hey on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:23 pm

you sir can take my like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
    • Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Good! It means if you are paying RM40k – RM60k Saga Persona, you deserve junk because you PAY PEANUT.

So now you have to pay more to get a less junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 20
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Wtf? Nowadays Proton cars are already pricy, some more now future Proton cars will be even pricier which will eventually make other cars even more expensive. “When the buying stops, the killing can too.”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 14
      • flat_tire on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:43 pm

or just kill it before it lays eggs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • fenzo60 on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Since no malaysian going to buy this car based on all negative comments in pt blog, Tun M I would suggest that you market this outside Malaysia & hopefully proton will succeed. No point selling this car to Malaysian as always our people’s like to bash their own country products.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 9
      • seancorr on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:59 am

Wow this M fella now asks the rakyat to pay more for a better car? Good luck with that dude!

Your cars have been crap all these years and lately only improved a bit but the after sales serice still suck big time. For the price he’s asking the public is better off buying other manufacturer’s cars which are better since they have proper R&D to develop proper cars.

Adios Proton, you had your time in the limelight and now its time to step down after failing to produce proper cars for 30 years at the cost of taxpayers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:01 pm

The only advantage on potong cars is the relatively low price than others. The saga is the example.
      Once the price increase, then the suppa s is the answer.
      Talking is easy as potong already stated that gsc should be launched at 2012.
      2014 will having all new hybrid car.
      2015 will having all new pure EV car.
      2015 will having all new saga.
      2016 will having all new perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:59 pm

I’ll rather ride a bicycle than to buy a Proton car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
      • fenzo60 on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Fellow Malaysian, no body force you to buy proton but why you are so agry with them? Its a free market out there and please choose what ever brand you desire. Even p2 also not cheap ie myvi price equal to saga .
        Simple you pay peanut you get monkey la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • abuyai1234 on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:01 am

Never learn huh? Malaysian likes cheap and big. OK? Dont you all never want to penetrate Viva market? Dont rely on Saga only. At least try to make 20k price tag! If people have much money, they will buy Toyota, they dont go for preve, suprima etc etc…

Malaysian dont care about their lives, they only care about car price and fuel consumption. If you want to export the car, then can put safety at most. For Malaysian market…. price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t buynabe a new car… just change the evolution wannabe bodykit the evo engine then drive like a super car to cut in here! is pretty funny when you see them and cant stop laughing lolx

• I think there is no clear direction for Proton right now. Quality? Reliability? Handling? Comfort? Design? (ooo… This one really not) – semua mau buat, Apa pun tarak jadi. Ayooo!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 18
    • driver on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Quality, Reliability, Handling, Comfort, Design <— ni semua bukan 'direction' bro.

Halatuju ni sepatutnya falsafah penghasilan kereta. Contohnya, Tesla, jelas falsafahnya nak hasilakn kereta elektrik yang berprestasi tinggi. Nampak tak maksud 'direction' ?

Apa yg bro tulis tu bukan direction. hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • steven on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

Bro….masuk poket dulu, itu confirm boleh buat…

• haiz... on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:25 pm

haiz…. everything naik… u still wanna sell ur Global small car at higher price?… while p2 selling theirs at cheaper n better looking…. good luck P1!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Major car manufacturers do More for Less. Proton do LESS for more !!!!!
    Dear Tun and beloved Datuk Harith , every yr produce new car design , for goodness sake pls dont simply shoot out those Gargantuan Targets and aims. Be Realistc . PERIOD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • changes needed on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I don’t know but..
    I feel the air cond dials/knobs look a little too big to my liking and..
    the centre console which houses the car enterntainment system with silver border around it. it doesn’t blend with the rest and look like an after market addition.
    I hope they improve/design that before the car goes on production.

• Low Budget on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:44 pm

The people will appreciate Proton in creating a top quality car, however Proton has to sell in hundred of thousands in international markets as proof of top quality in order in convince the sceptical Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Can i have a better Engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Bataman on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:18 pm

One of Proton’s biggest problem…No matter how good this new car will be, it is still thw same crappy fuel sucking loud Campro engine. How to make better quality cars???? Its like changing the Pc casing every year….yet using the same old Pentium IV cpu!!!!

• shawal on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:48 pm

fuel consumption…..
    Something has to be done regarding the excessive fuel consumption of campro engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • along on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Ignored…

Increase the price as u want. My family and I will ignore any new cars until the price are more reasonable.

U can talk and claim what u want, nothing will happen If Im not buying… If we do this together for 1 or 2 years, trust me price will drop…

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    If we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
    • RoadRage (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:28 am

Cheap with high quality materials? Dream on kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
  • Blaze on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Quote “Meanwhile, the company’s CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said that Proton is striving to create more new models, and that it is planning to launch a new car every year to ensure the company’s survival”… Oh, ada CEO meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • aiks… i expect the low spec for this gsc to be 30k+ and high spec 40k+… now i think it’s not, low spec to be 40k+ n high spec 50k+… ==

• …and they claimed they use high quality material but the truth it is same material and they walk laughing to the bank……

• Proton Staff on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:55 pm

The gear knob is a bit different for the final product. Just saying.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:56 pm

It depends on how do Proton defines ‘quality’. I don’t mean to complain, but Proton should use European and JDM models as benchmark, not those foreign brands that were stripped down & CKDed here. If indeed better materials & equipment are used (soft polyurethane plastics, chrome trims, integrated radio with dash), why do I see the following:
    1. shiny dashboard (probably hard plastics)
    2. silver painted door knob (instead of chrome?)
    3. silver painted gear lever with awkward looking design, and straight instead of gated gear shifter (remember the Waja CPS?)
    4. non-integrated radio that looks so ‘aftermarket’ with colors that mismatch with the center dashboard
    5. manual aircon knobs with shiny hard plastics as the base

I know that the GSC still in development, but with high price, comes high expectations that most Malaysians always came up disappointed each time a ‘promised to be breakthrough’ new Proton model is launched. If a vendor can produce high quality material at lower price for other 3rd world countries like Thailand & India, why can’t ours?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • zeek (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:56 pm

I know its pre-production, but judging from the plastic around the steering column and the climate control knobs, I still don’t think the quality will be as good as a continental car. A ford Fiesta for example. And why does the climate control doesn’t have an actual temperature indicator?

• Who cares on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Who cares? Cause nobody will be buying it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
  • ~amoi~ on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:01 pm

(P2-30A Global Small Car, will be priced higher than expected to account for better quality)
    belum ckp mahal lg ke kete kat malaysia ni…huhu

• John F Kennedy on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Proton they dont care about quality.Do they even aware of the word quality?quantity of course! Wey proton stop making stupid cars!Proton lack vision and passion to be a carmaker.Menyusahkan rakyat.As a carlover in this beautiful country, im really frustrated with proton.Malaysians should be driving a good and solid car.not this junk piece of s***.Just look at their interior plastic quality, even worse than made in china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • tokmoh (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:11 pm

I can hear perodua directors dancing the song of victory.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • inderaloka on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:12 pm

I see a lot of Preve on the road has a problem with one of their projector head lamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • That is only the bulb. The owner too lazy to spend RM28 and 15 minutes to repair them.

• iluvproton on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Hopefully they solved the power window problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Taikoh on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Yes, they have solved it , they even guarantee it for 10 years, unfortunately for that to happen you have to service your car only in authorized service centers which means it is cheaper to just void the guarantee and service outside.

• Somehow I’m really sceptical about this, hope I’m wrong and it actually is something good for a change. Got a bad feeling they’re increasing prices just to enrich his cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • so that means it will be like the price of vw polo with tax?! who wants that?

• rocky balboa on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Remove all the unfair taxes imposed on foreign cars, see who’s cheaper…..

Btw, all the proton cars are inferior in quality but not don’t come cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • pondan on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Good make it that way and smart ppl will buy better products. One thing for sure, it’s not proton.

Tun M…. because of u…. and the rest need to eat your shit while u enjoying your cronies feast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • langit hitam on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Mazda, Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Daihatsu, Suzuki offered a much cheaper price in JDM market, even Hyundai and KIA offered cheaper price to Korean market. Quality for all of them is better compare to the model with same segment and same segment build by Proton.
    Even without launch the said model, Proton (with this old man) have given a hint of higher price will be offer from them.

IMHO, please retire this old man and let he play with his grandson/ granddaughter , and let DRB top management manage the Proton with much better plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Jayden Koo on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Let’s wait and see if this fox is talking cock or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Priced it all u want. Just leave other brand alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • david on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:55 pm

first ,scrap all those campro engine and replace with a more fuel efficient engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Firstly, get rid of parts supplier who provide defective parts- i.e brek systems. Then the exterior and interior designer of proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
  • Launch one new car every year. Uhuh. So the compact is 2014, the Pondana is 2015. Which other model then for 2017? Owh forgot, rebagding is much quicker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 38
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm

NAP: Whose the master of rebadging in Asia? U want me repeat again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
      • Same L0rr on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:04 am

Who cares about rebadging? The most important is Malaysian enjoy reliable, fuel saving and cheap.

We don’t give a shit what engine Proton can do? We only care about car price and build quality.

Your problem is you have too much of ego with Proton, which end up you ALWAYS Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • RoadRage (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Which company in their right mind would give a shit about you? Throw in all of the highest quality materials and price it cheap? Do you know business at all fool? I wouldn’t mind paying for a good car. Go get your cheap china great wall car, goodluck on the quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:12 pm

You sure you get the quality while you are paying more?

That’s the key question!

If Preve/Suprima S really good quality why no one buying it?

It is 2014 July already and you still can get 2013 Preve/Suprima S.

Good car sell hot, with a phenomena called “waiting period”. See the Vios, City, Altis…

People buy Proton because it is cheap, not because it is good. When Perodua launch its sedan, Proton can close shop.

• strkl on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Buy junk Vios at 90k no VSC if you dun care about safety, buy preve 73k 6 airbags and ESC if you do.

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:04 pm

People don’t pay RM73k just because of 6 airbags and ESC. YOu don’t buy a house because it has 12 basins.

Preve junk or not? Go Lowyat Preve owner club check out their 3 pages long self-QC upon receiving new Preve.

Toyota never have such shit.

• who last person on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:41 am

+sendiri stim…..

• stranger on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:53 am

Who’s the rebadge king it’s no matter

Rebadge with quality, thats the key

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • The issue is PROTON has boldly claimed before that they are past rebagding. Today they have 2 models in their line up as rebadged models including the Accord.
        Of course quality remains an issue.

• Stop the Lies Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:29 am

BN Cybertrooper, stop pretending to be a Chinese. Go get a proper job. No use trying to convince the Chinese community Proton got its full support. EVen MCA people don’t support Proton.

• Allen on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Rebadging?

You mean Perodua?

• PERODUA does not go around claiming to be anything but what they are. And way better quality than PROTON, even from the 1st gen Kancil days.

• Bataman on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:08 am

Perodua??? Quality??? Lol. I have owned P2 and Proton cars. Proton cars is simply better in every ways despite all you haters bashing. Yes, everyone hates the old senile dictator, but let’s be fair. P2 cars are simply junk in every way.
          However, with the senile dictator now driving proton, I will not buy another Proton car….until the evil dictator dies and kick the bucket , then only I will consider another Proton.

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:57 am

Seriously? I am the reverse, I owned 3 Protons before and also 2 Peroduas currently, to be honest, both are craps, but P2 are slightly better crap.
            What I meant is I will pay less visits Service center to right the wrongs with P2.

• witegoh on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:08 pm

More expensive than expected? Good luck with it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
  • cap ayam on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Maybe Proton need to be priced as Lexus or Acura to get Vios quality…pity us Malaysian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Ray (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 7:17 am

The build quality of the Vios is actually superb, making it on par with a lot of more expensive cars. The only letdowns are the mediocre spec sheet, aging drivetrain and overpriced tag. But well, if only Proton can achieve half of that of Toyota’s…

• I'M 22BUT I LIKETHENEWCAMRY on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Please PROTON, PLEASE MAHATHIR, PLEASE GOVT OF MALAYSIA.

STOP FUCKING PRODUCING PROTON. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

MALAY, CHINESE, INDIAN EVERY SINGLE MALAYSIAN HAS HAD ENOUGH OF LIVING WITH CARS THAT WE PAY SO MUCH OF OUR OWN HARD EARN MONEY FOR THAT IS NOT UP TO STANDARD, NOT UP TO QUALITY, NOT UP TO SAFETY AND COMFORT.

Please 20 over years is enough. Its time. Its time.

It’s Time to move on.

Signing off. Ladies & Gentleman.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 13
    • 30 years bro… 30 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • nanda on Jul 20, 2014 at 7:33 am

excelent comments
      PROTON should just tutup kedai but then how their cronies going to survive?
      what a joke 30 years still produce rubbish.
      reason?simple…those cronies pocketing big bucks so they need stupid malaysians to continue buy rip off cars at high price.thanks to mahathir for inventing such rubbish company and feeding those lazy bumps and deprive the rakyat the luxury of life owning a quality cars.look at thai n indon.
      their toyota is used as taxi.here rotten iswara and wira persona..want to puke la mahathir..tolong tutup kedai yang tak buat untung.wasting tax payers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Indeed.. It’s better to scrap Proton off and focus more on tourism..
      It will definitely generate more income for the country than having Proton around and suck all the rakyat’s money.

• paanjang16 on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:39 pm

If the upcoming model is more expensive than normal model, it better come with all the safety features like Electronic Stability Control (ESP), curtain airbags etc and not be a tin kosong unlike some other manufacturers.

I don’t mind if it does not come with touch screen ICE, as that can be installed in aftermarket shop, but safety equipment is a must.

If it has premium price but no ESP and is a tin kosong, better buy a P2 Axiata as can get VVTI fuel efficient engine.

• planning launch new model every year? im expecting they are all having the same fuel guzzler campro engine combined with boring cvt gearbox.

• Go go go on Jul 19, 2014 at 5:53 pm

I hope its true..quality is number one things tht proton have to improve..

• ntah.. on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Okay this time around I will still support Proton. But if the next models are still craps, that’s it.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Good news. Ok to increase price a bit because PROTON will make quality as no.1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 46
    • Same L0rr on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:07 am

Don’t talkok giving empty promises. Show us a car which is above junk level first before you increase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • jeeta on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Vios level is lower than a junk, actually lowest

• Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

If you think Vios is junk, then don’t buy it lar. Don’t make our waiting period even longer then.

Toyota still doing good, customer happy, staff also happy. You jealous?

At least Toyota NO NEED BEG MONEY from govt!!!

• Stop the Lies Ah Beng on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:31 am

Stop the lies Ah Beng. Stop cheating everybody that you are Chinese. You are not. You are just a BN Cybertrooper to show netizens that Proton is 100% supported by all communities

• Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

stick to what you are good at which is sniffing used panties. We don’t want your views and opinions anymore.

• Ah Beng = Tun M in disguise?

• normalmsian on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:02 pm

better quality? dont cakap saja, i will believe it when i see it

• leekowchai on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Proton should just give up on r&d. Not co. is capable of coming out with good and competent product. Stop wasting time and money.

If I were proton CEO or advisor, I would just find a partner like Mazda and rebadge their car and sell like p2. 300m for a new model and 1 new model each year. It is either proton to close shop very soon or rakyat to pay more for cars in future at the expense of 1 person’s dream. He had a dream. The whole malaysia is having nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Dr M, why not ask your son to bail out proton? He has made a lot of money for his own using taxpayer’s money.

Earlier u wanted the Rakyat’s money by asking the Government for R&D funding.

And now u want Rakyat’s money directly by selling more expensive cars? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • death (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:16 pm

As usual, talk **** again.

• Mealin M on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Stop using those cheap plastic material…those hand brake, gear lever n steering… oh my…

• sharon on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:35 pm

According to Bernama, the former prime minister claims that customers are expecting Proton to make advancements in quality, and that the company has spent a lot of money to make sure that the best materials are being used.

Best?

• IMHO,at least Tun M being the chairman,he has a more aggresive planning compared to previous managers eh?

I’ve noticed he’s outspoken also. Rilek-rilek jek dia sound sebelum ni vendor buat barang macam tahi. Walaupun sekarang sudah kantoi vendor buat kerja macam tahi,at least Tun M speaks it out compares to previous manager yang buat diam kecut telur.

In fact, he states blatantly the price would be higher before the GSC or future product could even launch. Mana ada car manufacturer berani buat statement begitu. Lari lah early customers.

Doesn’t have to be every year though. Follow international car manufacturer’s is enough. Launch new series every 4 years with facelift and refinement every 2 years between.

Yang penting kualiti Tun. Orang bukan suka-suka nak hina Proton. Semua sayang proton. Semua bagi duit. Tapi kalau bagi duit takde improvement,siapa tak marahkan? Come on Proton.

All hopes on GSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • Tong Kosong on Jul 19, 2014 at 6:53 pm

No body hate Proton if they perform & benefit the Malaysian.

ODD Design vs Rare Exclusive to Malaysian
    (not TALKING about engine yet)

Maybe Waja is the best sedan proton ever built during their time for at LEEAST No defect/decent look design compare to odd Preve, Suprima, Tiara, Savvy

Gen 2 look nicer outside & we could say the cutting is advance (during their time vs Vios2005/City 2004/Hyundai/Kia) &

-the DEFECT is space crowded inside door trim & dashboard -too thick, so become ODD fetures & rejected by People, even Myvi is spacious.

Designer must know how to distinguish Rare/ Exclusive Vs Odd/ & *ugly design.. That the BASIC, & you must FIRE/RELOCATE these “poor taste designer”.

-Poor taste people who “only able to sketch & repeating script the heard from others” cannot lead the DESIGN philosophy. e.g “line to cut upper & down”, “line to combine two lamp fron & back”- you don’t need to elobrate that, EVERY car company done it for YEARS..

-why he need to show he able to sketch? when describing the Design? (infron of (pretender) audience, speaks English while all of them Malay?”

Lu ingat orang sekarang Katak bawah Tempurong, cannot read your BODY language- Tak GEMPAK BRO, orang BENCI lah..

Designer normally people CRAZY with desigh..eg. combine Tiger spirit, Eagle Eye, galaxy, eclipse, cosmos, skyline, horizon, milky way etc..

• ruffstuff on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:59 pm

First time aku dengar Waja best sedan Proton. Waja paling banyak masalah sebab itu karangan pertama buat sendiri, sebelum ni karangan banyak tiru.

• Tong Kosong on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:38 am

Dear RS

I meant the LOOK only, not engine, handling & built in quality.

This is my own view based on feedback in my 10 years in automotive line/feedback by profession & contractor..(not proton).

in 2003 Waja design, some people compare it with Benz, far better than Civic 2003. My Singh couluge bought it, Proud to be Malaysian. But he later sold it less than a year due to built in quality.

Today Suprima & Preve -very2 ODD design.

• New model every year or just new body kit every year with the same model?
    we listen 1st la..

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Fair enough, if prices are a little higher with good materials and good quality and reliability.

Otherwise, its just higher prices and a load of hot air from Tun Mamak.

I know that the new models have an improvement, but a grain of salt may still be warranted given Proton’s track record. Proton cars are as good as the sum of the parts your parts vendors deliver. Using same parts vendors without transparent and competitive open bids? I won’t hold my breath then.

and one more thing. How about putting the signal stalks on the right (pun intended) side of the car. I understand why European cars have it the wrong way around, but there is no reason for proton to blindly follow suit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • torque on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Go ahead please…prove us wrong! Easy said than being done. Think so easy is it to churn 1 new model each year?! Think YOU are one of the big boys league with funds to expense…oh wait, yeah…momma gonna milk you guys!

• sohailumama on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:35 pm

TDM design the car himself so no problem with that. The R & D department in this company just copy and paste and job done.

• pondan on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Die la… tun moron design will blow hot air from the aircon.. Juz like the crap coming out from his mouth

• subaru on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Planning is good perhaps come true not just dreamming.Quality is important but the exterior n interior main key to success ful….ppl will buy a car that look handsome .

• AVH (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:10 pm

This plan can make or brake Proton. The problem right now with proton is the stigma, the brand. The Korean revival plan was carefully thought and laid out;Example the Forte, here we have is a Kia that look like nothing before it, built like nothing before it, spec well and priced the same. Of course they up the ante with the new Forte/Cerato which thou pricier, but secure their image as a fashionable well thought-out car. Same goes for Maserati, same goes for Jaguar-Land Rover, same goes for PSA Peugeout-Citroen.

I believe this put the upcoming B-segment dubbed, he GSC….as a pretty important car to make-or brake Proton. RM300mil isnt going recover much if you’re gaining just RM300 profit per model. I’am in no position to judge the GSC as it is not out and price and spec isn’t finalised. But what I can say is looking at Proton’s previous effort, its going to be worrying. If say the quality is still even at the Preve’s much less its fuel efficiency and performance balance(CVT =/= that engine), its going to be hard for Proton given at their investment and their ambitious plan.

After the recent and honestly tragic, its difficult to imagine how Malaysian Airlines is suffering now, much less its future prospect is pethatically dim. I am guessing Dr M and co will do whatever it takes to lift Proton (and his legacy),even if it means back to the Government paycheck again.

PS: My sincere condolence to the people and direct relative and friends on board the tragic Malaysian Airline Boeing 777, Flight MH17

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Mustang on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:12 pm

For those advanced technology and specs, Ford Mustang is only ~RM80k in US. How much more expensive do you want?
    This is the result when we led by incapable people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • bujingyun on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Lets think it bona fidae…

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Jual murah pon org x beli.. nak jual mahal?

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • bbtree on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:54 am

design tak seberapa

kualiti pun belum tentu

harga mahal pulak di jangka

syok sendiri la tu

• Lagipower rangers on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Sales will easily beaten by the new viva. Gud luck with that tun!

• nabill (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:27 pm

I dont mind if its really better quality..im jus woried thy raise the price to counter the perception rather than of improved quality

• Car_fan on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:28 pm

The next model is based on the failed Honda Brio, but Honda still charges a bomb to use the platform, that’s why it’s expensive. Proton is of course too proud and wants to use its own gutless engines and wheezy and lazy cvt. I’m not sure Malaysians would buy this over a perodua, so it’s last kopek for proton. After that they will ask for bail out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Proton needs Govt to pay for R & D. New Proton will be Pricier, and Rakyat pay more Proton Car and pay taxes to govt to pay Proton’s R & D . Wow! Like got “Banged” from front and back at the same time. Marvelous strategy, indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Failed car .
    Failed project.
    Failed Company.
    More money pump in and more models launch doesn’t mean anything at all .
    Warren Buffet ” it takes 30 years to build a great company and a mistake to ruin your good work”
    So please Proton, you have nothing to prove and so keep continue to make mistakes, I don’t care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • Vincent Cheng on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:00 pm

It doesn’t matter who expensive u wanted to price it, as long as Proton do not ask government to set unfair policy to force rakyat buy it, and don’t take our tax money to pay your losses…we are ok. After all….whatever price u name it, as long as no buyer, ur price tag is only a display in show room.

• Vincent Cheng on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:01 pm

It doesn’t matter how expensive u wanted to price it, as long as Proton do not ask government to set unfair policy to force rakyat buy it, and don’t take our tax money to pay your losses…we are ok. After all….whatever price u name it, as long as no buyer, ur price tag is only a display in show room

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/07/19/proton-model-pricier-new-model-every-year/#ixzz37umyRvBW

• Angry on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

How is it better…? Gear shift ‘STICK’ is awful to look at… climate control is not digital… meter cluster not digital… headlamps still no led…

Basically their saying you’ll e getting the same o same o… better spec from previous but still lower spec from competitors… only now they can jack up the price a bit…

Lets consider it news if they can provide something better than the competitors yet keep the price down… now ain’t that worth something…?

• ruffstuff on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:02 pm

The new Honda jazz still using normal bulb. No one complaining.

GSC will use projector headlamps and LED DRL. The instrument panel is much sophisticated than the one in suprima/preve. Gear shift stick is better looking in the final product. Unlike the one in the spyshots.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Yea…Bulb….Right
        http://paultan.org/2014/07/16/2014-honda-jazz-launched/honda-jazz-malaysia-launch-4/

• thinkwisely on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:17 pm

dear proton “new” chairman, one u in, asked gov for money, blast this n that, AP maintain and etc.
    Do u think that does current proton sell cheaply? we are not idiot as u thought, without tax, non national car price are very close to proton, but why they can provide higher quality than proton? not to mention ur car mostly is source n built in malaysia while others are ckd or cbu, plus shipping cost!
    u need a better idea for your reason!

• Kruel on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Ikut suka hati u lah Tun. Nak letak harga sama dengan Merz atau BMW pun boleh lah. Ofcos boleh jual ke tak, itu lain cerita.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:23 pm

I don’t think people will mind paying more for a better product. Look at all those Myvis on the road which are already overpriced for so many years, considering the fact that you can get a similarly equipped but larger Persona at that price point. Not implying that a Myvi is good, but when pitted against Proton models, it wins hearts for its significantly better fuel consumption and (perceived) reliability thanks to the Daihatsu/Toyota background.

Proton has to now focus on improving public perceptions, just like what Tun M has been stressing on these days. It might be hard and takes a very long time but despite not being a Proton fan, I as a Malaysian would also like to have an automotive brand that we can all be proud of (putting aside Proton’s previous shortcomings and failures). As I’ve said before, the Preve and Suprima were already missteps, half-baked global models being served to us people. Put in more effort on functionality, build quality and refinement on future models, and of course not forgetting the CamPro unit which requires urgent revision.

On a side note, I’d hope that Proton retain some budget models or variants that are more affordable. Apart from that, having slightly pricier cars won’t hurt, as long as they’re good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • so the price might be higher than current saga pricing because of the added safety features? so my guess would be 53k to 60k? sigh. i really thought the pricing would be in between 35k to 40k. so bye2 gsc. gonna go for p2 eev car.

• new model every year?
    sure ka? new model or new variant? ^^ got big difference!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

They need to replace the Saga, and perhaps the Persona and Exora. And there’s the Accordana too. After that I don’t see much need for new models for a short while. A facelift and update here and there.

• Mazda 2 will be much more appealing than your pathetic proton model. 300 mill R&D? more likely into your own pocket. school children even knows Proton is NO NO. They do not have passion in building cars from day 1.

• is any of the higher engine tech would be the determinant factor for higher price ?

• Guan Yin Maa on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

He really tak tau MALU.

• sohailumama on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Wah… This is good news. This company can gulung tikar faster since nobody will buy these jxxk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • A better car at a higher price huh?

Then fix your Service Centre people first… if your service people answers every customer complaints with “Biasalah, Proton ma” then good luck with trying to sell pricier cars..

• Reason on Jul 19, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Malaysia is at a state of economical crisis, economy is falling and the tragedy of MH 370 and now MH17 caused a big disturbance on our economy…Imagine the cost to be payed to victims and search parties. Mas Airlines is at the bankruptcy stage and requires money from the government. Proton still needs Rm300 mil to develop new vehicles don’t you think now is not a wise time…and a proton for 60k for what there are other better cars out there…We should spend our money wisely for a better Malaysia and focus on what’s important.

• More expensive but then will people buy…oh, no problem, later can get recover investment in the form of r&d grant from gomen….hahahaha…malaysia boleh!

• I m afraid this is the end of proton. who cares about 3rd world car ( westeners still think malaysia is 3rd world country)..only very open mided westerner or people from developed countries would buy proton..the number is small..look at proton australia sales..nothing to be proud of compared with korean car.

• ruffstuff on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Korean car is better looking, better spec, better safety. But still unable to achieve 1k unit per month in malaysia. Malaysia still buy vios.

You ask everything, end up buying toyota juga. KIA also fed up, now getting rid some spec because kena game dengan malaysian punya buying attitude.

• Absolute Rider on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Please do it right this time with GSC.

Anyway, Preve and Suprima S have to refresh exterior and interior.

Price wise, we will see whether it is reasonable once we see and feel it (the car).

• Absolute Rider on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:35 pm

We don’t only Drive It To Believe It!

This time, we want Feel It To Believe It!

• magpie on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Tun M, zero defect car. Then u can have my money.

• Abang Long Kawasan on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Sure Proton can launch new car every year…..
    2014 Proton Iris
    2015 Proton Saga
    2016 Proton Perdana
    2017 Iris Facelift
    2018 Saga Facelift
    2019 Perdana Facelift
    2020 Iris Executive
    2021 Saga Executive
    2022 Perdana Executive/Limo

…..and the list continues with other new versions for those 3 models…

See guys, we can have New Models Every Year, right?

• wise guy on Jul 19, 2014 at 9:52 pm

as i mentioned in my few comments before this, car in malaysia is expensive and its going to be more expensive in the future. buy car when its really necessary. cost of living in malaysia will rise tremendously, trust me. spend money for your kids education and well being of family as well as saving for retirement. I mean no harm here.

• pondan on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

110% agree with u. Things are getting too expensive. Be it in housing, transport, food, education, insurance and etc etc.

Sometimes many dun understand the nature why prices got out if control and the real cause behind it.

When the US Fed decided to do QE or Quantitative Easing, it literally printing money out of nothing. The money is used to save the cronies bank, essentially diluting the US dollar and so eroding the saving of their people.

Malaysia RM should have been getting stronger against US dollar but our gov decided to print money too and dilute out Ringgits to keep on pace with the devaluation of US dollar.

Why banks interest were so low, partly is the lots of printed money found its way to banks and then that’s how they can offer cheap loans.

All this are easy monetary policies that get malaysian into more debts. While, people who save are penalised by devaluation of RM.

What we experiencing now is the effect of such. That’s why all prices are gone up mainly due to rising material cost and many others.

Gov is mounting record debts cuz printing money is a form of borrowing or loan where gov call it bonds.

Since our gov have been spending laverishly on borrowed money, now it has become a major cost just to service the loan. Remember all the sukuk bonds, wawasan bonds and etc etc.. that’s demanding more than 5% returns. That’s not covering those bonds that being sold oversea.

What the gov done is a crime. A crime of robbery to our savings by devaluing Ringgit, a crime of injustice to the rakyat and our children that they entrusted us by all this nation debt. We are forced to pay higher tax so that they can service the debts.

Remember, the more people understand this, the better people make the right choice.

All this are micro and marco economics that purposely made difficult for normal rakyat to understand. The essence if it is, gov is looting our economic saving and have not using it for the greater good.

U have heard about corruptions and cronies. I can assure you that it’s not friction. It’s as real as it gets. We malaysian need to wake up and get to know the truth.

• Tiger on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:02 pm

“launch a new model every year”?? Wat kinda of statement was tat?? No carmanufacturer in the world can launch a new model EVERY YEAR…wow the ceo tink rakyat so dumb?? Maybe a ” special edition” every year can lah ( which Potong is world famous for)

• Albert Lee on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Albert Einstein said “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over gain BUT expecting different results”.
    Look at all the Proton product launchings in the past using the same Campro engine.
    Where is the Preve and Suprima now in terms of market share?
    You can have new designs which incorporate “syiok sendiri and ultra perlindungan ” concepts but it will fail with no new engine development.
    It is insanity,all the way for Proton.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 19, 2014 at 10:40 pm

No problem with a bit pricing..say 1.3 hatch for 44k premium model but pls include at least 4 airbags for medium model,gps integrated with audio dvd..more refine engine(its quite reliable but overtime quite noisy),interior color,bigger rims for premium,m and premium model to fit with rev camera,push start button and pls include leather seats all across the range..Dont be so stingy..

• 6speedmanual on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Go proton! We wish you the best!

• Good supporter on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:07 pm

The price should be reasonable. Nowaday all good price increase. If proton car still so expensive how to support.

• Old Proton owner on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:11 pm

If the Global small car position itself so high( price and quality ). There is impossible for us to continue support. For sure is hard for us to get loan from bank.

• Ben yap on Jul 19, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Bloody old fag. U r bloody predictable. Earlier asked gov for money for proton’s r&d. Now want to raise proton car price.

Bugger, if gov give proton that money, it’s ours and proton cannot double charge us with high price.

• ALL THE BEST PROTON! ok ok, if this GSC is really good, wifey will buy 1!!!!

• dun forget, the PRICE must b reasonable too!!!

• After taking tax payer’s money,now they expect rakyat to pay for their pricier cars…Are they testing rakyat’s intelligence?
    Proton & cronies should think of start packing up for GOOD!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:09 am

mahathir bro…. don make life hard for me how i am going to explain to my macai about expensive proton…they going to burn me leh

• lanjan on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:35 am

From leaked photos, the Viva replacement dashboard eventhough seems very basic but still looks better build and design than this GSC. How are the people going to believe on the this quality improvement initiative? With the price increase, looks like P2 going to gain the upper hand, a lot of hands.

• His statement could be a double edge sword if suddenly the quality the customers expected is not as par as they delivered.
    Hopefully he knows what hes talking about

• Ham Kar Chan Oldman on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:00 am

Show your product first to the rakyat and let them decide if it is worth the price.
    Not yet produce already thinking of slaughtering the rakyat. Blardy ars*hole…pls rot in hell

I tell you people…brace yourself for car price increase across the board….it’s history repeating itself…just to force people to buy the so-call new quality proton junks, this old vampire will ask the present Govt to raise all import duties for other brands…etc…etc and not forgetting the soon to happen GST implementation…

While he and his families and cronies all drive Porsche, Ferrari, Lambo..rakyat biasa drive ‘improved’ Proton….sokonglah lagi BN…bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • China cars are even better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Fuckup proton on Jul 20, 2014 at 3:19 am

over ambitious huh !! lets see the list of issue occur in this new pricey global car and their after sales quality especially Centre of Service excellent SC

• Sawwi Kangkung on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:06 am

Guarantee flop …just like protong kangkung sawwi !!!!!!
    Let just sit back & enjoy protong dig it’s own grave in the ground !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • ProtonSawi on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:31 am

I’m so excited, just like the time Proton Sawwy was launched to challenge P2 Myvi 1st generation. This GSC will loose so badly again to the new P2 Viva replacement model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Faizul on Jul 20, 2014 at 5:47 am

Bring it on.

• Mister Potato on Jul 20, 2014 at 6:36 am

According to the picture, this is Proton InFart

• DrCooper on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:10 am

All the best proton ! I’ll will support you !

• Daewoo Motor on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:26 am

Proton = Daewoo Motor.

• sohailumama on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:33 am

Every year new model? I wonder this potong can survive for another 2 years or not. This brand name is stink like shit in bolehland. Maybe that TDM and his cornies and relatives can buy those junk as souvenir since these are “limited editon”. Not limit in production but limit in sales…

• Hey Proton,

before asking consumer to pay more for your whatever-car, proof that with the quality of material used, and built quality, reliability in your so-called “new” model car. (or is it another rebadge exercise, or so-called change bumper equals new car)

All these while, proton is all talk and zero action. Malaysian are already fed up and most hv given up hope on Proton.

• ahmad on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:23 am

i am driving peugeot and perodua.. but looking forward to own a good quality proton in future…for malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Another Driver on Jul 20, 2014 at 1:46 pm

once again Dr M playing his trcik again by boasting “more pricey = better quality”. Nowadays servicing a proton cost more than servicing a Perodua (both are same national cars and perodua cars “supposingly” more expensive to service compare to Proton due to some of the parts are Japan spec),
    How Proton able to offer affordable yet good quality product to the rakyat when they proclaim their car are car for rakyat?

What Proton need to resolve is the fundamental of the matter:
    1. engine with better fuel consumption <– we heard of new engine rolling out in how many years time, and it doesn't seems to be anything yet.
    2. better vehicle construction, lighter body yet able to achieve good NCAP crash test result.
    3. review the organization structure and make adjustment accordingly.

• What national pride? Proton is a disappointment. After all these years, what has Proton done? CRAP AND MORE CRAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • zzzzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Proton is not our national pride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • zzzzzzzzzzz on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:24 pm

They are not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • bmpower on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Jangan beli kalau mahal sangat.
    Pakat boikot, biar padan muka proton.

Manifesto Najib yg tiru pakatan kata nak turunkan harga kereta, dah tak nak turun sangat tak payah support.

lagipun proton bukan kereta nasional dah pun. kereta swasta milik DRB.

turunkan harga kereta konon BN. Puiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • kitaromoro on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm

good quality is one thing … QC, fitment and after sales service is important. No point having a better plastic but fitment and installation is not done diligently. I will wait until the actual car come out and judge by ourselves.

• BNR32 on Jul 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Oh gimme a break, you senile old man……..only cars with an illustrious pedigree like Alfa Romeo, Maserati, Jaguar, McLaren etc. have the right to demand more money for a better quality car (even if it’s just marketing lip service). That’s because their customer base are people who actually don’t mind paying more to be special or to establish their own identity (ever wonder why every 2-3 months Porsche releases the exact same Carrera or 911 Turbo with new names like Carrera Classic Edition, China Edition, Martini Racing Edition bla bla bla…for nearly 20% more, and yet sell out within 2 minutes?).

But when you are nothing more than a mass market manufacturer making cars for a college student or corporate rookie who might ‘kena tarik’ by the bank after 1 year of ownership, you just sealed your own fate by asking for more money in advance. What’s worse, you’re asking BEFORE showing the final product. At a time when manufacturers are actually offering more for less due to heated competition, we have this unique specimen that decides to make a laughing stock out of himself just for the lolz. The old goat should have just kept his mouth shut, launch the car and reveal the price on the same day. Then the people can judge for themselves if the product is worth paying good money for, instead of inviting flak from the masses with a bad history of Proton (you deserved it man). I can’t help but feel he thinks we Malaysian adults are Neanderthals incapable of making our own purchasing decisions and love use the same ‘brainwashed by the Japanese and Koreans’ excuse over and over again. Come on man, if you don’t benchmark yourself against the best, then we humans will never make any progress. Americans will still be driving super thirsty V8 carbies with only 10mpg, and Korean cars would still look like Korean cars.

If that particular statement came out of Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin’s mouth (the former top gun of Proton few years back), I’d definitely sit up and listen, because he genuinely committed himself to improving Proton. I had a lot of respect for him, and I wasn’t even into cars back then. Hell, it was only during his tenure that I actually saw some decent cars out of that scrap pile. That was a rare moment where you don’t really feel bad buying a Proton. When he was ‘removed’ from the board abruptly, that was the end for me. Finito!

I can’t wait to see Proton reveal this mystery renaissance car, and then get torn to shreds once the price is revealed. Thanks to some unwanted cheap publicity by someone who should have been put into pasture a long time ago. You have my condolences in advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • the same answer that he gets for asking the GoM to help foot Proton’s R&D bill. Go and F*** himself.

• What makes me prefer proton than perodua is proton looks different even when they rebadge, of course this is the older model but still, until perodua produce an original model, i’ll “sokong” proton.. I don’t buy it because i still prefer the 85 Saga i’m driving now but i support proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • unforgiven on Jul 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Tun M, please do good before you die, please do charity, please give and not taking more from the ppl and country. Please also understand what is the global car prices, RM50k for a car with quality is doable but not in M’sia.

• Jinyiwei on Jul 20, 2014 at 7:09 pm

M, banyak cantik muka hang!! Dah mintak Kerajaan bayar R&D… nak naik harga kereta lagi??

Kau ingat kereta hang tu best sangat.. power sangat?? Takde consumer confidence improvement nak mintak naik harga?

• Alyaniff on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Wow, so many bashers here. Muka tak malu betul. Belum apa2, dah cakap buruk. Memang betul2 tkde otak. And then link it with politic some more. It is really funny when I compared with when Proton Savvy got out 9 years ago. You can read from the forum people bashing it left and right. And now, people have no complaints of it but praise. Funny lar you guys.

• Jimmy on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Prove to people that you have already improved, then talk about price.

• Richard on Jul 20, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Tun has a clear vision for proton. Its good but can Tun changes the attitude of Proton Management/ employees/ suppliers and etc. Government Department is “Monopoly business”. Proton is not monopoly and is facing competitions from Perodua and T,H,N + Kia/H, Pgt/VW and later cars from China.

Cakap saja senang tapi machai tak mampu implement.

My advise to Tun M – implement system something like Singapore – need to have a permit before consumer can buy a car. If not possible to implement, pls quit before you see the Proton “red-port” card.

• Big Bro on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:41 pm

interior looks so low quality made in china toy, shiny hard plastic. dear god… why ?

• bisakeris (Member) on Jul 20, 2014 at 10:53 pm

what ever it is.. pls lah respect Tun M as an older person than us..

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:19 pm

National FAILURE more like it…..

• Annoynimouse on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:21 pm

The grass always look greener on the other side, even though it can be fake. Typical attitude of Malaysians.

• ah hock on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:42 pm

wait untill proton do better this time, and other will start praise how good or quality it is.. I would say to u f*** u guys

• bolehblah on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:57 pm

quality? look at your dashboard design and expect to sell pricier? can this even compete with myvi dashboard? funny small car with ‘uncle-type’ steering. haiyo. proton is ruining it’s image even more.

• tinmilo on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:08 am

i pakai GTR rilek je… no need to be keyboard warrior. typicalmalaysian. pakai toyota/honda bajet macam bagus. middle finger want?

• babygrand on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:50 am

when i look at the gear stick…..ok there is no more medicine for protong anymore please it shutdown completely

• mmaker on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:01 am

i would like to see this new small hatch interior has similar material quality like peugeot 208 or new smartfortwo

• Look at the first pic. Theres a subliminal message there.. Theres a sign pointing to the car that says INFART?? I agree…supporting proton is like living in the fart of the tun M cronies…

• AhBengBurner on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:54 am

BURN, boy!

• baffled on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:54 am

To Tun
    I am quite baffled with the new strategy. Proton must understand what makes people choose a particular car and not the other. For the record no car brand is perfect. However its the total ownership experience that counts. That is a complex mixture of buying, owning, driving, maintaining and reselling. And that philosophy applies for a rm100 rice cooker or a rm50k car. Quality cannot be easily be claimed by a price increase. It has to be tested and experienced for an extended duration. Otherwise a product can have high intial quality but poor long term quality. Have you ever bought a vacuum cleaner that can suck a bowling ball in the first 2 mth but broke down a year later? Now churning a new car every year is a very costly affair. It may send a message that the brand is very market centric but in truth does that contribute to the ownership experience?
    My recommendation to proton in order of priority:
    Look for opportunity to reduce price by securing basic material supply such as metals and plastics
    Improve engine fuel consumption to be at par or better than the japs
    Improve basic reliability of critical parts such as engine, brakes, suspension, drivetrain etc
    Elevate service center performance and offerings
    Improve engine performance in terms of power delivery and reduce gearing lags
    Improve reliability of functional parts such as power windows, brake levers, door and trunk hinges
    Improve safety performances and features
    Total revamp of exterior and interior design to portray up market and class (vw porche etc)

Its a cruel customer’s market out there. Most car makers have been punished at one time or the other. Your strategy needs fixing or the company will continue to bleed. Sincerely.

• Rakyat VS. Proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:54 am

Let us all rakyat boikot all Proton cars.

It’s enough rakyat being bullied, fooled, cheated by Proton and all the stupid lies for past 30 years!

Together we must teach Proton a lesson and let Proton buried deep with even more low sales and huge loss bankruptcy!

YES RAKYAT BOLEH! HELL TO PROTON!

• threediamonds on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:10 am

This is only gimmick meh…to create “wow” factor during launching. during launching they will reveal the price cheaper than what people expected. One more thing, they just want to show some efforts, with so called quality cars, they still managed to sell with cheaper price. Goverment incentives will kaw2 help them..This is Dr.Mahathir..everyone will listen to him even Najib.Jangan tertipu dengan statement from him.

• sompua on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

good move lah proton, so that DRB can die faster

• onlyneutral (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:08 am

I think Proton still don’t get it why it is not impressed and inspired by many Malaysians. It’s the brand itself that was damaged some 20 years ago. When people hear Proton, what appears on people’s mind is “low quality”. The Proton brand has brain-washed the people’s mind with negative impacts. Why the Preve and Suprima still not selling well eventhough Proton claims that these 2 models get 5 stars ANCAP? Why is the Inpira still not selling well eventhough it is a rebadge of Lancer? The answer? – the Proton brand. And yet Proton still very proud with its product and set the high price for its products. Let’s take a look at Preve and Suprima. The price is almost RM80k. With this price range, of course people will opt for Vios and Almera, why? Because the Toyota and Nissan give a very good impression to Malaysians compare to Proton. If the price for Preve and Suprima is set to let’s say about RM58k to RM60k, Saga Executive RM28k+, and Inspira about RM80k+, I bet the sales volume will surely increase. Although those prices seem low profit, what Proton should do now is to get back people’s faith and confidence. Just look at what Digi had done some 15 years ago? Initially not many people using Digi because people not confidence with it. What Digi did is set low price to increase sales volume. By this way, margin profit will also increase. If Proton wish to survive from failure, firstly it must set the lower price instead of setting high price just to wish to get more profits. Secondly, improve the quality of products and service seriously. No needs many steps and time to improve. Just these 2 steps, I’m sure Proton will get back people’s faith and confidence very soon.

• colim98 on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:49 am

Loyal Proton car owner here, been driving a Iswara Aeroback 1.3(RM30K) bought new at year 1993, sold it 2008 and bought current driving Saga Aeroback (RM27k)…

Driving Proton since day I’ver got my car license…
    Actually if I can afford, I want a Perodua…LOL

• breaL on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:25 pm

good for you…u know wat,,its not that bad driving a proton…the comfort level..handling..cornering…the driving experience etc is not that much difference compared to most sub $100k toyotas or hondas…but the QC is another story…the door handle can be easily broken..the never ending power window saga continues…plastic parts…water pump etc …..all this problems can be fixed way cheaper than most hondas or toyotas but the possibility of it happen is pretty much expected…and this must be addressed…preve has been sold at higher than usual price yet the interior quality leave much to be desired…so….when the oracle of the malays said that the price will be higher because of quality…im not sure to laugh or just keep hoping..which has been the case for decades…

• colim98 on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

exactly the point is, a same car and engine driving more than 20 years, nothing seems new to me, all small and big issue will be taken care of easily…even the biggest engine changed problem also can fix less than RM1k.
        fyi, my previous car had changed engine twice…
        lot of friends asked me why never feel bored to drive a same car 20+ years….i told them i have a same woman for 14 years and still counting, never feel bored also..LOL

• puteri kota poh (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:30 pm

same fuel thirsty campro engine? lease la tun M, dont sumbat what ever you wish to the rakyat la….

• Gilbert on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Quality? With Dashboard that looks like a revived Wira project with a little tweak here and there? Come on, stop wasting good money. 300mill not 300k.

Please do your survey. I’m sure you can get lots of better ideas and design from the public.

On top of that, PRICE does matter. It’s a National car for crying out loud.

What you mean by “However, the prices have to be raised a little because customers are paying for something better.”?

Better what? Steering Wheel? Gear Shift Knob? or Free Baseball design steering lock? My 1st 2 cars were proton, and after 3 lousy years everything falls apart.

Someone please feed him his medicine, Forgot to eat his medicine again?

• Redsestren on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:04 pm

hahaha, the car is already cursed even before its launch.

Poor poor poor Proton. We will NOT miss you…

• Ah beng ' sickness on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:02 am

He probably suffering from a form of Munchausen Syndrome or
    Munchausen Syndrome By Proxy (MSBP). Getting the kick out of seeing people angry….

• the aim is just to make proton back in black … as per tm said needs a year to turn around proton. on a perspective, the increase in price maybe to improve quality (which people really put on hope), on the other hand it (the increase in price) may need to top up other model’s margin in order to satisfy the aim mentioned earlier. i pray for the first one.

• Proton bad experience on Aug 31, 2014 at 1:14 pm

my nephew bought a new proton saga and stayed with me while studying here. about 3 months later i help him drove to service the car. while on my way i notice the mileage is about 100km plus. The mechanic told me that it is either the factory forgot to attach the cable or the sales outlet disconnect it and went for a free ride then forgot to reconnect it

• Michael Wong on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:34 pm

I thought of purchasing the saga flx . The problem is I loved the car but hated the unimpressive small tail lights … so small compared to the older model which has a much larger and more repectable set of tail lights. My friends laughed and commented that the new tail lights looks so sneaky !!! So much so I dare not even tell them I intended to purchase the saga ! Sad to say I have to look elsewhere ! By the way why do Proton hired designers that designed such stupid looking cars … look at your savy, juara, tiara … all are laughing stocks in the country ! Really ashamed for the country after so many years and yet can’t produce any car that I can be proud to call our national car !!!

• Clearly you’re a newbie when it comes to cars.
      Juara and Tiara were badge – engineering models, meaning they were based on existing cars. The Juara was 99% from a Mitsubishi model, while the Tiara was a Citroën model, Saxo.
      I suppose yes, car design can make or break a model’s sales, but there are various other factors than can let sales down. Fuel consumption, comfort, quality et cetera.
      Latter models from PROTON seem better, but again, it everyone like the Prèvé, or Suprima.

• raba army on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:51 pm

after all, we can conclude RBA is here,
    Proton with lotus technology now mehh…
    No one can denied its technology and quality.
    intelligent proton management. i’ll never stop supporting proton