2015 Mazda 2 – specifications detailed and compared

2014-Mazda2-10

This is the new Mazda 2, which had its global unveil last week. Given how popular its larger siblings (3 and 6 sedans) are with Malaysians, this will be a car to watch when it is launched in Malaysia, which will likely be towards the end of this year (according to a research report) or sometime in the first half of 2015.

The new Mazda 2 will begin production at Mazda’s Hofu plant this autumn, but it will likely see additional production or assembly sites in countries like Mexico and Thailand. Who knows, Berjaya Auto might decide to assemble it in Malaysia as well, but with the B-segment being more of a volume game with lower margins, this will depend on how many it thinks it will be able to sell.

mazda-2-body-colour-seat-material

There are 10 exterior colours available in Japan – this will of course differ from country to country. The hero colour is of course red, but there are a lot of other colours including pink and three shades of blue. There are also four choices of interiors, including one shade that’s combined with leather.

We’ve decided to compare the new 2 with other B-segment hatchbacks including the Ford Fiesta, which the Mazda 2 used to share a platform with. Mazda and Ford have since parted ways, with Mazda developing their own engine, gearbox and platform for their passenger cars. With the new Mazda 2 out, the last Mazda-Ford JV product on sale will be the Mazda BT-50 pick-up truck.

Old Mazda 2 2015 Mazda 2 2014 Honda Jazz Ford Fiesta 1.5
Length 3,922 mm 4,060 mm 3,955 mm 3,982 mm
Width 1,695 mm 1,695 mm 1,694 mm 1,722 mm
Height 1,485 mm 1,500 mm 1,524 mm 1,489 mm
Wheelbase 2,490 mm 2,570 mm 2,530 mm 2,489 mm
Engine 1.5L 1.3L/1.5L* 1.5L 1.5L
Gearbox 4 AT 6 AT CVT 6 DCT
Horsepower 102 hp 92 hp/100 hp* 118 hp 110 hp
Torque 135 Nm 121 Nm/150 Nm* 145 Nm 140 Nm

*No official Mazda 2 1.5L Skyactiv figures released yet, numbers from Mazda 3 1.5 Skyactiv

As you can see from the comparison table above, the new Mazda 2 has grown quite a bit over the old one, and it is the only B-segment hatchback in the above list that breaks the four-metre length mark. If Mazda wants to sell this little hatchback in India, it might have to develop a revised design that is under four metres in length for tax reasons, as taxes in that populous country is lower for cars under four metres in length.

Its wheelbase of 2,570 mm has grown about 80 mm over the previous model, giving it the longest wheelbase of the cars compared above, beating even the Jazz. The benchmark for interior size in the segment is the Honda Jazz thanks to its superb packaging and overall height so let’s see if the Mazda 2 can beat it.

Another interesting engine option that’s not listed above is the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D, a little turbodiesel motor that does 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500-2,500 rpm when mated to the six-speed automatic gearbox. Torque is a little lower when mated to the six-speed manual, at 220 Nm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• smurphet on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

looks very upmarket, i bet it will be priced like pug 208….maybe around $90k

• seancorr on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:50 am

For RM90k it better come with everything on the list!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Waiting for the Ah Beng Support Proton to come here to say that Mazda copy the design of the GSC. And that Proton is the best car in the world, better than even Porsche, BMW and Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
    • Vincent on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:22 pm

“Who knows, Berjaya Auto might decide to assemble it in Malaysia as well, but with the B-segment being more of a volume game with lower margins, this will depend on how many it thinks it will be able to sell.”

Or it depends if the price must be higher than Suprima or not…Takut nanti Proton marah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Who cares to buy Mazda which having too many problem worldwide! Expensive but no safety every year got airbag recall! Apart from all models, Mazda 3 is the worst. Mazda will follow the same.
        PROTON are better in terms of safety, pricing and R&H compare to Mazda..
        Link >> http://www.mazdaproblems.com/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 63
        • Values on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Same Lorr, you are horribly misguided. A car manufacturer issuing a recall is a sign that they are trustworthy and transparent. It shows that they have a rigid quality assurance program in place that continually monitors for issues in their products and rectifies these issues. They also learn from them thereby improving future products.

This is a far better approach then those manufacturers that don’t offer recalls and are quiet about their problems. GM is currently being sued for a problem where they did not issue a recall. Volkswagen is facing legal suits in Australia for problems with their cars that caused deaths. Mitsubishi went near bankrupt in the 90’s with a problem that they did not publicise facing a massive lawsuit.

I would personally prefer to buy from a manufacturer that issues recalls than from one that pretends that their products are of high quality and keeps quiet about it. Funny how you didn’t mention Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
        • Bataman on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:52 am

Moron…like Toyota didn’t issue airbag recalls? All the airbags are by the same few suppliers, in case you haven’t heard.

• Really?? on Mar 16, 2024 at 11:09 am

seriously bro? Are you sohai ? in 2024, Mazda skyactiv has proven to be successful and Mazda had moved upmarket. Meanwhile Proton was brought by China car maker Geely and revert to the route of rebadging. Are you sohai?

• Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Preve 最好的!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
      • Same L0rrr on Jul 26, 2014 at 4:49 pm

The impersonator Same Lorr thought put a few chinese words can pretend he is Chinese. The grammar is so funny. Can see it is copied from google translate.

Typical Proton 5S lifestyle:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 26, 2014 at 9:34 am

One year later, the Pug can only be traded in for RM25k.

For the Mazda, easily RM70k

• sdjkfshf23784 on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:51 am

Why no weight figures? There’s this thing called power-to-weight ratio that’s kinda useful in car comparisons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • death (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:15 pm

I hope it will come with auto cruise. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Black Dog on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Base on your chart, the winner is Honda Jazz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • Enthu on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:13 am

Jazz looks so outdated already next to this car.

• driver on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Exactly my thought. With a little bit of sacrifice here and there, but it still seems to be more “all-rounder”.

As for outward appearance, mazda 2015 looks is fresher because it distant itself further than its predecessor. Jazz, in contrast, is on the closer side to its predecessor.

• Jaybond on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:40 pm

This definitely the best of the latest Japanese superminis (Honda Jazz second) that can challenge Europe’s best.

• Longer and fatter than Honda Jazz.

Bring in Mazda2 1300cc Skyactiv, go for EEV CKD production mode.

whoaallaa.. we will get RM63k Mazda2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • The problem I have is when it comes to Malaysia. Remember that Mazda 3 used to have all the bells and whistles internationally but when the car comes to our shores, we don’t even have leather seats? And don’t even get me started on the ridiculous pricing for the kit offered here in bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Hala proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:59 pm

seriously with this 92 hp/100 hp*??

• Jaybond on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:08 pm

The 1.5L hp is just indicative , Mazda might re-tune the engine for better power.

• If you view some of overseas review, all of them concluded even Mazda 3 1.5 can match any 2.0 engines. The complete package of efficient transmission, lower weight and efficient engine gives you the power you want. What’s the point of having higher HP when you have poor transmission and heavy body just like the Suprima and Preve. Proton can’t build modern car with good power delivery and highly efficient vehicle, PERIOD. That’s the reason why we shouldn’t keep harping on the issue of HP and turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Honda Jazz?? looks like a proton suprima + myvi. Love the blue colour body paint and leather seat mazda is offering.

• William Leong on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:30 pm

All-New Mazda2 Hatchback wheelbase is 2,570mm, increased 80mm from previous generation.

• ben yap on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:50 pm

1.5 only 100hp? Wahahahhaa… can’t even overtake a tractor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • MG250 on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:52 am

I think your knowledge is just like a tractor….Car manufacturer can retune the engine according to each country requirement and for you tractor knowledge, lower hp doesnt mean it will not match higher hp cars. It can made up the differences by having fast gearbox and light weight materials build in. Now this is what today’s car is all about. So, keep driving your tractor if you keep thinking of only hp…

• Chris (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:22 am

Ever thought of looking at the big picture? I don’t like pulling numbers out of no where but I’m pretty confident to say 4 out of 5 person never make full use of their engine’s power.

Honda’s 118hp@6600rpm and Mazda’s 100hp@6000rpm means nothing when people hardly ever revs to that speed.

On the other hand, most people (non “racers”) drive between 1500-3500rpm, maybe 4500rpm if overtake, can really feel the extra torque the engine can provide. Again, I don’t have figures but I’m pretty sure Mazda’s engine is tuned for torque.

Just look at it, more punch at lower RPM than any other engine is capable at higher RPM. The diesel is even more interesting.

• pegasus on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:42 am

we will not be getting the car with most of the goodness seen here. that i am sure

• Vernon on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:59 am

Looks delicious. Worthy competitor to the new Jazz.

• Ben Tang on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:58 am

Bermaz, bring in the high-spec MANUAL version.

• samlok on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Nice! but how’s the ride compare to suzuki swift?

• intermilan on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Peugeot 208 with 120hp and 160Nm is more powerful. And 208 kit list is more impressive too.

• sam lorr loser on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:30 am

If Bermaz brings in the manual, high power petrol version, im gonna buy this. It’ll be good to practice handbrake turns lol