Kedah to impose entry fee on vehicles from Thailand

Thailand Sadao Checkpoint
Thai-registered vehicles entering Malaysia via the Sadao checkpoint will have to pay VEP soon

Kedah is set to join Johor in imposing a vehicle entry permit (VEP) for foreign vehicles, Bernama reports. Kedah is targeting Thai-registered vehicles coming into Malaysia with this move, while the southern state will be collecting entry fees from Singaporean cars.

“Foreign motorists who violate traffic rules in Malaysia can then be easily identified and penalised,” State Education, Transportation and Works Committee chairman Datuk Tajul Urus Mat Zain told reporters at a Jelajah Sahur programme organised by the JPJ at Bukit Selambau yesterday.

“Currently, drivers of foreign-registered vehicles avoid getting penalised for traffic offences once they return to their country. With the VEP in force, all data on the vehicles involved in traffic offences can be retrieved and the motorists can be fined before leaving the country,” he reasoned.

Tajul Urus said that the VEP fee will contribute to Kedah’s coffers, adding that there would be discussions with relevant agencies, including the police and JPJ, before coming to a final decision.

Last week, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that the Federal Government had decided to implement a VEP fee for foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia via Johor. “We will decide on the rates to be imposed. Part of the fee collection will be shared with the Johor government,” he was quoted as saying.

Earlier this month, Singapore announced an increased VEP fee of S$35 (RM90) from the current S$20 (RM51.50) on foreign vehicles entering the island republic, effective August 1 – more details here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Very good move by our Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Beng Father on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:50 pm

This idea was given by Proton. Proton should get royalti for this idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • leghair on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I also have an idea that proton should be shut down so that 1.7 bil can be invested on something else. I no need any royalty. as long RM 1.7 is not wasted on something that is not successful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Typical of Proton bashers. There’s no connection whatsoever, and they still have to blame Proton. If you fail at an exam at school you also blame Proton, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Tajul - Intelligent? on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Stupid move. Because got more Malaysian cars go to thailand for Kongkek. Very few Thai cars come to Malaysia.

Bodoh Tajul. Never think. If they retaliate, more money will inflow into Thailand from Malaysians who will have to pay the Thai VEP fee (when they impose)

Hundreds of Malaysians drive into Thailand to kongkek. This is not something. Everybody knows about this. Hundreds of cars enter Thailand per day as opposed to a few Thai cars entering Malaysia.

I don’t know how he became State Education, Transportation and Works Committee chairman. He should resign. Basic thing like this cannot figure out, don’t know how you make state decisions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
    • mmmmm on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:38 pm

good la can deter adultery(kongkek) to thailand. Unless u are sex saiko.

Thai come in for diesel. offset lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • salambangi on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

What is kongkek? Is this a new term in Webster dictionary? I like this term very much and I hope it does not have a bad meaning. kongkek forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Bapak ayam ni dah mengamuk dah! Yg dia tau nak kongkek je memanjang. Bengap!

• Lorat on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Oi! The things they got from us is subsidized things like fuel, foods! Which is more than we get for kongkek over there!
      I want them to pay 100 ringgit per person to enter Malaysian soil!

• Tapi depa yg sejenis dgn bapak ayam bengap tu takkan nampak & faham benda2 mcm ni. Pondan siam je yg depa nampak.

• What’s next? We start charging entry fee for all the boats coming from Indonesia, haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • So when are Perlis, Perak and Kelantan set to join this gang?

• Apa problemnya? Even going to different states in the peninsular need to pay ma, and for some people who work in KL but stay in Selangor? At least pay twice lah. Tolls I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • carazy on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Not to mention Semenajung guys have to pay fees whwn to enter Sabah.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:13 pm

beribu ribu tahniah

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Wait what? Few days ago they said they want to charge Singaporeans cause Singapore charges Malaysians, so it is just fair. And that the other border stays open and without a fee because Thailand doesn’t charge Malaysians.

• Ng y s on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:50 pm

good good good….Malaysia should learn with singapore…thumbs up

• Good move! Kelantan and Perlis should follow.

• Entry Point on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:00 pm

So, i guess next move is Sarawak should impose entry fees for Bruneians and Indonesians?

• Give it a thought on how such policy benefit rakyat??

It doesn’t. In fact the next thing Thailand will do is to impose the same charges to all malaysian car going to thailand.

Money collected most likely will ended up funding for activities that only benefiting very selected peoples, while everyone else who needs to drive to Thailand lose everything.

• mmmmm on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:47 am

u know u have to put money inside passport entering thailand right?….relax la if they charge malaysian entering their country. everyday go to thai or what?

• Denaihati on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:17 am

This is very good.
    Proposed RM20 from Johor gov for s’pore vehicle entering Malaysia looks like still lower compared to M’sia car entering S’pore(RM90). I think same fee amount should be implement.

• Leonardo on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:18 am

Agree! They take our subsidised petrol and diesel everyday!

• Siam Loyalty on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:58 am

Negara yang paling pandai memfitnah? Malaysialah! Siapa lagi batu api di Asia Tenggara?