Mazda 2 to spawn Sedan and SUV siblings – could a ‘Zoom Zoom’ Honda City competitor look like this?

mazda-2-sedan-theo-1

The first of a new generation of B-segment contenders from Mazda was unveiled last week in the form of the Mazda 2 hatchback, but the ‘Zoom Zoom’ company won’t be stopping there. In a world where many car buyers are downsizing their car purchases, one does not simply ignore the B-segment, so Mazda will be building more models on their Mazda 2 platform.

The Mazda 2 hatchback will also spawn a sedan variant, which our friend Theophilus Chin has rendered above. This is of no surprise since the last-generation Mazda 2 also had a sedan bodytype, and the traditional sedan is a popular body style in many high growth markets.

After the sedan, Mazda will also be building a small crossover SUV based on the Mazda 2. Based on the current Mazda SUV line-up’s naming scheme, this small SUV will most likely be called the Mazda CX-3, reflecting its positioning as a smaller model than the Mazda CX-5. It will compete against other freshly hatched B-segment SUVs such as the Honda HR-V a.k.a. Vezel, the Ford EcoSport and the Peugeot 2008.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sweet..take my money mazda…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng Panties sniffer on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Waiting for Ah Beng the Proton supporter to come here and say, Proton GSC is much better than this Mazda. Then he will flood this thread with nonsense about how greatProton is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
      • DannyTAR (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Do we really have to bring Proton in every single discussion? Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Boikot Protong on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

Because of Proton, all B-segment car price above 70k while Saga muka tak malu enjoy 40K price.

Competition my ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • DannyTAR (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Ok, you don’t like Proton, we all get it, so go come out with a proposal, get involved in the movement or something, put your time and effort for the cause to have Proton priced higher or foreign cars priced lower. Go do that instead of spamming in paultan.org.

You know how there was an annoying Toyota Sam Loo guy here? These no-Proton comments are just as annoying. Go do something about it if you’re really that concerned about the cause instead of spamming online. It’s not going to help and it annoys other readers. Thank you for your understanding.

• Yes seriously on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Yes we are seriously obligated to bring up Potong to ever paultan post. Can’t handle the criticism, please improve or close shop. Thanks

• Vincent on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Mazda2 sedan price must be twice Saga price. If not, nanti Proton marah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • saiyad on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:28 pm

haha … i doubt it … looking at the current akward m2 ..

• fatchicken on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:46 pm

this car lots of wind noise when the windows r down.

• Sum Lai on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Only proton doesn’t have wind noise when the window are down! oh wait i forgot power window rosak haven’t go SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • death (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Shut up and take my money.

• keeda on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:29 pm

i like it pls come below 80k…and come take my money

• Significant improvement!!Come on Mazda.Make my choice easier.

• AIYO, AGAIN, WIN LIAO LO IF LOOK LIKE THIS.

• MG250 on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:01 pm

This car really makes City and Vios look really cheap..

• DannyTAR (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:17 pm

I would say City is on par if not better, the shark fin antenna adds a lot of points. Having said that, this Mazda definitely has a better looking front view.

• kkzoom on Jul 26, 2014 at 3:33 pm

City and Vios can NEVER compare with Mazda2 because the latter is a GLOBAL car where as the two is only REGIONAL build to suit the local market. Mazda 2 can be found all over the world.

• totti on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Despite having a longer wheel base for M2 as compared to the previous model.

This M2 will not able to beat the City for rear interior space with longer overhand engine bay and the interior is similar to Suzuki swift.

Mazda 2/3/6/CX5 look good from outside but their interior space is suck and no where near their competitor from Honda City/Civic/accord/CRV.

To beat Honda/Toyota in malaysia, Madza need to redesign the cramp interior space to win more customer.I have many friend wanted to buy the CX 5 but end up getting CRV.

Mazda need to learn from BMW where they have improved their interior space for 3 & 5 series now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Honta Lousy Car on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Maybe about time u & you friend slim down….wakakaka

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:17 pm

i don think cx5 is a lot smaller than the current crv….crv is bigger but it seems that the space has been used better in the cx5. i do commend that the previous gen crv was larger and space was used better

• argh! how i wish the diesel version is introduce here together with EUro4 !!! it would be most economical car in market !

• kkzoom on Jul 26, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Yes, I agree….. but our diesel SUCKS!! I heard Mazda’s Clean Diesel already comply to EURO 6 and does not require any NOX treatment.

• albag on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:37 pm

wow… if the new mazda2 really looks like theo’s… that would be simply awesome!!!

• acolyte on Jan 09, 2015 at 7:46 pm

shut up and take my mon… sorry, i forget i’m poor…. :(