Proton requesting RM1.7 billion in funding – reports

proton

It has been reported that national carmaker Proton has applied for financial support from the government – the company has submitted a request for a RM1.7 billion grant from the Economic Council (EC), which is chaired by Prime Minister Datuk Sri Najib Razak, according to reports from The Edge and The Star.

Last week, the automaker said it was seeking reimbursement from the government for the money it has invested in research and development (R&D) to produce new cars.

“We have asked the government to reimburse some of the money we invested on R&D projects. This is a normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to carmakers for development of new technology,” Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had said.

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Back in March, the company was said to have requested for funding from the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI). Proton however denied that it had applied for any development fund from MITI and Petronas, and also dismissed reports that it had committed RM3.8 billion to fund its business plans until 2017.

As for the current request for funding, a source told The Edge that “both the Treasury and the Economic Planning Unit are studying Proton’s request. The amount is just too much, for such a sum to be approved, it would need some form of political intervention.”

Meanwhile, MITI also had something to say about the matter. “Proton has approached us for support. As this requires a budget allocation, MITI has been engaging with the Finance Ministry and the Economic Planning Unit. No decision has been made yet,” Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed told The Star.

Proton-GSC-002

Proton’s chief executive officer Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, however, told the publication that he wasn’t aware of any recent meeting or presentation made to the EC requesting the amount.

The national carmaker is set to launch a new car, which it said has cost as much as RM300 million to develop, before the end of the year. This new car is expected to be the much-awaited Global Small Car (code-named P2-30A).

Mahathir had indicated that the model would be priced higher than expected to account for better quality. The company, he added, has spent a lot of money to make sure that the best materials are being used.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Abisla la kene…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
    • Handmatic on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Bailout is not reimbursement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:28 pm

You gotta be kidding me 1.7billion?! How much of that portion really go into funding? 10% of it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
        • Close Down Proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Where is the CEO of Proton? Any announcement is always done by Mahathir. It is as if the CEO, CFO and COO don’t exist at all.

Mr CEO, don’t you feel ashamed that you are just a puppet boneka? In any company, it is always the CEO or MD that makes important announcements. But in Proton’s case, the CEO is nothing but a boneka. Even in this case, you are not even aware your own company asked a whopping 1.7 billion from Government!!!

This clearly shows one thing, Proton got Mahathir in to pressure the Government. now, all the announcements made is done by Mahathir. Mahathir is using his clout and pressure to make the Government and Najib favour them. Now, as the article says, its going higher in the political chain. Only Mahathir got the power and influence to do this.

The CEO and MD of Proton should feel ashamed of themselves. Tak malu ke? You the CEO and MD are paid 6 figure salary per month and all you do is sit like a mouse in the office.

Might as well abolish the whole Board of Directors and just keep Mahathir as the Chairman and not have a Board at all. This alone can save close to Rm10 million per month in salary.

Why not do this? Since Mahathir is calling the shots for Proton now. I pity the Government. They cannot say NO to Mahathir because Mahathir has done so many favours for all the cabinet members. You scratch my back I scratch yours. Mahathir has given so many contracts to all the Ministers and Cabinet and their family and proxy.

The Cabinet and Najib cannot say NO to Mahathir anymore.

This begets the question, it looks like Proton is pressuring the Government to use our tax payers money to fund the dying company. We the rakyat of Malaysia, through Najib, is being pressured to fund Proton even more.

I hope Najib declines such application. RM1.7 billion can build at least 10 fully functional Government hospital with all the relevant state of the art industry medical equipment as well as 10 fully functional Government schools.

The past 20 years, every year Proton has gotten about RM100 mil per year. Imagine the number of Government hospitals and schools we could have built in the last 20 years? But all that went into one loss making company.

Every state could have at least few more fully functional government hospitals to help the needy, poor and elderly. All missed because all went to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 264 Thumb down 7
          • USDfan on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Well said Bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
          • Vader (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Well don Hicom, spend 1.2 billion to buy potong then using potong to claim 1.7 billion!!!
            Smart people suck rakyat money just simple like that..
            Those ah beng and ah doo, government money is from rakyat, so it mean suck rakyar money too. So dont saying i am twisting the point from government to the rakyat here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 2
          • Ask Mahathir to Pay! on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Mahathir’s Remuneration alone is more than RM15 million per annum. Why don’t you do work free for Proton and give your own remuneration as R & D for Proton? After all Proton is your baby.

Mahathir also got billions. No secret about this. Taib from Sarawak also got billions. Taib (Sarawak Governor) is actually worth US$18 billion. That alone is RM70 billion.

Ask Taib for the RM1.7 billion. Small change for him. He will help, don’t worry!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 5
          • start-a-fight on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 110
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:34 pm

If RM1.7b can build 1/2 hospital only, I want that 1/2 hospital rather than Proton new models!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:27 pm

This time they gonna use that 10% to invent car door handler. The improved car door handle give better grip that you can open it easily with right hand or left hand. Awesome right?

Proton R&D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
      • Close Down Proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Mahathir and Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10. This also has not been sorted out. No point Proton itro new models when there are so many skeletons in its closet. Sort the skeletons out first, otherwise, Proton cannot make money and inferior parts will wear and tear fast compromising quality of Proton cars.

Now Mahathir is in Proton, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Why ask the Government for money? Change the vendors first. Show the Proton is sincere in wanting to improve itself.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, it will ask our money to support the company. This is not a one off. Mahathir will be asking the government money on and on. RM1.7 billion is a lot of money. With that money you can build 10 fully functional Government hospitals and 10 Fully functional Government Schools.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or Government owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 7
        • Anak Anak Sendiri Pun Tak Pakai Proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Mahathir pandai talk big and ask for money. If he is so supportive of Proton and dare to ask 1.7 billion, why he himself don’t drive a Proton?

Siti hasmah also don’t use a Proton.

Marina Mahathir also don’t use a Proton. She always in Bangsar, I never once seen her drive a Proton.

His sons also don’t drive Protons. Both drive Porsche.

So Mahathir, if you are so supportive of Proton, you sendiri tak pakai Proton! Macam mana?

Ask people to buy your own product (Proton) but you yourself don’t use your own product. You yourself don’t believe in the product you are selling which is Proton cars.

Before you ask people to help your own company by asking RM1.7 billion, show to the world that you yourself got confidence in your own products lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 5
          • Pedestrian on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:48 pm

The more expensive car we buy, the more we support Proton.

Gov will use taxpayers’ money (part of it comes from excise duty) to fund Proton’s R&D.

• start-a-fight on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:27 pm

still with the same 20k for corolla or 130y.. same sh1t difernt a55

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
        • tak nak potong on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Congrats all potong bashes. But I wish u all can bash harder. Potong seriously a shame. Say no to potong .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • Guest on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:57 am

Have any one ever posted at the old fart’s blog chik det or something like that? Or are negative comments there getting censored?

• fast5 on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:13 pm

M’sia economic went from loses to worst is thanks to Proton always asking ‘crazy amount’ of money for “reimburse”.
        This old man must be stop before he makes m’sia economic bankrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Whenever Proton run out of money, it ask Malaysian tax payer.

Whenever Proton hardcore-syok-sendiri supporter get unhappy, they ask people to leave Malaysia.

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

For a few to stay syok, all Malaysians have to suffer junk cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 11
      • calcutta on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:34 pm

when proton untung,masuk pocket proton
        when proton rugi,minta duit mari
        untung balik,masuk pocket proton lagi

if its proton problem,its national problem
        if its rakyat problem (9 years installment plan for a crap car)its not a problem

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:16 pm

New technology by PROTON that requires reimbursement:
        1) LOTUS vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering for the advancement of Ride & Handling.
        2) Proton uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming (HPF)” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times for ANCAP 5 Star rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:23 pm

When come to comfort, Proton still no way close Toyota. They can only talk about Lotus handling. They mean the lotus flower handling actually.

People buy the most of Proton: Saga, Persona, Exora, NONE of them are using HPF. NONE of them are 5 star safety!!

This impersonator simply Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

If your mum didn’t give you a name, let me give you one – Pondan Proton 5S.

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
        • Always keep promoting Hot Press Forming as if its the best technology. In that case lets do a little comparison.

Ok lets compare Australia NCAP ratings for the cars.
          Why did i take Australia NCAP ratings instead of ASEAN NCAP is due to Proton cars are included and they have ratings for side impact test and pole impact test as part of its ratings. Another note is they all come with 6 airbags as standard, ABS, ESP as standard so its a fair game unlike our Asean NCAP.
          All cars listed are C-segment cars.

Mazda 3 2014: 36.4 (6 airbags)
          Golf 2013: 35.92 (7 airbags)
          Civic 2012: 35.91 (6 airbags)
          Hyundai i30: 35.69 (7 airbags)
          Cerato 2013: 35.51 (6 airbags)
          Altis 2014: 34.88 (7 airbags)
          Preve 2013: 34.25 (6 airbags)
          Suprima S 2013: 34.25 (6 airbags)
          Focus 2011-2014: 34.11(6 airbags)
          Lancer 2010: 33.56 (7 airbags)
          Elantra 2011: 33.21 (6 airbags)
          Sylphy 2013: 32.67 (6 airbags)

I think the scores here speaks for itself especially those that complain sushi cars are milo tins and Preve has high strength steel. Still its commendable that Proton has an average score among the C segment cars listed here but it still lose to Toyota, Honda, Mazda, VW, Kia, Hyundai makes.

• youbodok on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:01 pm

That’s delusional, where is Vios which is more expensive than those cars listed? 0 stars? LOL

• youbodok bodok on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:41 am

In Amen’s post, already mentioned the list is for C-Segment cars. Vios is B-Segment.

Understand what people says before saying others are stupid.

• As Proton supporters always mentioned how safe Preve and Suprima is I decided to pit the results against other cars in the same segment which is C-segment. Do read before posting.
            Another reason why i didn’t want to post B segment cars as most of it is not available in Australia thus there are no results.
            Australia NCAP gives the proper full results including side impact and pole impacts which is not available in ASEAN NCAP.
            This is to counter Proton supporters that always mention sushi cars did not use side and pole impact results in ASEAN NCAP which is why they can still get high scores. So now do you see the results where sushi cars of same segment still performed better and is safer even when side and pole impacts are taken into account??

• youbodok on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:03 pm

So what, it’s still delusional, you think you can buy those cars with 70K? In your dream.

• youbodok on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:09 pm

As I see proton bashers are delusional. When quoting prices, they compare it with USA despite bolehland is not developed country. When saying about NCAP, they give only C segment cars without similar prices despite the differences of prices are huge.

Go ahead live in your dream. If gomen changed, do you think gomen will abolish those tax? It’s one of the main income. Again, in your dream. Proton bashers are always dreaming!

• Are you blind? I mentioned that there were no results for B segment cars as its not available in Australia NCAP.
            Its only logical to compare an apple to an apple which is C segment cars since Preve falls in that segment.
            I am trying to point out that while you claim to be the best and has highest score in ASEAN NCAP but when compared with other markets you don’t seem so high anymore.
            So you feel really butt hurt that my facts knocked you down from your pedestal?? Ohhh too bad… can always try to do better next time.
            Incidentally, Proton sold around 50 units a month in Australia and 208 units in whole of 2013 in UK. Not bad i would say for a 30 year old manufacturer
            Of course there is no dispute that since we do not have an open market Proton will always be cheaper. However why do you think sales oversea for Proton is so dismal? Would you get a Preve or Corolla and Civic for the same price? I guess the oversea market is not delusional thus they did not pick Proton.
            Even in bolehland, most of Proton sales are from Saga and Persona so don’t think for once that Preve and Suprima is doing well. Hell even the ugly Civic and expensive Altis outsells Suprima and i dare say Preve by a long shot. Honestly tell me, if you have the budget would you still go for a Proton and never change to any other makes throughout your life?
            The Child safety ratings for Preve is horrendous and even the City scores a lot higher under the ASEAN NCAP so do take that into account when you have a family.

• Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 136
      • Proton quality is shit and unsafe. All your points are talking about highly modified proton cars and not the stock cars. Dynamics and handling?? if you’re joking please tell me so that that i can laugh even harder.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
        • Protonist on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:25 pm

So many Lotus here and there, just rebadge their car or copy their technology lar!!

Why bother begging for money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Henry on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I wouldn’t mind a Proton badged Lotus at Proton price. LoL.

• Wisdom on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:00 am

Indeed proton drives and handle better than our typical toyota, honda n nissan…

• Hooray on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

add few more :-
          11) Proton cars are imported by 25 different countries around the world
          12) Egypt has the largest Proton Persona fan club
          13) Miss Universe Australia 2013 is the ambassador of Proton
          14) The Proton Impian is used by the UK police in Humberside, next to the Lexus IS-F cruiser
          15) Proton is the only Muslim country manufacturer, and the only ‘full-fledged’ manufacturer in South East Asia that designs, develops and manufactures their own cars
          16) Proton car prices around the world are determined by the respective country’s vehicle import taxes
          17) Proton and Honda are in collaboration to share technology enhancement, new product line-up, platform and facilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 66
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

So??

You buy Proton and Miss Australia 2013 will come dine with you?

Now we know why Proton need RM1.7b.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • frenzyaustin on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:01 pm

15) Proton is the only Muslim country manufacturer, and the only ‘full-fledged’ manufacturer in South East Asia that designs, develops and manufactures their own cars

No! Malaysia is not a Muslim country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
        • xrxxx on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Then 5 stars by Australasian NCAP is void and cannot be trusted? YOu want to say beemer and a lot safer cars are unsafe?

Dynamic and handling most Jap cars are rubbish I tell you, it’s stable at high speed.

• I guess you haven’t driven the Mazda 3 yet. Handling is superb as the chasis is designed for sports, suspension is stiffer which makes it easily tackle corners. Meanwhile ploton will turtle and skid if exceed 80kmh cornering. The fact is that Continental>Japanese>proton. So proton fanboi stop hating.

• xrxxx on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Proton will turtle when cornering? That’s joke of the century!

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:26 pm

If Proton can’t make into World top 5 after 30 years, then what is the point of those advance technogies in Proton cars?
        Blame the motorists in this world for not buying Proton? Asking them to migrate to planet Mars if they don’t like Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • quicky on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Japs and Europeans took more than 30 years and that’s ok?

• Afraid on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:40 am

Korean took slightly more than 30 years and look where are the now. Compare that with Proton standings now.

• Yes we know. But since its sooo good why still ask for gov money aka rakyat money.

• Campro inefficient on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Let’s compare against a few other Turbo engines

Preve 1.6CamproTurbo engine: 141HP/205NM, 9.9L/100km
        Golf 1.4TSI engine: 140HP/250NM, 5.0L/100km
        Passat 1.8TSI engine: 160HP/250NM, 7.0L/100km
        Peugeot 308 1.6Turbo engine: 156HP/240NM, 7.6L/100km
        Fiesta 1.0Turbo engine: 125HP/170NM, 5.3L/100km
        Kuga 1.6Turbo engine: 180HP/240NM, 7.7L/100km
        Mondeo 2.0Turbo engine: 240HP/340NM, 7.7L/100km

Direct comparison with other Turbo engines and you can see they are much more efficient and with better HP and Torque.

You do know that Turbo engines not only have advantage in HP and Torque but is also as fuel efficiency if not better. So lets compare with a few examples of NA engines just for the fuel efficiency.

Preve 1.6CamproTurbo engine: 141HP/205NM, 9.9L/100km
        Accord 2.0: 155HP/190NM, 7.7L/100km
        Accord 2.4: 198HP/230NM, 8.4L/100km

As you can see Campro lost to even Accord 2.4 in fuel efficiency and to all other Turbo engines. Now do you see why Proton needs a better engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • silky on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:27 pm

That’s mixture between city and highway. No wonder can score better than Preve (urban+extra urban).

• Campro inefficient on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:12 am

All the results posted are urban + extra urban (combined). Its the same category used by Preve results.
            If you can give me the results of
            Urban
            Extra Urban
            Combined
            For the Preve. I would happily post the results for all the cars i listed above to give a direct comparison.

• silky on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Liar, it’s highway + city mixture. YOu dun have to lie lol

• Face the facts and accept criticism as a way to improve. With denial there won’t be any improvement.
            Its a fact that Campro FC is poor so everyone especially proton supporters should fight for a better engine. It would benefit everyone no?

• diedidiot on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:13 pm

You and your family should be proud to died in proton car. But I wonder you and your family are driving proton now as you got all the rakyat’s money of course drive BMW or Audi or Porche. That is why you and your family still alive. Shame on you and your cronies.

• interesting what you say my friend!!! I recommended to one of my close relatives to but proton preve cfe this year and he agreed and bought one unit brand new. after inspection the car had over 70 defects in it. water inside the tail lamps and headlamps after rain. runner seals all broken. seats jammed. rattle sound from inside the cabin, also front wheels all start to shake in high speeds. we took the car to service centre and asked for warranty claims. it has been three month and not even a call from proton I-Don’t Care unit. is this what we need Billions for????? I feel so embarrassed that I asked my relative to buy the proton when he could buy another brand. terrible.

• OMG…P1 sold so many cars here but still end up …rugi and need funding….why??? puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Sack 50% workers of Proton on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Billions are being spent to keep MAS and Proton afloat. Just like any kerajaan company, 10 people do 1 persons work. Like our Government Servants.

Malaysia has the largest government servants in the world. 1.5 million Government Servants. In comparison, Australia, much bigger, has 250,000 civil servants.

The same with Proton. Half its workforce should be sacked. All dead logs. No other car company in the world except Ford and GM hire that number of staff (including vendors).

Mahathir, sack half the Proton workers out there. That is why Proton is losing money. Company losing money also, all fly Business Class all over the world for “Lawatan Sambil Belajar”. One big rombongan from Proton will go overseas for kononnya “transfer of technology”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • bisakeris (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm

The total number of Australia public sector employees at June 2010 was 1,843,500 persons. According to Australian Bureau of Statistics.

• That Malaysia number of civil servants is including armed forces, while others don’t. That’s why way different. Ford and GM sure more than that. Their assemblers are there around the world.

• unforgiven on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:59 pm

DRB, Tun M bought PROTON for RM1.2B. Now asking Gov for RM1.7B. Directly pocketed RM500 M. Where to find this type of business?

• “This is a normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to carmakers for development of new technology,”

could u please enlighten me, which carmakers and which country is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
    • Bryan on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:29 pm

And also enlighten about “New Technology”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:42 pm

New Technology could define for new model and research for quality improvement. Lets wait for the new car to launch before end of this year, sure be a pisang panas..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

If you have a no better name to use, let me give you one – Pondan Proton 5S.

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
          • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:09 pm

RM1.3b is good amount for PROTON to produce new model in coming years and overcome the quality issue. Way to go PROTON! Thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:26 pm

You have money issue, go ask the bank or loan shark. I can donate RM15 to Proton this time. Proton have to send his manager to my place again.

Our tax money is not for your new model. No one care if Proton has new model or not!

And most IMPORTANT: Proton quality won’t solved no matter how much money is poured. It is the company problem, not the money problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • stranger on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:55 pm

obviously, he is Ah Beng, the proton supporter

• @Same L0rrr
            Only you who is barking here. Gud luck.

• Handmatic on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Life time warranty Power window – new technology by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:02 pm

You know how much is RM1.3b?

Imagine from the day you born, you spend RM50k everyday. Yes, EVERYDAY! Even when you take SPM also need to spend RM50k a day.

You spent till 73 years old then only can finish this money.

For a few to live filthy rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:08 pm

RM1.3b is good amount for PROTON to produce new model in coming years and overcome the quality issue. Way to go PROTON! Thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:17 pm

You have money issue, go ask the bank or loan shark. I can donate RM15 to Proton this time. Proton have to send his manager to my place again.

Our tax money is not for your new model. No one care if Proton has new model or not!

And most IMPORTANT: Proton quality won’t solved no matter how much money is poured. It is the company problem, not the money problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • klata-klata on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:55 pm

You forgot to factor in time-value of Money.

If you receive RM1.3 billion from the government today and loan it back in exchange for Malaysian Government Treasury bonds at 4%pa for 10 years, you can then start spending RM142,466 EVERY DAY and still keep the RM1.3 billion loot in perpetuity.

• Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:37 pm

This is a normal practice in the car industry, where incentives are given to car makers for development of new technology. Perodua and UMW-Toyota also do the same. Why not PROTON?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
      • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm

1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
        • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm

10 things you should know about PROTON:
          1) Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles!
          2) Discovery Channel featured Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant, calling it the “most advanced modern car plant”
          3) Proton Preve and Suprima S are the only ASEAN cars to achieve full 5-star Australian ANCAP rating.
          4) In 2013, Proton Preve R3 clocked the fastest time in history for a Malaysian Touring Class race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford in under 2:39 minutes.
          5) Proton Satria Neo S2000 won 7 awards championships, and finished top 3 in all 6 tours at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2012.
          6) Proton adopts various technologies from LOTUS’ vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering and handling.
          7) Proton Satria Neo R3 and Preve R3 won both 1st and 2nd place in the 1000km Endurance Race in Sepang.
          8) Proton uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times.
          9) Proton’s Turbo engine of 205 NM torque can accelerate from 0-100kmh in less than 10 seconds. Nice!
          10) Proton R3 Waja, driven by Tengku Djan, the ‘Prince of Drift’, won the first ever Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:18 pm

We don’t care if Proton car can run in the desert or ice. Malaysia has NO DESERT AND WINTER.

We also don’t care if Proton win this match win that tournament. Federal Highway, MRR2, LDP are NOT FOR RACING. Don’t put public safety in danger you impersonator.

We Malaysians need cheap and reliable car! Get my point?!

1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • LOL Same Lorr has no point to tell, 5S is basi already.

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Surely incentives does not mean bottomless pit?

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:14 pm

With poor performance and close to no achievement after 30 years support still ask for fund? Plus with that ‘subsidy’ we still need to pay expensive price tag for cheap quality cars. Just stop it Proton. Better put that money for better use, let say fuel subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • While research grant handout is a normal practice by the G, forking out for proton 1.7b is like bailing out the private company. Come on, DRB was supposed to rescue Proton from the G but now they ask the G to rescue back proton for them??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:29 pm

100% agree with you, looks like they are going round and round in a circle.

• Afraid on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Grabs popcorn..

Let the comment war begins!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Hahah

dont think it is going to be war… all are on one side. Unless Tun himself is here lah

• Simon on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Everyone kinda knew why Tun M was made chairman. Now it’s obvious for all to see. What happened to all the profit you’ve made Proton? Why still need support after so many decades? You don’t need money for R&D, Tesla giving their intellectual property for free, go implement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • sompua on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Hehehhe, wahai Syed Mokhtar, Khamil, Harith…dah habis ke duit dalam kepuk tu?, Kan itu hari dah bagi 2Billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • oldmamakdied on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm

That is why they appoint that old mamak as chairman so more money can go into their pocket. Please all, stop buying car from this car maker or else there will be at least another 170billions will gone for sure. Please wake up all Malaysians..Paul Tan please stop publish any news about this car maker. It make me feel sick by reading it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
      • Joe Radzif on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Never mind, you can stop reading the Proton news at Paultan. Maybe others still want to…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • diedidiot on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Yeah. Mamak’s cornies. There are some paid defender in Paul tan like you to fight all those negative comments about this shit car maker. Please continue to do your effort. More that 95% peples here are bashing this shit car maker so please stay 24 hours by your pc. You been by by our tax payers’s money.

• loler on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:45 pm

If 95% are bashing, that doesn’t mean anything. Still on the road, Preve and suprima outnumber catfish Vios.

LOLOLOLOL

• Afraid on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:24 am

LOL. I see more Ferrari, Lambo on the road than your Suprima S. Even Mclaren also i see more often. Says a lot about Suprima sales.

Vios barely out for 1 year also more on the road than 3 year Preve. Fail!

• anti pamper s on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:14 pm

I already stop buying proton. I am ashamed till todate, they still can’t even compete with vios, city or even the koreans. Now they are asking more money.

Proton, better tutup kedai lar. Like chinese says, proton is pai kah chai (hopeless son).

Even if i can’t afford proton, i rather buy perodua. I have done my part, and it’s over to you paultan readers to do your part too.

Let’s stop buying proton. We have enough of this useless company which don’t contribute except a parasite to our nation wealth. It’s time to cut the cancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • loler on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Still it’s cheaper than most cars in Asean. You said can’t compete with Vios? 73k preve 6 airbags with ESC, 90k vios 2 airbags still no VSC.

• Black Dog on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:20 pm

“The amount is just too much, for such a sum to be approved, it would need some form of political intervention.”

Now you know why Dr M is appointed Chairman…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rr on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:23 pm

I rather this RM1.7b to help MAS than Proton.

MAS has 2 incidents recently, but no doubt it has good services for so many years.

RIP for MH17 victims. Our condolences to their families and loved ones.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:25 pm

1) Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles!
      2) Discovery Channel featured Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant, calling it the “most advanced modern car plant”
      3) Proton Preve and Suprima S are the only ASEAN cars to achieve full 5-star Australian ANCAP rating.
      4) In 2013, Proton Preve R3 clocked the fastest time in history for a Malaysian Touring Class race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford in under 2:39 minutes.
      5) Proton Satria Neo S2000 won 7 awards championships, and finished top 3 in all 6 tours at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2012.
      6) Proton adopts various technologies from LOTUS’ vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering and handling.
      7) Proton Satria Neo R3 and Preve R3 won both 1st and 2nd place in the 1000km Endurance Race in Sepang.
      8) Proton uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times.
      9) Proton’s Turbo engine of 205 NM torque can accelerate from 0-100kmh in less than 10 seconds. Nice!
      10) Proton R3 Waja, driven by Tengku Djan, the ‘Prince of Drift’, won the first ever Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia.

PROUD TO DRIVE PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 48
      • Same L0rrr on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:19 pm

We don’t care if Proton car can run in the desert or ice. Malaysia has NO DESERT AND WINTER.

We also don’t care if Proton win this match win that tournament. Federal Highway, MRR2, LDP are NOT FOR RACING. Don’t put public safety in danger you impersonator.

We Malaysians need cheap and reliable car! Get my point?!

1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

• 1) Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles!

-> So what? Ain’t sh*t if you cannot sell cars in US and Europe. Besides, check the reports… the North pole experiment was a failure. Car did not start. It was pushed.

–> Maybe in 2005…..

–> Thts because no other ASEAN made car in the region. Other makes like Mitsu Mirage also 5 star, Citroen C4 Picasso, Isuzu D-Max, Kia Cerato, Kia Rondo/Carens, Kia Picanto also has 5 star ratings…. some which has obtained the 5 star rating since 2011. Proton only obtained 5 Star since 2013. So, Proton is playing catch up rather than leading.

–> Matter of budget really. Factory backed vs independent teams. Independent teams has less budgets than the factory team.

–> Fair enough. This was a great time for Proton.

–> Only thing they can adopt is handling which is Lotus’s forte. Not interior design and certainly not engines as Lotus themselves use Toyota and Ford engines.

–> Not too bad but better if they can really compete with international endurance races. No jaguh kampung please.

–> So does many other manufacturers.

–> Nice!

–> Arent drift cars supposed to be Rear wheel drive? Does Proton makes rear wheel drive??? If it was a front wheel drive car, can it really be considered a drift car?

• AVH (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Well the engine is actually in an extant a Renault designed 1.8l….used in the much forgotten Waja 1.8l. But in the rally car, bored up by 800cc. So technically its not running the pride and joy that is Campro.

• Sam L0rr SOhai (member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:39 pm

1) Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles! 10 millions was spent for the transportation fees and some pocket money had been given out for the crews. The driver bought a banglo in Ampang after test drive the car.
        2) Discovery Channel featured Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant, calling it the “most advanced modern car plant”. % millions USD was paid to the D channel for tell lies in the show.
        3) Proton Preve and Suprima S are the only ASEAN cars to achieve full 5-star Australian ANCAP rating. The test cars were special made with superior materials while all the production cars are made of those cheap materials.
        4) In 2013, Proton Preve R3 clocked the fastest time in history for a Malaysian Touring Class race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford in under 2:39 minutes. Few millions spent for this shit.
        5) Proton Satria Neo S2000 won 7 awards championships, and finished top 3 in all 6 tours at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2012. Same as above.
        6) Proton adopts various technologies from LOTUS’ vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering and handling. Bought the Lotus and steal tech from them . than make the lotus become 2nd class sport car manufacturer.
        7) Proton Satria Neo R3 and Preve R3 won both 1st and 2nd place in the 1000km Endurance Race in Sepang. See 4 and 5.
        8) Proton uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times. but the plastic interior materials all made by Ah Beng’s factory.
        9) Proton’s Turbo engine of 205 NM torque can accelerate from 0-100kmh in less than 10 seconds. Nice! 20 litres/100km FC…..Nice…
        10) Proton R3 Waja, driven by Tengku Djan, the ‘Prince of Drift’, won the first ever Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia. Made in Malaysia for Malaysia, others just fxxk off.

SHAME TO DRIVE PROTON!

• Sam L0rr even Sohai (member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:20 am

I am sohai always copy paste 10 things you should know about PROTON.
          Must be a proud proton owner i guess huehuehuehuehue

• Sam L0rr even Sohai (member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:20 am

I am sohai always copy paste 10 things you should know about PROTON.
          Must be a proud proton owner i guess huehuehuehuehue

• AcerMan on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Only RM1.7B? :)

• Its ok. Next year ask for double.then tripple…

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Then some one will update the book ‘Malaysian Maverick’ to add in some billion RM more..

• Bktrokan on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:02 pm

RM1.7b from Govt (read … people money) … later force the car to buyers (people money again) …

People must be thankful .. must be supportive too …

Good move proton … strong leadership..

• Go home on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Any companies that need funding so often from its own citizens might as well pack up and call it a day. The monster inside me !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Sirimusa on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

That’s what you call a bail-out of a company that’s broke.

• More like a big stake gamble.

• Jiputproton on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

The winner will be that old mamak and his cronies and the losers are all Malaysians. Guaranteed 100%…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • dst1128 on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:13 pm

I’m not surprise if the news (somewhat later) says the money mainly comes from some company owned by mamak’s son, and then suddenly Proton got new owner.

• dunhillmethol on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm

already subsidised via trade barrier such as higher sales tax and exercise tax..now ask for another 1.7b.. why dont they just consolidate with P2 and get some economy of scales out of it..or other more viable options than outright grant.

• fuyooo…imagine what you can do for the rakyat with RM1.7 billion instead of giving it away to Proton for their so-called ‘R&D Projects’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • totti on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Well, Pity this old Mamak need to be the chairman to get fund from the rakyat (Goverment fund belong to tax payer money)to protect his cronies). Without his involvement will see proton “Bankrupt”

When proton get profit during the early years, all money go into the cronies and when company lost money then get it from the rakyat.

Everyone will succeed with this type of policy of “GUARANTEE RETURN” from Goverment.

Usually those GLC who need to complete with others will fail as what had happened to :

1) MAS
    2) Proton
    3) Malaysia with RM 600 billion debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • if ppl can afford,i think nobody wants to buy

• bbtree on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Umur dah lebih 30 tahun pun minta duit bapak lagi

Cari la duit sendiri, berdikari..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • Close it down dude!
    Don’t waste tax payer’s money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Jiputproton on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Habis lah duit rakyat. How many car poton need to sell to get profit of 1.7billions and how much will be really put in the so called “R & D”. What is the fxxking point that we, as a malaysian citizen that driving other car rather than poton to pay this stupid bill. It is for sure part (mostly) of this funding will go to someone else pocket. Malaysia boleh…TDM boleh…thanks to those vote for BN, thank you for making those cronies richer and richer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • protonsucks on Jul 21, 2014 at 1:59 pm

die la like this, we rakyat all say NO also we got no power, MITI still will fund them. we still lose. the only thing we can do is to boycott proton. dont buy proton at all so proton can die. in the next 10 years, maybe they will maybe need another RM 2 bil again and once again , we rakyat r the losers. just stop supporting proton.

• protonsucks on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:01 pm

dont call me a proton basher, but this is partly the rakyat money being funded for something crappy after giving so many years to develop. just die proton. if u r damn good u can compete. else just die. this is business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • How many will out of job again if Proton closes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • oldmamakdied on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:11 pm

You must be working for poton. Just for that 0.1% people that working under this poton (and cronies)and 99.9% of malaysian need to suffer. No one will pity these parasites and they can easily get another job rather than work with poton but except those idiots from R & D. Noone will hire them since we don’t know what the fxxk they design….and need billions of ringgit to feed them.

• Professor Ton Proton Campro Sam Loouis on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Ah Beng is one of them, he will be the first to get fired.

• I don’t know how you conclude that I am supporting proton.
        Dude, be smart is enough. Don’t try to be smart.

• probably around 15,000 people….

• For 1.7bil, that’s equivalent to more than 100K per person. Why don’t give this to the 15K staff, ask them to get lost and close the damn company for good.

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Human beings are very resourseful ‘animals’, the workers will find alternative employment if Proton is closed down.

• These workers can take over the jobs now held by held by foreign labour. This will lessen our dependence on foreign labour and funds outflow.

• kckuni on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I know no one work for Proton or its suppliers, but everyone I know are suffer for expensive car or low quality proton car because of proton.

• kemosabe on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Why not sell subsidized fuel only to Proton made cars, the rest pay market price. That way everyone would want their cars to be made or assembled by Proton factory in Tanjung Malim.

It’ll be better than handing out RM1.7B into someone’s pockets. When they are done spending it, they’ll just for more. It’ll never end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • U take all the money, still sell the car so expensive.

• olanlahlikethis on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:14 pm

This 1.7b for mamak. Profit from the car go to his cronies…

• Peter on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Being M’sia citizen is never easy. We have to feed the suppose-to-bankrupt MAS and yet need to feed the never-grow-up Proton! Fxxk off, just b’cse you got ex-pm as your chairman you demand money fr public in open day light! When you gained back in 1997 did you reimburse back to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • james on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm

if profit, keep it your own..
    if deficit, take from us…
    at last, rakyat will suffer even more…

• Paullow on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:14 pm

With due respect and common sense, officially requesting such large sum of money during current economic hardship may constitute to daylight robbery.

Regardless of what Dr M says, even if the survival of Proton may be economically justifiable, it is morally irresponsible. The objective of Proton’s business plan remains the same if not deteriorated. 30 years ago it was about establishing a national automotive industry, today it looks more like survival.

So how can the government justify dishing out an out of-this-world amount of money just so that a company can continue to live. No matter how Dr M twist it, any Tom Dick and Harry will tell you that using good money to chase after bad money is the worst business plan ever. Period.

Finally, although a person with the word “KILL” tattooed on his forehead doesn’t necessarily means he has the propensity towards violence, that doesn’t mean we want to entertain him, even if we have to.

• tax payer on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Maybe only 17k in R&D project. ……

• Like a beggar on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:23 pm

blood sucker parasite…

• oklah on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Why every news pertaining to Proton must show that 4 stooges? No other better photo to post?

• ryanit (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Proton should demonstrate their determination in improvement by showing the development blueprint to the public (coz u getting money from us), rather than using Dr. M’s political power to tackle the problem this way.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:39 pm

1 billions can build good roads. . Few hospitals. .Many schools. . Search MH370 costs..

Bloody Protong Sampah. . Boleh x jgn menyusahkan org?

This country now under crisis. . You simply asked money?

Mana kera2 macai P1??.. show yourself. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • InnocentRakyat on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Is this Proton’s latest business strategy?
    By asking from the Government and get the Rakyat’s money directly from the source when it cannot sell its cars to save its own arse?

Requiring political intervention!!!!????

Why not ban all other cars in Malaysia and only allow Proton on the road?

Easier that way, nothing for us Rakyat to compare and complaint.

• Where is Ah Beng?? I am sure he got 101 reasons to justify why Proton deserves the RM 1.7bil.

• Taxpayers money!

• mivec101 on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

The Saga and Parasite is never ending. Proton will keep on asking for more funding in the future to cover up its own inadequacies and incompetencies, even though it has been privatized, like a malignant cancer. The best way to cure it (and save the government and tax payer money) is to KILL IT!!

Malaysian auto industry will not fail without Proton, on the contrary it will flourish handsomely without it. It is time for the government to pull the plug!

• wan to push up sales?
    do lifetime warranty

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

P2 rebadge & use Daihatsu’s platform. . They talk kork..

Now P1 is THE KORK.. the supporters as well..

• zaragon on Jul 21, 2014 at 2:59 pm

I thought proton already bought by DRB hicom which is syed mokhtar punye… then how can still ask for gomen money??

• Professor Ton Proton Campro Sam Loouis on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:04 pm

With all these money Proton got from the government, they should really improve all their shit. Come on Proton, can you really wake up now? It’s 2014 already, we want you to improve and make nice premium cars, not another cheap Tin Can kosong car with cheap quality.

• Proton please close down and start a fresh company. Building new cars with better quality might save you. Proton image in malaysia has already been looked down. 1.7 billion of rakyat money?? Wtf man…crazy.

• jordi on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:27 pm

THIS IS COMPLETE AND UTTER BULLSHIT!!!!

• jordi on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

THIS IS COMPLETE AND UTTER BULLSHIT!!!! They implement GST to shore up government funds, and this is what they use it for?!! Come on… if you cannot compete with Perodua just close shop. JUST CLOSE SHOP!!!! I don’t see Perodua asking government for handouts?

And i also foresee MAS will be doing the same thing too very soon.

I apologize for the rants, I normally just read the comments and article, but this is just too much.

• rubbish company run by rubbish people asking for rubbish demands.

• Hahaha on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Haha tats gonna be crazy! If the 1.7b is fully utilised for R&D plus attitude change of the workers of P1, i guess P1 will improve (nt many but a little)! Tsk tsk look at how’re kia and hyundai doing now.

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Just wonder if the Gomen will entertain P2 if P2 is also asking for funding but at only half the amount the grand old man is asking.

• azrai on Jul 21, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Here goes half of our next years GST collection.

• Is this a joke? 1.7b as incentive? R&D makes them more money than selling cars!

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

1.7b ringgit?
    So in the next few years can we see more variabilities?More variant of engines?Compact/sedan/suv/mpv/4 wheel drive/van/limo and rally cars?
    If u need 1.7b just to produce 1.3 & 1.6 then its wasting of time.

• budakjahat on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:06 pm

RM1.7 Billion For Proton?..Better give it to Sarawak & Sabah for development…roads & facilities..

• Sinile on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:08 pm

This kind of bullshit challenges my patriotism

• along on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:23 pm

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• AVH (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Wow more bad news from proton, first proton cars is going up, so so long to your ‘people’s car’. Secondly this. Actually come to think of it, it is good news, I can’t be accuse anymore for not supporting proton…..
    …..because by paying tax I’am already supporting it, and buying foreign or CKD cars, buying a foreign branded car, I’am actually paying for half a proton in reality. So don’t blame me for not patriotic.

“This is actually a normal practice on the car industry”
    Of course it is, GM and…..ermmmm. ……and, hmmmm, can’t think of others really since ford paid for it. Oh you mean this one Doctor
    – http://paultan.org/2014/05/27/japanese-manufacturers-collaborate-fuel-efficiency/ –
    Well technically that the Japanese putting aside their rivalry and collaborating for a common and positive cause. So much that the Japanese government felt the need to fund them ¥1-billion (not the manufacturer shamelessly bagging) and that’s just RM31.5million ringgit or 1/5th of what proton is asking.

Ok so GM, General Motors. They were given USD 11.5billion. In Malaysian language, RN36.5mil. So yea significantly more than protons for a company 100 years in the making…….BUT! GM churn out a surprising number of cars in 2013, 9 million vehicles rolled out of GM factories worldwide. Proton? 136….thousand. It’s unfair to compare a small humble ASEAN manufecturer and a US power house. But in contrast of the funds we are asking, that’s RM4mil per car sold for GM……and a stupendous RM8mil !!!! And to motor heads, GM can be forgiven because of Corvettes, Cameros and Cadillac, the best proton can muster is a under-efficient hatchback. (Thou it must be said, GM built quality are known to be….under-standard much like our local boy).

What has been said for proton has already been said. And after The MAS tragedy, I believe the Doctor will want to do all he can to save what’s left of his legacy…..so sit back, lower your head and smile, I’ll with another 10 years for protons survival.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Sorry USD11 bil is equal to RM36billion.
      And yes that’s still RM4million bail for every GM car sold in a year while proton, after a slight recalculation….
      ….proton is asking …..(wait for it) ….. Rm12.5million for every proton badged car and mind you, GM is declared bankrupt at the time while not Proton.

• Lets compare with other companies’ R&D budget (http://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Trends/Japanese-carmakers-R-D-at-all-time-high);

1. Volkswagen = 10.2 billion Euros (RM 43.8 billion)
    2. Toyota = 960 billion Yen (RM 30 billion)
    3. Honda = 650 billion Yen (RM 20.4 billion)
    4. Nissan = 500 billion Yen (RM 15.7 billion)

Even if we assume they split the money into more researches (say, 10 for every 1 Proton research), they are still light-years ahead just by looking at the baseline they are starting from and the engineering talents they have at their disposal.

So don’t count on the next Proton model to be THE One. (Satria)Neo already passed us by and still Proton cannot be saved. (According to The Matrix, we need to wait for the 6th iteration.)

Proton does not need to steal money from us, they need to steal technology from aliens.

• poor petrolhead on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:34 pm

If proton is asking the 1.7B as closing down compensation I think Rakyat may feel better and close 1 eye. Short term pain is better than never ending parasitic illness for the nation. Where else in the world will have a company close down n make people feel proud n releaf… Boleh land only I think.

• True Malaysian on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:36 pm

It’s simple. Don’t who often have break down with Proton cars (or anti-Proton extremists) are usually never pray 5 times a day, never go to temple/church, and always do sin 24.7.

That’s why God punish you. Because I have TWO Protons, so far its never been a problem to me. Power window problems is a small norm which they can fix it in future cars. Every manufacturers have their own trademark problems.

Even South Korean/Japan citizens give their manufacturers SEVERAL chances to come up with good cars, and I don’t see why we shouldn’t give ours to Proton.

Tak suka jugak? Go and let yourself got kidnapped by Filipino gunmen. at least you’ll get a ‘new country’ to live outside Malaysia with the rebels lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:55 pm

South Koreans are forced by their government to give their cars a chance. Foreign cars were until very recently extremely expensive. Now that their market has opened up a bit Koreans are desperate to buy non Korean cars.

• DENIED!

• Henry on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Proton ask for money. Lotus also ask for money. Dey, this country is not a gold and diamond mine. How about earning some of your own?

• kckuni on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Government collects my tax and pay Proton, then I spend money again to buy a proton car, how much a proton car cost me?

• faizul on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

the way i see it, proton gonna be premium cars soon.

• kenny on Jul 21, 2014 at 5:35 pm

why are we feeding the tumour again? It will be growing to another giant tumour.

• no money = buy perodua if no choice la (for new cars)
    got money = anything but proton (for new cars)

what i apply in real life. also make sure your new card got 6 air bags and stabilitiy control so that your family and you are protected!

• Hadi75 on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

What the f##k!!!!! RM1.7 billion….are f##king kidding me….instead of giving that amount to proton, the gov should spend it on the rakyat…..
    “Reimbursement….incentive are given when new tech are developed….” What new tech has proton developed that goes to their products???

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 6:58 pm

1.7? That is ridiculous. Give them 0.3 for the GSC and then that’s the end of it. Nothing. And be transparent about it. How much money do you need to attach a boot to the GSC? Does Proton really need a D segment car that is very different from the car it is based on? Do they really need a D segment car, period?

• pearjai on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Bad news for us !

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Datuk Najib.. please reject this nonsense. . Use the money to recover our crisis now!!

Non feasible company. . Go to hel.

• R&D so geng! on Jul 21, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Yes that 1.7billion Ringgit goes to the R&D team in Proton to research how to smoke their lamps in a different shade so they can launch more “Executive” variants.. Oh let’s not forget that the R&D team is working hard on developing new steering wheel design, front bumper design and rear chrome garnish for the Proton Accord… Yes I believe this RM1.7B of the rakyats money will be put to good use. Kudos !

• Haiya….Why be so modest and segan asking ONLY 1.7 billion, Proton??

Since the Govt and Proton think that the rakyat money is their money…might as well ask for 17 billion…Segan tapi mahu, kan?

Proton should ask for the same about of money every single year.

Maybe Proton will be the 1st car company in the world that could bankrupt a Nation. Baru terror!

• no more 1.7billion to Proton! thats people money!Its time to get on your own foot!

• Angry on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Govt must learn to say NO. Sink or swim… P1 must learn to take care of themselves.

I bet DrM would jeer if the previous P1 mgmt had panhandled the govt for any money. But its ok becoz now DrM is in charge.

• old dog on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:44 pm

He definitely has NO SHAME…..

lousy business plan and action for 30 years and still want to get money where protection is all given, and yet still not satisfy….

Greed has no end…

• Potong_u_olang on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Please do not waste our taxpayer’s money!!!

• protan on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Gov would approve the funding.

• donuts on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Ask him to run his Lespresso well first la, its going to tapau very soon as no customer most of the time….

I see the other bakery shop also closing shop soon…the staff attitude is excellent…

• ProtonBest! on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:12 pm

This must be a new Malaysian Book of records for the most Thick-Skinned company ever ! I didn’t know the rakyat owes Proton so much money after all that they already taken.

• Jason Tan on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:43 pm

SO Mahathir’s solution to Proton is to ask for money from the government!!! Any tom, dick and harry can do that – don’t have to ask this old man. Even after retiring he still trying to squeeze money from our government.

• ben yap on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Songlap time!!

• justmy2sense on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:48 pm

the only way to save proton and become the world class car maker is getting allot of help from TESLA motor and elon musk . Everyone know now the electric car aged , tesla motor now are welcoming all the car maker to used their technology with open source . Proton will still have good market share in Malaysia if it can go full electric , not to mention the petrol price today .

• re-badge on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Damn u proton, doing copycat & rebadge work, then now ask Malaysian to pay u 1.7million.

• money sucking game on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:05 pm

From the day mahatir step in protong again, he already hv the whole plan ‘suck rakyat $$’ plan. now we rakyat suffered. First sell cheap cheap saga, now is pay back time.

• the sad fact is…. proton will get its money fr the government, either openly or in different channels.

Simple facts, they are all the same team on the same boat.

This is why any additional tax/GST/cut in fuel subsidies is bad, bcos any extra income that goes into the government’s pocket doesn’t translate into better public benefit/facilities, but to feed more greedy parasites.

• Hadi75 on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:53 am

Agreed with you…..even with the current taxation, wastage, mismanagement of the public fund is still rampant…every time there’s subsidies cut, the point given is that we will use the money to improve this and that but it is just full of s##t…..

• baffled again on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:49 am

To Tun

Since you joined your tone has been arrogant and demanding, not the traits of a wise leader.

Have you forgotten that you are the seller not buyer. Imagine if another 10% of buyers switch to perodua. Go back to your roots. Be humble. You are not in the position to make noise. Even VW can be brought to its knees if we decide so.

• unforgiven on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:14 am

Tun M, it’s more blessed to give than to take. Give as in to the people, not to the cronies.

• messi on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:06 am

To kill Proton is to stop buying Proton including the 2nd hand used car.

They will bankrupt within a year.

1.8 billion can subsidize how many chinese and tamil school and build how many hospital for the rakyat and help the poor?

This old man still want to protect his cronies at the expense of the rakyat.

I wonder why this type of people still exist in this world and create others to suffer just because of his legacy.

Why God want this type of people remain in this world to make other suffer? Got got no eye?

• if gov reimburse the money to proton, then proton must lower down the price tag at least half. Most of the cost incurred on r&d was paid by tax-payers.

• Proton Owner on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:36 am

I dont think kill proton will solve everything.
    If u don’t by proton, by buying imported car government will suck your money via car import duty..

Best solution -> AP abolishment, lets proton play with actual market without protection..

• close down proton on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:43 pm

how many year r&d … qlity like shit ?!!!!! expensive some more ….use taxpayer money .what else … proton can do . beside , pressure malaysian buy it shit car . damn

• close down proton on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:49 pm

aiyooo …. proton cannot sales , stupid R&D ,bad quality , suck money , … is nothing for them … not money can request , ah tok give money …. so for wat they work hard .
    R&D >>> /// ??? CHANGE badge … honda accord to proton perdana …… shit … MALU LA SIKIT

ah tok … baby nak minum susu .