SPYSHOTS: Volkswagen Jetta facelift seen on trailer

Volkswagen-Jetta-Facelift-Spyshot-0003

Is Volkswagen preparing for the launch of the Volkswagen Jetta facelift in Malaysia? Reader Hugo from VW Jetta Club Malaysia sent in this set of photos of a single covered up Jetta being transported on a trailer along the Gombak highway today.

We recognise it as an update to the Jetta from the tail lamps, which have been reshaped on the inside edges, with the lower line now cutting more steeply upwards. There are also new alloy wheel designs, which now add thinner spokes in between five thicker spokes.

This is actually quite a surprise since the facelifted Jetta has not even been launched in important right-hand drive markets such as the UK yet, with it having been unveiled in left hand drive form in the US just a few months ago. VW claims improved efficiency across the facelifted Jetta range, thanks to improved aerodynamics and newer, more advanced engines.

2015_Volkswagen_Jetta_facelift_04
The North American 2015 Volkswagen Jetta facelift was unveiled in April this year

The 160 PS twincharged TSI motor has been replaced by a turbo-only 150 PS version of the 1.4 litre TSI petrol engine, which also get with automatic stop-start and battery energy recuperation systems as standard.

Other updates inherited from the latest Golf Mk7 include an updated steering wheel, instrument cluster and automatic air con controls, and safety features such as Blind Spot Detection, Rear Cross-Traffic Alert, and Frontal Collision Warning to go along with the new piano black and chrome trimmings.

North American 2015 Volkswagen Jetta facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• That is some #uglyrims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • sutrak on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:30 pm

agree, those rims are awful. current jetta much better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Boikot Protong on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:30 am

The price is RM130K twice than Preve because it is twice better quality than Preve too. Truth hurts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
      • Seriously on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:39 pm

You’re comparing this to a Preve? Seriously?

• Why, it’s 5 x 2 = 10 star euro NCAP kah?
        It’s twice better coz it’s DSG

(Drivetrain Selalu Gagal)

• Tinkerbell on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:22 am

PLS DONT READ THE COMMENTS HERE IF YOU ARE A VW FAN.

ALL THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS HERE ARE WRITTEN BY COMPETITOR CAR SALESMEN HURT BY THE SALES IF VW IN MALAYSIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
      • scrik on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:33 pm

VW where got fans, only bashers. Keep it for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • DSG DSG DSG DSG on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

VW Facebook comments in Malaysia never lie. These facebook accounts all got about 300 friends each and been active for over 5 years. They are not fraud facebook comments.

Any new buyers better read all the comments there. Two main issues

1) DSG has not been sorted out. It still breaks down continuously. DSG cannot handle Malaysian weather and Malaysian traffic jams. Till today, so many breakdowns and complaints. All on facebook. People with 2014 cars with DSG are breaking down non stop. With the weather getting even hotter, it is not just your house aircon that is not working, the DSG also is kaputting like crazy.

2) Service centres stink. Have you wondered why even you cannot even park your car in the service centre? All bays full? Every corner also people selit their cars?

Because they are all DSG cars waiting to be repaired. At least 2 months wait for each DSG to be repaired. That is why VW service centres, even customers going to the showroom also got no place to park their cars.

Buyer beware. You have been warned.

• Oh Gitu on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Awesome ride…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • It is an audi a3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • vwowner on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Where are the significant changes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Oscar on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Ugly rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • protan on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Pls bring DRL and bi-xenon into the FL. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • dsg fail on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:37 pm

7 speed dsg or 6 speed ?

• John Lee on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:56 pm

7 speed or 6 speed DSG also won’t fail as your name written. How often do you hear DSG failing these days after the global recall? Almost never! It’s always the my friend, my friend’s brother, my bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • dsg fail on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:37 pm

7 speed dsg or 6 speed ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Just stay away from this junk… I beg you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 49
    • sutrak on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:32 pm

just stay away for yourself… why do u want to beg others? others have their own minds and can make good decisions for themselves..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • VWSUCKS on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Still sucks. DSG failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
    • nothing better to say on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:22 am

asyik DSG DSG DSG, tak ada benda lain ke ?
      This thing has been rectified lah! What you know about VW, have you owned one ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
      • I have 2 vw and both have dsg issues…both need to change its clutch pack & mechatronic at about 45k-50k mileage.(both dsg7). Need to get rid of this 2 nuisance before its 2 + 3 years warranty expired. Clutch pack & mecha changes will cost 12k-14k after warranty.

Btw, do u have a VW??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
        • nice try! quite realistic. a tip to fabricate stories and make it even more realistic:
          Say bad things, but at the end try hard to give some credit to the brand, it makes it even more realistic. and, don’t use extreme examples too.

• Bob_B78 on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:13 am

Mine is 2013 CBU Jetta and my mechatronic kaput 3 weeks ago after 10 months of ownership. Before this, i used to snub those who comment about DSG failure. So, reality check and I will still snub those who don’t own VW but like to act that they are an expert on DSG.
        Final conclusion:
        1. If you enjoy driving and looking for a powerful and efficient car, this is the car for you.
        2. If wan reliable and dont wan to feel malu when your car breakdown by the roadside, stay away from VW.

PS: My car brokedown in Gurney Paragon and if you ask me if I feel ashamed at that time, the answer is NO. For I am in Final Conclusion (1)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • sutrak on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:05 pm

what is the symptom your car is showing that u think it’s mechatronic failure?

• Bob_B78 on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:19 pm

My car was stuck in either 1st gear or reverse gear. VW service center told me they verified is mechatronic failure so changed a new unit for me.

• sutrak on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:17 pm

they didn’t call you for their recall campaign to change the DSG oil to mineral oil?

• Bob_B78 on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:55 pm

They did change the oil on my 1st service. But obviously it did not solve the mechatronic woes.
            I just wonder who else also suffer the same fate as after oil change

• Xiao Hao on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:42 pm

ya agree with you definitely. happened to me as well. but it happened during the recall period. so they rectified the problem and change a new unit for me as well! All is well. I must say they have been kind and nice to me so far unlike how I have read so many negative comments about VW

• Justin on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I suggest you buy a VW car with DSG first before you say DSG is a failure. I personally own a Polo GTI and my DSG has never been a huge problem to me. Before recall no problem, after recall also no problem. So what kind of failure are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Jul 21, 2014 at 9:48 pm

DSG problem rectified for the facelift?

• as long as they are using the dry clutch dsg 7, it will have problem due to our hot climate. Btw, go check, US jetta not using dsg7..its either normal torque converter autos, manual or a more reliable wet clutch dsg6. My guess, because of the law in US will really punish manufacturer if any component are defective or have safety issues. (ie thats why dsg7 dry clutch are not being used in the States)…see how VW cheats Msian/China/other 3rd world countries

• Bob_B78 on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Not quite true actually, US does offer 7 speed dry clutch DSG for Jetta Hybrid

• Oh yeah, they started selling jetta hybrid about1-2 years ago…taa dahh…see what happen…

http://wot.motortrend.com/1311_recalls_volkswagen_tiguan_lighting_and_jetta_hybrid_dsg_issues.html

Jetta hybrid dsg7 recalled and starts having problem in US

• vince lau on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:41 pm

as far as i know the dsg problem has been rectified last year. the new models don’t face dsg problem also because they changed the gb oil from synthetic to mineral which has higher heat capacity and could stand our hot malaysian weather

• vw fan on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:11 pm

the moment i’ve been waiting for.
    for the facelifted jetta, finally you’re here.
    i assume it will only be launched next year as VW only CKD’ed it’s previous Jetta this year.

Pleasant suprise.

• sutrak on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:34 pm

ya, i found this odd as well… u just CKD the jetta, now u bring in a facelift model? presumably CBU? what are u trying to do VW?

• Rick Lee on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:13 am

They are giving you more options, you dumb ass. Isn’t that what everyone ones?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • sutrak on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:08 pm

stupid Lee a disgrace to your own clan. can’t you debate like an adult rather than ranting like a child and criticize others?

my comment is valid. no manufacturer will introduce ckd and then bring in facelift cbu within a couple of months. what do you expect ur customer to do? buy the new one and cannibalize sales of your just recently ckd model?

• somlor on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Either it’s CBU or CKD it won’t have RV

• mankind at it's lowest on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:23 pm

What kind of person are you?
          Talk anythin you want but why using vulgarity at people?
          Sutrak just gave a harmless opinion.
          Why lash out at others?

• Paul.. Can you pls check with vw about the gearbox? Still the same or new gearbox.
    Hihihihi.
    Sure they will tell you. No oooo this gearbox can last lifetime….. Hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Tree Hugger on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Recent VW minimalist design languange never produces any offensive look until this rim design came around. They should have used the same rims like those on the US Jetta. I don’t know what their rim designer was drinking when he came out with this idea.

• blackjack on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Why cant we get the 6speed automatic like the US version rather than crappy DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • if they sell dsg7 in US…VW will be sued till they bankrupt..here in msia no prob, can cover up the problematic dsg7

• DSG ain’t crappy bro, you just got to try them to know how great it feels. And to say that DSG always break down, it ain’t true. The problem has been fixed. Even if there is a problem, just send back to SC

• jiter on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:10 pm

For how month to wait? There goes my annual leave, nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!

• vwtowtruck on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Wait till your Vw masuk workshop. That time you will curse and swear coz you will be taking buses to work for long long time.

• fantasy1989 on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:50 pm

jetta? DSG?

no more twincharged!? Bersyukur.jpg

• Michael Lee on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:58 pm

No wonder VW giving RM16k discount for the new CKD Jetta

• tishaban on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:44 am

A 2012 Jetta is already going for as low as RM90k on mudah, I wonder how much lower pre-facelift models will go for once this one is out.

• Pseudo on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:24 am

VW Polo GTI facelift mana??

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 6:25 am

Intriguing. They just CKDed this.

Normally VW Group comes with some of the best looking rims, some say even in the business. However this has got to be the ugliest things I have ever seen.

Dumping the Twincharged engine makes sense though. Reliability of the Twincharged was not its strongest point, and so was production costs too which were expensive and difficult to make.

Though after seeing what MQB can do and the new A3, I would wait for the new MQB Jetta first, cause there is a lot of tech in the new platform, as seen on the Golf 7.

• FailVW on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:05 am

What gearbox they using? wet or dry DSG?

• gbfail on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Both are junks

• James on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:48 am

Have you tried owned a VW car with DSG? No? Then you wouldn’t know how awesome it is. Despite all the negative things people say about it, it is actually more reliable than those comments.

• Coming from someone who never owned one before right? Try DSG before you start talking about it. I’ve used Polo GTI and Golf TSI, I can tell you that DSG ain’t junks.

• Jaybond on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:30 am

I thought VW’s twincharged engine is more advanced than VW’s turbo engine ,(construction-wise)? But perhaps, the fuel efficiency is better on the normal turbo engine. Anyway,VW must incorporate the DRL on the Malaysian facelift version.Otherwise, it’s not worth the facelift exercise.The new rims unfortunately looks hideous (sorry to say even Suprima’s rims looksbetter than this). A simple thick 5 spokes wheels will be just fine (or just copy the US Jetta’s version).

• seancorr on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:27 pm

If they are using a less complex engine then the price should go down a bit to reflect the cost savings.

• Bob_B78 on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Existing Jetta already have DRL. What you want is LED DRL which is found on the new Golf

• Jaybond on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:34 am

DRL has always been LED units from the early days it was pioneered by Audi..

• Bob_B78 on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:19 am

Not that I want to argue wirh you but DRL stands for Daytime Runing Lights, not Daytime Runing LED. Since Jetta lights is always on so the existing model has DRL. Source:Wikipedia.

• amirad on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:31 am

I hope VW Msia brings in the Jetta GLi. That is one sleeper car.

• peter on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:53 am

not bad looking but gearbox and drivetrain is an expensive nightmare……

• mmaker on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

They change rim only and then called this is a facelift model?

• LeYuv (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:24 am

Never understood the hype over this car.. It’s overpriced and it’s hideous.. Friend who has one has had the car die on him 6 times in a little over 2 years.. Sure, it’s powerful and whatnot.. But honestly, non-justifiable cost IMO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • hello on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:32 am

A ‘friend’ story again.

Now, it’s CKD so the price of this car is on par with other C segments and better equipped. Though I agree as with most Malaysians, we would prefer the price of cars to come down further, you can’t single out VW being overpriced as ALL cars are overpriced in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • DrCooper on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:07 am

It maybe has German engineering but no aesthetic looking at all. Yuck.. at that ugly front face

• Bill Gates on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:28 pm

only in Malaysia where ppl still bersyukur to a carmaker even though the car spends more time in the workshop than with the owner

• Chandran on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:09 pm

DSG can tahan our weather or not

• Michael on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:53 am

Guys, don’t be full by those salesman of VW, problem of VW cars in Malaysia is FAR FAR BEYONG DSG7!

One thing obvious: service advisor see us customer like ghost wanna send us away fast, of course after pay big check!

• Michael on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:54 am

Guys, don’t be fooled by those salesman of VW, problem of VW cars in Malaysia is FAR FAR BEYONG DSG7!

One thing obvious: service advisor see us customer like ghost wanna send us away fast, of course after pay big check!

• iqbal87 (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 9:49 am

lampu belakang tiru preve? hahaha