Chevrolet Malibu sighted at Naza Automall PJ

Chevrolet-Malibu-Malaysia-0003

We’ve known that the Malaysian D-segment market would be stirred up a bit by a Chevrolet for some time now. When this generation of Chevrolet Malibu was first unveiled in 2011, GM said that it would be a global car like the C-segment Chevrolet Cruze.

In January this year, we found brochure scans teasing the arrival of the Malibu in Malaysia, and this was followed by the sighting of an ad on car classifieds website oto.my listing the Malibu for RM163k.

We sighted the Chevrolet Malibu with our own eyes for the first time yesterday evening when a colleague saw this black unit parked outside the Naza Automall PJ along the Federal Highway. A quick check with a sales advisor revealed an estimated price of RM175k and a RM15k discount for the first 500 early bird buyers. The car is a CBU import from South Korea.

This car isn’t the latest facelift version, which had an early debut in mid 2013, just one and a half years after the original design rolled off the line in October 2011. It could be a US market specific thing, as the latest generation of US market cars seem to be getting early facelifts due to some kind of mass misreading of market tastes or perhaps stiff competition – the US market Honda Civic received a similiar fast track facelift.

The Chevrolet Malibu will take on D-segment in Malaysia, dominated by Japanese competitors like the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord and Nissan Teana. It looks pretty handsome, and there’s a hint of muscle in the ‘inspired by Camaro’ rear end.

Underpinned by GM’s Epsilon II platform, the Malibu comes with a range of engines, depending on market. There’s a 2.4 litre Ecotec (165 hp/225 Nm), a 2.5 litre with 197 hp/259 Nm, a 3.0 V6 with 260 hp/290 Nm, or even a 2.0 turbo with 260 hp and 353 Nm. A 160 hp/350 Nm 2.0 VCDI diesel engine is also in the range. The Malaysian car will most likely get the 2.4 litre Ecotec.

We’ll be back with more news, while you can follow Chevrolet Malaysia’s Facebook page for updates.

Chevrolet Malibu at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:44 am

Its the prefacelifted model..

Dont buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
    • ss427 on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:57 am

unfortunately the FL version will not be made for RHD Malibu…. seems like GM snubs RHD countries and they enlist Korea GM Daewoo to build the car.

Its a nice car seriously. Even longer than the fugly ACV50 Camry. But the 2.4L Ecotec CMI.. Its weak even with dual VVT. The 6AT can’t save the day when the engine is weak. The 3.6L V6 is the one to go for… else it will be the 2L Turbo.

See the SG market Malibu specs sheet here… TMD… window curtain airbags got deleted even though we got the top spec LTZ model… (

http://chevrolet.com.sg/cars/malibu-2-4-ltz/

• quadjet on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Chevrolet abandoned the name “GM Daewoo” long time ago already. They are selling their car under name of “Chevrolet” now like here.

• 100% agree.. why should malaysian .. no matter RHD market should only get 2011 (prefacelift) model?? if the price really competitive.. maybe ok.. if not.. just forget it.. we have nicer and latest model Mazda6.. and other better choices like Teana, 508, Accord and Camry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • impaled on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:14 pm

wonderful news!! oh.. when is the impala coming in??? i’m dying to own one!! take my money chevy.. just take it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • syafiq on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:04 am

i will cancelled my order @ BIMMER. I will go for MALIBU. experience it while working in USA.
    sUPERB CAR.. BYE BYE BIMMER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 52
    • Daduq on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:03 pm

No one care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:36 pm

I will cancel my booking on Ferrari since this car can sit more people.
        Kidding ya.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • impaled on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:15 pm

oh course… the malibu drives like you’re vacationing in malibu.. bmw cannot even come close..

• gdsob on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:20 pm

HEHE Giving up a German for an American… Not just any American, a Chevy.

Can I have whatever you’ve been smoking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Francis on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:19 am

@syafiq, You experienced Superb in States but doesnt mean the same over here, the biggest factor you need to consider is the weather climate and fuel type.

• hukaka on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:36 am

bring some 60-70 smodel coming to Malaysia next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • No one will look at a normal chevrolet…unless its a bumblebee..then someone will look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • fast5 on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

Good car, especially in S.Korea is really popular.
    Somehow when arrived in m’sia it become pricey thanks to AP tax and import tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • The design already looks outdated before launching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Jaybond on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:50 am

Could be a good alternative in the sea of Japanese D segment cars (especially that nice red coloured car). The interior also looks upmarket and well designed with nice leather trims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • nobrand on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Design not quite suite malaysian taste. Service centre very limited. Will compete with passat, peug 508, ford mondeo, honda accord 2.4 , sonata 2.4, camry 2.4, mazda 6 . Drivetrain is an advantage. Sale will be moderate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • stranger on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:05 pm

2.4L only produce 165hp?
    I would rather go for Honda Accord with that kind of price along with horsepower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Max. Torque (Nm/rpm) 225/4600 – very competitive in its segment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Nice… Will wait for the review on Driven. Hopefully they will price it right.

• Philp on Jul 22, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Every car makers are the same. Limited service centre is not an excuses. Last time when Peugeot, VW, Mazda came in Malaysia, every person afraid of getting one, because of what? because of unfamiliar with the car and with so many reasons. But why now they are so running so good? Because people willing to give chances for them to build up the reputation and reliability and more facilities for the their own customer. So, buy any car you like and feel comfortable. Malibu comes in Malaysia is good, it will definitely motivate other car makers in Malaysia. I’ve driven the Malibu, ride comfort is better than Accord. Mazda 6 is way too stiff for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • sambalbabi on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

picture don’t do justice on how this car looked on the real.

seen some brunei-plated already on the road, and i got to say to those who love a car that looks muscular yet compact, this is really captivating.

• azrai on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Maybe Bumblebee version will make a good marketing strategy for NAZA this time.

• Dragon on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:43 pm

MALIBU?
    Whats its means? Latin Word?
    Chevy, U dont have OTHER great name for a CAR?

How about KANLIBU~ Oppss..too rude.
    Kani-niabu..malibu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • Jilbaber on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Nice looking car, promising spec, too bad it’ll not gonna do well in this beloved country due to its rakyat mentality

• Interior looks pretty awesome

• myrujukan on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:55 pm

front design a bit same like previous Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • isuzuki on Jul 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Ada diesel?

• I will wait for Ford Mustang 2.3L ecoboost

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Well well, I see the photos were taken with an iPhone!

Anyway, back to the car, for me, I’d wait for the new Fusion aka Mondeo. Thing with Chevy is, they don’t drive that well, and the interior quality is not as good as Ford. Take the Sonic against the Fiesta, and the Cruze which feels cheap and dull compared to the Focus. (Thank goodness Chevy Malaysia did not bring in the hatch Cruze, it’s horrid).

The Malibu on the outside looks inoffensive, but just imagine parking that to a new Fusion or Mondeo, I’d spend my money on the Ford.

• Ainon on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Considering its competing against the Accords & Camrys(?) in the D segment, should have upped the ante by introducing the Impala instead of the Malibu but keep the price at RM175k. The Impala could be a class on its own cos there’s no Taurus, Azera, Cadenza or Avalon to compete with it here.