Ford EcoSport sighted in JPJ Putrajaya – launch soon

The Ford EcoSport has landed in Malaysia – regular contributor ApexKit sent us pictures of the Fiesta-based B-segment crossover at JPJ Putrajaya, indicating that a launch is imminent.

This intriguing Midnight Sky example looks to be in mid-spec Trend trim judging by the plainer four-spoke 16-inch alloys and black fog light surrounds, rather than the six-spoke wheels and chrome fog light surrounds of the Titanium model. This indicates that there will be at least two trim levels that will be offered locally (we probably won’t get the base Ambiente variant).

Inside, it appears that the Trend model will feature a traditional manual key start and a manual air-conditioning system – niceties such as keyless entry and start as well as automatic climate control are expected to be reserved for the Titanium.

Click to enlarge screenshots

The EcoSport will be powered by the same 110 PS/142 Nm 1.5 litre Ti-VCT four-cylinder engine and six-speed PowerShift dual clutch transmission combo as on the Fiesta 1.5, with the 125 PS/170 Nm 1.0 litre EcoBoost turbocharged three-cylinder mill coming in later.

Local distributor Sime Darby AutoConnexion (SDAC) gave an estimated price range of between RM98k and RM108k when the EcoSport was previewed at KLIMS13 last year, but a recent oto.my listing showed a price tag of RM96,888. While we wait for the final prices, you can read our review of the 1.5 litre model from Thailand.

GALLERY: Ford EcoSport test driven in Thailand

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Green on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:24 am

For 1.5Ti-VCT: City Driving = 8.6/100km or 11.6km/L.

Credible source:
    http://www.ford.co.za/suvs/ecosport/specifications/power-performance

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:29 am

Have you check carefully? The figure from South Africa is oabtained using Durashift 5-speed manual, not 6-speed Powershift (a.k.a. DCT).

For city driving using Powershift gearbox will be 8.4L/100km. However, to check the fuel consumption we must take consideration of all three modes, city, highway and combined cycle. In this case both gearboxes achieve combined cycle of 6.5L/100km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:35 am

how can GW M4 oni cost below RM60k…n this almost RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Vader (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:41 am

To compete with 2008 is good to consumer since i think that 2008 price tag may set too high. Hope this healthy competition will lower the 2008 price as well.

• slk3879 on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:18 am

Not just lowering the price of the Pug 2008, but also becoming measuring stick when for pricing any up coming models such as the Honda HR-V / Vezel.

• Saw the car in Jakarta, Indonesia, they are also preparing the launch there. Inside looks like Fiesta.

• Cinapek on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:18 am

GW M4 (60k) + first house downpayment (40k) = problem solved.

Win win situation. China boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:39 am

The gear knob is rather ugly for production car..as ugly as GSC gear knob in development stage.

• This ecosport so fuglish especially the black colour front grill showed in the picture. Like a negro biting a sausage…yet pricing very “unattractive”. Pass, next car pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • slk3879 on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:27 pm

This is one insulting comment on AFRICAN. You might not mean it, but the words that you chose, ought to be more careful and thoughtful.

• vanhoe on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Calm down my ni… African American brothers.

• 9783kls on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Sound like you are an african in Malaysia. Malaysian African? Even in US someone can publish the headlines called their president a negro. Why shouldn’t we call a car as negro…

• Hukaka on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:58 am

Saw a unit yesterday at ford PJ showroom,test drive unit.quite small but some fresh look for this kind of small SUV.

• farghmee on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:40 am

are we getting the india spec or euro spec?
    safety brooo.

• sompua on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:44 am

Spare tire outside? …Hmmmm, so outdated

• Spare tyre on the outside means there is not enuff room for the tyres to be placed on the inside of the car (boot area floor). Even the SX4 which is slightly smaller than this keeps its spare tyre inside the car. Reminding me of Kembara of the yesteryears … Next!

• seancorr on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Right so we all hope this Trend trim will be priced under RM90k and the Titanium trim will be RM97k but I think the price estimate of SDAC (Titanium at RM108k) might be right because if the Trend trim were to be priced under RM90k it will eat into the Fiesta sales figures…

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Probably the most disappointing Ford in recent times, the ones I have been in feels a bit “budget” which is such a pity, considering it doesn’t look too bad. With that pricing, good luck Ford, but I think you guys are making a huge mistake there.

• 2WD Import from Thailand, 1.5 @ RM95k++ Ford Ecosport?

4WD Perodua Nautica 1.5 CBU Japan RM89k is much more Money Value.

wheelbase:
    Ecosport: 2520mm
    Nautica: 2580mm

• who is sam? harry the greatest! on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Dear Ford Malaysia @ Sime Darby Auto,
    I have mentioned on FB before that it is almost impossible for me to buy a FORD in Msia simply because of the high exorbitant price tags.

But when I was in NZ I can buy all the FORD that I want. I had a FORD Telstar TX5 V6 24V Fully Electric which I paid cash and a FORD Territory which I took a very small loan. But here we are slaves to the banks and to the car dealers.

• My dear, that is why we have Proton for you.
      Why are you looking elsewhere?
      Ford is for American and Proton is for Malaysian.
      If you know about cars, you will agree with me.

• When will Ford Explorer be launch in Malaysia?