Lorry crashes into two cars at Kesas toll booth

kesas accident fire

An accident earlier this evening on the Kesas Highway at the westbound Sunway toll booth involving a lorry and two vehicles, a Toyota Estima and a Proton, resulted in a fire.

UPDATE: Both car drivers managed to escape without injury, the lorry driver fled the scene, while a toll booth attendant sustained minor injuries.

The incident was tweeted by Lembaga Lebuhraya Malaysia, which advised users to avoid the Kesas Highway. No casualties were reported in the accident, which was reportedly caused by the lorry.

According to The Star, a Kesas spokesperson said that “the driver must have lost control of the lorry and rammed into the toll booth and both cars. The lorry driver fled the scene. The drivers from both cars managed to escape the fire. The accident caused a jam which is clearing up right now,” he said.

Internet users and those on social media also shared photos of the incident, which caused a crawl in both directions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bob the Builder on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Was there. MASSIVE jam. And I NEED TO PEE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
    • latukBandar on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:31 pm

If you don’t go to Gaza, Gaza comes to you.

For a moment, i thought it was some photos from Gaza…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 68
      • I do not think that this will be a good comment to compare with. we have no idea how much the people in gaza are suffering and there you are saying that gaza comes to you. We shall show some respect as a human while we want to compare with anything.An accident compare to a massive killings

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:28 am

No car can survive this. So Proton fanboys don’t syok sendiri think Proton 5 star (2 models ONLY) can tahan anything.

Some more, does the involved Proton has 6 airbags, ESP, this and that?

Luckily no one injured in the incident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
          • caprico on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:55 am

there’s already an uncle who syok sendiri with the T brand.. are you? go figure…

btw, who are you referring to anyway?

• Typical Puasa Attitude on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:35 am

This is very normal. That day at only 12pm, I was in a taxi, the taxi driver because of Puasa, got so tired and knocked down a pregnant mother and her toddler on the road. Both sustained serious injuries. She probably had a miscarriage.

People who drive cars and lorries on long distance should think and use their brains. Which is more sinful? Breaking your fast or knocking a mother and her infant on the road and causing a miscarriage?

Or like yesterday, which is lebih dosa? Breaking your fast or ramming your lorry and nearly killing so many people. The whole KL was badly jammed up. The whole Kesas was not moving.

Which is lebih dosa? People should use their brains a bit. If people’s lives in your hand, looking after them is more pahla then breaking your fast. Bus drivers take note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 103
        • Reckless Drivers on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:07 am

I notice Ramadhan month, in the evening balik office, so many near accidents. Quite a number of drivers goyang and dont stick to their lanes. Many makan into 2 lanes.

What if you train driver? Your train also goyang when your sugar levels drop?

What if you pilot? Your plane also goyang left and right when your sugar drop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
        • Fadhil on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:12 am

Why blame the puasa? Why you must be so insensitive in this issue? Do we even know whether the driver is Muslim? Why jump to conclusion? It could be some foreign workers who can be either Buddhist/Christian/Free-thinker. Stop discriminating!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
        • Farghmee on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:40 am

Bro, all tembak rite?

Mind ur word.
          Tolerance has its limit, pls learn to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
          • orang asli on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Each time we touch a bit on racial, the muslim became so sensitive like a clitoris. Chill it. To break fast or not to break fast, it’s between the believers and their god.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 39
        • Carlzen on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:12 am

dont talk about puasa if you dont know nothing. you squeal like a good for nothing racist!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
        • Hadi75 on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:24 am

What puasa got to do with accident???are you stupid or something…..feeling drowsy or mengantuk is not because of puasa la stupid……dont puasa also sometime feel drowsy or mengantuk especially in the afternoon….dont involve religious responsibility with accident…..if you’re drowsy or mengantuk it doesnt matter whether you’re puasa or not…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
          • Low Budget on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:17 pm

You forget to mention after some alcoholic drinks or taking drugs trying to stay awake.

• adiwira on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:27 am

To Typical Puasa Attitude, how do you know the driver of the lorry was fasting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • kepalahotak on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:27 am

are you even sure that guy in the lorry is a muslim. what if he’s a chinese or indian and isn’t muslim..

silly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • leoRNado on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:34 am

hello brother, how do you know that the lorry driver was a muslim?. As far as news is concern, the lorry driver fled from the scene. No one knows what was happening. maybe the brake malfunction, driver sleeping etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • caprico on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:38 am

what DOES it have to do with puasa? is the lorry driver a muslim? the driver left the scene lah…

being a taxi driver is always tiresome. especially when you don’t get enough passengers. i know this because i’ve been a taxi driver myself.

and don’t talk about dosa and pahala if you don’t know much about these. thx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • SimSim on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:42 am

Like you know that the lorry driver is a Muslim. Such a childish comments… zzzz….

• mabuk on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

so if there is many mabuk driver, should we banned alcohol also? mabuk driver always hit innocent people also.

• Hadi75 on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:31 pm

TO ORANG ASLI……
          ISLAM AND MELAYU IS TWO DIFFERENT THING LA…..WHEN YOU SAID PUASA OR FASTING IS THE CAUSE OF THE ACCIDENT, IT GOT NOTHING TO DO WITH RACE…..IT MEANS YOU PUT THE BLAME ON SOMEONE BELIEF….IT MEANS YOU BLAME THE DRIVER FOR CAUSING THE ACCIDENT BECOS OF HIS RELIGIOUS RESPONSIBILTY TO HIS CREATOR…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • bisakeris (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:41 am

aiyoooo.. why u need to give racist comment??? suddently blame ‘puasa’.. pls la bro, stop being a stupid racist mf.. we all Malaysians respect each other ok..

• mayonis on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:01 am

what it has to do with puasa? if someone hit other, it was individual fault. i always see keyboard warrior, said stupid racist comment and then chicken shit when police try to investigate and then claim that their PC been hack.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm

I guess that’s the end… *sunglasses*

Of a Saga.

YEAAAAAAAAAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 34
  • why transportation department no law enforcement to restrict non pass lorry to drive on the road. nowadays most jam and accident are causes by lorry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Seriously fed up of all these big lorries carrying stones and sand. Always stone fly and hit my windscreen even when I’m like 100meters away. Jpj should do more as most of the lorries are overload. Tyre also burst everyday causing serious damage to other cars. Not to mention all those rubber pieces on the road

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 1
    • Old dog on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:11 am

Bcos those lorries were hired by business owned by cronies…or politicians…..or else you think normal businessman dare to engage them….?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 23
    • Low Budget on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:23 pm

I also ‘kena whacked’ twice by one of those idiots, ending up paying for the wind screen from my own pockets, actually we should put the blame squarely on no enforcement on dangerous driving by lorry drivers, overloading and not secure and cover their load.

• I feel your pain bro. Chipped out hundreds to repair windscreen cracks

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Well.. well… Another day, and another impatient lorry driver nearly kills a person. In fact, it’s really scary to drive anywhere near a big lorry these days, for the fear of things flying out, or the lorry toppling over, or even, as in this case, ramming into cars.

Has Malaysian drivers become this terrible?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:43 pm

It still amazes me that there isn’t much done for this kind of issue. IMO accidents involving lorries and heavy trucks are the most common cause of death on the road here but the authorities seem oblivious to that.. As if mat rempit and reckless motorcyclists deserve the most blame? Please please please Malaysia.. do something! It’s scary as heck driving near lorries!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Mat Rempits are not riders with some very influential owners that have ‘connection’, many lorry drivers have that kind of protection, I guess.

• submarine on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Has malaysian drivers become this terrible? Probably not.

Has lack of enforcement in malaysia becine this terrible??
      Hell yeah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Spirior on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:27 am

Maybe the driver is not even a Malaysian. As the case with many lorries these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Y u do dis?

• Sam Loo Wakudoki on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 140
    • Ape-man on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:33 pm

So, that’s you there in your handle (the one at the right)? No wonder all those stupid comments, i must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • farghmee on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:07 pm

don’t feed the troll some1 said.

but that unlucky estima was burnt beyond guess.
      i was there when the truck take away the estima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:09 am

Burn your car first then you make judgement whether it better than PROTON. What a disgusting comment from pathetic basher like you..

• Same L0rrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:36 am

The biggest difference between Proton and other cars are:

You don’t need to burn Proton to make it a junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Time and time again the biggest culprits of highway accidents are lorries whose drivers are not competent, their overladen vehicles are difficult to stop on time, they like to overtake their own slow heavy species while disregarding behind faster moving cars, stopping at road side like none of their business, very little red back-light that you could not see from distance blah blah blah. Kurang ajar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Some of those Fcking lorry drivers even threatened smaller vehicles driving on the slow lane, especially n Kesas.

RM50 big RM50 small MKT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Bloody hell LORRIES again!!!!!! How many lives of motorist caused by these reckless driver. Pls pls do something with it. Bus express also not spared too!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • Henry on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:59 am

Road users would have observed that these idiots drive bloody fast and reckless.

• GGWP Malaysian drivers on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:42 am

Pal, nothing is wrong with the lorry and bus, it’s the driver who caused all these problems. Many of us who drive small~med vehicles as if we are racing in the track, so pls imagine when they are in the big vehicle. Just my 2cents

• huiyoo on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:50 pm

of course la lost control if drive like crazy. be more responsible, not just run away. thank god no casualty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysian lorry drivers are some of the scariest drivers in the world. Fact.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • Got use ka the lorry driver run away? Sooner later sure kena tangkap one, unless it’s a stolen lorry..

• komarad on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:31 am

usually it’s a lorry ‘hantu’…no roadtax whatsoever… and the owner would say the driver is Indon already going back to indon le… same as metro bus their driver always indonesian…

• No Tol No Accident…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Angelin on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Lorry Drivers could be illegal, high on drugs and reckless. Hope the authorities will do something about them. They are speeding, overloaded and dirtying the roads. We want back the Clean and Beautiful Malaysia we once had.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Our F1 driver again.

• M'sia Explode Again on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Another aircraft has exploded recently in the air ……… Now exploding infected on the ground, Really??? Accident ??? Damn lorry ……….

Malaysia now expert on FIRE !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 72
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Careful there sir, you’re charting into a VERY sensitive issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:38 am

Not funny.. how about you on fire.. then we make fun of you. How’s that?

Feel good?

• Samad Jain on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:43 pm

the accident should have burnt down the entire kesas toll.

No toll, no need to pay!!! Yeah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Tiger on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Dont just blame the lorry, toll plazas are very confusing and poorly designed, everyday pass by same toll booth still need to figure out which lane to follow Until last minute..try NPE Touch and Go at Pantai Dalam, Kl bound, toll located at steep corner..there is no white line to guide confused motorist on which lane to follow..some tolls forced u to overtake few lanes at once to reach yur intended destination( try NpE Kmpung Medan, Sunway bound and PLUS Subang Airport, Subang bound towards airport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Slowpoke on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:14 am

Perhaps it would help if you actually slow down before approaching the toll. Some drivers drive like they are racing to reach the toll first only to have to cut into other cars’ lane when they realised they are in a wrong lane.
      Speaking of reckless heavy vehicle drivers, don’t forget about express buses. How many more needless deaths before something can be done to rein in those inconsiderate speed demons?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • idealtech on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:25 am

True thing, even if they put on a big ”TOUCH & GO” signage still we are humans, we cant visualise our lane projectory from distance. Until a certain point we go like ”sh1t!! left left! no no right!!, damn cars!”

• Anti-Establishment on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Why did the lorry go through that road knowing damn well there’s a toll booth in the middle of the road? Did the lorry driver do any risk assessment of using that road considering that it’s a well known fact that lorries have crashed through toll booths before with dire consequences? What kind of a lorry driver is this who puts his comfort first before the road safety of others? I am outraged!

(I’m being facetious here due to the stupid questions on MH17)

• no Sam on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

Dey, if they are so damn smart, would you think they’d be lorry drivers?

• Lorrydriversuck on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Lorry drivers are all morons. Today a 10 tonne lorry tailgate me on fastlane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:57 am

This! Makes me wish I own a vaporizer gun, each time a heavy truck tailgates me I can just roll down the window & vaporize it into oblivion.

• venven81 on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:58 am

please don’t stereotype here although MOST of them are reckless drivers, there are no doubt some decent drivers as well. it’s just another job for them to make a living but PLEASE LA DRIVE CAREFULLY WITH SENSE! and i must say the owner/operator must ensure that their fleet of lorries are in well-maintained conditions before hitting the road to avoid causing more injuries or deaths even.

• Sixteen wheeler on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:57 am

Thought the lorry ran over the entire tol . And there’re no toll anymore.:(

• Denaihati on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:07 am

scary moment for the plus tol counter operator and the car driver/passenger, luckily no xplode and not lorry/truck tanker.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:09 am

Moral of the story is,remove all tolls as thy pose danger to drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:48 am

Luckily lori driver tu langgar tembok .. kalau dia langgar kereta lain kan parah .. Or else mesti ada nyawa yang melayang

• Not to curse but... on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:45 am

Not to curse but.. the only way anything will change is if someone in UMNO is involved in a road accident involving these trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • ya lor! on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Well, it happened before to someone in UMNO, MIC, PKR, PAS and even DAP leaders.. Haven’t heard anything similar to MCA leader before..

• most lorry drivers love to speed towards toll…hav no idea why they do it…the gov shd install some thing to electronically limit the top speed…

• JPJ should have some of their agents always on the stand by at every highway toll..catch those lorries which overloads and with improper protection..

shit, I got broken windshield because of some stones from a lorry..

• 정남 on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:22 am

I don’t blame anyone for being quick to assume it was the fault of the lorry driver. The lorry drivers in Malaysia are mostly reckless, to be put simply. There have been many instances where one was tailgating me on the middle lane, at a highway with a 110km/h speed limit, only to overtake me from the left most lane at a speed faster than 120km/h which is insane! I even remember being a victim to a hit and run situation involving these behemoths, and there was no way of getting them to stop on the side of the road.

Also, noting that this driver fled the scene, he could have been an illegal immigrant. OR he just wanted to avoid taking responsibility. Either way, he cannot run.

• GGWP Malaysian drivers on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:00 am

Well, my friend drive a slightly more expensive car, when i sat inside his car and kept tailgated by some random car, be it Jap, Korean or local made cars. He seem used to it while i am not comfortable at all. While drive a small car could behave that way, what if they drive bigger vehicle like lorry?

I am highlighting this because Malaysian drivers are having serious problem on driving, be it a lorry, bus, taxi, normal car or even motorbike. Enforce heavier punishment for them? Why not all? I was harassed by normal vehicle more than lorry LOL

• I tend to agree with your statement.. As for enforcement, definitely need to do it better.

But typical Malaysian will complain when they are handed with summon, blame government, saying government got no money, police officer corrupt and others..

• Samad Jain on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:27 am

lorry drivers like to think their lorries are big and strong while other cars are puny and would be scared of them…

but

Lorry drivers forgot that their lorry is ALSO heavy, bulky and definitely clumsy.

I suspect the lorry driver ran away becoz he had no licence, no permit and the lorry wasnt even his.
    Nevertheless,employers simply love these drivers becoz they are cheap. Damn business man only think about profit!!

• Joe Radzif on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:49 am

If the lorry hit VIP or VIP-link person. It will be more strict on the heavy vehicle issues…

I think…

• areos on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:56 am

I WOULDN’T BE SURPRISE IF SOMEBODY COMMENTED ..”INI SEMUA SALAH PROTON…KALAU PROTON TAK ADA, TAKDELAH LORRY TU ACCIDENT..”

• Bottom line, its all boils down to corruption.

• Sparcov on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:28 am

The lorry must be speeding…

Every road user encounter lorry speeding on highway.

I blame the government that does not impose heavy penalty to the driver and also the driver mentality that cause all this.

• rider on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:24 pm

the lorry driver, estima driver and all of who involved in this accident should sue the kesas highway for building toll gate in the middle of the road. boloh punya olang!!!

• Ainon on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:06 pm

In Malaysia the lorries & buses always hog not only the slow lane but always the middle lane and often times also the fast lane. Cars are usually squeezed into driving in the fast lane if they don’t want to be caught behind a slow lorry. There should laws not only for speeding but for hogging and disrupting smooth traffic flow just like in many other countries.

• MrDDR on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Lorry driver drink and drive. We should ban alcoholic drint in malaysia. Ban for life.

• To everyone who drive, please know the limitation of your vehicle and your driving skill.

If your vehicle has no sophisticated system like ABS, EBD, VSC, please don’t think that your vehicle will do the same thing like what an F1 car would do.

Always ask yourself, if the vehicle in front of you suddenly stop, or got in an accident, how quick is your response to that situation? If L-parking also fail, don’t even dream of driving like an F-1 driver. So, no tailgating. Keep your distance.

If you do this, there’d be less road accidents.