Proton Design Competition 2014 – our coverage so far

proton design contest 2014

Hey, budding designers! Have you submitted your designs for the Proton Design Competition 2014? We and the design team are eagerly awaiting your entries, and you’d better hurry as submissions close August 11!

UPDATE: The Proton Design Competition 2014 closing date has been extended by a week, from August 11 to August 18.

While you guys are busy working on your entries, let’s have a look at some of the our stories related to the competition over the past few weeks.

Proton’s past concepts

Emas

We started with a look at a selection of Proton’s previous concept cars to get an insight into what the design team had done before as well as to provide inspiration for the contestants. Among the cars we looked at were the Tuah, which previewed the eventual Prevé, as well as the EMAS from Geneva 2010 which kickstarted Proton’s current design direction.

Entry formats and submissions guide

espire-tuah sketch 630px

Those who need clarification on the exact rules and regulations of the competition would do well to check out our guide on submissions and entry formats, including paper size, views of the exterior to render and the type and the number of seats of the car itself. This should allow you to focus on your design without having to worry about disqualification.

The design guide

Proton Design Competition 2014 – our coverage so far

Still scratching your head over how to design a Proton city car for the year 2020? The company issued a set of guidelines for the contestants, based on what the judges are looking for in each design. We also tried our hand at our own city car design, as seen above, though we’re sure you can do better…

Interview with Azlan Othman, Proton’s head of design

SONY DSC

Last week, we spoke to Proton’s chief designer, Azlan Othman, about what actually goes on behind the scenes of the design studio, how cars such as the Prevé and the Suprima S were designed relative to their target market and how Proton’s design language will evolve over the coming years. He also gave some tips for the competition, so it’s something you should not miss!

proton-citycar2020-categories

Don’t forget, there’s still time to join the Proton Design Competition 2014, which is looking for your vision of a Proton city car for the year 2020. Up for grabs are RM58,000 worth of prizes, including MacBooks, cash rewards, an internship at the Proton R&D Creative Design Centre and even a chance to have your design immortalised as a quarter-scale model at the Proton Gallery.

This is great opportunity for Malaysian youths to be part of something that could define their future as well as that of the local automobile industry. Visit Proton’s Facebook page for the entry form and contest details.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Can we reduce the update frequency for potong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • No matter how many design contests P holds and how much money you give to P, P is not going to make it if it does not hire top talents to manage it properly. Talents like Peter Schreyer. Talent like Chris Bangle. Without talents, P will continue to milk the Govt and its ppl and continue re-badge cars for eternity.

And it does not cost 1.7 billion to hire the best talent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
      • rifle on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:38 pm

you’ll never know the future….

• blvcktint on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:50 am

how do you know proton doesnt hire top talents in their design department? do you know one of their designer had studied in lamborghini design school in italy and had practical in lamborghini though? surely an ah beng thought.

• ionlaw on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:45 am

Sure, thats why all proton cars are like super sportcar… sound like it after few years…

• forest the tree on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:45 pm

better proton to close shop, otherwise later someone begging few more billions ringgit for their R&D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:37 am

Basher, please widen up your brain. It’s already 30 years and I couldn’t argue that PROTON had help so much in our automotive industries. PROTON had grown up a lot of vendors in Msia e.g. Teck-See, Multicode, United Industries, APM and others. Remember that without PROTON, these foreign cars like Honda, Toyota, VW couldn’t easily CKD their cars in Malaysia. Not all parts are cheaper in overseas most of it have to procure here in Msia.

Now you ask PROTON to close shop? What a pathetic moron are you? PROTON are improving it’s quality with the recent C-Segment Suprima but due to same par price with B-Segment Vios & City, you bashers keep condemning that PROTON overcharge Malaysian. What a pathetic mindset demanding Ferrari spec car with a price of Kancil! GSC are about to launch in coming months and Tun M had convinced Malaysian that it will comes with high quality level. Stop bashing and support PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0rrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:33 am

Yea, through these 30 years. We also learn a word: cronies.

Whatever improvement Proton has, we don’t really care!

AS long as it doesn’t make money, please close shop. We are enough seeing Proton begging around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Works on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:52 am

Yes, please support our beloved Proton, all basher. Give them another 100 years to improve and 1 trillion tax money to invest on them…prfttt pathetic la u….

• Penang Playboy on Jul 29, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Dear Same l0rr
        Please widen your brain as well. You need more of it. We are not looking for Ferrari quality..we are just looking for respectable quality at its price. The only reason Proton looks “cheap” is because our government enforce unreasonable tax price on other non-local car’s maker. If you compare proton’s price with Toyota or Honda’s price without the tax, it is actually much more expensive and the most important thing is that its quality is inferior ( just like your pea brain) to both of them!!

Proton is just a failure, admit it.

• Beams on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:28 am

u know what is the main reason peoples hate proton??? its because of their bad record. its ur fault for fails to maintain ur quality control. its ur fault that people have distrust u guys? no need to compare proton with long established company like honda and toyota. just compare it with koreans. u can see so much improvement in koreans brand compare to proton. lastly u need to be fully fking aware that its our fking money. not urs. so we have the right to decide which car deserve to be praise and u dont have any tiny bit of right to beg the consumer to support proton. its ur job to regain peoples trust. but its not ur job whether u have done it right. for now, no u dont do it right

• Nanonanano on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

We don’t want to see any contest from poton. Save the money for yourself. Just don’t ask money from government. TQ…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • Hohomilo on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:12 pm

You got 1,7b why you need to hold this kind of contest. Ask your engineer to design, 1,7b enough for you to hire 10000 engineers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Good marketing strategy by PROTON. Hopefully it able to cultivate the younger generation to love our national car maker. Even if PROTON improving today, it’s too difficult to change the mentality of current PROTON bashers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 26
    • darjah1 on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:44 pm

took 30 years to improve something that other people did it in 10 years?
      macam took 3 years to finish standard 1.. fail and retake exam.. finally standard 2 now, but other adi standard 4..

yea you have “IMPROVED”.. somemore took so much “rakyat” money to retake your exam.. ???

and your car doesnt look like tiger, more like burung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • I read also laughing already!
        Funny and true!!!!
        Government, please dont approve the money to support Proton.

If compare to high school kids, is like didn’t get any A’s, okla, maybe 1A for the Proton Preve, the rest fail cuz copy cat. And still dare ask for scholarship. Incredibly thick face. Wow.

Just imagine Proton is a high school kid.

What happened if you award the scholarship despite failing all subjects? The kid will take it for granted. Well, you might say the kid will turn into someone bad, drop out from school or not enough education, but if the kid is committed, he can still be someone successful just like Bill Gates or Steve Jobs without help. Just own initiatives.

Better support MAS then Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • good to know there are still people like you to support our local car maker. i’m with proton on this. you go proton! all hail!

• Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:22 am

dtc, I am Preve owner. I’m satisfy with the product. I don’t understand why these bashers simply spreading out unreliable rumours to all even they not own a PROTON car.

• Ah Beng support Proton on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:35 am

Yea, good move. Proton give RM58k for the contest, get back RM1.7b FREE CASH. No other car maker can make such profit (out of nothing). I am with you too.

• Nice. you must be the proudest proton fanboi around here. Young generation will constantly insult proton because of their quality and performance.

• Ooo..

So this is the guy that approves the “Incredible” backlight of Proton Preve and Saga FLX..

If he is not that handsome I think we won’t forgive him already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Abisla…

• JY (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:56 am

Kzm,may I know where’s the link or blogspot of any car design competition …. plz

• Ada Aku Kesah on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Whatever lah Proton, but don’t even think to take a single cent of duit rakyat. Let alone to take 1.7 billion ringgit.

• kumar on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:08 pm

no point making beautiful cars. we will still have the same QC anyway.

• jacques on Jul 22, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Follow these few steps and Proton will sell like hot cakes:
    1. Hire people like Peter Schreyer to head the design.
    2. Throw away CAMPRO engine, gearbox, ECU. If you can’t build a better one, buy from other engine manufacturers instead.
    3. Produce a car with identical specs and quality (interior & exterior) as Kia Optima (D Segment) and Kia Cerato (C Segment) and sell it RM10k cheaper to Malaysian.
    4. Improve your branding by participating in high profile racing.

All the above cost less than RM1.7 billion to achieve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Just buy a photocopier, rebadging Honda, Misubishi, Exora looks like 80s design….shameful after 30 years!
    And if you get rid of the current vendors, then a ray of light.
    Otherwise, dont burden the nation.

• Yap Pei Lee on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:25 pm

So Patr,jacques,kumar,ada aku kesah,hohomilo,nanonano & forest the tree , you guys seems like hating Proton alot. Like for real, please tell me what have u done so far for the automotive industries? guna duit rakyat? explain please? if you pay income tax, do you really sure that your money straightly goes to Proton? i know you are perfect in condemning,so why dont you try use proper language to explain the newbie like me here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • excelser on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:52 pm

since you are newbie, i suggest to open up your mind and dont get brain wash easily by G and plotong..
      maybe you have not been in other countries and see how other run the government efficiently, how a automotive industry should be supported.. i dont blame your naiveness if you had been reading too much mainstream media which always portrait the “positive side” of plotong..

sorry.. automotive industry in msia is getting out of track and causing more harm to the people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rr (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:38 am

excelser, please widen up your brain. It’s already 30 years and I couldn’t argue that PROTON had help so much in our automotive industries. PROTON had grown up a lot of vendors in Msia e.g. Teck-See, Multicode, United Industries, APM and others. Remember that without PROTON, these foreign cars like Honda, Toyota, VW couldn’t easily CKD their cars in Malaysia. Not all parts are cheaper in overseas most of it have to procure here in Msia.

Now you ask PROTON to close shop? What a pathetic moron are you? PROTON are improving it’s quality with the recent C-Segment Suprima but due to same par price with B-Segment Vios & City, you bashers keep condemning that PROTON overcharge Malaysian. What a pathetic mindset demanding Ferrari spec car with a price of Kancil! GSC are about to launch in coming months and Tun M had convinced Malaysian that it will comes with high quality level. Stop bashing and support PROTON.

• poisonivy on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:29 am

a bad egg forever a bad egg, wake up from dream else we will never move on.

• jacques on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:33 am

“guna duit rakyat? explain please? if you pay income tax, do you really sure that your money straightly goes to Proton?”

Stop being ignorance. Read the history of Proton, how they transfer the shares. How they requested the Government a RM1.7 billion grant, how they requested MITI to fund RM3 billion. 97% local sales yet exported units are cheaper equipped with higher standard of safety.

Don’t get me wrong. I support our national brand but just hope they can do it right and so that we can be proud for a reason, not just blindly being proud.

When Hyundai and Kia can make it, we can also make it! But the fact shows Proton can’t, so we have to look at what are the missing pieces then fill them up and move on.

Imagine it was a fully private business over 30 years, can it possibly survive without good profit or worse, continuous losses for so many years? Nobody can, not you and me.

My advice to you young chap, don’t create a fight or arguments for no reason. Make it a discussion instead. Remember, argument is to find out who is right, discussion is to find out what is right.

I prefer discussion over argument, do you?

• Vincent on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:53 pm

First thing first. Get yourself organised. Revamp your R&D team. Get yourself a proper and agreeable IMAGE. Check all the competitors out. What they do is a IMAGE. Front grill.

Then evolve the design from the. From class A to C.
    Then you will see something new. A proper image you call your own. Not just stealing someone’s and re brand and re badge.

Hire foreign talents from oversea like VW or KIA. Give them what they want instead of hiring dumb ppl there.

Then you move forward

• poisonivy on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:25 am

why need RnD anyway when they so like to re-badge cars? new perdana for gov and inspira? joke of the industry man shame on you.

• I saw everyone are very expert in car industry here. Malaysian is very talented. Thank god.

• Kuinosan on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:04 am

Dear Proton,
    Just sell the company off at break even and call it a day. Let the ppl who really knows about designing cars show you how it’s done. Maybe then, the chances of Proton flourishing as a commendable car manufacturer might just materialize. Under the current designers and management team, the bottom line will always be RED.
    Please do not even think about touching the Rakyat’s hard earned money to support your losing course. It’s just a waste of time and money anyway. Face the facts!!!

• reckonder on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:08 am

wasting my time

• proton on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:42 am

so sad with 30years old proton who remains struggle despite helping hands from rakyat and country in the beginning.

Look at the styling of preve rear part? it looks like a 1990’s Volvo car to me. Buck up and clean up the old timer within your management and working level and you’ll stand a better chance of surviving. employing someone to shout for funding doesn’t help and yeah keep raising your prices if you this your product quality is top notch.

overall, just let the products do the talking. If its good then it’ll sell… otherwise….

• Joe Radzif on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:52 am

Hm…

I read that latest Proton products designed by Italdesign.

But I hope more design by Proton staff after this

• soohaifakesaml)rrmember on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:21 am

Paultan must be under pressure by poton and keep publishing the news for this car maker and use back the same pictures for the past weeks. Unfortunately, it will lure more and more bashers and flooded with tons of negative comments here (but truth!). We can see only few peoples (like Sam L0rr member and Joe Radzif) are the one that still leaving positive comments here and seem either they are cronies or someone related to the poton. Poton should hire more people like these two morons to keep posting the good comments for poton. Don’t tell us that you don’t want to pay since you going to have 1.7b in your pocket.

• JoeRadzif on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Oi akoo anti gomen lah…
      bila masa lak kroni nya…

huahaha

• monkeybrain on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Proton designer ran out of idea after designing a proton depicting an adult pamper.

Now they need tongkat to design even though they request 1.7 billion from taxpayers to fund them for their lawatan sambil kongkek trips.

• anak malaysia on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:44 am

my comments :-
    1. Proton doing this competition to regain malaysian young ppl to proud of malaysian product. (org tua yg suka condem proton, otak dia mmg susah mau ubah… dah jadi buluh… proton buat benda betul pon condem)
    2. proton hire Tun M… sebab nak gunakan pengaruh dia untuk dapatkan support dari established car maker mcm honda, etc..& support from gov. (no maker want to provide its product like engine, gear box, etc to proton with very small volume)… lagi kalau nak bg know-how. it is survival politic.
    3. my perception… proton usually fail if hire tech support from europe.. as what happened in tiara, savvy, neo, preve… good car but not malaysian taste
    4. my idea… what proton should do is…
    a- produce car with exact spec (space n fuel consump)…. with honda city or toyota vios. but must apply latest styling concept (garang).
    b. focus on segment with volume rather than “hi-price no volume”.
    c. hire more people to change bad perception of malaysian. marketing. tv prog. school comp. more competition. “must explain… not only shows pictures”…
    d. rnd focus on “how to save fuel consump n money on service”. “low maintainance cost”

• Bataman on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:37 am

So…we finally saw the photo of the guy in charged of all the phailed designs….Preve, Suprima etc.

:clap:

• Bataman on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:44 am

Another about Proton…if they want to sell globally, please name the cars using English as the international standard.

All the crap names…Exora, Suprima, Inspira…wtf with all the fake English names??

Toyota has Camry, Corolla. Honda has City, Accord etc.

You don’t see Toyota Bukkake or Honda Hentai do you?

Stop with the syiok sendiri and use an English name for the cars!!!

• blvcktint on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:32 pm

owh my englishhh…maybe u forgot to ask proton that they should uhhh join oh my english production team as well to improve protonss..

• ahmad ariff on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:18 pm

SO BATAMAN.. ya lorr u r right !!!..hmm???..
    so KIA use.. Karen,Optima,Sorento,picanto, forte and so on correct English names lahh??!!!
    so Nissan use.. cephiro, sylphy, teana, almira and so on.. correct English names lahh???!!!
    so WTF you are saying here… got brains or not?
    To all the Basher… i used to own a Proton Iswara which serves me well for over 8 years…
    eventhough i don’t own a Proton as of now.. it doesn’t give me the right to simply say what i want…as if you conme from some other Country and comdemned other’s who support proton! we do all born and live??? just migrate lah if you so hate everything about Proton and Malaysia..or if you don’t have a pinch of pride for being a malaysian.!!
    You are all welcomed to give constructive comments and ideas on how thing’s should be done..etc..etc
    but do your studies first and be updated before bashing about 5-10 years old of facts and figures..
    THANKS FOR THE OPPORTUNITY PAUL TAN.. I AM INDEED PROUD TO BE A MALAYSIAN..in times of good and bad.. Regards

• marcowen on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:51 pm

I’m 12 and can i join? I’m not really good at drawing but designing is my thing

• marcowen on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:55 pm

something crazier :P(nothing is impossible)’how about a flying car’be the first to patent ((sorry if this makes you laugh))