VIDEO: Honda Jazz in action – official Malaysian ads

Here are two videos of the 2014 Honda Jazz, launched in Malaysia last week. They are official ads for the new Jazz by Honda Malaysia, and one is a longer version showing the B-segment hatchback’s notable features. Check Jazz Town out to see if you agree that “it’s everybody’s kind of car”.

The new Jazz is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine developing 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm, mated to an ‘Earth Dreams’ CVT gearbox, the same drivetrain combo found in the City sedan. Claimed fuel consumption is 17.81 km/l.

The new car is 55 mm longer than its already-roomy predecessor at 3,955 mm. The wheelbase has been extended 30 mm to 2,530 (70 mm less than the City). Width and height maintain status quo at 1,695 and 1,524 mm respectively. Boot volume is now 363 litres instead of the previous 337 (all seats up).

The model’s signature rear Ultra Seats are present, of course. Apart from folding flat, the seat bases can also be lifted up to make space for tall items. The front seats can also be reclined flat.

Locally-assembled at Honda Malaysia’s No.2 Line at its Pegoh plant in Melaka, the 2014 Honda Jazz is priced, OTR with insurance, as follows: S RM72,800, E RM79,800 and V RM87,800. Modulo and Mugen kits are officially available, too.

Honda Jazz Main Pic

Full details and specs can be found in our comprehensive Honda Jazz launch report. We also had a chat with the car’s Assistant Large Project Leader, Daisuke Uragami, and gave the hatchback a preview spin in Hua Hin, Thailand. The Jazz wasn’t launched in time for Driven Web Series 2014, but we featured its sedan sister in Episode 1.

There’s more. You can also compare the Honda with rivals such as the VW Polo, Suzuki Swift, Ford Fiesta and Kia Rio via CarBase.my‘s car comparison feature. Want to read in Bahasa Malaysia instead? Launch report by our sister site infokereta.com is here.

2014 Honda Jazz 1.5 E with Modulo package

2014 Honda Jazz 1.5 E with Mugen package

2014 Honda Jazz studio shots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Just have a close visit for this Jazz.
    Found that quite a number of ppl there, but the outcome is 2 customers go for old Jazz hybrid with having ~RM9k discount and another guy go for City since he said the city is bigger and only RM3k higher.

• Same L0rrr on Jul 22, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Let’s see if people are interested on the MORE EXPENSIVE Proton GSC or the new Jazz?

• GrayImports on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:32 pm

As long ar it’s not the overpriced idiotic vios, people will show intrest.

• Same L0rrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:30 am

Idiotic or not, it is individual preferences. The waiting period still long.

• Talk kok, more preve than vios cafish on road

• Ah Beng support Proton on Jul 22, 2014 at 3:35 pm

It is hot and sexy. But it is not Proton. Sigh…

Proton, can you make something like this? I still love you, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Does the Jazz share the same engine and auto transmission as the City? Similar engine also with the 2nd generation outgoing Jazz? Wish the rear is supplied with disc brakes for the high prices that Honda Malaysia is currently asking.

• Missing Pedal shift, eco button, cruise control, reverse camera, original rear spoiler.
    All above are available for Thailand jazz.

• Haha..

Just wait and see..

Ppl r now excited becoz Honda cars r priced slightly better and looks slightly better and have better safety specs.. But still this is Honda BS Malaysia so when ppl start driving their Honda BS and experience many problems.. Honda sales can go and die.. Pls Toyota , improve ur bios specs n I m sure City will go back to their BS state.. BS Honda Malaysia BS BQ and QC..

Just to let u all know I’m a genuine new city owner and I have problems from day one with the services provided n the BS Car Quality.. Problems after another.. BS Honda Malaysia.. If Vios is not speced like shit i tink not only me but a lot others will also prefer Toyota over Honda..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia.. Better enjoy ur current short term dirty success.. Sooner or later ur sales will go down the drain due to BS BQ and QC..

Freak Honda and it’s BS BQ and QC..

I m so feeling desperate to burn my city and claim insurance.. Freak Honda Ba Malaysia..

Noted for Toyota or Nissan – pls improve ur specs and. Can guarantee Honda will freak off and ur sales will improve. A lot ppl will start to get fed up with BS Honda Malaysia BS BQ and QC and everything..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia.. Thanks for making my choice easier for my next car and also for many other ppl close to me.. That is a. NO NO to Honda BS Malaysia..

Thanks for another 7 years suffering with ur BS New City and after that u not only lose 1 customer.. U will lose many many more..

Hidup BS Honda Malaysia.. Freak BS Honda Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • vioser on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Vios is fugly like catfish, even chaplang preve cannot tarpau, so underpower.

Vios BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Mr. G on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Suddenly say Hidup honda then after that sat freak honda. ZZZ..

Mcm yes tapi bukan pula..

• Mr. G on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:47 pm

d**k head sported

• medic on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:39 am

Pls take your BS rant elsewhere.Show facts not stupid ranting here & there.

• HaHa!!

You want facts? Go survey all the Honda cars sold to customer. Or u can come survey mine.

Bloody Freak problem after problem. Just recently got these freaking sound coming from not sure the front dashboard or the front windscreen. Bloody Freak Honda BS Malaysia BQ and QC.

Freak them all.. Freak Freak Honda BS Malaysia..

I congrats those Honda owners that have no problems with their cars (20%) while the others I think we should all boycott Honda BS Malaysia until they improve their BQ and QC.

I agree their vision and ideas is good, for example, whenever u didn’t put up ur handbrake, beep sound will occur which i think most Honda City users don’t know about this.

So don’t say i m not a genuine owner..

Freak Honda BS Malaysia for their BS BQ and QC.

MY LAST HONDA UNTIL HONDA BS MALAYSIA IMPROVES THEIR BQ AND QC.. FREAK HONDA BS MALAYSIA..

HIDUP HIDUP !!! FREAK HONDA BS MALAYSIA !!! WHY UNTIL TODAY U NVR REPLY TO MY EMAILS REGARDING MY COMPLAINS? NO B***S TO ADMIT UR BS BQ AND QC? HAHAHA.. HIDUP HIDUP !!!

• Toyota salesman detected… Catfish sles so bad ar?? So desperate to bash city here.. Haha..

• is it THAT bad?

• Vader (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Pls organize your sentence first before comment.. What the fuuk hidup / freak / thanks / BS / BQ? All rojak!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • From first glance it really look like suprima s, especially when it’s blue.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Thing with the Jazz is, as a hatch it is actually one of the best you could buy. Decent value for money, safe, spacious, and bulletproof (its a Honda).

The only problem is, the sedan sister, the City is even better. The City is even more spacious, and has cruise control and a slightly nicer finish interior (IMO) than the Jazz. And all for just 3k more on the top end variant. Since the City is dead easy to manoeuvre, the Jazz “easy to park” nature is no longer limited to it, but also to the City.

I’d personally go for the City for the added space.

• vanhoe on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:07 pm

I’m still wondering why this CKD Jazz doesn’t apply to EEV incentives?

• xavier lert on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Jazz Jazz Jazz everywhere..

–Jazzebell–

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:49 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:53 am

Ya, please show me the one year old Sportage, K5 and Sonata sell at RM35K!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Trade in is not equal to selling.

Also, I only deal Hyundai. No KIA or Ssangyong

• Denaihati on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:21 am

New jazz looks awesome not just outside, also inside, i think the price too, worth it. i realized rear center seat slightly higher, maybe not comfortable for adult.

• Frankly to say, Suprima tv ad supposed to be cheerish like this as the car as well highlighting all the value added features.

• Green on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:53 am

17.8km/L is Mix Driving style, combination of city and highway mode.

Misleading figure for Klang Valley Folks who buying this car.

Jazz City Driving mode is = 7.2L/100km or 13.9km/L.

trustable source:
    http://www.crickshighwayhonda.com.au/hh1365-77534-honda-jazz-2015.html

• The Kia Rio looks a lot better in the metal. It is a safe car too. Jazz looks more like a compact MPV. The Honda’s advantage is a more powerful engine. If only the Rio came with the 1.6 GDI…would have been a much better package.

• guest on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:33 am

New Mazda2 ftw!

• honest on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:35 am

I prefer jazz rather than city b’coz i’m looking for second car for everyday commute to work, easy to park, nice&sleek dashboard, easy to make a u turn at tight corner, climate control, energy savy, high rv, good after sales service (in this case 5 year parts warranty & free labour for major service up to 100,000km).honda jazz is the best option. after 5 years i’ll look for better option

• somehow on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:58 am

Somehow the rear look like suprima s..honda copy proton ke? :P

• khatijar on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:41 am

think they now regretting not to price Honda city higher …

• Khairi on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Actually Honda Malaysia want to price the jazz even lower…but the gov’t not allow it..to protect national car I guess…
    p/s: This is a fact.