Vietnam approves new automotive industry development strategy – focus on trucks and vans

Automotive manufacturing output in Vietnam is expected to rise to meet domestic as well as export demand through a new development strategy for the country’s automotive industry.

According to Vietnam News Agency, the 10-year plan, which has been approved by prime minister Nguyen Tan Dung, is focused on building trucks, specialised vans and nine- and 10-seater vans. The strategy will also encourage the production of small and multi-purpose vans for agricultural and rural use. In addition, exports of Vietnamese-made cars is targeted to reach 900,000 units by 2035.

The auto parts industry has not been left out, either, with the introduction of advanced technologies and partnerships with major global brands expected to produce world-class parts. The industry is projected to meet 35% of domestic spare parts and accessories demand by 2020 and 65% in 2035.

The plan places emphasis on the need for collaboration among carmakers and assemblers, parts makers and research and training centres in all economic sectors.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rocky balboa on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:50 pm

oh great, even Vietnam is catching up now!

• GT3 (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Sh*t just got real! This is what I’m afraid of happening. Our beloved country seems like doesn’t have a focused direction. In late 1980s and mid 1990s, we’re one fast growing industrial country which attracts a lot of investors and creates enormous job opportunity.
      What happen now? And what’s the reason? Too much corruption? Too many irrelevant procedures for investors?
      I work in an automotive plant that assembles passenger and commercial vehicle, recently we’ve received a visitor from Vietnam in which we’re assigned to bring them for plant tour and explain to them the process from logistics to production supply, specifically for commercial vehicles. I just hope that after 7 to 10 years, Malaysia’s plant would still be competitive in this region.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:23 pm

We all already mock the focus. don’t u remember?. why say “why boleh no focus?” isn’t that odd?…boleh want to focus on EEV vehicle production regardless of capacity.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:43 pm

This threat to thailand n indonesia…as thailand is biggest commercial vehicle producer in ASEAN especially truck..boleh only produce less than 60k of those kind of vehicle per year. I know u all don’t believe but u can check OICA website.

• Sammy Valley on Jul 22, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah Dr M bapa industri automotif Vietnam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 32
    • unforgiven on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Someone just pocketed RM500 millions. DRB/Tun M bought PROTON for RM1.2B, now asking Najib for RM1.7B. Such a beautiful business, where to find?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
  • isuzuki on Jul 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Sure International companies still want to go there after the incident?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 6:25 pm

what incident? cheap and good food? pretty ladies? cheap alcohol and cigarettes? i also want pindah vietnam wey

• presna (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:53 pm

think he means the recent anti-china protests which damaged a few factories the protesters suspected of being owned by PRC companies

• kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:49 pm

No need go to vietnam to see pretty girl…go kl many viet girl in massage parlour n spa..

• Isuzuki on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:01 am

The riot where the government allowed foreign investors’ factories to be burnt down by workers.

• Cakap lebey. Tapi x pindah pun. Kecah.

• presna (Member) on Jul 22, 2014 at 7:57 pm

This was bound to happen, first it was Thailand, now Indonesia, couple of years down the road it’ll be Vietnam, heck another couple of years it probably be Myanmar….

As long as production costs (and political/governmental interference) is kept low companies would look into these countries as a manufacturing hub.

• Clever People on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Low production cost is part of the reason why investors re-locate to Vietnam, the Vietnamnese are also very clever people. Their students score much much higher then the Boleh Land students in the ‘Pisang Tanduk Mathematic’ test. They will be an industrial giant in the not too distant future if they are politically stable.

• Satria Neo on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I don’t care much about high school student score they were just students, few student to represent whole community achievement, give me a break. Here is one thing to learn about future prediction.
        If you read about economy about BRIC countries in year of 2000 Goldman & Sachs predicted these countries would become developed and modern and high income countries within 15 years. Look at them now where are they? India is still black hole with income still less < $1500. Russia economy was in bumpy ride and even would be more roller coaster ahead. Brazil is not going anywhere running in circle. The only exception perhaps China.
        If you read about their Vietnam prediction in year of 2000 you would laugh your heads off now. They predicted in 2010 Vietnam gdp/capita would be the highest among Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and The Philippines. Hahaha now is 2014, they are still equal with Cambodia. .

• presna (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:09 pm

hmmm, as i recall, the prediction surrounding the BRIC/S (if you include South Africa) was about them being the epicenter of global trade by 2020…. but then again 2020 isn’t that far away….

plus, most of the countries squandered their potential due to politics…. India with a socialist and corruption filled government, Russia….well it’s Putin (Medvedev is just his pawn), SA and Brazil have a mixture of politics and bureaucracy as problems…

• Lemer on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:48 am

Thailand and Indonesia will suffer, since these 2 countries doing right now are just lego car (car assembly) big car manufacture now just pack up and go somewhere that has cheaper labor rate. Lucky Malaysia have own local root industries.