VW’s Safe & Stylish Balik Kampung – winner found

vw-balik-kampung

Volkswagen Malaysia and fashion designer Melinda Looi recently came together to offer Malaysians a chance to drive home a VW Polo Sedan in conjunction with the Safe & Stylish Balik Kampung campaign. The month-long campaign, launched concurrently with the ‘emel by Melinda Looi’ Raya collection, saw good response from fans of both the fashion and automotive scenes.

A winner has been found from over 6,000 entries, and he is Ahmad Amirul Ehsan bin Alias from Rawang. “I was really surprised and excited when I found out that I had won a brand new Polo Sedan. I’ve been eyeing a Volkswagen car for a while now, so it’s amazing that my dream has come true this Raya. I’m so grateful for getting this opportunity to own my very own Volkswagen,” he gushed.

Petra Schreiber, director of marketing and communications at VW Malaysia said: “We embarked on a campaign themed around style and safety as these two elements are in line with the Volkswagen brand. We are truly delighted to be able to share the joy of owning and driving a Volkswagen with this lucky winner in conjunction with this joyous festive celebration.”

The locally-assembled Polo Sedan was launched here in October 2013. The B-segment sedan, a rival to the Toyota Vios and Honda City, is powered by a 1.6 litre MPI normally-aspirated engine (105 PS/153 Nm) paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission with Tiptronic. It sells for RM85,888.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.