Driven Web Series 2014 #3: Company car dilemma 2.0 – Honda Accord vs Nissan Teana vs Kia Optima K5

Driven Web Series, powered by the new Petronas Primax95 with Advanced Energy Formula, goes big this episode. Company car-friendly 2.0 litre D-segment sedans – which is best? The Honda Accord, Nissan’s new Teana or the facelifted Kia Optima K5?

We picked the Accord – in its top-spec 2.4 litre trim – over the Mazda6, Toyota Camry and Hyundai i40 last year. It’s now time to see if it will still come out on top when put against newer rivals from Nissan and Kia. The L33 Teana, especially, as we’ve found out, is quite a car.

In this episode, we compare the cars’ looks, driving experience and ride comfort in classic Driven Web Series style – with the help of back seat-specialist Paul Tan himself. Series regulars, be sure to watch it till the end, as an uninvited guest makes an appearance too ;p

PS: The series will take a break next week (Selamat Hari Raya, everyone!), but we’ll be back the following Wednesday, August 6. Close to 1,000 hp and the real Flying Sikh awaits, so mark your calendars, boys.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Maseratits on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:05 am

Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:20 pm

This is a free world where you can freely express your thought, even you think Toyota is not up to your standard. It is fine!

Not like THE brand, national pride, poor build quality, lousy engine/gearbox, 30 years to turn around, RM1.7b begging bla bla bla non stop nonsense. And you are asked to leave Malaysia if you not happy with their cars.

Bravo to the Sam Loo actor! We can take the joke and we still selling good.

Good one to this episode!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 122
      • Camry only 190nm torque, preve 205nm, so camry is lousier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 69
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

When you sit in Preve, you have to keep on remind yourself “It has 15NM more than Camry” to syok sendiri.

When you sit in the Camry, the comfort will keep you happy all time. People recognize you while you are in Camry. Therefore you don’t see Camry owner change rim, add sticker, change exhaust pipe make it so noisy etc syok sendiri shits.

Even a 2000NM Proton, is still a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 24
          • I know u are cb dap supporter so don’t talk syok sendiri. Proton got improve u also complain ,proton no improve u also complain,because u hate BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
      • mrkthxbai on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:03 pm

hahaha. bro. u r trying so hard. u wont be as good as samloo. not even close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:33 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, it cannot be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 58
      • Honda the greatest on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Accord is still a good car in my view.
        You can still consider the new Teana or Camry.
        never ever take the K5,it’s crap and junk to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 59
        • To be fair, the K5 has 6 airbags and 5-star safety rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
        • melvinfoong on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

You are just like a frog. Never drive K5 before and say it’s a crap. I owned an Accord, drove a Mazda 6 2.5 and still feels K5 offers the best drive

• HAHA !!

See what i meant Nissan?

This is how u destroy that Honda BS Malaysia.

Like i said, once Toyota and Nissan or any other car makers in fact improve on their safety specs, Honda BS Malaysia can go fly kite..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia..

Freak off Honda BS Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • Lol was expecting the Mazda 6 to like drift in and throw dirt on the 3 cars. Teana looks so plain and boring. Ugly carr indeed. Exterior would give it to the K5 and interior to the Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
  • Don’t quite agree of accord being boring to look, the accord looks quite elegant and nice compared to the Teana, just don’t choose that champagne colour will do. I bet the guard test whether you are able to pass thru was a pre-planned thing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 12
    • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:48 am

For me, teana looks much better than the accord.
      Well previous gen accord might looks the same but now become perdanaccord.
      Get the white teana vs white accord. It looks superb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 54
      • blvcktint on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:21 pm

which part do teana looks better than accord? i dont know whether your eyes in the good proportion or not…i just give u one example…try to compare teana cheap rear light and accord rear light…maybe u can see the “bigger picture”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 65
        • Austin on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Both rear lights are LED – so why Teana is cheaper out of the 2???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
        • jmy9887 on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Bro, different people have different takes on the aesthetics. Sarcastically questioning people’s ‘eyes in the good proportion or not’ just because they have different opinion than yours just shows your character. Personally I favor Teana’s looks over Accords. I’m looking at the “bigger picture”, that’s why I don’t just look at the rear light. Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
          • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Thanks bro for voice out. Don’t really need to bother this kind of comment. I ady mentioned it’s my preference. Does anyone have the right to judge my art sense? I’m politely giving my view. Well very very serious even my lover my friends do agreed the new accord just plain looking and nothing outstanding. That’s the fact. But I don’t need to criticise it and I respect your choice of owning accord (or Maybe never own).
            For rear light, I’ve compared both regardless what light or tech they r using, sorry the tail light with red light line ON just looks elegant. Well that’s me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • blvcktint on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:21 am

Well just to justify my comment…you guys should see teana rear lamp live.Not in the picture.Totally different experience.It really looks cheap whenever the brake lights is on and see the rest of teana design along in live. I rest my case..hope those ah bengs dont feel offended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
        • Hong K on Jul 26, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Sorry, but Accord rear light is actually lower quality LED. Its also cheaper to replace. I think you are mistaken here.

• Enthu on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:46 am

an expected typical reply from a Honda fan….

• Vader (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:18 am

Yup, the outdated + bulky camry should excluded in the comparison!!!
    For me, these 3 cars also not bad and depend on buyers what actually you are looking for.
    The Accord is my favorite, and the exterior is not that low class, rite? But it really subjective.
    The K5 look great and come with a lot of feature and accessories.
    The Teana is not bad only bit feedback that it look too similar to Sylphy.. just like i40 to elantra..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 8
    • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:49 am

It does looks different if u check it in detailed.
      For me sylphy looks small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Gargantia on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:37 pm

When buying a car is not just about looks is about car performance.

We paying for the car itself, not just the brand.

Example UMW toyota (high price with less safety fixtures and option expensive body-kit).
      Protong (no performance and cheap build quality materials, noise and non-fuel efficient engine) except lotus handling. But selling high price even without tax….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • ggtttggg on Mar 25, 2019 at 5:04 pm

Vader is a poor guy that cannot afford to own Camry,so normal lah to bark here and there because jealous of me driving new Camry

• kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:24 am

Driving New White Teana for a week. Brilliant! Smooth & stable ride and very quiet cabin. Good suspension and quality interior material is good. Remember to get vkool 4mil promotion from them and get a nice shiny coating ~♡

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
  • gibson on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:25 am

very nicely done !!! like the joke with camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 38
    • fast5 on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Toyota camry become a laughing stock thanks to UMW in M’sia.
      Is time to move forward UMW. Don’t act like P selling expensive car with less safety fixtures and poor build quality car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 39
      • Before camry had 2 airbags, at that time preve ady had 6!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
        • Oh before you tell me about 10 airbags camry that’s in USA. Live in reality we are in bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Wake up kid!!! U can add-on the air bags at any time and add even ESP…
            Don’t tell me is all about costing… UMW aldy profit so much for many year.
            Y can’t just learn before u comment???

• Hahaha on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:27 am

Lol.. Teana deserves to be the winner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 19
    • Toyota the best on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Accord is still a better car,and Camry is the best!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 68
  • kington on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:32 am

Good job guys. I am very impressed with the Teana but if it was my money, I’d go for the Mazda 6. The Camry somehow, yeah poor on almost everything, but still has a lil’ more class…. but this time around, I believe UMW would re work their strategy… The Camry and Altis are not selling well at all. Most i see also are the 1.8 ALtis. I hope they wake up and stop being so greedy with profit margins.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
    • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:51 am

I got my Teana and my family has a mazda 6 too.
      Once park side by side, really can see the differ how good the teana looks like especially white teana. Just looks bigger n more elegant & sporty in between. Mazda 6 does look good, sporty type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
      • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Would love to see Teana vs Mazda 6~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Toyota the best on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm

The 2014 Altis is selling well,in Penang even in SP and Alor Setar I can see a lot of new Altis.Mazda 3 can keep dust in their stockyard already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
      • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Seldom comment on Paul tan until I got my new car last week. As always the comments are way too extreme and too many types of ppl here make the forum discussion worse. Even property forum I’ve always browse never have rude comments (perhaps never encounter). 2 mazda 6 and Teana at home. It’s definitely easy for me to compare. Well performance wise I can’t judge as mazda 6 belongs to my bro. Teana should be the type of comfort n smooth character wheaten Mazda 6 is sportier. Go Test drive it instead of bashing other brands. Previous I owned Forte n trade in 45k. So? It’s stil a good n problem free car so far for 4years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • dragon on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:32 am

Nah Nah Nah !
    THIS IS MORE MORE LIKE-IT~~~

Info, Drive train,style,comfortable, Funny Script writing. SAM–LOORRR…”Eh!wan to buy toyota ah”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH~~ CANT STOP LAUGHING at office..everyone though me “Ki-siao”

Good Video!! Thumbs UP~~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Toyota the best on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Will get Camry or new Accord for sure.
      Teana and K5??I will destroy it using the Russian missile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
      • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Perhaps before you destroy the both car, u ady got destroyed by risky accord with only 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
  • sam looo on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:34 am

wei…buy la my toyo auta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
  • Hey guys, very nice review. Pretty honest and bold. What would make this show even more super is there’s some outtake reels. It’s make it a blast to watch and something to look forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Fantastic, this was something I was looking forward to. I guessed Mazda 6 should have been part of this.

any way kudos to the show. Cheers

• kzm (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:33 pm

No..they said ealier in the video max RM150k car company that can get rebate..M6 is price above RM150k not qualify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

A much more polish review and a very much more enjoyable one that the last two too. Honestly well done! And I will also agree with the review. I will still agree with the verdict, the Honda does honestly dissapoint in safety specs, and my last trip to Honda centre showed that there are no plans to upgrade to six airbags in the foreseeable future(this year) which is a shame, Thailand gets six standard throughout the range in addition to a spanking sweet hybrid variant. But beauty is the eye of the beholder and the accord in black and with those LED looks like a proper executive car. Shame about that color thou, I agree is abit too Unke. Civics is getting updated in December thou.

The teana just squeezes out to 1st for me too. Still no fan of CVT and a pethatically tiny main display screen which is, like the accords spec to the city, it’s inexcusable when your Sylphy gets a better head unit HACK! There’s a 7in option in the Almera too(5in best in the Teana). The optima? Still looks awesome, still rather cramp inside. I’am surprises at the lack of a decent head unit up front thou. But still proving that Kia still has some bits to polish out to prove that his king.

And the Toyota Camry g.X{does smug face} honestly if you look at all the Camrys today, rarely you find one with the new KL no. Plate number layout [W XXXX A etc]. Which (not to be a sadist) is nice. Thou I’ve been seeing lesser 6 and almost no i40 on the road thou.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

No the thai has 5 variant. only 2.4 varíant(3) got 6 airbag..2.0 variant(2) get 4 airbag..2 of boleh variant is 2.0 n get 2 airbag. 1 variant 2.4 n get 6 airbag

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Camry ACV 40 is still the model of choice in bolehland. Made in Thailand with Japanese precision

ACR50 is locally assembled in bolehland. Like all cars locally assembled, quality is a big issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • holofanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Not ‘some’ polish, quite alot for the K5 actually… :X. Its a case of great features but the integration with the driver is unbalanced.

Cornering is amazingly flat with no roll whatsoever but my K5’s steering is seriously alot less fun than mom’s Elantra. Its too light! (Infact….I daresay Elantra is the most fun car ive ever driven! Although with unconvincing body roll)

The Nissan teana however, is a true benchmark here. It simply is the most balanced car to me. Trust me me as ive driven both generation extensively thanks to my neighbour.

I hate the teana’s current interior though…feels cheap compared to the previous gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • just like that on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

i dont have a D class segment car but imo after test driving all of them, my money is on the 508 which is not included due to the 150k limit.

With the latest offer from peugeot of 155k for the 508 during raya, i would go for it.

On another note, i disagree with the Kia being slow and unresponsive as it was better than the Accord and Teana imo. Half the time on the internet, cant tell who are being impartial, just like in the UK Ford is better than everything and here Toyota and Honda is better than everything; but things are changing with the new generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 33
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Enjoys your trips to the workshop, and make sure you have a job with lots of annual leave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
  • steben on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:40 am

toyota guy- somemore got X one…hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • nasi_ayam on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:42 am

Why not mazda 6 2.0?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Only cars below 150k were selected. Mazda 6 is 160k for the lowest spec so its out of the range for this review.

• mmaker on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:02 pm

that car already beaten by accord in previous episode

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Boris on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:45 pm

No it wasn’t. Hafriz totally contradicted what he’d said in his written review of the 6. In the video he changed his tune for no reason, so it was clearly a compromised verdict.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:53 am

Well done guys. Keep it up! Teana deserves to win. Though Accord VTI-L runs close.

• Hadi75 on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Bhahahaha…..the last part is really funny….top gear has the stig….we have sam loo…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Chris (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Some say he only accepts car sale commission in prime numbers, and that he has a secret crush on Harvinder. All we know is he’s called Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:11 pm

No interest in bayee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Well done guys! Keep it up. The Teana just pips the Accord VTI-L deservingly. But I will still buy the Accord, just Avoid the Champagne Gold lor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • I just got my champagne coloured accord in my garage. But are there anybody experience a long waiting list on this particular colour and trim of accord.

• aisey…shud have included the M6, Sonata, Passat, Mondeo & 508 bru le cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Obama (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm

It’s a shame that Accord still maintain 2 airbags in that spec. Other wise, it would be great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • skyjuice on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:27 pm

How much company rebate can we enjoy? Can we just register a new company just to buy a new car?

• CompanyCar on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

The costs will outweigh the benefits, you need to pay company secretary, auditor and tax agent if it is Sdn Bhd. In addition, there is personal tax on car and fuel provided by company. The benefits are all maintenance costs borne by company, but where is the income to offset?

• yellow on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:01 pm

He said it’s a tax rebate la..
      not rebate on car price la bro..

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:14 am

It’s not even a tax rebate, in the strictest definition.

The correct term is “Capital Allowance” (CA). Basically, an allowance the govt give to reduce your chargeable income (basis of corporate tax @20% for first RM 500k, @25% upwards).

CA for motor vehicle has three levels based on its cost:

1. Cost RM150k = CA limited to RM50k. Eg RM200k Merc can claim max RM50k allowance.

If u register a company for such purposes, it’s useless. Companies like those are known as “dormant company”, with no business activity or revenue generated. Dormant companies cannot enjoy any tax benefit, though in return, u won’t be taxed at all.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:21 am

DAFUQ, how did my comment get altered?!!!

Disregard point 1 above, what i meant to write:

1. Cost under RM100k = CA limited by its cost. Eg RM80k Vios can claim max RM80k allowance.

2. Cost RM100k-150k = CA limited to RM100k. Eg Accord, Teana, K5 can claim max RM100k allowance.

3. Cost above RM150k = CA limited to RM50k. Eg RM200k Merc can claim max RM50k allowance.

• wonder how these 3 guys look in 15 yrs time …. ooh + their boss

nice if Mazda 6 2.0 and Peugeot 508 premium included for comparison …about time for toyota to bring in the new US version once in the market by 2015…

I have been driving accord, perdana etc past 15 years … evolution on tech , electronics etc for 2.0 cc cars is very interesting ..

good video like it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:51 pm

They have done the Mazda 6 in the last season, with rather lukewarm results. And since we have not gotten any news on 2014/2015 updates for those cars yet (the 508 has pretty much stayed the same for nearly 3 years), it wouldn’t be a fair comparison.

• Boris on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:47 pm

As I said to another commenter, the video’s verdict on the 6 contradicted what they’d said in a written review.

• 1,000,000% better than the previous Megan Tan episode. Now this is more like it!

Good that the Teana 2.0 is the winner however it needs LED DRLs and Touch Screen GPS to be complete. Waiting for its facelift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

That How Por popped in for the right episode, coz those cars in comparison are primarily purchased by women.

Just that she overacted, kissed too much Petronas ASS

• BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Pretty clear that she did not have a script with her or didn’t bother to memorize it, that’s why she was blathering all those annoying nonsense about Petronas. If you wanna kiss ass, at least make it believable. It’s so damn fake, you actually know that Petronas did not pay someone like her for such lousy exposure.

• kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Agreed on that.
      We need DRL, GPS navigation, blindspot detection, lane departure detection, tyre pressure warning!

• BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Now, this is what I call an absolutely enjoyable Driven episode. It’s like right after the last episode fiasco, they kicked it up a few notches and made a superb turnaround. Well done people.

The Teana was pretty much the obvious winner. No compromises in safety, and the quality feels quite upmarket. I would even go as far as to say it is a direct challenger to Continental cars within it’s class. I didn’t have much expectations when I saw it during a roadshow, but when I sat in it, damn, the cabin quality was surprisingly great. The boss feel is pretty high on this one. Coupled with the 9-speaker Bose sound system (which is extremely rare in it’s class, the only rival being the Peugeot 508 Premium spec with 10-speaker JBL system), it’s like Nissan suddenly went for broke and went out all guns blazing. My only small beef with the car is that they ditched the V6 engine. Yes, I know it has slightly worse FC and it’s pretty much comparable to the new 2.4 engine and what not, but I’d happily trade a few km/l figures for a buttery smooth highway drive (and a bit of an ol’ school factor).

About the Accord, that gold/bronze color is not as bad as it looks in real life. I saw a few new ones on the road before, and I think it’s pretty classy in it’s own way. Would be nice if they made it in a heavier shade to give it more elegance (sort of like dark bronze). That being said, I much prefer the new Accord in black, especially in 2.4L spec with the Lane Watch camera. Makes it look a few years ahead than it really is. And that Modulo bodykit is quite sweet.

If Honda had put more effort into adding value to the new Accord, such as a premium sound system and a little bit more emphasis on safety, I’d happily take it over the Teana because it looks more like a driver’s car (with the sharper angles versus the elegant curves of the Teana). But until that day comes, Teana it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Leonon on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:06 pm

9-Speaker Bose is reserved for the range topping 2.5XV only.

• Nice video, but 10 minute is too short, hope your guys can make it longer.

• Still prefer Accord, it’s looks better in other color with LED DRL. HM should upgrade the airbag counts in the FL. Even so, shopping a Teana or Accord, still a wise choose. Camry is out of list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • sonyman on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:04 pm

eh, where;s the camry lah, big boss car mah, how can you leave that out?

camry still the best boss and company car, no matter what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • sonyman on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:45 pm

that why, cannot play play with Toyota, got loyal fan boys will chase you around. Make you buy one.

i think Johnathan is a Toyota Fan Boy, otherwise he wont be so pissed of, and also TRD makes him have wet dreams. Else the first episode don’t need to be so Stiggy on the TRD Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:41 pm

That Stig parody was just a mockery of the TRD badge, implying that it only looks faster than it goes. Besides, Jon screwed the Camry like no tomorrow in the early part of the video (no ESC, no power seats etc). Kudos to that I say. Stick it up UMW where the sun don’t shine.

• Kia k5…all show no go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
  • First timer watching Driven,very entertaining and most of all no “Creative” and Pro brand comments.
    Straight to the the Pro and Con for the review.
    We’ll done.

• I do agree with most of you that this episode was the most successful in term of scripting and editing, except the following:

1) Could this shot with a DSLR + a wide angle lens? The face of Jonathan was distorted at the start of the show.

2) “A” for effort? Or am I not getting the message?

• What Hafriz meant is if he’s grading the K5 features, he would give an ‘A’ for Kia’s effort to add the extra features that others contender probably didnt have. But F for failure maybe he should replace with ‘F’ for execution because the feature is useless nonetheless.

Thats what i understand.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm

That sam loo,he should have been shot by the Ukrainian rebels!
    That kia is jus gorgeous, bt sounds noiser than a local car,the accord is better looking than tiana thats for sure,but the tiana is more refined n better specs…
    I agree with some comments above,i wd choose the peugeot 508…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Another sorhai tai lan ngong.

Pijat 508? Have you heard on Facebook how many car owner sent these sui kwan kwai tai French nighmares to the workshop over and over again with an answer “No Fault Found”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • axxen on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:01 pm

personal opinion , driven series so childish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • eee34 on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:11 pm

^Show your production here if you feel so proud of yourself or you just talk kok like those Proton bashers here.

• neemfa on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Sam Loo should be invited as guest in the next episode..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:02 pm

My time better spent exporting the Hyundai’s that I have in stock to Sri Lanka and India.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • therealmaserati on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:18 pm

As proven, KIA K5 is an absolute piece of crap to be driven in the real world.

I have said many times that its all show and absolutely NO go at all!

Its got a terribly weak lousy engine, aweful gearbox and NVH is horrible! Plus just look at that Fuel consumption!

Terrible! The TEANA NVH is very good but I saw this car on the road and it looks weird! Its a very very good car but it just looks to uncle-ish on the road.

I have test driven the Accord and its the best to drive among the 3. Fantastic interior and the engine is so freaking refined. Its only a 2.0 but the power is pretty good.

The winner for me is the Accord all the way! And it is proven by looking at the sales chart .

At the end of the day, the Japs are still king when it comes to making cars. They know how to make good reliable cars with excellent refinement. Yes the Accord might only have 2 airbags, but airbags are never ever a dealbreaker when buying cars.

The Koreans are only good in making beautiful shells. Engine and transmission are aeons away from being on par with the Japs. Heck, they cant even make the NVH on the K5 better. It is such a noisy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:00 pm

And most of all, it cannot even be traded in.

So, should you decide to buy this cabbage new, be prepared to have it burned to the ground as no insurance will believe that it is stolen.

Even car thieves have pride, OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • Honda the greatest on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Yes the new Accord is now the best selling D-class car replacing the Camry,and Camry is no 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Accord launched Dec 2013 last year, and Teana just launched Early 2014.
        How to justify “best selling D-Class”?
        Time will tell.
        But No doubt, both are great car.
        Got Cash, Got Nice Car~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:18 pm

A very exciting episode indeed! Totally surprised as to how noisy the K5 is, but again, style over substance. As for the Accord, while I do like it, the Teana feels like a more cohesive package. The Accord only looks nice in a dark colour, like that dark grey in the press releases. If only it came with the full safety suite…

The champagne is the ultimate uncle colour.

Oh and kudos to Sam Loo. I just wonder, if there is a real Sam Loo in UMW’s offices. “Want to buy Toyota ah? :P”

Sorry Danny, if I do see you in public and accidentally address you as Sam Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Actually, the owner of the K5 will be noisier when he yells “HAILAT LOR”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • holofanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:58 pm

The review is generally pretty spot on, and this is coming from a k5 owner ;D!

Its a wonderful car to drive on freshly tarred roads, but with our pathetic roads its generally pretty noiseh.

Ive personally driven the previous and current gen Teana, Accord and 2012 Camry and to this day I still prefer the Camry when it comes to suspension setup. In terms of driving enjoyment, the 2008 civic and current Elantra has the best dynamics (to me).

So why did I still pick the K5 when I liked the Camry? Its mostly value related. I just cannot fathom paying 150k for camry its specs. For the accord, well dad already has a honda so theres no reason to have two.

A major factor however, would be the image. Hafriz wasn’t kidding when he said its all show no substance.

At my age I absolutely REFUSE to be seen doing business in an accord, teana or camry (Almost all my customers have them!) Call me shallow if you want, but its a major selling point to me. And this is where the other makers unfortunately did not catch on.

So rejoice Toyota fanboys, your Camry to me is still the king when it comes to ride comfort ;).

It sure as hell aint worth owning however :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:59 pm

The White and Dark grey Accord indeed looks kinda nice.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

This episode really stabbed the rotten K5 cabbage straight in the heart. Beyond revival now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
  • nawzah on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I have to admit Teana is the winner in this episode..probably due to its safety features. But i believe the result would be different if accord comes with 6 airbags..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • kvsual on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Test drive both pls.
      And don’t u know Honda accord NVH is bad? Noisy, even noisier when raining. Roof thin.
      Well I just got my Teana, was considering this and accord too. Thanks god I’ve made the right choice based on my preference and everyone has theirs~ =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • samelorrrr on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:20 pm

But it cannot beat the latest Toyota tech in Vios : zinc roof! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Whatever the review says, Camry will still be the staple corporate car.

Any CFO that knows how to manage asset will know that at the end of 5 years, book value may be zero, but the highest resale value will always be the Camry & Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Honda the greatest on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Toyota Camry and Honda Accord can never be beaten. Very reliable,less headache going to service centre and very high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • faidgh on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Why Beemer and Merc has worse RV despite it;s luxury cars? K5 is going to be luxurious too, Honda and Toyota left as people’s cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Because euro cars sui kuan and kwai tai

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:45 am

Which the govt will want some chunk of that gain on disposal. Pay ur tax, beeches, pay like the good citizen that u r.

Whereas with poor RV car, u make loss on disposal, you may not need to pay tax, yeaaaaa

• jmy9887 on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

What about Mazda6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Denaihati on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:37 pm

very-very nice review. congratulation Teana. Beautiful Kia Optima K5 become last, bad soundproof and FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:17 pm

And the K5 is definitely an FC (Fai Chai)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • samlooinhell on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Why u hate KIA so much, tell us the reason.
        What I can think of is that KIA has made u losing a lot of sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:14 pm

If sorhai tailangongs wanna get kimchi, get the one which can be traded in, so that I can show them the hilux 1 year later.

KIA? Aiyoh, no Sri Lankans or Indians wanna buy lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Dwnking on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm

But what about after sales? 5k for every servicing instead of 10k right? Also the audio head bin is like 20 years ago, neighbouring Thailand has a much better equipped Teana. Wait till Mazda6 goes CKD, then you have apple to apple comparison against D segment :D

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

The massive flaw in the evaluations from Driven is that they only look at the face value.

In developed nations, the Total Cost of Ownership is the key determinant.

This is where the author and audience in Malaysia are 15 years away from this level of maturity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • The best driven episode yet. Can’t wait for SUV review

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Ah, the Teana. Definitely an underrated car in the D-segment in Malaysia. I think it’s a good all rounder and would be my choice too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:16 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Hyundai RV has stabilised a bit

For KIA, its RV can only be determined once used car dealers accept them as trade in. As for now, its worth more as scrap metal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Even kia salesman reluctant to accept kia cars as trade in. Dont believe? Paul tan shud try some window shopping.

There will be some ressistance and even when they accept, the offer will be ridiculously low

• BeemerFreak on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Why Danny is selected to play Sam Loo….he has the fake look….but fun nevertheless, seeing him chase Harve around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Peugeot 508 on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Can Driven make an episode which includes Peugeot 508 and Mazda 6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • nobrand on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Accord and teana are 2014 model. K5 is about 4 years old and new k5 will be launched soon after new sonata. Japanese has felt the pain when current kia and hyundai launched 4 years ago and they tried very hard to compete with korean offerings with new accord camry and teana. Toyota already lost it market in D segment and B and C segment is following the fate. Its interesting to see what other carmakers will respond to the next gen sonata and k5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Both the Japs shown here (Accord & Teana) are 2013 models. JUst that in Bolehland they are 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • K5 was just recently facelifted so you can’t call it a 4 year old model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Facelift is just cosmetics. It will be just as noisy

• Josh Ling on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Harvinder, Hafriz, Jonathan, Paul or whoever is involving in this production, please do bring Sam Loo back again!! really can’t get enough of that guy!! hahahahahahah…..danny, you rock lah! ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Tiger on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Accord new rear design looks so boring even watching paint dry is more exciting…camry new shape so boxy looks like old Volvo 240

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • comfort vs looks on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Ultimately interior comfort is the most important aspect for every single car. Looks is just for the perception of people but interior cabin is the one you spend the most time with. When it comes to comfort I believe Accord wins it. You could argue Honda sacrificed safety for comfort but you can’t deny the cabin design and comfort is better than Teana.

When comes to looks, Teana is a sporty looking car but that’s not corporate wants. They want a executive looks which Honda fits the bill to be a corporate car. Teana is sporty but it can’t match the elegance Accord has.

• kvsual on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Hmm I’ve test drive both 3 times. Teana leather way better than accord seriously. More solid n real leather feel. Accord too soft n easily wrinkled after drive few months..
      Comfort cabin always the Teana strong points though. Well. Differ ppl differ preference. Yeap Accord stil suitable for those uncle manager level type, perhaps I prefer young n shortly. Feel healthier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • well done guys, well done! :D

u guys r getting better and better. keep it up!

• CH3 M4T on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:31 am

Thanks to all driven crew, this episode is full of honest/straight forward review and yet entertaining. I was like bhahahaha a lot when Paul asked another Paul about his family, and another Paul told Paul they were with another Paul. Nice, (”,). Off course Sam Booooo get the credits too.

Agree with the verdict which is decided by the boss, fit the purposed of these cars. Sure it will be different if decision is made by front seater.

Thank you for all the informative review and entertainment. Job well done! Clap clap clap!!!..

• kvsual on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Accord launched since dec 2013 and there are alots on the road. Alots owners definitely think the choice is best for them. As we can see those thumb down/dislikes mostly from them I bet.
    There are plenty stil yet to try the new teana~ time will tell which the great one~ but undeniably accord sales would be better because here’s malaysia….

Well perhaps wait for Miracle.

• limagolf (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:31 pm

LOL…boss never say anything about the colour of the accord also. Why the drivers complaining?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Colour is very personal.

The 3 jokers can comment all they want about Gold Colour being aged, but Gold and Silver coloured cars are the most dirt resistant of them all

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:32 pm

The review by driven has near zero correlation to the sales of cars.

Toyota Camry, Corolla, Vios, Honda Accord, Civic and City will always be the best sellers.

On the other hand, in terms of margin made by used car dealers, Hyundai will be the champion of them all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • jacques on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Have test driven Kia K5 and Honda Accord VTi-L 2.0 and my immediate impression was K5’s interior is much more better in quality and details.

Accord is a lot more stable, smooth and responsive on both engines + gearbox and brakes. Bravo!

But I still prefer K5 over Accord as it gave us lots of electronic features to play with such as Driving Mode, etc.

Most importantly, 6 airbags and the 5 Stars safety on “both” NHTSA (US) and NCAP (EU)! Amazing! Accord has got only 4 Stars on NHTSA if not mistaken and this variant has only 2 airbags. :(

* Not sure about Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • kvsual on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Well test drive it~!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Well, if you really want a K5, get a used model.

As there is no trade in value as reference, the 2012 model would prolly be around RM20k or so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Chow 1 on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Nice try. but people will still buy Toyota because of superior brand image, solid build quality and excellent service. The rest of cars just cannot catch up.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:03 am

And most importantly, it has great RV because it is the most reliable, durable and dependable car brand in the world.

But I would encourage more sorhais to buy Hyundai, coz i need a steady supply of 1 year old kimchis for trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • nkhong on Jul 26, 2014 at 10:00 am

The sterling of teana looks abit odd to me. It looks like got bull face or dog face on it.

I like his driven epi very much as they bashing camry kau kau. I am waiting for next good Camry facelift version. If they still come out a new facefilt without much changes. I would move on to buy other d segment car.

• kvsual on Jul 26, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Test drive it. Like this also dislike?
    Either u lazy to test drive just a poor agent love to bash other brands car. Or no money to get a D segment? A good comment should be came from owner or those who test drive.
    Well bet to receive negative comments or like. But it’s fact. Don’t talk nonsense if u never even sit on one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Two thumbs up for basically saying ‘You sucked!’ to Toyota.
    Keep up the good work in keeping Malaysians knowledgeable about autos.
    Bravo DRIVEN team!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 27, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Must be a kimchi owner that has been shown many Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Must be the portrayed Sam Loo (not ori) that plays the Toyota salesman chasing Jonathan around?
        And on the contrary, no, I’m not a kimchi owner nor a JDM owner. So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • neymar jr on Jul 27, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Sam loo
    Dont so arrogant with toyota yet
    Who knows one day u will drive ur own hyundai sonata or elantra hahaha that time u already in hyundai sales office d due to toyota no business opps… last time people comments a lot about samsung but now almost every one is having note 3 s4 around the world. Remember u are malaysian pls dont racist korean and u are not japanese also i think none of japanese guy know u also do what for so hard sales japan le

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

I test drive every Sonata that comes in every single day :)

• just sharing.

maybe you guys have watched this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZJZcXcp8HA

if you guys can give some brave comments like what the taiwanese dare regarding the DSG on VW, in the well-loved “Driven-ist way”, we, paultan.org’s loyal supporters will really love you guys more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • JustMe on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:49 am

Toyota…

If accident toyota also have less resale value ..plus diver comfirm (RIP) because no safety features.

If you care of you and your family safety get KIA .. if you care of resale value get Toyota. Simple.

Money or Life .. you decide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 03, 2014 at 10:14 am

Electronics in kimchis starts to break down after a year, and by the 3rd year, totally kaput.

What safety are you talking about?

• tehcho (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:28 am

yes agreed , I will choose teana

• Bangala on Nov 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Power for Honda Accord 2.0 is dissapointing. Pick up like a cow slow. Only good is the design

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:48 am

I like the exterior design of Teana and interior design of Accord.

I just sat my friend K5 (pre-fl) model, the ride is bad and noise level is not up to Japanese standard yet. I am based on my feeling sitting at rear seat. What I feel the car is running fast but look at the driver speedo, it was only 100 km/h which is not fast. Surprisingly that is bad because normally that kind of feel is over 130 km/h in Japanese car. Btw, the body rolling of K5 is quite good compare to Teana which float like a boat. Btw I have no idea why many said engine is loud. My friend’s K5 is using Theta engine which suppose to have louder noise than FL version NU engine but it is bearable. In term of gear changing smoothness, it was not bad and no jerking but can feel it is slow shifting just like my Forte 6 speed. It is my personal feeling of 2 hour in KL traffic.

Btw the car features are really nice and soft touch area around the cabin. Sound system is absolutely fantastic. But it is disappointed with no LCD head unit.

I rate K5 last of the trio but if outside this comparison, I would say it is still better than the “camry”. Hahaha

• ggtttggg on Mar 25, 2019 at 5:06 pm

hahahaha k5 owner drug dealer,lousy junk
      see my Camry,luxury car at 160k

• Khevin on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:06 pm

i wont say the accord 2.0 is not a bad car at all… its a very elegant and sporty looking especially if u take the modulo package… i own a 2015 honda accord 2.4… both litres feel comfortable to drive… its just the matter of power in both cars… the 2.4 is fast and speed pickup is good.. i’ve a maximum of 240km/h in the 2.4… n one of my friend owns a accord 2.0 2014 model… it has a good power too… he managed to do 220kmh on the way to ipoh… n talking about fuel consumption… honda is the best with fuel consumption … i would say … n guess what te ECON mode makes it more fuel efficient…. its just the gold colour which makes it not elegant… i have the white one with HID LED headlamps and the body kit. overall if u gave a K5, Teana , Accord and Camry.. i would pick the accord.. eventhough the mazdan6 has better power than the accord… accord always provides a pleasant drive … u need power u do not need to put ur foot down… i cruised at 160kmh at 5th gear at just 2900rpm… while the mazda has not enough pick up especially the one with the skyactiv…