Singapore concerned over Malaysia’s retaliatory VEP move, explains rationale behind fee increase

singapore-cars

You VEP me, I VEP you. It was announced last week that the federal government has agreed to impose a vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee on Singaporean vehicles entering Johor, following a request from the state. The retaliatory move comes after Singapore increased its VEP fee from S$20 (RM51.50) to S$35 (RM90) on foreign vehicles entering the island republic, effective August.

Now, Singapore’s Ministry of Transport has issued a statement citing concern over Malaysia’s move, Channel News Asia reports. A ministry spokesperson said it has contacted counterparts in Malaysia for details.

The statement also explained that the basis of Singapore’s VEP and Goods Vehicle Permit (GVP) fees is not discriminatory, but serves to equalise the cost of owning/using foreign-registered vehicles on Singapore roads with that for Singapore-registered vehicles. Closing loopholes, in other words.

“Singapore-registered vehicles are subject to significantly different costs such as the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) and vehicle taxes, amongst others. In fact, the last time the VEP fee for cars was changed in 2004, it was lowered, largely because of the lower cost of COEs during that period,” the statement explained.

Thailand Sadao Checkpoint
Kedah is set to follow Johor’s footsteps in imposing a VEP fee for Thai-registered vehicles

Basically, the cost difference in owning and using foreign-registered and Singapore-registered vehicles has widened in recent years (Singapore up), and this necessitated the VEP and GVP (S$10 to S$40 per month) fee increase. VEP for foreign-registered motorcycles remains unchanged.

Malaysian cars and motorcycles continue to enjoy the following VEP-free days and VEP-free hours:

– Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore Public Holidays;
– 10 normal weekdays per calendar year; and
– Between 5pm and 2am on all other days (these VEP-free hours are extended to start at 12 noon instead of 5pm during the June and December Singapore school holidays).

It was pointed out that the above works out to a total of around 125 days per year that are VEP-free on top of the daily VEP-free hours. So it appears that there’s a logic behind Singapore’s VEP fee increase. Does Malaysia have a rationale for the retaliatory move other than “you VEP me, I VEP you”?

Earlier this week, Kedah announced plans to impose a VEP fee on Thai-registered vehicles coming in from the north. “Currently, drivers of foreign-registered vehicles avoid getting penalised for traffic offences once they return to their country. With the VEP in force, all data on the vehicles involved in traffic offences can be retrieved and the motorists can be fined before leaving the country,” State Education, Transportation and Works Committee chairman Datuk Tajul Urus Mat Zain explained.

What are your views on this VEP issue with our neighbours?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• come on la. singaporeans r paying peanuts still want to complain? maybe they need to address the issue of some of the drivers from across who drove like maniacs and avoid paying summons

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 417 Thumb down 20
    • sutrak on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:34 pm

the clown singaporeans.. typical. u hit people ok.. when people hit u, u complain. small boy mentality.

rationale for malaysia to impose VEP is simple. we need to discourage opportunists singaporean who comes to malaysia just to fill up the petrol tank. plain simple ok? complain somemore, increase 2x.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 328 Thumb down 21
    • azrai on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:53 am

It’s known worldwide they are KIASUs! So get that tit for tat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 10
      • Tit for tat not the optimal way, everyone just goes blind after that. Many Malaysians and Singaporeans have relatives across the two countries. Can’t afford to quarrel over frivolous matters.

• shame_Loo on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Typical Singaporean, LCLY, kiasu kiasi style. Malaysia should have implement this long time ago.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm

some say work as cleaner in singapore salary S$1000..kaya already..RM25 cannot pay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
      • Can pay lah! Who say can not pay? Give me their name please!

• taiocruise on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:27 am

Minimum wage has increased, so cleaners get at least SGD $1,200. But let’s not forget the cost of living in Singapore. Anyway why everyone is saying Singaporeans are complaining? Every comment here is Pro-Malaysia.

• Small amounts do add up.

• Wonder why they act like israel..their mentor?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • A Malaysian on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:27 am

Dear Malaysians,

Please forgive our friends from Singapore, they have been living in such a small island for quite a long time and naturally most of them are narrow-minded.Let them comment and bark whatever they want, they always like to do that.Treat them as stray dogs and show them we Malaysians are animal lover. Lastly, to all Singaporeans, just wait to pay for the VEP.

No hard feeling.Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • 1Malaysia on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Don’t bullshit anymore…Just increase…please increase more than RM100…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 265 Thumb down 16
    • Malaysian government should set VEP to RM5000 per entry to SG cars so that no SG car come in. Happy! hehehehe.

• justin lee on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Brainless comment, I think you fail to see how much money Singaporeans bring into the local Johor economy. This is the same as slapping your own face

• Do spare a thought for those with relatives living across the causeway.

• bringmanualcars! on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

why are they concerned? we have our rights. less sg joyride driver breaking the law in malaysia. somewhat balanced

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 9
  • Fuel is subsidize to be the reason.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 9
    • Not only fuel subsidize, traffic fine also compromised by corrupted traffic police. I loved them like no tomorrow!

• holofanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Oh look the Singaporeans are whining o.O.

*Makes a phone call*

“Yeah they’ve started their whining. Review the plan to increase it to rm100.”

“Don’t worry about the repercussions. Just increase it.”

*puts down phone*

Events are now in motion…. >:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 8
  • Why not lower the car prices in Singapore to ‘equalise’ the difference in cost of vehicle ownership?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 5
    • BeemerFreak on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Damn good answer. Their gov are just as corrupted as ours, just that they do it in “legal” terms. They have an effective free balloting system for house buying yet they still use cash to determine for cars, reason being government control cars. Truthfully is because too much revenue to loose like our excise duty, that’s why have to charge. The only difference is the stupid Singaporeans dunno how to complain and threaten their gov like us, only complain about foreigners in their country….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 12
      • We R Future on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:36 am

Yeah.Singaporeans r such a spoilt children..complain about too many foreigners,complain about canned sardine packed n power failure mrt,expensive properties,top 3 high cost of living every year,can’t protest on the street,can’t even protest online..not even a single official opposition newspaper allowed to produce.Leader in complaining but too chicken to fight for their own self respect.So how r they voiced out n released their unhappiness to their own dynasty politicians? To us.Blaming Malaysian in every ridicules way..claiming they r super upper level civilized than their neighbors.Yes it’s physically well developed tiny island but not well developed mentally.Proved that the citizens of that little red dot is lower in freedom,self esteem n self belief.Exactly similar to sissy character..noisy mouth but no egg.Well Singaporeans,u came frequently as tourists breaking so many rules,loitering our land,consume our food n water resources,burned out our subsidized fuel,sold out our properties for your retirement plan,.why so fuss just pay 20 in ringgit ma! Dont just think to cover your lobang only.We got more lobang to cover too!Maybe not our road’s lobang but of our politicians lobang pockets instead. We can call it win win situation but u can seats us in losing position.At least we got guts n dare..to change n made progress for our life.Oh Singaporean politicians,don’t be too concerned by gave us stupid excuses why the VEP increased n our rational VEP imposed.We r not chickens like your sissy born robots!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 8
    • You sir, made my day. Maybe even my week.

It should be a blessing of the highest that Malaysians and Singaporeans can enjoy the convenience of going to each other’s countries in their own vehicle.

But the danged PAP would negate this blessing to fill their own coffers. Part of the reason we Malaysians have such ridiculous taxes on cars is because our neighbor down south sets an even more inhumane example. I mean, driving is one of the “rights” in life isn’t it?! But in Singapore, if you drive, you must be at least half a millionaire! Bizarre.

Sincerely,
      A Malaysian working 2 days a week in Singapore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
    • Why so stupid? If they lower the car price in SG the traffic in the island will be jam like hell.
      Why you guys acting like children wanna revenge to Singaporean? Use your brain to think if u were Singaporean would u implement COE so that less ppl can afford to buy car and then Implement VEP so that ppl would not buy a much cheaper car in MY and drive in SG? Come on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
      • Gerald on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I agree with your L for the need for COE. Otherwize Singapore would become as jammed as KL.
        Coming back to the tax, if Singaporeans are unhappy to pay a tax to go to Malaysia, they can always stay in Singapore. But then, where will they rulelessly drive their expensive cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • I agree. You are higher level than the rest. Hehehehe.

• Singapore makes policy, its justified and no one should ask. But Malaysia make a policy they have to consult SG. And moreover ask the MY Gov for explanation. F%$*

Now does BN has the balls to ignore those SG comments and implement VEP ?? Or is Naji gona send a team to Marina Bay Sands to study for next 6 months on tax payers money ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 12
  • Do not back off from the plan to impose VEP to foreign car. We have every single rights to impose whatever levy or taxes or charges to any foreign car to whatever reason we consider is justified. If they do not want to be charge then do not drive. Use our public transport. We have trains running from Woodland to Bangkok or luxury buses from Kallang to Kuala Lumpur.

We have been considerate to foreign vehicles for so many years and some of them running away from paying summons, using our highways as their formula one track etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 7
  • Singaporean can afford to buy Malaysiana car and park it in JB if they want.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
  • Anti-Toyota on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

So they r saying they increased the VEP to discourage people from buying non- SG registered car because their government gets lower income from the taxes. So it is all about what they gain at the end of the day? So typical Kiasu. And yes, ohhhhh we still don’t charge VEP on public holidays, saturday or Sunday because that is the day we need to get some money from stupid tourists who go to Singapore to experience the same culture and food and pay double. Yeah right SG! We also need to charge VEP to maintain the road that is being used by SG cars!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • It is not fair to many malaysians.. half my extended family stays in sg and i always finish off that 10 day free VEP quota per year.

It’s getting ridiculously expensive to drive around there after that. Not to mention there’s almost ZERO free parking.

However in Singapore’s slight defence, they’re trying their best to discourage the purchase of cars since their road capacity are almost at their limits and encourage everyone to utilise their public transport instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • start-a-fight on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

singaporean does not pay anything to use our road and buy our petrol… and yet they rules the highway with their high-speed dangerous maneuver in highway…

why?

because summons is based on car and not driver.. their car will get dispose after certain year… knowing so they do not even care if they kena summons whatsoever…

with the introduction of VEP in malaysia, they will have to pay for speed ticket/summons they received while in malaysia before they could return home.

that’s why they oppose to this changes..

they use our road.. why not they pay to use it… it is peanut compare to driving to singapore..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 7
    • tiong95 on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:16 am

Alwiz made it a point NOT to give Singaporean cars to pass me on PLUS highways. So discipline in own country but outside their true colors appears. Singaporean good at camouflaging eh ….
      On the other hand, why can’t our police set a police beat or office in both Causeway and Linkedua; and before this Singapore cars are allowed to proceed back to Singapore, they have to settle their fines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • justin lee on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Sounds like you are asking your police to do some work, hmmmm

• their car will get dispose after certain year… knowing so they do not even care if they kena summons whatsoever…

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/07/23/singapore-concerned-malaysias-retaliatory-vep-move/#ixzz38Ue1GBtX

Disposed? Get your facts right sister. Hehehehe.

• VEP and summon are two different things serving different objectives.

• kckuni on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

If this is your reason, then Malaysian who owned a malaysia registered car shall not imposed VEP at all!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • mohdsharir on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:48 pm

My view on this, road are made from the same materials, either in Singapore or Malaysia. So if Singapore thinks its fair to pay RM90, I vote we should put the same VEP of RM90. So why cant we ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
    • USDfan on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Singapore nye kualiti jalan beza…malaysia punya tarmax grade rendah..singapore sama dgn thailand gred tinggi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Dear Mohdsharir, you mean you really think that all roads are made from the same material arhhhhh? You didn’t travel out of Malaysia meh? hehehehe.

• forest the tree on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

you increase i increase, this is purely padan muka, singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • Vladimir on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:52 pm

It is shame that this kind of article appears in this website. Who cares about what the Singaporeans are thinking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 9
    • hahaha on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:34 pm

the fact that we have to explain the reason….truly disgust me.

okay la, reduce the vep entering malaysia from RM20 to RM!
      implement the system first.

(singapore want to play right?)

• Sam's Best Friend on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:02 pm

so it is not justified for Singapore registered car to pay Road tax in Malaysia? You know to maintain roads with pot holes? And for cost recovery of subsidised petrol????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • VWfanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:05 pm

well….if they are not happy. Just don’t come. as simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
  • Carnut on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:13 pm

There are indeed Singaporeans who drive Malaysian registered cars in SG. In fact I know some people who deliberately do that. On top of that they want to limit the use of cars in SG. I can understand why they want to increase the VEP.

There are also a lot of SG cars coming in a few times a week for shopping and food. I wonder if Putrajaya worked out how this affects our tourist arrivals and revenue. After all the bulk of our tourist arrivals are from SG. If I am a business owner in Johor doing mostly SG business, I would be worried.

Given the sometimes seemingly shallow thinking of our government officials, I wouldn’t be surprised if this was really a case of “you charge me, I charge you too”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 103
    • Stop bullshit on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Carnut, don’t bullshit pls! I’m a SG PR, and I tell u, Sgrean and SG PR are prohibited from driving foreign registered car in and into SG.

Don’t mislead the masses!

But, our govt is kind enough, to allow those SG PR (basically Malaysians) to drive SG registered cars into Malaysia. Now, this bunch of mofos KPKB over a rumored RM 20 VEP.

These mofos pay income tax to SG govt (incl me). The SG car they drive, road tax also pay to SG govt. The car they drive, duty and COE also pay to SG govt. And yet, the road that Msia govt build by using Msians money, they are enjoying it free of charge.

what have they contributed to the national coffer to have the roads built? or even so, how much have they contributed?

This rationale given by SG govt is absolutely bullshit. But sadly, those selfish mofos bite it without questions, and make threats that they will move back to SG. LOL, all because that RM20 is very unaffordable in their eyes.

many reports, especially Chinese paper that say this VEP by Msia govt will make life of those SG PR who drives SG car miserable. May I allow to say F*** U?

if that rumored RM20 can make those mofos life miserable, then those Msians that drive Msia car to work every Monday to Friday, that have to pay SGD35 per entry, and also toll at SG custom of SGD3.20 one way, can hang themselves already lah. their life is 10x more miserable. they r lagi kesian, income tax alr have to pay SG govt, drive car to work still have to pay SGD35 and toll. basically, SG govt suck them dry.

to those mofos SGrean and SG PR driving SG car, stop whining! You had enjoyed the best of both world for so long, only take but nvr give. It’s about time you pay up.

When ppl say Msia govt copy, oh well, Msia govt have yet to copy “Prohibit Malaysian from driving foreign car into Malaysia” from SG. This is not impossible, when this happens, let’s see who the real loser is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 13
      • JB_kia on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:28 pm

It is sickening to take bus to and fro SG daily. The q was so long this morning and this evening. Q cutters here and there. Sitting in a stuffy bus watching SG cars zoom crossed the causeway. Reached home at 10pm, half dead. I can understand how u feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • U said those drive M’sia car to work in SG have to pay VEP SGD35 is more miserable? Pls allow me to say F..k you! Pls note that there are a lot of malaysian driving SG car to work!
        Do you know how much a SG car cost?
        You understand that those Malaysian PR have no choice but must buy a SG car to work? You may happily drive a M’sia Accord to work in SG but the monthly cost you paid (VEP SGD700 +Accord installment(RM1400=SGD544)= SGD1244)is just enough to buy a SG Honda City! http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_pricing.php?CarCode=11527

And don’t forget the Insurance and Road Tax! My Bloody 8 yrs old 1.5 Latio still need to pay for SGD1900 insurance and SGD700 road tax per year! U wanna be fair!? It’s already not fair to the Malaysian who own SG car! and now u wanna implement Malaysia VEP!? WTF?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Stop Bullshit on Jul 24, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Dear L, F**k you too!
          mind u, the SG car u drive, duty paid to SG govt, road tax pay to SG govt. Even ur pay, the income tax also pay to SG government.

now, u wanna come in with ur SG car and use Msia road for free? Some more pump our petrol. F**k you 3!

It is ppl like u who want to have the best of both worlds, typical SG kiasu mindset.

Why don’t u do like I do, stay in SG? As a PR, we r suppose to stay in SG, hence the name “permenant residence”.

Dick head, no pay tax to Msia still wanna talk loud. U think driving a SG car, being SG PR make you a king and all msians have to tolerate with u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
          • singa podah on Jul 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Thats the problem with singaporean batang n lubang. They always think highly of themselves and look down on us malaysians.

Please la…if you sing kah lan cant even pay rm25, please stick to your island. I support the johor govt to raise it to rm100 for each car. I bet you, this sing kah lan will still pay and come in and pump petrol in our country. They will complain but they will still pay coz they are kiasu, kia bor, kia lan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Why we PR don’t stay in SG? Is it because like what u said “now, u wanna come in with ur SG car and use Msia road for free? Some more pump our petrol. F**k you 3!” and “It is ppl like u who want to have the best of both worlds, typical SG kiasu mindset.”?
            wow u must be typical malaysia kiasu ppl i ever met. First of all I am Malaysian. Y i wanna come back johor because I bought a house in johor. Why i wanna stay in Johor because I love to stay in my own country. ANY PROBLEM WITH THAT????!!!! not like what u said wanna use malaysia road for free mother fucker! WTF using malaysia road very expensive!!!???? F..k you 4!!!!!
            Yes we pay road tax, insurance, CPF to SG, but we spend everything else in M’sia, buy house, 2nd M’sia car, eat, RON97 petrol which have no subsidy and more…..(if u wanna said we spoil the housing price, pls look nort to Penang, the house there is more expensive without SG worker)
            This is the best way to bring in the SG currency in M’sia! we want to contribute to M’sia! We support Pakatan (LOL)! We want a better M’sia! We believe M’sia can outperform SG anytime if our gov is not corrupted! And now they want to implement VEP just to fill in their pocket! Pls think la, what benefit u will get from this M’sia VEP system??? What u get already from Petronas???? it will be the same! FOR NOTHING IN RETURN! BN is sucking our Money! Pls give me a benefit malaysian can get from this VEP sytem???? SG car no pay road tax? damn 1.5L car in M’sia road tax only RM90/yr,failed. To reduce SG car in M’sia? Damn what will u benefit from this? M’sia is so big even all SG car come over also cannot jem! Failed.
            Last word from u “Dick head, no pay tax to Msia still wanna talk loud. U think driving a SG car, being SG PR make you a king and all msians have to tolerate with u?” what is wrong with you?? a King? WTF? we are just a foreign Labour working hard in SG so that our family would have better life! u are the real dick head!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Don’t always say people never give lah. You are a SG PR, you mean they didn’t give you meh. You robbed arhhhh! You very good leh! Teach me can?

• Stop bullshit on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Please don’t bullshit! I’m a SG PR, and I’m here to tell everyone that SG have a law that prohibit SGrean, SG PR and even Long Term Visit Pass holders, from driving foreign registered car in and into SG.

Don’t mislead the masses!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
  • mystvearn on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:29 pm

It’s about time we stop giving face to Singapore. If businesses find it a traffic jam there, they are always free to migrate to Malaysia where the roads are bigger. We should have done this years earlier. If Singapore want to negotiate, we only will negotiate if they agree to new water deals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • John Gray on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:30 pm

F you Singapore! We don’t need to consider you to make our own decision. When our MH17 was shot down, you did not show sympathy, but you put bad remark on your SQ Facebook. F you Singapore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 13
    • I’m sorry John Gray. Probably SQ didn’t know MH17 hurt you so much. Let me apologize for their misbehave. Comment about MH370 can or not? heheheh

• Rahman on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

By bringing up about MH 370, you have shown to everyone that you heartless. There are thousands of people who lost love ones with no news of them and you make joke of it. One day you will loss your loved one and you will feel the same pain and then hopefully you will understand. No wonder so many people hate you

• I support the idea of VEPs being charged for non-Malaysian registered cars and in fact, it should be priced at a little more than RM20/day. Singaporeans should just suck it up.

HOWEVER, I would like to know what this additional income will be used for and how will it benefit the Malaysian public. Will the additional funds be used to improve the public transportation infrastructure in the country, particularly in Johor Bahru and even in Kedah (if it is introduced up north)?

The one thing that can be said for the VEP in Singapore is that if one does not wish to pay the VEP and corresponding tolls, one can always opt to use the rather efficient public transport network in Singapore. The same comparable alternative does not quite exist in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Dear Singapore,
    You charge for whatever reason thats your problem.
    We charge for our own reason.

Regards,
    Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 5
    • Singaporean on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Dear Malaysia ,

We can afford whatsoever VEP you proposing.

No problemo,
      Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 68
      • VWfanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:26 pm

ya… u all can afford our VEP…. but just when you pump our petrol you all have to keep on pressing ur boot to pump more fuel right ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
      • Kiki The Steering on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:46 pm

@Singaporean
        Haha. Care for me to post what you said last time?
        Malaysia VEP will kill off JB business, now you are bragging big time. Well, I hope the VEP go up to RM100. In Malay they said PADAN MUKA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • SamKL on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:22 am

Only for a while, they will get used to it…they can’t live not to patronize a good food across the causeway

• Dear Singapore,

I feel sympathy to you too, but you got no choice instead just paying for it. You may just drive your lovely car in your beautiful island but once you feel to go overseas. It is must to pay for Malaysia, no matter you afford or not, happy or not.. just pay! Unless your car can swim, we might consider not to charge you for it..

Thanks

• downsys on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Ahh, VEP you lah, Singapore!

• Richard on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Basis of VEP?

Firstly our petrol price is subsidised for Malaysia registered vehicles not foreign registered vehicles.

2nd – all vehicles will pollute the environment. Malaysia Government did not receive any funding from foreign government.

3rd – Malaysia Registered vehicles owners are contributing money to Singapore government to reduce their Environmental issue but foreign registered vehicles did not contribute anything to our DOE.

How much VEP to charge Foreign Registered Vehicles?

1st base on petrol consumption:-
    The distance from Singapore to KL is about 350 km. 2 way is 700 km + 30% for travelling around in KL.
    so total distance travel is about 900 KM.

If the vehicle consume 8L/100km, then the total petrol consumption is 72 liters.
    Our current subsidised amount is RM0.80/liter.
    So total RM subsidised is RM57.60 for each car.

Do you think singaporean drive according to speed limit? So the actual Litre/100 km should be higher.

How about pollution?

This we must learn from Singapore Government how they price the Fuel Price.

Current fuel price in Singapore is SGD2.25 or RM5.60/ltr – each liter is RM3.50 more expensive then us. Based on this price we should charge them RM251 for VEP if the car going to KL.

So JPJ pls collect on behalf of other states Government not just for Johor.

In view of our good relationship with Singapore is almost 50yrs, so I propose to give 50% discount to Singapore Registered vehicles until further notice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 10
    • Jackie on Jul 26, 2014 at 8:01 am

Hello RIchard,

If you do not know about subsidy do not talk so much..RON97 not subsidize at all and all foreign car are only allow to pump RON97 and above.

• Just reciprocate since SG motorists still after cheaper gasoline and EuroIV diesel next.

Malaysia generally kowtow to Singapore and lesser than RM90/day to Sg car is coward act though they’ll use tourism as their reasoning.

Kiasu and very Israelish attitude of SG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Singapore has been collecting VEP from malaysian car for so many years. now we collect only a little bit, already make a big fuss.

Charge the singaporeans, it’s not like their gov care about malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • JB_kia on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:38 pm

yes, gd idea but do we have the bargaining power? Jusco is bloody crowded but can Jusco charge entrance fee to its customers to bring down the crowd?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • hahaha on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:11 pm

its the bloody subsidy that the malaysian concern about.

and you go to jusco or malaysia because it is cheap. simple equation maaa.

You see MALAYSIAN, they take advantage of our loophole and this SINGAPOREAN laugh at us.

Now let us be like Singapore, count and equalize what they benefit from us. Enough of this mockery!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Recently they change the rules for the heavy vehicles and new VEP. It is the right time for us to do the same for our benefits.

If Jusco charge, we go to Giant, Tesco, The Store, etc..
        If Malaysia charge, where can the SG cars go?

To think again, business wise, we should have done it years ago. :)

• Jacky on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:54 pm

The use our subsidies which is belong to our malaysian citizen!!petrol,,even their eat roti canai or drink teh tarik also OUR TAX money!!!(sugar tepung and many more which is subsidies to malaysian citizen ONLY!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • JB_kia on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

jacky ko ni pernah bayo cukai x? tax$ ko plak…lol

• montana on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Dear mr jb kia, I dont want to be rude..but I 100% my tax deduction per month more than ur salary u earn per month..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Tiger Squadron on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:29 am

in the internet, everybody can bloody cheat and lie about anything. U damn right ur tax is higher that others monthly salary, u know their salary?

• Montani on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:01 am

Dear mr Montana, my father owns three condos in Singapore and I think you can’t even afford one HDB flat in Singapore.Pathetic poor ass.

• rosli on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:06 pm

first up. we don’t owe anybody any explanation nor do we ask for someone else’s policy. secondly, it time we recover some of our infrastructure investment from foreign vehicles. our roads are good and maintaining it are becoming expensive. Moreover the increase of the number of foreign vehicles is making Malaysian paying more for the wear and tear. they should pay. Lastly, foreign vehicle are consuming our subsidies either in maintenance, or fuels, etc. We are reducing our subsidies. For once Malaysian government need to stand firm on our national interests.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • oklah on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Next time when we need to pee, do we need to obtain approval from kiasuland??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • mr1031 on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:18 pm

be very strict la malaysia government..just imposed what is our rights..

p/s: when malaysia is going to implement visa? malayaia is too crowded with corrupted foreigners with various background due to the passport only regulation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • JBrian on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:37 pm

I wonder if there’s really any SP guys reading this thread. Sure kiasu kiasu kiabo
    Really good if the Kiasuland govt read this thread so that they know we don’t give a damn what they think. We don’t owe anybody any explanation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Let them pay VEP to compensate for our water deal. Better charge RM 100 per vehicle per day. Time to get tough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Teksi Drebar on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:03 pm

So you want to know the reason? Many reasons but how about this to make it simple for you Singapore?
    Johor must increase the price for the cheap water we sell to you and the petrol you have been drinking like nobody business. You are also not supposed to buy those RM 250k+ houses last time and you are competing with the Malaysian life here in our country. If you hate those foreigners that flooded your country and causing problems for you, we Malaysian feel the same way about you. For these reasons we need to VEP you. Perhaps should be RM100 per entry but our government still have kindness in their heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Without malaysian buyer who working in SG and SG buyer, project nusajaya and kota iskandar will not even been proposed. Pls note that the goup of ppl who absorb the most impact from this new VEP is Malaysian who are PR and driving SG car travel to work in SG everyday.

• Stop Bullshit on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:34 am

Dear L,

You are wrong again. So, F**k you 4!

You are merely concern about the hike in living cost on your end, clearly you are a SG PR driving car registered in kiasuland. You said you are those that have to bear the cost and suffer like hell and this VEP on MY end which will be charged in RM (value dunno yet), but rumored to be RM20-50 la, is very expensive.

Mind you, if you are kind enough to tell us all how your beloved SG govt set the requirements for EP, SP and PR, then we all will know that, by holding a PR, ur salary is much higher than those holding EP and SP.

So for EP and SP holder, with their lower than yours salary, they drive MY car into SG every Monday to Friday and pay SGD20 (will become SGD35 this coming August 1st) to your beloved SG govt. that’s not all, if you don’t mind to ask, you will get to know that these EP and SP holder also pay income tax to your Mr. beloved SG govt. That’s a double whammy! Income tax pay SG govt and yet come in to work have to pay additional SGD35 on August 1st.

Between a higher salary earner that pays VEP in RM and lower salary earner that pays VEP in SGD, who suffers more?

And also, the higher salary earner, the PRs are not paying income tax to MY.

Ok, I know you had n you gonna raise that car price and COE, road tax and car insurance shit. I’m telling you, that particular problem that you have, so called high cost, is not MY problem. It is your beloved SG govt that made you bear those cost. If you not happy, please bark back at your master, the SG govt, suck their dick or whatever and hopefully they will help you out lah. Don’t come to MY and want MY to help you with your problems by sacrificing the interests of MY rakyat.

What logic is that? Ppl like you, want to take advantage only; dare to curse at MY, your motherland; but in front of SG, wiggle your tail non-stop.

F**k you 5!

• Annoynimouse on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Malaysia’s move was to equalize the lost Malaysia had to bear due to foreign drivers not paying their fines. Nothing to do with VEPeeing back… no?

• Anonymous on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Not only we have to increase our VEP, we should consider collecting deposits in postpaid system to impose our summons on singaporean cars. They have to top up a minimum of rm300, upon exiting malaysia, if they have a summon detected the rm300 will be deducted, if not they get to keep the deposit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • WHATEVER!!!

• Commentor on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Theory:
    You help me I help you,
    You increase I increase.

Malaysia have right to impement any chargers against foreigner to enter to the mainland…No need get permission from you (Singapore)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • assholr on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:22 pm

What a joke bunch of jokers talk coxk pr contribute nothing to this country. No pr or those work in sg n travel, long ago jb rconomy already die.

If u dun stay in jb, shut the fuxk up. Dun be sour grape ppl earning more than you. U live misrrablr u should blamn urself n dun make other suffer kike you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Daily Commuter on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Singapore implemented VEP is to balance up with the current sky high COE prices (Current COE price is SGD65k-70K without owning a car yet- COE is done by bidding war). Owning a car is expensive in Singapore (COE+Car price). COE is a mechanism to reduce traffics on Singapore congested lands. But by doing so, Singapore has invested heavily to make public transport efficient and attractive. Now that Singapore has implemented a move to reduce citizen ownership on vehicle, the next step is to reduce the foreign car coming into Singapore. Thus, VEP is implemented. Each foreign-registered cars are given 10 days Free-VEP a year to drive into Singapore. So it only affects tourist minimally assuming tourist doesn’t visit Singapore more than 10 days a year. VEP is design only to charge people who commutes daily between Singapore and JB (est. 100 000 people commuters). As these commuters are driving Malaysian registered cars, Singapore needs VEP to balance up fees charged to these daily Malaysians vehicles against to the COE for local Singaporean cars.

All i can read from Malaysia’s stand in implementing VEP is on their “Bi-lateral approach”. I don’s see any benefits in paying RM20 but to enrich a few. Road conditions are bad in JB, litters and rubbish are everywhere, crime rates are high just to name a few. That RM20 will never hit hard on Singapore-registered cars as they drive into Malaysia once a week/month/2months or so. It will only hit your own fellow Malaysians who wakes up at wee hours daily to earn a living and comes back late at night for the hope of a better quality life and children’s future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
    • hahaha on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:18 pm

“That RM20 will never hit hard on Singapore-registered cars as they drive into Malaysia once a week/month/2months or so.”

Thank you, maybe should increase to RM100. Let the corrupt keep RM20, RM80 to improve road conditions which are bad in JB, help reduce litters and rubbish which are everywhere and fight crime rates are high just to name a few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Tiger Squadron on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:23 am

Dun think so, VEP implemented only for foreign cars. If Malaysians drove their Msia registered car, the VEP will not be imposed towards them.

• jasjos on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:59 am

Not all Malaysians can drive Malaysia registered car into Singapore. PRs can’t.

• Stop Bullshit on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:46 am

Again, keep saying owning SG car is expensive, yes we know. But, it’s not MY problem.

It is not MY govt that set the rules in SG that causes the cost of owning a car in SG so expensive. Why don’t you mofos, curse and bark at your beloved SG govt. Tell them that you suffer like hell, car very expensive, ask them to solve your problem.

Why want MY to solve your problem? Why want MY to tolerate?

Please be clear, the problem you have is caused by SG govt, don’t relate this to MY.

Go ask your beloved SG govt to tolerate la. After all, u r PR mah, u pay income tax to them mah, u have every rights to bark at them, but why don’t u do that?

Whatever reasons that SG govt give you, whatever problem you have with owning SG car, is between you and the SG govt! Go settle with them!

Stop barking at us, stop giving us nonsense!

• presna (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

preventing traffic offenders from getting away scot-free is a good reason for VEP,

regarding subsidized fuel, well if I’m not mistaken, the rules already state that outbound SG vehicles are supposed to have their tanks 3/4 full (though I doubt the immigration officers are inspect each and every vehicle)

anyhow, VEP is good to prevent traffic offenders from escaping, just need to make sure the costs ain’t too high ( as much as you guys might hate SG drivers or even Thai drivers getting a bargain, trade and business in states neighboring these countries depend on them…)

• moki mak on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Singapore is acting to be the Israel of South East Asia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • start-a-fight on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:39 am

singapore IS the israel of SEA.. look how they try to take over Iskandar Malaysia…

• alternatively since some Sporeans are quite notorious in breaking the speed limit with their supercar, why not collect rm500 upfront. 200 for VEP + 300 for speeding. for sure 300 is refundable if they behave ..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Illogical on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:50 am

What logic. Penalise everyone for the transgressions of a few. And by the way, SG-registered are only allowed to fill in un-subsidised RON97 petrol at all stations in the Peninsular. If a FEW are getting away with filling RON 95, the question that should be asked is why the pump attendant is not doing anything about it? Please look at yourself in the mirror and check your facts before opening spewing your 2 sen worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • start-a-fight on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:41 am

they trick to fill up 95… they already mark a few petrol pump where does not offer 97.. and said no fuel anymore..

• ProtonHired (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:56 pm

That said, COE is not an excuse of implementing VEP onto foreigner’s cars, it is merely a tool imposed by Singapore government to control the number of on the road cars by its own. I just wonder why Singapore so happy to give a tight slap on her cheek.

Furthermore, what do Malaysian drivers get in Singapore? except for own convenience, I don’t really see any significant benefits from that. On the other hand, Singaporean drivers are benefit from the petrol subsidies given by Malaysia government. And the most disgusted scene I ever seen is when those cheap Singaporean buying rice, sugar which are subsidized by Malaysia to ease our cost of living. Why are we spending those money to support foreigners(Singaporean in this case) when their own government doesn’t really bother much? I believe VEP is one of the rightful way of Malaysia to recoup those expenses to State account. Otherwise, who is going to fill the gap where State expenses always greater than income?

I would suggest Malaysia, to impose VEP to foreign cars with at least RM150, while giving the free entries on par with Singapore. It is always better to earn foreign currency to cure deficit, isn’t it? Aside, I dare to challenge you Singaporean drivers, will you all not coming into Malaysia if VEP at RM150 per entry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • What bullshit is this? Singaporeans are not allowed to drive foreign-registered vehicles in their country. Therefore their reasoning is null.

• Illogical on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:01 am

Exactly. SG PR also are not allowed to drive foreign-registered vehicles into SG. You are just penalising your own citizens, mostly, that drive into SG everyday for work. Citizens, who by paying lower income tax in the Republic, bring back higher disposable income to spend/save/invest in JB. So go ahead and screw your own citizens who is just trying to make a living to support their families.

Very soon, with the implementation of the GST in 2015, you will be collecting taxes from tourists in the country. That should alleviate the subsidy enjoyed by tourists.

Ultimately, abolish the subsidies and focus on targeted welfare aid.

I’m ashamed to say that some of my fellow citizens complain as bad as SG citizens.

• start-a-fight on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:45 am

OOT. foreigner who buy stuff with GST can apply for refund on their way out… it’s a standard practice in any country implementing GST/VAT..

• kannina on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:37 pm

So u say Msia govt is penalizing own citizen (those that drives SG car) when Msia wanna charge VEP. So now u condemn Msia govt.

So how about u condemn SG govt too? Because there also Msia citizen (EP or SP holder) being penalized by SG govt by their VEP of SGD35. Bear in mind these Msia citizens enter SG every Monday to Friday, some even have to enter on Saturday to work.

LSL likes having pet dog like u that barks for him. LSL:”GOOD BOY! “

• kannina on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:45 pm

then why should Msia govt allow Malaysians (SG PR holder) to drive foreign cars into Msia?

So u saying only SG govt is allowed to protect their own interest, while Msia govt is not allowed?

Those PR holders, ur income tax alr pay to SG, the car u drive, the duty, the road tax already pay SG, and u as Malaysian drive the SG car into Msia, where the hell is Msia govt interest?

SG govt prohibit SGrean and PR from driving foreign cars into SG is because they want to protect their own interest, which is $$$.

So I say, Msia govt should protect Msia’s own interest as well.

LSL likes pet dog such as u that barks for him.
      LSL :”good boy!”

• mel8488 on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:38 am

come on SG… Malaysia should VEP RM100 and eevery vehicle entering Malaysia should fill their fuel tank in full without subsidy price… then when they leaving Malaysia they must pay all the summons or their vehicle will be compound…

what say u guys?.. fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • its one way to increase government income..just VEP them..!! its been long they enjoy free entrance into our nation…

• and it not uncommon sight that SG registered cars purposely go fill in their tanks at station that don’t sell RON97(minyak hijau)

• Singapore on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:52 am

As a Singaporean, there s really nothing rakyat Singapura can do when our government implementing their says on us. These serves to you, Malaysian and people from other countries too. Luckily, foreign worker / permanent resident may wished to return back to their respective countries when they retired and their home sweet home is there for them. Unlike us (S’porean) , we have nowhere to go but to accept whatever the authority thrown to us. With the current VEP matter , let have no negative change of words between Singaporean and Malaysian. You have your suckers and so do we. Nothing can be done to change their mentality to suck us dry. Perhaps , if you are on their seat ( if you are academically smart ) , you behaves as bad as them or even worse. In the meantime, lets stop all the tantrum thrown between two countries , but lets take care of our children and make them a better person so that, one day, if they are able to be someone up there deciding on the affair of the country which affected the rakyat , your child won t be the asshole we are having now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • L-Bird on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:30 am

As a Malaysian, I gave you a Like. Why fight? It is the assholes sitting up there that make the Rakyat suffer.

The world is crazy enough with MH17, Israel-Palestine, Russia-Ukraine, etc. Can’t we 2 neighbors be good to each others and live in peace, can we?

Nuff said and fly away…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • ‘really nothing rakyat Singapura can do’? As a civilised Singaporean, you should grow some guts and fight your own corrupt government against injustice instead of complaining on a foreign forum. in being a good neighbour I too would like to see a better future for your citizens.

p/s: don’t forget to pay your PDRM summons!

• msiabole on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:19 am

90% PR driving singapore car from jb-sg commute daily are chinese. Why msia government will fxxking care rite?? This will nvr change, the racist country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:55 am

I hope you’re being sarcastic, otherwise you’re the one who’s being racist here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • start-a-fight on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:49 am

You’re so racist, you probably think this VEP is about you
      You’re so racist, I’ll bet you think this VEP is about you
      Don’t you? Don’t You?

(sing it to the melody of ‘you so vain – Carly Simon’

• Battu on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:00 am

C’mon paultan, malaysia dont have any rationale in introducing VEP?
    the reason to lessen the difference of owning a car in SG is none of our business. they are the one who put ridiculous tax to their people, and they want to charge us so that it is even. where is the logic? why we are the one to pay?
    This can be deduced by your own thinking mr paultan, no need to ask commenter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Shall I ask my tenant if I want to increase my property rental (after I survey the standard price) ?

• Tiger Squadron on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:16 am

Imposing VEP near Thai border surely will solve the subsidised fuel being sold widely across southern Thai.

• Kangkung on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:33 am

I think Singapore gov happy to see malaysian gov charge VEP. Most singaporean are stinggy, calculative mindset.

Higher VEP imposed by Malaysian gov, singaporean will less travel, less spending in Malaysia.
    Then SG government will not lose their money out of SG.

• Ross Idris on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:44 am

Just shut up Singapore… or to be precise.. SINGAPURA!!

You do to others can.. when others do back to you.. cannot and complain.. such a kiasu behaviour!

As if you are the only ones need to fix this and that…

• haha funny..they are concerned for a VEP which is smaller in numbers then what malaysians has to pay before entering to Singapore. They earn more but so stingy???? common you cant have every thing free..you can reason on your actions but malaysian’s cannot????

• no war on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:58 am

no point hurting each other. end up all rakyat will suffer and both goment will win. if all profit go back to rakyat by buildin better public transport or improve infra stucture then no complain but the truth all profit goes to somewhere we cant see.LOL. god bless all human beings

• Sinkie on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:00 am

Let’s all just wait n see if it will ever get implemented. Hopefully not NATO. Initially said start from 1 August, now said likely end of the year….. LOL

• Hafiz Rahim on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:12 am

You help me I help you,
    You increase I increase.

I like this kind of theory. Thumbs up.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:12 am

An eye for an eye..

No need explain any.. it just.. justice. .

Or business. ..

You vep me you get money.. I vep you I get money too.. what’s the problem here.. plus you can buy cheap stuffs in JB..

Gov.. make sure you VEP them equal the exchange rate. Don’t give face..

Money give back to people. . Make better roads.. help poor people in Johor.. Sultan will approve.

• Hairul on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:15 am

Just Imposed the VEP to Singaporean car. Can Save Our Petrol Subsidies, Can pay for Road Maintenance and and lower the price the Goods price for Johorean if Singaporean people less come to Malaysia…

• Your theory is hilarious. The complete opposite to the theory economic development.

• Sg PR on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:20 am

Dear Singapore and Malaysia.

Ultimately, it is those working in Sg, Staying in JB, EP holders and Sg PRs who is trying to make a living suffers.

• Make no sense. Coz Sg/ SgPR can only drive Sg car in Sg. Why would LTA want to impose the car price different (ie. COE) to foreigner just because Sg car are super exp? Only charge those abusing the COE system la, like those Sg-rean who bought Malaysia car and drive in Sg. Wait what? Isnt it Sg/ PR cant drive Malaysia car in Sg? In fact, they are targeting Malaysian driving MY car in SG. So why the bullshyt? Cut short the bullshyt and say u’re imposing on My driver driving MY car in Sg. JB never bullshyt u by doing the same thing, vise versa..

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

@Nick
      That is what I being saying all this while.
      if those driving MY plate is going to buy Sg plate car, then since the COE have limited quota. Definitely the COE price will sky rocket up again.

• john doe on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:50 am

lee kuan yew’s attitude… but cheap water sell back to malaysia with expensive price… :)

• That is business, I love it and that is what I’m doing but I can’t let anyone know that I buy cheap in My and sell in Sg lest they get jealous. LOL.

• Ka ni na on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:50 am

To All. Malaysian. Let s go and pee at the causeway same time and Singapore will sure flooded

• You are most welcome. Sg will turn them into drinking water and sell back to My. Just joking. Hahahha.

• Fazlin on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:05 am

You VEP me, I VEP you… same as what you give, you get back!!!

• fiqued on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:40 am

Sgp minister.. u already answer ur own question..

• fiqued on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:49 am

Better stationed traffic counter at border… must clear all of their summon before leaving mys..

• SingSG on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Well to be fair to Singapore and us we should collect the VEP in Sing dollars ! Just to be equal/fair guys nothing personal. Come here buy groceries,eat and drink go to health spa all half price still want to complain !

• hadi hariz on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Dont worry lah jb bussines people even malaysia vep the sg rm200 .they will sure still come to jb coz here are have cheaper goods n services.even the food in jb are tastier than sg.they are whining just like typical small anoyying children

• hadi hariz on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Dont worry lah jb bussines people even malaysia vep the sg rm200 .they will sure still come to jb coz here are have cheaper goods n services.even the food in jb are tastier than sg.they are whining just like typical small anoyying children.the police should be station near the border for the traffic summons they did in malaysia

• supertjx on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:47 pm

No consideration of how this will affect the many Johoreans who commute to work in Singapore in Singapore cars? Or the many big and small businesses in Johor who depend on Singaporean tourists for their livelihood? You say they are a bunch of freeloaders, but where would the Johor economy be without them?

I think Singapore is asking a reasonable question. They explained nicely why they charge their VEP. I mean seriously, what reasons do we have for charging ours?

Are we so insecure that we have to do this “you VEP so I VEP” nonsense? Seriously, I hope you guys are just trolling. Because, if our leaders are similarly shallow and insecure, then I seriously worry for the future of our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Kiki The Steering on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Suddenly another Economist that is concerned about JB future. If you worry about ‘our’ future, then please buy Malaysia plate and pay duty and excise tax to ‘our’ Government instead of buying SG plate to game the system.
      Are you paying Income Tax in MY?
      Are you pumping RON 95 subsidised petrol?
      The STFU, pay up and stop using ‘our’ government.

• Sorry, we paid for 98 because 95 is too diluted for our cars. Please edit all your 95 to 98 from now. Thank you very much. :p

• Semaj on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Not only should Malaysia implements VEP on them,the government should impose GST(6%), or probably more on them.
    Aiya..S’pore is charging us,so we have to charge in return.Don’t fall for them…

• Well said, GST 6% too little I think, 15% will be good. Malaysia government should implement COE on all cars too since they like to “VEP you, VEP me”. Not fair to Malaysian if their neighbouring country has COE they don’t have. They will loose out if they don’t “COE you, COE me”. I smart right?

• samlok on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:05 pm

What ever excuses singapore gave, we can claim as ours too, so no dispute.

• Jackie on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:18 pm

However, if Msia introduce a high VEP it affects Johoreans and Malaysians who work in Singapore and travel daily using a St registered car. It is not a choice because when someone is on EP,S Pass or PR they cannot drive a Msian car to go in Singapore. If it is RM90 per day it is RM2700 per month.

On another note, Najib being so friend with Lee Hsien Loong,take selfies…suck each other’s cock etc. Wouldn’t it be a surprised him being such a quiet softie suddenly man up and whack them with a VEP?

COULD IT BE A PLANNED EXERCISE AND WAYANG FROM BOTH SIDES TO SCREW CITIZENS FROM BOTH SIDES?
    Like a wife swap kinda thingy?
    U fuck mine, I fuck yours?

• I am SG PR on Jul 24, 2014 at 3:10 pm

sorry to say, u r wrong! pls get ur facts right before comment.

EP and S Pass holder can drive Msia registered car into SG. Only Sgrean and SG PR cannot.

Furthermore, for ur brain to digest, Msian holding EP or SP who drives Msia registered car to work in SG every Monday to Friday, some even have to work on Saturday; and these msians are paying SGD35 per entry. Do the math urself “genius”, just how much our citizen have to pay to SG govt.

And now u r saying those SG PR msian paying RM dunno how much yet, is very unreasonable? Oh screw u, pet dog of SG govt.

• Equality on Jul 24, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Come on. Be democratic.

Since Singapore impose SGD35, I think it’s only fair we impose RM150 to balance out things taking into consideration of amount of subsidised items Singaporeans enjoy and much more cheaper things which they enjoy coming over to M’sia. I still recall overheard some Sporeans gossiping coming over to M’sia for grocery shopping, pump petrol, wash car, buy property and much more.
    All these indeed help to build our economy. However, it’s also the main cause of our property prices shooting up and price of food sky rocket in JB to a point a middle class salaried man cannot even afford to buy a middle sized house near JB area thus causing us to spend more on properties and food.

Come on lar. S’poreans always love to boast that they earn more money and has higher status in life. So why complaining?
    Does S’porean mean that they are worst to do than M’sians?

• Stop being Kiasu la SG…

I suggest that not only we impose VEP but introduce rigorous check on vehicle summons record before leaving Malaysia. In that way, we can catch those errant SG kiasu driver…

• Don’t say Singaporean didn’t pay road fine hor. We pay under our palms sometime RM50 and sometime RM100 to the traffic police you don’t know meh. You mean those traffic police didn’t share with you arrhh? Really knn leh. Hehehe

• night on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:53 pm

i am not good in calculations, rules, and perhaps lots of things, but please don’t be offended with my personal opinion,

for me, its fine with VEP charges for both site, but “IF” the collected VEP is meant to be contribute back to road repairs/development, public infrastructure, etc. to serve users better, why not?

• I bet all the dislikes are coming from SG gov supoorters.. hahaha..

Come on la..don’t be cheap on this issue.. anyways uou guys started ‘berkira’ 1st..

• hafizan89 on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:13 pm

To Singapore,

Do we look like we give a damn?
    You take advantage on us, we put a plug in your asses.

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Dear Danny Tan
    Wonder why are you putting this nonsense article in your website. Let me share with you what is happening.
    Singapore stated they increased the VEP to compensate between cost of ownership between SG plate and MY plate.
    Truth is Singapore Citizen and Singapore PR cannot drive MY plate into Singapore soil. The target group is those on Employment Pass – EP (Upper Tier Pass) can either drive SG or MY plate. Those on Work Permit(Lower Tier) can only ride in motorbike, that why you see a lot of superbike in JB.
    The EP if they drive MY plate cannot park their car overnight in Singapore, they must drive out of Singapore every 24hours.
    Right now imagine someone who is working in Singapore must pay SGD35 plus toll just to go to work.
    Also the Certificate Of Entitlement (COE) to buy a car in Singapore is controlled by the SG Government via bi-weekly lotting with quota. If the SG Government want, they can increase the COE quota and lower the cost of ownership. Not passing the buck to Malaysian EP holder.
    Furthermore once the VEP cost versus the car instalment in SG is almost equal. Then the group of EP holder will enter the COE market to purchase their SG plate car. Doesn’t take a genius to figure out that this will cause the COE to go up.
    The excuses given by SG government is really not the truth. Thus please remove this article and be reminded that Malaysia is not the bully here as insinuated.

• Let’s all be a little more rationale and look at this matter more objectively….

1) What’s the reason Malaysian cars enters Singapore? I believed at least 80% of them is due to work. Can any Malaysians that worked in Singapore tell me when was the last time you did your shopping or groceries in Singapore? In fact, all my Malaysian colleagues that I know hardly spend in Singapore. With the strong exchange rate, they prefer to spend back in their hometown. Thus, the outflow of income is more than the inflow. By the way, how many Malaysians drive into Singapore rather than use their motorbikes? Again, I see the majority are using motorbikes to travel into Singapore to work so as to avoid the VEP for cars….(cars:S$35, Motorcycle: S$4). So, you see the logic? You may ask why Singaporeans do the same, use motorcycles instead? Basically, the cost of ownership of vehicles is very much higher in Singapore compared to anywhere else….owning a car is hard enough, not much say a motorcycle as well. However, you can expect to see the opposite from the Malaysian side during weekends ie. Malaysians coming to Singapore to work driving in their 2.4L or 3L big SUV because there is no VEP during weekends.

2) What’s the reason Singaporeans enter Malaysia? Generally a good mixture of business and pleasure (for weekends, more is due to pleasure). Why business? Cos the overheads are lower in Malaysia. You may say serve them right…”cannot afford want to open business?” But all business models are the same….to maximise profits. Whether it’s a private run business or government owned…it’s all about maximising profits…unless you are running a charity. Please also bear in mind that without these foreigners investing in business/factories in Johor, can the Johor govt alone provide enough job opportunities for the locals? Yes, you may say Johoreans too provide job opportunities for the locals…I cannot deny that….but aren’t the local business thriving on Singaporeans patronage as well? It’s a double edge-sword isn’t it? Both countries cannot do without one another….RM$20 VEP I think is still acceptable for most of us…however, anything above that will have an impact on those who travel to Malaysia for food/recreation cause it is simply not worth it anymore. And this in turn will affect the economy and livelihood of Johoreans. Why would you think there are huge shopping malls sprouting up all over Johor? Why are all the seafood restaurants, car services etc. thriving like nobody’s business? Do they all belong to Singapore bosses? Do they employ all Singapore workers? Think about it…..Malaysians work in Singapore to make a living but bring most of the money back to Johor to spend. Most Singaporeans who work in Singapore on the other hand, travel to Johor to spend and at the same time take advantage of the exchange rate/lower prices to make their hard-earn money stretch a bit further…but who benefit more? The Singapore govt or Malaysian govt? Both countries benefit…Singapore benefit by having a lower labour cost with the influx of skilled labour from Malaysia….and Malaysia also benefited from the inflow of income from these workers as well as Singaporeans who invest/do business in Johor and not forgetting those who spend….

3) We may be accused of causing prices to skyrocket in Johor..I may agree to some extent…..it’s all about demand and supply….when supply cannot meet demand, prices will eventually go up….As the economy grows, prices will also eventually increase….there are factors of inflation as well. Do you expect your salary to remain stagnat all these years? Why put all the blame on Singaporeans? Don’t the Johoreans who worked in Singapore but spend in Johor have a part to play too? Mind you….my Johor workers who earned half my Singapore pay have a higher disposable income then me when they convert their pay to rinngit…..they can afford to buy landed properties and drive big cars (bigger than mine)…some even have 2 or 3 cars in the garage….with a higher disposable income, they can afford to spend more, buy better things in life. So why the blame on us alone? How many percentage of Johor housing are bought by locals and how many percentage are bought by foreigners? If the majority are locals, then can the foreigners have such a big impact on the housing price? Who fix the housing prices? Singaporeans or the developers? Next, let’s talk about price of necessities…..why does most fresh produce being delivered and sold in Singapore markets? Because simply it can fetch a much higher price in Singapore than Malaysia….and who own all these farms/plantations? Singaporeans or Malaysians? Why can’t they control their prices for Malaysians? So again the issue of profit maximising from the businesses…..and greed.

4) We are being accused of bad driving habits and failing to pay summons. I again agree to a certain extent as there are always some black sheeps among us. But on the other hand, I too can always point out which motorcyclist/motorist is a Johorean without looking at the license plate just by looking at their erratic driving skills is enough to identify them.

Anyway, there is actually no point in arguing over who should charge more or charge less as the ones who suffers most are the poor citizens of both countries. We are the ones who have to endure the long queues at both customs and now have to pay a price for all these. But can we do anything about it? The answer is no…..or very little…..cause whatever the outcome, there are still people who need to travel between the 2 countries for work or for whatever reasons….and only those who chose not to travel to Malaysia for leisure will have any real form of impact as they can choose to or not to enter Malaysia …..now only time will tell….only time….

• Kiki The Steering on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:05 am

write so long yet all about me, me, me as if MY owed you a living. Don’t want to come which is fine.
      Your worker driving a 3.6 liter car on weekend, which company in SG open on weekend and do you know how much roadtax is for 3.6 liter. Go check and come back.
      Empty barrel make the most sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Gobstopper on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:23 am

Its okay, you probably didn’t bother to read finish and understand what DesC wrote anyway before shooting off your rebuttal.

Its also okay if you choose to look through your tinted glasses, and stay cossetted in your nice little box.

In Chinese there is a saying, 心胸狭窄. The heart and the mind is narrow. Or basically, narrow-minded. This is exactly what you are exhibiting.

MY does not owe any Singaporean a living. It is a choice for many Singaporeans to go over JB to spend money. This VEP will definitely affect JB businesses, as Singaporeans will save even 50cents if they could. No need to debate over this, lets just sit back and reflect upon the issue 6 months after the VEP kicks in.

An avid Singaporean Paultan reader

• suddenly malaysians so united. very rare sight indeed.

• kami (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:08 pm

because singaporean buy Malaysia subsidized goodies.

Rationale or not??

• Sinkie on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:22 am

Sinkie buy malaysian what subsidized goods? Ur custom people always targeting sg car to nab them if they are filled to the brim with groceries lor….. If still can go thru, then blame ur customs officer bo zho kang lor….Blame sinkies for what?

• Sampahkie on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:37 am

@Sinkie
        Good logic man. If you buy ganja and customs officer don’t stop you, it is their fault.

• democracy reunion on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:17 am

Just because they pay coe we need to bow down to them???We should charged Singapore vehicle rm50 per entry no more or less..this is to avoid singaporean pump cheap petrol in malaysia and drive bck to singapore..currently they are charging us $20 PER DAY not per entry…Singapore government is good in making excuses never listen to them..

• Montani on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:12 am

Dear Malaysians,
    Just let those guys from kiasuland to comment whatever they want here, they have Beenit causes no harm for us as eventually they still have to

• michaelooi on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:54 pm

I’d support the move to VEP them Singaporeans.
    Reason? Why do we need one? Just for the hell of it.

• tonton on Jul 26, 2014 at 9:28 am

malaysia is my home… Singapore is urs
    We have righta to implement VEP. Why need to justify to singPore..
    Kiasu only knows for cheap fuel, shopping, traffic offence,cheap houses etc

For some malaysia working there, too bad for u..u earn better there. .but doesnt means for mill

• K W Tay on Jul 26, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Others make decisions based on rational justifications, we make decision based on Ego and Mala fide

• A LCLY Malaysia on Jul 26, 2014 at 6:34 pm

We have been paying VEP since long ago but we never complain about this, those Singaporean come over J.B buy groceries and pump cheap petrol more and over they invest property in JB cause the property price in JB jump high which local cant afford to own a house. Malaysia should charge VEP base on how much Singapore charge over us Malaysia car. RM90

• JBrian on Jul 26, 2014 at 10:36 pm

if u notice, all SG cars keep filling their tank right after exiting the CIQ ? Why need to fill up only 1/4 tank ? so stupid kiasu…later going back into SG with their boots full of food stuff at Giant (meant for MY ppl)

• longkai on Jul 27, 2014 at 1:46 am

at least we Malaysian have sth too agree upon and fight for..unite.. show them we mean business..and the VEP rate should be the similar to spore

• Hello on Jul 27, 2014 at 3:39 am

most of the comments here apart from showing nationalism, it is pretty worthless. i guess not many of you here are staying in JB or SG to feel the pain of your fellow citzens. it easy to stay on the high ground when it doesn’t concern oneself isn’t it?

when 2 elephants fight, the ants are the one who suffer. government from both countries have their own agenda for implementing these policy and anyone with a bit of intelligent will know it is not for the best interest of their people. by playing the nationalism cards, they can easily gain support from their citizens while covering their true intent. are citizens from both countries really that gullible?

human naturally want a better deal, it doesn’t matter whether it is Malaysian working in SG or Singaporeans going over to Malaysia for cheaper goods and service. think about it, lots of SG car went to Malaysia to pump petrol and can the government charged SG car a much higher petrol price to stop them from enjoying Malaysian benefits? of course they can but why is it not done? no prize for guessing who owned some of the petrol satation in that area. can we blame the Singaporeans? who doesn’t want a better deal?!?! are we forgetting that Malaysian are also taking up some jobs that Singaporean want as well as buying their public housing?

MY and SG needs each others more then we care to admit. both countries needs each other for economic and security benefits. if one don’t agree, either you are ignorance or in denial.

• Spore_kiasu on Jul 27, 2014 at 10:05 pm

When you accept sg pr means you already gave up msian citizenship, yet stick so thick face saying buy house and staying in jb. Move b to your tiny land lar, malaysia dun require the rubbish like u

• Spore_Kiasu – I think you really need to get the facts right about being Singapore PR means giving up Malaysian Citizenship. Did your primary school teacher told you so? Hehehehe.

• Hello Everyone,

Hope everyone has a great day!

How was the new Toll fee at Malaysia Custom coming up? I’m sure you guys enjoy it since the start of this thread called “VEP you, VEP me”. hahahahah.

After all, it is just another one bit the dust, again! You guys are sold.

• Singapore VEP charge Malaysian motorcylce $ 4 dollar ,Malaysian Car $35 dollar, Lorry $40 per/mth,

You See ! those they charge less ! Their Tanchiak !

So toll free is not an issue ! When their Singapore Cars,Motorcylce,Buses, enter Malaysia FREE ! As no VEP

• IF VEP is low why must use Malaysia Car and pay exbortant Singapore VEP ??? might as well BUY Singapore Cars cheaper !!!!!

So Johor will flooded with SINGAPORE Plate vehicle !!!

See Motorcyle SG plate out number MY PLATE in JB because SG plate is Free bothside causeway MY pay $4 everyday.

YOU CAN BUY CHEAPER SECONDHAND CAR AT SG CARMART.COM UNDER 10 k FOR 3 YEARS ,WITH SCRAP PARF PAPER VALUE RETURN TO YOU BACK IN CASH.

LET SAY THE PRICE 10 K CAR FOR REMAINING 3 YEARS .

YOU MAY GET BACK MAYBE 3/4 K SO ACTUAL COST 7/6 K ONLY.

OR 10 K CAR WITH 1 YEAR TO GO OR LESS MAYBE THE RETURN 6/7 K SCRAP….SO REAL CAR COST FOR 1 YEARS IS 3 K ONLY

• Singapore Authority should not discriminate by disallowing its citizens to buy a Malaysia-registered car and drive on Singapore roads when the Malaysia Authority does not disallow it citizens from driving a Singapore registered car. The VEP fees should be sufficient to stop Singaporeans from buying Malaysia registered car and drive frequently on Singapore roads.

• The_Malaysian on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Danny Tan,

Not sure your real intent of posting this up.

You posting this article in this website is like reading The Sun, a Malaysian-based newspaper posting articles explaining reasons from Israel’s point of view for killing innocent Palestine children during the Palestine-Israel conflict and at the same time repeating the word “Islamist” for so many times. And yes they have done this multiple times.

But one thing for sure is I can see how tainted your perception is to the Malaysian govt in whatever policy that they make to the point that you would actually post this article. You know, sarcasm is a lot of people’s second language – and we read it well. Like me, some others have also asked why you posted this article here.

The floor has commented and now you know the Malaysian masses regardless of race do not think the same way you do.