SPYSHOTS: 2015 Honda NSX caned around the ‘Ring

Honda NSX 02

It looks like engineers are hard at work on perfecting the 2015 Honda NSX, as our European spies caught the second coming of the Japanese supercar being driven hard around the Nürburgring Nordschleife.

From the outside, the camouflaged prototype appears to be pretty similar to the concepts wheeled out in Detroit 2012 and 2013. There are reprofiled front air intakes, new vents behind the front wheels, larger side scoops and a centrally-mounted exhaust outlet, but apart from that, much remains the same.

Honda NSX 10

We also have a shot of the interior, which features a large hood covering what looks like a central LCD display. This differs from the concept interior shown last year, although since the prototype’s upper dashboard looks identical to that of the Acura RLX, the design may not be final.

The new NSX will make use of a Sport Hybrid Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD) three-motor high-performance hybrid system, with a mid-mounted direct-injected VTEC V6 mated to an electric motor and a dual clutch transmission. This combination drives the rear wheels; meanwhile, another pair of electric motors drive the front wheels and can provide instant positive or negative torque during cornering.

Honda NSX 9

Honda will build the NSX next year at its new US$70 million (RM222 million) Performance Manufacturing Center in Ohio, and the car is expected be fully revealed before the end of the year. The NSX is but one of the Japanese performance icons due to be reborn – a Toyota Supra reboot is also expected to be on the cards if the recent FT-1 concept is any indication, so it’s good times ahead for fans of Japanese muscle.

Indeed, the NSX prototype spotted on the Nürburgring appears to have been chasing a fourth-generation Supra at one point! Nothing like a bit of cross-country rivalry, eh?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• holofanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm

I may be a K5 owner now, but if Honda can reignite my passion for its cars I promise I will submit to the brand all over again <3.

Yours truly,
    A honda/toyota/mercedes fanboi

Unrelated P.S: alfa romeo should die asap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
  • Farghmee on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:29 pm

How about GK bumper?

• rifle on Jul 23, 2014 at 1:34 pm

looking handsome but don’t know yet the final design

• Honda’s entire Performance Manufacturing Centre in Ohio costs RM222 million. P just doing some R&D asking for RM1.7 billion.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • U got the same thought with me!
      Honda.. using 222million worth centre to build supercars.
      Proton ask for 1.7billions for……. jokes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • Vader (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Totally agree with you!
        Furthermore, HICOM buy over the potong (including the facilities, R&D cost, blablabla)at RM1.2 billion and how come potong can claim RM1.7 billion just for the R&D purpose..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • ivtec on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:33 pm

New engine already cost about 1bil. You think it’s cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • Vader (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Kid, DRB-Hicom buy all engine technologies and knowledge developed by Petronas since 1997 at RM63mil.
            To be exact, Proton is taking over seven engine technologies with 117 technology patents from Petronas that cost RM63mil.
            So can you tell me why the potong so call turbo engine (just upgrade from previous campoor engine) need the cost RM1bil???
            One billion is 1000 million in case you dont know!
            If you keep emphasis it really cost RM1bil, then the reason is gaji buta, masuk pocket, crony activities lo.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • turbo_guy on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:27 pm

The joker is making fun with us…

• ruffstuff on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:27 pm

The figure is for the facilities, not the R&D amount lah. Haiyoo.. read properly. R&D of cars and engine easily reach billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Wooooo…That mint JZA80 in front of the NSX is sex as always.

I reckon the previous NSX looks better tho.

• Petrol head on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Thumbs up for going naturally aspirated in addition to the electric motor

• Joker on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Here comes the legendary NSX!!!
    Its oni 1 of da new mid-mounted beast that remained..

• prabowi on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Pointless if u cant get thru a security guard. With the champagne gold paint job probably looks like the old one.

• DrCooper on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Not gonna be any better than its predecessor since Aryton Senna not driving it..

• BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:17 pm

No force induction makes me very happy. I hope it can at least whoop the 911 Turbo.

• Gusto on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Since we’re at the topic of R&D… here’s what others are spending.
    Mitsubishi spent USD 370 million, page#44 of annual report, Mazda spent USD 956 million, page#2 of annual report.

Mind you RM1.7B is USD 535 million.

2013 annual report:
    http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/content/dam/com/ir_en/pdf/anual/2013/annual2013-13.pdf

http://www.mazda.com/investors/library/annual/2013/pdf/MazdaAr13_e.pdf

• AVH (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Theres nothing wrong with more money poured into R&D…. But asking it from Goverment, whoose income are derived from the Rakyat thats rediculous.

Also, Mitsubishi is developing PHEV with that kind of money while Mazda is using its to develope Lovable and lightweight sports car and high-efficient NA engine. Who knows also future Rotary engine too.

• BNR32 on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:21 am

It’s RM1.7B OUT OF TAXPAYERS’ MONEY, that’s the problem. It’s YOUR money as well, in case you are a working class citizen. We need to emphasise this point strongly that many wannabe patriots seem to gloss over. With the economy slumping like this, it’s a wonder why some people seem to enjoy seeing their money going to a lost cause.

Even if Mazda spends nearly a billion on R&D, at least they produced award winning cars like nobody’s business. If Proton spends that money, produces half-decent clunkers for once and allows every eligible citizen to have one car each at half price, THEN we might let it slide. Don’t forget that even after all that money is suckered away, Proton is asking you to buy back the cars they produce with YOUR money, at full price. And guess what? It’s not like they’re channeling the profit back to the people who lent them the money in the 1st place. Whoever believes otherwise is a straight up fool.

Never forget that we don’t owe them anything. If some people are happy to throw their money at Proton to see them ‘succeed’ (for patriotic reasons or whatever), by all means do it, like a Kickstarter program. Whoever stupid enough to donate their hard earned money can get first dibs at whatever mysterious wondercar they worked on.

All these years and I can say that the only Proton I would be happy to buy is the R3 Satria Neo. Not the ‘new’ one with shitty stickers and extra plastic parts slapped on. I’m talking about the limited edition 145bhp one, only produced in red. If they can just remake the Satria GTI, I would be very happy too.

• Yea, this what I wanna say.. but my english not as well as you.. haha.. thats why I say Proton is just making jokes.. I believe half of the R&D cost will going for exterior designs.. Nono. I means bodykits designs… SE edition, SV editions, LE edition, R3 edition and lastly, just change a new bodykits n rim design… lol..

• pondan on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:17 am

If it’s half ofvit going into body kits and etc… still honorable but going into someone’s pocket for no productivity. ..that’s crap

• Narmi on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:58 am

The rear tail lights kinda remind me of a mix between the Porsche 991 C4S, and an Aston Martin..

• roxas on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:59 am

wahh,, japan’s lamborghini

• Back in the 90s, I used to ride my friend’s NS-

R.

• heybadigol on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

Finally its out in the wild. Looks good so far. But I think the old NSX had a more timeliness design (and probably more boot space). But happy to be proven wrong.

Kinda doubt that it will be normally aspirated (NA). For 2015 hybrid supercar to remain NA (remember its going on sale in 2015/2016, not this year), it will probably need at least 4.5 litres of displacement. And Honda has never, and as far as I know, will never make an engine with such a large capacity. They will probably take the Acura RLX 3.5 V6 engine, and stroke it up a bit to maybe 3.7 or 3.8. Then make it rev to 9000rpm for power. But if they do this, it will mean the car may not be able to meet environmental/EPA requirements. Not to mention it will guzzle fuel like maaad. And we all know how Honda is all for fuel saving engines now.

Also judging by the video on youtube of the NSX tests at Nurburgring, the car was eerily quiet. What else is quiet? Current F1 cars, which have turbocharged hybrid power units (PU). So, biggest guess is the NSX will have similar engine (I mean power unit) to the Honda F1 PU returning to F1 in 2015, but of course a much larger capacity. Nobody wants to buy a 1.6 v6 turbo supercar, no matter how much torque it has. Thats why Honda agreed to return to F1 in the first place. Because they saw potential of using the F1 PU for road cars. And where best to apply it, if not in their halo car, the NSX, which will be launched in 2015 to coincide with their return to F1. Hoping Honda will find a way to make that turbo sing all the way to at least 8000rpm, just like an NA VTEC engine always did. Sweet!