Volkswagen Phaeton 4.2 V8 on display at Glenmarie showroom – RM639k after discount

Volkswagen-Phaeton-Malaysia-0013

The big daddy of Volkswagen sedans is currently on display at F.A. Wagen’s Volkswagen Glenmarie showroom. Say hello to the Volkswagen Phaeton 4.2 V8 long wheelbase. There are only about five units of this limo in Malaysia. The Phaeton is priced at RM838,888 nett before OTR costs and insurance, but since they are 2012 units, buyers get a RM200k discount.

The Phaeton is built on the VW Group D1 platform with a steel frame construction, so it has more in common with a Bentley Continental Flying Spur than an Audi A8, which uses an aluminium Audi Space Frame.

The 4.2 litre non-FSI V8 engine under the hood produces 335 PS at 6,500 rpm and 430 Nm of torque at 3,500 rpm, taking the luxury car from 0 to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds. Drive goes to the rear wheels via a six speed automatic gearbox.

The unit on the showroom floor is black, with a classy brown interior. It’s a strict four-seater as the rear bench is separated into two electrically adjustable seats by a control console in the middle. There are also rear entertainment screens integrated into the back of the front seat headrests.

Like other Volkswagens in Malaysia, the Phaeton comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Datuk on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:32 pm

hahahaha rm639k?
    Merc S400L Hybrid are much2 better choice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 5
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:47 pm

This is the God of all Volkswagens, is even better than its sister Audi A8. Also the road tax is a whopping RM7,530 or RM22,210 if it’s a company owned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • Datin Rosmah on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:49 pm

cant agree more!

• DrCooper on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Totally agreed…Ugly as yuck!! Quick glance, it looks no different that its lower entry siblings..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • The photo taken with camera phone does not look half bad

• Overhyped on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:28 pm

I believe the Phaeton is a commercial flop for VW. Not selling as well as VW had hoped despite being an over-engineered and much-hyped flagship.

• OMG…Not worth it…better buy Merc or BMW.

• Why infront look like CC the rear look like passat ? Two car combine one car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:39 pm

The million dollar question is this. Would you

a) buy this boring boxy Phaeton for MYR639k, which is already 2 years old?

b) order a new Merc Benz S400L HYBRID for MYR588k and use your balance money to treat yourself to a Carribean holiday (or your staff along for a “company trip”)?

c) get a new 7 series for MYR648k?

or d) get the A8 3.0TFSI for MYR689k?

I’d go with b, or even C. Heck, even D is not a bad choice. Are you actually willing to pay this much for a VW? Yes, it has a close relation to the Bentley, but the badge and that garish wood is not doing any favours to the technologically advanced, safe and beautiful W222 S Class.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 2
    • Lol Lol on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:25 pm

As a boss,

Option B no go…Money is my money…

Staff want go holiday, pergi sendiri…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • thefact on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:49 pm

by the way…the S400 already sold out :)

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:29 pm

The Merc is sold out until 2016, and because tax rebates are only valid until the end of 2015 the price is back up at 888.

• same, i would go for option a, b or c. Passat is already ugly to me, so theres no way i would buy a stretched passat.

• kelso on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:03 pm

One of my favorite cars, just so stealthy and supreme. But for that cash…I’m with sudonano on this. Any of the above asides the VW

• Dead on Arrival. Why would anyone buy this over a the cheaper, better equipped S400L Hybrid? looks dated too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Because there is no way you can get a S400L anymore. It was sold out after a few weeks. If you order one now you’ll wait until 2016 and will pay 888k.

• After all the bad publicity which is actually real wt regards to dsg issues…i wonder, are there anybody still buying VW??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Therealmaserati on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Rubbish. Sell at 400k oso no one will buy.

So ugly and boring. My as well put in VW museum!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • VWfanboi on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:32 pm

639k to get a VW? LOLLLLLLLLLL

• Good for those low profile rich fellow. Stupid will thought he has a CKD Passat.

• Car_fan on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

How come vgm has 2012 models? Where did these units come from? Did they forget they were stored in the stock yard?

• mystvearn on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:54 pm

RM838k (2014) – RM200k (2012) = RM 638k.

So, RM100k depreciation/year.
    Wait 8 years, can buy this at RM 38k :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • underskinned on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:57 pm

2012? Really?

• Only STUPID will buy this VW. Haha!
    VW is most problem car in Malaysia now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • gaviny on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Lol, 2012 units, either they were sitting here for 2 years with no buyers, or they were sitting in another country for 2 years also with no buyers, so lets try to dump them on malaysians, those idiots will almost buy anything with a german badge

• 400k discount maybe got some uncle will close eye and buy.
    Baik beli merc s-class… hellloooo???

• Hondaman on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Nak beli merc s400? Stock dah habis laa kawan sampai hujung 2015.

• longjaafar on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:05 pm

The people at VW Malaysia must have a very dim view of Malaysian car buyers, to try to push this monstrous failure to the public way above even the newest car in the market, which is the Merc S400Hybrid.
    But on the other hand, as they say, suckers are born every day..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:39 pm

The Phaeton is a good car, and it is a success in China.

The Merc is sold out. You can’t get one. Maybe if you are willing to spend 800k on a second hand one…

• Brandon Tee on Jul 26, 2014 at 8:05 pm

NOTE:
        -Listed in Top 10 European Loss-making Cars
        -Fifth Gear (Channel 5) Team Test score of 18/40

• I think this car is just a facelifted model, not all new model. I drove one of these in uk last time. Drives n feel luxurious but still a vw.. Way too overpriced n ridiculous in malaysia though..

• Oh yes, i remembered the owner brag on how its built based on bentley’s platform

• BNR32 on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:19 pm

RM839K? For this? Really VW? It doesn’t look like it’s worth RM639K even as a MY2014 unit. Wouldn’t want people to mistake it as a bloated and glorified Passat.

• Don’t diss what you don’t know. The Phaeton does not compete with the likes of S-Classes, 7 Series, or A8s. The Phaeton was developed by VW for 2 reasons. As a parting gift to the former VW boss who left the company in 2002, and more importantly, to showcase to the world what a real luxury car should be like. One of the targets set for this car during it’s development stages were the Phaeton should be capable of being driven all day at 300 kilometres per hour with an exterior temperature of 50 °C whilst maintaining the interior temperature at 22 °C. This target was set (and accomplished) even though the Phaeton’s top speed was electronically limited to 250 kilometres per hour.

This model is 12 years old and it has only gone through minor facelifts. This shows you can’t improve perfection. Previously, this car had the market entirely to itself before Bentley launched the Flying Spur and Rolls introduced the Ghost. Those are the Phaeton’s competition. The price is reasonable for the Phaeton. Mind you, the creation of this car was a milestone for VW. Think of it as history in the making if you will. Just sad VW Malaysia isn’t bringing in the W12 version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
    • Amirzaheenminhaj on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Exactly… The first to tell of the w12… This car has the same engine as bugatti rite??(the W12 model that is) … Which is also under vw…

• Basayev on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Nope.
        Bugatti got W16, 8 liter+.
        Bentley and Audi use the same W12, 4.2 liter as this.

• Alright..if it for sales at 170K i will give it a thought over Camry or Honda Accord.. I’ know i’m a sucker!

• Lol this car is basically a Bentley flying spur with a VW badge. When you think of it that way, it’s actually quite a bargain.

• MrPoppyplants on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Thing is… You can get a 2010 Bentley Flying Spur for that money. So, it’s really stupid for someone to fork out this amount of money for a 2012 manufactured Phaeton.

• You pay that much money for exclusivity. There are a few Bentleys running around town. Hell, I know of 4 around Subang, Sunway, PJ area. This is by far more exclusive. And it caters well to real car lovers who appreciate the finer things in life without seeing the need to shout about it.

• Berann on Jul 23, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Anyone notice the rear aircond? haha pengsan…

• Basayev on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Remember this page brought our attention to these cars seen on trailers?
    Never thought it will be this late.
    I agree with what the actual intention VW is with this car.
    But sceptical is Malaysian middle name.
    enuf said.

• only 4 seat? I buy a viva even can get 5 seat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Jimmy on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Sorry.
    But it is likely true that even an E250 owner looks smarter than the owner of this VW.

• Tumbi on Jul 23, 2014 at 5:38 pm

RM640k buy a ugly looking, 2012 old model? Lol! VW thought bmw, Merc, Audi and etc all died??? If in malaysia I see this car on the road I’ll point at the owner and LOL!!!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 23, 2014 at 6:44 pm

The term understatement seems unheard of at PT.

Why do multi millionaires drive Accord or Camry, or even Wira? Because they don’t want to attract attention. If you drive an S class you shout kidnap me, rob me, demand ransom. Something that is relatively low profile suits them better.

• Pundeegoodie on Jul 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Alamak, the ‘people’s car’ in Germany similar to our Perdana executive need to be sold at half a million? Amazing…

• Sam loo. on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:15 pm

A 2012 toyota camry has better RV THAN THIS…

• Symusta on Jul 23, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I’ve lived in Germany and we had two Phaetons (one W12 and one V6) along with an A8. I always preferred the Phaeton, but the W12, as good as the engine was, was quite unreliable. Interior is super comfy, suspension is was not as harsh as the A8, and the part I liked the most, its incsonspicious. Doesn’t shout, especially among the seas of other VWs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Sam Boo on Jul 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm

wow…with this price, I rather buy 10 of haval m4… and open a car rental co…

• whats the point of spending RM600k+ on a volkswagen brand which is not a true premium brand when i can spend my 600k on a true premium brands like Audi, Merz, BMW and others?

• miskin on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:04 am

ehh.. murahnyer…

• eric_ocy (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 3:23 am

Continental? Bentley segment? What? Five years unlimited mileage warranty? Yaya… Until you reached their service center…