460,000 summonses for traffic offences issued by JPJ in 2013, largely for expired driving licence and road tax

lesen road tax

Going about with an expired driving licence and lapsed road tax, these were the most common road transport offences committed by Malaysian motorists last year, Bernama reports.

A total of 460,000 summonses for traffic offences were issued by the JPJ in 2013, with more than 80% of these being for the two aforementioned offences, according to JPJ deputy director-general of planning and operations Datuk Yusoff Ayob. The offenders were primarily in the 20- to 40-year-old age group.

The high infraction rate, he said, was largely due to the indifferent attitude adopted by road users. Thus far, only 20% of driving licence holders have opted to synchronise the licence renewal date with their date of birth as a means to never forget the expiry date of one’s driving licence.

He was speaking to reporters after monitoring a JPJ enforcement exercise at the Sungai Besi toll plaza yesterday, in which a total of 716 vehicles were inspected and 123 summonses issued for various offences, including non-conforming vehicle number plates and vehicle window tint.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• The Truth about JPJ on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:36 am

This is quite worrisome. This is you get people like the lorry driver who bang the toll both that day and ran away and you get road bullies like Kiki.

If the figure of 460,000 saman is real, I am really worried. Because, the true figure would be 4.6 million and not 460,000.

You see, JPJ and Polis have this “boleh settle” attitude. 9 out of 10 traffic offenders in Malaysia always settle their traffic offences on the spot.

I do not condone corruption but sadly, this is strong practice here in Malaysia. We all see it. We all know it happens. But we all close an eye.

JPJ Datuk Yusoff Ayob, while I thank you for catching the 460,000 offences, you need to clean up the JPJ. The JPJ stinks like hell of corruption. Every fibre of it is corruption. Maybe in the office where licences are issued and road tax renewed nothing much goes on but in the field, your JPJ officers are heroes.

Every lorry driver who has been stopped by the JPJ officers also give money to the officers. This is why, many lorry drivers got no licence and are illegal immigrants and when they kill people on the road, the run away.

This is all because of JPJ and the officers int he field. Please Yusoff Ayob, clean up your JPJ. They are so dirty. Before taking corruption did not hurt road users but now, taking corruption hurt road users because many accidents and deaths happpen.

Corruption is a bad thing but when it encroaches on the safety of the public, it is even worse. JPJ officers as well as Polis Officers in Malaysia have a bad habit of asking for money to settle saman on the spot. This must stop. It has become too rampant.

Do not take the figure lightly. I would estimate there are few million offenders who got away scot free because they settled on the spot. If this is the case, it is very very worrisome to drive on the road.

Remember, your own daughter or son could be innocently driving and some lorry driver with no licence can smash into him and kill him.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 7
    • Doctor Miskin on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

My friend is JPJ officer. He openly boast to me that he makes RM$2000 per day.

I am a doctor. I work so hard for my MBBS. Slog like crazy 9 years to study and houseman. My gaji is RM5500. Sometimes I wonder why did I become a doctor?

If got opening in JPJ, I will join now. Just SPM alone can make RM$2000 per day!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
      • orangeman on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Name your friend please ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • JPJ = Rasuah on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm

JPJ better change their name to JPR. Jabatan Pengangkutan Rasuah. I think it better suits them.

Anyway, lets learn some English now.

The word rasuah and JPJ have the same meaning. The word rasuah can be replaced with the word JPJ. Both have the same meaning. Both can be interchanged and can mean the same.

For example
          1) Jangan beri saya JPJ. Mengambil JPJ adalah salah.

2) Orang itu cuba memberi saya JPJ tetapi saya menolaknya. Saya akan membuat laporan dengan MACC.

3) Mari kita memberantah sikap memberi JPJ. Member dan mengambil JPJ ada salah di sisi undang undang.

• Truth about mankind on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:26 pm

The difference is afterlife, the JPJ office will burn in hell you you will not. So choose the right path my young padawan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • tidakapa on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:09 pm

who cares bout that, ppl still do what they need to do in order to survive…afterlife?…use money bribe the rippers la

• prabowi on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Why bother with the dirty money? Just report to SPRM lah.

• Karim on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:55 pm

What do we do if SPRM also sama sama bersubahat? Remember Teoh Beng Hock? You dare to be thrown out of the Window?

• _xXx_ on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:18 pm

the difference between u n ur frd is – u can sleep carefree every night, whereas ur frd needs to sleep with eyes opened every night….

• Job Advice on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Why you think the enforcement officers kena promote or naik pangkat to deskjob in the office they decline? They love to be on the streets. It pays more.

Not just JPJ bro. You want to be rich you can join few other enforcement organisations.

1) DBKL
        2) Polis Trafik
        3) Border Kastam
        4) Officer to check Aedes and Nyamuk

Easily can make RM1000 a day. The best is DBKL. Besides money can go into any restaurant and get free makan.

• Pisang Cucuk on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

Dear Doctor Miskin , I salute you with gratitude because you save lifes .You are sure to go to heaven ……one day . And I know you will not regret to be a doctor when you see those corrupted souls are going to HELL .

• U need to gently whisper to his ear : “Yusoff… Ayob…”
      Only then he will listen to u…

• Stop cyber bullying kiki. She is a lady and ladies have those monthly ladies moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • SayNoToRacism on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Meaning when I have my period I can be racist too? What does “Dia Cina, saya tahu dia sengaja!” means to you? She said that unintentionally? How would someone who has a decent heart show no mercy and respect for the elderly? A decent person with a right mind will not behave and even make such statement no matter how pissed off he/she is. She IS clearly racist and in this multi-racial country, we have no place for racist!

• roaduser on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Between the Giver and the Receiver both are equally bad pople. The Giver gives as an escape route because they broke the law . This act actually encourage more people to give. When the Receiver accept it, we only penlised them which happen to be those in uniform…. So stop giving when you are caught rather than blaming/pin pointing to the enforcement officer who actually doing what he is suppose the be doing that is catching the law breaker a.k.a The Giver….

• Why Not? on Jul 24, 2014 at 12:49 pm

We should demand that the government introduce things like WOF (warrant of fitness-NZ) or Driver’s retest (violation of law & accident) and even mandatory dash-cam (insurance claims). Streets will definitely be much safer and pleasant.

While it is true that these comes at the price of convenience and stress. But that will give us a very good excuse to demand for better roadworks, more parking allocations in commercial areas, loading/unloading bays in shop lot areas, more bus & taxi lanes for faster and smoother public transportations (Seoul style), commercial vehicle time restrictions, and much more.

It’s mutually beneficial for ”’government officials”’, pedestrians, commuters and tourism in the long run. Quote: “We change, but always at a cost: to win this you lose that.”
    – Geoffrey Wolff, A Day at the Beach, “Apprentice”

• Expensive car insurance is one reason why people dont like to renew road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • I recommend JPJ to enhance further their online MYSIKAP services. So there ia not much chance of corruption at JPJ office.

• skuloi on Jul 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm

car insurance too expensive even 3rd party

• HearMe on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:12 pm

JPJ may improve their service by using their IT systems to auto-send SMS to remind due dates. Anyway, this is already a common practice nowadays, in the likes of telco companies and so forth. Instead, they may impose financial penalty if payment is overdue. The law-complying majority don’t like Road blocks measure as it is causing much inconvenience to road users, not to mention the waste of resources.

• lancerswksbh on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:30 pm

my car is just 2.5 years and is reaching 100,000 km in a few days. so far, takda saman oleh jpj officers. the key is drive carefully. ikut peraturan. jangan membahayakan nyawa sendiri TERUTAMA nyawa orang lain. They are right if giving you summon for speeding, tayar botak, etc. and they are right if giving you summon for road bullying, bla bla bla. jangan bersekongkol memberi rasuah untuk elak saman. jika anda beri juga, ada sama saja dengan peminta rasuah. guna otak. ada cara lain untuk tangkap pelaku rasuah. sedia hidden camera, kat kereta. rakamkan. report. dan jika anda jantan, mengaku salah saja. bayar saman. anda buat salah, anda tanggung sendiri. tak perlu beri alasan dan salahkan orang lain.

• 460,000 x RM300 = RM138,000,000
    This is a very good “income”. I think this could cover a lot expenses and bonus.

• Lane tamer on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:09 pm

I am using a 3500 cc car. The roadtax and insurance are out of this world in Boleh Land. Sometimes, I am thinking to myself, with the high roadtax that I am paying and the poor road condition lay ahead, it isn’t worth it for me to pay the road tax. Damn!

• Denaihati on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:46 am

this make us so worry if involved in any accident, difficult/can’t claim insurance from offender. maybe need more road block and give heavy penalty.

• RoadWarrior on Jul 25, 2014 at 8:03 am

The thing about corruption is that the one always complain about corruption are the same ones who constantly gives in to avoid a more expensive summons or repair work.

The culture of giving bribes and ang pow for business can be traced back to certain’s people culture. They even bribe their god’s Yunlo with hell money to escape punishment or shorter stay in hell. When’s it’s engraved in one’s belief system it’s hard to say No by not bribing. Yes the receiver of the bribe is also equally guilty. When the giving stops, so too will the asking. So start acting responsibly and own up to your errors and mistake. Bribing doesn’t do anyone any good. Today it’s no license and insurance, tomorrow a whole flyover and building collapse like in Korea. The buck stops with you.

• No saman on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:06 am

At my hometown, everyweek there will be JPJ road block. Checking motorcycle most of the time. Sometime will see some people suddenly make a u-turn. Never actually heard anybody bribing JPJ officers at this road blocks. Maybe taukeh lori hantu pay some of them to protect their lori. Honest motorist don’t pay bribe. It takes two to tango right?

• frau nike air presto on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:00 pm

” Tiga orang lelaki membawa lampu suluh.”ujar satu suara.”Raidah terjerit kecil apabila tangan Syazfiqah mencubit pahanya. Yang engkau pulak macam keletihan sangat. Dah tau penat pergilah beli air ke apa ke. Setiap kali dia melintasi rumah penduduk kampung, Puteri memahami ibu bapanya tidak mahu melepaskannya sendirian German kerana sememangnya mereka tidak mempunyai saudara maa di sana. berderai ketawa lelaki-lelaki tersebut apabila salah seorang tangan rakan mereka melingkari pinggang Puteri.Berpaling kerana sayang kot.“Hello!”sapaku.
    frau nike air presto http://www.philadelphiacontroller.org/mostfebactor_9.asp?frau-nike-air-presto-c-51.html