Mitsubishi Pajero facelift goes on sale in Japan

It’s facelift time, apparently, as the Mitsubishi Pajero has also been facelifted, this time for the Japanese market. This is the second time the fourth-generation SUV has been updated since its introduction in 2006, never mind that the car itself is a heavily-revised version of the third-generation model, which had been around since 1999.

At the front, there’s a new full-length grille inspired by the company’s concepts from Tokyo 2013, bordered by two large vertical chrome bars. The front bumper has also been reshaped and feature LED positioning lights on higher trim levels. Exceed and Super Exceed models also get a redesigned spare tyre cover.

Inside, metallic trim now surrounds the central air vents, while the centre panel surrounding the head unit and the air-conditioning controls is now finished in woodgrain trim for the Super Exceed and piano black for the Exceed and VR-II models. Extra sound deadening material has also been installed behind the instrument panel and in the doors.

The existing Japanese market 3.0 litre naturally-aspirated petrol V6, 3.2 litre turbodiesel four, INVECS-II five-speed automatic transmission and Super Select II four-wheel drive system remain unchanged. Prices start from 2,921,400 yen (RM91,300) for the three-door VR-I petrol model, rising up to 4,930,200 yen (RM154,300) for the five-door Super Exceed diesel.

In Malaysia, the pre-facelift Pajero comes in Exceed guise with a 3.8 litre naturally-aspirated petrol V6, retailing at RM291,177 on the road without insurance. You can check out CarBase.my for full technical specifications and equipment of the current model.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gajen on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:11 pm

looks a decade old.

• Wahh… Sooo 90’s

• Timeless design or outdated design?

• JDM_expert on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Well does the Toyota Prado look any better?

Hardly!

• 5 speed automatic! LOL…
    This is a 20 year old car selling at brand new price.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:10 pm

There’s essentially nothing wrong with a 5-speed automatic transmission on a vehicle designed for heavy off-road usage. It might even prove itself to be more robust, having a simpler mechanical design.

Whereas, Land Rover’s 9 speed autoboxes gives me the impression that their vehicles are made more for the open road than for an off-road adventure.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 28, 2014 at 10:05 pm

“i want a car that will bring me into jungles…” said no range rover customer ever

• Ray (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:48 pm

The Vios should take up some lessons with Pajero… Hmm…

• DannyTAR (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:35 pm

It’s a good SUV but the looks need a lot of re-work if it wants to stay relevant, especially among consumers who’s under 40.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Back to old face.. japs taste are weird. .

At least look masculine. ..

• BNR32 on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:31 am

Compared to our Pajero aka Triton with a stretchy roof (and ugly as a squinting goat), this is how I wanted our local Pajero to look like from the start. I am so in love with the 3-door version. I can imagine driving this to Pantai Timur with the windows down, playing Jamaican beach reggae on the stereo. Great for bachelors and singles who don’t need all the unnecessary bulk but all the 90s rugged feel.

But hot damn why are all the engines above 3.0L? They should at least have smthng a bit smaller and economical, say a 2.5L VGT diesel or smthng. The road tax is going to be a bitch to pay off.

• superdriver on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:19 am

Our pajero not real pajero, more like calling a van a lorry. This grandfather clock design will make anyone born in the 80s 90s heart sing as its still recognizable after so many years. This car is just dying to climb up genting highland, butterworth cameron , gunung tahan and all our banjaran Malaysia and you know it will with full gusto and a smile on your face. Could explain the 3 litre engine but what ever it is , this car will not fail anyone. Its not a cayenne, range/land rover, Q7,Q5 and all other posers, its just pointing its middle finger to them like a badass and screaming “gambate m*therf*kers!”.

If there is an apocalypse and I need a really really trust worthy car to save me and family in a SUV/MPV mall, this machine is the one thing I would never ever ignore.

• BNR32 on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Exactly. Those continental ‘SUVs’ are more aptly called soft roaders. No one in their right mind would want to drive a Cayenne or Evoque in a jungle expedition, unless they are too rich for their own blood. At least the Pajero has a solid pedigree from the Paris-Dakar Rally days.

That being said, some people don’t understand that these cheap and cheerful Japanese SUVs are meant to be driven roughly right out of the showroom for a budget price. That’s why they don’t use fancy schmansy 9-speed double clutch gearboxes or those nonsensical gadgets that a lot of people are expecting. I’d happily take an ‘obsolete’ 5-speed AT or MT anyday if they can guarantee it won’t break down within 10 years. No amount of petrol saved is worth a busted up gearbox or engine.

Also, the styling is a bit subjective. I know that a lot of people expect typical Japanese SUVs to get with the times and emulate their modern counterparts. But seriously, why fix what’s not broken in the 1st place? If anything, I wish this Pajero was even more manly. Give us options for Jurassic Park roof headlamps, extra wide tires and kangaroo bars with barbarian spikes.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Japanese SUVs aren’t particularly cheap though they might be cheerful for some. They cost quite a lot nowadays, especially the higher end ones.

Assuming you’re from Malaysia, this is from Mitsubishi Malaysia’s page with its pricing:
          http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/#/car/pajero

Why you would think that we don’t get this pure-bred Pajero is beyond me. Perhaps you never did your research. Also, the fact that few people can afford it nowadays may have led you to that conclusion since they are so rarely seen now unlike the Pajero from the 90’s. An aside, a 1989 Pajero happens to be the vehicle in which I spent the most time behind the wheels after becoming a licensed driver, so I have a soft spot for this.

I do agree with your opinion about the gearbox. When you’re off-roading, any gear beyond Gear 3 is unnecessary and are potential liabilities. In my opinion, a 5 or 6 speed gearbox would be ideal for a versatile SUV. The 5th and 6th gears are basically only meant for the road.

Land Rover’s 9 speed gearbox in their SUVs sort of say a lot about where their vehicles are intended to be driven…

Granted, soft-roader SUVs have their own purpose and that’s where the market is heading these days, it seems.

• BNR32 on Jul 25, 2014 at 6:13 pm

I am fully aware of the existence of the Exceed/ THE real Pajero in our country. An acquaintance of mine used to work in Mitsubishi and mentioned this model to me, and I was naturally surprised because I never knew about it’s existence until last year. It’s obviously a big marketing challenge, what with this sort of price tag and even worse, insisting on using a tax unfriendly and thirsty 3.8L engine.

I am expressing my interest purely on the 3-door version. I wasn’t and never will be interested in the 5-door one. MMC Malaysia can bring the price down to RM200K and I still wouldn’t want it because of it’s size and only one engine option. If by some chance they had stuffed a smaller engine in it, then a lot more people will be aware of it’s presence.

And personally, RM91K for a robust 3.0L 3-door mini SUV, THAT’S what I call cheap and cheerful when you compare it to a typical continental softroader of it’s class (let’s not start a discussion on excise duties, dollar-to-dollar and hidden maintenance costs pls). If MMC does find a way to make and sell a downsized version of this puppy, I believe they can put themselves on the map again. Obviously I’m no automotive engineer, so I’m not sure what sort of challenge they are facing to make it happen. I believe in Japanese ingenuity though.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:07 pm

You should know that Mitsubishi still sells the 4th gen true blue Pajero in Malaysia alongside the Pajero Sport. This Pajero IS our Pajero.

While the Pajero Sport isn’t as hardcore as the Pajero, it is by no means just a soft-roader. Being based on the Triton, it stands to reason that the Pajero Sport can handle itself off the tarmac and in plenty of dirt, rocks and what-have-you.

• Bevzer on Jul 25, 2014 at 7:56 am

Another large SUV that will need at least a decade to change to a new model. Volvo’s XC90 was introduced in 2002 and the second generation will be available in late 2014.
    Mitsubishi is concentrating on the smaller SUV such as Outlander and ASX where the market segment is growing well. Just a matter of putting the limited resources (money) where it matters the most. Even Lancer is looking long in the tooth.

• isuzuki on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:04 am

Hm… Does Japanese need a rugged vehicle?

• albag on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:21 am

Our beloved should spend more of rakyat money and get more of these

• Lookman on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:43 am

Super old interior, super old steering design, super old engine, super old everything

• Car-Fans on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

Aiyo -So “old” look … Can sell mer ?

• gaviny on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

the interior is tired but the exterior for me, Pajero has always been one of the handsome-est SUVs second to the new Santa Fe.

• Pajero on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:19 pm

I drove the 3 door Pajero in Dubai for 3 years and I just sold it recently to move on to something else. I have always liked the Pajero since the late 80s and I jumped at the chance to buy a low mileage used one in 2011. It served me well with just regular maintenance and surprisingly the maintenance costs to replace some worn out parts are even cheaper than a Vios. I really had great fun with the car. Objectively, I have to say that the technology is rather old. However if you are looking for a fuss free utilitarian car, this is the car for you.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 26, 2014 at 9:27 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Robin on Jul 26, 2014 at 10:00 am

I am the second and third generation pajero owner. To be honest, the best pajero is the 2nd gen with very stable and strong off road technology. 3rd generation was priced rm 440k by USF hicom back in 1999. Third generation suffers gdi engine problem which could cause unpredictable engine shut down, problem starts to occurred only after 5 years. But overall the pajero is hassle free and durable. Old techonolgy aside. This is a good 4wd for our country’s road condition and plantation owners.