SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-Benz C-Class W205 sighted on a trailer in Malaysia – is this a first batch of CBU cars?

Mercedes-Benz-C-Class-W205-Malaysia-0008

Heads up folks, the new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class is now here in Malaysia. Readers Eric Tan and Jason Lo sighted trailer loads of the new W205 today.

The angle of these photos unfortunately do not let us see the badge on the left side of the boot lid that would indicate the engine variant under the hood, but the fact that there’s no Hybrid or Bluetec badging on the right side of the boot lid rules out hybrid or diesel variants.

All the cars on the trailer look like they have the same exterior and wheel design. The alloy wheel design matches the 17-inch double five-spoke design found on the UK spec’s Sport line model, and the grille on the front is a sports grille instead of the traditional design with the hood ornament.

w205-face-comparison

Given that even the W212 E-Class facelift is only available with the sports grille in Malaysia, we expect that the W205 C-Class will get the sports grille across the board for our local spec. There are various exterior packages for the W205 C-Class. While this looks like a Sport Line exterior (the middle car), the other two lines available are SE (left) and AMG Line (right).

We’re expecting the Malaysian W205 range to be available as a 184 hp/300 Nm C 200 and a 211 hp/350 Nm C 250 as base models, but the duo could eventually be flanked by a 156 hp/250 Nm C 180 at the lower end and a C 400 – or a C 450 – as a range-topper, not counting the C 63 AMG, of course.

Traditionally, Mercedes-Benz cars usually come in as a CBU for the first batch or so before full scale SKD assembly operations begin in Pekan. Could this be a first batch of CBU cars?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• holofanboi on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:17 am

O.o what time was this posted!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • ahoka on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:32 am

This baby S-Class look handsome inside out! Interior is just fantatic…
      Price it well with CKD price and it killing 3 series sale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • fast5 on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:15 am

Yes, interior and exterior look good. This’s what I call a good looking car with good performance. German technology.

Too bad is little expensive for a CBU (bolehland tax haiz).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Pinky on Jul 24, 2014 at 10:50 am

There’s this big empty land nearby my house for future development and the roads around it are normally empty.. Since the place is 2 km away from highway exit, many trailers loves to park there overnight fetching new cars.. Have seen the veloster before it was launch before, the city, the new cla, and recently the jazz and this c class.. They normally park there during night time and will be gone before morning.. Shall snap some pics next time *-*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • GT Fan on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:21 pm

MBM must make sure they have enough stock before selling. Don’t make us wait for months for the car. The last time they launch C class, have to wait for months and ended up with a 3 series because became fed up with waiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Star Fan on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:24 pm

MBM must make sure they have enough stock before selling. Don’t make us wait for months for your car. Last time C class launch also have to wait, now new A class and CLS also have to wait for months. How to tahan? All lari to BMW la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Folger on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:08 am

The C250 is on the dot US$35,800 in the USA. At this price, Mercedes USA also have made their profit and margin and also the Government in the US have already collected the car taxes and excise duty from Mercedes USA.

MBM in Malaysia will get this car direct from Mercedes AG in Germany at official country distributor price. If Mercedes USA can sell at US$35k and still make a huge margin, that means the cost of the car is far cheaper.

Most likely, Mercedes Malaysia will get this car around US$25,000 from it Principal in Germany. Around RM80,000.

Lets see how much they sell it in Malaysia. How much profit they make despite paying Kastam Diraja Excise Duty of 110%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:38 am

Tell me where in ASEAN u get those price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • Karim on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Stupid people only compare with Asean. Open your kampung eyes to the world. Compare yourself to the world. Why if the world can get this price, why can’t we also get the same cheap price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • Even Singapork got more expensive cars than USA despite it’s higher currency value than bolehland. You know anything about tax?

You want to compare with USA summore?
            That’s a big joke.

• unforgiven on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:40 pm

In the eyes of the world, you sounded like another Bung M!

• Merc lover (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 6:06 pm

US is building their own C-Class (CKD). Our government not only collecting Excise duty, please include the import duty and sales tax as well. As I understand, all these taxes and duties are ‘Tax on tax’ format. I believe it is mre than 110%.

• Legend on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:05 am

C-Class just made it debuts in Singapore on Tuesday night.
    It’s will be quite surprising if Our market get this car so fast!
    Hope the base spec will be on C180 again but with more decent equipment and more affordable price!

• Yeap, a base C180 will compete wt the A3 1.4 & 316i which is currently doing well wt good price (200k).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Obama (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:27 am

mini S-class is coming to town! I have a feeling that it will be expensive than current c-class.

• Too bad they hide the exhaust.. From far it looks like a twin exhaust..

• heybadigol on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:21 am

Urmm, the 17 inch rims and rather high profile tyres dont really look that sporty on what is a sports package. Needs 18 inch rims & lower profile tyres like the BMW 3 Series M Sport. I hope this is the base C200 model. The C250 needs 18 inch, minimum. Otherwise, its an elegant looking car. The butt looks a bit too big in pictures, but I think they’ll be ok in the flesh. Just saw the new S Class (W222) yesterday, which has the same big butt in pictures, but in the flesh it was great looking.

Rumours peg it for a September launch here. Interestingly, this should coincide with the Infiniti Q50 launch too. And one model from each shares the same 2 litre turbo engine too. So, the question is: New C Class or Q50? Knowing Malaysian tastes (I only see an Infiniti in KL roads like once every 2 weeks), we all probably know the answer. Though I do kinda prefer the sportier design of the Q50 compared to the quiet elegance of the W205. Nothing wrong with the Merc, just a personal preference really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ABTguy (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:26 am

Whatever set up is it, will just be better than F30 :-)

Just sat on a F30 328 sport (non M-sport), as rear passenger back from KL to JB. Gosh, ride was so uncomfortable, the whole journey was so terrible tiring. Interior quality of CKD BMW is also questionable.

This Monday test drove my colleague F10 520i for lunch, that was ok, not too bad compared to F30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • gaviny on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:31 am

speculation rife that the 200 and c250 will be breaching the 300k mark, which is like ermmm okayyy…

• hondaman on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:09 am

expected price for CBU models, when they CKD it, the price will hover around the current model.

• shayz on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Then definitely wait for the recond frm grey importers…

• droll on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:56 am

I think the c180 will not hit RM200k until it is locally assembled. :)

C200 probably closer to RM270k (just a guess based on past pricing)

C250 > RM300k

• qwerty on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:15 am

CKD this and slap the E250’s 1.8L turbocharged engine; you have a winner, Merc!

• With the addition of features and equipments, we should assume a price hike for the C200.
    Unless they make it as Optional Accessories for buyers.
    Current version CKD C180 price after discount last year was 198k.Actual Price about 225k IINM

• torque on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:44 am

Launch expected around September. This year’s batch is all CBU, so better expect the price to be around 300k. If you looking the price 250k-260k, wait till next year May CKD version. Oh, btw…if you expect to get CKD C Class on its 1st batch better think again as booking has been pile up since early this year. Selamat hari raya and drive safe guys!

• mercboy on Jul 24, 2014 at 9:53 am

Mercedes Benz Malaysia is on steroid this year! bringing all their good stuff in. when is the GLA coming?

• I like the classic grill more. Maybe I’m getting old… lol

• Constantine on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

Fuel tank only 41l + 7l reserve..

• Ptuiiih! Better buy MYVI than this ugly looking crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • asx (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Yaya…how u noe??? Last time when I drive this myvi, my Fren said it was a milo tin..but now I’m driving sport car…he is driving milo tin…so how???

• VW Fanboi on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:00 pm

All the c class uncle, please stay at the left lane, we are very impatient inside our GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • Merc lover (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:59 pm

OK OK… GTI Ah Beng… I will give way. Coz I dun wan your low class, cheap piece of metal scratch my Merc. See you at the next traffic light ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • Kid nowadays have big dream, eat drink parents still support ady talk about GTi, c keras, etc

Go study hard first!!! If you are stupid your parents got bilions also useless!!!

• BigBossMan on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:35 pm

It’s a shame that such an expensive car only comes in 17′ inch wheels. Even the Mitsubishi Lancer and Mazda 6 comes in bigger 18′ and 19′ inch wheels respectively.

It is just not good enough from the company that bears the 3- pointed star!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • You can’t just relate the wheel size against its’ price as ride comfort and handling need to strike a balance.

• AcerMan on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

18″ and 19″ look nice, sporty and improve handling but when time comes to change the tyres…….
      Don’t complain. :)

• Merc lover (Member) on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Go get a Proton and change to 21″ wheels.

• therealmaserati on Jul 24, 2014 at 5:15 pm

This will tapau the 3 series inside out. If priced correctly, expect bmw sales to tk a huge hit.

Bmw cars quality have dropped tremendously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Painter on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:45 pm

You are dreaming man. BMW is laughing at Mercs long waiting lists for cars.

• seancorr on Jul 24, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Even with the low quality QC you still see them in the numbers on the street. Honestly I’ve never seen so many F30 on the road these days.

• My Audi A4 will tapau this for breakfast every morning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • My GTR will tapau your pathetic slow A4 for breakfast brunch lunch dinner supper everyday

• DrCooper on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:30 am

Duh…My first country world problem..I really dislike the gear lever location behind steering wheel..have to spend more to buy AMG version that have gear lever at center console..

• sebelum balik raya nak pergi showroom utk booking :)

• Asad_Isideras on Jul 26, 2014 at 12:25 am

Those 17 inch wheels look small for today’s standard. Merc has always been stingy when it comes to rim sizes.

At least they should give us the option of spending the car, just like overseas markets.

In Malaysia, if you want an AMG kit, you would have to purchase it separately instead of topping up $$$ for the upgrade. Monetary issues aside, you would have to have a storeroom big enough to store the original kit that comes with the car. Silly!

• chrisck on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:55 am

Dear paul
    I saw my neighbour driving tis car 2wks ago lah

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 6:22 pm

While I do like the look of the new C class, it looks really like a baby S class, however, the thing with Mercs is of late they don’t age well. Just look at how dated the W212 pre-facelift is, after the facelift, same with the now runout W204 C class compared to the new W205 C class here.

At least BMW’s E90 doesn’t look too dated after the F30 came, and some of the trademarks of the 3 series remain, i.e. corona rings, 4 bulb headlight, kidney grille and Hofmeister kink that make it unmistakably BMW. If you’d debadge this and park it in a mall, Joe Public is unlikely to know it is a Merc…

The newer Mercs do have really good interiors, marked better than the current crop of CKD BMW’s we get that have such rubbish leather finish compared to the CBU ones. As for dynamics, make no mistake the Merc is for comfort, while the BMW is more for performance and driver engagement. It all depends on your priorities, do you want a comfortable cruiser, or a sporty dynamic corner carver which can cruise pretty well? If it’s the former, get the C, else get the F30. F30’s chassis, suspension is really well setup for the driver.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 6:23 pm

While I do like the look of the new C class, it looks really like a baby S class, however, the thing with Mercs is of late they don’t age well. Just look at how dated the W212 pre-facelift is, after the facelift, same with the now runout W204 C class compared to the new W205 C class here.

At least BMW’s E90 doesn’t look too dated after the F30 came, and some of the trademarks of the 3 series remain, i.e. corona rings, 4 bulb headlight, kidney grille and Hofmeister kink that make it unmistakably BMW. If you’d debadge this and park it in a mall, Joe Public is unlikely to know it is a Merc…

The newer Mercs do have really good interiors, marked better than the current crop of CKD BMW’s we get that have such rubbish leather finish compared to the CBU ones. As for dynamics, make no mistake the Merc is for comfort, while the BMW is more for performance and driver engagement. It all depends on your priorities, do you want a comfortable cruiser, or a sporty dynamic corner carver which can cruise pretty well? If it’s the former, get the C, else get the F30. F30’s chassis, suspension is really well setup for the driver…. especially in M sport, with Estoril Blue!

• Johnny on Jul 27, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Yesssssss it’s here!!!!!!!!! Another 5 more years till I can afford one.

• front and rear light so ugly like the new E class… bad design…