Acura/Honda NSX prototype burns down on the ‘Ring

Honda-NSX-burnt-down-03

Yikes. Just a couple of days after we saw the Acura/Honda NSX prototype roaring around the Nürburgring, we now have pictures of the very same car burnt to a crisp on the side of the track. A bit too enthusiastic chasing that Mark IV Toyota Supra, perhaps?

Apparently, witnesses saw flames sprouting from the rear of the car as it was driving around the track. The NSX eventually pulled to a stop at Pflanzgarten and both occupants escaped without injury, before the fire swiftly engulfed the vehicle.

This shows that the advanced Sport Hybrid Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD) might still need some time to get some teething issues ironed out. The system mates a mid-mounted VTEC direct-injected V6 with an electric motor and a dual clutch transmission to drive the rear wheels, while a pair of motors drive the front wheels and can provide instant positive or negative torque as needed when cornering.

Acura/Honda NSX prototype burns down on the ‘Ring

As previously reported, the new NSX is slated to be unveiled before the end of the year and will be built at the new US$70 million (RM222 million) Performance Manufacturing Center in Ohio in 2015, although whether this new development has set back Honda’s plans remains to be seen.

This NSX is just the latest in a string of supercars that are prone to catching fire – earlier this year, two Porsche 911 GT3s were set alight which prompted Porsche to replace all customer engines, while in 2010, a spat of Ferrari 458 Italia fires resulted in a recall involving 1,248 units of the Maranello exotic.

So I suppose the NSX has already started earning its supercar credentials even before launch day, eh?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Biskut on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:04 am

See…not only Proton have problems…Japanese cars also ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 38
    • benchot on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:23 am

same like jay z also..cz he got 99 problems but a b**ch aint one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • carlies on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:57 pm

haha. Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:57 pm

It is still on testing phase, so incidents like fire are expected. If not, test for what?

The worse is the car model already mass produced but still caught in fire on roads sometimes here and there. In Malaysia, you all know the brand which has the most car caught in fire. Maybe poor maintenance from owner? Maybe poor build quality?

Poor build quality + poor maintenance = things must happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • honta on Jul 25, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Honda sucks oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Biskut on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:15 pm

I knew you would be here…I just knew it…hahaha…the slight mentioning of Proton brings you everywhere…sure you’re not Proton lover? As old folks say, you gaduh2 then suddenly you marry.

• Same L0rrr on Jul 26, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Did I ever mention of Proton? lol

You can’t blame me too if people related to Proton straight away whenever “poor build quality” is mentioned.

I don’t have to bash it. I am just sharing the fact.

• Fact? It is not FACT, You dun know what’s a FACT, lol.
            Go back to school.

• I would say Proton indeed make very little progress in car development, probably even to the stage where they have no idea in designing the car where they have to borrow hand from the public to get inspiration.(Just my personal view, no offence)

Compare againts some newer car maker like Luxgen from Taiwan, where the 1st car they launch was MPV with 2.2L Turbo engine, and impressive build quality and spec price from around RM80K, SUV as the 2nd car with the same spec. Its quite hard to justify the progress of Proton, with all the money, manpower and brilliant mind. The best we can do is just Suprima S…

• Don’t put yourself on par with others la. You should look at yourself. The only automaker same level as Proton is Trabant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • buyer on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:35 am

Dowan jap cars. scared got fire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • moooo~ on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Then you need not buy car already.

1. Japanese cars scared got fire.
        2. Italians already confirmed got fire.
        3. Americans (GM) got recalls.
        4. Germans’ airbags got problems.
        5. Koreans gave deceitful FC info.

Walking is still the safest.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
    • poison ivy on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:28 pm

bro is still prototype which is not in market see the different? if no that’s the reason we cant move forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • fast5 on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Prototype for testing.

Proton go ahead selling the problematic engine and transmission.
      Hope coming GSC really prove me wrong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • Forza 5 on Jul 25, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Your statement are wrong fast 5.. VW is the one who sells problematic engine & tranny car… See la VW fanboy FB page.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • fast5 on Jul 25, 2014 at 7:11 pm

VW either selling car engine or air-plane engine it don’t matter because it WON’T influence Gov m’sia to pay any loses for them.
          Proton is different story.

• CS Lim on Jul 26, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Forza 5, either you are just naive or you do not know whats happening in the world today. VW has the most award winning engines that are rated as the most reliable in the world. Thats why you see Golf and Polo owners using their cars for 15-20 years with the same engine.

Its the Borg Warner dry clutch transmission that has problems, same as Ford, BMW and Honda. All have the same problems.

• uniko on Jul 27, 2014 at 12:40 am

Who cares? It’s the engine or transmission, both make the car moving. If one get stalled many times, you have to keep the tow truck number. LOL

• Biskut Kering on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Still dont wanna buy proton, proton sux ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • Same L0rrr on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:59 pm

But Proton fanboys will ask you to leave Malaysia if you don’t support Proton, how? Or they will label you RBA, how?

Their ego/pride with Proton is very fragile and must be handled with extreme care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • pacci on Jul 25, 2014 at 6:57 pm

You said in other countries always got cheaper cars, so if been asked to go there why so butthurt?

Just go and buy there la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 26, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I don’t have to go other countries to buy cheap cars. I can afford good cars in Malaysia at ridiculous price.

If without Proton, every Malaysian can drive good cars with a much cheaper price.

Because of the god damn pride, the nation have to suffer for generations.

Your pride is really fragile and expensive, little boy.

• So what only your beloved Toyota dun sell cheap, dun have quality too. Ford, Kia, Honda can sell cheaper, why not Toyota?

Toyota is only overpriced moving coffin, nothing special.

• creck on Jul 25, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Hatred without reason. Get treatment soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Yeah lets talk about reliability on a prototype supercar that hasn’t gone on sale yet. Its not like Audi, Aston, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Mercedes, have NEVER had ANY of their supercars burnt to the ground. Oh wait they have.

• flat_tire on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:30 pm

still better than having it burned after it got sold to customers.. a recall would cost a lot more..

• Difference is….there have been several brand new Proton cars getting burnt after driving out from the showroom. Basically Proton’s testing is useless.

• Ouch!

• theanswer on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:22 am

burned by the legendary supra! nway, still looking fwd for new nsx.

• heybadigol on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:18 am

Damnit!! Looks like i’ll have to cancel the order. Haha. Anyways, glad nobody was injured, except for the car. And glad it happened to a prototype. Hope the production unit will not have any fire issues. Many theorists claim the fire was caused by possible fuel leak (manufacturing issue) which hit hot parts in the engine bay or simply lack of cooling (design issue). The air vents into the mid engine was enlarged, compared to the concept shown last year. Guess it wasnt enough. Or not enough holes/ventilation to draw out hot air from the engine bay. Or both (not enough cool air coming in & hot air going out)

A few interesting things to note from the debris:
    – Dashboard still cant be seen. The fire destroyed it.
    – Dont see any carbon fibre parts. Or maybe they are further inside, so can’t be seen.
    – Notice a rather small boot in the back. Ok lah for an overnight bag.
    – Front part (where the batteries & hybrid motors are) was not razed, so this is clearly from engine bay.
    – Engine bay looks pretty compact. Maybe just a bit bigger than a Porsche Boxster/Cayman.
    – Where’s the roof???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
    • IdealTech on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:41 am

Omgosh! U r a genius! We (with mediocre knowledge of engineering) thank u for pointing out your “physics-engineering-calculus-damnhardto-comprehend-neurondestroying-knowledge” , whoahh u hve just opened my 6th and 7th sense to view this world. Thanks mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Gumbo on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Cancel the order? Since when you able to order it? If yes I bet you don’t even can afford it.

• Gen-2 lagi best dari vios on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:21 am

Bagus la terbakar masa tgh testing.. Dari terbakar bila dah jual..

• benchot on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:24 am

toyota power supra..cayala T..kasi hantam itu H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Protonist on Jul 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm

My Suprima S can beat it anytime. Don’t mess around with Lotus handling. I left a lot of cars in dust after traffic light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Despite Suprima is not as many as Preve on road, it’s a head turner. I saw it again today.

• olala on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:55 pm

go around the bent faster la. see got gut or not. no more after traffic light. bosan.

• Initial D on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Try to smoke Toyota Corrola AE86 if you dare at mount akina

• gaviny on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:28 am

well again, they have overlooked at keeping all that energy harnessed cool

• qwerty on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:38 am

Well, at least we know how it will look like without its roof. Theophilus doesn’t have to crop the roof off.

• DrCooper on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:40 am

Told ya…it ain’t good without Aryton Senna pedigree …I guess Aryton Senna spirit got piss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • project H on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

Few days ago he is chasing a SUPRA, and winner is SUPRA ! (for now only)

• Wow! Now that’s a hot car! Well that’s what protos are for, detecting issues before production release.

• bvc100 on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:50 am

No wonder Stark drives in the R8 more of the time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:41 pm

What? you of short memory.

The R8 V10 had its own fair share of “heat” issues. Same goes to its Lambo sister.

• Japanese Gov might give Honda $$$ on the money they spend on R&D.

Well… that’s what Dr M says….

• IF jap govt gives money to Honda, Honda will make sure they make good use of it, if not they will feel ashamed, like committing “harakiri”.

When P gets money from govt, continue to spend like father’s money, when finished d, ask some more!

• “Spend like father’s money”

Give evidence and prove it or you talk kork

• Then why dun u prove to us how wisely they use the money?

Simple common sense can prove they got corruption or not..
          1.proton didnt use best quality
          2.malaysia salary not as high as overseas
          3.why their finished products can be more expensive than overseas manufacturers.?
          4.why proton only make profit of Rm500 for every single car they sell?

u r making jokes, right? U sounds like Petronas jual burger n only earning Rm300 per day while they are actually earning millions n millions until billions for profits..

• Minus tax proton is still cheaper than “Jap” B segment cars (with similar specs) in Indo/Thai. Tax is so high in bolehland, Proton also got high taxed here, so?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Yea…car is hot alright..so hot it caught fire…hehehe

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Ouch. It must b d china made battery.

I guess the head engineer sure kena goreng oledi.

• Most likely an oil leak.

• kcng (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:12 pm

phewwww luckily not Proton…

• azrai on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm

According to a typical Malaysian living in German, the new NSX actually testing RON95 petrol on the day it is burnt. :-)

• typical_honda on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:01 pm

this is the typical honda. always get burnt on the road. not just burnt from the hybrid battery and engine, it gets burnt by others as well.

better get protong rather than expensive low quality honda.

• 2JZ burned this hybrid yo

• This isn’t a prototype as it has normal number plates. Normal number plates are only issued if the car passed the ‘KBA’ (JPJ) tests already.

Trade numbers for prototypes are red in Germany (the Supra on the pics has red number plates).

• Its ok…the resale value still high :P

• AVH (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Haha, Honda burned down because a sign of poor built quality….. Because Porsche 991 911 GT3, Nissan GTR, Audi R8, Lamborghini Gallardo, almost every other Ferrari, Mercedes Benz SLS Black, McLaren MP4-12C, Mazda Furai, Tesla Model-S, Zenvo ST1…..are all low quality expensive car, case close.

From the rumors in Jalopnik, the car has been continuing running at full-pace for 6-hours straight as a final shakedown for production. Add to that rumours[from Motor Trend, so take it with a pinch of salt] also state that the engine is not originally the 3.5l V6 that is found in the RLX but a new one built from the ground up just for the NSX.

• Same fate like Proton.. haha.. everyone else also used cheap plastic but only Proton got bashed..hehe

• gdntsk (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:17 pm

This just reminded me of the Mazda Furai concept car that got burnt during a photoshoot by Top Gear.

• Jaybond on Jul 25, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Oo..oo..not a good start for the eagerly anticipated new NSX. Honda better solve this ASAP before potential customer’s confidence waned..I suspect it has something to do with the hybrid electrical parts (e.g motor).Honda’s high performance production engine has always been bulletproof (S2000, Civic & Integra Type Rs not to mention Honda Superbikes)..

• ‘not to mention Honda Superbikes’

Yes, of course. Because they have a lot less power than other superbikes… ;)

Honda CBR1000RR – 178.0 hp @ 12,000 rpm
      BMW S1000RR – 193 hp @ 13,000 rpm

• civicEK on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:57 pm

thank god its not proton car! :D

• Samad Jain on Jul 31, 2014 at 12:06 am

Just one prototype honda burnt….hoo haa in the news.

In MAlaysia, so many proton burnt….everyone so quiet….esp proton blind supporters

• car lover on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:16 am

GTR still better than nsx..