SPIED: Ford EcoSport Titanium sighted undisguised

10559171_10204277288511858_1429260580_n

The Ford EcoSport has been sighted on test on the road, two of them in fact – an orange one snapped by reader Hakimin Zahid and a greyish one sighted by reader Erh Pin Lim.

While the unit that we saw at JPJ Putrajaya earlier this week was in Trend trim, these cars being driven on the road with trade plates are of the Titanium spec that was advertised on oto.my for RM96,888. The Titanium spec includes better looking alloy wheels and chrome fog light surrounds, but the giveaway is of course the Titanium badge on the rear.

20140724_173716

Since the Ecosport has the high ground clearance of an SUV, you can peek under the car in some of these shots. It doesn’t look like there’s any drive to the rear axle, so these are most likely front-wheel drive cars. This might reduce offroading capabilty but it should improve fuel economy and it’s not likely that any EcoSport owner is going to do anything funky anyway other than some ‘creative’ parking perhaps.

The EcoSport will be powered by the same 110 PS/142 Nm 1.5 litre Ti-VCT four-cylinder engine and six-speed PowerShift dual clutch transmission combo as on the Fiesta 1.5. There is also the possibility of the 125 PS/170 Nm 1.0 litre EcoBoost turbocharged three-cylinder mill found in the Fiesta EcoBoost coming in later.

In the meanwhile, read our Ford EcoSport review from when we tried the car out in Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

1st pic is totally photobombed by that myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Therealmaserati on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Its gonna be so freaking underpowered! 1.5 engine for such a heavy car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Gargantia on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Nope, please watch Top Gear S.Korea.
      This the car that they call underpower but not undervalue. Performance can match any suv 2.0 in S.Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • b segment cars all die when this ford official the launch and sale?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrr on Jul 25, 2014 at 1:56 pm

You are right. Like the GSC. Sad for them though.

• Highly unlikely. 1. Its not a sedan. 2.Its a ford/non-japanese (ppl in msia are scared of the after sales)

• Same L0rrr on Jul 25, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Let’s wait and see the sales figures.

People also used to predict the Preve/Suprima S will sell like hot cakes before they were launched. The fact is you still can get 2013 cars now July 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Jul 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Nope. B-segment cars may all die only if Honda’s equivalent is equipped with 6 airbags + ESP calling for RM90k.

• david on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:44 pm

one fugly looking car…

its perfect if ur doraemon….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Car-Fans on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:23 pm

If below RM90K surely going be good sales ! Wasted …wasted…wasted…

• slk3879 on Jul 26, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Wait for 1 year after launch, if cannot sale sure will offer discount, then will be below 90k

• Narmi on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

The spare wheel at the back, plus the opening of the tailgate makes it a bit impractical in Malaysia’s crowded parking lots..

• klagang on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Would really love a GW Haval M4 vs Ford Ecosport vs Toyota Rush review since they all are in the same category.

Price for sure M4 but what about in other terms? Fuel consumption? Spare parts? Resale value? Service centres?

• Toyota Rush definitely have the advantage of bigger space. The rush is quite reliable and have rear wheel drive. I used to hate the look of the Avanza but I had driven a 5 years old Avanza as a company car for one year. We really abused the car but I am impressed with the built quality and reliability.

• Rush may be reliable.. but i think this EcoSport is way ahead in terms of technology and safety.

• What a shame Perodua Nautica already retired…Perodua is too happy selling the 3 models now..

• Sam Looser on Jul 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

The nauticar was sent to junk yard as not even idiots would pay 100k for that junk.

• totti on Jul 25, 2014 at 3:48 pm

iayah, Fiestar below RM 80K also difficult to sell and this car cost RM 95K will be worst.

I have test drove the fiestar twice but the power is so.so. Nothing special.

What a gimmick on the dual clutch box?

• Small cramp car sell at RM 95K? Ford is having a wet dreaming.

If they want to get more sale, they should price it below below RM 72K and fight with Avanza. Otherwise just an option for consumer consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • iluvproton on Jul 25, 2014 at 6:04 pm

1) it is a Ford
    2) it is not 50-60k
    3) it is not pretty

what is the point?

• First glance…like haval m4 great wall..

• seancorr on Jul 25, 2014 at 9:47 pm

If they were to sell the Titanium spec with ESP, 6 airbags, keyless entry, etc for under RM100k OTR it will be a good buy compared to the overpriced Pug 2008 and the crap Toyota Rush. Its price will also be the benchmark for the upcoming Honda Vezel too.

I’ll be looking forward to this model as I’m in the market for a second car which is taller to go through floods.

• FORD= POWER FOR DWARFS…so small for any B, C snd SUV Segment vehicles

• Sofooglish on Jul 26, 2014 at 12:14 am

Neh….so fooglish and overprice. Maybe GWM M4 will has better sales than this.

• civicEK on Jul 26, 2014 at 1:51 pm

i rather buy haval M4 which is half the price ahahaha

• VDread on Jul 27, 2014 at 6:15 am

Already saw one at a Ford Seremban showroom yesterday. From the brochure they were handing out, the Trend variant is around RM95k while the Titanium RM105k.

• dozy888 on Jul 27, 2014 at 10:59 pm

I just got back from Europe, the dealer was having a roadshow. So I checked out the SUV. The one i saw was the 1.0L model. According to the brochures, both 1.0L & 1.5L are going for Euro $ 23,995.00. Interior was just so so.. I would say, I expected better finishing.

• Notafordfans on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:00 pm

RM96k is too overpriced. As a comparison, pricing in indonesia for;
    – EcoSport 1.5L Titanium MT Rp. 239,000,000 (RM63,800)
    – EcoSport 1.5L Titanium AT Rp. 249,000,000 (RM66,500)
    Reasonable price should be below RM80k for Malaysian market especially 1.5 engine.

• someguyonthenet on Jul 28, 2014 at 12:10 am

how did Indonesia can get low price? Why suddenly come here can go almost 100K?

• Car-Fans on Jul 28, 2014 at 10:45 pm

someguyonthenet – Hmm… We r staying in Msia mar – betul ! betul ! betul ! Car price so far never cheap mar – betul ! betul ! betul ! Even Thai n Phil car is cheaper then here lor !

• reminds me of perodua kembara

that high central of gravity will make this car toppled over if corner too hard ^^

• Head Hunter on Jul 28, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I wouldn’t want to get caught driving in this piece of junk. It is undeniably the ugliest, most vile looking thing that has ever made way to the back of my retina and I was hoping that there’s a way to remove the etchings from my memory in someway. Damn, that thing is ugly! I don’t care about the impressive engine, I don’t even care about the great fuel economy. If a car can be this ugly, please, please kill it with fire!!