SPYSHOTS: New Renault Twingo RS on test – to share an engine with the smart forfour Brabus?

Renault-Twingo-RS-02

The most powerful version of Renault’s little rear-engined, rear-wheel drive Twingo hatchback when it was unveiled in February this year will be a turbocharged 0.9 litre three-cylinder engine producing 90 hp and 135 Nm of torque. But a more powerful version is coming soon, as our Euro spies have snapped the upcoming Renault Twingo RS on test.

You can see various holes cut in the body, presumably to allow for better cooling to the hotter engine mounted at the rear. There’s a hole cut at the nose under the Renault badge, and there are also intakes above the rear wheels which are not found on the regular Clio.

Renault-Twingo-RS-04

Will the Twingo RS use a tuned-up version of the 0.9 litre engine or will it use a larger displacement engine? The last generation Twingo RS used a 1.6 litre normally aspirated engine that did 133 hp and 160 Nm of torque. Could we be looking at a minimum of 160 hp and 200 Nm to keep up with the Fiat 500 Abarth this time around?

It also remains to be seen if the Twingo RS will share its engine with the upcoming Brabus version of the new smart forfour, given that the two cars are now built on common platforms.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 7:04 pm

After enjoying the sheer tech in a Clio RS, I can’t wait till the Twingo RS arrives. Imagine zipping around comically in that lil tyke. Hilarious, cute and rather fast too.

Renault is making some really amazing cars, in fact, I’d say probably as good as VW and Peugeot, or even better.

• joesatriani on Jul 25, 2014 at 8:22 pm

How long have u work as renault dealer?

• Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 12:27 am

Déjà vu isn’t this the Smart ForFour? They look the same!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:58 pm

They are closely related, yes. They were developed together by Renault and Mercedes. Think Toyota Aygo/Citroen C1/Peugeot 107, or VW Sharan/Ford Galaxy/Seat Alhambra, these things are rather common in the car industry.

• zeek (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 2:03 am

How long have you been a renault hater?

• Renault engine is a BIG no-no for hot ASEAN countries

• Heng Lee on Jul 27, 2014 at 12:51 am

Renault engine is very popular in even hotter countries like Marocco, Algeria, Tunesia…

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Renault dealer? Really?

Is it wrong for me to express satisfaction for an exciting hatch? Why does it have to be that satisfied user = dealer, all unsatisfied users = real customer?

Enjoy your boring little econobox littered with TRD stickers, pretty sure each sticker adds 5BHP to your ego.

Cheers.

• It would be nice to put a 133hp engine in the Smart ForTwo…

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Search for the smart diablo for example. Or smart and Hayabusa.

• holofanboi on Jul 25, 2014 at 8:25 pm

0.9 liters turbocharged ._.;;

When will we come to a point where we emd up blowing a tiny engine? :X

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 25, 2014 at 10:57 pm

No need blown engine,a blown turbochargers enough to give you migrain..thats the price of saving road tax..the price of driving tiny engine power same as bigger natural engine..Yet Japanese is still smart focus more on natural aspirated with lighter components

• Lighter component can fly wor, dun play-play

• Heng Lee on Jul 27, 2014 at 12:53 am

Japanese are not smart, they simply don’t know how to build turbos. That’s why they have such a small market share in europe (around 75% cars sold there are turbo).

• zeek (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 2:08 am

I’ve always been a big fan of small hot hatches like the old Twingo 133 Gordini, Fiat 500 abarth & DS3 racing. 160bhp in this? Thats gonna be epic.

• zeek (Member) on Jul 26, 2014 at 2:10 am

btw I seriously think renault should stick with making hot hatchbacks instead of making dreary saloons & SUVs.

• heybadigol on Jul 26, 2014 at 8:44 am

Rear engined, rear wheel drive. Like a mini Porsche 911. Get the balance right, with great steering feedback/weight/directness, then this should be fun to drive in the twisties.

• anti-toyota on Jul 27, 2014 at 6:09 am

This won’t attract second glance. There is a saying in the US ‘Don’t buy a continental car if you are not in Europe’. Referring to the poor reliability of continental cars which I totally agree based on own experience and others I knew. I am sticking to Japanese for now since I don’t hv the luxury of a spare car. Tested drive the V40 last week though, tempted by the performance but shall look at other options first.

• Samlok on Jul 28, 2014 at 7:58 am

Bring it in, more choice r always better