Infiniti Q50 appears on Malaysian website – RM250k

infiniti-q50-malaysia-website-0002

The Infiniti Q50 has appeared on Infiniti Malaysia’s website with an estimated price of RM250k for the Infiniti Q50 2.0t Standard model, along with a preliminary equipment list.

The rear-wheel drive Q50 competes in the same class as the Mercedes-Benz C-Class, BMW 3 Series and Lexus IS. Under the car’s hood is a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine from Mercedes-Benz, similiar to the one in the W212 E-Class facelift and the upcoming W205 C-Class. In Q50 tune, it does 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 3,500 rpm.

This is 30 Nm more torque than the Q50’s 320 Nm figure for other markets, and we wonder why. The engine is mated to a seven-speed automatic transmission with Downshift Rev Matching and Adaptive Shift Control.

infiniti-q50-17-inch

Other features of note include LED headlamps, LED foglamps and LED brake lights, keyless entry and start, power-folding heated wing mirrors, dual-zone automatic air conditioning, rear air vents, a 10-way power adjustable driver’s seat with two-way power lumbar, eight-way power adjustable front passenger seat, heated front seats and 60/40 split backrest.

Also included are a six-speaker audio system with Bluetooth support, Infiniti InTouch dual screen infotainment system, 17-inch wheels with 225/55 runflat tyres, ESP, VDC, Active Trace Control and six airbags. For a full list of specs and equipment, click here.

Last we heard, three models will be available – a 2.0t Standard, a 2.0t Premium and a 3.5 Hybrid Sport. The RM250k estimated price for the 2.0t Standard matches what we wrote earlier.

The Hybrid Sport will eventually get a pricetag of under RM400k, while the 2.0t Premium remains a question mark at the moment. We’re wagering somewhere between RM270k to RM300k, depending on what kind of equipment is added over the Standard.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:20 pm

wow, if the 3.5 hybrid sport does get a price tag of under 300k, then that’s really a bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Typo error, under 400k. No more under 300k.

• Ah Beng support Proton on Jul 29, 2014 at 1:25 am

You can get Proton hybrid less than RM100k. That is even better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Its JUST a Nissan Car on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:29 am

This is nothing but a Nissan. Nissan saw what a wonderful conjob Toyota is doing with their Lexus, now, they want a piece of the pie.

Are you that stupid? This is purely a Japanese Nissan. Nothing else. They just put some softer leather seats and tune up the engine for more bhp, everyone gets excited.

One must be so stupid to pay RM250,000 for a Nissan. Better you buy a Teana, albeit smaller engine, but more or less the same car for RM139,000.

Of go and buy a Mercedes E250 or a BMW 520i 2013 models BOTH are going for RM250,000.

At least people will give you more respect driving a true German prestige.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • Same L0rrr on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:20 am

The GT-R35 also a Nissan car. How many of “Germany” prestige can beat it?

Not to forget there are GT86, LFA, RX8, upcoming NSX in the line.

• kongc on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:20 pm

GTR got special tuning from *cough* Lotus *cough*

• vince on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:29 pm

It might have a chance if priced wisely below the germans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • ONLY SIX (6) speakers ? You are pulling our legs ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
    • Bmwrubbish on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Why? BMW 320i and 320d also same what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • beemerg on Jul 28, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Beemer speakers branded ones, infiniti chaplang ones. Where got same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
        • seancorr on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:44 am

Whoever said that its branded? It ain’t no B&W, H/K or B&O but some crap Panasonic ones.

• BNR32 on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:52 pm

And how on Earth do you know that? If it were branded speakers they could have happily used it as a selling point on the 3-Series, like the B&O or Steinway & Sons 7-Series. Why intentionally keep quiet about smthng that can help boost your sales? It’s basic logic in marketing.

• beemerg on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Know la cuz beemer ori finishing, infiniti cheapo plastic

No need selling point, people already know BMW = luxury, infinity = rubbish

• qwerty on Jul 29, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Ya lah ya lah..BMW and Merc’s offers are the best in the world. Other car companies are all cheap stuff.

Even if BMW could fart, you would say it smells awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 28, 2014 at 8:39 pm

same…but i think could have done better….

• Three speakers per ear..should be enough.

• Car_fan on Jul 28, 2014 at 4:16 pm

So you buying a car based on number of speakers? I just found out my 320i also has 6 speakers, I’m going to push it into Klang river :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • slkey on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:22 pm

You only have SLK (small little kancil)

Bwahahahahahahahahahhahahaahh

• Blackbeard on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Wow, for me the car looks nice. Am considering between Q50, 320i, c-class or audi a4 for my first young exec car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • Whitebeard on Jul 28, 2014 at 4:04 pm

the new c-class win hands down !

inside out. even tho the back is a lil…

but still look at the interior, front face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Please strike out 320i, so many on the roads, they are selling by corporate fleet, so so only, feel not special on the road anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Pak Cik on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:37 pm

A Q50 for 250k?? A better choice than the Beemer 320?

• Hulk Hogan on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Seriously, who would buy this instead of a 3 series or a c class for almost the same price? At RM250k for the most bare bones spec, this thing is hardly cheaper than a C200 or a 320i/320d.

First of all, I doubt it is overall better than the Germans.

Secondly, the owner would face a lot of headaches in the future when he sells this car eg. Low resale value and low demand.

Thirdly, would people recognize this car as prestigious as the Germans?

The interior looks just like an upmarket Sylphy.

I’d rather get a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
    • seancorr on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:56 am

You sure this is a bare bone spec?

This model has way more spec than the bare bone 320i/320i and the 328i doesn’t have some of this car’s goodies.

Where’s the keyless entry, LED headlamps, 10 way driver electric seat plus lumbar support, reverse camera, sunglasses holder, extra USB port and hill start assist in the 320i/320d?

Plus the F30 models fuel tank is smaller than this 80 litre monster tank.

Makes you wonder what the Premium spec will offer eh? Adaptive suspension, adaptive LED headlamps & premium sound system anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • i personally think that this is more interesting than the boring bmw..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Car_fan on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:10 am

It is a no brainer
      1) 3 Series
      2) C class
      3) IS
      4) The rest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • Damien Thorn on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:02 pm

You are wrong, Audi occupies the third place. IS just makes up the rest, along with Volvo and Infinitis.

• mim (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

I have driven a CBU 320i and I was not impressed. It felt like my chipped Preve but with rear-wheel drive.

Maybe I was exaggerating but I’m just saying that an F30 is not worth the price. I’d rather get a tiptop E46, which is much better. BMW is no more an “ultimate driving machine”.

A C-class/IS250/Q50 would be a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • gaviny on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:08 am

CBU vs CKD

i heard CKD BMW is not really properly put together.

The premium should get the drive by wire steering, all the safety systems which interestingly has lane keeping assist which means you can practically let this car drive itself on highways, pre-crash warning which bounces radar under the front car to the car infront of that to warn of imminent crash.

• Hulk Hogan on Jul 28, 2014 at 2:52 pm

But at least I give Infiniti credit for pricing this car cheaper than it’s Japanese competitor, the Lexus IS250, which is totally overpriced.

That is why we see so few of it in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • why u need a heated front seat at Malaysia? i think an air ventilated seat like in Kia Cerato is more appropriate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • iswadi308 on Jul 28, 2014 at 3:53 pm

it might be cheaper than the 320 and still have lots of accessory.looking forward to review at the showroom and test drive.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 28, 2014 at 4:53 pm

While it does look really nice and all, I can’t help but feel it is a touch too much for the base model. The thing is, the 320i, which is kinda like the segment benchmark, is at 241k. Yes, this is a CBU, and yes, it has more power and more bells and tech than the 320i, but not by much. I feel it is a bit too expensive actually, and should have been priced at 230k tops. That would be a better starting price, considering Infiniti doesn’t have that large of an aftersales network, and brand presence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Josh Ling on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:03 am

agreed. but i think this might be a strategy to push more customers to the Premium variant of Q50, like maybe they will price the Premium for 270k to 280k, but with lots more kits to play around, and lots of goodies too, then people might think since i have to pay so much for Standard already, why don’t i pay a little more for Premium? some dealers are having this type of strategy going on for some time already, so not surprised if infiniti following the suit.

• Jimmy on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:27 pm

True.
      Branding aside, lowering yardstick, it is easier to sell your 320i than an Infinity of whatever Q. Do you want to be seen in a 10-year old 320i?
      If we still talk about 3-series, we obviously must be somewhat conscious about resale value, true?
      There will be one stage when you feel that E-class is so so only, and S-class is so reachable.

• beemerf on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Luxury cars only be luxurious for only 4 years. Later than taht consider normal cars because the RV are much lower.

Infiniti is not a luxury car, marketed as luxury but only people’s car.

• old dog on Jul 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

why will buy a japan wanna-be of Infiniti, Acura, Lexus at the price of German top dog?

At least price 15-20% lower to stand a chance la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • heybadigol on Jul 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I think the specs & estimated price has been on the Malaysian Infiniti website for more than a week by now.

Anyways, I think the specs for RM250k is fine, maybe even slightly better than the Germans. 6 speakers kinda matches the competition at this price point. I would expect the premium 2.0T would have the full Bose treatment. And probably that all-electronic steering system (which most people/reviewers were not a fan of) and bigger rims with wider rear tyres (in my eyes, the 17 inch rims looks kinda smallish sitting in the wheel well). Not sure what other extra niceties the premium will command, cos the standard’s list is quite long already.

• seancorr on Jul 28, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Wow not bad the spec list and the price. Makes me wonder what they will add in the Premium spec. Maybe adaptive LED, reverse camera, navigation, 18″ wheels and a premium sound system for RM270k?

They could also have taken out the heated seats as we don’t need it here.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 28, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Lexus IS!!
    Oh wait, wrong site for a fanboy shoutout. Sorry peeps…

• Haha good one. But i testdrove the IS250F sport last mth though. Nice V6 growl and accurate steering. Inside? Mamamiyaa!!! The seats were just awesomely comfortable and the LFA panel instrument…speechless. The only thing was the bloody expensive price tag!
      Okok. Back to infiniti. Sorry guys, couldn’t help it hehe

• Looks like an expensive camly with a E-klass engine. Disturbingly similar look with mazda 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • vwowner on Jul 28, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Sorry new to Infinity. Why Mercedes engine, not Nissan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • sick&tired on Jul 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

more the merrier! with that said, i still think the F30, especially the M-Sport version, looks better.

Is it me, or does the Q50 looks bigger than the F30?

• Le Mang 24 hours on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:21 am

the interior looks a generation behind its rivals.

• pmg4lktan on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:25 am

take a look at this:

http://www.infiniti.com.hk/q50/specifications-options/specifications.html

the premium comes with moonroof, BOSE speakers and sat navi (some of the key features for executive)…and based on the price difference…i doubt it will be anything less than 50k more for the premium spec…if these features are ever so important…and you don’t want to pay the premium…just get a Korean car instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Steeringdynamics on Jul 29, 2014 at 1:26 am

I despise the drive by wire concept. What is the point of driving a car with a great engine and chasis with absolutely zero steering feedback from the wheels? They should have stick with something at least hydraulic-electric hybrid steering or even pure hydraulics. If it is, I’ll pick this over the Germans or the Lexus anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • therealmaserati on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:38 am

This is way better than the overhyped 320i.

I test drove it, and its a bore to drive . It didnt even hv enough power. And the interior quality is pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • in malaysia , infiniti=nissan .

• mim (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Perfect alternative for those who wanted a sporty premium sedan but don’t wanna jump into a typical 3-series/C-class.

Another good alternative is the IS250, but the 2.5L V6 NA wouldn’t punch as hard as this turbo 4-pot..

• ChrisWee on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Not worth the price since the brand has hardly any presence in Malaysia. There is only one dealership in the country and most people outside KL has hardly heard of this brand. A friend of mine said the Infiniti logo could easily be mistaken as a Cherry logo.

Secondly, it is very hard for people outside of KL to purchase a car from this brand as there is no service centers in other states.

• Bringonthegame on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Lets bring in the Acura too and let the battle of luxury compact sedan begins!
    In b4, Lexus = Toyota, Infiniti = Nissan, Acura = Honda vs Germans.

• joesatriani on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:41 pm

The design..wow, but still… infiniti..meh

• Dahlan_mohd on Jul 29, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Eventhough it is only a Japanese car, this is a better offer than the Lexus IS250.

The Lexus is so expensive. The F sport is even more expensive than the 328i M sport line and C250 AMG super sports.

I really donno why they price it like that.

Does Toyota think the Is250 is more prestigious than the Bmw??

No wonder nobody buy new Lexus in our country, mostly recon only.

If Lexus want to do good business in Malaysia, they must lower their prices and start to CKD their cars in Shah Alam.

Selamat Hari Raya.

• heybadigol on Jul 30, 2014 at 8:44 am

Its brand perception. Malaysians still prefer the German brands (especially BMW & MB). Owning a Japanese car is nothing special (even if its a really good looking & luxurious Lexus) as a lof of the Malaysian population already has a Japanese car. But Americans have already warmed up to them. Lexus & Acura sell so many cars in the US. It helps that they’ve been building the brand there since the late 80s (for Acura). Over here, its quite difficult to sell, which is why Honda Malaysia did not bother bringing in Acura.

Don’t get me wrong, I think Lexus makes nice cars. I wish I could buy an IS. But the price is just unacceptable.

• shawal on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:51 am

250k for cbu japan sounds like a sweet deal…
    Wonder whut d premium trim will bw priced at…

Bmw 3er ckd’s interior looks cheap…most owners at carbase complains of poor refinement..

The q50’s resale value shud be good cuz of d smaller turbo mercedes sourced engine and japanese reliability…
    The v6 and hybrid does not make sense…

• Am happy to see many rational and knowledgeable inputs and exchange of ideas that improve our knowledge rather than just …

• gaviny on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:05 am

why this instead of a BMW?

Infiniti CBU
    BMW – CKD

The quality is different

• contender on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:37 am

Well, Malaysia’s car segment seems to be determined by it’s prices rather than the size of the car. So for this Q50 premium spec would it not be in comparison to Lexus ES250 which we see are selling like hot cakes …. rather than the IS250 which is a C-segment price ~ 3 series/C-class. But then again this Q50 is smaller than Lexus ES250.

• JoseMourinho on Jul 30, 2014 at 2:04 pm

How can the Lexus IS250 be a worthy competitor to BMW and other European brands? To start off with, it comes with an old fashioned non turbo engine which is lower on performance, higher in fuel consumption and carries a more expensive road tax. Other than the engine, it’s 6 speed gearbox is also behind the times. Most of the Lexus’ IS hardware is from ten years ago. Top it up with such an expensive price tag and you would almost feel the person driving it as a silly fella who knows little about cars.

• Lexus is glorified Toyota, whatever related to T, the RV is there, even if using 4 speed gearbox is ok because it’s T ma.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 03, 2014 at 11:49 am

It its a KIA, it cannot even be traded in