New Daihatsu Copen roadster is a hit in Japan – first month sales of six times monthly target

Daihatsu-Copen-0041

The new Daihatsu Copen is selling like hot cakes! Order books for Daihatsu’s new K-roadster have reached 4,000 in just one month after it started taking them, which is equivalent to six times its monthly sales targets.

According to the statistics, 80% of the buyers are male. The CVT automatic model which is priced at 1,798,200 yen (RM57k) accounts for 70% of bookings, with the balance being the 5-speed manual, which goes for 1,819,800 yen (RM58k).

The new Copen is powered by a 660 cc turbocharged KF engine, producing 64 hp and 92 Nm of torque. There’s an optional LSD, and power is sent to the front wheels. It measures 3,395 mm long, 1,475 mm wide and 1,280 mm tall. For rainy days, you have an electrically-controlled two-piece folding hardtop.

copen-frame-panel

One unique feature of the Copen is that the body panels on its D-Frame chassis can be replaced by the owner in order to customise it to his or her liking. A total of 11 parts of the car can be replaced – this includes the front hood, luggage area, front/rear bumpers, front/rear fenders, locker and fuel filler lid.

Perodua is in the business of making basic transportation for now, but what if they started selling something like the Copen too? Would you be interested in one?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• beautiful daily use car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • kay-oh on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Tin milo coffin, once banged got shattered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • v8cdi on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Easy target for robbers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Perodua, mobilized… Bring this in and i will keep one as toy and of course make it affordable.

• Same L0rrr on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:08 am

Good one! Hope Perodua will bring it into Malaysia.

It will kill off the legendary GSC sales for sure, do you think MITI will let it happen?

• Fugly tin milo car. Not yet crash already comes in pieces!!

• old dog on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:29 pm

they are selling at MyVi price…and when arrive in Malaysia…it will be RM100K…:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • I want one.. If Perodua rebadged it and keep the price below 90k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Please come into malaysian market! rm80k?

• Cult Classic alert!

• It is sad that most people can’t drive manual anymore. CVT is shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Noone wants painful leg, CVT much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Since when operating the clutch can cause leg pain? Leaving your left leg doing nothing can cause deep vein trombosis*. If you really only can operate two pedals, any torque converter autos is still better than CVT.

*Consult your physician or doctor for more informations.

• You never drive a car? If you live in KL Penang Johor Bahru bad traffic jam you will know.

Haiz kids nowadays parents support you all you dun feel pain. If CVT is not shit many automakers are using it, Toyota, Honda etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • oldman on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:15 am

Really pRF…. you sounded more like a kid to me. ..

• I don’t mind having this as a city car or weekend car if Perodua can rebadge this for RM80k.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:00 pm

I wouldn’t want one but it will definitely be interesting if Perodua decides to bring this in. I’m skeptical, though.

• nooniez on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:03 pm

cantekk!! Rm57k is a bargain! Why is manual more expensive than auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Definitely I’ll own one in the future. If Perodua is making them, my cost of ownership will be greatly reduce. Perodua, please please please, bring this in!!!

• arief on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

At RM57k, I will buy one

• pxp154 on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:41 pm

P2 pls bring this tamiya car in, i dont care how you redesign it or under spec-ed.

• sohailusamloo on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:47 pm

You will never see this in bolehland and even it will be, it will be priced like smart here, damn expensive..

• If the Perodua version of this model is a 4 seated vehicle then I’m interested, with reasonable price of course

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • reminds me of Suzuki Cappuccino… but modern version.. hope our government don’t screw the price

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:22 pm

perodua kancil cabrio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • hafizan89 on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Here, that 80% would be women.
    And if they launch here which is never, it would end up with a 1L engine rather than that 660cc turbo.
    And probably no sane person would buy one because of simple logic.
    Malaysians hate the sun.
    All the open top cars I’ve seen in malaysia never ever have their roof open because either it’s hot or raining in Malaysia.
    Those kind of cars are driven mainly in autumn/spring which is a no brainer for perodua to make the decision of not even caring to bring this car here in the humid tropics of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Malaysia version should come with fixed roof. Should be cheaper without the collapsible roof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • bodoh on Jul 29, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Obviously the target buyers of this car wouldn’t be looking at practicality but rather a flashy mode of transport for an affordable price. Heck u cud use the sunroof early in the morning/ late evenings or on trips up to genting. Definitely a bachelor car.

• pandai on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Nowadays nobody will open anything on road. scared got robbed or ragut.

• Same L0rrr on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:10 am

Yea, later gf will be gone with the 5 series beside you. lol

• gruvjack on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:55 pm

This kei-roadster segment could be a game changer for the auto industry here in Malaysia, provided reliability, after market support and..let’s get down to it: a fair price. Best of luck.

• TechSmart on Jul 29, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Very nice but let’s admit it, it will never come into Malaysia.

• bercakap benar on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:08 pm

muka depan macam model terbaru perodua yg akan keluar tak lama lagi. :)

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Replaceable body panels, you say. Sounds like an Ah Beng’s dream. The aftermarket potential is strong with this one.

• KeiMan on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Petition to bring this car in at an affordable price starts here…the more likes the better…

• keikakak on Jul 29, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Still love my cappuccino :)

• katak on Jul 29, 2014 at 7:25 pm

How much to get an AP to own this car? Don’t mind to get one if it’s cheaper than the legendary beetle after the AP’ed price.

• Anti-toyota on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:20 pm

I’ll buy one if it is below 80k

• no guts on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:46 pm

why manual slight expensive than CVT ?
    CVT should higher i think

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Selling in Japan because no NAP.. bring it here with hefty tax CBU no point also.

Rebadge here.. will sell like pisang goreng.

• Y not. See a see and lovely can. Make it a rebadge and Make it affordable. Will it come 660 turbo or a 1300 na. First ‘electro tin top’ cabrio below rm70k. if suzuki jimny can come cbu at the current price, i dont see y the Copen will bbelow rm90k

• shiraz faruqi on Jul 30, 2014 at 1:26 am

i would consider this if it was below RM90k and offered high-specs like the Korean cars sold here. A hard top convertible pocket rocket that offers drop-top motoring pleasure without breaking the bank is indeed a very appealing proposition.

• honest on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:38 am

Nice car,simple, good design & quality
    not everyone cup of tea but
    sure there’ll a market segment for this in malaysia
    if it is allowed in motorcycle lane, i’ll buy one

• samlok on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:44 am

Ride must be good, bring it in please.

• ThePolygon on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:59 am

So cute… will buy one just to keep it. Use for weekend. Maybe once a while to work. Will mod with a replica laser canon attach to the sides.

• ThePolygon on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:05 am

Times are changing… people with disposable income will go for these *special cars just to be different. And this one came 2 months before the new MX-5 unveiling. Hmmm… of course many said the MX-5 is the better car but end of the day, affordability comes to play.

• Dear Perodua, Please lah rebadge the Daihatsu Copen, it’s time to make a change for Perodua popularity sales. We need a budget sport coupe :D

• foxtrot on Jul 30, 2014 at 2:34 pm

wtf why FWD

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:22 pm

FWD for good FC.. want RWD go buy new A86.. or BRZ…

• Goertrt on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Protect Proton!! produa is always in the comfort zone too. keep on selling Myvi. tak boring ke?

• Carman on Apr 11, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Any link for selling this car? Its cheaper and really wan to buy it