Malaysia increases Johor Causeway toll to RM16.50 for a round trip – Singapore to match new rates

singapore-coe

The latest in rising costs for Malaysians travelling to Singapore and vice versa comes in the form of a toll hike for motorists using the Johor Causeway effective August 1 2014. The toll hike is imposed on all vehicles passing through the Sultan Iskandar Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) building.

The current toll charges are RM2.90 for private passenger cars, and this is a one way charge. The new toll charges for cars is RM6.80 when you leave Malaysia and RM9.70 when you re-enter Malaysia, effectively increasing the toll charge from RM2.90 to RM16.50 for a round trip.

But this is not all – you also have to pay toll for crossing over at the Singapore side. The current toll charged at the Singapore side is S$1.20 (approximately RM3.07). But that will not be for long.

In response to this increase in toll at the Malaysian side, Singapore’s Land Transport Authority said Singapore will be matching them in due course. According to the LTA, it has been Singapore’s practice to peg its tolls to match those set by Malaysia at the Causeway and the Second Link.

Other than the RM16.50 and S$1.20 toll charges, Malaysia motorists will also have to pay S$35 (RM90) for a Vehicle Entry Permit. Thankfully, the VEP is exempted on Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore Public Holidays, 10 normal weekdays per calendar year, and between 5pm to 2am on all other days.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• protonsucks on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:16 am

stupid!! this will not benefit malaysians,
    malaysians also pay for it!!
    just implement it on singaporean cars la!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 26
    • Anti-Establishment on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:39 am

And how do you suppose they should implement the toll only for Singaporean vehicles? It’s much easier to implement it for all.

Besides, Singaporeans would be more affected since they’re the ones coming in frequently to Malaysia, as opposed to Malaysians heading the other way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 82
      • jasjos on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Obviously u do not stay in jb.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 5
        • Obviously (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 6:31 pm

I don’t, but I feel for you Johor Baruans who would work in SG. The increased hike amounts to a whopping near 6 fold (5.689 fold to be more precise, or 568.9% for drama) increase over current fares. It’ll be like paying for one week’s weekdays worth of tolls each round trip. And that is only on the Malaysian side.

Since Singapore says it will peg its tolls to match Malaysian tolls, I would assume that it would also be raised by a factor of or similar to 5.689. That would make it 6.82SGD (approx. RM17.4).

Welcome to the Toll Wars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Bangsa Sendiri Curi on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:24 am

This is BN stronghold. Everybody in Johor support BN with all their hearts.

Now BN throw shit onto your faces. The best part is, there are more than 400,000 Johor cars entering Singapore for work. 90% of them are the Malays, mainly working in the hospitality industry ie hotels, cleaners in hotels, car park attendants etc etc.

The 10% of Johoreans working in Singapore are the big corporate finance guns who just stay in Singapore cause they earn 6 figure. They don’t need to commute.

So, it is the 90% that has been hit. Bangsa sendiri curi daripiada anda!

All to make crony MRCB richer.

Don’t you BN supporters now feel ashamed? Now, just on toll and VEP you guys gonna spend RM105 ringgit per day. That is RM2191 per month.
          (RM16.50 + RM3.07 + RM90 = RM109.57)

Don’t forget GST is coming next year and how your TNB bills have skyrocketted.

This is how your BN government treats the poor Malays in Johor. Go and google and see why MRCB is behind this whole thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
          • Michael Tan on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:36 am

Ha Ha ha. Always blame other people. But all this while, since 1957, your own race stealing from you lah! Wake up! Wake up! Stop blaming others.

Infact, it is the others that bantah this toll hike. Your own people are keeping silent and quiet in Parliament about this toll hike. It is the others that are helping the poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:15 am

It is all about money, money, money!

National pride, higher price for better car, improving, for public interest bla bla bla… They are all BS!

• _xXx_ on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:16 pm

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2012/09/24/Najib-Eastern-Dispersal-Link-to-be-tollfree.aspx/

so, did the govt take over EDL?

• Gosh, PLEASE PLEASE think before you shoot your mouth off. One look at the causeway and you’ll know which way the traffic is heading towards in the morning and the evening. Malaysians working there are the one using causeway mainly. Weekends are the time the Singaporeans come over. So with this new hike, the one who suffer more are us Malaysians. I’ve been living in Johor for 3 years and I know what’s happening every morning and evening. Please don’t comment nonsense without knowing what’s happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
        • policeman on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:27 pm

That’s the price you have to pay if you wish to travel to another country everyday.

Why not just live in Singapore? Can’t afford it? Then work in Malaysia. Salary too low? Then you’ve only got yourself to blame for not working hard enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 66
          • Wow… just love your comments. Shows how insensitive you are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Frank on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:54 am

Perfect example When the mouth (in this case hand) moves faster than the brain.

It is just like when A religions comments about B religions thing as if like A know all about it.

Ironic isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Obviously (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 8:05 pm

As if working hard can change everything. This is reality, not some fantasy.

If you work for a company only committed to paying you minimum wage WHILE mistreating you and taking advantage of you, do you think your hard work would pay off?

The facts are that workers’ rights are trash in Malaysia.
            Source:
            http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/malaysia-scores-a-5-as-one-of-the-worst-places-to-work-in

And no amount of hard work would change that. Unless you run your own business, but not everyone has that capability and the business scene isn’t forgiving either.

• tailehsei on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Who ask you to work in singapore? Kakakaka.

stop whinning and pay. Dont be like singapondan. Tak suka, jangan kerja kat singkalan la.

• Albert LW Chong on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Singaporeans wont be much affected b/cos of their strong currency. Some, or many still will come for shopping and food and entertainment. Many Malaysian are greatly affected. PRs drive SG registered cars and they are Malaysians. V locals driving Malaysian cars into SG are adversely as we have strong relationship over there. We go there for visiting, hardly buying things, a bit of makan, yes, It’s expensive there.

• *sigh* on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:26 pm

what happened to rakyat didahulukan? this just looks like johor and singapore are trying to see who has the bigger dick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • policeman on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Of course Malaysia has a bigger one.

Most Citroen cars are smaller than Maserati or Infinity. In fact Bugatti has bigger cars as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Ahwai on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Malaysian enter singapore to ern money.
      Singaporean enter malaysia to spend money.

So. Why should we increase tax on singaporean?
      Singaporean spend money at malaysia thurs give some income to malaysia.

Gov, pls think about people’s pocket before yours..

Some benefit by increasing tax, lots of disadvantage if singaporean stop spending at malaysia.

• democracy reunion on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:12 am

Pity for those who drive Malaysia registered vehicle ..should implement only for Singapore cars..Malaysia car need to pay vep at Singapore plus the new toll but for Singapore car extra special only pay the toll at Malaysia..what are the Malaysian government thinking??do we need to bow down to Singapore car that paid coe??

• Southpark on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:20 am

sigh~ Singapore, so near yet so far :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • nochoice on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:38 am

Rich man getting richer.
    Poor more poorer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Najib on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:40 am

Stop! Please, just stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Anonymous on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:56 am

How about Malaysian who works in Singapore but using Singapore registered vehicles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • old dog on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:31 pm

your singapore vehicle cost so much that you wont worry about the tol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • klata-klata on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:26 pm

If you work in Singapore (work permit) you must drive Singapore registered car according to Singapore law. Malaysian work permit holders caught driving Malaysian cars would be fined heavily – thousands of Sing Dollars I think.

• Albert LW Chong on Aug 01, 2014 at 3:09 pm

No, work permit holders still can drive Malaysian registered cars, but they have to pay for VEP. But PRs in Singapore (Malaysians and foreigners)must drive SG cars.

• JB_kia on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

dikencing plak semua termasuk yg patriotik aritu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • ben yap on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:16 pm

ingapore’s Land Transport Authority said Singapore will be matching the toll rate in due course. Now it’s time for the Malaysian government to come out their press statement.

• mel8488 on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Singapore,

I toll you, you toll us,

so,

You VEP us, I VEP you.

sound fair enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Bikini Bottom on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:16 pm

“Besides, Singaporeans would be more affected since they’re the ones coming in frequently to Malaysia, as opposed to Malaysians heading the other way.”

Yes. If you include pseudo-Singaporeans. Those Malaysians who look like Singaporeans, work in Singapore and sing the praises of the Singapore government. Quite a few have been holding Singaporean PR for donkey years but refused Singapore citizenship when offered.

Wonder why….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • Bo Lan on Jul 29, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Let the citizen defend the PRs lah! Like that also dunno meh. Singapore smarties….

• Frank on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:02 am

Perhaps i should share the story why on behalf of my friends.

Sometimes it is not only them but the families. If they convert, they will have to lose the house in Msia, in this case, my friends father. As he is the only son and the house is under his name.

Under Spore criteria if convert is have to let go the Msia house and all the finance liabilities. Being offered doesn’t means 100% will get also. Also subjective to review.

So if he convert, where is his father going to stay? A retiree Msian rent a house instead?

Sometimes it does take many factor in

• SinchewJitPoh on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:01 am

Mana ada lose house when you covert?

You are required to sell off your foreign property only if you want to purchase PUBLIC HOUSING. How would you like it if some newly minted Malaysian buy rumah kos rendah when he has a palatial mansion back home in China?

When they offer the citizenship means it is a sure thing. Most Malaysians don’t take up because retiring in Singapore is very expensive and the govt hold your EPF until you tua kerepot 65 years old then they give back in full if you haven’t used up all to pay for your house. I don’t buy all this filial son excuse. There are ways around that.

• niterunner99 on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Ha! doing this to each other & still say very good friends…

• I love Malaysia on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

On the other hand, I believe its beneficial for Malaysian economy if we have influx of Singaporeans into the country. With the recent hike, i fear local’s business man will feel the heat sooner than later and the country as a whole in due course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Johore will be in recession after toll hikes. Houses there will be cheaper and prices of food also will drop, meanwhile those china dolls will move up north to selangor.

• pxp154 on Jul 29, 2014 at 2:38 pm

this is not going to end well…
    not a win-win situaton… more like win-lose badly.

• neutral_to_cars on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:03 pm

This is a matter of ego pride between Malaysia and Singapore. This will not benefit either way but just making situation worst and more people from both nation will be suffer. Is real pathetic !!!!

• In this battle of pride more Malaysians will actually be affected than Singaporeans.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:24 pm

one kiasu one kiasee….i go siam massage better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • iluvproton on Jul 29, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Earning 2-3x salary – remember…? the toll is kacang puteh only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Low Budget on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Yeah, just treat it as income tax but not paying to the gomen, but to the cronies company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Is it the cost for driving to Singapore for working daily is RM16.50 + RM3.07 + RM90 = RM109.57? If this is the case, for just working 20 days permonth..the cost is already RM2191.40 and it is ridiculously high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • droll on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:06 pm

aiyah might as well just charge RM5000 on the Malaysian side and SGD2000 on the Singapore side. problem solved for the near foreseeable future!!!

sigh. :( :( :(

• Ka ni na on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Padan muka Johorean who have been earning 2.5 but kiasu like the sporean. And the kiasu will never stop coming here becoz the it is still cheaper here compared to living there. In fact they are now second class citizen in spore, the first class citizen there are now chinese PR. A win win situation for both government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • stranger on Jul 29, 2014 at 5:23 pm

so u mean working/earning in msia has a better future prospect?
      or u re jealous on those who earn x2.5?
      I rather be a lower class citizen with better future in foreign country
      A technician in spore could earn much more than a fresh grad in msia after deducting transportation and living fees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Frank on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:07 am

You’re right about Sporean won’t stop coming in but will reduce.

But i’m sad for you if you can’t have a choice. To work in Spore or not it is everyone options. This options open for everyone around the world. So if you willing to wake up at 5am+ and reached home at 8-9pm, you can have this option of 2.5 too.

So why penalized for some people who put effort into it? It is just like you’re saying less well doing people should penalize those well being people who put in effort

sounds like office politics to me “Don’t spoil market”

• Get it in your thick skulls, you are Malaysians. Working in Singapore is not a right, we have the right to close our doors too. Just because you put in the effort to wake up earlier doesn’t mean we must give you our jobs.

• stranger on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:11 pm

If ur people are willing to suffer the toughness and hard work, ur country wont even let Malaysian to go in la.

All just wanna sit inside office from 9am – 5pm 5 days
          5.5 days or 6 days, no thanks even the salary higher SGD500-1000

• Malaysians don’t come in to do the hard work lah please…its the indians and chinese.

If got space good, if no space don’t complain if govt wanna raise toll or whatever..

• stranger on Aug 02, 2014 at 4:15 pm

So u mean ur gov willing to let msian in lo, then dun complaint la.
            Complaint to ur gov y let so many foreigners in.

If u said msian dun work hard, then y companies bother to hire foreigners even thou quota is not enuf.
            Mine comments were stated by those employers. I’m not simply sprouting the words

• Ka ni na on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:29 pm

And i fly down using Jetstar. Kul sin only rm 135 nett. Cheaper by air now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Aku Kroni on Jul 29, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Actually, the causeway toll remains the same. The additional toll to be collected at the checkpoint is for the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL). The contentious issue here is not whether EDL should be charging toll or not, but a blanket charge imposed irregardless of whether one uses the EDL or not. As Johoreans would know, many enter CIQ via Jln Tebrau or Jln Stulang Laut, without touching EDL. The same applies when exiting CIQ. So, how could it be legally right to charge people for non-provision of service?

EDL should build their own toll booths on the EDL itself, & collect toll from there. It can then charge RM1 or RM100, no one cares!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:02 pm

You are right ! The crony company want to scoop back their investment on the EDL which is sparsely used, not many people in this forum realise this.

• Its all about the money money money !
    Have money can travel .

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Got money enter no money shut the hell up!Malaysian motorcycles still remain at $4 per entry..And those Malaysians earning at least $2300 per mth mostly use motorcycle..And at least there is still free entry from 5pm-2am on weekdays,free kn weekends and PHs..still make no difference..and i bet theres still jam at Woodlands with Malaysian cars..Singaporean i think more on the losing side..RM50 per entry..Once youre out of Spore then u realise you forgot something important left at your mum place in JB still have to pay another RM50..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • 1Malaysia on Jul 29, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Never mind with the increase as we all have BR1M

• roxas on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:15 pm

anyhow its the G tat gets the money

• najis on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:44 pm

everyone stay calm…and eat kangkung

• TemasekTemasekToBuyAFatP... on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:29 am

The VEP increase doesn’t affect the typical Malaysian visitor. You still enjoy 10 days free VEP and free entry at certain hours daily and extended during school holidays.

The move is to plug little loopholes in Singapore policies which inadvertently benefited foreigners over locals. Like when PR siblings were allowed to buy public housing when local citizen siblings cannot.

Those who drive into Singapore daily are those who work there and earn income on par with locals yet have the advantage of using cheaper NO COE needed MY car which enjoy lower MY road tax and insurance on top of 95 RON yellow subsidized petrol. Local Singaporeans have to fork out RM200,000 just for the privilege of being able to put a car on the road for 10 years. Also the Singaporeans have to pay electronic road tolls which can cost up to 6 dollars per entry during peak hours while foreign cars need only pay 5 dollars flat fee for the whole day. How would Malaysians like it if Touch n Go sell a RM10 toll day pass to all foreign vehicles and they can go in and out of as many toll booths as they can in a day? Don’t believe? Go link below…

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/roads-and-motoring/driving-in-and-out-of-singapore/fixed-erp-fee-for-foreign-registered-vehicles.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • mmmmm on Jul 30, 2014 at 3:40 am

you dont want malaysian car coming? blow the bridge!
      let construct a new malaysia-singapore bridge like tun Mahathir suggest. ; )

• Hangkata Hangtera on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:26 am

Can come. Please come. You are welcome. Already give you free entry on weekends, holidays, 10 weekdays a year and off peak period.

But if you come everyday, peak period some more, not fair on the host lah. Their own people are encouraged to use public transport and car owners have to pay so much to use their road which you happy happy add to congestion while paying so much lesser for your car and petrol and they even give you flat rate day pass for all toll which their own people never get.

You say then tit for tat. But must remember. Most Malaysians come to Singapore to earn money while most Singaporeans go Malaysia to spend money. It is not a symmetric relationship.

Don’t cut off your nose to spite your face.
        Historically VEP has been raised and LOWERED to reflect the Singaporean cost of owning and running a car at the time.

• ProtonHired (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 12:42 am

VEP should not be an argument point here. As we can see, SG gov sucks their own people’s money with all of their rightful ways, (COE,ERP etc). It should not be imposing a VEP onto M’sian car lke 75% more than the previous rate. As they claim, the adjustment was made to balance the cost of car ownership, since when the COE raise to 130K instead? Here we can tell how creative on SG gov, by increasing VEP, they actually sucks more money not only onto their own people but M’sians.
      Furthermore, did SG drivers paying any single cents more than M’sian drivers for every liter of petrol they pump in M’sia?
      If SG claims that they kena jam everyday, how about JB? Should we claim more VEP to reduce the traffic condition in JB?

• Hangkata Hangtera on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:17 am

Last VEP adjustment was 2004.
        In July 2004 the COE for 1.6 litre car was $25,000
        In July 2014 the COE for 1.6 litre car was $63,000

So you think VEP should not increase by 75%?
        Maybe you prefer them to align more closely to COE increase which comes to 152%?

And yes. SG cars are paying more for petrol than MY cars. They are restricted to 97RON green pump in Malaysia.

Apadah? You want to argue facts and figures with SG govt you better crunch numbers properly. If not another Batu Puteh gone.

Latest news is DPM Muhyiddin is going to relook toll increase. Looks like our side just blinked.

• messi on Jul 30, 2014 at 8:53 am

Another racist policy imposed on minority.

The G aware that most of the Chinese travel to singopore to earn a living and imposed high toll for them will make their life difficult.

Tell me what benefit to increase the toll for malaysia? They just want to suck the chinese money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • stranger on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:11 am

exactly…
      they are just green-eye on those who earn sgd in spore

if the G wants your rakyat to contribute to the ur country, then make urs like spore. or else people would not wake up 3-4am to suffer the jam everyday.

Do they have the sense y people wanna work in overseas?

• Pontiac on Jul 30, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Thats y. We already know that 97% chinese voting PR, evidence by the win of gelang patah, near lost to tebrau, Johor jaya, etc2. Most of them work at Singapore. So they are actually punishing people. Infact, they already knows that this group of people wont vote for them in future, thus, why bring benifits or pleased them. The gov is not stupid

• samlok on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:08 am

The more the better. Stop singapore from using our cheap labor here to their country development. Instead,let our manpower work locally to reduce dependent on indon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • anti-toyota on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:21 am

Many bitch about the cost of owning a car but i don’t see cars being lesser on the road either so have heard of ‘action speaks louder than words’? It is all about demand and supply. High demand, low supply,price goes up lor.

• ConspiracyTheory? on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:43 am

This is all just a theory but am I the only one who thinks that JB or SG is plotting something together; say multiply the toll hike to encourage commuters to support the MRT project in the proposed JB CBD area so they mutually benefits from this? It may even encompass a future MRT(JB) expansion plan.

I mean, politicians are smart… they won’t be fighting trivial matters unless it’s for a greater financial/geopolitical purpose…

• danggg on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:52 am

Raise raise raise more of the toll and VEP charges.. those luxury houses in Iskandar region will drop and those who can afford will be like wahahahahahahhahaha (another wrong move from the Malaysian government)

• jollybee on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:40 pm

The toll hike is to save MAS airlines.

• Albert LW Chong on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Yes, I support a kind of VEP for SG registered vehicles into Malaysia. Then vehicles from Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia should pay to come into Malaysia too. How much is another question and how to implement it is another one. But Johor or Malaysia business (esp in JB) will suffer. Some say it wont. Just see.

• Voices from the Deep on Aug 02, 2014 at 11:32 am

Who do these toll charges benefit? Of course the toll concessionaires holder. Who are these entity? The cronies of course. It is sad that Government by the people and for the people has not live up to its adage and the people are once again thrown to the wolves to enrich the few.