2015 Nissan NP300 Navara – more details revealed: new 2.3 litre diesel, multi-link rear suspension

The Nissan NP300 Navara was unveiled in Thailand early last month, which gave us the bulk of information about what Nissan’s next-generation one-tonne pickup truck is all about. However, it turns out most of the information was related to the Thai market.

Thanks to information provided at a media test drive that happened in Thailand this week, we now have new details on the Nissan NP300 Navara that could be relevant to our market. Our man Jonathan Lee will be publishing his first impressions of the new Navara very soon, but first here’s what we learned at the event.

First of all, the YD25 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine that was unveiled at the Thai launch will be the engine that will be used for markets with fuel grades below Euro 4, including Malaysia. The YD25 has been improved over the unit in the outgoing Navara, with an upgraded cylinder head. Fuel economy is said to have been improved by as much as 11%.

navara-engines

The YD25 will be available in two states of tune – a low output spec with 160 hp and 403 Nm of torque, as well as the higher output version dispensing the full 188 hp and 450 Nm of torque.

What we won’t get is a new 2.3 litre YS23 engine, derived from the 2.3 dCi engine in the Renault Master van, that’s reserved for markets where Euro 5 fuel is available. As with the YD25, two versions of the YS23 will be offered – a fixed geometry turbo version that produces 158 hp and 403 Nm of torque, and a more powerful variable geometry turbo version that does the same 188 hp and 450 Nm of torque as the top YD25 mill.

Despite the smaller displacement, the variable geometry turbocharger allows for the 450 Nm peak to come in earlier at 1,500-2,000 rpm compared to the 2,000 rpm of the YD25. Fuel consumption for the YS23 engine is said to have improved by 19% over the older YD25 thanks to reduced engine friction, an electrical variable oil pump and a thermo management system.

navara-dimensions

The big Renault-sourced 228 hp, 550 Nm 3.0 litre turbodiesel V6 – never available in Malaysia – is now gone as the engine was unable to comply with the stringent emissions regulations in countries where it was previously offered. With 450 Nm being the range-topping torque figure, the Navara won’t be the most powerful pick-up around as it loses out to the larger engines in the Chevrolet Colorado, Mazda BT-50 and Ford Ranger.

The good news is the Jatco seven-speed automatic transmission seems to be standard across the board and all markets. The expanded amount of ratios should both improve fuel efficiency as well as acceleration. For those who opt for a manual transmission, you’ll get a six-speeder with wider ratios than before.

An interesting bit about the chassis – the Navara will be fitted with five-link rear suspension with coil springs instead of the usual leaf springs. Such a setup is more commonly used on truck-based SUVs such as the Toyota Fortuner and Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, and should provide for better ride and handling. The only pickup truck with such a design in Malaysia right now is the Ssangyong Actyon – the rest of the segment stick with a leaf spring design.

navara-suspension

The Thai-market Navara will continue with a leaf spring setup due to tax reasons – the truck will be classified as a passenger car if it employs coil spring rear suspension, thus raising the taxes that need to be paid on it. As far as we know, there’s no such restriction in Malaysia, thus the availability of the Actyon we mentioned.

The Navara will also be available with LED headlamps, LED daytime running lights, rear air conditioning vents, a a 3D colour multi-info display in the instrument panel, but the availability of these features may be market specific depending on what each individual country specs for the variants they have on sale.

For more information on the new truck, read our Navara global unveiling story from June 2014, and stay tuned for Jonathan Lee’s test drive impressions. You can also refresh your memory on the outgoing Nissan Navara D40 that’s still sold in Malaysia at CarBase.my.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Paul, the multi-link rear suspension looks like a multi-link live axle setup in the Nissan diagram. you claim its independent. what is the source for that comment?

• daniel on Jul 29, 2014 at 10:01 pm

yes, its just a 5 link live axle which similiar like KE70 or AE86. its not a indepentant suspension

• It isn’t a truly independent suspension design, being still connected together by the beam axle. But the real news here is the use of coil springs. Surely, the ride comfort will improve noticably if the difference in ride comfort between Triton and Pajero Sport is used as comparison.

• seancorr on Jul 29, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Good suspension setup but Nissan might opt for the leaf suspension to bring costs down so I won’t put so much hope on it.

Also that Euro 4 engine is actually on par if not better than the engine we’re getting. Goes to show how better an engine can perform with good quality fuel…

• Tan Chong can equip the independent suspension on the most expensive model (LE) and market it as a lifestyle vehicle targetted at urban users and young families.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Thank you Barang Naik government for letting us continue to have the over a decade old (but still have improvements) Nissan YD25DDTi 2.5L diesel engine on Nissan Navara.

Honestly the new Nissan YS engine is direct competition to the Ford Duratorq 2.2 engine (ZSD Puma)in Ranger and 2.2 MZ-CD diesel engine in Mazda BT-50. Just extra 100cc the YS engine has 40ps and 75Nm more in horsepower and torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • Never judge engine performance on paper. Never accurate. Test it out 1 by 1. I tried navara automatic & not even comes with power of triton 136hp. But the old DMax 3.0 only 136hp can even chase 2.2 150hp 375nm.

• Danny on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:28 am

Betul tuan.. engine satu hal.. driver lg satu hal.. adrenalin yg membezakan.. own a navara.. and kimanis hill of kk keningau highway… really a test..

• Nice move Nissan! Hope Nissan Malaysia will bring the one with coil spring rear suspension.. for sure it will sell hot as nasi lemak.. As now pick up truck is no more specific for loading up with heavy loads anymore.. Many people now purchase pick up truck for style, multi purpose and light off road capabilities.. extreme off road? Nahhh.. even Hilux is not capable for extreme off roaders, they prefer the old Land Cruiser for extreme off road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Can i say that this is maybe the most family-friendly pick-up truck? And the pick-up with perhaps the best interior?

Still have to wait what specs is coming here, of course. Given Tan Chong recent offerings, i have a feeling the safety equipments won’t be skimped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • why do you say so? the last two tan chong products launched – sylphy and teana, have maxed out safety specs. even the cheapest teana has 6 airbags and stability control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:47 pm

That’s what he meant by “won’t be skimped”. He’s saying that, given Nissan’s recently launched cars, he expects that Tan Chong will offer the Navara with high level safety equipment. Hopefully across the entire range.

• finally can understand or faham faham sendiri la why TC always late on introducing new model. AP system(rakyat didahulukan) you know which rakyat eheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Azlan on Jul 30, 2014 at 11:19 am

Please understand how a system work and not just accusing.I may not like most of whats happening, but your statement have dubious meanings.
      AP do not have anything to do with TC not bringing in or late in bringing in its product. That’s totally TC business strategy or lack of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • 5-link axle is not considered an independent rear suspension set up. That is a similar layout to what is used on the truck-based SUV’s and MPV’s like the Innova, Pajero Sport and Fortuner. Very misleading title.

• hukaka on Jul 29, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Whoaa,this its toxic.
    Mazda please bring in skyactive 2.2 diesel for your BT-50.

• Akash on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:58 am

Soon the Malaysian authority will implement all Pick-up trucks should have live axle. If doesn’t comply, we will tax them under passenger cars…”more tax for us and more comfort for you”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • RoDNEy on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:49 am

While im all in for an improved suspension for added stability and comfort on trucks, it is kinda scary to see a truck barelling up on u through a sweeping highway corner eating up 2 lanes to stay in control.

Whats concerning is that this very same lot would literally be thinking.. ‘gee i have independant suspension (although technically isnt) and a 2.5/3 liter engine, ill show those sedans that im just as fast them Bmw/Porshce suv’s..they have independant suspension and they own the road..why cant i??’ and that my bros… is a recipe for potential accidents. the end….

• truely malaysian on Jul 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Modern pick up like Ford Ranger T-6 or Mazda BT-50 don’t need to eat up 2 lanes in taking corners, we just lower the gear (manual or automatic)to 4th or 3rd gear and the truck can have enough traction to take most of the corners with very little breaking.

• dbd9800 on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:56 am

I would suggest those who wish to try & test their skill or workhorse reliability can have it done at Karak Highway ( Gombak Toll – Bentong Toll). And, If you wish to have more challenge… on the way back drive through the trunk road from bentong via Janda baik to Orang Asli settlement in Gombak. Good Luck …..else, we will found you in the ravine after few days.

• off-road lover on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Believe u don’t own a pick-up right!? All the modern pick-up has great traction control which compatible to sedan car….U must own one to know it dude…..I am proud with my Navara….and your comments makes the genuine pick-up owner laugh…LOL!

• bercakap benar on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:51 am

gila smart warna koko!

• Recent announcement have already killed our hope to get Euro 4 grade fuel.. Let alone Euro5… So the efficient 2.3 two-stage turbo won’t see the light of day in Bolehland.

• When this navara launch in malaysia ?

• Engineblock on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:31 pm

New equip electrical actuator does the job,one step ahead than the rest,if the bi turbo come in as well it will be 2 step ahead..little bit dissapoint though it wont..cant wait to see this model nxt year..look outside inside,powertrain,safety & quality kinda meet most criterias

• RavenAii on Oct 26, 2014 at 2:15 pm

My dad trade-in our 2008 Grand Livina for the Navara SE in 2010. Now four years have passed and the pickup truck never breaks down. The 403Nm of torque gives enough power for daily drive and into the forest. It is one mother trucker. The only problem is the turning radius is kinda wide. Ride quality is way better than my uncle’s Hilux(no offence Hilux owners). Hopefully the price gap between the current Navara and the new one are not that much.

• Dmax Vcross on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

If u want to test its horsepower..drive the car to ascending lane…

• 5 link rear suspension is usually referred to as , a rigid axle , not live axle ,as live axle denotes 3 or less linked set up of the old days

• trinity on Aug 16, 2015 at 5:11 am

it’s been a year since we first saw the new np300.
    wonder how long more it will take to come to malaysia ?
    nissan seems like taking forever to launch this model.

• eddmore nyoni on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:01 pm

does nissan have abackup service in Zimbabwe.I am trying to get front suspension spares(genuine)please advice