VIDEO: BMW’s The Epic Driftmob video features the BMW M235i smoking and sliding in Cape Town

As revealed in our exclusive behind the scenes preview, BMW has been busy cooking up a new product feature video showcasing the feisty BMW M235i – no M2 Coupe here, despite what some may have thought from BMW M’s Facebook teaser earlier. The video, called The Epic Driftmob, is now completed and had its online-exclusive debut via BMW’s YouTube channel moments ago.

It was shot in Cape Town, South Africa slightly over a month ago, and we were privileged to be the only media outlet from Asia to check out the production. The Epic Driftmob features the nimble 326 hp coupe being put through a drift sequence on public roads by some of the world’s best stunt drivers, including Rhys Millen, Rich Rutherford, Samuel Hubinette, Conrad Grunewald and Daijiro Yoshihara.

These drivers have worked on many Hollywood blockbusters including The Fast and The Furious franchise, Iron Man 2, Transformers 3 and Drive, among other movies. The entire sequence was choreographed by the experienced Riley Harper and Mic Rodgers. By the way, the action is 100% real, without any camera tricks, as witnessed by yours truly on location.

The objective of this video is to help reinforce the position of the BMW M235i as one of Munich’s best driver’s cars. We’ll just let the video do the talking from here. Trust me, you’ll want to hit the play button, as this is one of the best drift choreographies ever made!

BMW also released two spin-off videos, including the making of The Epic Driftmob and another clip featuring drift champion Ryhs Millen behind the wheel of the coupe. After viewing them all, check out our behind the scenes report here, from our time at the ground on the production location.

The hottest 2 Series is not on sale in Malaysia, but the 220i is, available in both base and Sport lines. Check out specs, prices and photos here: BMW 2-Series Coupe at CarBase.my

Exclusive behind the scenes images from Cape Town

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• seancorr on Jul 30, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Cool so the M235i does hold its cool on the road and I heard its sales is isn’t bad either. Even if its priced as an affordable car in other parts of the world, this baby will be sold as an exclusive model for RM500k+ here in Bolehland

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 5:42 pm

The number of tyres shredded on that day…

but who cares! A brilliant ad from BMW! Speaking of BMW’s new BMWStories campaign, I must say it is really good. Speaking of the M235i, it is supposed to be a really good coupe, and truly a good successor to some of the best BMWs made. Well done BMW.

• Any other cars can do like that lor, even Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • i still remember my dad brought me to see Proton Knight performing something similar in the 80s at my hometown…

• gaviny on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:20 pm

plot twist none of the stunt drivers drive bmw personally

• Josh Ling on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:30 pm

pure hotness. period.

• Holy Cow S@#t, that makes me want to buy one ASAP…..!!! They said its the next best thing to an M car…Definitely got me sold on impression!!

• GTR36 (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Wait for these to come to msia via the grey importers. SAfrica is one of the main places that they import used, low-mileage, UK-spec cars.

Its cheaper for them to buy, ship and pay less customs tax.

• Never will BMW do this in Malaysia. Everything in Malaysia is being protected,like a pampered baby. No wonder no potential to grow.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:39 pm

My BMW Z5 Quad Turbo 0-100 3 sec 10 Pot Brembo Brake can drift and oversteer better than this underling 235i.