Mercedes-Benz S 400 L with 3.0L twin-turbo V6 open for booking in Malaysia – RM866k OTR, fully imported

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_020

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has introduced a new variant to the W222 S-Class line-up in Malaysia – the S 400 L, priced at RM865,888 OTR without insurance, arrives as a CBU import. There has been no official press release so far, but a visit to Cycle & Carriage PJ reveals that the price and equipment list for the new variant is already on display. Don’t get confused now – the S 400 L and S 400 L Hybrid are two different variants.

Under the S 400 L’s hood is a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 engine, the same one found in the E 400. It produces 333 hp and 480 Nm of torque, taking it to 100 km/h in 6.1 seconds. That’s faster than the S 400 L Hybrid’s 6.8 seconds. Swap a hybrid system for two turbochargers and what you’ll lose in terms of torque from the electric motor, you’ll gain in terms of torque from forced induction.

The introduction of the S 400 L is timely, as the waiting list for the locally-assembled S 400 L Hybrid has gone beyond a year at the moment. If you try to book the RM588k S 400 L Hybrid now, your Mercedes-Benz dealership will tell you you can only get your car after December 2015, which is when the NAP 2014’s duty exemption for locally-assembled hybrids will have ended. There’s no official pricelist for the hybrid model with full duties as of now, but unofficially it is RM899,888, making this non-hybrid S 400 L a little cheaper.

As far as we can tell, specs for the S 400 L are exactly the same as the S 400 L Hybrid, except for the interior wood trim. Where the S 400 L Hybrid uses a fancier designo Sunburst Myrtle wood trim, which has a nice gradient effect on it, the S 400 L uses Burr Walnut wood trim. Another difference is that you’ll save quite a bit in terms of road tax yearly, especially if it happens to be a company purchase, as the turbocharged engine is about 500 cc smaller than the hybrid engine.

For further info, compare the S 400 L against the S 400 L Hybrid at CarBase.my.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Interesting…

All I can say is out RTD and MoT is really giving these manufacturers a hard time, no commitments etc to long term pricing, with “renewals” every few years, hello, exemptions are not like your road tax OK!

Look at the States, UK and all, they have committed to green vehicle grants. For good. Why can’t we do the same? Such a lack of long sighted vision.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • xiper (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:54 pm

because they love to play lose-lose game

First lose – environmental friendly CBU cars are out of the picture now (popular are A6 hybrid, CT200h, Prius), so more pollution lah!

Second lose – sales tax, even with the tax exemption, the 10% sales tax is still there. Now no sales means no tax means no income.

Third lose – fuel subsidy, due to those hybrid cars are not available anymore, rakyat are stucked with normal petrol cars (diesel quality sucks here) and pump more fuel and government has to pay more subsidy.

Fourth lose – AP, since the tax has imposed on CBU hybrid cars, sales drop (or no sales) that means no AP needed.

Gain (so called) – tax on CBU hybrid cars, example Prius, Prius C and CT200h with huge tax amount. But how much sales on those vehicle with tax???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
      • fast5 on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Can’t agreed more, another gov protection to petroleum m’sia.
        This country like to protect that old man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • xoner on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:31 am

Fugly car………

Next!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • MBM big liars. The S400 Hybrid car is only about USD$80,000 in the US. At this price, MB USA already make profit and untung.

Our tax, sales tax and excise duty max out at 130%

But they sell at RM900,000.

Somemore MBM will get this car direct from their principal in Germany at country distributor price. Most probably they will get this car at USD$60,000.

CKD it somemore, the S400 Hybrid should be even cheaper than USD$60,000. Maybe even cost MBM USD%50,000 cost price.

So USD$50,000 = about RM150,000.

But sell at RM900,000.

Even if you factor the tax in at maximum 130%, MBM will make a cool RM500,000 per car sold.

No other car seller in the entire world can make such margins on just 1 car except in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:47 am

Richardteh, if like what you said… all car makers are making the same amount of profit from what they sold? 7 series selling at RM818,800. A8 selling at RM689,500. LS at RM859,448. Bear in mind, these cars have much lower spec than the S-Class. Please study before comment ;-)

• Same L0rrr on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:18 pm

New choice for the cronies.

Guys, please hurry up and buy more Protons now. Their boss’s S400L is counting on you.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 8:05 pm

G here is protect national car forever. Such as incentives and exemptions are just candies for the people for a limited offer only until national cars come out so-called energy efficient vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Folger Got No Balls on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:21 pm

So malu for MBM. Tell the whole Malaysia their S400 hybrid is RM588k and they made so much of effort to give this special price to consumers.

But walk into showroom, they tell you that quota sudah habis. If want to buy now, its RM800k plus.

Folger should screw the government up. What nonsense is this? All over the world, governments are moving to green and hybrid cars.

Malaysian government opposite. One day swtich on, another day switch off.

Current S400 Hybrid and Prius owners are going to cry. Because your insurance goes up substantially.

You see, the market value of your Prius or your Merc Hybrid now has jumped up. So, if the car gets lost, the insurance company will pay you the current market value of the car to replace the car.

So if you bought your Prius for RM130k, now, you have to pay insurance for RM250k (the new price of the prius)

The same with this Mercedes. Your insurance will jump up to a RM900k car. No matter how rich you are, you will feel the pinch to insure a car close to RM1 million.

Second issue, parts will go up substantially. Now, the Hybrid battery also will go double in price to replace

Third issue, nobody is going to touch the Prius Hybrid or the Mercedes Hybrid in the 2ns hand market. Because it is like yo yo. People will think, if I buy now, government may reintroduce the tax incentive again and the car will drop in price or go up in price. Like YOYO

The Government has thrown shit on the faces of all Hybrid owners. At first, Government say NAP and EEV cars are the way to move forward, then when companies like MBM invest so much to CKD their S400, government to another flip flop and pull the incentive away.

Folger, please have some balls lah. Now all your hybrid buyers are going to suffer. As I said above 3 factors will shoot up in price.

1) Price of Insurance
      2) Price of Spare Parts
      3) Car depreciates like hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:59 am

You are in Malaysia, you mess with the our gorvernment means you do not want to live long in the country. They will find the way to chase you out!

• WALAOWEI on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Walao wei
        Quota finish, means theres alot of S-class fans at M’sia
        Screw the goverment??? U stupid or crazy??
        More hybrid car means more spare parts for hybrid in the future, more spare parts means the price of the spare parts will drop la… u tau ke tak tau ==”
        Car is not a investment asset, hence confirm depreciates la bangang

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Interesting…

All I can say is out RTD and MoT is really giving these manufacturers a hard time, no commitments etc to long term pricing, with “renewals” every few years, hello, exemptions are not like your road tax OK!

Look at the States, UK and all, they have committed to green vehicle grants. For good. Why can’t we do the same? Such a lack of long sighted vision.

• Aiyo, our third world country G cant be compared to Euro and US la. They give you some sweets but they expect huge return from you. Like they giv out BRIM.but what they get back from rakyat is many times more than what they have given out. Whatever G does, it only a show to make us seems benefited from something. When the due date has arrived, its payback time.

• OrangUtan on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Okay, I will start saving now. Just deposited 5 cent into my piggy bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • After the sweet offer of RM588k for S400 Hybrid which unfortunately Mercedes Benz Malaysia has used up its entire quota till Dec 2015… The prospect of paying more than 800k for such a car doesn’t look enticing anymore.
    If they can sell at 588k and still making profit, that means bulk of the sellin price of 800k++ goes to the pocket of our Gomen! So those in their right mind won’t fork out that much for the S-class. But of course there will always be those who have such money to spend on luxury especially those filthy rich ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • gibson on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:10 pm

just curious how many units of S400 Hybrid Merc managed to sell ?

• Saw one new S-Class at a traffic light in Bangsar on Monday night. Couldn’t be a test drive unit,could it? No decals on the side or somethin’. ._.

• heybadigol on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:10 am

The S400L Hybrid is gorgeous in the flesh. Much better looking than in pictures. And its so imposing. 7 Series & A8 look rather common in comparison.

But that 2 spoke steering wheel, I dont quite like. Its a Mercedes, it should have 3 spokes like the Merc logo. Haha. Much prefer the 3 spoke in the coupe version.

• Almost 900k is ridiculously crazy.Gosh, how much much the G take from us in order to enjoy luxury car? Dont they have taken enough? And S400 with 3litre can cost upto 860k? Even E300 upgrades to E400 only had an increasing of 20k. but this is 200k?!! C’mon Merc Malaysia and our corrupted G. I am sure u guys are better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • why worry about the price , S class is for the rich and famous . people always say it’s cheap in uk and us . but in fact how many people in uk and us can afford s-class

• Mohd Faisal on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:31 am

Makes no sense to see an S400 L being so much more expensive than the S400L hybrid.

Another victim of the silly automotive policy in Malaysia.

Was reading a news article day recently and it mentioned Proton asking the Gov to fork out RM1.7b in subsidies to fund it’s R&D.

Please stop using our hard earned money to subsidise this pathetic company.

When they were making money in the past, did they hand out dividends to the Rakyat?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • GTR36 (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Why can’t Merc Msia increase the capacity of its plant to assemble more S-class cars? Should not be a problem for them to expand the site which has extra land on 4 sides of the plant and hire more Banglas/UNHCR Myanmars/Viets/etc to the workforce.

Its more like Merc Msia wants to sit and wait for the govt to extend its policies which they can keep on dreaming unless the old Man dies…

• Our G is only busy making their kins and themselves famous and rich. They dont even care about the rakyat including the Malays. sadly some rural Malays think that they have received enough and become hardcore G supporters.

• heybadigol on Jul 31, 2014 at 2:46 pm

The price seems to be alright for a CBU in Malaysia. Although, its main rival, the also CBU BMW 740Li costs “only” RM819k, which is cheaper by RM47k. In my opinion, the BMW does not look as special as the Merc, and does not ride as well either. As for handling, the BMW is better, but honestly, don’t think anybody in this market segment (long wheelbase luxury) values handling much. Track car this is not, and neither will one bring something like this to a twisty B road. The question is whether the RM47k is enough to justify the extra plush on a cloud ride that the Merc offers.

• why all of you still blame government .
    if government remove the heavy tax , the s probably cost 500-600k , ordinary rakyat still cant afford it .who will benefit! only the rich man benefit .the rich people/corporate in Malaysia earning million/month ,they really don’t care about a few hundred thousand extra tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Only cronies don’t care about the tax.. It’s easy money for them anyway. As for those who earn money the hard way, a few thousand ringgit saving is still a saving.

You are saying as if you are OK with the govt to impose high duty and taxes to our cars.. You won’t feel the pinch as you won’t buy this car. Wait till 1st April next year when the GST starts and you’ll start cursing too

• the government should tax more to make the s-class cost more than l millon …rich man don’t care about the heavy tax .

• bryan on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:11 pm

The ckd s400l will come next year, the price is about 688k a bit expensive than s400l hybrid. Is it paul tan?

• its responsibilities of rakyat to pay tax

• Leo , u really don’t understand what is GST all about . GST is a must . that the most effective way to curb the rich man evade tax

• Leo ,if all tax removed . the poor will suffer more .
    use your brain to think about it ..

• Leo , the poor currently not paying tax in Malaysia but they enjoy free medical and education etc .

• Bro ooo,
    Chill bro! I’m not saying that the govt must remove all the taxes. As there is a saying “there are 2 certain things in life – death & taxes”
    Before I say anything let me clarify that I’m paying the highest bracket of the income tax. I understand how the GST works.. I’m not trying to evade but whether I agree with the GST decision is another story.
    Btw yes we are enjoying free medical but I don’t think that our facility is enough to support our population. Have you been to The general hospital? That’s the reason why private hospitals are thriving in malaysia.

• Leo ,
    that’s no right and wrong
    to the rich/bizman like u , tax/GST is hell but not for the poor
    general hospital is like a hell for the rich(crowded) but it’s heaven for the poor(free) .
    hope u understand..