Three new Citroen models coming to Malaysia – Naza

Three new Citroens will be coming soon, but the baby C1 is unlikely to be one of them

A hat-trick of Citroens will be coming to Malaysia soon. Official distributor Naza Euro Motors (NEM) told The Star that the three new models will be from Citroen’s mainstream C-range of cars, as opposed to the more upscale DS range.

“From the end of this year into next year, you will see three new models from the C-range. We are hoping to price this more competitively from RM100,000 onwards,” NEM’s COO Datuk Samson Anand George said.

NEM has been selling the DS4 and DS5 since the Citroen brand was relaunched here in February 2013. The DS3 joined the party in February this year, before NEM opened order books for the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso MPV in June. The 207 hp DS3 Racing is in town, but is not for sale.

So what’s coming next? Current models starting with a C and available in RHD include the C-Zero (a rebadged Mitsubishi i-MiEV), C1 (city car), C3 (supermini), C3 Picasso (small MPV), C4 (C-segment hatch), C4 Cactus (an odd looking thing), C4 Picasso (smaller version of the one we have now), C5 (sedan) and C5 Tourer (wagon).

Citroen_C4_Cactus_01
Want a cactus in your garden? The Citroen C4 Cactus may be too odd for Malaysia

You can pick three from the above, although we can safely rule out the electric car, and the C1, since the new cars will priced from RM100k. The two small Picassos also don’t make much sense as we already have the Grand. No prizes for guessing correct :)

NEM aims to sell 600 Citroens this year, and the figure is set to grow with the new models. “We only had two models, the DS4 and the DS5, last year. If all goes well, we are looking at over 10% growth to 700 units next year. We expect sustainable organic growth. When there is a sudden spike, the back-end may not be able to catch up so fast,” Samson said.

Speaking of back-end, two more sales outlets (Puchong and Ampang) will open by the end of this year, with three more slated for 2015. The French brand now has five sales/service outlets nationwide, two in Klang Valley, two in Penang and one in Johor.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ray (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 5:53 pm

The C1 looks like a Juke upfront!

• Vader (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:53 am

Since when the RM100k onwards is consider as competitive price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Mulan on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:03 pm

C5 please with Hydraactive III suspension.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:15 pm

c4 cactus….yumm

• Any owner can share their experience here? I damn like Citroen but afraid the car maintenance…

• Ask Motorhead he will suggest you either Myvi or Vios

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:32 am

Haissh.. let them buylah.. some people got money to waste.. leave the japs milo tin to me.. xde class.. conti baru ada class..

But most of the beruq here talk kok only..

X berani beli pon..

Siapa dah beli let me know. . I belanja you.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:31 pm

No I suggest you go & buy it.

Not my datuk money anyway. .

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Jul 31, 2014 at 1:05 am

These cars have ULRV. Ultra Low Resale Value. You pay more than 100k for it but once you drive out of the showroom, it will be traded in for less than 10k. Don’t bring to my yard. I will show you the broomstick.

Safe bet is to buy Vios TRD. 80% RV maintained after 5 yrs use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
      • rvcount on Jul 31, 2014 at 6:56 am

“Safe bet is to buy Vios TRD. 80% RV maintained after 5 yrs use.”

BS to the max

• Vader (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:28 am

Muahaha..
        Who is going to buy 5 years old car where the price is as high as 80% of new car price?
        Besides, the interest rate is higher and commission not yet included! Is almost 90% new car price!
        Everyone know you are bullshxt but you make a joke of the day. :)
        By the way, show me and sell me one year old K5, sportage, sonata at RM35k, give you another RM15k as your commission!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:35 am

For 11 years I own a 12 year old Citroen Xsara, and yes, sometimes something has to be replaced. Minor faults like the fuel gauge being stuck for a few years now (running on Euro5 petrol… go figure) and the driver door not staying open anymore haven’t been fixed, can’t be bothered. Otherwise it’s a reliable car with a bit of wear and tear. Dashboard remains pretty silent unless driving on a really rough road (like no tarmac), but the suspension, despite being rather ordinary, soaks up bumps pretty well. It’s comfortable yet nice to drive, with a nice heavy steering with good self centering… when going in a straight line at and above highway speeds you don’t need to hold the steering wheel. No need to constantly correct.

Can’t comment on spare parts and servicing, because it’s being driven in Europe.

Basically if it’s one of the more conventional Citroens I wouldn’t expect nightmares, but I wouldn’t expect say a Toyota either. Try to keep the car in good condition and get it checked regularly (say every 10k) so parts can be ordered in time and before they cause bigger issues.

Those bigger Citroens… they need the hand of a specialist, and some good ebay.co.uk skills + patience. Then it should be fine. Just make sure to find problems ASAP so you can order the parts from overseas before they need to be replaced. But if you’re smart and put in some effort the reward of perfect ride quality only matched by Rolls Royce might be worth it.

• Hey bro, thanks for good advise. Now i hoping Naza can make some magic on the price…

• peter on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:26 am

I have a DS3. Only 2 months old so far so can’t really comment about maintenance and spare parts. But then, I have two other continental cars at home and have no issues with them.

Like kadajawi said, monitor issues early and try to order parts as soon as possible instead of waiting for the last minute. I also try to be a bit more proactive and change the wear and tear items as soon as possible.

Also when it comes to servicing, I tend to keep to at least a 6 month cycle instead of the manufacturer recommended 1 year or 2 year cycle.

I guess if the car is your passion, you shouldn’t have much problems with it. If you’re just a buy and forget about it/don’t care about it, better stick to the more common cars with easier and faster access to spares.

Looking to many more happy years with my DS3. Based on the initial review of the sales and service, I think they are quite fantastic and provide quite a good and personalised service. It may not be as fancy or high-tech looking as other service centre’s, but it feels a lot more personnel with people always making sure that you’re attended to.

I just hope with more sales, they open up more service centre’s as well to handle the influx. Especially since I notice that the service centre is quite strict on the number of cars that they take in at a given time to ensure quality of service.

• coffeedude on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:03 am

I’m driving a Citroen C5.
      It is powered by a 1.6L THP engine.
      Bought it in Jan 2013 and I’m very happy with it.
      Perhaps I’m lucky but my car has never given me any trouble. Just the regular servicing and maintenance.

• Roque on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:26 am

I dont own a Citroen but I own a pug which is also brought in by naza. Bad experience servicing and the worst possible experience in warranty claims. Engine is ok, but some parts wear off too easily within 2 years or ownership. If you have the money, either keep it or look for other alternatives. Or go thru hell like i did. My 2 cents…

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Since the COO of NEM saying new Citroën cars will be at least RM100K, mostly C1, C3 and C3 Picasso will reach here.

Citroën really being promoted as premium brand in this country.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 6:25 pm

French kiss will cost limbs.. go & try..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • monnie on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:42 pm

You dun know anything about cars.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Ohh.. you know? Puihh. ..

I ve so many friends. . One of them is or was Citroën owners. . Do you own them anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • monnie on Jul 31, 2014 at 6:58 am

Talk kok again, friend la, own this and that la, puih

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:28 am

Who want befriend with you anyway? Go visit a Citroën workshop near tmn chempaka cheras. Ask the foreman there yourself.

Pergilah beli anyway.. Motorhead never stop you.. share your agony here later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Japs kiss will cost what? Hailat face? LOLOLOL

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:00 pm

C3, C4 and C5.

I’d like to see the C3 Picasso (think Alza as a 5 seater in very funky) and C4 Cactus (which is actually quite close to the C3 Picasso in looks and underpinnings) though.

I think Malaysians would appreciate the C4 Cactus for the protection from bumps and scratches, the ride and the space it offers, and the super low FC (it is really lightweight). If only they can get over the looks (though I think it looks absolutely great, with a fantastic interior. You have to see it in person). It does look a bit like a SUV, so that’s a plus.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

I hope they don’t think about the C3 when they talk about 100k. It competes with the Fiesta, 208, Polo etc., and is older than them, and quite frankly probably not as good. I see no reason whatsoever getting it over a 208, if priced the same. Let alone if it costs more.

• peter on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Also, pricing the C3 at 100k will be much to close to the DS3 which is at 118k….

• nabill (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Thy need a 4 door sedan to compete with civic, corolla n sylphy…..

• Aero (Member) on Jul 30, 2014 at 8:59 pm

How do these little French things stack up against our unrelenting Malaysian weather ? In the past, old French cars were built like tanks, you can still see them roaming around Africa today. But somewhere along the way, French cars have become terribly unreliable. (How many Proton Tiaras can you see today ? Exactly.)

I like the looks of these new Citroens, Renaults and Peugeots, but I can’t trust them as much other affordable Continental brands like Ford, Skoda or even VW.

• It’s not wrong to own one in Malaysia but never trust them as your primary car; never buy one if you have no other car.

TBH I think it’s not worth the headache to get a Citroen without those oleopneumatic/Hydractive thingy. I know, there’s still less headache, but that’s just a reskinned Peugeot/”not a real Citroen” :)

I had a Xantia Activa. Those high pressure pneumatic spheres require really careful maintenance, they leak frequent and the LHM oil is really rare and expensive lol

However, when all systems work well, it really drive like a dream (and weird too). Imagine having air-hovering-comfort, no road feedback, steering wheel that centers itself no matter the conditions, but there’s absolutely no bodyroll.

Forget Merc S-class. You can never go back to coil+strut suspensions once you experienced oleopneumatics.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:41 am

They are VERY popular in Spain. I’m in Galicia now, and there are a ton of Citroen Xsara driving around (which are at least 12 years old, some maybe 16 or 17). Not sure about the even hotter South of Spain, but I guess they too drive Citroen, and their temperatures exceed what Malaysia has to offer (except for humidity).

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:43 am

Oh and of course all kids of other Citroens, from new to old (including a few “Tiara”, though by now those are I guess exceeding the 20 year mark, so not too many are left). They also love the new C4 Picasso, at least at the Costa Brava they are everywhere, despite only being launched recently. I don’t think the Spanish are afraid of buying a Citroen.

• NIEKO on Jul 30, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Uhh 3 new Citroens coming to Malaysia and to make it even better they are from the more cheaper C-Range …Humm which car can it be the B segment Citroen Uclyee/Peugeot 301(Citroens WTCC Car) sedan twin that car might do well here in Malaysia …..

• intermilan on Jul 30, 2014 at 10:37 pm

NEM would sure bring the ‘new’C4L … that the best looking mid-size sedan that they have anyway. But not sure if there is a RHD version or not.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:44 am

The best looking mid sized sedan would be the C4/DS4 based DS5 LS (though it’s a bit long…).

• intermilan on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:34 pm

“…the three new models will be from Citroen’s mainstream C-range of cars, as opposed to the more upscale DS range.”

DS 5LS is a DS… not a C-range cars.. C4L is.

• TheDean on Jul 31, 2014 at 12:11 am

It’s odd how a CEO can state they’d prefer organic growth as oppose to spiked growth because of their inability to cope with after sales service. Their models break down a lot, or company not really committed to this market? Usually back-end surpluses front-end to ensure ability to service growth. Odd.

• samlok on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:36 am

Aiyoyo, mahalnya

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 31, 2014 at 2:28 pm

if i were to guess, it would be either PSA PF1 platform and PSA PF2 platform based models:

PF1: which is the same platform for Peugeot 208, 2008, so yes C3, but also may be newer C-Elysee & C4 Cactus , and it will be competitively priced above RM100k

PF2: which is the same platform for the current Malaysian sold /available Peugeot 308, 408, 3008, 5008 and DS4 & DS5 all are arguably sold competitively above RM100k, so C4 from the same platform is likely to be introduced

So it will be 3 of the above 4

If Naza-Euro have been gungho enough to bring in C4 Grand Picasso, why not C4 Cactus?

• intermilan on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:53 am

Just to add some info on C4L..

C4L with 1.6 turbo – 163bhp (120kW) / 240Nm. Should be the pick of the range.

This is the version that should banish engine problems that plaguing the earlier Prince engine that is mated to locally Peugeot 308 (version with 140 and 156 bhp).

A 1.8 N/A engine is available, but the power is down to 138bhp (102kW) / 172Nm.. not good enough IMHO.

A 1.6 N/A engine is also available in China, but it also shouldn’t be making it way here.

Why? The kerb weight if this car is circa 1400kg.

Both N/A engine will have a horrid time trying to pull the car in any spirited manners.

A 2.0 N/A engine with ~155bhp / 210Nm should be adequate, but PSA did not have such an engine.

• intermilan on Sep 14, 2015 at 8:54 am

One year plus after this article, rather than introduction of 3 new models, in my view, they don’t introduce any. Zilch.

Not even the facelift DS5.

Unless the launching of these 3 count as three new models:
    1. Citroen Grand C4 Picasso diesel in Oct 2014 (which really shouldn’t count), then
    2. Citroen Grand C4 Picasso petrol somewhere in 2015 (no.. this shouldn’t count either) and
    3. Facelift DS3? (not even been reported in PT). It’s there in Citroen Malaysia website but hard to say if its really the facelift DS3 since they mix images and info/specification of new (original) and facelift DS3 in DS3 product page.

This is quite weak from NEM as the market were let to expect that 3 NEW models in addition to DS3, DS4, DS5 and Citroen Grand C4 Picasso were going to be introduced for 2015.

Maybe the on-going crumbling of Peugeot sales in addition to sales of existing Citroen/DS line-ups doesn’t hit anywhere near target (600 units in 2014), made them cold feet (as always been the case). Or perhaps they are waiting for Citroen models from China market to get prepped up for RHD market? C4L, C3-XR seems like good sales candidates for our market.

The way I see it, too much weightage were put on short-term gains. To people who care, the silence is deafening.
    As far as our market is concerned, PSA “Back in the race” initiative seems to be losing steam worryingly.