Ford EcoSport being previewed at SDAC showrooms – 1.5L Trend and Titanium variants, RM96k-RM104k

Ford-EcoSport-Malaysia-Showroom-0049

Although it hasn’t been officially launched yet, the Ford EcoSport is now being previewed to the public at SDAC showrooms, so if you’re interested in a new B-segment SUV, you may want to head there to check it out this weekend. We dropped by this afternoon to snap some photos of the EcoSport just for you.

The new Thai-assembled EcoSport – which made its ASEAN debut last year in Bangkok – will be available here in two trim levels, both powered by a 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine mated to a six-speed Powershift dual-clutch gearbox, driving the front wheels – the same configuration as found in the current B299 Fiesta 1.5.

Official pricing hasn’t been released, but the EcoSport Trend is expected to retail for about RM96k, while the higher-spec EcoSport Titanium will go for about RM104k.

Click to enlarge the brochure.

Full specs can be seen in the brochure scans above, but we’ll simplify it for you. The Trend trim level starts off with two airbags, ESP stability control, manual air-conditioning, a six-speaker Ford Sync infotainment system, steering wheel audio controls, tilt and telescopic steering adjustment, fabric seats and 16-inch alloy wheels with 205/60R16 tyres.

The rear seat bench can be folded down in a 60:40 split, and they can tumble forward to maximise the luggage area, which increases from 362 litres to 705 litres with the rear seats tumbled forward.

The EcoSport Titanium ups the airbag count to seven, including a knee airbag. The driver seat gets adjustable lumbar, and a centre armrest is added on. The variant gets a single-zone automatic climate control system, and there are also auto lights and wipers as well as a sunroof.

Ford-EcoSport-Malaysia-Showroom-0052

Seats are upgraded to leather, and there’s also leather on the gear lever and the steering wheel. The alloys are also 16-inch units with the same tyre size, but feature a different design. The Titanium also features keyless entry and push-start ignition. You also get an additional 12V power socket at the side of the rear seat. Exterior-wise, there’s a bit more chrome here and there, such as on the fog lamp surround.

We’re told that the Ford EcoSport will be officially launched sometime in the second half of August 2014, so we’ll get the official prices then. Word is that the 1.0 EcoBoost version will eventually be introduced here, when production of the six-speed PowerShift auto variant begins (currently, Thai production only builds it in five-speed manual transmission guise, for the Australian market).

In the meanwhile, read our review of the Ford EcoSport from our Thai drive of the SUV.

GALLERY: Ford EcoSport 1.5 Trend

GALLERY: Ford EcoSport 1.5 Titanium

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:22 pm

For me, RM104k is consider too expensive for this really compact SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Joey L on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:38 pm

RM104k for this piece of crap? No thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 3:40 am

RM104K?! I’ll get two Great Wall M4 please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:15 am

As long as it is not kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • samelorsark on Aug 03, 2014 at 7:11 pm

As long as it’s not Same Lorrr, it’s not silly

• slk3879 on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:38 am

Yup, too expensive. Top up another 10k then you can get a Mit ASX, which is a better buy IMHO.

• woot woot on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Bring-in Titanium spec-ed Kuga please!

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:31 pm

97k and two miserable airbags?

Didn’t know SDAC’s calendars still say 2004.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Anti-Establishment on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Malaysians don’t care for safety. If not, the Vios wouldn’t be top car & we’d see more Picantos on the road (since they’ve the best safety features for small cars under RM 60K).

Don’t be fooled by the comments on Paultan – we who are advocating for safety in here aren’t the majority out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:11 pm

It’s the old business model: Only top paying customers are worth protecting.

• Headunit (the buttons) and speedometer still look like sh!t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Engineblock on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:37 pm

For this kind of price, i take ford ranger anytime, worth the value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Better get Nautica…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Azzmi Noor 009 on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Real driver will buy superb car like inspira compare to this suck suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 43
  • Nani! on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:50 pm

OMG, look at the center console and the plasticky dashboard…and after that look at the price tag. There are dozen of better cars that we can buy with this price.

• omgford. on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:53 pm

For me this car is no any different with Haval M4 except the brand name and engine, but double the price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:55 pm

I hope Paultan will do a head on shootout like the one below for all these small B segment SUVs especially to include the Great Wall M4

http://paultan.org/2011/12/16/five-fold-mega-suv-shootout-mitsubishi-asx-v-nissan-x-trail-v-honda-cr-v-v-hyundai-tucson-v-peugeot-3008/

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:56 pm

spare tyre at the rear looks so odd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • 2 airbags ftw on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:03 pm

It can work as rear airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • I think if you look back in the pass, most of the SUV configuration the spare wheel are at the rear, even the CRV 1st and 2nd gen.

Its a classic design for SUV. Also it should give you more boot space and easier to change the spare wheel.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:16 pm

these days still got people change own spare tyres one ah? you will be surprised how many guys dono how to change

• malaisien on Jul 31, 2014 at 3:57 pm

this type of price go buy GW M4 better, half price u get almost same s..t!!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Imho the rear spare tyre replacement is pretty off for a compact SUV. Would’ve looked loads better if they had placed it at the bottom like some SUV does.

• anonymous on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:12 pm

better buy 2 Great Wall M4

• zeek (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Why not just her the 2008 which comes with all the driver’s aid like auto park, much better safety rating and not to mention better looking. And why isn’t ford bringing in the ecoboost model

• zeek (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Just get*

• xiper (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:21 pm

because u have to top up another 16k over the EcoSport titanium spec for another piece of crap, that’s triple the GW M4 price!

• AVH (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:32 pm

There is one orange unit at my local Ford showroom, might stop by tomorrow just to look.

Pricing wise, not that I can complaint since the only competitor is the Peugeout 2008, and thats RM119k,and while digging around Honda for info, the Vezel/HRV is ‘almost guaranteed’ RM100k and above, predicting RM110k while ‘definitely below’the RM143k CRV, or so I’am told from multiple SA. As for now, looks wise its not my cup of tea, and my parents was immediately put away by that rear spare wheel placement. I’ll see if quality and space lives up to Peugeout’s offering, the 2008 (severely cramp I found while excellent quality), but the Fiesta-dash already lower my expectation, and I do not like the Fiesta space and quality.

Overall, Its hard to gpredict its success. The B-segment SUV is probaably one of the most predictable success in Malaysia, small enough to navigate small roads and easy to park, while high enough to give a commanding and confident view ahead as well as swalling up poorly plaaned roads of Malaysia. But the rear-wheel placement will be the first put-off, and than theres the interior size. Most likely like the Fiesta, an ideal car for college students and so on.

• Kenny on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I rather buy the more reliable Toyota Rush at the RM90k+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
      • Kilkenny on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:29 am

yeah yeah…u rather buy that rotten junk avanza at 90k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Kenny on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:56 am

Keyboard warrior dun not mesh up with Toyota and UMW. Toyota car is still good in term of services, cost of maintenance, stability, reliable, quality and RV. It is UMW giving those lousy accessories and pricing. Those who buy Ford in Malaysia will regret later on its lousy quality.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:13 am

Even after taxs+duties, B-segment category should priced within B segment pricing range. B segment design platform & structure have a such big QUALITY gap compared C segment while C segment compared D segment just an extended of exterior, features, accessories while built quality almost there. You can see how silly SD to price B segment car at C segment price, are we Malaysian silly enuf to purchase an overpriced vehicle ???

• Jebonr on Jul 31, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Small expensive little SUV.

• Kenny on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Crap! Inside is just exactly same as the 70k old Ford Fiesta…

• Jinyiwei on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Wah, give la Arm-Rest.. How to enjoy driving SUV if basic arm-rest pun takde? SDAC please lah.. U think ur EcoSport a die-die Malaysian die-die must buy car meh..?? Go fly kite lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Jinyiwei on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:22 pm

EcoSport owners, beware from kena cucuk from behind those Navara, Triton, Hailat, etc..

• Ford is giving price cuts in most of its model. Focus ,kuga,mondeo, and etc

How often you see a ford as common as korean,japs,or german

Now introducing eco sport .Total failure its just a jacked up fiesta .Not worth the pricing and not even a proper SUV with 4WD. Monthly sales i guess less than 10 models

• Albert Lee on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:12 pm

You know why Ford cars are so pricey in Malaysia Boleh Land?
    The annual sales volume,I reckon is less than 20,000 units,so Sime Darby has to price it sky high to get enough margins to cover the annual PNB dividends payouts.
    Ford,like Protong is also another massive failure after a quarter century here.

• 100k?? Rather buy a CR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • abahko on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:02 pm

oh come on… still drum brake?

• Car_fan on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:29 am

What’s wrong? New Honda City and Jazz are also rear drum brakes…

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:45 am

Nothing so great. That is called cost-cutting measures, adding all the bells and whistles inside, but taking out some features such as rear disc brake & paddle shifters, but Honda sales reps will not mention that, of coz. The New Honda City lost to dinosaur Vios by a few cm in braking test. Previous gen Honda City was equipped with rear disc brake for all variants.

• sohailumama on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:53 pm

I wonder how come the SDAC confident with the sales with such crazy price tag. Drum brake? the half priced Haval M4 already using 4 disc brake. They might not need to import any more as the show units in the show rooms will be enough for the entire malaysia market.

• Car_fan on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:28 am

Wah, didn’t know new Kembara launched? No wait, it’s the new Eco-splutter :)

• I bought the Fiesta 4 years ago. my God! This so called new Eco sport ford still using the same plastic dashboard and other accessories of the old fiesta. I am not a proton fans. But I have to say the dashboard of preve looks better

• Car-Fans on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Both models over priced – Titanium should be below 90K and other below RM75K – then only can see more on our road – else more to in Ford Showroom !

• kelvin on Aug 03, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Totally overpriced. I thought it gonna be around 75k to 90k for such super compact mini SUV.

• SD STAFF WILL GET HIGH BONUS IN NEXT YEAR, COZ THE PROFIT MARGIN FOR THIS CAR SHOULD BE VERY HIGH.

• Ilikecompactsuv on Aug 17, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Can i have a post for ford ecosport vs honda vezel

• DannyTAR (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Looks like a decent SUV to drive around in cities. But of all colours, they skip silver, oh well.