Proton Design Competition 2014 – we take a behind-the-scenes look at how a Proton is designed

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to design a car from the ground up? Well, today’s your lucky day, because paultan.org was recently granted exclusive access to the innards of Proton’s design studio to provide you with a glimpse of a car’s development from the initial sketch all the way to the final model.

Nestled within the confines of the company’s Shah Alam complex, the Proton Design Studio is sprawling, modern facility, much more relaxed and informal than your usual office atmosphere. It utilises a great deal of advanced technologies to help bring the designers’ ideas to life, such as a virtual reality auditorium, milling machines and several high-performance workstations connected to huge Wacom Cintiq drawing displays.

Of course, every project starts with a brief, which determines the basic parameters for the product, such as body style and number of seats. From there, all the designers are asked to put whatever ideas they have onto paper (or their computer displays) and are given pretty much carte blanche to really get those creative juices flowing, unrestrained by practical restrictions like interior space or powertrain packaging.

Such restrictions are saved for later, where the stylists are required to translate their initial ideas into realistic renderings that follow the interior, powertrain and drivetrain packaging that has been set. The goal is to create images that are representative of what the actual car will look like in real life.

The designs are then pitted against each other through presentations with a cross-functional team, a group of people from different departments such as engineering, testing and marketing, who will then shortlist these designs based on what meets all their needs. Eventually, the team will end up with up with a handful of designs on which further development and refinement will commence.

The surviving designs get modelled in 3D in stages, each with an increasing amount of detail. The first 3D model, called a C-class model, is a fairly rough model with no engineering or manufacturing considerations and is done purely to visualise the design in a three-dimensional space. The next step up is a B-class model, which is more detailed and includes some input from the engineers.

Both these models are built using a 3D modelling software called Alias, whereas the final model, an A-class model, is done using CATIA, a computer-aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM) software. This model is fully detailed, complete with considerations for manufacturing processes such as tooling and draft angles, and is virtually production-ready.

The resulting A-class model is then imported into a rendering software in order to visualise the car in realistic lighting and settings. The team uses Bunkspeed, a software that is capable of rendering photorealistic visuals in real time. The output is so realistic, in fact, that the company used Bunkspeed renderings as press photos of the Suprima S!

Indeed, watching a lifelike virtual model of the Suprima being rendered in real time and being able to change colour and materials of each part on the fly was an eye-opener for someone like me, who is used to having to wait for several hours for a 3D model to be rendered, and having to restart the process for every angle or after making modifications the model.

Next week, we will look at the rest of the process, including the selection of colours and materials, as well as the final hard model that is signed off for production. And of course, don’t forget to join the Proton Design Competition 2014 – the deadline has now been extended by a week to August 18 – with your vision of a Proton city car in the year 2020!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hahaha on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:59 pm

do they really have designer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 99
    • Celicazz on Jul 31, 2014 at 6:35 pm

U need to be be that sarcastic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:50 am

So these kind of R&D activities cost RM1.7 billion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
        • Close Down Proton!! on Aug 02, 2014 at 11:40 am

Proton has asked a whopping 1.7 billion from Government!!!

I hope Government declines such application. RM1.7 billion can build at least 10 fully functional Government hospital with all the relevant state of the art industry medical equipment as well as 10 fully functional Government schools.

The past 20 years, every year Proton has gotten about RM100 mil per year. Imagine the number of Government hospitals and schools we could have built in the last 20 years? But all that went into one loss making company.
          Every state could have at least few more fully functional government hospitals to help the needy, poor and elderly. All missed because all went to Proton.

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Mahathir and Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.
          You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.
          So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10. This also has not been sorted out. No point Proton itro new models when there are so many skeletons in its closet. Sort the skeletons out first, otherwise, Proton cannot make money and inferior parts will wear and tear fast compromising quality of Proton cars.

Now Mahathir is in Proton, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.
          Why ask the Government for money? Change the vendors first. Show the Proton is sincere in wanting to improve itself.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, it will ask our money to support the company.

This is not a one off. Mahathir will be asking the government money on and on. RM1.7 billion is a lot of money. With that money you can build 10 fully functional Government hospitals and 10 Fully functional Government Schools.
          In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans.

The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or Government owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?
          Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc
          Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 35
          • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Aug 02, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Close down Proton!! deserves a medal!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
          • Streaming on Aug 03, 2014 at 1:10 am

Work harder la dont blame others for your own hard living.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:55 am

keyboard warriors… everywhere..

• guest on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:06 am

Those who want to close down proton should go and have a holiday in Korea, Japan, Germany, Italy and France for they are living in a jungle and know not much of the economy.

• Stop-Racial-Politics on Dec 28, 2014 at 11:37 pm

We obviously know where the public funds are going.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:14 am

Design is never Proton’s problem (although it is not impressing either), EVERYONE knew it. Build quality is.

You can con new customer with fancy looks (like the K5), but if you playing this trick for 30 years, it is not gonna works.

Spend your money wisely. Get out from the category of “look good, sound good, promise good, but never good”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:21 am

Yes, they still have to redesign the outline of the Proton badge on the front grill or bonnet. It takes tonnes of creative juice absolutely mind sapping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
    • Shy Fool on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:18 am

Now i know what is the real problem for Proton. They have a good tools softwares, but lousy designers. (Good knife, wrong butcher)

Proton design failure is always at the rear part, really fugly ass but the front design is okay. (Fugly ass buntut, pretty front face)

And also, i don’t think not only the engineers giving the inputs but also the Kroni Vendors. The cronies will tell Proton about high cost tooling moulding so the good design cancelled. (Kroni cakap, Proton obeys)

Lousy designers + Kroni vendors = Proton failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
      • malaysian00 on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:22 am

bro, have u submit ur design for the competition ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
      • Tehoais on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:16 pm

I don’t think they have bad designers. The weak point could be the engineering team. As mentioned in the article, the engineers give feedback during the B-class model stage. This is when the engineers will tell the designer what cannot be produced/manufactured. i.e. the designers will have to scale back their creativity so based on the engineers’ advice. A weak engineer may limit the designer’s creativity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:48 am

I don’t see the breakthrough of the design, where is the inspiration? I have doubt on quality of the head of design when progress result shown, is that this is the way to drive towards so-call “global car” ???

• OMG…suprima ugly like shit…puihhh…especially the rear design..damn ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • rockidz on Jul 31, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Looks at the Suprima!!! OMG… the drawings from their project is looks so much premium and nicer than the reality Suprima lolx….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 6
    • Celicazz on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:17 pm

from reality, i dont think its bad either

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
    • Albert Lee on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:02 pm

In Proton Fantasy Land,the designs are ‘wonderfully beautiful,but the finished product is horrendously ugly,noisy,syiok sendiri due to the everlasting ‘perlindungan tanpa had ” policy.
      You can pump in another 25 years of design,R & D using bailout taxpayers funds,the result is still unrivaled mediocrity.
      We have seen 25 years of a failed car manufacturer in spite of massive protectionist measures.What else can you expect?
      Look at Toyota.Their cars are not really beautifully designed,but are best sellers due to their fuel efficiency ,comfort and practicality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 35
    • Thats proton. Always looks good on paper. Even better when talking. They only good in talking.
      Wah.. lucky i didnt book the other car… hahaha
      Asia’s bmw…. haha
      Pesaing kita telah menjadi besar… proton bila lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Annoynimaouse on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:01 am

I think the car looks real nice in reality as well. It doesn’t look as premium… but for the car’s class, it certainly is one of the handsome looking ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Post' Ve on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:21 am

Unfortunately Timberlake’s SexyBack not in
      designers music playlist..

• darrenler on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:21 am

Because they want to keep cost down. that’s why the quality is so bad.

• Guan Yin Maa on Jul 31, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
  • ShahrinMajid on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Paul, could we not talk about Proton. I’m sure you would agree with me that no car enthusiast is interested in this company who makes lousy cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 58
    • blavktint on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:14 am

bollocks another narrow minded malaysian..lu memang layu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
    • silky on Aug 03, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Go and tell that to Australasian NCAP. You insulted their test and result of Preve 5 star safety rating.

• ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:59 am

never test drive..lousy talk

• Yap Ah Loi on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Interesting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Kenny Yeoh on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:14 pm

With such facilities proton should be churning out much nicer model. Not giving up on proton as of yet but please no more of the suprima kinda models please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:16 pm

To be honest, a lot of Malaysians would like in Proton. Those who do won’t tell you, because they’re afraid of being judged and laughed at by others. Most who would like to work in Proton would end up working in some other local company like ETCM Nissan or UMW Toyota. Some are lucky enough to go all the way to the ‘motherlands (Japan, Germany etc.)’. You know why ? Because of the work ethics and type of people who work in Proton. While there are a lot of hard working and passionate people in the Proton network (from R&D, to vendors, to sales and finally aftersales), a huge fraction of those employed are nowhere near the level required or expected from a proper global car company. Then there is the issue of demographics. Proton is not a Malaysian company, it’s a predominantly Malay one. Proton will never succeed until it is fully privatised and is opened to passionate and hard working Malaysians regardless of race, religion, political views and backgrounds. Sorry if I sound racist right now, but I’m being very honest and straight forward. This is the cold hard truth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:35 am

Sounds about right. The Malaysian gov’s management style should have thoroughly saturated Proton’s management due to the close association. Fully privatizing should include the breaking of all currently standing ties with the government (i.e. not managed by a crony) so that the company can start afresh at all levels but we all know how likely that will happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

Malaysia cannot succeed unless equal opportunity given to non-Muslims, says Obama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:03 pm

dont you know.. proton already taken by DRB-HICOM since 2012?

Proton already private!!

• Totally agree…Two thumbs up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • mim (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Suprima would be a hot cake if DRB management really follow the design sketch, instead of cheaping out and force those designers and engineers to reuse Prevé rear doors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Proton will never get anywhere until drb is out of the picture. they started to burry proton the moment they took over the company.

• nandakumar on Aug 02, 2014 at 11:16 pm

nothing will either improve if mamakthir still putting his intrest in proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • nandakumar on Aug 02, 2014 at 11:22 pm

you mean sir?hot cake?common Proton?
      Selling Inspira for almost RM100k?
      Con job.thx mahathir we love you.

• Sam Loo Wakudoki on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:30 pm

After raya also take long leave, that’s why design sucks lo. buy hilux then do wakudoki dance beats them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
    • blavktint on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:11 am

why it is related with raya holidays? it bet in chinese new year the holidays is much longer u racist bimbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • ruffstuff on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:16 am

i’d remeber that the H&T team are working during raya last year. Spyshot of Suprima were taken on hari raya.

• Murderer on Jul 31, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Yes totally BS! What is there to design the front portion totally looks the same!! Dare to show some more like very geng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Informative, educational, a nice insight into the world of car designs…
    I always thought initial stage involves a pencil n a paper only thn render it…..

• where’s all the proton bashers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Yup the initial stage is so much premium than the production units.. I suppose the design team should have more guts in defending their art..

• What gut. The do not have the ability to model it. Design on paper is easy. Modelling it requires experience & knowledge which ailing company like proton is lack of. In fact they lack of everything, from failed marketing to accounting to …. yes, building cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:08 pm

build a car is not an easy task.. lot of work to do. need to consider manufacturability of that type of design

• samlok on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:21 pm

I think a pencil & a sketchbook will suffice to do the job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • cukup-cukup sudah lh, still syok sendiri lg, dah la tu wei, berapa kerat je suprima atas jalan malaysia ni, x sedar2 lg ke apa sebab rakyat pilih perodua n kereta import.. cuba lh jenguk2 car maker lain..adoyai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
    • Vios is junk if you compare with SS

• ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:12 pm

tak sedar2 lagi ke kereta malaysia yang terbaik pernah dihasilkan adalah Suprima? tak pernah test drive..tak pernah gi showroon.. pandai cakap sje

• i tot suprima which is based off preve was designed by italdesign?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Mohd Anuar on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:50 pm

This is the most important part in selling a car, the design. BAD DESIGN + good quality + branded = poor selling = new toyota camry. GOOD DESIGN +good quality + branded = selling hot = new Honda Accord. Just count the two cars the next time you hit the road, then you know what i mean. Even, less branded and quality can sell really good if attractive design = Hyundai cars. Yet somebody say want to sell it at a higher price just because it is going to be better in quality..learn from the best, hire world class designer and let the local learn.. Hyundai made it, Nissan made it, why don’t Proton. Till when people going to support Proton, another 30 years? Its payback time Proton, not only people have to be patriotic, Proton also have the obligation to serve the people after all, its people money that initially build Proton..and the bulk customer is still Malaysian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:53 am

The Preve (well, the Tuah) was designed by Italdesign Giugiaro, which is one of the leading automotive design car companies in the world.

• Mohd Anuar on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:35 am

Thanks for the info..but it just make Proton less fortunate, even world class designer cannot help our Proton, the design still suck at least to a few Malaysian eyes..

• Vader (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:35 am

And potong not follow it exactly and the rear is totally different from the Tuah concept.

• mim (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Actually, Preve was designed first by Italdesign. A theory said that, back then it was supposed to use Lancer’s GS (Project Global) platform, developed alongside the 9th gen Lancer and some other Dodge/Chrysler cars. Proton dropped it due to budget, and came back 3 years later by rebadging Lancer to become Inspira. Then the relationship with Mitsu ended. The “Mirage-based” GSC also scrapped.

Proton ‘facelifted’ Preve design to become Tuah in 2010. However, Preve was developed in secrecy, hence making ppl think Tuah came out first.

This is probably the reason why Preve looks so “outdated” when it came out in 2012.

• Buy one Honda Accord, change a bit and the badges, VOILA!!! a new Perdana designed and built by Proton.
    Previously was Mitsubishi…..busy laa the designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
  • AVH (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Cintiq 24HD, those thing cost up to RM26k a piece!! and I so want one.

Anyways, interesting insight on the design process thou sorry to ask Jonathan, but are there any photos of the facility itself beside just the desk? Such as the inspiration board and idea board, the mood room and the Also if its to much to ask, the sketch up of the concept.

As for the concept, I find the designers initial sketch(the 2nd pic, lower right) appears to be boulder than the final outcome on the Suprima itself, and the sketch of what is chosen(the2nd main pic) shows a larger rear light tthat makes the arse of the car look smaller than it really is. Also along wth bigger tailamps, more pronounced line toowards the rear could cut down the Preve/Suprima really tall C-pillar that makes the arse looks so big.
    [personal opinion may very]

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Whatsoever, if p1 price still not competitive with good built quality and good design, and relavent to market demand on green technology.
      Then only syok sendiri n forever imposed tax on imported vehicle to boost sales intra msia only.
      Build the fundamental & restructure get the company right first, what global car to talk about?
      Is that p1 nowaday capable to build a car quality & pricing equivalent to suzuki swift at MYR 30K before tax/duties?

• mim (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:56 pm

A top spec Exora/Preve/Suprima is just around RM30k-40k before tax and duties. Proton has the same tax structure like any CKD vehicles sold in Malaysia.

Don’t even bother to tell me about Langkawi/Labuan price, because Proton and Perodua can’t have duty exemption according to Akta Kastam.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Why G make rakyat suffer, then pls have total tax/duty not more than 20%

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Oooh, so that shade of blue on Suprima pictures are computer generated. No wonder they look kinda strange to me. But I am very impressed by how real the silver Suprima looks in their computer rendering. Really impressive software.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:06 pm

It would look much better if they stuck the occlusion layer on it thou I believe thats what they did with the promotional advertisment. Not sure how easy to model on CATIA considering I’am using mostly Autodesk Maya/3dSMax and Blender and it is a PITA to model cars in those software.

• blvcktint on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:33 pm

i just want to browse the comments of ah beng cavemen views here.unfortunately its too early..rather than just know to condemn, why not try to participate and put your effort in designing your dream car. I bet not even in quarter half the progress is numb. Soo ah bengsss cavemen.

• Kenny Yeoh on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:20 am

If they didnt put a age cap to the competition i think many would. I know i will…

• bowthang on Jul 31, 2014 at 9:34 pm

proton really NEEDS to improve their interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • echo_this on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:08 pm

I echo this. Proton don’t even know what needs fixing.

It’s the cheap quality interior and the noisy/cranky transmission. Everyone else has leaped ahead.

• Complaint their interior? Later they bring out their dashboard story again. Thats their proudest story apart from teh tarik hook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • brazbuz on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Agree, since car buyer spent most of d time inside the car rather than outside (obviously though). Prioritise on this proton….

• old dog on Jul 31, 2014 at 10:16 pm

where got top dog designer using WINDOWS to run the design software? LOL…

Get a MAC!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • New dog on Aug 01, 2014 at 4:07 am

Dude, not all design softwares is Mac-capable. For instance, 3ds MAX is never a Mac software. Most 3D designer uses Workstation. Just my 2 cents ;)

• Kenny Yeoh on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:22 am

Catia dont run on mac la. Adoi

• Poor apple fag. Please la. People use workstation and not your fag mac la.

• Focus on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:54 am

Tell me what Mac SOftware can do 3D in Automotive? Catia? Autodesk ALias? RTT? Bunkspeed? There’s NONE! Some of the developers of 3D application stopped develop system with MAC because its not stable/powerful enough to run it. Don’t talked thrash if knowledge is ZERO. All major CAD application in the world running on Windows. Please research first before making a fool out yourself.

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 31, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Dear All , what you see is not what u get .
    Ideals are great , making it into a reality somehow Proton doesn’t know how to do it .
    COME ON Proton. Do a driverless car if u had the billions backed up by our Patriot Govt =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Steve Kok on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:25 am

We at Proton design what we want.
    Not what buyer/consumer wants.
    Because we conclude that consumer/buyer don’t know what they want lah.

• Bunch of 5 year old artist.

• their designers very suck! how come proton hires them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • MusTanG on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:48 am

If Malaysian tried to be great engineers and contribute to Malaysia’s engineering sector instead of bashing aimlessly,

THAT would be great.

• My sincere comments..
    1) exterior designers quite good but failed when mix match with Preve’s front look…yiu want to cut cost?…in the end Suprima can’t sell…pay the price for wrong decision making
    2) change your interior designers…hurt but thats the truth….material ..design…really to simplified but thus us 2013/14…look at interior of peugeot/bmw/merc…or even vw…Proton totally out of class
    3) QC…QC…QC….QC….QC…..I give Proton 3/10 over QC segment….better kick out your QC team because it really annoying from Gen2…Preve..Suprima….
    4) material……either your are sleeping or you like to tell lies for your entire life…..your material really make people keep distance away from your product

• People on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:40 am

Design team Erwin Komenda and Karl Rabe did not have this gizmos then but The VW Beetle became the most-produced car in automotive history with 40 million units.

• Gargantia on Aug 01, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Well says.
      Later protong supporter come-out and say… 3rd world country can’t compare with 1st world country.
      Later Tun DrM say… need more protection from gov, later my protong and petroleum no bussiness.

• daewoo on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:53 am

Proton = LG Electronics = Daewoo motor

• suprima stil a urgly car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Nothing can beat Almera-Vios designs.
      People like you will say it’s beautiful

ROTFL

• Joker on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:51 am

It’s already tat bad in paper..
    da end product as u all noe is worse….
    The portioning simply runs..
    i wonder how the aerodynamic performs…

• If you ain’t good in design, aim for durability
    -Japan car
    If you ain’t good in durability, aim for design
    -Korea car
    If you are good in both, aim for higher price
    -Continental car
    If you ain’t good in Design, Durability, Performance
    aim for making teh tarik instead of car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • If you ain’t good even at teh tarik, it’s ok go minta 1.7 billion free money
      – Syok sendiri car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • They should have work harder in full scale clay modelling, else no point to produce a good-look-on-paper car.

Proportion and silhouette define the beauty of a car. Good-to-look (less lines, less join, less gap, less edgy)exterior design must able to carry the internal technical drawing (chassis, safety features, suspension).

Sometimes, I feel that a lot of designers contributed but their designs just not fit/click to each other.

Set a theme and be more details.

• JK. Since when Conti is durable? Korean is durable already.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Wd luv to kno the Perodua design studio…. Probably have 2 ipads installed with an app called “Bumper design 101”!

• EnergyAnalyst on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:17 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/07/31/proton-design-competition-2014-design-proton-part-1/sony-dsc-1194/

should have been the rear, honestly it looks so so so much better

• pls pls pls nobody CARES about tis stupid competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • maverick on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:12 pm

the usual very biased Proton bashing lar. What else is new. Not like they own one.

• LOL…seriously? these cars need design?

• ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:24 pm

please register back for your elementary school.. your knowledge still not sufficient for primary school

• No problem really with proton’s design. Designing cars its not hard. What i want to see is proton moving into more technical stuff. Power train and chassis development….these are stuff that makes a car manufacturer a car manufacturer. Designing, is just another Pininfarina minus the engineering part. While its expected that there is a design inhouse department, its nothing really to sing about.

• Albert lee on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:15 pm

One fine day,all of us Paultan car forum contributors will be prohibited from praising or criticising Proton.
    You know why?
    DRB decides to face reality and fold up loss making proton which is transformed into a giant AP King instead, which I think ,makes more sense.
    No more asking for R & D Gomen grants,funded by taxpayers.

• icker on Aug 03, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Nothing to shout about with those assemblers. Any countries can do.

• 1 malaysia on Aug 02, 2014 at 1:15 am

Low class designer + jaguh kampung = besi buruk cap protong

• It’s not besi buruk if got 5 star Autralian NCAP
      Only a complete retard said so

• My ADVISE for Proton…next time you design a car, u pick any public around 100 people and show to them your clay model or 99% of the real coming model…ask them to give honest opinions and ask them what good and bad about the coming model…then Proton later fix it based on the feedback they received…..later,you will get a better perception because you already know what to expect once you launch the model…BY the way, I willingly to become one of them and you/Proton can asked Paul Tan my email so that you can contact me…

• That is not design process. that is what designers call, rendering process. just by tweaking colors n angle doesnt make a design process. show us the butter papers, show us the design process, show us the rejected proposals, then we’ll believe all the money well spent on design. What a propaganda.

• cheng on Aug 03, 2014 at 6:44 pm

You are not smart enough to know all that kid. Work hard.

• ciakap on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:29 pm

agree.. got a degree related to design first… then apply work with proton.. if u lucky.. u will be hire and on that time.. you will know all the design proposed by designer

• wednes on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:47 am

personally i can still accept proton design. but not the lousy engine and transmission.

this also my personal opinion. proton only looks good when start sketching (wide body + spoiler + big rims n tyres), but when put to real production, totally different story.

• qaseharjuna on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:41 am

I am truly supporting malaysian car..using both car proton and p2..What can I say proton car much better than p2..though i am not expert to explain all the details on engine,design etc but still failure on basic use (radio,aircond,power window,steering…)are for me the major ones..But,yes proton still have an issues on services after sales but they’re improving, right??..

• Whine, whine, whine,

Bash, bash, bash

Boohoo, I cannot buy merc because proton makes all other car expensive, wuekk, wueek,

Proton filled with cronies, wuekk, wuekk

Proton took all my tax money, wuekk, wuekk

Proton no quality, wuekk, wuekk

What a bunch of crybabies……

• tak heran on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Your comment also like baby…haha….Suprima S so ugly and sales so bad it is so hard to see a suprima S on the roads..so rare like a lambo countach.

• Anti Corruption and Abuse of POWER on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:59 am

CIPLAKING CAPLANG IN THE MAKING….Grow up Proton….or just shut down!

• i thought they just changed the badge from other’s manufacturer cars to theirs and that’s it… look at the new proton perdana, which changed the honda’s badge to proton… LAME!