Honda Vezel to be called Honda HR-V in Indonesia, production to begin early next year

honda-vezel-tms 004

Well, it’s official – Honda has announced that the Honda Vezel, the company’s Jazz-based B-segment crossover, will receive the Honda HR-V moniker in Indonesia, bringing it in line with the US-market version that was introduced earlier this year. It’s looking more and more likely that the name will be used internationally, confining the Vezel designation to its home market.

Honda’s Indonesian arm, Honda Prospect Motor confirmed that the car will make its appearance at the Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) from September 18 – where the order books for the mini-SUV will also be open – before production begins early next year. Two powertrain options will be offered, these being 1.5 litre and 1.8 litre i-VTEC engines.

The company also revealed safety equipment for the Indonesian-market HR-V, including an electric parking brake, Auto Brake Hold, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) and dual airbags.

honda-vezel-tms 008

“Since the first time it was sold in Japan in December 2013, this model has been well-received by consumers and has become the highest-selling SUV in Japan up until the end of the first half of this year,” said PT Honda Prospect Motor’s president director Tomoki Uchida.

Marketing and after-sales director Jonfis Fandy added, “We believe this model will become the new choice in the Indonesian automotive market and will also be well-received by consumers in Indonesia.”

honda-vezel-interior-tms 001

The Honda Vezel made its world debut at the Tokyo Motor Show last November before going on sale in Japan on December 20, 2013. There, it is offered with a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine with a CVT as well as in hybrid spec with the Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that mates a 1.5 litre Atkinson cycle i-VTEC engine with an electric motor and a seven-speed dual clutch transmission.

With the Honda HR-V making its regional debut in a little over a month’s time, it’s safe to assume that the car will be arriving on Malaysian shores sooner rather than later. It’ll be facing stiff competition in the B-segment crossover market when it does arrive here, with the Peugeot 2008 already on sale and the Ford EcoSport launching later this month. Which would you pick?

Japanese-market Honda Vezel at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:47 pm

i pick the HRV vezel , no second thought.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 10:06 pm

So this HRV still will be the one of the five models that will launch in malaysia in this year? Since the production in Indon just start next year.
      If yes, maybe import from other country first.
      If no, then is interesting what else model will come to malaysia this year.

• r u sure, confirm to pick it with the price not release yet ?

• Ex honda fan on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Prefer turbo like german car, small engine = high output, sceptical about hybrid, carry heavy battery everywhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Ex honda fan on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Prefer turbo like german car, small engine = high output, sceptical about hybrid, carry heavy battery everywhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
  • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:50 pm

If designed on B segment platform quality, then pricing should be at b segment range. Expected below 90k, low spec might hit 70k.

Hunger to know any silly Msian consumer would buy a B-segment car at C-segment price ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • pxp154 on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:50 pm

from 70k? dream on…more like from 90k-120k,
      no other jap mini-suv in this region price yet! can be a hot seller too coz cx-5/asx is 140k+ region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:19 am

CX5: 13X k (reduction adjustment again Q4’14 @EEV gained)
        CRV: 13X k
        ASX: 11X k
        RUSH: 8X k
        NAUTICA:8X k
        ECOSPORT: 9X k
        HRV: ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • slk3879 on Aug 02, 2014 at 7:51 pm

1. Please update your knowledge on the pricing of CX5 & ASX.

2. Can’t compare this HR-V with the other two models. Their equivalent Honda made should be CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:38 pm

You seem to think that the platform ultimately decides the price point. It doesn’t. The whole final package of the car decides that. The platform just includes the underbody and the suspension and sometimes the wheels, depending on definition.

The engine and transmission, the body panels, any revision of the basic suspensions and the features that eventually make their way into the car’s final package dictate how it will be priced in relation to the price of a car based on the same B-segment platform. Also, traditionally an SUV is always priced higher than a hatchback platform-sibling just like how a sedan is always priced higher than a hatchback that shares the same platform, assuming identical or similar equipment offerings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:37 am

LMHV, those vehicle accessories /package are damn cheap, only engine then followed powertrain more costly. The vehicle assembly from platform construction following by exterior & interior housing installation & accessories.
        What a expensive whereby
        all new 2014 Mazda 3 2.0cc & above selling at USD 16k (MYR52k) at states;
        Suzuki Swift at MYR 30K at India

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • The dashboard looks cheapo, not symmetrical, duh!
    what’s with honda design nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:30 pm

They’re going for an asymmetrical design, duh. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. Someone else definitely will as the reception towards it show. I think the interior is mighty impressive. The gear lever on the center tunnel, the driver bias of the controls, the instrument cluster and steering wheel. There’s a futuristic feel to it all and looks to be a nice place to spend a long drive in.

I don’t know where your eyes saw cheapo but it looks quite good to me, faux leather-stitching and all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Keong on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:25 pm

nowadays…ppl wan GOOD GOOD GOOD….with LOW LOW LOW price….!
      Why car price so high?…Blame your gornvement…not Honda….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • Dual Airbags?!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Sad to hear, isn’t it? Hopefully Malaysia will get a full complement of 6 airbags and VSA.

• The Ecosport is going to have a hard time when this is here. Looks are subjective so both will have their own admirers. The Honda do seem to have a better interior, better fit and finish, better space utilization and arguably a more well-known nameplate. That’s just my 2 cents though, so feel free to contradict it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I quite agree with you on that note. The Honda’s interior looks rather futuristic, modern and premium. I think they did quite a good job on the interior. The exterior is pretty good with the proportions and the slightly aggressive styling is quite in-line with the Exciting H design. I think it looks better than the Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Too shiny on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Yes, the grille garnish on the Vezel looks nicer than the oh-so-shiny silver ones on the City and Jazz. But i would still prefer a gloss black finish if given choices.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 3:42 am

I think the HR-V’s grille garnish strikes a good balance. Chrome is generally attractive across the entire age range but black gloss appeals more to those with sporty inclinations.

This seems to be right in the middle.

• x-city on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:52 pm

I really hate CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 3:44 am

You’ve probably never driven a car with a good CVT before. They’re not that bad.

Very relaxing drive. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • 1.8 litre i-VTEC I Want!
    RM95K-RM103K will be OK with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 1:44 am

Hmmm…
      Myr 0.75 subsidised per liter, usage 200 liter/month
      Let’s calculate
      Myr 150/month = 1800/year
      = 9000/5yrs = 18000/10yrs

But my administration tax u 70k if u purchase 110k vehicle

Result of my administration gained:
      5yrs: 70000-9000 = 61k
      10yrs: 70000-18000 = 52k

If car sold out at year 6 then repurchased with another 110k again
      61k+70k = 131k

Thanks kuli kuli sekalian, pls change ur vehicle as frequent as possible so my administration can gain more billions from kuli.

Thanks you .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Kau diamlah.

Mesti kena buli masa kanak-kanak dulu,lepas tu lepas marah dekat internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Thanks my administration make your life pity so u cannot own a dream car bit only cheap/2nd hand car.

Thanks again life suck pls don’t blame others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:48 am

Yea, he is right. Let’s buy Proton together. With Honda and the calculation above, his administration only earn RM131k.

If you buy a Proton, the administration and its cronies everyone can get new Bentley every year.

Coz the Proton always looked cheap, but guarantee burn your wallet to ash in garage when they car break down here and there.

Saw a WXP number plate Preve with one front light bulb spoilt on the road. A 2 years old 70k Preve can easily burnt its light bulb in less than 2 years??? So don’t expect too much for the almighty 6 airbags and VSC to work when your life need them the most ya.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Sam looorrrr is correct, wealthy buy branded, non-wealthy buy p1.

As long as new car sold, it will finally drain into my pockets

Haha, I don’t engaged any HP loan, but pity those sacrifice & wasted their time/youth.

Thanks on you guys of billions donation annually.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Thanks my administration make your life pity so u cannot own a dream car but only cheap/2nd hand cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Haha

Truth hurts isn’t it?

• submarine on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Dual airbags…. There are better choices, at least in terms of safety specs, out there. I hope honda MY is listening…

• vezel fan on Aug 01, 2014 at 10:38 pm

when i first saw vezel on the stage of Tokyo Motorshow 2013, my eyes stick to it. Such a beautiful and macho compact SUV.i was telling myself, this is it. Didnt expect it was selling in Japan at the same time. Take a closer look at Honda Tokyo showroom, perfect size for small family. Finishing just so so but it still worth to get as it really such a gorgeous SUV. Honda Malaysia; you will be hitting your 2014 70k sales target if you bring HR -V in anytime now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • If the car cot 90k-110k, book one for me. Mini SUV are preferable while driving in KL. Tall car easier to see and drive. The interior looks good but 1.5l is seriously underpower. At least make a 2.0 vtech or transfer it from the civic to this.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 1:20 am

Thanks Bob on your contribution to my administration of appx MYR70K via taxes & duty after your HP loan approved of myr 110k HRV. As usual we will NOT appreciated as u all kuli have to work hard as kuli for coming soon 9yrs for 1k+ payment monthly loan.
      I need more kuli like Bob which agreed whatsoever my tax implementation that to contribute more millions & billions to support my administation projects where it result direct beneficial to u all kuli via increase of every single goods price and make u even work harder from goat->cow->buf.
      I keep the tax/duty figure% not transparent so u all kuli cant know how much is it. Pls thanks to my administration that allow u all kuli know of tax 6% at restaurant.
      Thanks you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • But im not an indian. How does that make me a kuli? Good job bringing in the racial card. Saying that means that you are suffering dude. Dont need to tell the whole world that you are suffering. No one gives a shit really. Just deal with it or go work and change the system instead of being a keyboard warrior

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I beg u pls buy more new cars. Pls contribute.

Haha… I don’t even angaged any HP loan with myself :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:13 am

I’ve been eagerly awaiting this car since its launched in Tokyo last year as a future replacement for my family’s 6yr old Alza. My parents have been looking for something with the height of the Alza but for 5 people and we have been generally pleased with our time with our Honda. The CRV is regarded ‘too big’ and even more worryingly(since I know two people with it) it consumes alot of natural reasources ,so a big No-no for my parents. The Ecosport too small(interior) and my dad has nightmares with Peugeouts(his overheated and burned to ashes, thou I did attempt to reason him saying they have improved since that 204 sedan)so 2008 is out and so is anything Toyota as I have effectively launch an embargo with UMW Toyota.

Small, high and attracted to its rather futuristic and restrain looks which I have favored over Peugeout’s and Ford’s offering, I do hope it can make its debut sooner than later thou multiple sources have already said it will most likely have a Q1 2015 launch and a price of RM100k-130k. Wonder weather will they launch or even CKD hybrid HRV here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Aug 02, 2014 at 2:02 am

Cool hope the price matches with the Ecosport instead of the 2008 and have decent spec like the all new City.

• mat yun on Aug 02, 2014 at 10:15 am

This is the perfect replacement for my five years old alza…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Thanks on your contribution, real patriotic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Ray (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:02 pm

I’ve had my eyes on the Jazz, and now you give me this. Why are you giving me dilemmas Honda????

Btw I guess Honda Malaysia will increase the airbag count when it comes here. The City for one was launched with only two airbags without VSA at India but the regional launch in Thailand gave us models with 6 bags with stability control. The HR-V should work in that way too, I guess.

On a side note, please upgrade the airbag count for your dear Accord, Honda Malaysia. The 2.0 models only have 2 while the huge 180k 2.4 model only has a total of 4. How is that justified when a car of a lower price has better safety features than a large D segment that costs more? Please do something.

• Totally agree on the Accord… and the really sad Civic. If Honda is waiting to do all these in a facelift, I am sad to say that alot of business will be gone by then. Honda have to improve the safety features of their Civics and Accords now! 6 airbags & VSA no matter the variant.

• Ken Jeo on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Sure the price over 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Waiting for the HRV/Vezel Hybrid iDCD version to come to Msia as CKD, so that it’ll still be subsidized. Honda, please hurry up before the subsidy discontine by end-2015. Thank you.

• Edwin on Aug 03, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Don’t call it HR-V in Malaysia. Call it Honda Vezel. Bring in the Earth Dreams 1.5L turbo engine for the high spec variant and make sure equipment level up to par. Malaysians don’t like too underpowered cars, that is why Vios 1.3 did not make it here. So Honda, please equip this with the 1.8 L NA and 1.5L Turbo. Malaysians are okay with small cc turbo engines , just make sure it is reliable and after sales service is good.

• Hopefully there will be rear aircond vents. Let’s face it, the front passenger gonna get frostbite while people in the back is dying of heatstroke with that “fancy” aircond layout. And.. I am sure most people want leather seats too.. at least make it an option.

• notoproton on Aug 03, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Bring in 6 airbags and 1.8 i-vtec, and Honda can have my money.

• lavenderguy on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:09 am

bring in the Hybrid car.(more importantly ckd it) so we can afford it.
    can’t wait for this car, small B seg suv will be the new trend

• arave on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:49 am

Pls release this faster, at least a sportier suv. got a jazz which is a not bad ride, practical. crv is comfortable thought u feel like driving a very heavy log

• vezel fan on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Nissan is launching their x-trail which is gorgeous too. So Honda Malaysia; you may losE suv market share substantially if you are slow in bringing in HR-V.

• when is Honda vezel(HRV)coming to Malaysia?

• when is Honda vezel will be launch in Malaysia?im losing my patients….hmm…I hav been waiting for the SUV car since it have been launch in japan 2013.plz bring it to Malaysia as soon as possible before I buy another SUV…planning to change my car since 2013,but withhold for vezel…even all my friends r urging me to change my car for its bad condition…plz bring to Malaysia ASAP…please

• Zero Hertz on Sep 16, 2014 at 5:13 pm

New Yaris is Better…

• l3ryan on Sep 19, 2014 at 6:01 pm

will any of the versions coming to M’sia be equipped with 4WD?

Maybe the top of the range 1.8?

I’d be genuinely interested for a small sized 4WD to cope with the occasional offroad to construction site while maintaining a good drive around town.

• RavenAii on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:13 am

In the picture it looks kinda huge. But actually it’s the same size with ASX. And I never seen people with these type of vehicle go into the jungle and test their off road capabilities.