Hyundai i20 – second-gen B-segment hatch leaked

download

Indian website team-bhp.com has scored pictures of the second-generation Hyundai i20 completely undisguised ahead of the B-segment hatchback’s expected debut at the Paris Motor Show in October.

From the looks of it, Hyundai is moving to a more matured, Euro-inspired design, with a neat slit of a grille connecting the large, swept-back headlights. Just below it is an enormous trapezoidal air intake underlined by a smaller inlet and flanked by large fog lights.

download (1)

At the rear, there are blacked-out C-pillars, slim tail lights and a number plate recess on the bumper. Incidentally, the tail lights on this particular unit are different from the L-shaped ones on a prototype spotted in Europe, so this could be a model unique to India, most probably a longer “Grand” model in the vein of the Grand i10.

The new Hyundai i20 is expected to make use of the i10‘s 1.0 litre three-cylinder and 1.25 litre four-cylinder engines, as well as the current i20‘s 1.4 litre petrol and – in India at least – turbodiesel engines. An N-badged hot hatch is also reportedly on the cards.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ruffstuff on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:30 am

The new Perodua axia will have a new competitor!! I mean perodua myvi!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:17 pm

With this new i20, Mazda 2, Ford ecosport, GSC will be a legend for sure.

Legend is legend, it never get real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • donat on Aug 03, 2014 at 10:02 am

Every cars has its own advantages, savvy ride handling cannot be matched by most cars in its class so will GSC. Safety wise it’ll be on par with the rival.Ecosport is another segment, that’s another story

• Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:51 am

You are right.

Proton cars have the best handling while it is in garage waiting to change this and that.

It is also the safest especially when it is in the showroom or warehouse. See the Preve/Suprima S, no one get injured/killed inside the cars in showroom/warehouse.

• OMG…if this can sell cheaper than Almera, it will sell like hot cake…

• Ewww, look ugly.
    I dont know why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
    • Hyundai-KIA La Junk on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Fully agreed, design look dated & ugly, front & rear design doesn’t match.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • dreaming of maserati on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:57 am

oh yeah…camry is still the most beautiful design which won world design award.

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 02, 2014 at 12:57 am

oh yeah…camry is still the most beautiful design which won world design award.

• Ady 7 times World Car of the Year lor, defeating merselees , odi and beemer

• Sadly Hyundai Sime Darby cannot price it here below RM55K, takut nanti Proton marah, the new GSC (Global Savvy Crap) tidak laku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Suzuki Swift selling MYR 30,000 by currency conversion at India which already included profit margin. If P1 NOT CAPABLE to produce such quality vehicle at such price in order to compete worldwide market where w/o different tiers of taxs/duties applied, then the p1 management pls STOP telling story of whatsoever GLOBAL CAR concept. US markets such a good benchmark to judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Umare on Aug 01, 2014 at 4:59 pm

I don’t know why Malaysians start comparing their market with US market.

The US is market is the LARGEST car market in the world. What ever brands sells there well can manufacture cars at lower prices because of economies of scale.

Look at Malaysian market. Your whole population is less than the population of one state of US.

How do you expect Proton to make cars with high quality and lower prices?

EVERY country protects their companies. They may say they believe in free market but their actions are the opposite.

Look at the Americans car companies. Do you have any idea how much money government had to inject in them for the last few year? Google is your friend. Yes, I am talking about Ford and other American companies.

Same is the case with other countries. Korea protects and injects money in their companies all the time. China does the same. India does the same. Japan did that for a long time.

Please do NOT destroy your country because of ignorance. See how other country’s developed.

Stop demonizing Proton. It’s your country’s only true car manufacturer. If Ford still needs government money to stay afloat then what’s the problem if younger PRoton needs money or protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
        • Anti CO2 on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:56 pm

I respect your patriotism.
          However the fact is that we are just not good at producing cars, let alone car technology innovation. And we will forever playing catch up. The simple rational is, if we are not good at it, we should let someone else do it, ie import, JV or CKD. We still create jobs and no need to waste money on R&D…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
          • Tahar on Aug 02, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Rather the manufacturing obsolete and playing catch up in the case of Proton and then wishes to compete with more quality and better imported cars . It is better for Malaysia to dump off Proton ( cannot sell worldwide and still in infant thinking) , Malaysia should concentrate in becoming the “detroit of the east” by manufacturing high quality and high technology most world car brand parts ONLY.

In this way, Rakyat will not be burden by high car tax to subsidise Proton ( cannot sell in volume) and same time create thousands of jobs and earning good foreign exchange.

It is easier to manufacture and sell car parts than selling a complete built up cars.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Ford is still doing alright from what I can find on the interwebs. GM and Chrysler, on the other hand, got huge bailouts.

http://www.businessweek.com/autos/autobeat/archives/2010/08/doing_the_math_on_obamas_detroit_bailout.html

From the above page,

“GM got $49.5 billion from the feds and Chrysler took $10.8 billion.” -direct quote

Some Americans have attitudes towards their national automakers that are not unlike our opinion of Proton. Looks to be warranted in some cases.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 10:57 am

Suzuki Swift manufactured & selling MYR30k in INDIA which already included profit margin + goxt tax.

Not to compare Thailand but Indonesia lower income country & lower vehicle sales, they just picking up but do better than Msia.
          After loosing to sg then thai, later indo, vietn, after all my administration will press conference that msia still do better than Zimbabwe. Pls appreciated our contribution.
          Thanks you.

• Why compare with India, it has huge market. The population is many times than Malaysia. Saga 33k, including tax, without tax stil cheaper than Swift

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Its is common applicable among EU car makers, and recently japanese Mazda, and now Korean Hyundai finally with family face design philosophy.
    Hyundai Motor founded 1967, 1st model cooperation with Ford realeased at 1968, then 1st Korean car from hired foreign enginners was realased at 1975. 1984 start export to Canada, 1986 penetrated US market. Established own Hyundai technology at 1988 via midsize Sonata. 1991 1st gasoline engine with own transmission were successful developed. 1996 expand operation at India. 1998 start overhaul image under CHUNG MONG KOO leadership lannched aggresive marketing strategy with 10yrs or 160,000km warranty in US market. 2002 official sponsor FIFA, 2004 Hyundai ranked top 100 valuable brands worldwide. In 2006 South Korea govt initiated an investigation against Chung Mong Koo leadership then he was arrested & charged under financial fraud ~corruption; followed by multiple management restructuring occurred 2006-present that made Hyundai a quality international brand.
    Hyundai has 6 R&D centres worldwide: Korea x3, Germany, Japan & India. and with another additional America design center at California for US markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • pxp154 on Aug 01, 2014 at 12:51 pm

the front reminds me of the 1st gen kia rio, typical korean look. but the rear, not bad :)
    should be around the price range of jap small sedans…

• Car-Fans on Aug 01, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Hyundai Malaysia – Dun over priced – else … bye bye … Hope price below RM80K !

• carlover00 on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:51 am

yes it will price below 80k, as this is the answer to Kia Rio, same segment, pricing is there too

• This or gsc?

• Win liao lo. This car sure is a winner.

• Big Bro on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:42 pm

It is still better looking than your old Kancil or Viva. and Much more safety feature.

• honest on Aug 01, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Yup
    The design mcm biasa2 nampak je

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 3:59 pm

looks pretty disappointing considering what we’ve come to expect from KIA/Hyundai

• DrCooper on Aug 01, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Ughh..the front look ugly …that badge lining really unnecessary ! It’s doesn’t match with the rear at all !

• they just can’t put a slimmer light cluster!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 6:43 pm

The light clusters, both front and back, look to be similar to Volkswagen’s style of design. There seems to be Volkswagen design elements here and there, especially the rear.

I don’t agree with it looking ugly and dated. It looks to be more of an understated, ageless design.

• Hukaka on Aug 01, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Nothing to say,but ugly.
    Real citreon DS5 alike,
    Front light it’s ok but the grill seems over proportion.

• Don't bluff on Aug 01, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Ford wasn’t in the list of American companies past 5 years receiving gov subsidies..

• Looks like a copy of the Asian Toyota Yaris though the Hyundai’s styling is slightly better.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Are you sure? I only see that the headlight’s general shape and the single horizontal upper grille with the logo in the middle look similar with each other. The i20 looks better than the Asian Yaris by far.

• The Hyundai’s headlight shape and blacked-out C-pillar looks inspired by the Asian Yaris but I do agree that Hyundai did it better by far.

• roxas on Aug 01, 2014 at 9:31 pm

will we get this? or the 2014 i10?

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 5:51 am

Stop degrading your own local products for Goodness sake..One of the reasons why europeans,Japanese and Koreans can be sucessfull is because their own ppl support it to the extend theyre known worldwide even though there is flaws here and there back then..Unlike here where minor issue can be International big issue..Give it a rest la..Ya i know some of you aint happy cause Proton owners is bumi and so does Petronas..but take it as a national heritage at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 02, 2014 at 11:28 am

Totally agreed with you, if vehicle price similar thai indo filip vietm myanr india china arab saudi.

Pls support coz i oledi owned merz bmw audi, I dun drive p1p2. only left kuli have to support. If kuli not support then who else, bangla or indo?

Rakyat just follow administration philosophy.
      I help u, u help me.
      I don’t help me, I don’t help u.

U make majority rakyat suffer 1k monthly 9yrs installment still ask rakyat to help u ???

Thanks ur tax duties so I can use kuli susah 9yrs $$$ to sell my p1p2 car cheap cheap oversea BUT NOT FOR MSIAN as msian = kuli yang dengar apa saja my administration implement.

Thanks msian hard earn money so my administration can use it for oversea citizen enjoy cheap car to make their life easy.

• Another delusional proton basher, pity. Own merz bmw audi in your dream!

• hadi75 on Aug 03, 2014 at 9:45 am

Its got nothing to do with race…….

• Hyundai, if you carry on with this new era design language u r going to lose market share. Because this new design sucks. New Sonata also nothing to shout about but the dashboard design is just plain ugly.

• GSC – i like front
    i20 – i like rear