Audi A3 Sedan now on sale – 2 variants, from RM180k

Audi_A3_Sedan_1.8_TFSI_quattro_Malaysia_ 001

Spied and previewed over the past few weeks, full details of the new Audi A3 Sedan is now up on local distributor Euromobil’s website. We’ll go straight to the point here – there are two variants: 1.4 TFSI for RM179,900, and 1.8 TFSI quattro for RM240,888 (both prices on-the-road without insurance).

That makes the A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI the most affordable Audi on sale here, alongside the similarly priced three-door A1 and A1 Sportback. In comparison, the cheapest BMW sedan, the 316i, retails for RM209,800, while the Mercedes-Benz C 200 AMG Grand Edition and CLA 200 go for RM242,888 and RM235,888 respectively.

Now into the details. The smaller-engined variant shares the same 1.4 litre turbocharged motor with the base A1 pair, with 122 hp and 200 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 4,000 rpm. A seven-speed (dry) dual-clutch S tronic transmission handles the gearshifts. Zero to 100 km/h is handled in 9.3 seconds, on to a top speed of 205 km/h. It’s claimed to average just 4.9 litres per 100 km.

Audi_A3_Sedan_1.4_TFSI_Malaysia_ 002

An extra RM60,000-odd gets you a bigger, more powerful engine and the all-important quattro all-wheel drive system (as opposed to the front-wheel drive 1.4 TFSI). The 1.8 litre turbocharged engine is tuned to deliver 180 hp and 280 Nm from 1,350 to 4,500 rpm in this application – more power but with less torque compared to the 160 hp/320 Nm Audi A4 1.8 TFSI.

The century sprint is dispatched in just 6.7 seconds through its six-speed (wet) dual-clutch S tronic transmission, bringing it close to the Volkswagen Golf GTI in terms of performance (0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds). Its top speed is 228 km/h, while its claimed combined cycle consumption is 6.6 litres per 100 km.

Both variants look identical from the outside, save for the model designation badges, quattro emblems on the range-topper and different wheel designs (both 17-inchers). Adaptive Xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights are standard, which can be upgraded to full LED lights for RM8,000.

The options list also includes an S line package – with all-around bodykit, 18-inch wheels, panoramic roof, part-Alcantara sports seats, black headliner and flat-bottomed steering wheel – for RM19,800 (exclusive to the 1.8 TFSI quattro, unfortunately) and a pearl-effect paintjob for RM3,000. The panoramic roof can be ordered a la carte for another RM4,500.

Inside, both models get dual-zone automatic climate control, auto lights and wipers, auto start/stop system, cruise control and an electronic parking brake. On the safety front, there’s seven airbags (including driver’s knee airbag), ESP and ISOFIX mounts on the front and rear passenger seats.

Difference between the two? Quite a lot, actually. The 1.4 TFSI gets leather/fabric upholstery, powered driver’s seat and a four-spoke steering wheel. The 1.8 TFSI quattro adds full leather sports seats, powered front passenger seat, a sportier looking three-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters and extra aluminium inlays across the cabin.

Also unique to the range-topping model are Comfort Key (keyless entry and engine start, a RM3,500 option on the 1.4 TFSI), front and rear parking sensors with guide display (just rear sensors on the 1.4 TFSI) and Sport suspension, which is a full 15 mm lower. Less favourable for the 1.8 model is boot space: just 390 litres instead of the 1.4’s 425 litres to accommodate the quattro system.

Both A3 Sedan models get a rather basic Audi Concert Radio MMI system, with a low-resolution 5.8-inch colour display. It supports Bluetooth and iPod connectivity, and plays audio through a 180 W 10-speaker system. The latter can be swapped out for 14-speaker Bang & Olufsen sound system for RM4,000. A reverse camera is an extra RM2,000.

We’ll have more of the new Audi A3 Sedan here on paultan.org and our Driven Web Series very soon, so stay tuned. You can also compare detailed specs and equipment between the 1.4 and 1.8 quattro models on CarBase.my.

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI

Audi A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro

Audi A3 Sedan S line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I was indeed expecting a news from DRB-Hicom pertaining to Audi but not this one; where is the news about DRB-Hicom loses Audi franchise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • VW officially DEAD on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:32 pm

With all the DSG rumours, VW was near dying. Now with this car, no idiot will pay for a Golf GTi and any VW. Audi Malaysia just killed VW in Malaysia.

Malaysians would rather get a real German Audi, with an ADVANCED 1.4 ENGINE. In overseas, Audi is at par with Mercedes and BMW.

But the idiots in VGM try to bull to all Malaysians that VW is at par with BMW and Mercedes. Not true. VW overseas is considered pariah car. Everybody buys it. From your doctor to your garbage collector.

The VW is a people’s car with no prestige and status

Bye bye VW and bye bye VGM. Already your sales are plumetting because of the unresolved DSG scandals and the very bad 1 month wait service your SC centres take in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 99
      • yeap, spoken to few VW salesman…they just having prob selling any vw due to its bad reputation…guess now VGM is changing tactic, shoving their premium brand Audi’s down Msian throats by cutting price. Guys, stay away from this A3 1.4, its using the infamous dry clutch DCT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 34
        • better buy Japs.. or even Proton.. peace!
          -My name is Tris, I support Gaza.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 60
          • Protonist on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Thanks for supporting Proton. But better stay out of people business.

Better think of how to contribute on MH17 investigation and give back the victim the truth they deserved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • bisakeris (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 7:39 pm

i hv a toyota n a proton.. both r ok..
            -My name is bisakeris n i suppory GAZA!!!-
            -pray4mh370mh17-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 41
          • policeman on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:38 pm

I wanna buy a Qoros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Tan Sri Lim on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:18 pm

You talk rubbish la small kid (audi) Go and study first, when you have money then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • GTR36 (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Even my 72 yr old mother-in-law who has zero knowledge of cars told me not to buy the Golf because its a VW!

• HH Sim on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Stupid idiot, go and check the sales figures la. VW cars selling better than all other European cars this year.. Where dead? Maybe your d**k la dead,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 30
        • W204 C63 AMG on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Yeah right. With their silly advert on radio on the Polo, Golf, Jetta and Passat for 199 and 699 per month for the first year, they must be having lots of sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
          • Long S on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:13 pm

It sells right silly MB car salesman? So beat it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Eichi Toyoda on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Obviously some of you do not know how to read. This is an Audi topic. If you are a car salesman and want to bring down VW, please look for other links. Enough stupid tactics here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
      • Tan Sri Lim on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Too many college kids in this site talking rubbish. Hafriz and Paul Tan, you better register all those who want to comment here to prevent college kids from talking rubbish here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • not salaryman on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:49 pm

But you r just a salaryman and a daddy’s son. A loser in the society. So you should shut up too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • aiyoo, audi is owned by vw…if audi doin well, vw will prosper…heard audi germany will take over from drb hicom and they will set up office at VW’s building Bangsar…anyway, its VW Group Malaysia (VGM), guess soon the rest of the brand will come over to Msia…ie SEAT, Skoda, Ducati, Lambo, Bugatti under VGM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Maniac on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:56 am

Do you happened to know that VW owns a lot of luxurious car brands??
        Do you also know Audi shares the same engines with VW.
        What do you mean by real German 1.4 engine???

• Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Better top up another RM20+k for the BMW 316i, a segment higher than the A3, a proper rear wheel drive car, a stronger BMW badge and IMO it looks better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 19
      • ABTguy (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Haha, you pay RM20k more for a CKD car !!

Try to hold you hand on 316 rear door handle, and then start twisting and see what you will hear. The build quality is notoriously bad for CKD 3 series !

I rather take a well built CBU, and save my RM20k. Cheaper roadtax too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
        • Josh Ling on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:56 pm

….and suffer the dry dual clutch problem. no thanks. it’s simply too notorious nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
        • Das Auto on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:35 am

compare apple to apple la. Better say you buy E-class. The A3 is competing with 2 series, too small inside to compare with F30 3 series.

• policeman on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:41 pm

It’s always about looks isn’t it?

But then only the mechanics are gonna be looking at your BMW, as the car will be spending most of its time with them.

• Oh..any news to whom the franchise is going to? is VAG taking over (ie..thru VGM?)

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:55 pm

In case if you do not notice, VW overseas has both conventional manual transmission and DSG selling together, where manual is standard equipment and totally different approach in this country. Buyer still has manual transmission to choose if scare of DSG issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • megavalve on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Those can’t afford A3 can always go buy Saga SV, both have similar simple dashboard design too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • vw polo sedan = proton saga
        audi a3 = vw jetta
        a better buy wud b, maybe accord? 508?
        -My name is Tris, I support Gaza.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
  • Hmm
    Audi’s website doesn’t list the 1.8 A3 as a Quattro based car??! Unless you really want to have the Quattro system, why would you pay more for the 1.8 A than for the 1.8 A4??

Think Audi should consider bringing in the Sportback version which at least cater to a different market segment.

• Keong on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:35 pm

if the ppl wan to pay more 60k…because he wan the AWD quattro…! A4 with quattro…how much? almost 300k right?

• Because for Quattro, wet dual cluth instead of CVT and faster acceleration

• aji wan on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:41 pm

make it an affordable ckd, i bet lots of vw user will jump for the 1.4 tfsi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • DSQ200 on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:51 pm

and suffer the same fate…7 speed dry clutch DCT, its the same gearbox ler i guess..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Glad that give buyers option to upgrade to the B&O sound system at a rather affordable RM4k. If don’t want, can keep the stock system. So, add the option as you please, and as your wallet allows.

However, one must be careful when comparing this to the 316i. The BMW, slow as it is, is still in a class above, so its bigger inside, though not as well equiped as the CBU A3. The BMW propeler badge is also of a higher pecking order than the 4 rings. As for me, id still prefer the 316i over the base A3. RM180k for a FWD car (its more expensive than a VW Passat which is a lot roomier inside) is not as good value as a bigger F30 with proper luxury RWD layout. As for the A3 1.8, its just going to be RM10k cheaper than the soon to be launched Infiniti Q50 (which is in the same class as the 316i & is also RWD). I can imagine people complaining that the Infiniti is just a lux’ed up Nissan, but if it does it really well (better than any Nissan can), and comes with Japanese reliability, then why should it not be considered?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • GTR36 (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Sorry to disagree..you pay 240k for a 1.8, wet clutched quattro, add 4k for B&O sound system and the car is imported compared to a similarly priced F30, slower non 4wd and assembled in Gurun! I’m not even bothered to look at the 1.4 with the dry clutch.

F30 should be compared to the A4 anyway as A3 is being compared to the 1 series which starts around the same price region.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:59 pm

the 1.8 version is bonkers…and what about reliability of the 1.4 dsg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Henry on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:37 pm

As reliable as the one in the VW Golf/Scirocco 1.4. LoL.

• Garfield on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:01 pm

I own a DSG6 VW and it has been reliable. Has clocked 170K km since 2008. While I cannot say the same for DSG7, my research so far points to avoid 2009-2011 cars. That means 2012 and later cars should be ok. It might not be perfectly resolved (said to use mineral oil to substitute the synthetic used in colder climate), but it is not a bad move altogether. Just need to faithfully service the gearbox. Hey it’s much cheaper compared to our DSG6 cars, there’s no point to skimp on it. Anyway, listen to all distractors please, I’m due to buy a 2nd hand DSG7 car in 2016 and I want to buy it cheap!!!!!

• longjaafar on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:05 pm

As long as it is imported, it will never be competitive, when faced with BMW and Mercedes.
    For RM 29000 more, one can get the BMW 316i. So still want a junior Audi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Apa ini? Macam compare Preve CFE, add RM60K more can buy Camry base line.

• mootkam on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:36 pm

eyeing for 1.4tsi A3..but i got a lot of feedback about poor reliability of the DSG.. is it as bad as the VW’s? same right??

• Garfield on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Please…. please…. listen to them. I want a damn cheap DSG car come 2016 (still have one more year warranty for 2012 cars)

• Alan Teng on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Why??? Why is the 7 speed (DRY)????? OMG… What a waste…

• the 1.4 using a 7 speed dry clutch DCT? if this the same as the gearbox used by VW’s….better stay away, its just not suitable to our hot weather & stops starts traffic jam. My guess, the 1.8 using a wet clutch DCT…its more suitable here.

• My guess, since VW owned Audi…is the same 7 speed dry clutch gearbox and the same 1.4 engine sharing wt the Mk7 golf (turbocharged only which is more durable than the twincharged-supercharge & turbocharge of the previous mk6 golf)…engine shud be ok but the dry clutch DCT still the achilles…my 2 cents

• get the 1.8 version…shud be using the wet clutch version if u have extra 60k to burn

• Garfield on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:18 pm

My research so far points to avoid 2009-2011 DSG7 cars. That means 2012 and later cars should be ok. Just need to faithfully service the gearbox. It’s much cheaper compared to DSG6 cars, there’s no point to skimp on it. Anyway, listen to all distractors please, I’m due to buy a 2nd hand DSG7 car in 2016 and I want to buy it cheap!!!!!

• Scare gearbox have problem and the rear light is copy Lexus IS,rear seat leg room is limited.Buy Mercedes Benz C class more better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • is the s-line package available for the 1.4 TFSI also? or only exclusively for the 1.8

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Checked with Euromobil, the S line upgrade package is only available on the 1.8 TFSI quattro model, unfortunately.

Story updated as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:56 pm

No special full build your own Audi?

• Ic.. Thanks.. One more question.. The alacarte panaromic sunroof for 1.4 will it be like the sline black jeadliner or an awkward sunroof tiba tiba

• mr curious on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Anyone knows about the engine reliability of the 1.4tsi a3 variant?? Is it problem free or same as VW 7speed?? Mr Alan Teng, what’s wrong with 7 speed dry ?? I’ve no idea…tq guys…

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:36 pm

mr curious, the 7 speed dsg got no problem. It is standard features that the gearbox need to rest for a while after getting too hot. So you just need to stop your car at the road side, call for assistance, and collect your car back at their workshop after weeks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • mr curious on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Haha…okay I get it…

• I’m not too stupid to believe it works that way. Wasting my life for that gearbox to run again. What a low quality car!

• Alan Teng on Aug 04, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Some says “it’s a Night Rider…” (For the unit with 7 speed dry DSG). I would say with the ingredient of “KL Traffic” and “Malaysia Red Hot Sun” its a disaster for the 7 speed dry DSG. I almost put a cheque on a CBU Jetta way back in year 2012, and after all the research I have done… God bless I make the right decision. (I still love Volkswagen soo much because of it stability,handling and fuel consumption). My own experience at high way speed at 160-200 on a BMW 328 with a Polo GTI during Mid Night to JB, the Polo GTI cant even last for half an hour already double signal at road side bcz of the 7 speed DSG (btw I am not encouraging speeding)…

• mr curious on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Hmm…guess the dsg 7 speed is worrisome…what do u think about the bmw 316i?? Is it a good deal rather than this??

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:39 am

Well, the 316i is not a BAD car. For the badge, price point and the space, it is actually pretty decent and a good entry point into the premium market.

2 things I’d consider though:

1. If you can afford it, try for the 320i. Personally I prefer the N20B20 engine over the N13B16 engine, for the part where you get more torque on the 320i over the 316i. Also I tend to find the 316i’s engine a bit noisier, probably cause you work it more… It depends on driving style. In town use, the 316i should be fine. But if you plan to do more high speed miles, consider the bigger engine as it would be a bit more effortless than the 316i.

2. At the similar price point, take a look at the A4 1.8T. It’s not a bad car actually for the price. Go in with no preconceptions on the CVT and you would be impressed. One of the bigger advantages on an Audi is that the 1.8T has more electronics than the 316i and you get a 4 year warranty instead of 2 year pathetic warranty on the BMW.

However, if you are talking about dynamic driving, I’d still lean on the BMW over the Audi. The Audi is a fab cruiser, but it is devoid of any steering feel. Oh and there is the new C class coming too, but not too sure if there will be a base model to go against the 316i or not.

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:16 pm

4wd against rear wheel drive, bro. Also imported vs local assembled, 4 years warranty vs 2 years +3yrs BSRi.

Going to check out the models at Glenmarie on the 23rd..

• mr curious on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:28 pm

I don’t mind being underpower because 316i is categorised underpower by the speed demon…200+kmh is already a satisfaction for me :)
            But still i hate the 2 years warranty… >_<

• mr curious on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Besides the A3 1.4, I think of getting the bmw 316i..what do u think about it? Is it a good deal?

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:11 am

If you don’t mind under power.. its a good deal. At least better that this A3 1.4

• mr curious on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Do u have any info about the 316i maintenance??? Is it consider acceptable or it’s gonna be a headache…hehe

• Garfield on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Just sharing my research. Some combos of DSG + TSI doesn’t work well. Polo GTI should be avoided, it extracts too much from too small engine. Try avoid 160hp versions from 1.4TSIs from others too. My 140hp from 1.4TSI has been ok for 6 years now. Want more power, look for 1.8TSI, combined with 2012 and later DSG7s should be ok. The torque output is ok with any combo

• Garfield on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Sorry I should explain that VW group is a company that makes different sizes of sausage from the same meat. So your Jettas might not differ mechanically from your Passats and A3. What may differ is built quality. You can buy your Audis and maintain like a VW. I buy my spareparts myself and when they share the same parts bin; they cost the same. The part numbers will be different; so it shall be wise to be friendly with the local spare parts dealer to know the similarities.

• Iniesta on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Some said vw will break down everyday, some said vw car can’t be drive in hot country , just like some say you are idiot , would you believe in the ” some say” without any justification.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:37 pm

This has to be the worst move Audi could have made. When I went over to Audi Glenmarie about a month and a half ago in search of the A3 and hopefully putting down money for one, I was quite shocked when I saw it in real life. (Someone was getting their 1.4 delivered when I was there).

Proportionally it looks very small, almost B segment like. It definitely looks smaller on the outside compared to a Cerato. Probably due to the way the car was styled. The thing that was a decision factor for me was (I was looking at the 1.8T) while the A3 had a nice DSG wet clutch and all, the 1.8T from the A4 was slightly cheaper and had more torque. And more so, the A4 itself which is supposed to be one size larger than the A3 was just nice (not sure why is it that Audis tend to be smaller inside than Mercs and BMWs). On the space basis alone I was put off from the A3.

Also, I was hoping that the A3 would have had a lower price than the initial pricing told by the salesperson there. (Speaking of which, for once a salesperson actually bothered to come to speak to us, a first in my few visits to Audi to see the A3/A4).

As much as the 180k price seems enticing, I mean an Audi for the price of an Accord or Camry, the problem is it is too small. And the empty 1.4T’s spec list makes the larger 316i make more sense too for a bit more money. Not sure if MB still does the C180 or not, but that too is another decent option.

What a mess Audi, the 1.4T should have been 170k and the 1.8T for nothing more than 200k. After all, Audi could have used the A3 to revive its now slow sales after the A6Hybrid stopped selling in Malaysia.

Oh, and by the way, for the 1.8T, you could get the 320i instead for 238k and pocket the balance 2k for a nice holiday to Bali or something. Or get an iPhone. Or even use it to offset one of the BMW’s monthly payments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • mystvearn on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:52 pm

I agree with all the points here.

Just buy the BMW, remove the 316 (if you feel ashamed of entry-level 3 series). Otherwise should be fine. Or just get a Cerato/Suprima. More kit than both cars.

• you sound like a bmw salesman scared that the new A3 will take your sales away.People who is getting the A3 will not consider space as main criteria, Audi is targeting people who is buying A250 or other conti B segment buyers. Who cares about 316 nowadays anyway, build quality is pathetic with stupid BSRI warranty doesnt makes it a better choice.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:31 am

Er….

If I was a BMW salesman, why on earth would I bother going to Audi to buy an A4?

I’d be saying raves about the BSRI (which is nonsense, have to agree on that one)…

PS: FYI, the A3’s interior is not as nice as a Golf 7 imo. The tiny switches on the dash don’t cut it for me.

• seancorr on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:00 am

Yep the A3 is tiny on the inside. I’m short and I still find it cramped inside the car. There’s no way this will be a good family car so best option is the 316i for value and better spec (full leather, full electric seats, front & rear parking sensor, etc)

Oh well at least we can kiss Euromobil goodbye. They’ve done nothing to improve Audi in Malaysia.

• Jules on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:18 pm

The A3 is based on the golf mqb chassis. Thefore it would be the same drivetrain as the Golf Mk 7. This A3 shouldn’t be compared with 3series/c class.

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:30 am

Fully agree. I believe their main target is MB CLA200. Just see how they price the 1.8 variant… just 5k extra and you will get a more powerfull 4 wheel drive.

• If still using the dry clutch 7 speed, i would rather wait for passat B8…

• mr curious on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:00 am

I think the new 2015 passat will be using same engine…is it??

• just like that on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:22 pm

why everyone is complaining abt the dry clutch in VW but not with Audi cars in malaysia?

It is the same gearbox so therefore prone to the same problems. Audi buyers just accept it?

Just curious…

• The company i work in solely buys their company cars from audi, mostly the a4 1.8 and 2.0 and there hasnt been any gear box problems at all and the cars are 1-3 years old. There’s an old suspension noise on the 1.8s but nothing so far that will leave the car stranded. Maybe we’re just lucky?

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Most of them use wet clutch so no problems reported.

• 7yearsfd1 on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:38 pm

the MMI included doesn’t have navigation system? even as option?

• Potential Audian on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I thought the earlier post was mentioned the 1.4 litre engine produces 140 PS from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,750 to 3,000 rpm? Why now is downgraded to 122hp/200Nm??

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/06/22/audi-a3-sedan-1-8-t-previewed/#ixzz39PlSH9vq

• 7yearsfd1 on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:49 pm

yup even all the review ive seen on 1.4 mention the 250nm , are we the only 1 got the A1 engine?

I know India got the 1.8 n 2.0 variant

• Therealmaserati on Aug 04, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Absolutely bullocks pricing !

180k for a pathetic 1.4T engine? Better off in an accord 2.4!!

Now why would I pay 240k for a freaking 1.8 Jetta?!!!
    When I can get a A250 at a cheaper price and looks a million times better! Or a Golf GTI mk7!!! Or even a BMW320i!

This A3 looks damn cheap in real life! Interior looks like a Proton! Goodluck to those idiots selling this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • 7yearsfd1 on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Anyone seeing the pic from 1.4 variant “Image ID – 261480” the starter keyslot

What is this? melted/cracked plastic? or some picture error?

• hahaha..most prob they forgot to change to mineral oils since according to vw, the mechatronic of the dry clutch dsg can react in hot weather if still using synthetic oil and melt the plastic in the gearbox which caused damaged to the dry dsg units..bla..bla..bla…hahahahaha….idiots VAG!!! apsal still using defective gearbox made by Borg Wagner, just stick to normal torque converter box lerrr or just stick a manual instead of this hand grenate waiting to explode in the unsuspecting owner’s face

• 1.4 gets 7 speed dry clutch!?
    Sweat…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Come come, cheap sales even not cheap at all.

Although dsg 7spd but bcoz cop Audi at gront sure will not dry as vw, trust me Audi premium luxury brand, no worry there will be wet in the dry

• Hi guys

For quattro, have anyone of you consider Subaru Legacy with 2.5 turbo? Is AWD with 265bhp. I got offered rm199k for one.

Apamacam?

• heybadigol on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:00 am

I love Subarus & have great respect for them for making no nonsense cars that dont cater to market demands (they create their own market). They make tough cars with great reliability and an awesome AWD system. But luxury cars, they are not. Audi is a luxury brand, but not as tough or reliable. I wanted to get a Forester XT (the ultimate sleeper SUV after they removed the hood scoop). But it costs around RM200k, which is luxury car segment money. So, does one go for reliability & peace of mind durin ownership or get a luxury car, and be prepared for huge maintenance bills. Tough decision this one.

Anyways, the price they offered you is after a huge discount right? As the Legacy is about to be replaced by a newer generation. Its a sweet car. So, are you getting one?

• vee dud on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:48 pm

wah clever ler this VW group…cannot sell VW due to defective TSI & DSG, now they are goin to shove Audis down Msian throats using diff name..ie TFSI & what the heck they call this dry DSG in Audi linggo??

• Seems like all the model number 3 cars are suffering from stupidity. There could have been 1000s of Mazda 3s on the road by now if priced correctly. There could have been another 1000s of Audi A3s, if spec’d with a damn 6 speed wet clutch while being cheaper. Sell cars? Go fly kite lah

• Erick on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:11 am

No rear seat middle armrest? ill pass this one. Youre welcome.

• old dog on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:03 am

open door for Naza to parallel import more Audi car now

• nasi_ayam on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:10 am

I prefer go for an AP Audi A5 sportsback with that kinda price.

• Hahaha on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:18 am

Omg.. Pricey upgrades plus nt-really-luxury interior.. Zzz.. Better add few more thousands for a Lexus IS 250~

• yup agreed…at least the Lexus will last a lifetime and after sales is TOP notch, u be treated like kings!

• libralcl on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:19 pm

with a low-resolution 5.8-inch colour display :(

• Chris W. on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Surprisingly, I dont see the rear armrest :(

• merc+bmw+audi on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:22 am

i got all 3 brands and i will never touch VW
    gth to all salesman here with ur propa

• Kienu on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:00 pm

so bro merc+bmw+audi, do u reckon/include audi under the VW brand?

• KAVITHA RANIE on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:51 am

I LIKE VGM AND AUDI. MY HUSBY HAS BOTH GOLF AND A4. BETTER THAN JAP JUNKS. MY NAME IS KAVITHA RANIE AND I DUN SUPPORT GAZA OR ISREAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Chong Ah Boon on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Haiya so cheap liao, now I can buy one and park in front of my chicken lice shop. evelybody think I lich mah. so lich dlive audi. want to booking liao. can get audi key chain mah.

• Sakdun bin mat on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:12 pm

syukur dapat beli kereta ini kelak. ini semua kerana kerajaan yang baik. kurangkan harga dan bagi hamba bawak audi. balik kampong lagi sedap.

• cloud1704 on Aug 10, 2014 at 10:45 pm

wonder why Audi didn’t bring in 1.4 engine configuration as Golf Mk7?

• Im eyeing for lexus and audi for my first car below 200k.. But too bad the 1.4 engine uses the dry clutch.. Why la audi??? Gonna get back eyeing those lexus chicks.. Heard after sale service for lexus is excellent too..