Chevrolet Malaysia teases Malibu on FB, coming soon

chevy-malibu-fb-teaser

Chevrolet Malaysia has teased a new model on its Facebook page with a “Coming Soon” caption. The distinctive double square LED tail lights tell us that the upcoming model is the Chevrolet Malibu. The Cruze’s big brother will battle in the D-segment sedan arena dominated by the Camry, Accord and Teana.

This will come as no surprise to paultan.org readers, though. We’ve told you that the Malibu was coming since January, when a dealer flyer featured the big sedan. In March, another dealer posted an ad on classifieds site oto.my, promoting a 2.4 Ecotec Malibu with an indicative price of RM163,000.

More recently, we ourselves spotted a black Malibu at Naza Auto Mall, and a check with sales personnel revealed an estimated price of RM175k and a RM15k discount for the first 500 early birds. The Chevy is imported CBU from South Korea.

Underpinned by GM’s Epsilon II platform, the global car is available with engines ranging from a 2.4 Ecotec (165 hp/225 Nm) to a 3.0 V6 with 260 hp/290 Nm. There’s also a 260 hp 2.0 turbo and a 160 hp/350 Nm 2.0 VCDI diesel motor. We will most likely get the naturally-aspirated 2.4 litre Ecotec.

Not sure about how it drives, but the Malibu brings something different to the segment – there’s a whiff of “American muscle” from the Camaro-inspired rear end, but that’s as far as the “muscle” goes.

Chevrolet Malibu at Naza Auto Mall

Chevrolet Malibu at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• turboman on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Bring in the v6. The is absolutely zero 6 cyl engines available in new cars anymore until u get above Rm270k. Teana 2.5 has gone 4 cyl in the latest iteration. Accord 3.5 is not availabe in malaysia.

Once u have tried a 6cyl. Its hard to turn back to 4. Roadtax and fuel will be more, but the feel is completely different. Refinement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • policeman on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Tipu.
      Last time I drive Perdana V6 2001. Later I test drove Camry 2.0 year 2002. Camry engine was more refined. Both cars around the same age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • AVH (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:39 pm

And the same thing on how they say once you go 8, you’ll never go back, or when you go 12, your live is fulfilled. As of now, people who are looking at the D-sagment wants comfort, space and peace-of-mind. Performance is probably the last thing in their mind but rather, refinement.

• turboman on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Your comment is the only 1 worth replying.

Well. There is always a market for refinement and power for d segment and above. Not big I agree but there are. 335i. 535i, e300 e350. So it is not zero.

Im actually thinking of getting a used accord 3.5. I know roadtax and fuel would be higher. But ever since I sold my 335i inline 6 and driving a 4 potter now, I do miss the snoothness of a 6 potter everytime I start my car.

V8 cars are quite rough and noisy. Dont reallly like the sound.

• sutrak on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:53 pm

refine kepala otak.. turbo is the way to go for engines.. not the dinosaur sizee NA engines that only the americans love.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • OMG…MARITAPAO…yucks…ugly like sxxx….will be another alien car…

• American car that is fully imported from S. Korea. It’s rally remind me of kpop stars with blond hair & blue eyes… their looks scream ‘America!’ but underneath they are just Asian…

• impaled on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:54 pm

forget the malibu.. it’s the korean chick that’s worth a f*ck with me in the island malibu.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Hyundai Nu engine better than Daewoo Ecotec

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:45 pm

They call it Ecotec but from the figures I’ve come across, it isn’t actually very eco.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Totally agreed, get an Italic-H rather than a bow tie

• I like the rear of this car.. but the front looks abit outdated

• ultra taro on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:02 pm

save gaza :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Kimchi on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Anyeong haseyo? Nooooo good, neh.

• Jimmy on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Nothing outstanding + poor RV (in this price bracket, buyers are still calculative). Cannot sell at this price. RM149K perhaps. RM175 for the V6 then it’s ok.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:37 pm

‘What did Ford said to GM’
    ‘I dont recall’

Okay lame jokes aside, I have very pesimistic on Chevys success here. Its not that the Melibu here is a bad car, but unless is priced ludacrisly cheap, theres nothing that will attract people into the showroom. Looks….meh, spec….meh, performance….also so-so. The Accord has its comfort, the Optima for its looks, the 6 for its performance and the Teana, for its jack of all trades….there’s no one factor that the Melibu actually stands out…..other than being a differnt brand.

• Hukaka on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Price will kill the sales.

• cassius on Aug 04, 2014 at 7:35 pm

agree.. New malibu in korea only start from 24000000won, around RM78000. It is too much expensive!
      http://www.chevrolet.co.kr/vehicle/malibu-style.gm

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Don’t talk about 163k, extra 20k cheaper at 143k oso hard to sell

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Naza should have made a little extra effort.

Make the 2.0T the standard motor. And sell it at 175K. At least a little bit of muscle under the hood to go with the “looks”. Appeal to the enthusiasts. Enthusiasts don’t care about RV. It would carve itself a good niche. The 2.0L would have made it the most powerful in its class. At least until the other Koreans bring in their 2.0 GDI Turbo.

I drove a pre-facelift Malibu with the 3.6L V6 engine option. The ride and handling was actually surprisingly good….more compliant than the Accord but firmer than the Camry, with a good dose of front end grip….but the V6 lacks refinement compared to Honda and Toyota’s V6…although they did tune the exhaust and intake for a bit of interesting note. The NVH is commendable though.

• Ainon on Aug 04, 2014 at 7:27 pm

I’ve said it before, the Malibu competing with the Accord, Camry & Teana (Altima) but selling at a higher price is just marketing suicide. Naza should instead sell the Chevy Impala. At least the buying public can see the better value they’re getting for the money they’re paying.

• consrito on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Brand = Tak boleh
    Engine = Tak boleh
    Outlook = Macam tak boleh
    RV = Banyak tak boleh
    Name (Malibu) = Apek cina: Apa lu cakap? Sekali lagi lu cakap wa sepak sama lu!!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:23 pm

2016 to have 2014 stock with 60k discount at 103k. All u need to do is just wait for another 1&1/2 yrs

• Samad Jain on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:57 pm

When Chevrolet…..Mali
    Then kena……Buuu

• Marse9 on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Typical kampung Malaysians! Everything new comes in always being negative, trying to reject even though tengok pun tak pernah. Stop making yourself look stupid at least we have other options rather than buying so called “better RV” mainstream accord, Camry & teana.