Great Wall M4 – complete price list for variants out

Great_Wall_M4_Malaysia_ 004

The on-the-road price list for the Great Wall M4 is out, with pricing for all the variants revealed – a hat tip to reader Eddy for sending us the details.

Pricing with insurance starts from RM46,990 for the Standard to RM56,990 for the Premium in manual form, while the auto versions start from RM48,990 for the Standard right up to RM59,990 for the Premium. The final pricing is close to that bandied about during the launch last month, which was from RM45k to RM59k.

As reported, six variants of the M4 are listed as being on sale, three manuals and three automatics, in Standard, Comfort and Premium trim levels. Initial deliveries of the compact SUV are set to begin this month.

The first examples will be 40 manual transmission CBU units from China, and another 160 manual CBU vehicles are set to make up the second batch. Following this, local assembly takes over, with the CKD M4 slated to begin rolling out from the company’s Gurun plant in October. It will then only be sold in automatic transmission form.

great wall m4 pricelist
Click to enlarge.

The M4 – available only in front-wheel drive guise – is powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT MPI four-pot offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm.

Standard equipment across the line-up includes four disc brakes, ABS and EBD with brake assist, powered windows all-around, steering wheel audio controls, manual four-way adjustment front seats, dual airbags and front/rear foglights. When the CKD auto variants arrive, they will feature ESP in the mix.

In terms of trim, the Standard variant features fabric seats, a four-speaker CD audio system, manual air-conditioning, a polyurethane steering wheel, and sits on 15-inch wheels and 195/60 series tyres.

The Comfort version moves things up to a leather steering wheel, two-tone fabric seats, reverse sensors, a six-speaker audio system, auto air-con and 16-inch wheels with 205/60 tyres. The Premium, meanwhile, features leather seats, a rear spoiler and reverse camera on top of the equipment found on the Comfort.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:35 am

Too good to be true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 157
      • fast5 on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Most of the electronic products/phone batteries is made from China.
        So u don’t use phone?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 5
        • rider on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:37 pm

iphone is product of US. Quality and originality of this products is monitored and verified by US the owner of the product. Iphone and other products are just assembled in china becoz of cheap labour. But this car is pure china creation. That`s y people scared to death to support this car. China products are famous for fake, low quality and all the shit u can imagine. even china have fake chicken egg. LOL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 107
          • I can live without china products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 69
          • Confused 22 on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Many countries do produces fake or immitations like Thailand,Hong Kong,China and Malaysia is in the circles of producing fake and rebadging.China products do have fake but dont forget they passed QC certifications and have export their products globally.The reasons is many importers in order to cut down facilities to the cars in order for better profit marginsWhat do you expect when you give out peanuts ,you got monkeys.

• Why so Defensive? on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Never trust the Chinese in China. The problem with Chinese in Malaysia, they cannot think straight when someone condemns China. They get defensive.

Truth is, China products are so low in quality. Chinese people in Malaysia always think it is an attack upon them and their race if you say China product is so low in quality.

Nobody can deny this. Buying handphone is one thing. At the most, we lose RM1000. But do you dare spend RM50k on a china car?

Those who talk big about China cars, why you yourself not using Cherry in Malaysia? Why is Cherry sales so bad that you can never see any on the road?

Many in PT talk big. They become keyboard warrior and support Great Wall and all that. But ask them what car they will really buy, they secretly will buy a Toyota or a Honda.

The same with TVs. If you support China so much why do you go hunting for the Samsung LED all over KL? Why you don’t buy Akira or GC (Gelombang Cekal) LED TV? Then they come online and say China products are so good and got QC and all that but go to their house, you see a Samsung LED.

Handphone also, why not buying Huawei, ZTE and Xiaomi? I know so many people so clever to be keyboard warrior and say Xiaomi is the best phone and all that, but see their pocket, they will take out a Samsung S4 or S5.

Remember one thing, if China can go to the extent of putting melamin in baby milk and killing so many babies, they are capable of doing anything.

Globally, everyone will forgive China because nobody dare penalise the biggest global economy and jeaopardize their bussiness and China market. All countries kowtow to China despite all their products being low in quality cause of their vast market.

But do you, as a consumer, dare to cough out RM50k on a China made car?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 161 Thumb down 217
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:48 pm

u oni generalize china company all bad.. not all of them are bad..some of them make best high quality product with attractive pricing..lol xiaomi hard to buy even i cant get 1(official way)..better u check ur lapply or tabby that u use now maybe melamin inside.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:58 pm

You want best quality, go for Germans car (some brand only)

You want good quality and affordable, go for Jap cars.

You want average quality and cheap, go for Perodua.

You want poor quality but not so cheap, go for Proton.

Great Wall quality is yet to be determined, but definitely cheap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 27
          • jessy on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Germans car is truck tower’s best friend, Jap car dun have quality nowadays, perodua tin milo cheap safety, proton good but no name badge, m4 got asbestos inside, cancer FOC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Proton cars are good especially when they are in showroom/warehouse. No one even killed inside a Proton in the showroom.

Proton is so good that they can’t even make power windows right and here comes the LIFETIME WARRANTY.

You don’t need warranty for stuff that doesn’t break easily. Do we see lifetime warranty for steering wheel or gear stick?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
          • Aiks? on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:51 am

and Huawei,Alcatell,HTC,Lenovo,Oppo,Vivo??

• megavalve on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Are you buying Pensonic TV, Khind, Singer products?

Hypocrite of the highest order! Ptuiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Well, I have owned a Hafei Lobo under the guise of Naza Sutera. I was very happy with the car in terms of build quality and consumption (below 110kms/hour).
          Yes, am aware that its crash rating was an equivalent of throwing a child from a 100-storey building, but in as far as the car itself, I hade few complaints.
          Not all China-made cars are a joke, just as not all Malays, Chinese or Indians are racist lorr.
          As for Cherys, plenty of them on the road, albeit Eastar lorr. I see the odd A240 here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
        • fsfsfs on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Who are you to say all Malaysian Chinese is this this that that? Please be rational and keep out racist comment in any discussion.

As a Malaysian Chinese, I never have any relation/emotion/reaction about China matters. (Malaysia is my home, yo) My friends (Msian Chinese) and I would love to joke about how bad and how funny in some cheapo Chinese engineered products. We came out with a theory saying that China Engineers are so ‘good’ that they control how ‘bad’ their products are, but still usable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
        • Now I'm Defensive! on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:51 pm

If u’ve used “SOME chinese in M’sia”, I would’t have to come out and taruk u.

Firstly, being a M’sian chinese, like u, I don’t trust China brands, and not China made products. But this is just my opinion. I wouldn’t condemn those who buy it. Afterall, it’s their money. No need u to come out all guns blazing and hammering all chinese.

I’ve heard too many horror stories about China man cutting corners just to earn an extra few buck.

Lastly, I think u owe some off here an apology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • Malaysian Malay on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Guys, stop all this rasicms nonsense! This is car site. malaysian chinese, malay, indian, etc are all malaysian! We do condemn china product! But aku x stuju klo kita kaitkn dgn saudara se-malaysia dgn kita… doesnt means if there’s a chinese guy defending that china brand car, he is defensive, may b he really do likes the car. If every1 in this world have the same taste.. Then we will all use the same brand/even models of cars, wear same color of t-shirts, n eat the same food daily.. n then all go die.. Berbilang bangsa, berbilang citarasa, berbilang jenis kereta, ada suka, ada x suke, keep racism/politics/etc out of this car site..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • No Name on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Why so racist? From your comment, I already know you are not Chinese and a fxxking racist.

I am a Chinese, but I don’t like Chinese from China, or even HK neither.

I am owning a Xiaomi now. However it is not because I like and support China products. It is because it is cheap with minimum acceptable quality compared to buatan Malaysia with average price but sucks quality.

If you ask me to buy a Myvi for RM50k or a M4 for RM50k, I will go for M4. Simple reason, 50k for sucks buatan Malaysia vs minimum acceptable Made in China product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
        • Chunguo Chia Yu on Sep 01, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Proud of Chinese products and yes I will buy. You bloody racist!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Steven Yik on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I’m fetching out RM45K to buy the M4.To me,it looks like the Range Rover at the front,the back looks like the Mini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Richard on May 23, 2016 at 9:46 am

Sorry for the delay in adding to this chat… I do not agree on what you said as first thing is if you pay for peanuts you get peanuts.

Yes China is know for cheap and fake stuff but they also have high quality as well as high quality fakes. Basically you pay what you get so if you but a RM20 rolex when compared to a Grade A Fake Rolex which you pay RM300 +- of course the higher grade would function much better and last longer.

By the way I did make a booking for H2 which will be launching on Wed the 25th May 2016 and I am using Hisense LEV TV as well as other CHINA MADE PRODUCTS. I have no problem with them.

If you wanna comment look at a Jag car, I know someone with it and it too gave problem just after one year so it all depends on your luck as well as what you paid for it. Doesn’t mean if its made in China its bad.

Also for those of you who says you can leave without China Made products, please disassemble your equipment and check all the parts to be sure there is none from China, chances are some if not all your components are from China so live with it of just bloody shut up.

• propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:14 pm

On to the march of Propaganda, gentlemen !

• What is the reason Proton asking 1.7 billion duit rakyat?? To fight off cheap China cars? HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 31
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:11 pm

The money for the cronies to get Bentley and continue to ask design from 14 years old boys.

Got money or not, they can’t fight with any brand, that why the awesome thing is always there – Protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • samelorstpd on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Anywhere got protection, even in China. As long as it’s not sam lorrr comment, it’s not silly

• Same L0rrr on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Everywhere also got rapist, so it is fine your family member bump into one??

Use your brain!

You may think I am silly and i don’t really give a shit on you.

In fact, whole Proton is an expensive joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Why drag proton here, if you like this car you buy la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • perodua scared to death right now.. afraid of reducing sale of myvis and axia is in trouble.. haha

• Vader (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Not bad the spec at that price range.
      But why the steering design always remind me of the previous toyota steering design. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • RON97 on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 276
    • RON100 on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Still better than P1, a lose money production by animal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 27
      • Cancer is much worse

• propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:59 pm

You remind me of this.

http://propsforsydneytown.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/hes-coming-south-2.jpg

• To everyone here.. do some research before make comment here.. your comment will be read by many readers like myself. Regarding asbestos on M4, it’s bad for you and it’s nothing new.
          Many houses in Malaysia is using asbestos roofing. Australia’s gov has ban asbestos roofing many years back… but look at Malaysia… our gov been busy with politics, sedition act, racist topic… I can see they’ve successfully brainwash some of us here. :)
          Anyway, back to car topic… :D I’ve tested the car, and was looking for any good comment here. The car… amazing exterior, attractive price, stunning “COPYCAT” engines… But I just couldn’t understand why such a big car with so little SPACE inside!! It felt like my old kelisa has more space than this so claim SUV. The dashboard and the door interior used up all those spaces. What a poor design compare to Japanese’s car… Hopefully they’ll come out good excuse that the bulky design are for safety purpose.. anyway, you guys should go test it out. China made stuff is catching up fast.

• CHINAMAN on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:23 pm

I have been dealing with Chinese products for 10 years…like others there are good and bad ones, unfortunately the goo ones were not publicised. Give China another 5 years. They will be very near Koreans & Japanese. Unlike Proton..China cars are moving forward FAST.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Take it easy, man..
      Those expensive and high quality iphone is made from china as well.. so it is poor and fake?
      And how Penang used as a description for product?
      Take a rest ya.. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
      • Kakulukia on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Please understand the difference between made in China and assemble in china. Personally I would never buy anything that is whole made in China, simply because I don’t think they have very good ethics when it comes to thinks like this. It’s a moving coffin, and I won’t risk my life with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
        • propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Tell me about it, go look at Foxconn criticisms.

• Hello, Vader…you must just woken up from coma since 1990s. Give one of many example. Dont use the phone or 3G and LTE (4G), all the network equipment and technology produced by China company (Huawei). 2nd largest in the world and rank top 5 in global patents. Huawei is invited to the European Union 5G Next Gen Mobile Network Group, to contirbute to the next generation standard and development in Europe. Even the EU also respect Cina company…you Asians still stepping on each other…DUH. No wonder the whites look down upon us South East Asians..(Malaysian in particular)as low IQs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • At mudah now also full of second hand Preve, Suprima few months old only. Full of scrap iron besi buruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 35
    • Penangite on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:25 pm

I bet more than half the products in your house are made in China. This forum is not for narrow-minded (even bordering racist) hypocrites like yourself. And what has the state of Penang has to do with a Chinese-branded car? Why don’t you tell us your state and tell us why it is NOT full of crap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
    • Boleh on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Hi Bro, i think you are still stay in cave for pass 10 years…please come out and see…many people are buying production not just make in China but China brand like phone, IT gadget…They success as they keep improving their production instead of sitting and wait fund drop from sky…Penang full of crap?! I just back from there for my holiday and i think that is the best in Malaysia..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 14
    • P1MauCina on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Proton Chairman also went China recently to seek cooperation from one China car company. How to improve P1 quality if China products are fakes, huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:49 pm

i agree with penang part but not chinese product part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • What hv penang got to do with this? Feel sorry for such uneducated comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Ngo Yih Yang on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:50 am

Watch out! Proton killer on the way!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
    • Mahathir got new excuses to blame now: “Let’s blame cheap China cars!” HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
      • If the car were to blame… then in the beginning government should not allow this car to enter here in Protonland. But then do not really understand why China car can be so cheap… even after taxed here and the T car so pricy… dun see the goood quality is there also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • fast5 on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Good question, what about I ask u back after bolehland taxes still selling low price.
          If same build quality y protong still selling same price expensive in homeland? Home product should be selling cheaper.
          Joke is Protong not even dare to competing without AP system.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:47 pm

AP? AP oni apply for imported cars not CKD…argue that if im wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • that is why i said, proton cant compete at low price, yet allow this China car to enter our market. So is that mean, government want proton dies or… proton dare to take challenge? haha.. and now ppl blame Toyota / other car cant sell low price because of proton… except this china car

• fast5 on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:00 pm

@kzm
            I waiting for somemore say this…
            If protong just dare compete without using AP system/others taxes on CBU car.

• fast5 on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:23 pm

@rock
            The answer M4 sell way cheaper before bolehland tax.
            Chinaautoweb.com/car-models/great-wall-haval-m4-suv

• I China, they got cheaper labour cost. But if without tax, Proton can sell cheaper cars too. So what?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:52 am

tax for car in boleh same for all cars..onli differ import tax..open AP onli apply for small percentage of car, 10% to be exact..

• protonloser on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Proton is no longer my favourite car. The Porton that I last bought almost got me into accident on the very 1st day when I received the car and it was due to its break failure. Worst still is when I send the car back to ask them inspect the car again, they asked me to drive till 1st 1000KM before they can do anything. By the time I send my car for d 1st service, it actually have 43 defects on the car…. believe it or not, problem here and there keep poping up and only managed to solve all the problems after 10000KM. Buying proton , better think twice. !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
  • Spirior on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:51 am

Good bargain. This is a proven model in China, sells quite well and has better build quality compared to the local rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:52 am

The sneter console reminds me of that found in Hyundais and Fords

Anyways, I saw one parked outside Jalan Kuching’s OldTown White Coffees outlet without plates(not sure whats it doing there, theres only a Mazda showroom and Ssangyoung service center). The first thing that got me was…..its actually really small, almost like a jacked-up Myvi than what I initially thought, probably smaller. From the price point I really should’t complaint.

Than (under the rain) I peeked inside, it looks…..really cramp.Not sure weather the seats are place really forwards but there was literally no legroom up front. Which than begs the question…. this is summing up to be more of a Myvi competitor than I thought, its about the same size, and not much higher, amd priced about there. Weather is it worth forgoing the reliability and fuss-free ownership of a Myvi for something different, and entirely new, your opinions may very…and considering this is not NCAP tested yet, and I havn’t heard much about GWM ownership experience.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:14 pm

This isn’t a myvi competitor, other than the price. And no one is better than Diahatsu for packaging big space inside a small shell.

The M4 is smaller than many make it out to be in the pictures, and crammped, especially the rear quarters. The short rear doors and high sills make ingree/egress quite a challenge for the less able bodied. The front leg room is also tight primarily because the floor is quite high). The boot is also quite small and high load floor.

But there is a reason for this. The car is designed with 4WD in mind, with both FWD and AWD sharing the same platform, and if you have own driven or being driven in one, you know why these shortcomings come about. It does give you a commanding seat position higher than most normal cars, the big tyres and higher ground clearance would be good for KV potholes and floods. But it is quite refreshing to the idea to what most people think a chinese product would turn out. In fact, it looks and feels better than the last generation of Koreans. Something that is quite the achievement.

I like how they have improved the interior, its still cheap plastic and the switch gear and knobs feel cheap and the displays in the radio HU dates back to my Casio calculators from the 80s.

But at the price point, these issues wont kill the product. Well, I would prefer this to the myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • ThePolygon on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Could it be it’s the same size as the Perodua Kembara?

• AVH (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:13 pm

It is a car designed with 4WD in mind but only FWD…..for now. That’s basically the drawbacks of a 4WD car without its benefits. And I kinda disagree on the right height, parked next to a Mazda 2 it’s barely taller. But I’ll just take your word on the quality.

The problem is the market, people in Malaysia wants a car that is spacious and fuss-free ownership(cheap to maintain and problem free), it’s a reason people still turn a blind eye to UMWs Toyota major drawbacks and buy Toyotas. The Myvi’s success is that reason, it’s still rather spacious and has a rather easy ownership, not to mention ignoring the sheer built quality or the lack of it, the engine can run forever…. My dad’s Alza has effectively run 5k km off the moelege date and it’s engine still feels strong(note : just the powertrain, the rest is falling apart).

Now I heard that the M4 uses te same 1NZ-FE from the Vios, but with a different transmission….. So perhaps this is really an alternative to the myvi 1.5. And since it still do not have ESP (soon to be added) is about the same spec and probably te same safety.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Dont forget the M4 has much better brakes and tyres for those excuses on the Myvi.

I hold a really dim view on manufacturers that skimp on brakes. of all things that can be skimped on. Even Proton’s old 1.3 Satrias have poor excuses as brakes. At least they have improved.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:53 pm

I think your eyes may be playing up on you, or maybe perspectives are off.

There is no way they are the same height so I had to look it up.

M4 1604mm
          M2 1485mm, which is quite tall for a sedan.

The M4 is 10cm taller.

In fact it is even taller than our Citra MPV.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:43 pm

The Honda City stands at 1477mm while the Jazz stands at 1524. aAnd between the two, the seat height is the same. I tested both. But the Jazz has a Cathedral for a ceiling compared to the relatively lower, slunk down ceiling of the City.

I’am not denying that the M4 is higher but by how much more? its by no means an Alza or Kembara that really gives a sense of view outwards. The Myvi is measured at 1545mm high, thats a 5cm advantage, hardly much, thou I believe the M4 still will come out taller but is that margin really count as an advantage. I was tnnitially thinking it would some sort of Kembara or Ecosport kind of height. and couple with teh higher floor load to accomadate the absent 4WD, you get a rather sadwhich package.

And as for the brakes, it thou listed as all round disc compared to the Myvi rear drum set up, is it really a tested advantage over teh M4? I’ve tried Sylphys and Vios before, and my it felt numb. And those are all round disc. But than again I can back Perodus’a break to be absolutely propostrous so I would’t know.

• propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:15 pm

You can’t even spell whether.

• Lane Tamer on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:53 am

What is the safety rating of this vehicle? Any info?

• clutch_plate on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:55 am

Suzuki SX4 wannabe??

• woot woot on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:56 am

I just dont understand why the gov granted EEV status to GWM. Haval is not at all an EEV.

• bobbyboo on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:50 pm

not to all models from GWM, the EEV status is only given to M4….

• Super value for money!!!

• BMW BEST on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Now i can finally afford a “///M4”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Its price around Proton GSC i guess, if its true I rather get this instead. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • victor tan (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:14 pm

I hope that this brand could provide some decent quality over the others. And perhaps kick some of their ass.

• Carnut on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:18 pm

The interior and underpinnings of this car somehow reminds me of a Perodua. I wouldn’t be able to tell if its a perodua or gem just by looking at the inside door panels and hinges. The VVT engine is a dead giveaway that its Toyota derived but the collaboration seems to be more than that based on photos. Its not bad looking and the price is right. Can’t see the build quality from the photos but this could be the best selling China car here to date.

• ah chai on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Welcome to Malaysia.
    The price would make a lot of us at least to walk into the showrooms.
    Please also bring in ur sedans and sell it cheap.

• sharuz on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Better buy preve lorr..much more value for ur money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
    • propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:18 pm

comparing SUV with Sedan?

Do you even know how to compare ?

• haudli on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:47 pm

i like the design

• farhan on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Ecosport killer.
    nevermind the quality, as long as it can ferry people around, go to wet market, sending kids to school. Not so fast still safe.
    M4 tak sombong. M4 very humble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • 6 AMT? Means automated manual transmission?

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Great Wall Motor was founded 1984 in China, is China largest SUV producer.
    Emission Standard is Euro IV for this M4.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:03 pm

WHAT THE XXXX? Once fully CKD no more manual transmission variant? Typical car dealer in Boleh Land. Forcing people to accept single equipment with the attitude “you want, take it. If not, go away”.

• powershot on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:39 pm

6 speed auto?
    with ESP?

below rm 60k?

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Wanna configure the your own car spec & accessories, pls go to US.

Wanna test drive your car a week of period which can drive back home, pls goto US.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:18 pm

So much for consumer rights then.

At least now you wont ask me to go balik tong san if I want to drive a chinese car.

• Kangkung on Aug 04, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Lookin forward…..
    Greatwall kick potong ass…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • this model may fill in the gap that P2 left over for so many years especially when the cbu nautica which too costly to own compared kembara…however this model only come with fwd and why not awd…where kembara use to have a differential lock…

• Clarence on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:07 pm

It is very surprising to see so many positive reply from Msian. I am in China and Chinese just dont like their local brand, just like Msian dont like P1. But the main reason why we dont like P1, we all know well. Anyway, Chinese carmakers are really doing their jobs well, now a lot good car, Besturn B70, Haval H6, Changan CS75 blah blah blah…..have a look how they improve and look back to P1…lol

• China carmakers designs are odd and fugly. Proton is wayyyyy better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Nope, sorry. PROTON SUCKS PROTON SUCKS PROTON SUCKS.

Wait isn’t that propaganda ? like the same you did ?

• Anthony, I’ve test driven this car in Bukit Minyak, Penang last week and was told that it utilizes Vios engine & lotsa other components from Vios too. Is it true? The brochure shows fuel consumption of 6l/100km which puts it in Vios FC territory. It makes sense as the kerb weight is just about 10kg more than the Vios.

• Wah if like that sure it can fly into drains and dividers, LOLOLOLOLOL

• plaintruth on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:47 pm

GMC cars has the safety rating which put many much more expensive cars to shame.http://www.northlandautos.co.nz/great-wall-motors/how-safe-are-great-wall-cars/

• I went to test drove this car some weeks back in Glenmarie.

For Rm46k, i have no complain at all. To skeptics, please test drive it first before commenting. You will be surprise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • XiaomiM4 on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Package with Xiaomi M4 this car will sell like hot cake.

• abahko on Aug 04, 2014 at 4:50 pm

dayyuuum GWM, Y U NO center arm rest?

• megavalve on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Proton annual sales in Bolehland = below 200K units

Great Wall Motor annual sales in China = easily 800K units

Go figure.

• rider on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:19 pm

this is pure chinese product from china that very famous for low quality products and fake products. China even manage to create fake chicken eggs that if u ate it could get cancer. How do no how many low quality and fake things has used in this car. For the buyers good luck for you. Like i said before Malaysia should banned this toy car!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
  • rider on Aug 04, 2014 at 5:20 pm

this is pure chinese product from china that very famous for low quality products and fake products. China even manage to create fake chicken eggs that if u ate it could get cancer. Do no how many low quality and fake things has used in this car. For the buyers good luck for you. Like i said before Malaysia should banned this toy car!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:24 pm

On we march with Propaganda !

I’m sorry sir but what is “do no” ? You can’t event construct a sentence properly, how could this not be a propaganda ?

• To those that sell this car, please take a look at your brochure. No figure on hp, no figure on torque, no figure on nothing. All are just accessories listing.

• Just go to the showroom and check the car out yourself instead of commenting how sucky the car is. Compare it with ploton.

• No figure on hp, no figure on torque, no figure on nothing. All are just accessories listing.

Sure lousy one. Next!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Xiaomi of car industry.

• propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:26 pm

lol if they really are, then well I don’t even know what to say.

• me: look sam, i brought a recently lauched m4!
    he: woaah cool dude, show me that bad boy!
    me: nah, the all new m4, cool right?
    he: oh.

• Paulcrap on Aug 04, 2014 at 8:52 pm

How the hell not even a single person here even notice this car body is copy from Toyota ISI?

• youcrap on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:47 pm

So what even got CLK failed immitator in China, if you feel pleased you why dun you buy it?

• Pro-nda on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Nothing see so bad quality. P1 doesn’t seems good enough to it. Y resist for under 60K car? Aging Myvi Killer also … y not..

• Albert lee on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Protong, watch out ! The Great Wall of China is here.
    Like it or not,some disappointed Proton users may be tempted to try Great Wall for a change.
    Now Protong is selling around 10,000 units monthly.After Raya,sales will dive again as the discounts n gimmicks would have dried up.
    So ,you can expect dwindling sales with these new players providing stiffer competition.

• mi car on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:21 pm

I think this m4 can sell well if they follow the mi marketing strategy, ie.5000 nos sold off in 15 sec bla bla..

• In Australia, GWM sales is better than potong. http://www.caradvice.com.au/294573/new-car-sales-figures-june-2014/

• propaganda on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:28 pm

I’m glad Australia aren’t dumb.

But wait for the propagandist, they see Rolls Royce, Bentley, Aston Martin at the bottom, they will say the more bottom the better

• I’m not against this car, but a search for safety records came up with this : http://www.iol.co.za/motoring/chinese-landwind-death-sentence-at-65km-h-1.870444#.U9-hi4CSzT8

Wondered if the tests in conclusive?

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:03 am

Toyota IST copycat…source from 1.5cc Toyota Engine, share d engine from Alza, Myvi 1.5, Rush, Avanza, Vios…semuanya sama, kecuali lampu belakang & lampu depan…

• lazyf on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:13 am

Where can I view this car in reality?
    Really wants to know more bout this car :-)

• bobbyboo on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:35 pm

i placed my booking for the premium-auto variant last week….. i had the chance to test drive as well…. it isnt bad at all…. so much more comfortable than myvi, avanza or even rush… to me, the car refinement is good…. just the legroom for rear passenger is not that big… go to the showroom and have a look at it first…. its a good car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Wei Kit Lin on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:25 pm

How about the spare parts of it ? Would it expensive that need to order spare parts fro, China.

• shashi on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:07 pm

I hv seen some good quality things made in china and works well meetings expection and of course for a cheaper price. So no doubt. Its a good deal.

• ROFL How they can price that with an import car!!!?!@?!@#? P1 P2 REVISE YOUR PRICING IMMEDIATELY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

see, china make everything possible…i hope they manage f*ck down our car’s pricing for every brand wahahahahahahah

• If this one compare what we can get with 60k in Malaysia, that is good enough.

Paultan should do a full test drive with this car. Also, to compare with the cars at the same price range.

• Mack Koh on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Come on Paul. Make a ‘Driven’ review about this car. We want to see the Pros & Cons when it’s on the road.

• Ah aHn on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:39 am

Chinese China isn’t so bad. They are super duper genius..can copy everything even “Egg”.

• great wall on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:34 pm

great wall is very potential to fully replace potong, it is win-win situation for malaysian. it would be great if all potong workshops are converted to china workshop and just let the useless potong RIP. we are welcome you, Great Wall!

• I just test drove the car today at the shah alam branch. There was quite a number of people there enquiring about the m4. In my opinion, and considering the price tag and our stupid tax system, the quality of the car is decent. Plastic quality is ok… but the doors and tailgate are light… so doesn’t really spell ‘chasis integrity’.. ride quality was good but the engine is noisy.. plus, tthere is not much room at the back considering the size of the car. For less than 50k I think it is worth considering as a second car… but if it is more than 55k then no…

• Went to Glemarie and test drive the car with my friends. All of us agree M4 better than everage car in term of quality, finishing, comfort and NVH. This write-off of our previous thought. Personaly, its better than my vios 1.5J (Second Gen.). Dont take my word. Test drive it and judge yourself.

• Dennis on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:09 am

Any idea when we get to see them on the road? and is there any crash or safety test yet?

• sohailumama on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:29 pm

latest news, the delivery of M4 is delay due to they change the model to new M4 with new front and rear bumper design plus new steering wheel as well.

• jimlabu on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:24 pm

…plus newly designed headlights incl. DRL’s, larger infotainment centre and larger boot space (from 310 to 330 litres).

• jimlabu on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:25 pm

…further additions included are cruise control (for high spec, I guess), aluminum sports pedals and ABS ESP system (BOSCH) upgraded to version 9.0. Apparently, this M4 have been sold in other countries outside China (namely Russia, S.Africa & a few S.American countries) since 2012 and hopefully they have pinpointed & solved any negative feedbacks by now…

• Veteran on Oct 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

I just read in the news that China designed and made Qoros is now the safest car in the world today according to an extensive study and testing by NACAP in 2013.

I remember when I bought my first Datsun, everyone was making fun of me and they told me how inferior the car was. It will fall to piece if you run too fast. It did not matter to me then as I was laughing at everybody because I was paying less in maintenance then everyone else. SO when someone remarked that Chinese cars as low quality product, I could not help laughing at today ignorant jokers.

China is the world biggest car market with more 23 million sales annually and so with such quantity, it is natural that their products will soon be ahead of anybody. If I am not wrong, Proton latest models are all in fact tested and designed in China e.g. Proton Suprima or Iriz. It did not bother me a bit as we are not idiots!

• Veteran on Oct 25, 2014 at 11:45 am

I am using a Japanese hybrid which is rather under-powered but seriously I am looking forward to the BYD Qin.

The BYD Qin with its beautiful lite up colorful LCD panel and a 1.5 liter ICE engine and an electric motor rated at 110kW is quite a beast I read. Its battery that can run for 43 km on EV mode, this car is a steal. It is tested to do 1.6 liter to 100 km and 0`100 km is 5.9 second. The chappy who is roaring his turbocharged GTI engine next to mine will better have watched out before I humiliated him with my acceleration. That is if the BYD is made available in Malaysia.

Surprise China produce such a fantastic hybrid. Even Warren Buffet place his money in BYD.

• I TRY THIS CAR test drive at BM, SO Surprise with the test drive, the body so….so…solid, so good if compare to my proton Saga,myvi, all out, pls test drive you will believe me. don’t talk too much, go to test, few people immediate booking after test drive. where to get so nice car with 46k only in Malaysia. test drive first don’t believe me before you test drive. you will surprise…..

• I TRY THIS CAR test drive M4 at BM, SO Surprise with the test drive, the body so….so…solid, so good if compare to my proton Saga,myvi, all out, pls test drive you will believe me. don’t talk too much, go to test, few people immediate booking after test drive. where to get so nice car with 46k only in Malaysia. test drive first don’t believe me before you test drive. you will surprise…..

• same kot on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:44 am

yeah dont talk racist and shit…but same lorr always talk tun m mamak and stuff can ha??yeah right

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:37 am

I’ve been driving this car for the last 3 weeks. I’m now looking to trade in my Persona & buying another GWM M4. Price just went up by RM2500 due to RM depreciation. Absolutely love driving it especially over the pothole roads in Klang Valley. Suspension is firm & handles the potholes well without after shock bouncing. Engine has adequate torque to pull & silent. Only on up highway uphills do you feel the 1.5L engine lacking power.

• June khor on Sep 15, 2015 at 10:11 am

I want to know.i stay alor setar.where can I see the sample car

• Who doesn’t own a China car, don’t talk shit. My family has a naza sutera, 9 yrs car. Beside the steering wheel has some peeling off sign, the car perform very well and serving us for so long. Those who only consider branded car….u may need to rethink… greatwall is one of the largest car manufacturer in China.