Hyundai ix25 – production B-segment SUV leaked

Hyundai-ix25-Spy-Korea

The Hyundai ix25 is the Korean brand’s belated entry into the hot B-segment SUV class, which already counts the Peugeot 2008, Nissan Juke, Renault Captur, Opel/Vauxhall Mokka, Ford EcoSport, Chevrolet Trax, Jeep Renegade and Honda HR-V a.k.a. Vezel as pupils.

The company showed intent with the ix25 concept from this year’s Beijing show, and from these leaked pics of the production car, we can see that little has changed in the transition from showfloor to showroom. The ix25 will sit below the Hyundai Tucson, also known as ix35 in some markets.

Like the concept car, the production ix25 is set for a world debut in China. Word is that it will get 1.6 and 2.0 litre engines with a choice of manual or auto gearboxes in the Middle Kingdom. AWD will be an option. The concept car’s length, width, height and wheelbase are respectively 4,270, 1,780, 1,630 and 2,590 mm – putting it comfortably in the B-SUV ballpark.

In Malaysia, Nasim kickstarted the segment with the Peugeot 2008 (launched in January, read our test drive report), and Ford is joining the party with the Fiesta-based EcoSport, which is already in showrooms. The Honda HR-V should be coming soon, too. Like what you see?

Hyundai ix25 concept at Auto China 2014

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 9:49 am

Wow, look like the mini SantaFe!!!
    Bring in here and fight those Ecosport and 2008!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:52 am

peugeot 2008 has no chance against this hyundai…one of the worst cars i ever tested

• Same L0rrr on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:10 pm

As long as it is not kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Vader (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Yeah, pls sell me RM35k one year old sportage, K5 or sonata.
          Another RM15k for u makan angin!!!!

• OMG…Damn nice. If it sell below 100k, sure sell like hot cake…

• Wow what a handsome look like big brother Santa Fe!

• Black Dog on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:54 am

I’ve predicted this B-segment SUV coming many years ago. I’ve even commented that Proton should produce one of these (as a niche market then) after the demise of the popular Kembara, instead of coming out with cars which everybody have.

My next prediction: Small, affordable sports cars, in japan it’s called ‘kei cars’.

Don’t believe? Just wait a few years to see.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2014 at 10:56 am

Looks like this segment is heating up.. looks quite good, better than the Ecosport.

Although funny no one mentions the Great Wall M4 in the same breath.

• 100 times better looking than ford ecosport, what were they thinking when designing that ugly shitbox

• Marieta on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:13 am

That woman model is damn tall ! I’m so envy her height !

• Much better than ugly Ecosport but my eye still on Vezel/HR-V.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 12:04 pm

It actually looks nice I must say! Plus not to mention at least Hyundai has redesigned the interior to make it look like they at least made an effort unlike Ford who literally dumped a Fiesta into the Ecosport. Not to sure if I like the rear look though… Looks a bit… Sportage-like and doesn’t fit the Tuscon/Santa Fe style.

• Price it RM80k as a Matrix Replacement

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 04, 2014 at 1:45 pm

You are right, below myr 80,000.
      Cheaper than Elantra.

• Ugly.
    Better get Honda Vezel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • the back looks like kia sportage, nice !

• When CX-3 will be available?

• dozy888 on Aug 04, 2014 at 6:50 pm

It will surely sell well if priced below RM80K PLUS comes with a turbo engine!

• Andre Franssen on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Ja laat deze Hyundai IX25 maar heel snel naar Europa komen,deze SUV ziet er geweldig cool uit!!!!