2015 Hyundai i20 renderings shown, August 11 debut

New Generation i20 Rendering_Front

Official renderings of the upcoming Hyundai i20 have been revealed after numerous leaks of the second-generation B-segment fighter from Korea have surfaced on the web.

Designed at Hyundai’s European design centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany, the new i20 will feature Hyundai’s more mature and refined “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” design language that has already appeared on the latest Genesis and Sonata. The result is a car that looks cleaner and more angular than the current model while still remaining recognisably Hyundai.

The company says that the new i20 will have a “powerful stance” thanks to a long bonnet and generous shape, and as we have seen in the leaks, the front features large swept-back headlights connected by a slim front grille. There is also a large hexagonal air intake above a smaller U-shaped inlet.

New Generation i20 Rendering_Rear

At the rear, there are slim tail light clusters and an i30-esque rear bumper treatment that also incorporates the number plate recess. The i20 is not immune to the blacked-out C-pillar trend, which the company says visually accentuates the car’s length.

While Europeans will have to wait until the Paris Motor Show in October to see the new i20 in person, Hyundai’s Indian arm has announced that the car, badged as the Elite i20 over there (we presume this means that the current i20 will continue to be sold alongside the new model), will in fact make its debut on August 11, with the order books already open.

The company’s two-pronged approach to launching the new i20 is interesting to say the least, and echoes the introduction of the i10 in both regions. It remains to be seen if the Indian-market Elite i20 features any sheet metal changes compared to the Euro-market i20. This would follow in the footsteps of the Indian-market Grand i10 that is different to the Euro-market i10, with a longer wheelbase.

The Hyundai i20 was never sold in Malaysia, but with the market starting to clamour for attractive, well-specced B-segment models, maybe Hyundai Sime Darby could make the case for it over here. So, should this new model battle it out with the Honda Jazz, Ford Fiesta and Kia Rio for our hearts and minds?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton GSC suddenly looks lame and boring compared to this new i20. haihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • rifle on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:36 pm

do u ever see the full design of the new proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Proton cars always looked good BEFORE launch, especially on design stage.

They take ages to launch it that’s why the new car always looked obsoleted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • rifle on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:36 pm

a handsome b-segment hatchback..hope it will make it to malaysia this time :D

• sooo..what’s the proton designers going to do about this? owhh..asking kindergarden kids to design their next car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Drive Your Way (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:03 pm

It should be launched, provided it’s priced wisely.

• anti-toyota on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Hyundai can design their cars in Europe so why can’t Proton makes use of Lotus since Proton owns the damn company anyway? What a waste of resources!

• I love how beautifully designed the car is… in the sketches.

• Sketch is gooding but production is fugly also no use

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Lovely, one yesr later, I get a batch of these cars for the Sri Lanka market, traded in at RM30k-RM35k a unit

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:39 am

As long as its not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

• roxas on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:19 pm

come on ~ bring the car in ~

• DrCooper on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:56 am

Design looks good..But in flesh the front looks ugly !

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:21 pm

interior is disappointing…and i don expect sime darby to give us good hyundai specs (refer elantra vs forte)

• mamat on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:11 pm

ko orang pasal malaysia je semua tak betul, semua tak elok. Pergilah ke negara lain yang elok, yang betul.