Honda CR-V facelift spied alongside pre-facelift model

Honda-CR-V-1

As markets around the world are preparing for the introduction of the new compact Honda HR-V, its popular bigger brother has not been forgotten. Honda continues development testing of its fourth-gen CR-V facelift, and in this latest set of spyshots, we see it conveniently being trailed by the current pre-facelift model, allowing us to easily compare the changes that have been applied to the RM.

This time, the prototype is a silver car – we first saw a dark grey prototype in June. We can see that the front end will get a new look – the three-bar chrome grille is set to be replaced by a sportier two-bar version that exposes more air intake area. We can see that the fog lamp has also been redesigned to have a rectangular lens cover, as opposed to the pre-facelift car’s round lens.

From the side, it can be seen that the CR-V gets a new Shuriken-like alloy wheel design. This is a common theme that Honda has also used on its Odyssey MPV as well as the new City. There are also some changes to the rear, but everything’s taped up, so no further details can be seen for now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Launched Mar’13, then just 1 & 1/2 years after facelift spotted !?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • AVH (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Nope, Launched December 2011 in America for the 2012MY….so if it would be launched end of this year as a 2015 MY that would make 3 years, righ between the average 6 years model span for production car.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:27 pm

For spacious wise, the CR-V is best among its class.
    But for the design wise, i do not like the design language on CR-V, but the Sportage and CX-5 doing great on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 05, 2014 at 3:38 pm

For RV in mid sized SUV, CRV is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Who said, pls talk fact not bull s××t here. pls checked mudah.my

2004 Honda CR-V 2.0 CBU (10yrs old) selling at MYR 32,800.
        If trade-in sure further reduce to below 30k as profit margin of 2nd hand shop for resell again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:11 pm

10 year old CRV at RM33k. Ori selling price then was around RM130k, if my memory is correct.

Mind you that any car above 10 years old will render financing impossible, so this is where the cliff is.

RM105k depreciation is 10 years. That’s RM10,500 a year.

For Sonata/Tucson/Elantra, they will lose 50% of value within a year.

Do your maths before blabbing

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:57 am

The judgement subject should realistic based, in practically how frequently msian will buy a new car again to replace their existing car?

Mostly at range of 7yrs to 13yrs, and let’s take the ave of 10yrs cycle.

We have to calculate base on realistic scenario to be practical.

Nowadays you’d find a small rv gaps across all instead of big rv gap years back.

• MG250 on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:14 am

That’s just your regular assumption and no longer the case now. CX5 clearly has higher resale value now.

• Burong on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:41 pm

after several survey on Paultan, found out 95% car lovers would go for high car fuel, low car price.

I believe most of us have the idea of why the car price is so high in the first place, and who benefit from it. All rakyat is struggling monthly on for the loan and interest just to fulfil the small group of very special people.

Love Malaysia, love peace.

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Then I shd hold my booking?

• Trust me.. this car is a ripped off car and i don see anything worth that price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • hondaman on Aug 05, 2014 at 5:10 pm

this ia an SUV laaa… currently the best in class in term of space for a mid SUV sold in malaysia.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:54 pm

If you just look at the spec sheet, you’re only seeing a small part of the picture and will totally miss out on why the CR-V is such a good seller.

Spec sheets won’t tell you things about the interior ergonomics and design practicalities, the feel/durability of the materials, etc. In a family SUV, what do you prioritize?

• slk3879 on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:34 pm

If this facelift still comes with the same engine and gearbox of the current model then SORRY la…

• keyboard warriot on Aug 05, 2014 at 5:13 pm

I feel this paultan website is pretty interesting as Martha Steward website. People here complaining almost all the car brands from BMW, MB, Audi, VW, Toyota, Hyundai to Proton. Non of any car that never kena. The way of all these keyboard warriors talks have no dif from the way of aunties bargaining in the wet market. Not worth, stupid, blind, kimchi car, sushi car…. The riches said proton or Korean car are cheap and low class while the poor one commented how stupid to pay RM200k for a VW or audi. End up? you will be confusing to read all the comments. At the End, we all know that none of the car is perfect or so call “worth” to buy. So, just buy the car that u like, affordable and within your budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Hats off to you.

Many of the commenters here have their own agenda from defaming the national car marques (in hopes of pushing them out of business, I think), deriding the Korean cars for lack of RV (this one is the funniest) to calling out the government regarding car prices.

Genuinely informative comments can still be found but you’d have to filter through many irrelevant comments to get to them.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Firstly, pls be a responsible Malaysia citizens to provide constructive criticism.

Why malaysian need to pay for vehicle tax+duty 95-XXX% ???

THE FACT IS p1p2 NO longer exit, the billions already be part of the govt INCOME that cannot be eliminated, XXX% duty tax will still go on unless increase gsd or others tax to compensate the loss of billions from automotive tax+duty.

Msia is out of natural disaster, war & ethnic conflict zones (no facility rebuilt cost), furthermore with rich natural resources, political stability, zero unemployed allowance, the least social welfare benefits, toll-road system, super high vehicle tax+duty, etc… etc…

Our administration cost should be one of the lowest in the world.

Pls LIKE if u agreed.