Mercedes-Benz S 600 Guard – for ultimate protection

Mercedes-Benz S-Klasse Guard

Important diplomats and dignitaries, your car has arrived – the covers have been pulled off the new Mercedes-Benz S 600 Guard, based on the latest W222 S-Class. The company claims its latest armoured vehicle provides unrivalled protection in the segment.

Forget the VR 7-class protection that has become the norm in cars such as the Audi A8 L Security and BMW 7 Series High Security – the S 600 Guard is the first vehicle to achieve full VR 9 ballistic protection certification for both transparent and non-transparent areas in accordance to version 2 of the Bullet Resistant Vehicles (BRV) 2009 guideline. It also meets Explosion Resistant Vehicles (ERV) 2010 requirements.

Special steel components are integrated into the cavities between the body structure and the outer skin during the bodyshell stage, and aramide and polyethylene components provide additional splinter protection. Intelligent overlapping systems at critical points of the armour ensure that nothing gets through in between the bulletproof panels.

Not to be neglected are the glass areas, which are coated with polycarbonate on the inside to protect against splinters. Special attention has also been paid to choosing the right materials and thicknesses in the glass area for maximum protection. The underbody is almost completely protected by explosion-resistant armour, which Mercedes claims is a first in the segment.

The S 600 Guard is powered by the regular S 600’s 6.0 litre twin-turbo V12 engine producing 523 hp and 830 Nm. No acceleration figures have been released, but the top speed has been limited to 210 km/h due to the car’s undoubtedly enormous weight.

AIRMATIC adjustable air suspension comes as standard, and its components have been reinforced and uprated to deal with the added heft, including the fitment of stronger air springs in front and additional steel springs at the rear. Also revised are settings for the ESP and Acceleration Skid Control (ASR), while the suspension level control now also takes into consideration the Guard’s reduced ground clearance.

The brakes have also received a serious upgrade, with six-pot callipers at the front and larger discs all around. Michelin PAX run-flat tyres with a tyre pressure monitoring system allows the S 600 Guard to escape from the danger zone up to a distance of 30 km even with damaged tyres.

The S 600 Guard is offered with in a choice of four- or five-seater layouts for the first time in the segment, and features a 350 litre boot. Of course, being an S-Class, it offers all the mod-cons of its civilian brethren, including heating and massage functions for the rear seats, a leg rest for the rear seat behind the front passenger and an Air Balance package that includes air fragrance, ionisation and filtering.

The company also offers a number of optional extras specific for the Guard, including opaque window roller blinds, a panic alarm system, a fire extinguisher system with automatic activation, an emergency fresh air system, hydraulic operation for the heavy side windows, and a special cooling compartment at the rear.

And of course, what would a Mercedes be without the requisite safety features? Being based on the W222, the Guard is available with a host of the company’s latest safety systems, including Driver Assistance Package Plus, Night View Assist Plus and 360-degree view camera.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:16 pm

I have no idea what or how good VR9 ballistic protection means. But can it withstand a .50 BMG or a 12.7x108mm Russian round at the glass. Anti Material rifles are the most potent hand-held weaponn available for potetial assination….. acurate, deadly and bullets are far more descreet than any Handheld rockets (I read alot). Also, reading from IEDs in Iraq and Afghanistan, there are even clever use of RPG-7/21 shape charged place on the roads to rip apart something as well armored as a Warrior APC. Shaped charge are compact(size of a small mug), handheld and the results are devestating.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:22 pm

NERD out abit there, anyways, awesome car….. and the interior is just spectacular. Thou personally, I would always prefer something more descreet if I really want to evade a potential assasina. A VR9 armored Vios or Myvi perhapse, no one will suspect a thing while I join the Malaysian traffic……..thou I want a pop-up MG3 in a remote turret, just in case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:01 pm

I am just curious why they did no include Magic Body Control instead of Airmatic.

Having seen what i think would have been a diplomatic 7 series at Auto Bavaria 2 years ago, (it should be a High Security edition), what is interesting is, if you remove the badge, the strobe lights in front and the flag holders, no one will know this is a Security edition.

These Germans are good….

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:02 am

Good, Germany has the safest cars in the world – Audi, Mercedes & BMW.

Malaysia also has the most protected car in the world – Proton.

Germany cars protect passengers Malaysian Proton protect the cronies, just like my name – Same Lor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
          • Gargantia on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:49 am

And Father of AP protect his petroleum.
            DrM “need gov support” = can’t sell cheap hybrid car later less people pump oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Calvin Lee on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:20 pm

look at germany bro. they are less people like you. thats why they keep growing, inventing.. ok la. shut down proton,. they are all cronies. then what do we have next? P2? seriously… give me 1 model that P2 have ever created from sketch..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Germany has more than 20 car brands, and their people demand even higher, thus good brands like Mercedes, Audi, VW, BMW grow and shine worldwide.

Not like Malaysian, Proton make shit car also ok, making loss end up begging money. Of course Proton can’t grow.

Malaysian need cheap and reliable cars, NOT self-designed car. Stop syok sendiri.

• Disgraceful Toyota Salesman on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Disgraceful Toyota salesman. No honour. No shame. Sales so bad, RV so bad, 3 years warranty, old 4 speed gearbox, suck fuel like Godzilla and now he comes here to bad mouth other people’s brand

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Or a Proton Saga. Since as many on the paultan.org comment sections claim, no government officials drive one. That can’t possibly be a high value target, am I right?

• Microdude on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:16 pm

VR9 can only withstand 7.62 x 51mm rounds.. definitely can be penetrated by 50 cal slugs..

• Skulljuju on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:17 pm

How much is your life worth?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Now it’s just lacking a machinegun turret mount. =_=

• it will be added to the facelifted edition ;)

• Assassin on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:54 pm

What if you are facing assassins using another armored car? A cannon with depleted uranium armor-piercing rounds should be in the options list.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Not discreet enough. If the target is that high value, there should be military armor in the escort column or sentries with RPGs on the rooftops at strategic positions.

• anakjambi on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:49 pm

why need at these???
    not impressed at all.
    to those bad dudes, they just need to wait for you at your gate or when you walk out of the car…after all, you need to eat and shit outside the car right!!! that’s where they strike you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • tishaban on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:18 pm

If you’re in such danger that you need an armored car, you obviously won’t be driving alone. You will have armed escorts who will drive with you, scout your route ahead and make sure the bad guys aren’t waiting for you.

Think like a rich dude who’s life is being threatened, not a poor dude who can only afford one car. This is just part of a solution, there’s protection when stationery and protection while you’re on the move.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:47 pm

If you roll in one of these, you should have armed guards patrolling your house too. You think you will still live in some terrace house if you bought this? Upgrade your house first lah, brother. Think of your family.

• Now it just needs a minigun inside so Nick Fury can use it after the doors a blown open

• SavocSmyh on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:06 pm

The S-Class Guard can reportedly withstand direct hits from military-grade firearms, as well as shrapnel from hand grenades.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:27 pm

after jumping over to PKR, i need one of this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Orang biasa on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Will Rosmah’s shopping bags fit in it?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:55 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, you will be safe

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:05 am

As long as it is not Proton, your wallet and bank account will be safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • kucipan on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:55 pm

my saga kereta kebal much better than this. it has automatic power window stopper(to prevent passanger die from hazardious air inside a car)

• nabill (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:08 am

if ur been good to ur own people,promote justice and being fair to all ,who is gonna assassinate u, I don’t see why anyone want to get an armoured vehicle, unless ofcourse…..

• kl fella on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:32 am

what talking you?? almost all of the assassinations in the world were targeted toward high profile persons fighting for justice and the right cause..

there are countless; JFK, heck even Abraham Lincoln, including the mujaheedin leader in Afghanistan fighting for a moderate islam cause (bombed by taliban posing as journalists with explosives hidden in the video camera), the ex-president of Egypt, Anwar Sadat who won nobel peace prize.. these are only a few!

not the other way around..